View Full Version : Omg this heat!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
DALLASMUM
28-01-2009, 14:35
how are you all coping???? my air con is on full blast and its still horrible. my poor hubby works outside in this heat so he is going to be grumpy when he gets home, the baby is grumpy now, and there is still days of this to go:thumbsdown:
FiveInTheBed
28-01-2009, 15:06
well...I'm not in Adelaide - but we are not far away in Broken Hill and have the same kinda heat thing going on...aaaaargghhh!!!hot hot hot!!
I have even put all thre kids down to sleep this arvo because they are absolutley wasted from the heat.
Ac going full blast:yes: do not feel like cooking at all - will be salad sandwiches for lunch I reckon!!
Did you see ceduns and port Augusta have beeb up to 45!! we are sitting around 43 or so for the next few days....record breaking stuff they say!!:sunshine:
cold flannels and ice blocks and paddle pools are lovely:bee:
take care -
I'm inside but am dreading picking up DS from childcare. His air con there is much better than here so poor thing will notice it more than me. Glad our bedroom air con is the best :thumbsup: at least we get sleep before frying the day away
Just off to the pool to cool down:sunshine:
looking forward to getting into the pool but not the car!
MothersMilk
28-01-2009, 15:18
Oh it's gross isn't it.
I have the air con on but it's still very warm in my house. Bub is getting around nude.
I have to go to an appointment tomorrow and i'm dreading leaving the house. Luckily MIL is taking DD so she won't be subjected to the outside heat.
Bring on the cold i say:rain:
sshellzp
28-01-2009, 15:20
Im ok as long as I stay inside and the air con doesnt stop wolrking, or a blackout would suck.
I'm only leaving the house to go to work at the moment. I have the aircon on(left it on while iwas at work), the house all dark & my dogs inside with me.
I'm in Whyalla & at 2pm it was 44.7 degrees here, apparently Adelaide was the same at 1pm.
I don't handle the heat well & it's even worse now that i'm pregnant.
DALLASMUM
28-01-2009, 15:32
I just looked online, it is 44.4 in my area, i cant believe it, no wonder my air cons seem to be doing nothing. sshellzp- if we had a power failure i dont know what i would do, BOIL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!. i think i mite put the bub in the bath to cool him down
laylasmumma23
28-01-2009, 15:38
I have my air con on and all my curtains closed..i dont have ducted air..so you really feel the difference when u leave the room.
Might go out a little later tonight when the sun has gone down a bit so dd can play in her paddle pool :)
She's getting around in just a nappy at the moment..lol
Im ok as long as I stay inside and the air con doesnt stop wolrking, or a blackout would suck.
Oh Shell don't say it, you know you've put the moxy on us all now :p:laughing:
Me, I'm melting our evaporative is not doing a lot to cool us down at all :no:
I know. It sucks doesn't it...... and not looking any better until next week. BOM now says we've hit 45.5 today, 44 tomorrow, then 41, 41, 40, 39 & 38!! :eek: Bad hey?
Just a friendly reminder to all not to set your A/C any lower than 23 degrees. Much lower than this and your motor will burn out trying to get to the lower temperature all day but it never actually gets there!! This is what my air con specialist friend told me. Whereas if you keep it at 23 it gets to temperature and gives itself a break every now and then. So, you're being kinder to your machine, your bank balance (coz it won't break down sooner) & the environment, too. :thumbsup:
I don't mind it... :p
We went to the beach yesterday, and we went to Marion Swim Centre. Was fun.
delirium
28-01-2009, 16:34
I'm not in SA, we're in rural NSW, but it's currently 41.5C here. We have ducted aircon but we are in a big 4 bedroom house and it struggles to cool the house over 35C. I even have the little reverse cycle in the dining room going and it's still boiling.
OMG I just looked at the forecast and it's 45 on Friday...
missmilliesmum
28-01-2009, 16:48
It sucks!
Took DD to the Doctor today and no joke - I got burnt in the 10 mins it took me to get the pram and her outta the car and then back in after!
WTF???
45 Degrees is SOOOOOO unnatural!
DALLASMUM
28-01-2009, 17:07
I don't mind it... :p
We went to the beach yesterday, and we went to Marion Swim Centre. Was fun.
Are you Crazy???? how can you like this weather, its to hot for anything. or maybe im just a sooook
:no: you're definitely not a sook..
I just really love swimming :p
I'm not in SA, we're in rural NSW, but it's currently 41.5C here. We have ducted aircon but we are in a big 4 bedroom house and it struggles to cool the house over 35C. I even have the little reverse cycle in the dining room going and it's still boiling.
OMG I just looked at the forecast and it's 45 on Friday...
It almost reached 45 here in SA today.. bit toasty!!
Have you heard a new song called 'delirium'?
I think of you every time I hear it now :laughing:
delirium
28-01-2009, 17:21
Have you heard a new song called 'delirium'?
I think of you every time I hear it now :laughing:
:laughing: By Ladyhawke right? They must have come to my house lately :devil6:
DALLASMUM
28-01-2009, 17:36
did you hear the news.... the weather is taken in the shade, so they are saying it is 50 degrees
FiveInTheBed
28-01-2009, 17:57
adelaide news says, "hottest day in 70 years!"
:sunshine:
MothersMilk
28-01-2009, 18:01
the weather channel says Adelaide is 44.4.
It feels like about 37 inside with the air con on :crying:
laylasmumma23
28-01-2009, 18:04
awww the poor weather lady on channel 10 is sooo sweaty she's all shiney (sp)!!! :laughing: i would demand a pay rise LOL
MissBeck
03-02-2009, 12:27
well...I'm not in Adelaide - but we are not far away in Broken Hill and have the same kinda heat thing going on...aaaaargghhh!!!hot hot hot!!
I have even put all thre kids down to sleep this arvo because they are absolutley wasted from the heat.
Ac going full blast:yes: do not feel like cooking at all - will be salad sandwiches for lunch I reckon!!
Did you see ceduns and port Augusta have beeb up to 45!! we are sitting around 43 or so for the next few days....record breaking stuff they say!!:sunshine:
cold flannels and ice blocks and paddle pools are lovely:bee:
take care -
Broken Hill? I grew up there.. If i wasnt so close to having bubs, I would have gone back to stay with my parents while this heat wave hit here.. I can handle Broken Hill weather.. all 4 seasons in a day :laughing:.. but this heat down here is far different!!
But i have a fantastic midwife down here and have heard too many horror stories about BH hospital...and..
Not to mention when i was 24 weeks i sat in emergency of BH hospital with serve pains and i wasnt priority!!
In fact a guy who had cut his finger was more of a priority than i was!!
After nearly 8 hours i walked around to maternity.. and was admitted instantly!!