View Full Version : 35+ and first pregnancy

pibby
16-01-2009, 16:12
hello

I'm a first timer PG wise, 35 plus and due mid 2009 and interested in hearing other's experiences. :wave:

Feeling :eek:

Electric Rodeo
16-01-2009, 16:18
Hi and Welcome to Bub hub:wave:
Congratulations on your PG, I am due a few weeks after you.
You will find heaps of girls in the same situation in the 'due in August' thread. First timers and the like. A great place to chat with poeple going through he same thing:thumbsup:

You will find it in the When are you due section of the forum

MissM
27-01-2009, 08:22
Hi Pibby and Mitake :wave:

I am almost a first time mum and I'm turning 37 very soon.

Congrats Mitake and Pibby on your pregnancy.

All the best Melissa

Joju
27-01-2009, 10:42
Hi Pibby, I'm a first time mum-to-be at age 38 and I understand the :eek:. Even though this is a planned pregnancy, during the first trimester I was worried about everything. But as time has marched on (I'm now 17 weeks) I've become more comfortable emotionally( not physically! lol) and confident.

It's still early days for you..hope you start feeling more comfortable soon.

Papillion
28-01-2009, 13:30
Hello Pibby, Mitake, MissM & Joju.

This is my first pregnancy too. I never thought I would start a family at 35+ but here we are.

Hope everyone's pregnancy is progressing well

MissM
28-01-2009, 22:45
Hello Pibby, Mitake, MissM & Joju.

This is my first pregnancy too. I never thought I would start a family at 35+ but here we are.

Hope everyone's pregnancy is progressing well

Hi Papillion :wave:

My pregnancy is progressing well, not long for us to wait now. :smiliedance:
I have noticed lots of pregnant 35+ first time mums. It's great isn't it.

Good luck with your pregnancy also.

Melissa

vanhar11
29-01-2009, 14:28
Hi Ladies,I am also a first time mother to be at the age of 37. Though our pregnancy was planned, it only took one cycle to conceive so I was in a state of happy disbelieve when those 2 positives popped up!! I have had a few friends who hae been trying for a while, so I was mentally prepared for at least a year of trying before being blessed enough to be UTD.. Well as my doctor said - everyone is different. I too was filled with constant aprehension during our first trimester, but this does settle. I think this thread is a great idea for we more mature mums to be. We are due on May 9, hope this thread continues.

pibby
29-01-2009, 14:58
Glad to have started the post..unfortunately I had a miscarriage this week..but fingers crossed that I'll get back in the saddle again soon.

Thanks for the comments. Good luck with your pregnancies. pibby.

Papillion
30-01-2009, 14:44
:hugs: Oh pibby, I'm so sorry to hear about your loss. :angel:

Take good care of yourself & feel free to chat with us whenever you like. :flowerz: :ecomcity:

Joju
31-01-2009, 02:31
:hugs: so sorry to hear that Pibby. Hope you're travelling ok and best of luck with ttc again.

vanhar11
04-02-2009, 20:16
I am so sorry for your loss Pibby. Sending out positive vibes to you, good luck with TTC.

Californication
07-02-2009, 19:16
Hi Pibby,

It's not easy to loose a baby - I know, it happened to me in July last year. Just look after yourself and hopefully your outcome will be as positive as mine. We're now pregnant again and things are going well for us.

If you ever need to talk about how you are feeling, I'm sure I'm not the only one here that knows what you're going through.

Take care.

Papillion
08-02-2009, 09:31
Only 8 weeks until my bubs is OK to arrive (but he may just hang around for 14) - can't believe how fast it's all gone, feels like only yesterday that I asked DH to get a pregnancy test kit "just to rule it out" before I took any harsher drugs for the flu I thought I had!
I'll be looking forward to a cooler week in Sydney next week :sunshine:.
Hope those with too much rain, too much heat, or fires around Oz are coping OK. :hugs:

allatonce
16-02-2009, 16:36
Hiya ladies, I'm 37 and due late August, it seems what I have always hoped for is coming true!

I have a question - my partner is turning 47 and (although we're both over the moon) is worried that he'll look more like the grandfather than the father. Do any of you have partners a little older that can relate?

Hearts out to you Pibby.

Papillion
17-02-2009, 10:34
:yelclap: MissM - congratulations on the birth of Baby Alice :flowerz: (what a beautiful name!) I hope the 3 of you are enjoying your babymoon. :hugs:

Hello allatonce - my DH is turning 37. There are a few August mums in this thread so far - was there something in the water in November?
ClareN - How are you? Hope all is going well in your pregnancy
vanhar11 - only 8 weeks till you're full term! Do you have everything ready? We still need to get a baby car seat.
Joju - I saw in another thread that you're having a boy ... me too! I'll be outnumbered very soon lol

Well only 7 weeks til I hit the full-term 37 weeks. It's getting really uncomfortable at times now, so I'm not really looking forward to these final weeks of growth.
We have been spending the last 3 Saturdays at Calmbirth & Preparing for Parenthood groups. Final Calmbirth class is this Saturday. Since I'm having a homebirth with an independent midwife & no pain-relief drugs available I'll need all the calmness I can muster. :goodvibes:
Got a shock the other week when I went swimming only to sink! I've lost all my bouyancy :no:
Our house renos are going well (just fixing up & re-painting walls & floors in most of the rooms). A few more weeks & we should have the office turned into a nursery :fingerscrossed:

Papillion
24-02-2009, 13:36
We're both now getting over a cold that took hold last week :no:, so the reno work has slowed down a little.
Bubs has had another growth spurt this week (lots of activity in there, & me hungry & exhausted at the same time). It's made getting to sleep a bit of a trial.
Hopefully I'll organise buying an inflatable birth pool this week too.

Hope you are all doing well.

Joju
06-03-2009, 10:47
Hi all, I'm a bit late responding to this thread, so I hope I don't miss anyone!

Hope everyone is travelling ok.

Congrats MissM...how is life with Alice?:bee:

Vanhar, congrats on the double lines! We conceived very quickly also...naturally, which really shocked me! Are you nearing the end now?

Clare,

Sorry to hear you also lost a bub...hope this new bubba has gone a long way toward helping you overcome the loss.

Welcome All-at-once :wave:

Papillion,

A boy for you too?! Congrats...have you decided on a name yet? We have chosen Darcy Louis, which we adore. So you have about 4 weeks to go now? How are you feeling? Hopefully over the cold and the sleep problems.

We'll be starting a Calm Birth course next week, really looking forward to it actually (and birth/parenting classes at the hosp. in May). How did you find it...do you think it really prepares you for labour?

Good luck with finishing the nursery and the reno's. We've painted our nursery (although bub will be sleeping in a bassinette/cot in our room for at least 6 months)..and we're slowly getting there with stocking it! I picked up the pram and bassinette off lay-by yesterday. I love our pram (Steelcraft Orbit)...was on sale at Target. It may not be high-end like a Mountain Buggy, but we're very happy it. Our budget is pretty happy too...lol. We have most of the big stuff now, so it will be just clothes, nappies, etc shopping from here on in.

Can't have been pleasant sinking at the pool. I'm not brave enough to swim ( beached whale much? lol. I'm also overweight) so I walk as often as possible instead.

Anyway, another epic post (I'm good at those..lol).

Au revoir everyone...happy travels :)

Papillion
06-03-2009, 16:10
How are you all?

Hi Joju,
I'll see you epic post & raise you !
4 weeks until bubs is full term, but could be 8 weeks before he decides to shift out of there.
We named him Gabriel quite some time ago. I've found it a really great way to connect with him - being able to call him by name. :goodvibes:
We hadn't decided on a middle name but are considering "Drake" - that'd make him an angelic dragon :laughing:
Great that you are getting some of your baby items organised. I must make sure I buy some nappies soon!
The renos are still dragging on, but we're coping OK. We'll be co-sleeping with bubs so I'll wait to see if we need a cot or not (great for the budget!)
I hope you enjoy the Calmbirth course next week. I found it was really great (though bubs deciding to have a big play during some of the relaxations was not so fun). I'm practising most days (particularly when I get braxton hicks) and finding that I'm moulding it more & more to how I will use it.
I really liked the parenting & birth prep classes we did as well (external to hospy) since we received a lot of independent info that wasn't constrained to hospital policy etc.

I'm finding I am just too big & uncomfortable now, & most nights I don't get to sleep until after midnight & / or I have very interrupted sleep. I'm often telling bubs to stop pushing me 'cause "there's no more room in the womb"! :rolleyes: & I lament to DH that "I'm too damn old to be pregnant" (but he's so clucky that he just cuddles me & says I'm beautiful, so I can't help but get over it quick)

Joju
10-03-2009, 10:51
Hi Papillion,

A lovely name, Gabriel. An angelic dragon ~ sounds like a lot of toddlers doesn't it? lol. Cherubic whirlwinds of energy! We had Gabrielle on our list for a girl, but decided on Layla Ruby in the end. Which is moot now (unless on the off chance, we have a girl. The U/S was pretty clear!)

I agree, it is a lovely way to connect with bub's, calling him by name. I love knowing ahead of time what we're having...I want to know this little person as soon as possible.:sunshine:

We're doing Calmbirth sooner rather than later so I can get lots of practise in before having Darcy. I want to be able to draw on those skills on auto-pilot ~ anything to prevent the cascade of intervention. I want a natural birth if at all possible (but I'm also staying open to everything...hopefully there will be no surprises).

Supportive hubbies who give hugs-on-tap make it so much easier don't they?:) Hope you get some decent sleep soon. I've got a recliner chair which I've found a godsend when I can't sleep laying down because of heartburn.

It's funny, I'm so looking forward to feeling strong movements. Right now, Darcy is still quite gentle, due to anterior placenta and also me being overweight. I have said it often, "I wish I could feel him more!" But always with a disclaimer " I will probably be rueing the day I said that when I'm 35 weeks and being kicked black and blue!" lol

Happy travels :wave:

HelenHasTwins
10-03-2009, 11:05
:wave: Ladies can I join you all? I am 38 with my first pregnancy ( we are having TWINS) Due i n 7 weeks time, although we are hoping they don't arrive too much earlier than that.....

susieq1969
10-03-2009, 12:24
Hey Ladies,

Can I join too.

I'm a first time older mum too, 40 in October!!

Baby due in June

Joju - I have an anterior placenta too, and boy am I glad!! He gives me some great kicks sometimes, so I dread to think what they would feel like if it wasn't at the front!! :eek:

Papillion
11-03-2009, 20:08
Hi Helen, Hope you're travelling well with twins. I've heard of lots of twin births recently and all at full term (37 to 42 weeks). I'm also due end of April - so soon now (and yet so far lol). Tell us more, more, more!
Hi susieq, How are you? Do you know if bubs is a boy or girl?
Hi Joju, I'm overweight & my placenta in on the left front, but that doesn't stop bubs from giving some hefty kicks that way though! The kicks got much stronger approaching week 30, so you may not need to wait til week 35. How's Darcy doing this week?

I have the sniffles today & sinus pressure today so I'm not a happy girl, but I'm getting too little sleep to have enough energy to complain much :D

susieq1969
12-03-2009, 08:59
Hi Pap

It's a boy!

Joju
12-03-2009, 20:40
Welcome Helen and Suzy :wave:

Congrats on twins Helen! I hope things go smoothly for you in the coming weeks. How are you feeling? I'm 24 weeks and already feeling heavy with one...I imagine it must be so much harder carrying two!

A June bub Suzy? I'm due in early July (July 3) and am starting to get a bit anxious that I'm not fully organised yet. I know I'm being a tad anal, but there ya go:rolleyes:. Do you feel ready for bubs?
I hear you re: anterior placenta..lol. Darcy has grown noticeably more active in the last few days, so I think I'll appreciate my placenta more in the coming weeks! Still, I'm loving being pregnant right now, it's such a delight to feel him move.

Thanks Papillion, I'm looking forward to that ( I think?! :rolleyes:). Darcy is doing well, active and he let me know in no uncertain terms last night that he doesn't like curry! Gawd I felt ill at 2 am this morning:barf:.
Hope you're feeling better soon...being crook and not sleeping is really no fun at all.

Happy travels everyone :sunshine:

susieq1969
13-03-2009, 10:32
Hey Joju

Organised???? Hmmmmmmmmmmmmm define organised! :laughing:

We are picking up the cot and mattress on the weekend. Pretty exciting. I think we've got just about all the big things now. Car seat, check, cot, check, :laughing:

Yes I love it when I feel him move too. It just makes me smile so much!

My due date is anywhere between the 20th and 28th, so may have a July bub yet!

Joju
16-03-2009, 10:41
lol...for me organised if having the big stuff organised by now and most of the little stuff organised at least a couple of months before due date. We have everything but the nursery furniture sorted (chest of drawers, nursery robe and bookshelf/toybox-in-one thing) which we have on order. We should have that within 6 weeks, because it's raw pine and made to order we have to wait. (We plan to paint them white). Oh, and a change table..that's on the shopping list for next week:rolleyes:.

I went out for lunch yesterday and ended up browsing in a little second-hand shop and found some gorgeous boys clothes really cheap...designer stuff I would never buy new. Sooo cute!! I'm loving this part of making babies..which surprises me, because I normally hate shopping for clothes!

It is such an amazing thing to feel them move isn't it? Darcy is growing more vigorous by the day~ I said to my partner last night that it is getting very close to him being able to feel Darcy kick, because the kicks are getting so strong. He gave me a right booting last night! I love it!

susieq1969
16-03-2009, 12:07
DP's already felt Junior kick a few weeks ago!! I reckon we have either soccer player, dancer or acrobatic in there! :laughing:

It is an amazing feeling. He was really booting me now. He doesn't like it when I lie on my side in bed, he really lets me know :)

My Dad is building my changing table for me as he's a woodturner. We put the cot up last night, and boy, does that make it seem real now! :eek:

MissM
29-03-2009, 18:26

I have been so busy lately with baby Alice, she is now 7 weeks old and has been an absolute pleasure to have around. She has had really bad reflux but we have got that under control now :yes:

I also had an anterior placenta, the kicks got quite strong near the end so I can only imagine how strong they would have been if I didn't have the padding :D

Sorry to hear about your loss Pibby, hopefully you get a BFP soon :wizard:

Thanks Papilion and Joju for the congrats. Congratulations to the both of you, also Helen and Susieq glad to hear the wonderful news you are expecting too.

How are you all going with your pregnancy now?

Melissa :hugs:

Papillion
30-03-2009, 20:22
Hello Everyone!
Hi susieq - a little boy for you too! And the last trimester - exciting times. Gabriel also lets me know if he's not comfortable at night (particularly if I roll too far on my side). Have you chosen a name?
Hi Joju - Great to hear Darcy is so busy & that you're loving it. Well done on being so organised!
Hi MissM - so great to hear from you & that Alice is keeping you busy. Good work on getting through the reflux.

I'm 36 weeks now & it's really slowing me down (walking after standing up from a sitting position is the hardest now). I'm just lapping up the last bit of time that I get to share so close with Gabriel. :goodvibes:

susieq1969
31-03-2009, 09:04
Hello Everyone!
Hi susieq - a little boy for you too! And the last trimester - exciting times. Gabriel also lets me know if he's not comfortable at night (particularly if I roll too far on my side). Have you chosen a name?

Oh yes I get that too!! Especially on my right side. But he does tend to favour that side.

I'm getting to the stage now where I can feel a foot!! For the first time on Saturday!! My cousin and him were playing with each other. She was pushing, he was kicking back!! It was great. And ever since then, he now does it on a daily basis!

Probably going to be called Sam James. I fell in love with the name Sam when I first got pregnant, and DP loves it too now. We always call him Sam when talking to him, so I think it will stick! :)

Joju
03-04-2009, 10:10

Good to hear from you MissM and that baby Alice is going so well.:)

Papillion, I can relate to you enjoying the closeness with Gabriel. I oscillate..somedays I just love being so close with Darcy, other days I'm so impatient to meet him!! It's a win-win situation, whatever the outcome..lol. Also sending you many hugs to help you through losing your midwife ( responded in your thread)...I can't begin to imagine how anxious you're feeling right now. You'll find someone soon I'm sure, the other posters had lots of advice on where to look. Thinking of you :hugs:

Susieq, god that sounds fun! I feel Darcy's booting, and I see my stomach dancing to his tune, but I haven't seen a foot yet..lol. Sam's a lovely name:flowerz:

Happy travels everyone