View Full Version : 18 month old using a baby bath?

~Temet Nosce~
19-01-2009, 12:32
Does anyone use one still?
I still have dd's old bath and I was thinking about chucking it in the shower/bath (we have a shower over the bath) to save some water. She has shallow baths anyway but I would save even more this way, I cringe at all the water going down the drain all for washing 1 person every day.

tootiredtosleep
19-01-2009, 12:39
When I had DD2 we used the baby bath for her. DD1 wanted to be bathed in that as well then. We put it in the bottom of the bath and she loved it. She is 2 and still fits.

Teegzie
19-01-2009, 12:59
That is a great idea actually! I hate having to fill our bath just to bathe DD! We never had a baby bath so she went straight from the laundry sink to the bath.Even though we don't fill the bath very high, because it is such a big bath it takes heaps of water anyway! And it is such a waste!

Cat13
19-01-2009, 14:01
We still use the baby bath (on the shower floor) for our 2year old DS - there's no bath in our bathroom and while he doesn't mind showers they just aren't as much fun for him as sitting and splashing in his bath with bubbles and water toys. Will keep using it until he really can't squeeze in there any more!

Even if we did have a bath I think I'd still do the same, whenever we us the big bath at his grandparents I cringe at the amount of water going in to fill it up.

Miss_Vicki
19-01-2009, 14:28
my almost 3 yr old still fits in hers (well was her sisters lol) an still uses it , she loves it i fill it up under shower an let her sit in it , she don't like the normal bath

naiwen
19-01-2009, 14:30
We used to put the baby bath in the big bath but Edward likes to climb around so it's not safe anymore.

Deserama
19-01-2009, 14:48
Well my 5 share the bath water so no wastage here :)

SassyMummy
19-01-2009, 14:57
I did it with mine.

KatiesMum
19-01-2009, 15:21
my 2 + 1/2 yr old DD still uses hers every day.

We have a massive corner bath ... so I dont want to waste water by filling it for her every day (even shallow water takes a LOT) and she doesnt like showers ....

Jif
19-01-2009, 15:37
good to hear this. Our 10 month old is in her baby bath but we only have a big corner one too. We were wondering what we would do, showers bring on the tears at the moment! So thanks!

Myztiks#1Fan
19-01-2009, 20:41
coop only just graduated to the big bath at nearly 19mths. he loves the big bath as he can swim around but he also loves his baby bath as it can fill quite deep as its quite a large bath. we use both atm

~Temet Nosce~
19-01-2009, 20:46
Well it was really no dramas after all that, she loved it, and I wish I had of thought to do it earlier :doh:
In our old house we had one of those small foot baths in the shower iykwim.. so I just used a bath seat and filled that shallow. So it used less water. The bath we have now is old, big and long, so used too much water for my liking even when shallow. Before that we just used the baby bath on the kitchen bench :p I got sick of the kitchen being flooded though lol.

justme77
19-01-2009, 22:33
I dont use a baby bath anymore with bub, hes 12 months now, it was one of those stupid moulded ones. so i got a 40 litre circle plastic tub from bunnings and use that in the big bath. its usually only 1/3 full so not too much water, and he loves it

kayla
20-01-2009, 00:00
My kids stopped using a bath tub at ages 12 months and 13 months and they are okay

20-01-2009, 00:56
We use the baby bath at my mums as G doesnt like the shower & she hasnt a bath .... Thanks Boof :rolleyes:

Boof who is almost 4yrs & the size of an average 6-7yr old squishes himself in at times too .... Quite hilarious !