View Full Version : Does anybody know what we can do here? - re child care assistance
DS went to kindy for about 6 months. When he started they told me to register with centrelink/family assistance for the child care assistance (I think that's what it's called). I told them that DH wanted to claim it as a lump sum at the end of the year instead of taking the weekly cut. They just said 'oh ok, no worries'. Now when DH has tried to claim it family assistance told him that the child care centre should have given us a form to fill out when DS started kindy which they should then have sent off for us. So they told him to contact the kindy get them to fill out such-and-such form along with a statement of how much we've paid. Of course, as we're no longer customers of theirs they don't want to help us. :banghead: When DH mentioned that we should have been given the form at the start the lady said 'oh no we don't usually do that'. What?!
Does anybody know if we can report the kindy to someone for not giving us the correct information in the first place, and then not providing the paperwork we now need to get our money?
DS started a new kindy 2 weeks ago and they told us about the lump sum claim form on the first visit and took care of it all for us. Love them!
How annoying!
My DS is due to start 'kindy' one day a week in a daycare centre. They told me I needed to have a customer reference number from centrelink/family assistance office, I rang them and got given my number which went on the enrolment form. The lady from Family Assistance said on the phone that she'd post out the forms, but that we just ignore them if we want to claim the lump sum payment, and fill it out if you want the reduced rate as you go.
I had a good read of the forms, and it seems to me to also state there that if you want to claim the lump sum payment you have 24 months from the end of the relevant financial year to do it.... I would definitely be following this up as it may be as simple as not having the correct reference number? You should have 2 yrs to claim so don't give up.
You may have more success posting in the child care boards also, I'm new to the daycare stuff but I'm sure there are heaps there who can help :).
ETA: I just remembered also that the Family Assistance office needed the daycare's provider number too, you have every right to request this from the centre. Good luck!
Just Add Water
21-01-2009, 23:43
We've just done our taxes and had to get statements from our daycare providers. One of them was over 12 months ago and our child no longer attends that school - they are obligated to give it to you. If they don't after a verbal request, then put it in writing and follow up with a call a few days later. If they still refuse then ring Family Assistance and ask them for advice. If you can find out who does their billing and paperwork then you may be able to go through them as well.
Thanks for the replies.
We have their reference number, we've submitted a statement of his attendance and fees paid, we still need this form filled out by the centre as well. I'll get DH to tell me what the form is, download it myself and print it off, then take it down there and hang around until someone fills the bloody thing out. It's just really annoying.