View Full Version : Maryborough / Hervey Bay

MummyLicious
25-01-2009, 15:18
Hello ppl,
In a few short mths my family & I will be moving into our IP in Maryborough.

Are there any members/groups out there in Bubhub land???

nsmonkey
25-01-2009, 15:35
Hello and Welcome :)
My parents live in maryborough so we go there a fair bit. We are near kingaroy so roughly 2hrs from maryborough.
Would still love to catch up if you wanted to?

Tasha

canberramomma
25-01-2009, 16:06
I used to live in Hervey Bay (many moons ago) for a few years. It was a great place to grow up. Good luck with the move.

Ffrenchknickers
25-01-2009, 16:13
Was just at Hervey Bay yesterday :) My best friend lives there...she is new to the area also! Her boys are 5 and 2.

MummyLicious
25-01-2009, 20:09
Tasha - Definitely wld be keen for a meet up.
What's it like up there, do your parents enjoy it, is there much to do???

Katie - Well when I get up there, maybe I can get an email addy or something for your friend & get in touch with another newbie....by then she might be classed as a local:-)
Did you join the Oct 2008 thread or FB group??

It seems the better option for us @ the moment is to leave the beautiful Gold Coast:crying: & move into our own home to save money. I hope Maryborough treats us well.

nsmonkey
29-01-2009, 09:14
Yeah my parents seem to enjoy it, they are just outside of townin a new estate.

Looks lie I might be moving that way too soon. Just depends on things at the moment.

boy wrangler
05-02-2009, 12:58
hi mymmylicious!

we'll be moving to maryborough soon too, we should be there by mid-May. We're moving for my husbands work and won't really know anyone, so I'd be more than keen for a catch up!

What is your timeframe for the big move?

we have a 21 month old and I'm currently almost 36 weeks pregnant with number 2, so it'll be interesting times for us!

nsmonkey
05-02-2009, 14:06
Oh wow looks like theres a few of us moving that way.
I put in DH's resume today for a sawmill so hopefully will here back from that but will keep putting resumes in.
We won't be moving that way until DH gets a job. :)
I can't wait to go in away, as I want to get a casual/part-time job.

MummyLicious
05-02-2009, 23:30
hi mymmylicious!

we'll be moving to maryborough soon too, we should be there by mid-May. We're moving for my husbands work and won't really know anyone, so I'd be more than keen for a catch up!

What is your timeframe for the big move?

we have a 21 month old and I'm currently almost 36 weeks pregnant with number 2, so it'll be interesting times for us!

Elsmum - :wave:Do you currently live in QLD??
When DD1 was 2wks old we jumped in our car & left all our friends n family to move to the Gold Coast...it was such an adventure.
DD1 is an active 2.5yr old & our baby DD2 is 3.5mths young..

DP is heading up on Sunday to sort out his work & start getting the house ready (need fence finished before I move up with our girls).. I'll stay on the Gold Coast till about March I reckon. then move....but lots of travelling backwards & forwards in the meantime.

nsmonkey - wow are you wanting to move to Maryborough cos your parents are there or for work opportunities??

Our home is in Maryborough West near the Showgrounds., can't wait to stop paying rent down here & get up there!!!!
Ladies, it wld be great for us all to meet up:yes:

nsmonkey
06-02-2009, 09:01
DH is currently unemployed as his boss wasn't paying him when he should of been.
So we are moing there for work purposes.
Mum and dad and in maryborough west, but at a estate called Oakhurst.

Mummyliscious- Are you buying or renting in maryborough?

I reckon its a great idea to all get together. :)

kwccac
08-02-2009, 21:32
My family just moved to Maryborough last week and I am keen to meet others in the area. I have a 2yr old boy and a 4mth young girl. I am 27 and have just come from Brisbane north and am already missing my social life!!! Anyone interested in catching up when you get here let me know on dreamsfreediamonds@yahoo.com.au

We have land out past Oakhurst but are waiting to build.

Cant wait to meet someone!
Lisa

nsmonkey
09-02-2009, 07:06
Lisa welcome. :)
My parents are at Oakhurst Gardens on like 3/4 of an acre. Its really nice out there pretty quiet too. Which is nice.

xaviers mumma 2007
09-02-2009, 07:43
Hi all!! :wave:

Im 22 & have a 13mnth old DS & currently 14wks pregnant with baby #2.

We are heading to burra soon also, 2-3months, from the beautiful gold coast.

I lived there before during a few highschool years, and my partners family lives there still. I have a few friends there also with children, mummies are around my age.

We should all meet up and start a bubba group when we in town :)

G'luck in your new homes, moving is very exciting!!

boy wrangler
09-02-2009, 08:10
A meet up when we all get to town would be great! I have read on the City Council website that the Toy Library has a playgroup every second Thursday so we'll definitely be heading off to that!

We should also keep this thread going as a bit of a chat so we don't forget between now and then! My head is a bit all over the shop as I'm 36 weeks pg, have a 21 month old, and we're renovating! :hair::laughing:

kwccac
09-02-2009, 09:35
I have just been on the phone this morning to the Library and Toy Library.

The Toy Library has a playgroup run by the Anglican Church every Tuesday and Thursday between 9-12.
Nursing mothers meet here every second monday 9-12 (meeting today 09/02/09) with an open playgroup set up by the Toy Library on monday afternoons from 1pm though she said not many attend at this stage.

The regular library has songs and rhymes for under 2's on the 1st and 3rd monday of the month at 10 am (next one on 16/02) and story time every wed at 9.30 10.30 and 11.30.

Am not sure yet what we will do as I am just getting settled, but need to get my son out as he is driving me mad staying at home!!!

Hope this helps some of you so you dont have to do the leg work (I know how difficult it can be getting incorrect info).

See you around.

nsmonkey
09-02-2009, 12:38
Wow they seem to have a lot on which is really good.
Now off to look for a job. :)

boy wrangler
09-02-2009, 12:47
wow Lisa, you've already done the leg work for us! I'm an ABA member, so have been meaning to contact them about their group meetings, we'll definitely be going to them every fortnight!

I hope you are doing ok after the move!

As I said before, we won't be up until the end of May!

MummyLicious
09-02-2009, 22:58
This thread is coming along quite nicely.....there's gonna be a few of us up there..YAY:yelclap:

Lisa - I'm also Lisa & my partner Nije moved up there on Sunday. Once he's settled in with work & done a clean-up around our property then i'll move up with our girls. I've sent you an email.
Don't be shy to pass on any info about the place that you learn about. I don't know much about Maryborough @ all even though we've owned our home up there for nearly 4yrs.

Now there's going to be a few of us, I don't feel as freaked out about the move anymore.

kwccac
10-02-2009, 13:42
Thanks Lisa,

As I know more I will definately let you all know.

I grew up in bundaberg, so I am a 'near local', but again dont know too much about the area.

I am currently on the hunt for any private swim schools anyone may have heard about in the area. We did a little session at the public pool a few weeks ago, but it was so busy and not what I am used to in the city regarding smaller class sizes and more individual attention.

If nothing comes up we will suffice with the public programs.

Chat soon.

boy wrangler
11-02-2009, 06:10
lisa (kwccac), i'd really appreciate any info on swimming classes, DS will be just 2, and we've just started going to lessons this term. I was thinking just at the public pool, but are they not good? Can you give me more details?

lisa (mummylicious), I'm still freaking out a bit, but less than before! :laughing: I think the main reason for my freak outs is that we'll have two kids, and one at the moment is really easy!

Chat soon,
Vic

nsmonkey
13-02-2009, 18:51
Just wondering if anyone wants to catch up sometime next week?
We will be going to maryborough on sunday as DH is working for dad and has a interveiw on tuesday.
So I will be bored as. Mum as bowls all week from tuesday. o if anyone is up to it let me know. :)

SlaytersMumi
17-02-2009, 15:42
Hi Mummys! My name is Jayd we have just moved to the area before christmas. We would love to make some friends (big ones and little ones) hehe! We are at toogoom its so lovely here and the rain is nice bringing the temp down......... So if anyone is keen to meet up for playgroup ect. please let me know w&w? Is there any baby music classes around? Slayter is 8 months old. Take care

This icon is good for me.....:ecomcity: i wish i was this energetic:smiliedance:

kwccac
17-02-2009, 22:00
Anyone interested in catching up this week I would love to meet also. I aim to get to the toy library on wednesday around 9.30am. I will be with both my children a 2yr old blonde boy and 4mth baby girl with a head full of brown hair, please introduce yourself to me if you come, I cant wait to finally meet somebody around here. The rain is wonderful but driving me crazy!
Lisa

SlaytersMumi
18-02-2009, 07:57
hey lisa I wish i could come and meet up with you but my brother and niece are comming today BUMMER!!!! maybe next week

nsmonkey
20-02-2009, 08:54
Just letting you all know that I am still in maryborough if anyone wanted to catch up. We won't be going home until next week probably on the wkd.
We are currently staying out at oakhurst. So if anyone wanted to catch up just send a text or whatever to 0429619511. DH usually has the phone but he comes in for lunch and well at night time.
My 4yr old and 2yr old need someone to play with they are driving their grandparents mad. :)

Take Care and look forward to hearing from you.

nsmonkey
20-02-2009, 09:45
Also just wondering if anyone has facebook?
If so add me Natasha Monk

SlaytersMumi
20-02-2009, 21:15
hey natasha! sorry i didnt get to organise a meet up with you maybe next time! im a bit desperate to find some friends :( im on facebook to its so addictive isnt it! anyway take care and look forward to meeting you next time.
Jayd:wave:

nsmonkey
20-02-2009, 21:53
hey Jayd,
I am still here, not going home for another week if not longer. So, if you want to catch up at any time just let me know.
Take care.

SlaytersMumi
21-02-2009, 13:44
sorry mummy brain have you got a car? maybe we could meet at the pool! or i was going to the toy library on wed i think its at the library. let me know what you think im at toogoom which is maybe 35 mins from MB i went down there this morning for a look!

nsmonkey
21-02-2009, 16:42
Yeah I got a car, one thing I am glad I have. I am not real sure if I would take my 2 boys to the pool. I get a bit panicky.
Maybe we could meet at the big park at the golf course. If you want?
Any day suits me. :)

nsmonkey
23-02-2009, 16:31
Did anyone want to catch up this week?

kwccac
23-02-2009, 20:19

We are back, after a long and frustrating week with my computer, I finally did a 'system restore' not that I really knew what I was doing, but anyhow. My computer is now working again and I am back online properly for the time being.

So, is anyone up to anything this week. I am home alone tomorrow being Tuesday (with the kids) so if anyone would like to catch up either in town (Ululah park behind the skate bowl is nice) or here if you like I am open to offers.

I will check my mail in the morning so let me know or call me on 0401003180. 9am is a good time for me too.

Lisa

nsmonkey
24-02-2009, 07:59
Well I would love to meet you Lisa if you wanted to meet at the park at the golf links?

nsmonkey
24-02-2009, 13:24
It was nice to meet you Lisa, thanks for a lovely morning. I think we didn't end up leaving for another half an hour after you. The kids were admiring the turtles. LOL

boy wrangler
26-02-2009, 05:30
Hi guys!

What a shame we've been missing the catch ups! It looks at this stage like we'll be up there the week after our eldest's birthday, the 11th May.

I've only got a week or so to go until the next one arrives, so I'm trying to make sure everything is done and ready, but am feeling a lot less organised than I did with the first!

I hope everyone is well!

Vic

nsmonkey
02-03-2009, 14:53
Does anyone want to catch up this week?
I don't have a car though. :(

nsmonkey
07-03-2009, 20:18
Well looks like we are heading back to maryborough tomorrow and will be coming home on friday. So, if anyone is interested in catching up please let me know as this time I will be taking my car. :)

Ashy
09-03-2009, 19:11
HI girls - i hope you dont mind me jumping in!

I am mum to 2 littlies and we are hoping to make the move to hervey bay (we are trying to secure work for DH first and not going so well so far :( )

Wondering how you like being mums in hervey bay?

We are coming this week to explore the different suburbs and get a feel for the place.

fingers crossed :)

SlaytersMumi
10-03-2009, 20:23
hey mummies! I am going to the playgroup tomorrow at the hervey bay neighbourhood center on taylor street it starts at 9.30........ hope you can make it its my first time so will see what its like! my moby is 0434727749 if you want to come and meet:wave:

p.s have any of you been told off for speaking your mind on BH......... im naughty! but im always in trouble for speaking my mind:no:

nsmonkey
10-03-2009, 20:54
Jayd don't worry bout getting trouble for speaking your mind on here, your not alone thats for sure. :(

I have wrote your number down, so not sure what we are doing tomorrow. If we will make it I will let you know. :)

MummyLicious
24-03-2009, 15:22
Hey ladies :wave:
Anyone avail for a catch-up next week???

I'm in Maryborough but happy to travel to Hervey Bay also.

We've unpacked, still got bits n pieces to do around the house but I really need to get out & make some friends along with my DD1.

Lisa

nsmonkey
24-03-2009, 15:30
Hello Lisa,
I am here available through to mondays to fridays, if you want to do something.
I am in maryborough aswell.
Even if you wanted to catch up tomorrow or this week, I ain't doing much at all.

Anyways Bye,
Tasha

boy wrangler
25-03-2009, 17:13
Hi guys!

I just thought I'd pop in and let you know that we had our second bub on the 13th of March, another little boy!

We'll be heading up in about 6 weeks, so I'm looking forward to catching up and having a play!

nsmonkey
25-03-2009, 17:22
Oh wow congrats Boy-wrangler. Can't wait to meet you and your family/

MummyLicious
03-04-2009, 13:19

Natasha - glad to be home?
Let me know whenever you're back this way again.

Vic - congrats, how are you & baby doing??
Keep in touch, look forward to meeting you all once you're moved here & settled.

Lisa - Great news about the house, near the beach....can't complain hey.

Slaytersmumi - We'll have to organise a meet up in Hervey Bay. Usually head those ways once or twice a week to see my partners Grandfather & fam.
Did you check out the Culture Festival? Wanted to go but had to go down the coast that wkend.

Trying to get as much done around the house. Vege garden all finished, neglicted gardens taken care of. Still lots more to do in the house & around the property but will do gradually.

Keep well ladies.

nsmonkey
03-04-2009, 13:39
Yeah Lisa I am so glad to be home, DH is working at Miva this week and next week and probably longer after that aswell.
Yeah I will definately let you know when I will return. LOL

kwccac
27-04-2009, 17:18
G'day at last. We are back, now in our own home and settling in. I cant believe how busy we have been the past month and am really glad it is over.

The news - we found a house at Toogoom.

Jayd, I would love to finally meet you.

Maryborough ladies, I no longer have my own car so getting out is a little hard (public transport is nothing like it is in the cities!!). I do love visitors so if you want a day at the beach, by all means contact me and come round!!

Kids are calling, Mum is busy.

Hear from you soon
Lisa:yelclap:

SlaytersMumi
10-05-2009, 23:08
Hey lisa! we are in toogoom too, in brackish crt up goodies end! would love to meet up just let me know when.......... im not sure where though we only have one tiny park....hehe

boy wrangler
19-05-2009, 10:59
hi guys!

well, we're here and getting settled. we're in maryborough so if anyone feels like a catch up let me know!

hope everyone is going well!

kwccac
21-05-2009, 21:48

I would like to open the invitation to anyone whom is free on friday from about 10 or so to come play at our place. Contact me on sweetcookie1@bigpond.com for details.

Hope to hear from you

Lisa

boy wrangler
22-05-2009, 11:37
Lisa, I wasn't able to make it today! Hope you all had a good time!

I just wanted to let everyone know that we will be heading to the library on Wednesday for their 9:30 story time session.

Hope everyone is having a good long weekend!

SlaytersMumi
07-06-2009, 18:14
Hey Mums!
was just thinking that it would be nice to have another morning tea (as i couldnt make it to lisa's) I thought that this friday if you wanted to come over for coffee and some morning tea because i would love to meet some other mums around here! so for anyone that wants to come i live at toogoom so see you friday 12 june
jayd:raspberry:

Miss_Vicki
24-07-2009, 10:09
Hey mummies , lookin at moving up here would like to make some new friends ,

DO you guys have a FB group ? if not i think be a top idea , Feel free to pm me so we can be friends :)

MummyLicious
25-07-2009, 14:48
Welcome Miss_Vicki

When are you looking @ moving up here?
I've grown quite fond of Maryborough. @ first I just constantly thought about stuff I didn't like & I missed my friends dearly.......now I'm enjoying myself & making new friends always helps.

No facebook group yet but sounds like a perfect idea. Will look into it.

My FB username is:uniquelywonderful so feel free to add me people.

Anyone keen for a meet up next week? My girls & I go to Hervey Bay area once a week (excl Fridays) so here, there, anywhere is fine with me:~)