View Full Version : For parents, with 3 or more....
I dont know if this is the right spot for this, but if not just change it mods :)
but i was just wondering what kind of car do you drive?? we are looking at getting a new car cos the car we got now just wont fit 3 carseats in the back.. so was just goin to ask mum's that know what works.. thanks girls!:thumbsup:
Just Add Water
27-01-2009, 13:51
We have a Kia Grand Carnival and love it. The seating configuration is 2 / 3 / 3 but the seats in the middle row can be take out. We generally have it 2 / 2 / 3 with the two youngest in the middle row and big brother up the back. When bubs comes we'll move one of the others into the back with their booster and put bubs' car seat in the middle row.
If you go through the threads you'll find a few on this already :)
We have a Kia Carnival, 7 seater. And I love it. It's like driving an airplain! lol.
Only problem is that it's only got 2 anchor points. Sure you can get more put in... but I can only use anchored seats in the middle row. So it's a good thing the boys have got boosters in the back row.. and then I've got the two baby seats in the middle.
We only bought it for #4 though.
Are you sure you can't just get different seats for the car you've got? The safe'n'sound compaque (or something) is supposed to be slim.. as are the Hi-Liner booster seats.
Even spending a bit of money on new car seats is cheaper than buying a new car.
And you can get seatbelt extenders to lengthen the 'clip' part, to that it comes up between the seats, and you don't have to fish around between seats for the clip.
However, not much boot space.... so can't take the kids bikes and the double pram... but can take the bikes, a stroller and the ergo. And we do grocery shopping once the kids are at kindy.
atm we have a nissian xtrail.. and its really small in the back.. we have one of those maxi rider's for ben, and jack is in a booster seat. we tried to put the capsul in the back aswell and there just isnt the room for it. where can u get those extenders though?
babies galore, baby'n'things, any good baby shop should have them. :yes:
They're about $20
The RACQ online shop has them for $40.
We are about to have our 3rd and have a Magna wagon. It will be pretty squishy in the back seat but as OJandMe said we have bought a Safe and Sound Compaq for the baby and a Safe and Sound slim line Hi-Liner booster for our 18month old and our 3 year old is in another booster. They will just squish in. The Compaq and the Hi-Liner are both slim line so it might be worth checking out before you buy a new car.
I drive a Hyundai Trajet, 7 seater.
it only has two anchor points in the middle row, none in the back row :( But I was going to look into whether we can get them put in or not.
LOVE my car to bits, it drives really well.
The only thing I don't like is that the boot isn't very big.
atm we have a nissian xtrail.. and its really small in the back.. we have one of those maxi rider's for ben, and jack is in a booster seat. we tried to put the capsul in the back aswell and there just isnt the room for it. where can u get those extenders though?
The Maxi Rider takes up heaps of space. We would have like to use on of those but I knew that would never work for 3 seats in the back. The Hi-Liner booster is slim. We have our eldest in a different booster which is still a decent size but if we had to we could have chnaged his to a Hi-Liner too. I would think 2 Hi-Liners and one Compaq would fit in a Nissan X-Trail. I looked in our local baby shop for the seat belt extender and the woman told me they didn't exist (she was very dippy though) - I might keep searching.
Not sure if they'd fit an x-trail though.
Might be worth phoning RACQ or NRMA or equiv in your state and finding out.
I know that our baby shop was more than happy for us to come in on a quiet day and fiddle with the car seats, trying a few different combos of car seats and boosters until we found a combo that fitted.
Maybe ask your local baby shop if that's okay for you do to??
(just have to make sure you buy the seats from them in the end... lol)
where did u get those slim liner ones from?
Most decent sized baby shops I would say. We bought ours from a local one that stocks lots of prams and carseats etc.
We bought a 06 Nissan Patrol 7 seater for number 4. Love it :yelclap:
We had a Commodore sedan before this and easily fit a SnS Compaq, a large booster and a half booster in along the back seat.
I think you may just have to play with different seats if you want to keep your car...
LoveMyBoys
27-01-2009, 15:08
We fitted 3 carseats in our VT wagon, upgraded to a kia carnival with #4, now weve gone for a hyundai imax with #5
yesterday dh and i went looking at cars... exciting!! and we have found a 2005 holden wagon, and its goin to cost the exactly the same as the car we have now.. instead of the payments being over 5 years its gunna be over 7... but we're still waiting to hear back. so fingerscrossed we get it!
DoulaRobyn
28-01-2009, 07:32
We have a Chrysler Grande Voyager and love it! We got it second hand for a really good price too. It seats seven and has the biggest boot space of all the vans that we looked at - and we looked at lots of different vans. We needed the boot space for a double pram plus groceries as well as room in the front to fit my long legged man - he couldn't fit into most vans... which was funny the first time (or three) but made us increasingly worried that we wouldn't find one to accommodate both a 6"8 man as well as at least five other passengers, a double pram and some groceries.... but we found it in the Chrysler Grande Voyager :)
We think the van looks quite stylish and has a nice roomy interior too AND it doesn't guzzle that much petrol either.
Gee I could go on, but I wont... much.
oh wow your hubby is tall!! i thought mine was tall!!! but urs is wayyyyy taller than my dh.. my dh is 6.3 lol.
DoulaRobyn
28-01-2009, 07:52
Yeah your hubby is just a teeny tiny thing ;)
Oh you know what, I totally missed your post above mine - good luck with the holden wagon - may it be yours if it is meant to be! (if not may you find a much better car!! hehe)
mumwithtwins
28-01-2009, 08:06
we got a ford territory and it easily fits two maxi-riders and a capsule in the back or three maxi-riders. Boot space is fantastic and we got two extra anchor points for the very back row when we use it.
hehe thanks i so hope it goes through.. its sucha nice car to drive and oh so nice!!
Pina Colada
28-01-2009, 08:39
we got a ford territory and it easily fits two maxi-riders and a capsule in the back or three maxi-riders. Boot space is fantastic and we got two extra anchor points for the very back row when we use it.
:thumbsup: I was hoping somebody was going to say Territory cause that is the car I want to get when the lease on our runs out. It sounds perfect, I can't wait!
At the moment we have a Holden Crewman (which I guess has the same backseat as a Commodore....)
It squeezily fits an Aunger Convertible, a Maxi Rider and a Capsule at the moment, but I am changing it today and then it will have a Maxi Rider, Hi Liner and Aunger Convertible reasonably comfortably.