View Full Version : converting bedroom into mini play centre???
Okay, me and DH have decided we are going to convert DD's bedroom into like a big play centre kind of thing with slides and a little ball pond and those mats that are all over play centres and tubes and stuff. :rolleyes: Its not a huge room but it's big enough. Anyway, does anyone know of anyone who has done this that I can get info from? Or does anyone know where to order this stuff from? I'v googled it and all's i get is company's selling them to out door playgrounds, or they only sell them to other company's/franchises???
We are really excited about doing it and wanna start now!!:smiliedance:
Does anyone know anything that can help us??? ei websites? People who have done it? companies?
Sometimes playcentres sell their old equipment, all still in good condition of course. Maybe call a few and see if they are getting rid of any.
Just a thought tho...half the fun of those playcentres is that it's something different for the kids. I would be worried about spending all that money only to have bub get bored with it after a week or so. I know my DS would be like that...he is always asking for new toys...he's 3yo.
Anyway, good luck with it. Hope your DD has heaps of fun in there :thumbsup:
30-05-2006, 01:14
How about heading to IKEA Nash ?
They have some really great funky fun things for kids that are not only fun play things but practical as well iykwim.
Seriously have a look if you havent already. I cant wait to be able to set things up properly for Boof's big boy room :D
Mamaduke
30-05-2006, 01:54
We've got a playroom and at one time or another there has been play equipment in there.
Ball pits can be bought from Toys 'r' us - they're the blow up ones and are quite cheap (and come with the balls). You can get them in the shapes of trains, trucks or just round.
We had a slide in our playroom a while ago. I bought it from Target - it's one of those hard plastic ones that can be used outside as well. We also had the climbing gym in the playroom which matches the slide.
Have a look on the Ikea website if you don't have one near you, I know that they have wooden swings and ladders which can be hooked up inside & all sorts of things to entertain kids inside.
We needed matting for under our playgym out the back as its on concrete and I didnt want them falling off and hurting themselves. DH found some at Clarke Rubber, I think it was around $60 and its great.
30-05-2006, 07:48
I second the Clark rubber idea and Ikea:smiliedance:
I saw Ikea have a bunk bed thing with a slide and tunnel coming off them....very :cool: :D
Have fun Nash!
Little_Toad
30-05-2006, 08:40
Natasha,
There is a kiddies play gym / child care center on the sixth floor of Bondi Junction, next to Fitness First.
They are closing down in a week or this week.
You could ring them see if they want to sell anything.
Fantastic ideas!!! Thanks so much everyone!!!!:thumbsup:
pestiferous
30-05-2006, 12:56
Check your local day care centres, most run fund raising through mail order companies that sell exactly what you need. if they don't use a mail order system, they will at least be able to give you their suppliers name. If not let you order through them?
Kmart and big W sell a mini 'outdoor' castle/ slide climbing thing that last's for YEARS. Ours was purchased while i was still pregnant with my almost 10 yr old. and it's lasted 3 more 'feral's' since without a single crack , dent or any noticable fading. not bad for $200 (at the time) i think they are under $100 now. They also sell single slides, picnic tables, painting tables and c-saw's etc that are small enough to use indoors.
I think they also stock little tikes items too
http://www.littletikes.com/Toys/Toys-List.aspx
One thought though, The more activity items in a young childs room, the more difficult it is for them to connect the bedroom with sleep time. and the more distractions they have, the longer you'll be staying awake lol So it may help to plan it out in a way that allows you to pack it all away at night.
Mikeswifey
30-05-2006, 14:12
Must be a big bedroom!
I cant wiat to buy a house with big rooms. My inlaws brought us this house, and the rooms are so so small.
Heres a few sites for you - not 100% sure if this is what you had in mind. Not sure if they are Australian either.
www.rhinoplay.com.au
www.internationalplayco.com
i think there is also a place in brisbane called Scallywaggs that sells the same sort of stuff??
Good Luck
A freind of mine's brother did their whole bathroom floor in those playmat squares as a 'carpeting' - a cheap way to cover the floor mybe in a way soft if fall over etc
31-05-2006, 01:30
Oh yes thats another good idea !
I got the great foam tiles that have the alphabet or numbers on them which means they have a soft fall as well as it being something they can interact with !
I got some from The Reject Shop & the other lots from Bunnings of all places lol in the flooring area where the lino & stuff is !
Gosh Im having so much fun looking at all the websites!!!!:smiliedance:
Thanks again for all your imput girlies!!:hugs: