View Full Version : Going crazy? You tell me

BlueGin
28-05-2006, 00:10
Hi BubHubbers,
After a couple of weeks of what I thought were very promising early preg signs, I have got a negative blood test.
In the past when testing negative, symptoms have disapeared - must have been in my head; but this time not so.
I got the results this morning, not the exact levels as the pathology wasn't returned so the doc got a verbal "negative" over the phone, and since then I still have a full feeling in my tummy, and strange twingey feelings. Sometimes crampy, other times a bit like a bubble rushing upward across lower tummy, and a light fluttery/buzzy feeling. I am still kind of emotional (on the verge of tears when my pets do something cute :laughing:). Still ravenously hungry and very sleepy.

I would like any one's thoughts or advice, I mean, is there really a chance I am actually preg? Or do you think that it really is just in my head?

A quick note:no regular periods and no idea what DPO :rolleyes:

XXXThank you for reading this far, I hope that someone can sympathise/empathise/explainXXX

Gin

cmd'smum
28-05-2006, 02:27
Hi Bluegin,

Sorry you got a BFN through blood test. Have you tried a HPT?

I have Irritable bowel syndrome and when I was first pregnant with DD didn't realise I was because IBS symptoms are similiar, eg, full tummy feeling, fluttery/buzzy feeling (wind) etc. As for your emotional state, well we all feel that way after trying for a few months with a BFN! It can get stressful!!

Have you tried having a break for a month and just relaxing?

Hope I've helped and not confused you! :ecomcity:

Jules16
28-05-2006, 02:31
Gin - I also have irregular cycles and recently got a bfp then a negative blood test. All confusing. I think it's cos my hormones are just all over the place, hence the irregular cycles. I am now seeing a chinese herbalist and having acupuncture as apparently they have amazing results with regulating cycles and balancing hormones, particularly if you have PCOS. Might be worth a go if you're into that sort of thing. Otherwise, I hope you get that BFP soon. :fingerscrossed:

Have you tried a HPT??

H&B'sMum
28-05-2006, 09:15
Just want to say Hi Gin, haven't seen you for a while.

If you don't know what dpo you are may be if you wait another few days (hard I know) then try a hpt, if you are still having symptoms wait another few days and try again. Sometimes you just know and have to wait for the Dr's to catch up.

Good to see you around again. Hope it all turns out good for you.

BlueGin
28-05-2006, 11:41
HI, firstly thank you all for responding so quickly!

cmd'smum- I have done about 3 HPTs this month (you know, just checking...:laughing:) as to the IBS, I have a mild case and generally the feeling are a bit higher, in the little "pot" area just below my belly button, these feelings are all lower; but in saying that I think I should take care to consider it next time I have the feelings as I could well be misreading something. I totally agree with the relaxing, I took 6 months off actively TTC during which I had a very early MC (assumed by docs, not tested) and now this, I have come back because of these symptoms (and because I just had to hear about a few wonderful recent births!) but I am sure any emotions are exacerbated by hope!

morganj- I will be fascinated to hear how the acupuncture goes for you, I really should check with my health care providor to see if I am covered for it, some of the results sound like fairy tales! I am so sorry to hear you got mixed results, makes you wish that HPTs weren't so tempting...;)

karena- hey girly! Nice to hear from you, glad to see your little man is as gorgeous as ever :D I think I will wait a week from the bloods then test, sounds sensible. Funny though, for all the "feelings" you really do get kind of used to -ves don't you? If I ever do conceive I don't think I would believe it until I saw a heartbeat!

Thanks again guys, you have all given me something to think about, and some good sense to keep myself sane with.

XGin

BlueGin
28-05-2006, 20:30
Hey guys, hope you're still out there...
An update on "symptoms" which could signal AF or pregnancy, I would have noooo idea :rolleyes:...

Today I thought AF was here, ran to the toilet, but it was extremely watery CM, more like a little "accident" :laughing:. Anyone know what part of the cycle this is due usually? I don't have any memory of it being like this, but that don't mean a thing, as who really takes note of these things if not TTC?

BlueGin
29-05-2006, 14:12
Hi, just rattling round here in my little thread...:)
I thought I might use it to note down anything I feel, as being very scatty I am generally digging through old posts and asking for help to see when I got AF, O'd, you know :rolleyes:

So: Felt pretty queasy on the weekend, started with a "solid" feeling from stomach to throat, like travel sickness. This morning woke up with a cough which tasted like bile, but not too queasy, mostly hungry!
Tummy feeling really full down low and a kind of pressure there, a bit warm, slightly buzzy or tingley.
Remembered last night that a couple of weeks ago I had a mad chocolate crave for a few days, like extreme AF craving and couldn't get enough of the stuff. I think this was either a few days before or after the spotting. DH gave me a bit of his block 2 days ago (has to have his own or I eat it all!) and it was nice and all, but not maddening... I then forgot it was there and didn't sneak ANY while he was at work! He thinks I have gone loopy...
Headached in my right temple last night and this morning, kind of a light stabby throb but not too bad.

I think that listing stuff like this will help, as if AF show her ugly self I will be able to remember next month how many "symptoms" have just been AF and imagination!

But of course any one who drops by for a chat will be welcomed :wave:

X Gin

BlueGin
29-05-2006, 14:22
Hey Karen, nice to hear from you :wave:
The human body is a MADDENING thing isn't it?!?
I have never used a digital before, where would I get one?
As to when, not sure... if I had the blood test Friday (neg result Saturday) then if I was pregnant how long do you think it would be till I might have a chance of testing positive?

Gin

H&B'sMum
29-05-2006, 14:34
I wouls go and get another blood test done but get them to do a full blood work up. They will check your iron levels, your hormones levels this will help tell you if you have o'ed or not, your blood count and anything else they can think of. This might give you a better picture of what's going on.

Because you have left it 3 days since your last bt, if you are pregnant the bt counts HcG from 5 which is very low and very early pregnancy. So if you are pregnant your levels would have risen enough for the bt to pick it up.......hopefully.

Good luck and hope you find an answer soon.

Lizzie0808
29-05-2006, 14:38
Didn't Mel have a similar situation a few months ago? Neg BT but then about a week later a positive one??

Fingers crossed for you!!!!

BlueGin
29-05-2006, 15:05
Wow, thanks for the responses all! It is great to have so many different experiences and views to help guide me :thumbsup:

Karena, that sounds like sage advice; the doc said to wait a week till another test but he was super friendly (new suburb so new doc) and much nicer than the one who took blood (belittled me something shocking) so I might ring the clinic and see what days he is in. A full work up sounds wise too, cause if this aint pregnancy I want to know what it is ! :eek:

Thanks Karen, I haven't seen them in my supermarket so I might duck in to the chemist and see if they have one (especially if I can't get in to the docs for a while)

Hi Lizzie, thanks for pointing that out; stories like that are always welcome :p

Cheers again guys, I will ring the clinic this arvo and see what they see... XXX

BlueGin
01-06-2006, 14:55
Hey all, didn't end up ringing the clinic as I got a couple of jobs in and time ran away from me!
After a Tuesday and Wednesday of really crampy tummy, yesterday arvo I got some spotting :thumbsdown:. My tummy hurts like crazy so I expected a really nasty run of AF, but just a little bit since then, mostly on the TP.
Now I really don't want to test as I am pretty sure it is just a slow starting visit from AF...
I have heard that some people have a bit of a bleed when preg, but in reality do you think this happens to more than 1 in a million? I don't want to get my hopes up what may really be a freak occurence :confused:

What y'all think?

I will be in and out of the forum today as working on my computer flat chat, so I hope someone has something to say on the matter to break up my boring day :sleeping:

X

Mummy2my5
01-06-2006, 15:01
Hi bluegin....:wave: It is really amazing just how many women do spot in early pregnancy from what i have read being on bubhub. If i was you i would still do a test as you could very well be pg. good luck...:fingerscrossed:

BlueGin
01-06-2006, 15:08
Thanks Sweetpea!
Do you have any idea if I would be ready to test now then?

Mummy2my5
01-06-2006, 15:18
What cycle day are you on now bluegin? If af is due around now then yes i would say test.

BlueGin
01-06-2006, 15:28
Well no idea about cycle days :rolleyes: but I guess if I have AF of any form now, then it would be due now? I might pick up an HPT tonight for the FMU tomorrow. I just hate HPTs, not that it's their fault I keep getting BFNs! :laughing:

Mummy2my5
01-06-2006, 15:30
I know what you mean about hating hpt's i am the same....:laughing: well good luck and let us know how you go in the morning,i hope that it is a BFP for you.:fingerscrossed:

BlueGin
01-06-2006, 15:41
Thanks, and for you too, I see you are TTC as well so :fingerscrossed::fingerscrossed: for both of us :)

Mummy2my5
01-06-2006, 15:46
Thans,yeah i have had irregular cycles since going off the dep provera needle last dec at the moment i am on day 38 of my cycle and having symptoms but am too scared to test....:laughing:

BlueGin
01-06-2006, 15:54
I took Depo in my early teens, but didn't suit, I had AF the whole time...No THanks!
Well I hope your cycle is back to normal now. Why the heck do you think we are such whooses about testing? It's like we think we can make our selves preg by not getting a BFN!:rolleyes:

I will let you know how it goes, so when do you test?

baby dancer
01-06-2006, 16:01
Hi BlueGin,
Have you ever had these symptoms before (sorry if you have already answered that, I can't remeber whether I read that or not)
I have my :fingerscrossed: for your test in the morning. I can't wait to see if you get a BFP as I have had very similar symptoms as you this cycle, starting with the watery cm - what was with that?? I am on CD30 feels like I am going to have a shocker af but af never shows :confused: So confusing isn't it.
Anyways all the best and I look forward to seeing you post your BFP :smiliedance:

BlueGin
01-06-2006, 16:13
Thanks for the good vibes BabyDancer, I have had some similar symptoms before, but way milder,followed by the AF from hell, doc thinks it was an early MC.
I hope you get a BFP! When are you testing? These cycles are whacko aren't they? If they don't lead to BFPs...:mad: but they will :thumbsup:.
:fingerscrossed:

baby dancer
01-06-2006, 16:21
No worries BlueGin, I am testing Saturday if af hasn't arrived by then. I have never had these symptoms before but I started taking vitex this month so thought it may have just been that or my mind playing tricks on me again, so tired of whacko cycles.
Are your cramps like really bad af pains?
Let's hope we are both in for BFP's this time :fingerscrossed:

BlueGin
01-06-2006, 16:26
I don't know how Vitex feels, but mine are sometimes crampy, otherwise an ache over my lower tummy which can get intense, feels heavy if you know what I mean?

baby dancer
01-06-2006, 16:31
Yeah I know what you mean, mine are similar. When I wake up in the mornings it feels like really bad af pains and I think ok here we go she is here, but nothing yet. Are you stil really tied? I could curl up and go to sleep right now, afternoons are worse. Mornings have the worse pains and afternoons I am :sleeping: . I don't need to go to the tiolet that often though which makes me think maybe it is just af :confused:

BlueGin
01-06-2006, 16:32
Babydancer, I just noticed on your signature that you are a Staffy lover!
I had an awesome Staffy growing up. You inspired me to add my puppy Bully as an avatar, he was my parents house warming present to us.
Good luck for Saturday ;)

BlueGin
01-06-2006, 16:34
snap! yeah, tiredness is becoming a big thing for me, and however much sleep I get the bags and darkness under my eyes is getting soooo bad! I have never looked so tired in my life!
I went to the toilet heaps for a couple of weeks, not so much now. The cramps for me are bad in the afternoon, like now :o

baby dancer
01-06-2006, 16:37
Yes I am a staffy lover, couldn't be without them. They are the most spoilt dogs. I did see your avatar, he is beautiful how old is he?

baby dancer
01-06-2006, 16:40
Yeah I could sleep for hours and hours and look like I need to :laughing:
My pains are much less intense in the arvo's but then last night they got bad again. Stil really worried about testing though.

BlueGin
01-06-2006, 16:44
It is very easy to want to spoil a Staffy!
Bully turned 8 months today, and is growing like a weed. He is already around 35kg, and that is meant to be the weight of a full grown Ridgeback! The house isn't the same without them though is it? :rolleyes:

What with looking like death warmed up, and feeling pretty close too, we had better get those BFPs...

baby dancer
01-06-2006, 16:50
We bred from Snoopy and Nya last year and one of the pups went to live with a lady who had a Ridgback, they are huge especially when compared to an 8 week old puppy! Tyson the baby of the bunch is from that litter, I had to keep one of the puppies ;) My house wouldn't be the same without them but I may be able to have a garden in the backyard if I didn't have them :rolleyes:

I agree all this looking and feeling like cr*p better result in a BFP, it would all be worth it then :thumbsup:

BlueGin
01-06-2006, 17:03
ooh I would LOVE to breed Staffies! I don't think I could hack a litter of Ridgebacks...:eek:
I am not surprised you kept one, as to the garden? I am going out of my skull trying to maintain a semblance of order. I have blocked off the front at least, but his new thing is walking around the house all night gathering together our belongings then chewing them all night! Ah well, in theory he should grow out of that in a few months (yeah right).

Have you found that you are more emotional this month? I seem to have a rollercoaster guiding my emotions this month... c'mon the BFPs
It really would be worth it, I can then imagine enjoying cramps!
How cool would it be to jump in to the Due threads?!?

baby dancer
01-06-2006, 17:14
Our front yard is fenced off too, luckily. My dogs still chew anything and everything, sorry you prob didn't want to hear that :no:
Emotional - my god my poor DP can't keep up, one minute I am over the moon with joy :smiliedance: next I am spitting fire like a dragon :devil6: then I am crying at the tv cos there was an add on with sad background music :crying: .
So yeah I guess you could say I have been emotional too. It has camled down a little now though, a bit cranky last night but nothing major.
I am sure it will be wirth it and I could also enjoy the cramps. Can't wait to be in the due threads!

baby dancer
01-06-2006, 17:41
BlueGin, all the best for tomorrow morning, look forward to your BFP post :fingerscrossed:

BlueGin
01-06-2006, 18:08
:fingerscrossed: to you too, and thanks for the chat. I will let you know how I go (unless DH drags me away from the HPT aisle kicking and screaming... he figures if I'm preg I'm preg, why spend the money? :no: He doesn't get it...)

XXX Gin

PS. The dog is only half the problem here; the cat insists on prancing about on forbidden objects, knowing Bully will be in trouble if he lunges and breaks them...

BlueGin
01-06-2006, 22:07
Dh has stayed back at work, so I don't have a car to get to the shops to buy an HPT!
How infuriating, I really want to use FMU to be sure (otherwise I wouldn't believe a BFN-actually I prob wouldn't believe it anyway :laughing:) and tomorrow the car goes in for a service, and I will be at my parents (TTC is top secret for us).
How frustrating!
So I may well join you Baby dancer in testing on Saturday after all!

TJ
01-06-2006, 22:45
hah this may sound a little odd and out left field, why dont you pee in a jar tomorrow morning, and keep it until later that arvo and get hubby to pick up a HPT on his way home tomorrow and test then. Im sure the pee will still be fine. Cant be any different from when you need to give a sample to the doctors that they send away topathology for differnt things???

:fingerscrossed: for you!!

BlueGin
02-06-2006, 00:09
hmmm... I like the way you think Tara-Jane! It sounds like a plan, just got to make sure I have a clean jar handy, and somewhere to hide it after so DH doesn't freak! :laughing:

BlueGin
02-06-2006, 01:03
Well other than the tiniest speck of pink, today has been all brown(kind of like iodine this evening) and very scarce, think it is gone entirely now.
Cramps really bad on right side today, but feel more like the old growing pains (did anyone else have growing pains in their feet when they were kids?) of childhood. The pain is going a bit down my right leg at the back.
Luckily DH turned up with dinner, a drink, and an icecream! :hugs:
Because I was ravenous to the point of nausea (but that aint new for me :rolleyes:)
I made it halfway through my portion of dipping sauce before DH told me it was supposed to be spicy (can't hack any heat in food) and he had got it by accident... ringing any bells anyone?
I think I'll sign off for tonight, haven't left the computer today, but good to have the excuse that I have been working like a mad thing... and coming in here for relief... :D

luckymama
02-06-2006, 08:30
Good luck Blue Gin :fingerscrossed:

Livy
02-06-2006, 09:39
It's sounding good BlueGin ..... good luck :fingerscrossed:

baby dancer
02-06-2006, 10:05
Morning Gin, how did you go? Have you got your FMU in a jar??
Only one more sleep until I test, tummy feels strange today and I getting more hopeful as each hour goes by :fingerscrossed:
Do you think you will be able to test later today or are you going to wait until tomorrow?
Ooo this is getting exciting :smiliedance:
Ilana xoxo

BlueGin
04-06-2006, 00:44
Thanks Doula and Livy, good to have a cheer squad :smiliedance:
Hey Baby dancer, you tested yet? Please please please please please have a big fat BFP for us! Good luck matey, hope you post soon.

Update for me, haven't tested yet :banghead:
Woke up late Friday so couldn't even use the toilet till I had dropped DH at work (so no handy jar)... then off to the mechanics to drop the car in for a test, thought on my way home later I'd pick up a test to do this morning... went to Mum and Dad's to wait for the car; the car won't be ready till Monday as it has a phantom problem so I have to crash at parent's house and catch the train home this morning.
No car to get to the shops, no private internet access (TTC still secret) so
can't log on here to give you all a heads up SORRY TO ANYONE WHO CHECKED OUT THIS THREAD TO SEE IF I HAD POSTED :o
My lovely brother, sil, and mum all decided to drive me home today and stay to help me do some handy-man jobs... they left at 11pm! So no HPT for tomorrow morning either.
This is getting nuts, I will have to catch the train to the shops tomorrow to get a test (after peeing in a jar in the morning!).
SO I will be able to post a result tomorrow lunch time, it had better be a BFP after all of this or I think I'll move to a convent and forget TTC (as if).
XXX Thanks for reading the saga, very cathartic to whinge about it to you all!

XGin

By the way, still some iodine coloured spotting, but (and this is sooo TMI) the stuff on my panty liner is black! Anyone know what the heck that is?

nuddle
04-06-2006, 09:25
black just means older blood... good luck...

BlueGin
04-06-2006, 20:41
Thanks Nuddle :) Must be older than I am used to so it appeared odd, but good to know it is A OK

Well all, BFN for me :rolleyes: and after all that worry and work!
I did it from the jar of FMU, and the control was pretty faint, no chance that HCG sinks is there? :laughing: I'll tell myself anything! (Except that I am obviously not pregnant, no need to go there!)

Hope to hear from you soon Baby dancer, and thinking of you all, and hoping for lots of BFPs to buoy me up!

X Gin

Mummy2my5
04-06-2006, 21:03
Hey bluegin,how long did you have fmu in the jar for cause it does get less potent. If you are going to keep it more than a couple of hours it needs to be refridgerated. If you don't have af soon i would test again.:fingerscrossed: good luck.

BlueGin
04-06-2006, 21:08
aah, thanks Sweetpea! It was in the bathroom cupboard for around 9 hours :o
Yay! I can keep telling myslef I may still be pg! (any little hope to hold on to :p)

XXX

luckymama
05-06-2006, 08:50
Goodluck Bluegin :fingerscrossed: thinking good luck thoughts for you :hugs:

baby dancer
05-06-2006, 10:17
Hey Gin, I tested Sat morning and got a BFN. Stil waiting for af to arrive now, thanks for your good luck wishes.
Are you going to test again? Stil have my :fingerscrossed: for you.
Ilana x x

BlueGin
06-06-2006, 20:25
Thanks Doula :hugs: I'll keep my positive thoughts flowing your way!

Hey Ilana, sorry bout the BFN, but with no AF I guess it just means the joy and suspense of another test eh? :rolleyes:
I do want to test again, not sure when, maybe I'll pick up a test in the morning after dropping DH at work (it is his birthday so it would be awesome!)
How long will you wait to test? (Please don't make it the weekend so we have to wait till Monday to find out!) :laughing:

XXXGin

BlueGin
06-06-2006, 20:43
Well my update for the day:
I usually wake up around 9am, this morning at 6:30, thought the covers slipping had made me cold so I pulled them up, then *BAM!!!* my forehead was a sea of agony! (I am being dramatic cause I am a whoos :p) I was apparently making a lot of noise cause DH thought I was having a nightmare and snuggled me harder (kind but painful!)
I was in quite a sweat so I got up, and proceeded to :barf:a few times... felt like rubbish, drove DH to work, bought a big piece of watermelon then came home, ate the lot, (tummy hurt like mad after that, lol) and crashed on the couch for 3 hours.
Head got mostly better after that, but feeling a little "bruised" and a bit queasy still.

Now I hate to say it, but this sounds more like a tummy bug than morning sickness... but as always, I am ready to be convinced otherwise by any who wishes to! :laughing:

XX To all,
Gin

Livy
06-06-2006, 21:14
:fingerscrossed: for you Gin ..... here's hoping it's morning sickness :)

BlueGin
06-06-2006, 21:38
Thanks Livy! It had better be, cause it sucks if I am :barf:for a silly ol' tummy bug!

baby dancer
07-06-2006, 11:29
Hey Gin, :fingerscrossed: for you that it is morning sickness.
Not sure if or when I will test again, all my cramps etc have gone so I don't know what is going on.
Really don't think there is any chance of me being pg, but a suprise BFP would be welcomed with open arms.
Apart from the :barf: do you stil have any other symptoms?
Ilana x x x

Jules16
07-06-2006, 11:41
I think there is still hope for you Ilana. :fingerscrossed: :fingerscrossed:

baby dancer
07-06-2006, 12:50
Thanks Julie, I guess only time will tell.

BlueGin
08-06-2006, 00:24
Well :fingerscrossed: for you Ilana, though I am with you for not testing again any time soon! I tested this morning and BFN. Damn.
I still feel a touch queasy, but I think I have a cold!
My cramps are pretty much all gone now, just the occasional mild one (maybe once or twice a day?) but I wonder if I feel weird cause I was totally food crazy this month (and NOT healthy stuff) as I had the severe pre-AF cravings and gave in to them :shame:.
So are you still in the game this month Julie? I hope so!
So maybe I just had a really light and spotty AF this month? WIth all the other crazy things TTC does to our systems, it wouldn't surprise me!
I still think June is going to go off with BFPs like a frog in a sock! :smiliedance:
So let's hope it's us!

XXXGin

Jules16
08-06-2006, 10:14
Yeah BlueGin - am still in the game. Just waiting for AF now. Ilana and I have decided to test Tuesday!!! So :fingerscrossed: . I hope you get your BFP soon :fingerscrossed: .

baby dancer
08-06-2006, 10:42
My cramps are pretty much all gone now, just the occasional mild one (maybe once or twice a day?) but I wonder if I feel weird cause I was totally food crazy this month (and NOT healthy stuff) as I had the severe pre-AF cravings and gave in to them
Hey Gin,
All my cramps have pretty much gone to, and I know what you mean about being food crazy, oh my god the worse it is for me the more I want it, chocolate oh I could live on it :shame:
As Julie said we are testing Tuesday so :fingerscrossed:. So sorry to hear about your BFN :hugs: . Do you think you will test again in a week or so?
Fingers and Toes crossed for you stil Gin.
Ilana x x x
PS I love the expression "go off like a frog in a sock" I think it's great :laughing: