View Full Version : The Great Debate ... What do you do with your kids when you pay for petrol?
This was a huge topic of debate with some friends and I. I have not been in this situation yet but would love to hear what you all do.
What do you do with bubs when you run in to pay petrol? Do you leave them in the car or take them with you?
Ooh good one,
Well take with me is my answer but DH always fills the car up on his way home from work when I have DS so it's a non issue really.
We choose to only have one car and only fill up once a week.
borntobemummy
20-01-2009, 17:57
we usually time it so DH fills it when he is on his own or we are all together and I can stay in the car with the kids. On the odd occasion that I have had to fill it, I take them with me.
bundymummy
20-01-2009, 17:57
NEVER EVER EVER LEAVE DD IN THE CAR. EVER.
It makes me so mad when I see parents leaving their kids in the car. Not to mention its now illegal to leave a child under the age of 12 unsupervised ANYWHERE. I'm assuming that leaving a minor in a vehicle alone = unsupervised.
What happens if the car gets jacked? It's happened many times before. They jump in the car, take off and realise there's a kid in the back.
What happens if I lock the car, and the central locking plays up?
No No No No No - I would never risk it. The time it takes to get DD out and put her back is minimal compared the risks of leaving her there.
Can you tell I'm passionate about this topic :p
:iagree:
I have always taken DS into the petrol station with me, mainly because we have always lived in very hot places and I was worried he'd overheat, or someone might drop a cigarette or something and our car might catch on fire... :o
Having said that though I did leave him in the car sometimes when I parked right at an ATM or video return or something where you only have to step a few steps from the car and not go inside anywhere IYKWIM?
But now he can undo his carseat harness by himself so he has to come with me even if I'm going just those few metres, in case he lets the handbrake off or opens the door or something :).
I leave Cobes in the car, I'm in and out in 2 minutes... I take my keys and lock the car :emocity:
I think I look like a loon though, on my return I tend to pull faces at him while I'm walking towards the car :laughing:
NibbleCurlynBub
20-01-2009, 18:06
I've only had to fill up my own petrol once or twice and both times I left them in the car.
I feel that since I have two toddlers and a petrol station is primarily filled with cars, its just safer for them to stay there.
Though like I said, I've only had to do it very few times.
My first choice is to ask someone else to fill my car up for me while I stay at home with the kids, or do it on a weekend while Brett is with me when we do the big grocery shop. :)
20-01-2009, 18:08
I leave them in the car, always. I always lock the car and take the keys.
Fuchsia!
I leave my kids in the car, i live in a small country town and the petrol counter is literally a couple of metres away. I always take the keys out of the ignition and i leave the door open so i can see them and hear them.
ANyway even if some decided to hijack the car i can garuntee you that they would be chucking a chewy with in 10mins once they realise how full on Cooper is! PMSL
Pina Colada
I leave them in the car.
There are just as many "What If's" for leaving them in the car as there are for taking them into the service station.
What if a driver speeds into the station and collects us all?
What if my 2 year old slips my hand and runs into the path of an oncoming car? Or my 3 year old, who I can't hold her hand because I am carrying my 5 mth old and holding my 2 year olds hand?
What if the service station is held up by an armed robber while we are inside? Probably more likely than a car jacking or a fire.....
I'm sorry but I don't think there is a right or wrong answer here - neither situation is completely safe or ideal (much like the do you leave your child in the trolley and return, or leave them in the car and return). It is an individual decision as to what you find best for your children and your circumstances, and I don't think anybody has a right to get on their high horse about either decision.
20-01-2009, 18:09
I leave them in the car.
There are just as many "What If's" for leaving them in the car as there are for taking them into the service station.
What if my 2 year old slips my hand and runs into the path of an oncoming car? Or my 3 year old, who I can't hold her hand because I am carrying my 5 mth old and holding my 2 year olds hand?
What if the service station is held up by an armed robber while we are inside? Probably more likely than a car jacking or a fire.....
I'm sorry but I don't think there is a right or wrong answer here - neither situation is completely safe or ideal (much like the do you leave your child in the trolley and return, or leave them in the car and return). It is an individual decision as to what you find best for your children and your circumstances, and I don't think anybody has a right to get on their high horse about either decision.
:iagree::iagree::iagree::yes:
shockinamillion
20-01-2009, 18:10
:eek: OOOOh I did not even think about this, how the frik do you do that will two little babies. EEEk. My mum always left us in the car, but then again I was old enough to watch my baby brother and we always locked the doors.
Looks like after bubs are born I will be making sure DP is ALWAYS with me when I fill up.
NibbleCurlynBub
20-01-2009, 18:12
:iagree: I really do.
Its really just a personal weighing of which one you feel is a lesser risk.
On hot days, we don't go out if I need more petrol.
and as for the central locking playing up.. Is that more likely to happen at a servo, because really that seems to me like something that could happen any time, anywhere.
Ana Gram
20-01-2009, 18:12
I leave her in the car. It's all about risk assessment. I go to a very busy service station on a main road in Melbourne. I have almost been hit by a car on more than one occasion so I will not risk having my child in the same situation. Drivers can see me, they cannot see DD.
bundymummy
20-01-2009, 18:15
and as for the central locking playing up.. Is that more likely to happen at a servo, because really that seems to me like something that could happen any time, anywhere.
You're absolutely right. Which I why I will never leave my DD locked in the car. Anywhere, anytime. IMO it's just not worth it.
Someone said it's an individual decision and :iagree: 100%. We have to weigh up the pros and cons and make a decision based on what we as parents believe to be the best option.
i picked other cause i do leave them in the car but i always havedf stay with him...i dont get fuel by myself
i leave him in the car. i don't think there's a right or wrong thing to do; it's whatever you're comfortable with. i always do go to servo's where i can get fairly close to the door and watch him as i go in and pay, if i'm too far away, or parked around a corner (sometimes happens because i have diesel), i'll take him with me. if there's a reallly long line up, i take him with me. sometimes i lock the car, sometimes i don't - depends on the line up/ how close i am to him/ the list goes on. it's whatever feels right at the time.
central locking is no issue with me, i'd never hesitate to break a window to get to him if that happened.
NibbleCurlynBub
20-01-2009, 18:26
central locking is no issue with me, i'd never hesitate to break a window to get to him if that happened.
:iagree: :o While I love my car to bits, there would be no question about it.
HelenHasTwins
20-01-2009, 18:29
I have thought about this:D Seeing we are having twins I will be getting DH to fill the car for or I will do it when he gets home from work, because I don't think I would leave them in the car alone....
workin'mumof2
20-01-2009, 18:29
i never go alone. i always fill up with dh so one of us can fill up and pay while the other one can watch them.
aardvark
20-01-2009, 18:33
I asked a police officer, and the opinion I got was that they would much prefer the children safely in the cars than wandering about on the service station forecourt, especially toddlers who might take off while the parent is lining up to pay.
Fuchsia!
20-01-2009, 18:45
It makes me so mad when I see parents leaving their kids in the car. Not to mention its now illegal to leave a child under the age of 12 unsupervised ANYWHERE. I'm assuming that leaving a minor in a vehicle alone = unsupervised.
What happens if the car gets jacked? It's happened many times before. They jump in the car, take off and realise there's a kid in the back.
No No No No No - I would never risk it. The time it takes to get DD out and put her back is minimal compared the risks of leaving her there.
What happens when you are in a busy Petrol station?
What happens if you have a runner on your hands?
How are you suppose to pay for petrol while hold 1 spirited toddler in one hand and another in the other hand?
Then have to wrestle to put them back in the
car?
I used to take my children in with me, until i seen a child clipped by a car at the petrol station (did the runner from his parents), and now i lock them in the car safetly
Deserama
20-01-2009, 18:52
Can you tell I'm passionate about this topic
Ha ha ha - this makes me laugh...sorry but it does! Maybe one day you will find out why some mums leave their kids in the car ;)
As for me...having worked as a driveway attendant (back when we actually had service ;) ) I know how dangerous it is on the tarmac because I had some close calls myself and I'm adult.....so therefore all my kids stay in the car where it's safer thanks all the same!
And Jaxcoop...you got it babe!
3blue&1pink
20-01-2009, 18:54
I asked a police officer, and the opinion I got was that they would much prefer the children safely in the cars than wandering about on the service station forecourt, especially toddlers who might take off while the parent is lining up to pay.
That is why I do not take my 3 in with me.. I would spend the whole time chasing them around the shop then actually paying.
But I also judge by the way my children are as to if there are going to be any fights or problems.. I take one in then and leave two in the car.. car is locked!
I picked other because I tend to take DD into the station with me. However, if I am at a station that I can see the car from the counter through a window and there is no one lined up, I have ran in and paid after taking the keys and locking the car.
I would never leave a kid unattended in a car for more than a moment or somewhere where I couldn't see them. In saying this, DD is not yet at the age where she will run off or act like a little monkey if I pull her out of the car for a quick trip in somewhere. When she gets to that stage - I may change my opinion.
Deserama
20-01-2009, 18:57
I used to take my children in with me, until i seen a child clipped by a car at the petrol station (did the runner from his parents), and now i lock them in the car safetly
Yeh I saw a similar thing over Christmas...a toddler ran off and a car was backing out and simply couldn't see her, luckily the mum got there in time...but why oh why wasn't she buckled safely in her car??
mum2peanut
20-01-2009, 19:03
I have never left DD1 in the car, I always took her in.
Now that I have two kids, I tend to get petrol on my own, but if I had to take them both, I'd get them out. I'm not risking leaving them in the car to save the inconvenience of not getting them out. JMO.
Tristans_Mum
20-01-2009, 19:08
Im pretty lucky the petrol station near our house has a pay at the actual pump so i can pay without leaving the car.
What about the families with 3 kids? I mean if i didnt go to that petrol station then soon i would have to take in a baby, 20month old and 3 yr old...... I dont think i could do that!
bundymummy
20-01-2009, 19:12
Ha ha ha - this makes me laugh...sorry but it does! Maybe one day you will find out why some mums leave their kids in the car ;)
As for me...having worked as a driveway attendant (back when we actually had service ;) ) I know how dangerous it is on the tarmac because I had some close calls myself and I'm adult.....so therefore all my kids stay in the car where it's safer thanks all the same!
And Jaxcoop...you got it babe!
I don't laugh at YOUR parenting decisions/techniques. The OP asked what we do and I replied. Furthermore I explained exactly WHY I choose to take DD. Maybe one day you will learn to accept other parents decisions without belittling them.
As I mentioned earlier we all make decisions based on what we as parents believe is the best choice. Your choice just happens to be different to mine. Perhaps try to remember in future that we, as adults are entitled to our own opinions. I didn't refer to any other parent in my post, I simply expressed my views and explained what I do.
Electric Rodeo
20-01-2009, 19:15
I leave my 2 kids in the car. Always have.
I am not in a position to wait for someone else to do it or come with me. I get petrol when I need it. Maybe I feel more laid back about it because of where I live, you can leave doors open, car unlocked etc.
The kids just yell out the window to get them a prize:p
I rarely see people bundling an armful of kids out of the car to go in and pay. Then again it is smallish towns;)
Sheer Bliss
20-01-2009, 19:15
When it was just me and DD, I'd always get her out. From my perspective then - it wasn't that hard to get one child out, and she wasn't a runner, so didn't have that fear to contend with.
Now with 2, I usually only fill-up when DH is with me, or he goes down alone to fill my car up. This is NOT always possible though, so when I have to do it, I ALWAYS leave them in the safety of the car!!
If you have a solution to how I am going to be able to SAFELY get my newborn twins, 2yo DS AND 4yo DD out of the car and safely into pay for my petrol then please go for it, i'd absolutely LOVE to hear it! As said above, i'll avoid doing it on my own, but sometimes it can't be helped. There are no petrol stations near me that are servicd or have the swipe machines at the pump, so unless there is a magic solution, they will definately be MUCH safer locked in the car than running about a petrol station.
I leave them in the car.
:iagree: :iagree: :iagree: with one child, it is so much easier, esp if that child isn't a runner, it would even be difficult with one child if they were spirited!! So everyones situation is going to vary. Esp when my MS was bad......the time it took to get both kids out of the car (i only went out for drs appts and to drop DD at daycare!) might have meant me puking in the line waiting to pay....not ideal for anyone!
HousebumMum
20-01-2009, 19:22
Not sure why this even has to be a 'debate', but I will say that each to their own. If someone wants to leave their children in the car whilst paying for petrol, more power to them and vice versa if they wish to take them out.
Me personally. I have only had one occasion where I have needed to fill the car and my children had been inside. They were both asleep at the time, so I chose (that's right..my children, my car, my decision) to pay for the petrol and leave them in the car. It took all of half a minute to do so as well....
It was a pre-paid pump.:D I never left the side of the car.
pinkgingham
20-01-2009, 19:26
leave them in the car. DD is now a very spirited little girl, as well as already having a spirited DS. there are all chocolates and chips at their level as you walk in. you should see the tantrums she throws for things that she wants. throws her head back hard onto concrete and tiled floors. she does that whole floppy thing when holding her hand. there is no way in hell i would take her in, i would be an irresponsible parent for doing so knowing how dangerous it would be. not to mention how she likes to wander off in front of moving vehicles. the servo i go to, although busy is small and i am usually in and out in less than a minute. DP isnt here during the week so sometimes i just cant wait because i am alone.
with my 2, its safer in the car.
bundymummy
20-01-2009, 19:27
When it was just me and DD, I'd always get her out. From my perspective then - it wasn't that hard to get one child out, and she wasn't a runner, so didn't have that fear to contend with.
Now with 2, I usually only fill-up when DH is with me, or he goes down alone to fill my car up. This is NOT always possible though, so when I have to do it, I ALWAYS leave them in the safety of the car!!
If you have a solution to how I am going to be able to SAFELY get my newborn twins, 2yo DS AND 4yo DD out of the car and safely into pay for my petrol then please go for it, i'd absolutely LOVE to hear it! As said above, i'll avoid doing it on my own, but sometimes it can't be helped. There are no petrol stations near me that are servicd or have the swipe machines at the pump, so unless there is a magic solution, they will definately be MUCH safer locked in the car than running about a petrol station.
:iagree: :iagree: :iagree: with one child, it is so much easier, esp if that child isn't a runner, it would even be difficult with one child if they were spirited!! So everyones situation is going to vary. Esp when my MS was bad......the time it took to get both kids out of the car (i only went out for drs appts and to drop DD at daycare!) might have meant me puking in the line waiting to pay....not ideal for anyone!
The OP asked what we do with our child/ren. I explained what I do with my CHILD.
I think everyone needs to :chillpill:. Get over it. We are all entitled to our own opinions. No one is having a dig at anyone, or at least I wasn't. My post has been copied and attacked quite a bit. But I don't care. Take a chill pill, make a cup of tea and relax.
I myself may very well change my opinion when I have more children. Until that happens I'm of the firm belief that taking your children with you is safer.
Kayangel
20-01-2009, 19:33
I always take my DS in with me when i pay, i would never leave him alone in the car.
I only have the one child and this may change if and when i have more but for now thats wat i do and feel works best for "us". Everyone is only stating wat they do, i dont feel there is a need to attack anyone.
mumtochloe- *hugs*
To avoid this dilemma, I always get DH to fill up my car. On the very odd occasion that I have had my dd in the car, I have done both, left her in and taken her out, but I can count on my hands how many times she's been with me at a Petrol station and it's probably three at most.
Take him with me :yes: I often get cute looks from the people in the car behind me while I say sorry. I use the same line everytime... bet you wish you didn't park behind the Mum. Generally we all have a giggle and carry on. That way I dont feel bad for making them wait an extra couple of minutes and they're cant get cranky because I'm too nice:p
My four stay in the car. Windows down and car doors locked.
They're usually yelling at each other anyways so anyone who wants to commit a car jacking at that time would most definitely think twice before they stole my car.
Plus my car costs almost $200 to fill it- who'd wanna steal that!:laughing:
I always take my 4 in with the exception of one servo right here in (small, country)town where I can pratically touch the counter from the car hehe. The guy comes and chats and fills up the car for me :yelclap: and I walk 2 steps from the car to pay the lady while he is still filling it up :D I would look a bit loony dragging them all out of the car to walk 2 metres hehe.
I am too paranoid to leave them in the car in a normal servo because I have nearly been car jacked (while driving) before and have seen too many Oprah stories hehe. That's just me though, each to their own.
I am sure those who leave them rush in and out as quickly as they can, heart racing and never take their eyes off the car for a sec.
My four stay in the car. Windows down and car doors locked.
They're usually yelling at each other anyways so anyone who wants to commit a car jacking at that time would most definitely think twice before they stole my car.
Plus my car costs almost $200 to fill it- who'd wanna steal that!:laughing:
I must be misinformed. I thought it was illegal?? I must be screwed up with something.
I always take DS with me, and probably will continue. I don't have to do it very often, but I find it safer in my opinion than leaving him in the car. JMO though:)
20-01-2009, 20:05
Well I don't drive that often, probably about once a week or once a fortnight (or more, it varies) when we get petrol its usually on the way somewhere and about 95% of the time Grant is there aswell (I'd send him up to get it but he doesn't have his license :rolleyes:) so one of us goes and pays and the other stays with the kids. OR I go up by myself and get it when Grant is home with the kids.
On the odd occasion where I have gone (with the kids) I leave them in the car with the doors locked. It'd be quite difficult to take 2 kids (and soon 3) out of the car, unbuckle them, put up with Skye throwing a patty because she doesn't want to sit in the pram (that is after I've unfolded it-thats if its actually in the car), the go in the shop, put up with more patties because the kids can't have lollies or whatever then go and put them back, not to mention kids running off and not wanting to hold my hand. If I only had one kid then it might be a bit different but I don't. I can't imagine what it'd be like having 4 or 5 or more.
So yeah, thats what I do.
Sheer Bliss
20-01-2009, 20:12
mumtochloe - I think your post was quoted so much (and why it stood out to me) was that you were SHOUTING never,never and made such an emphasis about it making you so mad other parents were doing illegal things. your point about it being what you do is also why I said when it was just me and DD, I took her with me, as IMO it was safer then. To me, your post just really stood out as accusing others of deliberately doing an illegal act that risked their childs life.
Maybe take a look at legislation too, and speak to a police officer (as i think someone said they have) there is no clear b&w law on the matter, and if your car is in your view and you are no more than about 10m away (why i wait for the pump near the door) it is not illegal (varies from state to state though) It's a good idea to know facts before accusing others of breaking the law.
LOTS of other people said they always take their kids out of the car, as they believe it is safer, that is fine, but they also didn't accuse others of doing the wrong thing. Maybe a :chillpill: before your first post might have helped you too.
possumsmum
20-01-2009, 20:14
The petrol station closest to us is a 'full service' one where the guys pump the petrol and take your payment (portable EFTPOS machine) all from the comfort of my car - dont even need to get out! If I am not near it I just swipe my card and pay at the pump. If this wasnt an option I would get the 2 kids out, I dont mind if it takes a bit longer.
Blueberry Crumble
20-01-2009, 20:17
It depends. I always use my good mummy judgement. Sometimes I leave him, sometimes I take him in, depends on things like how far away parked, whether I can see him from the store, weather etc etc.
MothersMilk
20-01-2009, 20:20
I have never been in that situation - DH always fills up or i do it when i don't have bub or another adult is in the car to stay with bub.
If i had to fill up with DD alone i probably would get her out and take her with me while i pay. I would just feel more comfortable that way.
ThisIsLiving
20-01-2009, 20:28
It depends. I always use my good mummy judgement. Sometimes I leave him, sometimes I take him in, depends on things like how far away parked, whether I can see him from the store, weather etc etc.
:iagree: Same here. :yes:
FiveInTheBed
20-01-2009, 20:31
I ticked "Other"...as DP and I learned to become a little more organised when we had 3 under 2!!!
We would watch the level and fill up before it got near empty - one of us going at night while the other stayed home with the babies. Or if we were all out together on the weekend we would fill and then park, (leaving the ac on in summer) one in the car, while one went in.
Now I sometimes run my brother around and quite often ask him to sit in the car with the kids while I run in to pay if I notice the gauge is low.
I would take one or maybe two of them in to pay if I was alone but three crazy kids running everywhere - nup!! no thanks.
I suppose it is different as the kids grow from being Babies and toddlers into young children.. you tend to loosen the strings a little.
Majority of the time it is pretty hot here - and I would no way leave the kids in the car with out the ac on..and I would no way leave the kids in the car unattended with the keys in the ignition....so I try not to take them to the petrol station with me for now.
If I go the the big city :p where you can swipe at the pump - then that is what I would do!! I usually use eftpos everywhere anyway.
stardance
20-01-2009, 20:32
depends on weather and his mood.
today was 41 in melbourne and i took him in, in winter i leave him with a toy while i run in and pay.
if its cold and he is cranky i take him with me...
(except if it's pouring!)
i have thought about it heaps and all the bad scenarios...my worst fear is an armed robber.
when i leave him my car is locked...central locking so i always have keys.
i think it would be harder to carjack a car than just rob the place so that is what i do.
(never thought about kids getting run over that is a good point but my son isn't long walking so that doesnt really apply yet)
Each to their own everyone values risks differently :)
NibbleCurlynBub
20-01-2009, 20:33
mumtochloe - I think your post was quoted so much (and why it stood out to me) was that you were SHOUTING never,never and made such an emphasis about it making you so mad other parents were doing illegal things. your point about it being what you do is also why I said when it was just me and DD, I took her with me, as IMO it was safer then. To me, your post just really stood out as accusing others of deliberately doing an illegal act that risked their childs life.
:iagree: I did see it that way too.
Though had no idea how to say it without sounding even worse than the original post.
LEAVE HIM IN THE CAR!!!
:laughing: I always fill up when DH is with me so there is always someone in the car with him.......however the odd occasion I have had to use my mummy judgement also, luckily where I fill up is a small petrol station and I would be probably ten steps from the car to where I pay. It depends where you live....if I were in the city, definately take him with me.
pixiemum2
20-01-2009, 20:36
I never leave them in the car even though it is a hassle to unstrap them, get them out, then juggle one on the hip and another with octopus arms while I am paying. It is illegal to leave them in the car anyway.
I do try and fill up when I have DH in the car with me or he is able to stay at home with the kids while I quickly shoot off.
JabberJaw
20-01-2009, 20:39
I usually leave mine in the car, i have an almost 12 year old 4,5,and 10 month old.
If i had just bub with me i would take her in.
I dont lock them in the car, but i do take the keys in with me. I park at the bowser closest to the window and will wait for the particular spot if need be.
When DD1 was little I always took her with me, but now that DD1 is 7 I leave her there, and DD2, but if DD1 is not in the car I take DD2 with me, I just think that that is better, on the other hand if she is slepping I leave her there......
But, I always take the keys, and lock the car...and wait for there to be no cue....I always have a look how many people are in there, and how long it will take me......u know...I asses the situation etc....
I ticked leave them in the car.
I rarely am alone with the kids and need to fill up but when the odd occasion pops up I leave them in the car.
I have a very 'spirited' 6 year old with a disability who runs off, a 2 year old who runs off also and a 3 month old. Which hand of mine am I supposed to pay with? The hand that holds the 6 yo? The hand that holds the 2 yo AND the baby? I would pay with my foot but my leg isn't long enough to reach the counter.:rolleyes:
But, I always take the keys, and lock the car...and wait for there to be no cue....I always have a look how many people are in there, and how long it will take me......u know...I asses the situation etc....
This is what I do too.
With the whole keyless entry thing playing up.....
You can either a) smash a window or
b) use the key!
The keyless entry didn't unlock the car for me one day at the supermarket.
I had a blonde pregnant moment when I thought I'd have to call DP with the other controller until I realised it also contained an 'old fashioned' key you can put in the lock!
BTW I chose leave in the car. I always park where I can see the car clearly.
Frankie41
20-01-2009, 22:06
I always take DS with me. I'm always worried about the 'what if's' even though I'll only gone for 2 mins and I can see him the whole time.
Only after seeing this topic did it dawn on me that getting petrol is going to be a bit of an issue once #2 comes along!
20-01-2009, 22:07
Well firstly, I usually try & make sure theres someone with me (another adult) when fuelling up, otherwise I always take them out of the car with me.
It only takes a second to get them out, and a second to get them back in, I think I'd worry too much to leave them in the car by themselves.
pinkgingham
20-01-2009, 22:16
With the whole keyless entry thing playing up.....
You can either a) smash a window or
b) use the key!
The keyless entry didn't unlock the car for me one day at the supermarket.
I had a blonde pregnant moment when I thought I'd have to call DP with the other controller until I realised it also contained an 'old fashioned' key you can put in the lock!
BTW I chose leave in the car. I always park where I can see the car clearly.
yep...so i dont get the whole central locking arguement.
oh word of warning for anyone that needs to do this in future, if your car is alarmed it may go off if you open it with the key. sometimes our central locking wont unlock the car and so i have to use the key and the alarm goes off once i open the door. but goes off if i can get the central locking on the key to work again or if i start the engine. i have a commodore btw, i dont know if its like that in all cars.
SilverStarfish
20-01-2009, 22:33
It is illegal to leave them in the car anyway.
Actually, that's not true. It's an old thread, but have a look at this one (http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?p=642086).
The short version in that it's not illegal to leave your kids in the car - under certain and specific circumstances.
I leave my girls in the car, I feel that it's safer for them to be restrained in the car where I can see them 100% of the time (I fill up at a certain station, in a certain spot) than trying to juggle a baby and a toddler who could easily dart away from me, fall over or get distracted - not to mention running riot in the shop if she's in a mood.
In the realms of bad "what ifs" I think it's far more likely for some baseball bat (or worse) wielding manic to come in and try and rob the joint than someone successfully stealing my locked car - in which case I'd much rather my kids be in the car, than be a potential target or hostage.
ZooKeeper
20-01-2009, 23:47
preferably I go to one where a nice person comes to my window and says "how much do you need" and fills it for me and I hand over the cash to them from my comfy drivers seat. here in nrthn rivers we have a few like that, Liberty's mainly in the towns plus our local village one.
I don't always get to do that for one reason or t'other, and if it's been a long day and Bear has reached the totally troppo stage where just getting her in the carseat to head homewards was a major drama, I choose a quiet one away from the main drag where there's no young hoons hanging around, and no queue to pay and race in without her, keys in my hot little hand. yes I feel guilty, but she's at that age where she'll leap out of my arms or break away if walking at the drop of a hat and then refuse with arched back to go back in her seat so it's the lesser of two evils really.
(and on the other mentioned dilemma with shopping trolleys I just leave them near where I parked as we have young fellas who get paid to collect them and if we all put them back, those boys are out of a job, they've usually raced out to grab the tolley before I've even put keys in the ignition) I never leave bear in car while at an ATM or similar though as there's too many dodgy people on the streets.
I usually go to petrol stations where I can pay at the pump, best invention out, I just swipe my card and put the petrol in and then drive away, don't have to leave the kids or take them out :no:
PunkyDiva
21-01-2009, 03:18
DH puts petrol in our cars normally but on the rare occassions I do it then a teenager stays with them or they come in with me. I hate taking them in though as always traffic going everywhere and slippery spills on walkways etc.
bundymummy
21-01-2009, 07:22
Maybe take a look at legislation too, and speak to a police officer (as i think someone said they have) there is no clear b&w law on the matter, and if your car is in your view and you are no more than about 10m away (why i wait for the pump near the door) it is not illegal (varies from state to state though) It's a good idea to know facts before accusing others of breaking the law.
LOTS of other people said they always take their kids out of the car, as they believe it is safer, that is fine, but they also didn't accuse others of doing the wrong thing. Maybe a :chillpill: before your first post might have helped you too.
Well that was YOUR interpretation of what I said. Certainly not what I meant. First and foremost I don't like it. Secondly, I mentioned that it is now illegal. I never actually said that 'I get mad when parents do illegal things'. I was using the new laws as a way of 'backing up' what I was saying.
Actually, that's not true. It's an old thread, but have a look at this one (http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?p=642086).
The short version in that it's not illegal to leave your kids in the car - under certain and specific circumstances.
This thread is from 2006. New laws were introduced into Queensland October 2008. I don't have to time nor inclination to research and provide information. However I clearly remember watching the news and having the new laws explained. Basically parents can be jailed for up to three years for leaving children under the age of 12 abandoned in public places, in vehicles, and at home.
Having said this, I'd be willing to bet that no parent would ever be charged let alone sent to prison for leaving their children alone in the car to pay for petrol.
As I mentioned earlier, firstly I hate it. And that has nothing to do with the law. The law just happened to be changed last year, giving me an extra argument for taking my DD with me. I've felt very strongly about this issue for a long time.
And when we do have the 3-4 kids we are planning, I simply will not fill up without DH. It's not that hard to plan it. We live 25minutes out of town and we can organise to go together.
Well that was YOUR interpretation of what I said. Certainly not what I meant. First and foremost I don't like it. Secondly, I mentioned that it is now illegal. I never actually said that 'I get mad when parents do illegal things'. I was using the new laws as a way of 'backing up' what I was saying.
This thread is from 2006. New laws were introduced into Queensland October 2008. I don't have to time nor inclination to research and provide information. However I clearly remember watching the news and having the new laws explained. Basically parents can be jailed for up to three years for leaving children under the age of 12 abandoned in public places, in vehicles, and at home.
Having said this, I'd be willing to bet that no parent would ever be charged let alone sent to prison for leaving their children alone in the car to pay for petrol.
The law is about leaving children under 12 months abandonded in a public place, vehicle or at home for an unreasonable period.
So you are right that no, they wouldn't charge someone for leaving their kids in the car while ducking in to pay for petrol.
lavagirl
21-01-2009, 07:59
I leave my children in the car while I pay for petrol, with the windows half down and I have the keys.
It's much safer for them to be restrained in their seatbelts than to be free to walk about moving vehicles.
SimplyMum
21-01-2009, 08:07
I do a combination of both.
Sometimes, I take DS in with me, sometimes I run in by myself.
Generally, I only leave him in the car if the line is short.
I generally only fill up in the morning or at night so heat is not an issue.
When taking him in, I see it as an opportunity for him to look at the lollies but not get anything. Almost desenetising him to the lolly aisle at the food market. He's now great with it by the way, he tells me that the lollies are pretty colours butwe don't need any because we have food at home.
I think it depends on allot of things though. I think it'd be unreasonable to take 3 kids under the age of 5 in- how are you going to hold all those hands? They're likely to get hit by a car or run onto a busy road.
I think each situation has a different merit and I would think the law would take that into consideration- after all the law is there to provide a set of reasonable expectations.
hmm normally im pretty openminded and i dont buy into these highly controversial debates, but i must say im suprised to see im in the minority.
i never leave my kids in the car, ever
car jacking, armed hold ups, being run down and dodgy central locking all aside as to me they all seem fairly unlikely, i just think if i can see my child, speak to my child and hold onto my child then my child is in safest place possible. i have the type of 5 yo that would def release handbrake or try to drive the car or do a runner out the door:rolleyes:
but i do try to send dh when i can as its an effort getting them in and out
i suppose i would leave my 11 yo though, but i always have the boys with me so she just comes in too
Sheer Bliss
21-01-2009, 08:58
Well that was YOUR interpretation of what I said. Certainly not what I meant. First and foremost I don't like it. Secondly, I mentioned that it is now illegal. I never actually said that 'I get mad when parents do illegal things'. I was using the new laws as a way of 'backing up' what I was saying. .
You pointed out earlier that your post was quoted many times, so it obviously wasn't just MY interpretation of what you said, many others felt you came accross the same way I did.
As I mentioned earlier, firstly I hate it. And that has nothing to do with the law. The law just happened to be changed last year, giving me an extra argument for taking my DD with me. I've felt very strongly about this issue for a long time.
And when we do have the 3-4 kids we are planning, I simply will not fill up without DH. It's not that hard to plan it. We live 25minutes out of town and we can organise to go together.
As Teegzie has said - an unreasonable amount of time - you can't take a law and use it to support your opinion when you omit parts of it. And as I said before, I have no issues with you taking your child in, and having that opinion, but your original post said that it made you so mad that other parents did leave their kids in the car. Again LOTS of parents in this thread have said they feel safer taking their kids in with them, and have done so without accusing others of doing the wrong thing. Each to their own. It's generally NOT that hard to organise someone else to be there when you fill up with fuel and more than 1 child....other times it IS hard to organise.
Deserama
21-01-2009, 09:13
I don't laugh at YOUR parenting decisions/techniques. The OP asked what we do and I replied. Furthermore I explained exactly WHY I choose to take DD. Maybe one day you will learn to accept other parents decisions without belittling them.
As I mentioned earlier we all make decisions based on what we as parents believe is the best choice. Your choice just happens to be different to mine. Perhaps try to remember in future that we, as adults are entitled to our own opinions. I didn't refer to any other parent in my post, I simply expressed my views and explained what I do.
I wouldn't care if you laughed at me ;) I just thought it was funny because I used to think the same thing once...
Also you didn't just put forward your parenting choices you also said that other people's choices make you mad...
So that changes it being about what YOU do and puting it onto what OTHERS do. You simply do NOT understand what it's like to take lots of children through a busy fuel station...and THAT is why I laughed!
Deserama
21-01-2009, 09:22
ROFL!!!! Yes yes yes!!!! That's what I always think too...if you want a bunch of whiney kids then go for it - good luck, I bet they don't make it five minutes down the road before coming back and handing them to me saying "Take them back, take them back, for the love of god please take them back"...;)
2girls1boy
21-01-2009, 09:25
I leave them in the car.
:iagree: but I also live in a small town and there is a petrol station that here that still comes to your window and takes your money, ill use that one more when the baby is born, unfortunatley i dont have the luxery of having DH arond alot to come with me to fuel up
lavagirl
21-01-2009, 09:26
A parent has 2 hands right? How on earth could one SAFELY take 4 children under the age of 12 into servo and also use one hand to pay :confused:
Think about those who also have children with them 24/7 (single parents...one parent who works away ect).
It's not all that black and white (well, I guess it is for those with 1 child or possibly 2 perfect children :rolleyes:).
My children are NOT to remove their seatbelts, the windows are 1/2 down, I have the keys and they are SAFE :yes:
Deserama
21-01-2009, 09:27
HappyLittleChappy
21-01-2009, 09:28
Before having DS, I was adamant that I would not leave him in the car.
BUT since having him and re-thinking the situation I decided it was much safer leaving him in the car, windows slightly down and doors locked.
I always park at the bowser closest to the door even if it means waiting while there are others free. At the servo I go to this means the car is literally 1mtr away from the door of the station and I can see him through the window.
I often get weird looks from people as I pull faces at him from the counter and he laughs his little butt off at me.
I would either get DS1 to go in and pay, or leave them in the car:).
Deserama
21-01-2009, 09:34
preferably I go to one where a nice person comes to my window and says "how much do you need" and fills it for me and I hand over the cash to them from my comfy drivers seat. here in nrthn rivers we have a few like that, Liberty's mainly in the towns plus our local village one.
Hey I didn't think they had these anymore...I thought us driveway attendants were extinct!! There you go.
there's one in toowong (I think? maybe indro?), Deserama... but the price of petrol is at least 10c more.. they come out and wipe your windscreen, pump your fuel :D
Deserama
21-01-2009, 09:38
So lets see if you can fix this problem.....
I need to take 4 of my kids to their father's every fortnight...the meeting place is 2 hrs away. You fill up your car with deisel and head of....When you are almost there, you look down and see that the needle is almost on E. You have no other adult with you as dh is currently at work...it's just you pregnant with 5 children at a busy HIGHWAY petrol station with cars everywhere.
What do you do???
See? Not that easy is it?
I take my boys in with me. It's a bit of a nuisance sometimes and I am sure people in line behind me might get a little cranky that it takes me a bit longer, but I personally don't feel comfortable leaving them in the car. To be honest, I don't really care what other parents do at the petrol station with their kids - they are not in danger and it is not my business! I am pretty fortunate that DS2 needs to be carried still and DS1 is always very good and stays right at my side holding my hand. DS2 looks already like he might be more the type to suddenly bolt from my side once he starts walking so my way of doing things may change if this is the case. Nothing is ever black and white really when it comes to these areas of parenting!
2girls1boy
21-01-2009, 09:41
Hey I didn't think they had these anymore...I thought us driveway attendants were extinct!! There you go.
We have one here in town, and the petrol is no dearer its the same as the other one in town,
Leave them in the car.
* Can't carry 2x 3 month olds by myself :D
* It's just me most of the time, so I don't have the option for DP to take the car and go do it without us
* Would love to use prepaid pumps, but they have been taken away from this town, I can only suppose because people were abusing the system (pooey for me!)
* I feel they would be safer in the car anyway! :thumbsup:
Deserama
21-01-2009, 09:45
there's one in toowong (I think? maybe indro?), Deserama... but the price of petrol is at least 10c more.. they come out and wipe your windscreen, pump your fuel :D
wow! There you go! I used to do this for a living, it was so much fun too, you'd meet so many interesting people.
WorkingClassMum
21-01-2009, 09:57
How are you suppose to pay for petrol while hold 1 spirited toddler in one hand and another in the other hand?
car?
:iagree:- This is my life
Should you choose to shout at the opening of your post, make your stance that other parenting decisions make you mad, and then to make broadsweeping assumptions and judgements - you are going to get quoted and disagreed with, and maybe even laughed at.
I supposed being laughed at is quite hurtful, but so is someone telling me that they are mad with me before they even give me a chance to make a post.
I have a child who's a runner - and short of using a harness and leash or handcuffs - she would make a dash on a whim and fancy. This same child will not stand in queues or wait in line and is one of those kids who's voice raises in full crescendo when she decided she wants a chupa chup now and dissolves into a full scale tanty.:hissy:
I am not ever going to take that child into a service station to pay a bill unless the car is in the full sun and my better mummy decision is that risking a full scale tanty is better than having a fried-dried dead child.
When all I had was my easy peasy DS - I too was smug and couldn't understand all these bad mummies who's decisions made me mad. So all my pride was pricked when DD came along to teach me a lesson.
princess niamh
21-01-2009, 10:01
I leave them in the car. I used to be so anti it..but then I got pregnant and now the idea of walkign with 2 kids and my belly and SPD...
I leave them in.
I usually fill up on weekends when my mum is in the car with me, so she waits with DS or I do it on the way to work when DS is with his dad.
If I have a busy week with lots of driving and run out when I have DS, I park in the closest pump to the station and leave the window open an inch, lock the car, take the keys with me and pay. I can see him the whole time through the glass window.
stellarella
21-01-2009, 10:02
I said other.
I don't actually get the petrol in our family. DP does it for me on his way to and from work or on the weekends. We only have one car and don't use that much petrol anyway.
If I did have to get petrol one day I would have to take both my children in to pay. I couldn't leave them in the car :eek:
It's just one of my biggest fears that somone will steal my car and drive away with it (and my darling hearts!!)....OR something unforseen will happen and the car will set on fire or something. I've heard some horrific stories which are admittedly few and far between but they have really stuck with me.
I leave DS unsupervised in his bedroom every night when he sleeps :footinmouth: :eek::eek::eek:
Seriously, I'm further away from him in my own house than at the petrol station. He'll be fine!
Fuchsia!
21-01-2009, 10:14
Might be a bit harder to plan when you don't have a hubby.
WorkingClassMum
21-01-2009, 10:33
It's just not that easy. It's great that you have now thought about it - but life has a way of throwing everyone a few curve balls. Don't paint yourslef into a corner and keep an open mind.
Its not illegal to leave a child in a car while paying for fuel (within reason) in WA ,this is not to be confused with leaving a child in a car while going shopping or to the casino. It is not even illegal for a child who is under 12 to be left home alone ,as long as they know how to dial 000 and are deemed competent enought to be alone by the parents then that is sufficent as far as the police and child services are concerned.
This is what information I was given recently by childrens services and the police and no I do not agree with it all.
bundymummy
21-01-2009, 11:10
I think some people are being quite childish and ridiculous. As mentioned earlier, the OP asked what we do with our own children and I stand by my response. I will shout it from the rooftops. I will NEVER leave DD in the car to pay for petrol. EVER.
I did not continue to 'shout' throughout my post. The only part of my post that was 'shouted' was that I will never leave MY DD in the car.
I think some people are confusing keyless entry with central locking. Yes, most cars have both - but some do not. I've been in two situations were the central locking stopped working. Once my DH's old car had central locking (but not keyless entry). The locks kept going up and down over and over and we couldn't get into the car. We ended up having to leave it overnight for the motor to eventually 'burn out'. Probably not the correct terminology, but I'm not a mechanic.
My best friend and I were shopping one day and she too had central locking (but not keyless entry). Her key just wouldn't open the door. You could hear the noise of the lock trying to open, but it just wouldn't open.
Furthermore, one of DH's cousins had the awful experience of her 2year old DS taking her keys off her and somehow locking himself in the car. After a few minutes of waiting for RACQ on an extremely hot day in Perth she and some onlookers decided to break the window. Her DS is now 5years old and is still terrified of the car. I can imagine it would be very traumatic for a small child to be locked in a car and have everyone outside panicking and then have the window broken.
As I've previously mentioned, I'm entitled to my own opinion. As you are to yours. I did NOT 'shout' at anyone else. I only shouted that I would never leave my DD.
To those of who are taking offence because I said I get mad at other parents; Are you seriously telling me that you NEVER get mad/upset/cranky when you see other parents doing things? Even when you don't know the full story either? I don't think so. We all do things that other parents will not like.
Ana Gram
21-01-2009, 11:15
MumtoChloe, if you had simply left it at what you choose to do, no-one would be offended. But you made a statement about what other parents do without any thought as to why they do it. Please consider why other parents may leave their kids in the car before you get mad at them.
lavagirl
21-01-2009, 11:19
MumtoChloe,ummm, I wouldn't leave any child in a locked car with all the windows up :eek: therefore the keyless/central locking debate is ridiculous!
And as for a child taking the keys...well, NO child under the age of 16 is allowed to be left in the car with keys..it is pure commen sense to have the keys with you :)
I have never left DS in the car - and he is usually with me when I fill up.
I am just too anal to leave him unsupervised:p. I would never forgive myself if something happened. It only takes 20 seconds to get him out and 20 seconds to put him back in - I figure it's time well spent.
Mrs Nietzsche
21-01-2009, 11:59
When i just had my 10 year old, I left her in the car. Now i have a baby as well, it's DH's job every week to fillup.
If necessary i could go to the pump with the keycard swipe though (eftpos at the pump)
It's a pretty stupid thing to worry about in the scheme of things - but I remember a couple of years back there was a rush of cars being stolen with kids inside them (incl one from a petrol station).
lavagirl
21-01-2009, 12:06
Realistically....there need to be MORE eftpos at the pumps :yes:
:iagree: with you. It would make it easier for alot of people.
NewBeginnings
21-01-2009, 12:19
Nope never ever! :no: It takes two seconds for something to happen and I could never live with myself if it did happen.
I have left DS in the car if my younger (15) brother was in the car with him. Or if there was a friend in their car beside/behind me watching him.... but never ever alone by himself.
IMO the risk is just too great, so alseep, awake, in a feral mood, whatever, he comes in with me.
canberramomma
21-01-2009, 12:19
Depends. If I only have one with me, they come along. If I have all 3 littlies, they stay in the car.
Mrs Nietzsche
21-01-2009, 12:20
i agree - there should be a 'parents pump' with an eftpos!. maybe we should send a children's advocacy group the link to this thread.
Such a small thing that would make life so much easier for parents.
mum23girls
21-01-2009, 12:22
I leave them in the car, windows down and keys with me. I think there is more potential for something bad to happen just taking them out on the road in a car.
Adelaides Mum
21-01-2009, 12:26
This problem has never come up for me..yet! DF fills the car up as he uses it for work. I do get the car twice a week but never had to stop for fuel. There is a servo with EFTPOS at the pump close to our house, I would use that. But if that option wasnt there I think I would have to take DD with me to pay. Its been on the news and in papers and I just could'nt deal with someone taking her, or something terrible happening. I dont have an opinion on other parents choices, this is just something I personally would do.
princess niamh
21-01-2009, 12:27
Its so easy to assume you know how it will be with more kids.
I always said,..I will never leave my kids in the car...and now hahahahahaaha I do.
Kids ages,maturity, abilities, behaviour, weight etc all make a difference.
So really all we can say is what we do now. None of us know what we will do in the future.
as for planning ahead...ohh to live in a planned world.
I cant plan to have hubby fill up my car. He is only here 7 days and then gone for 7 days.
I would be more worried about running out of petrol and having to make the kids walk then I would about leaving them while I fill up.
Sheer Bliss
21-01-2009, 12:28
:iagree: that would encourage me to make the call to ring and get a pin for my CC, ATM, we use credit for everything, so without a pin, i'd still have to go inside, if there were any near me.
Pina Colada
21-01-2009, 12:33
There has been a couple of posts that have pointed out that it only takes a couple of seconds or little effort to take the kids out of the car.
I can't speak for everybody that has said they would leave their kids in the car :D but it has nothing to do with convenience, or being to slack - for me, it is my personal opinion that the dangers of taking 3 children under the age of 4 across a service station are greater than that of leaving them in a locked car with the windows half wound down, within sight, for a very brief period of time.
Nothing at all to do with it being all too hard to take them out of the car ;)
NibbleCurlynBub
21-01-2009, 12:37
Hmm well I would have to take two toddlers out of the car.
In less than 2 months, I will have to take two toddlers and a newborn out of the car.
Seems dangerous to me, just on the off chance they do a runner.
lavagirl
21-01-2009, 12:40
There has been a couple of posts that have pointed out that it only takes a couple of seconds or little effort to take the kids out of the car.
I can't speak for everybody that has said they would leave their kids in the car :D but it has nothing to do with convenience, or being to slack - for me, it is my personal opinion that the dangers of taking 3 children under the age of 4 across a service station are greater than that of leaving them in a locked car with the windows half wound down, within sight, for a very brief period of time.
Thermolicious
21-01-2009, 12:42
we usually time it so DH fills it when he is on his own or we are all together and I can stay in the car with the kids. On the odd occasion that I have had to fill it, I take them with me.
Ditto
Thermolicious
21-01-2009, 12:50
What happens when you are in a busy Petrol station?
car?
:D I use my ergo, I know exactly where DS1 is then and DS2 is still small enough to carry for those few minutes.
I'd personally just rather have my children near me in any kind of emergency. If were going to get car jacket Id rather be in the car with them, if where going to get robbed in the service station I'd rather they were with me then in the car where I could not get to them. I have nightmares at the thought of a fire breaking out and me having to choose which child to pull out first.
It's just easier to get DF to do it 99.99999% of the time.
MyFourCubs
21-01-2009, 13:42
:iagree: 100%. I HATE getting petrol with my kids in the car and virtually never do it- I usually get Dh to do it or I go out at night and fill up. On the rare occassion it is neccessary, I leave the kids in the car for the above reason- windows down and keys with me and I would never do it if it's hot and I usually have cash so run in-run out. When I just had one- no probs she always came in with me. With the little ones, no way could I carry in both, thrashing to be let down, they wont' hold my hand either much of the time (at that charming power struggle stage for Miss dd and ds has autism.) For the same reason I will always put my kids in the car before i return a trolley but I ALWAYS park near a trolley bay and if there is not one near I will leave it, regardless if my $2 is in there or not! I think at the end of the day you have to weigh up the greater risk and we know our kids best.
Mumtotwokids
21-01-2009, 13:55
:iagree: too
I think it depends on their age. Mine are 8 and 5. I rarely left DS but once DD came along I some how felt it was ok to leave them both, I don't know why I just did. I always take the keys and half wind down my window. I don't worry about someone taking them, I more worry about the petrol station blowing up. Seriously I think this alot when I leave them, but I think it would be too dangerous to get them out and walk where there are cars and no real designated 'way' of walking.
As a side note - I have once moved my car from the bowser to closer to the front door of the service station just so I could see DS and he could see me if he woke up (DS was asleep and about 3 years old, we had just moved house so he had some seperation issues) the service attendant told me off for moving my car (probably thought I was going to do a runner:laughing:) and I explained why I had done it but he was really rude and said that I should have left him there and not moved my car blah blah blah... I think you have to do what you feel is safe for your kids.
A parent has 2 hands right? How on earth could one SAFELY take 4 children under the age of 12 into servo and also use one hand to pay :confused:
Just the same as I do at any other shop :yes:
As a side note - I have once moved my car from the bowser to closer to the front door of the service station just so I could see DS and he could see me if he woke up (DS was asleep and about 3 years old, we had just moved house so he had some seperation issues) the service attendant told me off for moving my car (probably thought I was going to do a runner:laughing:) and I explained why I had done it but he was really rude and said that I should have left him there and not moved my car blah blah blah... I think you have to do what you feel is safe for your kids.
That is so rude! I prefer people to move their car forward, especially if it is a really busy servo because it means people can start to fill up while the person in front goes to pay for theirs. Makes it a lot faster! Some servos are even set up so you can have one persons petrol logged and the next person can start to use the bowser without charging it to the previous person.
HappyLittleChappy
21-01-2009, 15:06
I don't mean to hijack the thread but I found myself in a situation similar today.
I was at the grocery store and packed my groceries and my DS into the car, then went to return my trolley but the bay was about 3 rows of cars away.
For all of you that answered the question RE: the petrol station, do you do the same in the shopping centre carpark to return your trolley?
NewBeginnings
21-01-2009, 15:10
For all of you that answered the question RE: the petrol station, do you do the same in the shopping centre carpark to return your trolley?
Same deal! :thumbsup: He comes with me to the trolley bay and then he goes into the car! :yes:
delirium
21-01-2009, 15:14
I said other. It depends on the weather, whether I can get to the closest bowser to the shop etc.
If it's raining, I'll try to get right near the shop and leave them in the car. If I get a fair away bowser that I can't see from inside, then I'll get them out.
Mrs Nietzsche
21-01-2009, 15:16
I use my ergo, I know exactly where DS1 is then and DS2 is still small enough to carry for those few minutes.
what? an ergo just to pay for petrol?
princess niamh
21-01-2009, 15:20
Just the same as I do at any other shop :yes:
Hmm not really...
at the supermarket one child goes in the trolley..in a shopping mall I use one of those push along cars.
Most parents use prams/strollers etc in the shops.
Anyway in the grand scheme of things it comes down to risk assesment. Some mums are more scared of the car being highjacked and others are scared of traipsing across the station grounds.
Its all personal.
No mum who has posted here , leaves them in because she just cant be bothered.
So take your kids out by all means..I will leave mine in. But dont expect me to live by your rules and choices..our risk assesment and care is the same.
I don't meanFor all of you that answered the question RE: the petrol station, do you do the same in the shopping centre carpark to return your trolley?
I always shop with DP so it is kind of a non issue for me, but I would be happy to leave DD in her car seat while I rant the trolley back. At least if anything did go wrong you could abandon the trolley and run back to the car! :)
Hmm not really...
at the supermarket one child goes in the trolley..in a shopping mall I use one of those push along cars.
Most parents use prams/strollers etc in the shops.
Anyway in the grand scheme of things it comes down to risk assesment. Some mums are mroe scared of the car beign highjacked and others are scared of traipsing across the station grounds.
Its all personal.
No mum who has posted here , leaves them in because she just cant be bothered.
So take your kids out by all means..I will leave mine in. But dont expect me to live by your rules and choices..our risk assesment and care is the same.
Yeah I know....should have said 'any other shop where I don't use the pram'....which is quite often for me, was just answering what I do :) As I said, I doubt anyone who leaves them is being negligent, I am just paranoid as I was nearly car jacked one night :crying: But I am also lucky that the little country servo down the road is so great!
It's just a personal thing :yes:
Pina Colada
21-01-2009, 15:26
Same deal! :thumbsup: He comes with me to the trolley bay and then he goes into the car! :yes:
Yes, same deal here too - I leave them in the car and return the trolley without them. Actually - truth be told, if I can do so safely, I abandon the trolley :yes: There was a thread about the trolley thing not too long ago.
The trolley thing....I nearly always get a park right next to the trolley bay or I get the boys to help carry the bags to the car (if there aren't too many) and just leave the trolley behind.....it jsut depends.
princess niamh
21-01-2009, 15:31
I get one of the workers to take my trolley to the car ...and then I unpack and he takes it back LOL..
but I am not allowed to push a trolley at the moment!
Katie..the bottom bit of my las post was not aimed at you..I tried to do the stars so it was more obvious lol.:hugs::hugs::hugs:
Lol, don't worry the stars did their job...as did the 'anyway...' :shakehands:
Ummm.... I'd put the key in the mannual keyhole.... They all have them in case the batteries go flat in the key lol.....
I leave the kidlets in the car.... more chance of them being hit by a car than most other scenarios!
I get one of the workers to take my trolley to the car ...and then I unpack and he takes it back LOL..
They will do that? Woohoo for trolley boys!! :yelclap:
RockmelonDreams
21-01-2009, 15:35
If it's busy I take my daughter with me because sometimes I can be lining up for ages to pay but if it's quiet I leave her in the car with the window down and the doors locked. 9/10 though, I fill up my car when I'm on my own as it's so much easier.
I usually take DS with me to return the trolley if I think I'll have to turn my back to the car.. I just find it's easier that way, I carry him back even if he fights me because he seems to be having trouble with his listening and holding hands skills lately :rolleyes:
princess niamh
21-01-2009, 15:37
They will do that? Woohoo for trolley boys!! :yelclap:
haha only when you are 6 months preggers and you walk with a brace LMAO..
dont know if it works at other times!
Oh....well....I would rather not wear a brace or be 6 months pregnant sooooo, I wil have to find some other excuse.....:detective:
ladybugblue84
21-01-2009, 15:49
In response to the original petrol station question: I either get someone else to fill my car for me or I go to a local petrol station which is small & I have no issues with leaving my daughter in the car as I am in & out in less than 3mins & I can see her the entire time I am in the shop paying. I take my keys but leave the car unlocked.
In repsonse to the trolley question: I go to a shopping centre where I can park literally 2 spots away from the trolley bay so I leave her in the car to take the trolley back. I can see her all the time. OR I go shopping with someone else.
Deserama
21-01-2009, 16:01
RE: the petrol station, do you do the same in the shopping centre carpark to return your trolley?
I leave them in the car and return it if it's close by...if it isn't then I leave the trolley where it is.
each to their own but im noticing a lot of people saying it is safer to leave them in the car as they may do a runner and get hit by car and what im wondering is arent u just as concerned your child may jump out the door and do a runner and get hit by a car?
Thermolicious
21-01-2009, 16:11
Maire- I've explained why I use the ergo, please reread my OP.
For the person who asked about trolleys and returning them, I used to just take DS1 with me but as I got further and further along in my pregnancy the very kind trolley boy would come up and take my trolley for me and he still does. If he does not I do what I do to pay for petrol, ergo my older son (who is normally in the ergo when I do my shopping anyway) and carry the baby its not to hard when you can carry one baby hands free.
Take her with me if she's with me, but I usually go straight from kindy to fill up once a week, regardless of if I need it or not, just so I don't get caught out and need to fill up with her in the car.
GraceUnhearing
21-01-2009, 16:15
when it was just me and Rylan i always took him with me.
now with him and Zeke i just cant do it!
hes a typical 2 year old!!!
no thanks
so they stay in the car whilst i pay as much as i hate doing it
Leave them in the car with doors locked and I can see them the whole time.
Sheer Bliss
21-01-2009, 16:17
each to their own but im noticing a lot of people saying it is safer to leave them in the car as they may do a runner and get hit by car and what im wondering is arent u just as concerned your child may jump out the door and do a runner and get hit a car?
Nope - they are both safe in their 5pt harness which they can't undo...not to mention the doors are locked, so they would have to unlock the door (DD *might* be able to do this, but hasn't been shown how) or shimmy out the window.
I don't drive so the only time I leave the kids in the car, hubby is with them.
maisymum
21-01-2009, 16:19
I leave them in the car, always. I always lock the car and take the keys.
Same :yes:..........
Pina Colada
21-01-2009, 16:20
each to their own but im noticing a lot of people saying it is safer to leave them in the car as they may do a runner and get hit by car and what im wondering is arent u just as concerned your child may jump out the door and do a runner and get hit a car?
There are risks either way. Like I said, there is no right or wrong anwser! All we can do is make a judgement based on our own circumstances.
In my situation, it is far more likely for my DS to slip my hand while my other arm is carrying DD2, or for DD1 (who is only 3 and walking unrestrained because both my hands are busy) than it is for them to get out of their correctly fitted 5 point harnesses, and climb out of the half closed windows, or unlock and open the front doors (back are on childlock).
I don't leave my kids unrestrained, cruising around an unlocked car.
Ana Gram
21-01-2009, 16:21
That would be almost impossible. In order for her to get out on her own, she would need to get out of her buckled up seat and then work out how to unlock the front door (as the back ones have the child locks on).
delirium
21-01-2009, 16:21
I don't leave my kids unrestrained, cruising around an unlocked car.
:yes: I'm the same. When I do leave them in the car, they are fully restrained.
SassyMummy
21-01-2009, 16:22
I'm on just learning to drive, and won't have my P plates until AT LEAST late November this year.
By then, DD will be 4, and most likely, I would leave her in the car.
with the petrol: i have only had to fill up once when noone was with me, DD was asleep so i locked the car and ran in. usually i have some one else with me or i fill up when i go to the gym (DD is babysat those days)
with the trolley: i take it back, i always take it back, i usually take DD with me to the trolley bay. Unless its raining then i put her in her car seat and walk it back
IMO: not taking your trolley back drives me completely mental. How hard is it to walk to a trolley bay? even if you have kids. ive seen so many mothers just leave there trolley and it rolls off and hits a car and leave a massive dent.
i asked a lady once and she said "i couldnt take it back i have my daughter with me" the kid was like 7 and standing next to the car:hair:
ladybugblue84
21-01-2009, 16:25
I may be completely wrong but I thought it was illegal to leave your child in a locked car? i.e. if you run into the petrol station the car should remain unlocked if you leave the kids in the car.
WorkingClassMum
21-01-2009, 16:32
each to their own but im noticing a lot of people saying it is safer to leave them in the car as they may do a runner and get hit by car and what im wondering is arent u just as concerned your child may jump out the door and do a runner and get hit by a car?
same as other posters - they'd have to unbuckle and climb over to the front seat to then unlock the door.
DD has never done this - where as DD has often done a runner and has thrown the most wonderful tanties in shops.
Plus, if I know I'm needing to fill up I've nearly alwasy got a small stash of books and poppers of water ready to hand to the kids for this type of thing.
IMO: not taking your trolley back drives me completely mental. How hard is it to walk to a trolley bay? even if you have kids. ive seen so many mothers just leave there trolley and it rolls off and hits a car and leave a massive dent.
i asked a lady once and she said "i couldnt take it back i have my daughter with me" the kid was like 7 and standing next to the car:hair:
For me my decisions are based on my children's safety first....that, and common sense. At a petrol station, I will take all 4 of them in....at the shops, I nearly always return my trolley by making sure I park next to the trolley bay.....on the odd occasion that I have left my trolley not in the bay it has been because the trolley bay was too far to feel safe to leave the kids and it was raining and I didn't feel great about taking a newborn, 2 year old, 4 year old and 8 year old across the car park. I have probably done this twice in my life, I feel bad not taking it back too.
fair enough i must have the only escape artist
my ds was easily able to escape a correctly fitted 5 point harness, jump the front seat and out the door in 3 secs flat from 18 months old
9/10 I leave her in the car but I pick my petrol up at the local independent petrol station which is normally quiet. I have taken her out of the car if I'm in a busy petrol station whereby there is a high likely hood of waiting a while in line.
I wish they had those swipe at the pump systems here.
I leave her strapped in, lock the car & take keys with me, but I always make sure the aircon has just been pumping and the car is well under cover, and I choose the pump with best visibility from the checkout. I also wave money vaguely at the clerk while looking out the window.
FiveInTheBed
21-01-2009, 22:01
From front page of our paper:
Kids and cars take extra care
Leaving children unattended in a locked car is not only stupid, it's a crime.
With summer underway local police have reminded parents not to leave a child - or a pet- alone in a locked car.
Closed vehicles can quickly heat up to tmperatures well above those outside, and that can prove deadly, especially in the Broken Hill summer.
"Do not leave anyone locked in a car, even for the shortest of period. It's very, very dangerous to do something like that," said a police spokeswoman.
"What's more, you can be charged with an offense."
"We ask parents to be vigilant. We'd hate to see an accident happen, but they can happen so easily."
"Even if you are running into the shops for a minute, anything can happen."
...Re the legal side of things...reading this I'd assume it is an offense - at least here anyway?
Honestly I find this debate/discussion as to whether you leave or don't leave your child/children in the car to pay for petrol annoying.
There are risks with both choices, if you leave them in the car the car maybe stolen. Although I believe cars stolen out the front of petrol stations are very quick opportunity crimes and occur when the car is left unlocked and the keys in. There are also risks that if you take your child/children out they could do a runner and get hit by a car and this thread with personal examples seems to hold that this is more likely to happen then your car getting stolen when it is locked and the keys are not in the ignition.
But the basics is there are risks for both choices as there are and will be for many of the decisions you make as a parent. I really wish the media and some people would stop pushing petty agendas that just cause parents to get all up in arms.
canberramomma
21-01-2009, 22:05
fair enough i must have the only escape artist
my ds was easily able to escape a correctly fitted 5 point harness, jump the front seat and out the door in 3 secs flat from 18 months old
Hee, hee, sounds like my baby brother!
It is not illegal to leave a child in a car to go and pay for fuel ,well not in WA anyway ,it is common sense to not leave a child in a hot car on a hot day with no windows down for a long time but going into a servo for a minute and paying for fuel is not a long time. I think that that sort of advise is to those who leave their kids in the car to go shopping.
werdxela
21-01-2009, 22:12
I leave mine in the car. I try to work getting fuel into whenever I have my Df or my 9yr old in the car so someone is there with the littlies, but If I am alone and I need too I will leave them while I pay.
I had my number plate written down as a potential drive off one day for moving my car to a car park directly at the front doors of a servo once.
sockstealingpoltergeist
21-01-2009, 22:21
I fill up whilst utilising the evil daycare system.:devil6:
I also make my husband do it whe he gets home if I havn't been able to.
FiveInTheBed
21-01-2009, 22:28
It is not illegal to leave a child in a car to go and pay for fuel ,well not in WA anyway ,it is common sense to not leave a child in a hot car on a hot day with no windows down for a long time but going into a servo for a minute and paying for fuel is not a long time. I think that that sort of advise is to those who leave their kids in the car to go shopping.
were you responding to the quote I posted?
Yeh, they are probably talking more about ducking into shops...but I read it and it reminded me of this thread - very similar.
The quote was from a police spokeswoman, so like I said, I assume it is an offense here - maybe it has a time limit? don't know , maybe have to research a little more.
:goodvibes:
WorkingClassMum
21-01-2009, 22:36
I fill up whilst utilising the evil daycare system.:devil6:
I also make my husband do it whe he gets home if I havn't been able to.
Ahhh - good use for evil daycare! :shame:.
Whispers
21-01-2009, 22:37
Always make sure i have someone in the car with kids or they come in with me
We usually fill up on the weekend when DH is in the car. Or one of us does it by ourselves.
If I do need to fill up and have both kids I go to a small petrol station that is quiet and quick. I leave them in the car. I wind down both their windows and make sure i'm as fast as possible.
If I end up in a big petrol station that is busy with a long line and it is very hot, then I take the kids in with me.
For me it comes down to assesing the situation and it has changed as the kids get older.
For example if I had to fill up and DD was at kindy and DS was only 6 months old - I'd take him in with me because I know he'd get upset being left alone in the car. With the kids now aged 2 and 4 they don't freak out because they're together.
TeamAwesome
21-01-2009, 22:43
This is the only part of the act I found for QLd that relates to this and I would not regard it to be illegal for a parent to park put petrol in the car then go pay. If they went in for 30 mins went to the toilet ahd a HUGe browse around while the child is in the hot sun cos they parked it sure but I doubt that going into pay would be held up based on the following. To those suggesting it is illegal unless you've read your relevant state's and it specifies that it is indeed illegal I would not rely on the journalists taking liberties to sell a story.
A person who, having the lawful care or charge of a child
under 12 years, leaves the child for an unreasonable time
without making reasonable provision for the supervision and
care of the child during that time commits a misdemeanour.
Maximum penalty—3 years imprisonment.
‘(2) Whether the time is unreasonable depends on all the relevant circumstances.’.
found here (http://www.legislation.qld.gov.au/Bills/52PDF/2008/CrimCodeAmdB08.pdf)on page 39 under amendment 36A
Petrol: For me DH works away 6weeks at a time and there is no way I can wait that long until he is home so I leave the kids in the car and lock it, as someone else mentioned you can use the actual key with central locking. I try to get it late afternoon early evening so heat isn't an issue, plus I park undercover anyhow but I have two runners who have been almost hit so many times since they started running I can't remember anymore, anywhere from parks, shops and once at a petrol station. So they stay in the car whilst I pay as it's safer then I actually get to pay without being pulled in all directions with the three kids plus having to pay.
Trolley: I park near a trolley bay within sight of the car, I'd rather be at the cery back far awy from traffic and near one of thos then at the front of the shops and not able to safely keep an eye on my kids who get strapped in and usually given a drink of water and snack for the trip home.
I chose OTHER because it's a little of both. If there isn't anyone around, or anyone at the counter, I would leave them and 'run' in.
I think you've got to remember that some people are sick, and if you leave them in an unlocked car even for a minute, someone could steal them, or take off with your car with them inside. If I feel off about anyone in sight, the kids come with me.
It's difficult enough to be a parent without physically dragging your children into a servo where they'll ask for lollies and chocolate; all for a split second transaction.
So I think it's OK to leave them if you'll only be a minute and they're in a locked car in full view. You have to trust your instincts though.
FiveInTheBed
21-01-2009, 22:51
thanks spaghettimummy...I thought there might be a time limit on it...
but what is an 'unreasonable' time , or 'just a minute'...it varies from person to person.
I didn't post that quote to have a go...
it just reminded me of this thread.
occasionally, I park out the front when all three of my kids have fallen asleep in the car, and run them in one by one...this probably takes me the same amount of time it would someone running in the pay for petrol..and there are probably just as many risks?
But the car are out of the ignition and the doors are open...I guess that is one little way of elimnating one risk.
sockstealingpoltergeist
21-01-2009, 22:55
Ahhh - good use for evil daycare! :shame:.
:yes: OT but sometimes I go to the Dr's as well. Shhhhh.
I think really leaving children to fend for themselves from an early age is a good thing, after all some may even learn how to drive or even use the cars cigerrette lighter.;) kidding he he.
SorenLorensen
21-01-2009, 23:36
i have only read up to page 4...im getting there.
i have no choice but to take my girls in to my regular station. i get into trouble if i dont.....the attendants want to see them and spoil them. i reckon if i dont get them out they will go do it anyway :laughing: (small town where everybody knows everybody and have been around forever).
if i go to a busy one i will still take the girls in but i drive upto the door so we dont have to cross paths with cars.
also if i am in the next town over i go a bit out of my way and go to pumps that take cards at the actual pump. that way i never have to leave the side of my car.
DP fills it up most of the time though.
22-01-2009, 09:36
My car has child-locks and the kids are strapped in their car seats, they can't get out.
jimmysmummy
22-01-2009, 09:44
I leave DS in the car, with the car locked and the windows half down.
If someone were to reach in through the window, the motion sensor would activate.
If I can see that there is a long queue to pay, then I take him in. Otherwise, I'd rather leave him in his seat where he's happy.
I don't see overheating being an issue as all of the servos in our city have a roof over the pumps.
squiglet
22-01-2009, 10:09
I checked other, because it depends what is happening.
Firstly Dh always has the car full for me anyway.
But sometimes it's unavoidable I guess and I have to put fule in myselfe.
If DD is happy and the day is cold or cool I crack her window open a little and lock the car and go by myself and pay.
But: if the day is hot, DD not happy I take her with me. I still lock the car.
I leave Hunter (my only son - 7 months) in the car when i go and pay whether he is awake or asleep he will be ok for 5 minutes its not like i sit in his room when he is sleeping to check if he is breathing so i dont see the difference at all! My child my choice!
mumto3girls
27-01-2009, 12:18
I always take my kids with me......I am just not comfortable leaving them alone in the car, even though I know I won't be that long.
I remember watching Oprah many years ago and she said that when we go into the shops to pay we always take our purses/wallets but often leave our children in the car. She then asked her audience - which is more important? That has always stuck with me so I never leave them in the car by themselves.
SorenLorensen
27-01-2009, 12:37
there are always going to be differing opinions on this topic.
i can actually see points on both sides and they are very valid.
it IS safer not to have children walking around a petrol station. even crossing the path of cars especially in a petrol station where a lot people for some reason don't look. yes we take our wallets and stuff but they don't exactly have legs that can run in the opposite direction to us do they (DD1 is 3 and very easily slips my hand and wonders from me, she is not 'running off' of me, she is a HUGE day dreamer).
it IS safer to have our children with us when we are out, to have them by our side so we know exactly where they are, what they are doing and safe from anything 'bad' happening in our absence.
both sides of the fence are equally right IMO.
JimJamsMum
27-01-2009, 13:08
I leave DS in the car. I lock the doors, leave the window down a bit and take the keys with me. Obviously I take my wallet with me, how else would I pay for the petrol :confused:
I always make sure I can see DS when I'm inside the petrol station. If I can't then I would take him in with me.
I always take my kids with me......I am just not comfortable leaving them alone in the car, even though I know I won't be that long.
I remember watching Oprah many years ago and she said that when we go into the shops to pay we always take our purses/wallets but often leave our children in the car. She then asked her audience - which is more important? That has always stuck with me so I never leave them in the car by themselves.
Of course we take our purse :confused: they don't take children as payment!
ThomasMum
27-01-2009, 13:25
We never plan this, but for some reason we always buy our petrol on the weekends or when we are together that way we don't need to worry abt leaving DS in the car because one of us will be in the car with him.
FiveInTheBed
27-01-2009, 13:51
...I think they were comparing the 'valuables' ...eg , we don't leave 'valuables in the car, are you kids valued?
...i've seen posters with the similar catch phrase.
:laughing::laughing::laughing:
I leave DD in the car, doors locked and windows half down. I'm usually in and out within a matter of minutes and can always see the car from where I'm standing to pay.
Easiest and safest way I think. :yes:
Aquamarine
27-01-2009, 15:00
Pay at the pump
Well. When I was younger Me and my sibling were left in the car. But these days things are alot mroe corupted...So I will never leave DD,
mainly because Blacktown has alot AND I MEAN ALOT of criminals,theives, and bad people. If DD is older than I might leave her nbut drive up to the window so I she isnt actually left at the pump by herself.
SorenLorensen
27-01-2009, 15:14
Oh boy, on days like these all i can think of is "if only" :p:laughing::laughing::laughing:
babygiggle
27-01-2009, 15:16
if I have to put petrol in when DP isn't with me, I leave DS in the car, lock it, and go in and pay... I've done it this way since he was born...