View Full Version : Designer Kids Clothes
Just wondering how many people buy their bubs designer kids clothes and if you do are they new or pre-loved and why? After having bubs I learnt about Pumpkin Patch, Fred Bare, Esprit, Peter Rabbit etc most are more expensive than adult clothes. :eek:
We only get designer clothes when they are handmedowns. I really don't see the point in spending that much money when they will only grow out of them so quickly.
We get most of our kids clothes from Big W or Kmart and they've already gone through two boys and could probably be handed down again.
26-05-2006, 21:56
I do both. If i have the money & see something nice in like pumpkin patch i will buy it but they are soo expensive!! even just for a pair of socks there. There are plenty of cute, lovely clothes from places like Kmart & Best and less that costs half the price for one at one of the other places.
javalava
26-05-2006, 21:57
Yep they are some of them. But i buy half of mine from ebay second hand... you can get some really good bargains.. but be careful cos they are popular and the bids can skyrocket really quickly!! I still buy alot brand new, cos pumpkin patch makes the best clothes and shoes in my opinion. Gorgeous designs that last through many kids. Enjoy your buying!!
Briannabear
26-05-2006, 21:58
I have bought the occasional 'Brand name' outfit for my DD, but most of the ones we have are gifts. Ebay is a great place to get brand name stuff from too - somtimes they still have tags on them.
Ordinarily though I find its just too expensive. Best and Less, Target and Kmart have great good quality and funky kids clothes for a much more reasonable price.
After all, they grow out of clothes so quickly!
Mamaduke
26-05-2006, 21:59
I'll admit it...I do like to buy Fred Bare, Osh kosh, Esprit & Country Road...I don't really think too much of Pumpkin Patch - I think the quality of their clothing is pretty cheap.
My fave clothing brand for the boys is 'Gymboree' from The States.
It's fantastic quality and although the exchange rate isn't kind and the delivery cost could be cheaper, they do have fantastic sales.
The best thing about Gymboree is that you can virtually rest assured that no other child is going to be dressed the same when you go out...well, that's the case right now...don't know what will happen if I keep running my mouth about them!!!
Here's their website if you want to have a look...
Gymboree (http://www.gymboree.com/index.jsp)
There's also a site called 'Gymbohaven' - if you become a member (free) they send you their newsletters which will have the % off codes that you can use to get 25 - 30% off your entire purchase at times.
I get all DD's clothes from pumpkin patch. I'v tried buying clothes from the likes of target or Kmart and they just don't last as long. They wash terribly too. I don't buy any other designer name except PP. If i found somewhere that had great quality clothes and wernt PP i'd buy them. I haven't so I go to Pumkin patch. I do find them so expensive though.
Tam-I-Am
26-05-2006, 22:00
My MIL just went on a holiday to Sydney, and bought DD $250 worth of Esprit clothes - she got three pairs of pants, one top and two jumpers for that. What a rip off! They are cute, but nothing special - you couldn't tell them apart from most Target clothes.
I occassionally buy Pumpkin Patch clothes, but not often, and usually only for a special occassion.
My Mother lives overseas, so she sends me alot of guilt clothes i think. Esprit, pumpkin patch, Osh Kosh etc.
Obviously i thin this is great, but i wouldnt buy them myself. Now that DS is crawling they wear just as quickly ( sometimes quicker) than the cheaper brands.
I personally love target for boys clothes, and they have alot of sales too!
I have 1 pair of pumpkin patch jeans which I bought last week at one of their outlet shops LOL
They are gorgeous. :D
3boyzmum
26-05-2006, 22:10
I don't bother buying the deisgner kids clothes for my boys anymore, as they are always running around, wrestling, climbing trees, jumping out of trees:eek: and crawling through puddles and what have you, the clothes just don't last. So I'm afraid it's just cheap and cheerful or hand me downs for us. Although we do have some good stuff put aside for birthday parties and special occasions
Briannabear
26-05-2006, 22:13
Pumpkin Patch are definately good quality I think. Some of the Myers brands are great too.
I bought a pair of Fred Bare jeans BNWT from Ebay $23 incl postage and they were ticketed at $68 originally :) . I bought them because I just wanted my son to have them and I know I can resell on Ebay so will probably get $10 back again.
I am just a sucker for cute clothes but $23 is the highest price I have paid for any.
I think it has something to do with me being deprived as a child.
I buy alot of Pumpkin Patch now that I work for them! lol.
I have alot of Peter Rabbit, Humphreys Corner, etc, BUT I buy this from the Kidwear Factory, so get them cheaper. I wouldn't pay full price for them.
Briannabear
26-05-2006, 22:25
I buy alot of Pumpkin Patch now that I work for them! lol.
Oooooh staff discount! My dream job! :laughing:
I love to buy pumpkin patch for my daughter cos i think they have the cutest stuff and i find that it washes so much better then other clothes. I have never brought anything more expensive than PP. My son mostly wears growsuits from target but has several PP outfits, he will get more as he gets older.. I must admit that most of my daughters outfits are brought for her as birthday and christmas presents from her aunts and uncles.
justtwogirls22
26-05-2006, 23:01
i buy alot of label stuff on ebay plus at sales in the major department stores - the clothes do definately last longer & DD is going to get a second season out of the some of them - my SIL has just bought a kids clothing shop that sells labels so im hoping for some huge discounts!!!
there is nothing wrong with buying clothes from big w, target, kmart, best & less etc. kids grow out of clothes too quick to be spending so much on them regardless of if you can afford to buy more expensives ones or not.
i have even heard one mother on this site refer to the cheaper kids clothes and second hand designer label clothes as "rags" which is far from the truth.
when i was pregnant i went into a kids and maternity store looking for a pair of black maternity pants to wear to my casual job. i found them alright, for $130!!! (later found a better pair at target for just $30) and while i was there lookin for pants for me i was browsing the kids clothes. i walked out of there in a hurry when i saw a fred bare tracksuit jacket, just the jacket cost $150!!!!!!! no wonder whenever i go by that shop the place is always deserted!!!!
pumpkin patch is also fairly expensive and the clothes seem to be very over the top for kids clothes and dont seem very practicle. but thats just my opinion. however i would buy from there if they were having a sale and the clothes were cheap enough. i dont think there is much of a difference between PP and kmart or target clothes. they last just as long. i dont know people are saying they dont. some people are just brand snobs i think.
to the mother that thinks cheap clothes dont wash well, mine DS's wash just fine. there is nothing wrong with the clothes i buy for him from kmart etc. even if i could afford to buy all of DS's clothes at PP, i wouldnt.
Melbee you will have to let me know when your SIL shop has sales on :thumbsup:
MissBrightside
26-05-2006, 23:16
I buy most of my boys stuff from Target or Kmart. Been in a Pumkin Patch shop but walked out with nothing. Too expensive! Anyone with boys know how they reck their clothes.:yes:
All the brand name stuff I do have is from my Grandma. She works in an op shop and grabs the designer stuff for my boys. Some of it still has tags. I just got a bagful of Esprit, Old Navy, PP, and Gymboree stuff.:thumbsup:
mum2littleman
26-05-2006, 23:18
i buy lukes if they are really cute!! as i cant help it i dont buy 2nd hand things for him i dont no why i just dont like the though of sumone elses things on him not saying there is anything wrong wit it at all but i have never had 2nd hand so im not going to put em on my son also lukes godmother takes him shopping everytime she has him and buys the best of the best few 100 dollars every time..
she crazy lol but i like alot of things that come from kmart and target they are just as cute most of the times
as u can buy a whit shirt from pumpkin patch and it dont even have the brand written on it but will cost 4 times more that an shirt from kmart..
_________
the mummy - louise 20{lou}
the baby - lucas 6 months{lukey}
I mainly buy DD's clothes from K-Mart or Best n' Less,but will on occasion buy from Pumpkin Patch or the Baby World brand from Myer.I'm also a sucker for cute clothes,and those two brands have the cutest IMO.:yes:
Also MIL always buys DD Pumpkin Patch clothes,so she does have a fair bit of PP in her wardrobe.
26-05-2006, 23:22
I'm a majorrr pumpkin patch addict!! Zach was in 00's for almost 2 years and kmart/target clothes dont even last 1/4 that time but his pumpkin patch still looks brand new!
Bellas wardrobe is 95% patch... im sooooo obsessed lol
I have some esprit but not really that keen on it. Have a handful of oshkosh for each of them that my mum has bought as she loves oshkosh clothes but again im not really a fan of them!
With #4 on the way though I have been buying clothes from Target more lately and kinder clothes for the boys from kmart/best and less as they get so grubby anyway and with zach TT he can go through up to 6 changes per day!
I buy most of my boys stuff from Target or Kmart. Been in a Pumkin Patch shop but walked out with nothing. Too expensive! Anyone with boys know how they reck their clothes.:yes:
All the brand name stuff I do have is from my Grandma. She works in an op shop and grabs the designer stuff for my boys. Some of it still has tags. I just got a bagful of Esprit, Old Navy, PP, and Gymboree stuff.:thumbsup:
alot of mums i talk to say they find alot of new or near new designer clothes in 2nd hand shops. i'm yet to go in one myself (lack of money...lol) but as soon as i have a bit of spare cash and some spare time, i'm gonna go see for myself. :D :smiliedance:
i also find PP too expensive. but i did buy a pair of denim shorts there for DS when he was just a month old as they were on sale. i think i got them fro $7. they dont really have a size on them, just says "newborn" but now at 5 months and in 00's and 0's (he;s a big bubba) he can still fit in the shorts coz the elastic can be adjusted. i just let the elastic out a bit when they get a bit tight. i wonder if they will still fit at the end of the year when summer comes along. i wish all baby shorts were like that coz DS wouldnt go through so many clothes.
Does anyone else find that alot of Pumpkin Patch shirts and stuff lose their shape really badly? This has happened with a few things I have bought, very disappointing!
I dont ever buy brand name stuff full price,I love Myer sales, you can find some awesome bargains, I dont find PP have really good sales, most of their stuff still isnt that much cheaper than when it was full price, although I agree their stuff is gorgeous.
All of my kids brand name stuff is gifts, hand me downs, or stuff from opshops and ebay, or sales, but I buy the majority of their clothes from best n less, target or op shops, best n less have great quality clothes at really reasonable prices, and it is the best place for all your essentials like socks, undies, singlest, pj, bondsuits etc, no way I could justify spending alot of money for all that sort of stuff.
26-05-2006, 23:40
I've never had problems with PP like that. I once bought a pair of overalls for DS that he wore once and 3 snaps broke off so I returned them and they swapped them over for me and had no problems with the next pair which he wore for a good 12 months afterwards!
26-05-2006, 23:59
My MIL buys PP clothes when they're on sale. I only ever buy from Big W/ K-Mart/Target and Best and Less. So much cheaper! I buy my own clothes from these places as well :yes: I don't see the point in spending a fortune on clothes they grow ot of so quickly!
SassyMummy
27-05-2006, 00:01
DD has bits and pieces from here and there. I really don't discriminate of where I buy...I just look for something I like and then see if I think it's worth what it costs.
There's no way in hell I'm spending $40 for a pair of pants for DD - since birth, she's gone from size 0000 (for like, a week...lol) to 1 (she's a bit small for 1 but a bit big for 0). She's only 10 months old!
I like Pumpkin Patch for "extras". I think they have adorable tights (stockings) and sometimes have cute skirts or dresses or whatever...the best outfit I ever bought DD was a Pumpkin Patch halter-neck dress. It's fitted to the waist then it's a full skirt. It's white with blue pink and green spots. OMG it's so girly gorgeous! (I also got in on sale!).
DD crawls around, so I'm not wasting good money on pants which she'll just dirty anyway. Same with tops (DD like to dribble/spit/blow bubbles). I find best and less are GREAT for jumpsuits and house clothes (though the Stiks and Stones brand is super cute!), K-mart is OKAY (don't like it too much though), Target is good (especially when there's a sale - I still don't like to spend too much on DD's clothes) and Big W has a good selection of Bonds gear.
I DO agree that some Pumpkin Patch gear isn't very wearable for littlies - I bought DD a GORGEOUS jacket. It was kind of cord-like and had a cute print on it. It was lined as well - extra warmth. She was sleeping when I bought it, but I never try clothes on her before I buy them anyway (it's generally more difficult than it's worth). When I FINALLY tried it on her, it was SO HARD to get it on her. A wriggly bub and a non-stretch jacket are the WORST combo! I just re-sold it on eBay (for $5 less than I bought it).
eBay is GREAT for baby clothes IMO. I got a cute brand new pumpkin patch (red with white spots) full skirt. It's divine and looks great with stockings and a denim waistcoat (vest). It was $8.
Mamaduke
27-05-2006, 00:11
Does anyone else find that alot of Pumpkin Patch shirts and stuff lose their shape really badly? This has happened with a few things I have bought, very disappointing!
Yes yes yes!!! Before I found Gymboree I would buy from PP and the colours would run and they'd lose shape.
My friend bought her daughter a coat from PP for $70 and after wearing it once (to see The Lion King so it wasn't as if she was running around playing with it on) my friend noticed that the coat was starting to 'ball' in places...not good enough.
I've got a beef with PP with their boys clothes too...I go in there and pick up what I think is a nice white plain shirt only to find they've printed some sort of 'skater' logo on it or adorned the arms with patches of some kind...yuk!
Yes yes yes!!! Before I found Gymboree I would buy from PP and the colours would run and they'd lose shape.
My friend bought her daughter a coat from PP for $70 and after wearing it once (to see The Lion King so it wasn't as if she was running around playing with it on) my friend noticed that the coat was starting to 'ball' in places...not good enough.
I've got a beef with PP with their boys clothes too...I go in there and pick up what I think is a nice white plain shirt only to find they've printed some sort of 'skater' logo on it or adorned the arms with patches of some kind...yuk!
i also hate "fussy" boys clothing. thats why i love kmart and big w. u can get alot of plain clothes (but still very gorgeous!) there and at very reasonable prices. i bought DS cord pants in 3 different colours, some tracksuit pants and tops and a pair of denim pants from big w all for $6 each. also got some plain long sleeve tops in several different colours from kmart for $4 each. great value.
Ana Gram
27-05-2006, 04:58
I very rarely buy any clothing at full price and DD has plenty of designer stuff.
I love second hand stuff, especially kids wear as most of it has only been worn for 2 seconds before the kid grows out of it!
I hate Pumpkin Pathc, the only reason is the lack of choice everything is bloody pink.
Fairyfloss
27-05-2006, 05:55
I am new to all the baby shopping, but don't really like PP, I have bought so much cute stuff from target and B&L , they were even nicer than the ones I got from David Jones, so now, after huffing and puffing around for 6 months, I have come to teh conclusion that kids cloths don't have to be expensive to look cute andn fun, specially if they can only wear them for three months:eek:
Harry&Max's Mummy
27-05-2006, 07:13
I buy all my kids casual clothes, basics, and pjs from Best and Less and the good clothes i get Pumpkin Patch. I buy them when they are on sale and also go one size up for next season and sometimes pack them away until then. I do buy alot from ebay as well, But the prices go crazy now with everyone bidding high early. I kept all my sons clothes from when he was small and DS 2 is wearing them all now (same season baby Phew...) I am selling them all on ebay once he grows out of them and i practically get the same money back.
I find that sometimes Target clothes are more expensive that PP clothes when PP are on sale.
Blessed Mum
27-05-2006, 08:50
If I really like the outfit I definately buy it. But we also shop at all the other stores. I actually copped a lecture from DH's mum about what a waste coz she is growing so fast etc but just last week we bought a pink cord pinafore dress with white skivvy & white tights & bandana - sooooooo gorgeous. Plus I have a s-i-l whose bub is due any day so I hand them down & she always sticks up for me & can't imagine why tho hey :D .
I bought a mixture of expensive and less expensive stuff for our little guy. The expensive stuff however was SERIOUSLY marked down at an annual factory sale hence why he has so much of it. A lot of stuff I've bought though has been Big W, K-Mart & Bonds.
As a gift, I was recently given a Timberland jacket and Fred Bare jeans in newborn size!!! I wouldn't have spent that much but I love the fact that someone else thinks enough of us to do that. We also got given a couple of Pumpkin Patch outfits which I would never have bought but I must admit they are sooooo cute on him (they are washing up really nicely too).
I just love the Bonds stuff mainly - comfy for him and easy for me to change and wash.
I have bought mainly Baby Gap, Esprit and Pumpkin Patch clothes for bubby so far, plus little singlets from Best and Less.
Main reason is that
a. I want to
b. they will be handed down from December onwards
c. see "a"
I didn't have much as a kid. A new pair of jeans was a big deal. And I have waited so long to have bubby. So I guess its something psychological to do with that.
I like Target clothes too though. I just havent bought any yet.
I buy a lot of pumpkin patch - I use their online sales and buy end of season in the sizes for the next year. I don't think I have paid full price for anything from there. I am happy with the quality - my PP clothes have been through 3 or 4 children by the time they get to DD2 (we have a family circle of posting parcels of handmedowns) and they are still going strong. I also check out the discount shops - and buy from their factory outlet in NZ when I go there - prices are the same as here but with the exchange rate they are cheaper!
I think its worth paying the prices in PP because I could buy 1 PP t shirt that will last DD 3-6 months. If i bought a Tshirt from Target or Kmart, they shrink, loose shape or fade in like a month so ill end up buying her another one anyway. I just think it's easier to buy her the quality stuff I know will last. I understand the mums who just shop at the likes of kmart. DD is my first child so we have the money to spend on the more expensive clothes for her. If we have number 2, im pretty sure im going to have to kurb my PP addiction!:rolleyes:
HugsAndKisses
27-05-2006, 17:33
ok thought i may as well put in my opinion :laughing:
well i buy my son a wide range of clothes at a range of prices and i must say that i LOVE Pumpkin Patch they have great quality clothing and i find there stuff lasts alot longer than other shops but at the same time i also think target have really good quality childrens clothing too... i think well PP has a lot better price then some of the designer kids clothes out there but yes they are still pretty expensive.
I really just think it comes down to personal choice and wat suits your family budget.... i mean DS has got a pair of pumkin patch pants that go up to 9 months but with the adjustable waist he is still wearing them comfortably and they still look new..... so all i really wanted to say is that i agree that designer clothes aren't the only good clothes out there but if you want something thats a little extra special and you got the spare cash then why not.....:thumbsup:
oh and also i love bonds wat great comfy and cute deesigns they have at a reasonable price:yes:
this is a great thread i love seeing everyones view's on the situation and knowing that im not the only Pumpkin Patch addict out there:hugs:
madvoice
27-05-2006, 18:10
I buy most of Raleigh's designer clothes pre loved from e-bay or op shops. She gets the occasional new item from Pumpkin Patch or Osh Kosh but generally the grandparents get them for her.
I'll buy ANYTHING :laughing:
Bonds
Pumpkin Patch
Peter Rabbit
Oshkosh
Esprit
Papoose
Baby Who
Bunnykins
Bright Bots (shoes)
Target
Best & Less
Fred Bare
Baby Gap
Red Robbin
Max & Tilly (shoes)
Big W
Precious Pumpkins
Little Pumpkins
& I'm sure there's more...without looking thru her wardrobe....:p
Here's their website if you want to have a look...
Gymboree (http://www.gymboree.com/index.jsp)
There's also a site called 'Gymbohaven' - if you become a member (free) they send you their newsletters which will have the % off codes that you can use to get 25 - 30% off your entire purchase at times.
Just went on there....LOVE IT!!!!!! :smiliedance: DH saw me looking tho...:shame: & said don't even think about buying anything else :laughing:
Mamaduke
27-05-2006, 19:31
Just went on there....LOVE IT!!!!!! :smiliedance: DH saw me looking tho...:shame: & said don't even think about buying anything else :laughing:
It's a little shifty but try this...
order now (because the sale is on) and by the time the credit card bill arrives they would have forgotten all about telling you not to order!!
Don't forget to join Gymbohaven if you're going to order Gymboree clothes...they'll let you know of the 'secret codes' to get your purchase cheaper.
iluvmeboyz
27-05-2006, 21:49
i soemtimes buy clothes from target but i find then to expensive at times and cause i have a older son its handy cause my youngest son has his clothes but now there grandmother buy's them clothes from op shops and i'll tell you what she gets pumpkin patch clothes and osh gosh my yougest son Caleb his clothes are all well nearly all are the designer clothes lol his grandmother gets them
timetoplay!
27-05-2006, 22:14
I love PP too.
I do buy things from K-mart, target, etc, but I'm sick of all the waists
being too big! I want to be able to buy a pair of trackies or leggings for Aylish that
don't fall off her straight away. :mad: I don't want to have to take everything in either!
At least if I go to PP, I know they'll fit her.
I do buy most of my kids clothes off eBay though.
I resell them when they've grown out of them and most of the time get my money back - if not more! :thumbsup:
timetoplay!
27-05-2006, 22:18
:idea: Oh, I forgot.
My mum's great for buying stuff for the kids too.
She's had a pair of PP shortalls hanging up in her cupboard for over a year which I'm not supposed to know about! :laughing:
They are so cute!
:fingerscrossed: Aylish should get them for Christmas this year!
Kassiasmum
28-05-2006, 00:11
My dd has some PP stuff, but nothing that was bought at full price, actually all of it except 1 outfit has been bought off ebay and I don't think I have paid over $11.00 for any of it. I like PP clothes but think they are way overpriced to buy at full price. I also buy the rest of her clothes from K-Mart, Target etc as well as other stuff off ebay. I have never had a problem with any of the clothes from the cheaper stores and my DD gets a full season out of the one size, so she gets heaps of wear out of her clothes and they are still good enough to hand down to younger cousins etc. I usually buy shoes from PP depending on their price, I have found that some of their shoes are around the same price as shoes for places like Payless shoes.
I've got a wardrobe full of designer clothes for bub from size 000 (which he's already grown out of ages ago) to size 2, only a few peices look like they have been worn at all, hand me downs from my rather well off aunt :rolleyes: I'd be surprised if they were worn more than once before she gave them to me! Added it up when she gave me the first lot, the size 0 stuff alone is worth over $6000 :eek: LOTS of clothes, VERY high end stuff :thumbsup: Only prob is her sister is pregnant with a baby boy so once Tom's done with them I'll be expected to give them back.
Best & Less and Dimmeys for me. I can't justify the cost of brand name stuff.
I was given a PP voucher when DS was born and I spent 45mins in the shop trying to get something I liked that was also decent value for money. I found them totally overrated. I refuse to walk into any specialised children's clothing store now. Not worth the seconds that it takes to walk in and out again.
I wash all his clothes on delicates with a tiny amount of Earth Choice laundry detergent. They wash up fine. And for the price I pay at Best & Less or Dimmeys, I can just go and buy new stuff without feeling like I'm handing over my life savings.
As an aunt, I bought designer stuff for my nephews and nieces. United Colours of Benneton was my usual haunt for such shopping expeditions. I would also buy them teeny tiny Reebok or Nike trainers that they'd grow out of every time they sneezed and I would spend a fair bit in one fell swoop. But that was because that fell swoop happened about 2 or 3 times a year - their parents bought them the everyday garments in a far more economically minded way than spend-happy aunt with no other financial commitments.
Now with my first on it's merrily kicking way, I've started building a nest. It has a wardrobe like it's mother: some cheap stuff for kicking around the house in (like Bonds and Target), some nicer stuff for going out in (Pumpkin Patch and similarly priced garments from Myer and David Jones) and some exorbitantly priced articles that I/it's father/it's grandmother couldn't resist (Ralph Lauren, Benneton and so forth - incidentally, these garments were on sale. They were a little bit more expensive than the Pumpkin Patch stuff but not by much).
I'm not a brand snob by any means but I wouldn't feel right putting garments on my child that I myself wouldn't wear (not that I would go around dressed in a jumpsuit with "apple" emblazoned on the front in neon green, but you know what I mean). I don't wear second hand garments that weren't from a family member and so I'd feel guilty if I made the Bean wear such things. I wouldn't buy clothes for myself just because they were cheap and so I wouldn't inflict that on the child, either.
Just off topic for a sec, if anyone has any PP clothes size 1-2 they would like to sell, ill buy them all!!!:p :laughing: Im serious!:yes:
yummymummy
28-05-2006, 21:05
A girlfriend of mine buys all her little ones designer stuff at markets, really cheap........another on Ebay ................ i reckon Best and Less is great for kids stuff, as I dont have the cash to be buying PP ..................my little girl is a bonds girl!!!! Its quality clothing that lasts:smiliedance:
rynosmum
28-05-2006, 21:26
I honestly prefer the 'Stix and Stones' and 'Mini Mango' ranges at Best and Less better than any Pumpkin Patch items.
My DH goes to the US once a year for work and heads off to a DFO there and picks up some Baby Gap, Tommy and Osh Kosh items. They're different to what we have here so thats great but they're really not that fantastic or that much better than what we have here (although they are quite inexpensive).
I pick up a couple of items from Big W or Target here and there but surprisingly "Best and Less" is my favourite - and the items wear well too.:thumbsup:
Mamaduke
28-05-2006, 21:55
My DH goes to the US once a year for work and heads off to a DFO there and picks up some Baby Gap, Tommy and Osh Kosh items.
Hmmm...any chance of him swinging past Gymboree on his next trip?!:rolleyes: :D
little mermaid
28-05-2006, 22:07
I think it just depends on whats cute at the time and what I like. Best n less have a cute brand called "Sticks n stones" often has adorable stuff. Hate most of the Pumpkin Patch girls stuff this winter. AWOL has some great stuff at great prices.
But I think it totally depends on yours and your families lifesyle as to what suits you best and what you can afford.
But I dont feel that it is fair for some people who feel presured into blowing their budget on kiddies clothes just to keep up or feel they have to fit in!
3boyzmum
28-05-2006, 23:46
All this talk of kids clothes makes me very glad that I have a child in school and another at kinder. They both have uniforms so I bought them a size to big so they two years out of them. You'd be surprised how much money you save when all they wear all week is their uniform.:thumbsup:
Mother Duck
29-05-2006, 00:03
Mamaduke - you would LOVE my latest purchase of e-bay in Gymboree - a total Leopardskin Lookalike outfit complete with dress, knickers (as in under the dress toddler style), sock, boots and hat. With a pair of dark stockings on and a dark skivvy she looks so adorable!
Plus I won a Leopardskin maternity coat on ebay!
So the pair of us have our 'dress up' days and get around Murgon looking like fools - great fun. I believe there is a time and a place to be eccentric and may that be anytime in anyplace - :)
In answer to the original question - I get just about everything as hand me downs - I consider my ebay purchases to be my new stuff and yes on ebay I will buy brand names but won't let myself go over a certain price.
Brand names all the way with the shoes though - timberland make such awesome shoes - really good for learning legs!
Mamaduke
29-05-2006, 00:12
Mamaduke - you would LOVE my latest purchase of e-bay in Gymboree - a total Leopardskin Lookalike outfit complete with dress, knickers (as in under the dress toddler style), sock, boots and hat. With a pair of dark stockings on and a dark skivvy she looks so adorable!
Plus I won a Leopardskin maternity coat on ebay!
So the pair of us have our 'dress up' days and get around Murgon looking like fools - great fun. I believe there is a time and a place to be eccentric and may that be anytime in anyplace - :)
I'm so jealous of you mums with girls...the girls clothes are just beautiful at Gymboree...but I do have 2 goddaughters who get alot of Gymboree come birthdays & Christmas...whether they want them or not!!!:p
arthursmum
29-05-2006, 20:40
Try buying at the sales (for the next season) or factory outlets and go to opshops in posh suburbs and of course as was mentioned ebay...
We buy lots of designer stuff (new, but i'm always up for a bargain if i can find one), i figure that as my wardrobe now consists of 3 **** tshirts with sick all over them all the time that HE might as well have nice clothes with sick all over them...only one of us has to look crappy all the time :)
Also they'll last longer and still be nice for the next kids.
I buy alot of Fred Bare, Jag, Espirit, Gap, Ralph Lauren not so much Osh Kosh anymore seem there is no shop close anymore. I also buy alot of Surf brands. I don't care if there not on sale (If they are it's an extra bonus) I think there good quality clothing and don't lose there shape or tear easily. Pumpkin Patch to me is just like Target Price wise. I still do buy things from Target, Big W, Best & Less and so on. Like another person said on the thread, What I don't re use on my kids I sell on Ebay. And most of my childrens "Name brand" clothing have gone through mine and some of my friends and family children over the 7 years I have had them. And still have heaps of wear and are in VGC stll. There is also that saying you pay for what you get.
Looks like this has been a hot topic. It is interesting reading everyone's thoughts on this. Looks like most of us are bargain hunters too. Will check out that website mentioned - Gymboree.:)
Gotta go check my Ebay bids!