View Full Version : Monthly Bills
nsmonkey
09-01-2009, 08:20
How much are your bills a month and what does that cover?
Do you rent? Mortgage? or Own?
Cars- Own? Loan? or Public Transport?
How many do you feed in the family?
Austar or Foxtel? Other Luxuries
Etc Etc..........
Maybe I am just being way too nosey. :o
tired*mummy
09-01-2009, 08:31
I stopped calculating at $3,600 lol
That includes our rent, our food plus any takeaways, car payment, phone, internet & foxtel, gas & electricity etc.
I didnt include things like my girls swimming lessons, dancing lessons, or medical or emergency things. Just the basics.
we are in the 2500 and greater catagory!
we have a mortgage, 1 car, we own the other car outright, we have a family of 4 with another bub on the way we have foxtel, phone, mobiles, broadband, and then just the general living and we speand just over $1000 a week on all of it but that doesnt include any luxurys just living costs..
nsmonkey
09-01-2009, 08:56
Ours a month roughly comes to $2757 at the moment but are hopefully going to reduce that once we get this loan well fingerscrossed.
That includes car insurance, life insurance, 2 cars, austar, mobile, broadband, personal loan, fuel, food, animals, smokes plus another couple things.
We are currently trying to sell the hilux as we don't need it.
Oh **** just realised I clicked on the wrong catergorie.
$660/month
includes
rent
elec & gas
fuel
mobile phone
net/home phone
thats all I have. Oh I do also pay kids swimming lessons and day care aswell but didnt include them
If I add in food and those kids things it adds an extra $800/month so about $1400ish
subaruforestermum
09-01-2009, 09:19
Hmmmmmmm
Actual amounts, or amounts we pay?? Cos we pay more than we owe or are charged..
Mortgage - $1906.66 (Amount we pay per week X 52, then divided by 12 to get a correct monthly amount!)
That's the only value figure I'll reveal...
But we have
broadband
telephone
electricity
house and contents insurance
car insurance
credit card repayments (interest free for our couch)
life insurance
They are the only BILLS.... There are of course other expenses, such as fuel and food, but they are not BILLS in my opinion...
So I guess ours are over $2000 obviously, going by our mortgage repayments, BUT we pay more than we are required too on ALL bills...so we are in credit, so really if you wanted to get technical, ours only BILLS each month are insurances and the mortgage... The rest are paid prior to recieving a Bill that is in credit statement...lol.. If that made sense..
nsmonkey
09-01-2009, 09:27
Subaruforestermum- Yes it makes sense. :)
I pay the smaller bills (austar, mobile, broadband) fortnightly so when the bill does come at the end of the month they are all paid for. Works easier for us to do it that way. :)
nugglyboysmum
09-01-2009, 10:41
I am moving out with DS next week so not too sure what my bills will be for the month, this is what i do know
Rent $600
Tuition Fees $75
Radio Rentals $100
Gas
Electricity
Pre paid phone $30
Petrol $40
Childcare $20
Food $600
thats all i can think of atm.....hope i can stretch the centrelink payments...
nsmonkey
09-01-2009, 11:29
With the food for the month Nugglyboysmum we spend $600 a month with 2 adults and 2 kids aged 4.5 and 2. After the first month you will get the gist of things.
Ava&Jacksons_Mumma
09-01-2009, 11:46
Ours are $3,600+ and thats without a mortage because we already own our home :)
09-01-2009, 11:52
Mortgage $500ish a week (so about $1500 a month)
Petrol (about $20 per f/n-I hardly drive)
Shopping ($400-500 per month depeding if we buy meat)
Phone and Internet ($60 per month)
Gas (about $70 per month sometimes less)
Water ( about $40)
Electricity (about $100 or less)
Grant's train ticket (is a yearly ticket which is about $1000 per year but his work paid for it and it gets taken out of his pay each f/n, about $50 or something, not too sure)
Kinder $160 per term
Wow, looking at that gives me a headache, I think we need to sit down and work out a budget and try and make things less money or something. We don't even have Foxtel!
Another thing, I put away a bit of money for myself and the kids each f/n after I get my pay from centerlink (Grant and I had a joint account but I also have my own account and the kids have an account as well.) I put about $50-$60 away ($10 each for the kids and the rest for me)
09-01-2009, 11:57
oops double post
ATM i have it pretty easy. im living with my parents :laughing:
board: $300
mobile: $ 150
personal training $ 160
petrol: $150
credit card: $ 120
Food is hard, sometimes when we do a big shop i pay or mum pays. the only thing i pay for regularly is DD's nappies and formula.
we have austar and broadband, but mum said since they had it before i moved back i dont have to pay. :p
i never use the home phone just my mobile.
i dont have a credit card but i put $60 a fortnight on my parents card cause i use it on the odd occasion.
missie_mack
09-01-2009, 12:07
Easily in the $2500+ section with the bear basics of:
Health Insurance
Car Insurance
Electricity (bearing in mind I salary sacrifice a portion of this)
Water Usage and rates
Council Rates
Food
Internet/Home telephone Plan
Home payments
And there is still mobile phones, petrol, childcare, medications, HECs payments, credit card payments... the list goes on
evaandlilly
09-01-2009, 12:09
rent = 1280
car = owned outright so no payments
austar/broadband/homephone = 240
mobile phones x2 = 38
electricity = 160
all our bills i pay weekly so that when we get them they are usually well in advance like sf mum said
evaandlilly
09-01-2009, 12:10
oh and 450 a month for all food, meat, vegies, nappies wipes etc (2 adults, 3 kiddies, 2 in nappies)
louellyn
09-01-2009, 12:30
Hmm not sure of the breakdown on everything but there is me, DH and our 5 month old son and our expenses would be around $5,000 a month (mortgage,foxtel,petrol own both cars outright, food, phones, entertainment etc)
I know I have to sit down and do a budget as we are about to buy another property but I am so bad at sticking to a budget that I just spend whatever we need to each month and what is left over goes into savings each month which is usally around $2000.
Lou
Gee, just our rent, our mortgage, and our car comes to approx $3300 :eek:
We also pay car insurance on 3 cars (2 owned outright), life insurance, health insurance, contents insurance, 2 mobile phones, house phone, gas, electricity, water, petrol, air fares (DH works interstate), kinder fees, school fees, swimming lessons...anything else? Oh, and food and nappies, lol!
We have 2 adults, 4 children :)
FiveInTheBed
09-01-2009, 13:33
$1500-2500
We own our own home and have just changed our car loan into a home loan so we could lower the interest rate and repayment just incase anything happens in this current economic climate.
And we cleared the CC too!
we still pay more than the minimum though in the hope we get rid of it sooner!!
Then with, home & contents, life insurance, car insurance, internet, two mobiles and a home phone, and elec & gas etc we are up in that bracket.
I need to work at getting our monthly grocery bill down and have started a new "lifestyle" to try to achieve this.
We also put money in the kids account monthly...they have more in savings than us!!
babygizaiah
09-01-2009, 17:57
this is our weekly expenses
household:
rent 320
food 100
power 17
broadband 10
landline 5
pennytel 4.75
df
gas 50
smokes 20
gizaiah
swimming 14
nappies 13
me
weight watchers 16
gym 11.50
personal trainer 9
gas 20
Total: $610.25
so a month that would be $2441
Roughly $1800.... I say roughly cos once you add in the extra bits and pieces that are not accounted for or regular I would realistically be spending over $2000/mth.....
The $1800 includes...
- Rent
- Landline/Broadband
- Mobile
- Electricity
- Food
- Fuel
- Foxtel
- Credit Card
- Small Car Loan
We don't live luxuriously.... but I do enjoy good food, and an environment that is enjoyable, so we definitely live comfortably....
fox_girl
10-01-2009, 14:15
Well as of today the monthly expenses are:
Mortgage - $1352
Car Loan - $616
Personal loan - $500 (from my previous relationship & house i sold)
Car Insurance - $80
Health Insurance - $54
Home phone & internet - $80
Mobile - $80
Foxtel - $110
Radio Rentals - $100 (2 payments left)
AGC - $70
Credit Card - $200 (cancelled just paying off the balance)
Petrol - $100
Food - $300 (2 adults & a 4 yo, only have 2 wks per month)
House insurance - $60
Total $3702
We are about to refinance and consolidate (happening next week) So our outgoings will reduce to:
Mortgage - $1477
Personal loan - $500 (from my previous relationship & house i sold)
Car Insurance - $80
Health Insurance - $54
Home phone & internet - $80
Mobile - $80
Foxtel - $110
Credit Card - $200 (cancelled just paying off the balance)
Petrol - $100
Food - $300 (2 adults & a 4 yo, only have 2 wks per month)
House insurance - $60
Total $3041.
So we will be saving ourselves - $661 per month.
I guess looking at it like this i see we have a lot of outgoings. We are on a pretty good income though so I guess that makes up for it.
I pay the bills a bit each week so when they come in we dont have a huge amount to pay. The only thing i pay when it comes in is Water, Gas & Elect. But i have the money saved for those bills.
Trying Hard
10-01-2009, 16:44
We are spending roughly 4000 a month on bills. We take money each week from our pay and put it into an account just for the bills so when they come in we have they money, however lately this hasn't been happening :no: Any money left over is ours to spend.
Our bills are
Rates
Water Rates
Home Insurance
Contents Insurance
DP Car Insurance
DP Car Registration
My Car Registration
RAC Roadside Assistance
DP Driver License
My Driver License
Alinta Gas
Synergy
Water Corporation
Foxtel
Bigpond
Telephone
My Car Insurance
Mortgage 1
Mortgage 2
Health Insurance
Food Shopping
Petrol
Personal Loan
1320 just on rent per month
$150 loan and credit card
$100 elec
$30 phone
$50 mobile
$80 interenet
$60 insurance home and car
not including food and fuel....
babygizaiah
19-01-2009, 15:27
How much are your bills a month and what does that cover?
$2320 (just cut out some bills)
rent,food,power,internet,broadband,pennytel,smokes ,gas,nappies,swimming lessons,water
Do you rent? Mortgage? or Own?
rent
Cars- Own? Loan? or Public Transport?
have 2 cars that we paid cash for
How many do you feed in the family?
Austar or Foxtel? Other Luxuries
No other luxuries. Hubbie gets $120pw for play money so that goes on other purchases.
Weekly
rent 250
food 250
electricity 25
phone/net 25
mobile 10
fuel 80
smokes 80
clothing 50
pocket money kids 80
other (takeaway,other incidentals) 50
So $900 wk for 2 adults 4 kids aged 12,6,5,1
We have our own finances so the above is halved Husband has his remaining $$ i have mine.
We also both give children pocket money half of which is banked and half can be spent as they wish.
We both own our cars/boat/motorbikes etc
holidays are camping ones, in a tent mostly we use the 50 incedental $$ that goes into a tin for takeaway, or whatever we need it for, ones we have enough $$ in the tin, we go camping.
No foxtel etc. Dont go out drinking, take kids to free things like the park,beach etc. Go to bulk billing doctors. Dont have insurance ( but am looking into it)
Pina Colada
19-01-2009, 16:01
Hmmm this will be interesting....here goes :
Mortgages (x3) - $4000 (thanks to interest rate cuts, that has gone down by over $800)
Rates - $420
Phone/Internet - $350
Austar - $55 (cut back on channels recently)
Health Insurance - $260
Other Insurances - $250
Subscriptions/Memberships - $20
BILLS = $5355/mth
Plus -
Groceries - $1400 (feeding 4, family of 5)
Alcohol - $200
Kindergarten - $250
Dancing - $25
Personal spending - $200 each
Kids clothing, expenses etc. - $200
Hair/Beauty etc. - $250
OTHER = $2950/mth
TOTAL - $8305/mth
Keeping in mind we receive $3500 in rent payments for our investment properties, which make that amount seem alot less scary.
DH company pays the rent on the house we are living in, and also our electricity and his car and mobile phone. My car is a novated lease through his company so the expenses aren't shown in the above calculations - it is taken directly from his wages and is a further $400 a week.
We put aside 2400 a month to cover:
Shopping
Pressie
Spending
Life/income Insurance
Rates
Home Insurance
Health insurance
Doctors
Hair
Electricity
Gas
Water
Ambulance
we have our own business, so 1300 goes to cover these expenses,
2ndCar rego
2ndCar Insurance
LandLine
Internet
Mobile:
Phone
Fuel
Business Insurances
Ute rego
Accontant
So all up, 3700 a month, thats without a mortgage too! But that is for EVERYTHING we need to survive. Obviously, with out our business, our costs would come down to more like $3000 a month.
Interesting to see what others are paying & see if theres ways to cut back too.
My fortnighly (because i only pay on a fortnightly basis) are as follows
$471 mortgage payment
$200 groceries
$50 rates
$35 austar
$30 elec
$70 phone, broadband & mobile
$110 petrol for both cars
$30 car insurance
$100 interest free deal (new lounge suite)
$80 formula
$35 nappies
$20.50 house insurance
Total $1231.50
OMG i did'nt think it was that much!.
Yikes, it's a bit depressing, really...
Ours is about $3500 a month.
That includes everything - all bills and living expenses (also entertainment). Insurances are our killer. We have house, car (2), contents, health, life, income and trauma insurance. Sounds like a lot, but if one of us dies, the other can clear the mortgage with leftovers - good peace of mind. Same goes for trauma and income insurance - we just know if something really cr*p happens we won't lose our house.
Our mortgage is our only debt. We own 2 cars but one of them is REALLY old lol (like, older than me;)).
One child, one on the way (yikes - there goes more money). No Austar etc. We go out occasionally - but mostly do free things like the park/beach etc.
We have one and half incomes. If we go down to one it will be dollar to dollar - but if it happens for a few years it's doable.