View Full Version : BLW support
I believe there are few that are planning to do baby led weaning so thought we could chat about it and offer support especially as others may not understand.
J is 3 and a half months. He loves breastmilk atm! Getting comments from family about starting solids already. Its frustrating and they think its so funny. Look he wants chocolate cake. No he doesn't. He is just curious about things.
I plan to give tastes after 6mths - whenever it suits J and not anyone else. I am not concerned with him having meals til he is at least 12mths.
Food is fun til 1!
codswallop
08-01-2009, 11:50
i know i have the same issues!
caught hubby giving Rowyn choccky last night:eek:
it was just a lick he insisted but i was still he dosent want food yet you stupid man!!!:laughing:
Aby started eating ( food) when she started stealing it off other ppl and putting it in her mouth!
cassvanm
08-01-2009, 14:30
What an awesome idea Kymmy! I will definately be on this thread a bit :yes:. You may have noticed I have already made a thread in the weaning/solids area, but have yet to have much response (Freya was very helpful though - thanks :D)
We've decided to do BLW, and have already made some purchases - long-sleeved bibs (1 at target today, and 2 online last night), and a sippy cup for accompaning water.
I've been doing heaps of research, and am a bit worried about child care. I have spoken to a friend of mine who will be one of Piper's carers, and she said it shouldn't be a worry, but initially I may want to provide her food for a while until the carers get an idea into what I'm doing.
I'm also going to discuss it with my MCHN next Monday. Translation = I'm telling her our decision and just forewarning her that that is what we've chosen :laughing: That should be an interesting discussion!
I am yet to have any comments about Piper wanting food, but she is only a little bub, however seems to have shot up recently, so no doubt will have some comments coming our way soon.
Also, I think this will be good for others starting BLW in the few months before and after us, so that we can all share our experiences, what we've learnt, what works/doesn't etc. I am looking forward to it!
Cass
babynumberone
10-01-2009, 21:24
:wave: ladies,
I'm Claire (August Mummy) and my son Zaydn is 5 months old. We are doing BLW as it just makes so much sense to my DH and I!
We have been getting comments here and there regarding starting Z on solids and it drives me nuts! Zaydn is 100% satisfied with mumma juice - he is a healthy 9kg and happy as Larry :D
What gets me the most is comments like "he is eyeing off that yoghurt/banana etc, he wants some, you should let him try it." I've been replying "he eyes off his daddy's booze and I am sure not introducing that anytime soon!"
Thanks for starting this thread, look forward to chatting later on with you all!
Claire x
codswallop
11-01-2009, 10:59
well yesterday we went to a birthday party for a friends 3yr(at maccas)
and i got lots of "owh Rowyn would really like some of those chips) etc
one of the other mummies there had a little fellow who was 871/2 months who had just started having solids(so funny calling it that when its thin enough to strain through a sieve!) and ppl would say give him(Rowyn) some he is really interested in it
and i would no no hes right
but then another friend showed with her lovely 6 months baby girl and promptly sat down next to me and boobed up as we chatted
well Rowyn might have been watching the others eat but he actually lent over and started doing sucking motions in her direction!
so he may be "learning" that other children and babies "eat" food but he would still prefer a tasty boob!(even if its not mummies on offer!)
Why delay solids? (http://www.kellymom.com/nutrition/solids/delay-solids.html)
My SIL was saying hurry up and get off the boob so I can babysit you. Um yeah good reason to wean. :confused:
cassvanm
13-01-2009, 16:50
I'm getting very exciting, and buying up a storm for the BLW journey we plan to take with Piper after she's 7 months. See what I've bought - I think I'm prepared (materially at least :p)
http://i193.photobucket.com/albums/z131/cassvanm/007.jpg
codswallop
14-01-2009, 00:34
nice moocow cup cass!
I might get some l/s bibs and a big mat. Not sure about cups yet.
GeorgiaAnne
16-01-2009, 21:54
Hey, good idea Kymmy. I'm getting hassled too about when will I start - what's with that?
lol Fleur about dh iving Rowyn chocolate, that's hilarious. My dh wants to do both but i'm not sure.
Charlie is so happy with breastmilk atm it would seem silly to do anything else.
Mummabeartotwo
29-01-2009, 15:49
Hi kymmy great idea for this thread. We will be doing BLW - hoping to start at about 8ish months.
I have also been getting the "he wont make it till 6 months" comments. I have no idea what will "happen" if i dont shove a spoon in his mouth before then!!
If anyone needs info on it, i think kellymom has alot.
cassvanm
29-01-2009, 17:24
I have also been getting the "he wont make it till 6 months" comments. lot.
I have gotten this twice in the last 24 hours :no: Piper is only 4 months 1 day old, and people are saying that she won't last. Not sure why, she's showing no interest in solids, she cant support herself in sitting position, and she's not going to the kitchen to fix herself a snack in between breastfeeds.
Why are they saying this I wonder? Is it because she is a little baby they assume she will be "hungry"???
Oh well, unless she can get up and make herself a steak, she's not getting fed until 6 months minimum!
Mummabeartotwo
29-01-2009, 18:24
i know that they are saying this about DS because he reaches out for it.
He also reaches out for my hair brush... so he must be hungry *sigh* i just dont know what to say when comments are made. Any ideas?
Getting comments all day today.
Hubby was great and said No he isn't ready, you put food right in front of him and he doesn't understand it. He is fine on breastmilk.
(Though admittedly hubby wasn't sure about delaying at first, he is learning.)
Mummabeartotwo
31-01-2009, 09:20
I jsut dont see the need for the rush! I cringe everytime i see the 4 month jars of food in the supermarkets :(
I started my other son at about 7 months i think, spoon fed him homemade baby ****. Shame on me! at least i know better this time!! We will be going straight to finger foods, no puree's eliminate the spoon unless he can hold it and feed himself. Lots of time and no pressure ;)
GeorgiaAnne
31-01-2009, 18:35
:eek::eek: Charlie had his first spoon of food today - Sophia snuck him a spoon of yoghurt which I just caught the end of, hope it wont make him feel sick!
cassvanm
01-02-2009, 15:12
Well, I ordered the BLW textbook a couple of weeks ago, and was able to pick it up about a week ago. So anyway, was dreading reading it, coz it brought back flashbacks of Uni :laughing:
Anyway, finally bit the bullet today and started reading it - and I'm 50 pages in and LOVING it! I started reading it because over the last 24 hours or so I've noticed Piper really paying attention to what I was eating, but wasn't sure if she was interested in what I was doing or what I was eating iykwim.
So, I thought I'd better start doing some research, and it's just fascinating!
Still convinced that BLW is so totally the way to go for us!
cassvanm
25-02-2009, 21:08
OK
We are a little ahead of schedule, but Piper decided that she wanted to eat some of my Spag bol last night:
Whats in there? (http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?pid=2101771&l=a4b69&id=637442817)
In my mouth? (http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?pid=2101772&l=8fa80&id=637442817)
It's slippery! (http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?pid=2101773&l=de166&id=637442817)
Wasn't me! (http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?pid=2101774&l=890da&id=637442817)
She also nicked some of my beetroot this evening, which she seemed to like! She's actually not swallowing anything, but she's has this constant stunned look on her face, as if she's thinking "ooooh, food! This is just weird!" :laughing:
I'm plannning on taking it very slowly, but she isn't having any of that! She still LOVES her booby feeds. I've been expressing like mad, as she starts childcare tomorrow. Orientation for about 4 hours in the morning, then as of next week she's in 3 days a week coz I'm back at work :crying::thumbsdown::banghead:
Are any other bubs starting their journey into solids via BLW yet?
Cass
J isn't ready yet.
He has just starting holding things. He doesn't really mouth things apart from hands - his and mine! Of course he's fully breastfed.
J will grab food but then just drops it - wont go near his mouth.
Piper is cute! Look at those eyes - so curious!
Oh and the other day - my daughter had her 9th birthday. My MIL tried to insist that J needs cake to celebrate her sis birthday. I don't think so!
babynumberone
14-03-2009, 09:34
Hey all :wave:
How is everyone's BLW journey going?
Zaydn is now 7 months old and has tried a couple of things...
Lots of fruit (favourite is nectarine)
Lots of vegies (favourite is capsicum)
Organic rice cakes
Pasta (no sauce)
Wholemeal toast 'soldier' (no spread)
I have stayed away from dairy foods for now as his dad is lactose intolerant.
Here are some pics:
Eating some vegies while we were out for dinner:
http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?pid=1814508&l=e1a90&id=705646567 (http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?pid=1814508&l=e1a90&id=705646567)
Having a go at an apricot for the first time:
http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?pid=1926207&l=4ae73&id=705646567 (http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?pid=1926207&l=4ae73&id=705646567)
Hope everyone is enjoying this time letting their bubs explore food :)
Love your pics!
We haven't started BLW yet. Though I gave J a biscuit just to see what he would do. Mouthed it then chucked it on the ground! Hubby tried with a pear. Licked it (with skin on). Not really interested.
J will be 6mths this week so I have been thinking about it. But not fussed to wean him at all.
Talking to a friend who has 4 kids also. She started solids at 4m with the first 3 but with her last waited til 6m. The longer you delay the better, we agreed.
cassvanm
15-03-2009, 15:23
We are still taking things very slowly over here with the BLW. Piper still breastfed, and I obviously only give her solids after a full BF. She can go a couple of days without solids, it's more of whether she is up and about the times that we are eating.
So far she's had: cheese, tomato, carrot, chicken, ricecakes (with vegemite), mashed potato, rockmelon, apple, watermelon & pineapple. It's hilarious watching her trying different foods in a sitting - all of a sudden getting a different flavour! She gets very excited!
People are constantly commenting about the fact that I am giving this little bubby (she's 6mths next week - she started early & she's still not yet 7kg) finger foods. They state that it looks wrong, but are amazed at how she chews and leads it to her mouth. That being said, most of it gets spat back out still :laughing:
I've tried to attach some videos, but am not convinced that they will work. I know that my FB friends should be able to, but for those of you who I'm not linked with on FB, then you may have difficulty.
Zadyn is just gorgeous the way he's tuckign into the apricot! Just soooo cute.
Kymmy - I agree that older is better, however Piper is my youngest on solids (a full month earlier than I'd planned), but she's taken to it unbelievably well. It is such an individual journey isn't it!
rockmelon (http://www.facebook.com/home.php?#/video/video.php?v=69013652817)
apple raspberries (http://www.facebook.com/home.php?#/video/video.php?v=71186107817)
Definitely an individual journey (like anything else)
I am actually surprised that J has been exclusively breastfed thus far!
NancyBlackett
17-03-2009, 10:17
I LOVE the apricot pic!
J has been enjoying her finger foods, although she is getting a bit of mush as well.
She got very excited by some green beans the other day and had a great time sucking the life out of one, chucking it and grabbing another!
happytobehere
17-03-2009, 20:56
We are still taking things very slowly over here with the BLW. Piper still breastfed, and I obviously only give her solids after a full BF. She can go a couple of days without solids, it's more of whether she is up and about the times that we are eating.
So far she's had: cheese, tomato, carrot, chicken, ricecakes (with vegemite), mashed potato, rockmelon, apple, watermelon & pineapple. It's hilarious watching her trying different foods in a sitting - all of a sudden getting a different flavour! She gets very excited!
People are constantly commenting about the fact that I am giving this little bubby (she's 6mths next week - she started early & she's still not yet 7kg) finger foods. They state that it looks wrong, but are amazed at how she chews and leads it to her mouth. That being said, most of it gets spat back out still :laughing:
I've tried to attach some videos, but am not convinced that they will work. I know that my FB friends should be able to, but for those of you who I'm not linked with on FB, then you may have difficulty.
Zadyn is just gorgeous the way he's tuckign into the apricot! Just soooo cute.
Kymmy - I agree that older is better, however Piper is my youngest on solids (a full month earlier than I'd planned), but she's taken to it unbelievably well. It is such an individual journey isn't it!
rockmelon (http://www.facebook.com/home.php?#/video/video.php?v=69013652817)
apple raspberries (http://www.facebook.com/home.php?#/video/video.php?v=71186107817)
love the raspberries :)
J chose zuchini (from steamed brocoli or zuchini) on Saturday as his first solid food. He at first was more interested in the plate but then realised the zuchini tasted good!
I am in no hurry for him to wean so haven't given anything since - cept of course boobah.
JustinsMum08
26-03-2009, 10:34
We have started BLW since Justin was 5 mths. Started with farex and banana only until he turns 6 mths. And now, he already 6 months and we will introduce more food since he is getting bored with his farex and banana.
quick question, what kind of finger foods you can give to 6 months who already got 2 teeth to avoid choking?
I am a September 08 mum (24 September) who's just started BLW.
I joined BH well after birth so I never joined any of these birth groups so I hope I'm not intruding!
None of the mothers in my mothers' group are doing exclusive BLW so I'm keen to chat to some other people for ideas and support.
I've started reading the BLW book (of the same name) which is great. The pages on choking really reassured me.
We only started a few days ago, and have so far done watermelon, rockmelon, banana and cucumber.
I was dreading solids and spoon feeding, so this is great.
It's amazing how quickly they get the hang of putting the food to their mouth. He munches down on the watermelon, breaks a piece off, chews for a while and then spits it out and dribbles out the juice. Messy but fun!
We're going to try vegetables this week.
I was wanting to give him some prunes or prune juice for the natural iron. Any ideas?
JustinsMum08
26-03-2009, 14:01
Hi MsMummy.. I am new in this forum as well. By the way, my DS only 2 days younger than yours. :)
Ooops.. I just realised something, I though BLW is just a term for starting solid. Silly me. well, at least I once gave DS raw carrot for him to chew, but for only teething purpose. (Does it count as BLW ? lol )
But....., after reading some BLW blog (someonemum.. can't remember the name, sorry) , really want to give it a try. It just the choking risk that worries me. Eventhough, they said that it rarely happened.
Has your DS got teeth yet ? Mine does, that's why I am afraid if he accidentally bite a big chunk which he cannot swallow. what do you think ?
cassvanm
26-03-2009, 17:27
As we speak, Piper (6 months and 6 days old) is sitting up to dinner - she's currently chewing on a corn cob, but she's already eaten some zucchini (was in a thick ring), and she has a bean, a stick of carrot and a chunk of pumpkin.
She started eating solids when she helped herself to my spag bol at 5 months. She's since had HEAPS of food. At the moment, her routine is as follows:
7.30am - breastfeed
9.00am - toast (with vegemite or something)
11.00am - formula feed (I have returned to work and this helps)
12.15pm - lunch may include sandwich, veges, fruit or some such foods.
3.00pm - breastfeed
5.30pm - breastfeed
6.30pm - dinner (whatever we're having)
9.00pm - breastfeed
Piper has eaten the following foods: chicken, spag bol, beans, carrots, potato, zucchini, broc, cauli, peas, corn (kernels & cob), toast, watermelon, rockmelon, grapes, apple, banana, peach, nectarine, tomato, cheese (her fave), cucumber, capo.
She's finally "got it" the last two days or so - more is coming through her nappy. She is LOVING the food, and gets very excited when it's solid time.
Hope that helps. :D
Has your DS got teeth yet ? Mine does, that's why I am afraid if he accidentally bite a big chunk which he cannot swallow. what do you think ?
I hear you re the choking fears. The BLW book (and something else I read) says that choking is no more likely doing BLW, provided:
- the baby sits up straight
- the baby feeds itself (ie. you don't put the food in its mouth)
- you supervise the baby
- you avoid certain foods, like whole or part of nuts and small hard things
It explains that most "choking" is gagging. If they're making noise it's gagging, if they are silent, it's choking (because their windpipe is blocked).
It also says that a baby's gag reflex is very effective. Apparently when the baby is young, the gag reflex if closer to the front of the mouth, and it moves as they get older.
I understand why you're worried about the carrot. Maybe part-steam it or bake it so it's solid enough for baby to pick up but breaks up a bit in their mouth?
Oh, and my son doesn't have any teeth yet!
Cassvanm: your baby is only four days older than mine, but seemed interested in solids a lot earlier! It's amazing how they vary in the readiness. I still don't think my son is 100% ready for solids but I'm letting him have a play. He's still thriving on breastmilk so I'm sure he'll slowly pick it up.
I'll definitely be trying some of those things on your list. The corn cob sounds interesting!
Do you give your baby raw hard vegetables, like carrot?
cassvanm
28-03-2009, 14:23
Girls
I tried Piper on yoghurt (http://www.facebook.com/home.php?#/video/video.php?v=76488437817&ref=nf) this morning, and it was an amazing thing to see! I showed her how to use the spoon once by dipping it in the yoghurt, then passing the spoon to her to put in her own mouth. I then didn't take the spoon back, but held onto the yoghurt tub for her to help herself.
Check out the video above, and you'll see what I mean!
I am such a proud mummy :goodvibes:
Lukeysmummy
28-03-2009, 15:11
After learning lots in the last 24 hours about BLW I think it is the way that we will go with our almost 6 month old DD. She has been refusing food off a spoon from me for the past 3 weeks, but will happily feed herself and grabs for food off others plates. She also gets really excited as I prepare her "puree" (glad I won't be doing that anymore too :D) and seems to enjoy the food she puts in her own mouth.
We'll try some cooked fist size veg tonight!! :fingerscrossed:.
JustinsMum08
30-03-2009, 09:53
I think i will delay trying BLW for DS. DH doesn't agree due to choking risk, even though I already assure him that it rarely happen. But his word is final, and I don't think it is fair for him if I force BLW. So, back to peel-steam-mash-feed routine. :o
anyway, I will be still lurking around at this forum. So good luck everyone on your BLW journey.
Jo
cassvanm: I just watched the yoghurt video. That's fantastic! They have amazing instincts when you let them loose, don't they? I'll have to give it a try. Knowing my baby, he'll lean forward and try and attack the container with his mouth.:laughing:
A is loving avocado on rye. Might try some other things on toast soon.
Justinsmum08: I understand your husband's fears. Maybe get him to watch your baby eating finger foods and he might change his opinion. My partner had not heard of it but when I showed him, he loved it.
J grabs everything now!
He has had a lick of melon but it was too slippery and ended up on the floor quickly.
I haven't been keen to offer him much food.
I noticed his skin is a little dry so I am very cautious.
melissajayne
08-04-2009, 11:18
HI ladies, hope I am not intruding. I just found this thread...
My princess is just over 6 months born 24th September and we have just started introducing solids. We are in no rush as she is happy on milk she is nearly 10kgs! but is 74cm. Me and my husband both thought that BLW weaning was the way to go this time, we didn't do it with DS. We started 3 days ago and Kaida is having apple, carrot broccoli and sweet corn. Have zucchini and some plum to try next. Hope to share this journey with you.
HI ladies, hope I am not intruding. I just found this thread...
My princess is just over 6 months born 24th September and we have just started introducing solids. We are in no rush as she is happy on milk she is nearly 10kgs! but is 74cm. Me and my husband both thought that BLW weaning was the way to go this time, we didn't do it with DS. We started 3 days ago and Kaida is having apple, carrot broccoli and sweet corn. Have zucchini and some plum to try next. Hope to share this journey with you.
Melissajayne: my son was also born on 24 September!:)
I haven't tried apple yet. How does she like it? I thought it might be too firm to him to get much joy out of? Although he does like cucumber. Maybe I'll give it a try.
Do you do the corn on a little cob? I gave A a little cob yesterday and he was a bit perplexed. He rolled it around, picked it up and then put it back down again!
I'm loving the BLW. A goes to daycare 2 days a week and the FDC mum had not heard of it. She was a bit a sceptical at first but thinks it's great after watching A tackle the finger foods. She's asked me for some written material so she can give it to other parents of young babies and other family day carers.
melissajayne
09-04-2009, 08:42
Melissajayne: my son was also born on 24 September!:)
I haven't tried apple yet. How does she like it? I thought it might be too firm to him to get much joy out of? Although he does like cucumber. Maybe I'll give it a try.
Do you do the corn on a little cob? I gave A a little cob yesterday and he was a bit perplexed. He rolled it around, picked it up and then put it back down again!
I'm loving the BLW. A goes to daycare 2 days a week and the FDC mum had not heard of it. She was a bit a sceptical at first but thinks it's great after watching A tackle the finger foods. She's asked me for some written material so she can give it to other parents of young babies and other family day carers.
Hi, I usually put the apple in a mesh feeder she enjoys it. I think its more the juice to start off with. We use the baby sweet corn here that is her favourite! I haven't yet tried cucumber but will now! I work in childcare and I never really heard about it till a few months ago.
We only do 2 meals a day because it is difficult to get Kaida to have milk in the morning. She still isn't the biggest fan of food but we will get there.
What's a mesh feeder?
J had 2 spoonfuls of yogurt today. He looked disgusted then kept at the spoon!
What's a mesh feeder?
I think it's something that the babies hold, and the food goes into a mesh bit and then they suck at the mesh and get a taste of the food and some juice. It's sort of a quasi-finger food??? I just give him the stuff direct though.
I still haven't tried to see if he wants to feed himself yoghurt. I bought him some soy yoghurt, but even I don't like soy yoghurt so I'd be surprised if he does.:D
I tried corn cakes (not the baby ones, just normal ones) with hummus yesterday. It was on the same tray as broccoli, a little corn cob and watermelon, and he went straight for the corn cake! Loves carbs just like his mother.:laughing:
melissajayne
10-04-2009, 14:06
What's a mesh feeder?
http://www.babynest.com.au/products/Sassy_Teether_Feeder-260-24.html
That is a teething feeder. the only reason i use that is cos the apple is a bit firm and we have no teeth here yet and the bottom part of it can be put in the fridge/freezer so it helps keep the fruit/vege colder
Kaida loves the baby vaalia youghurt. She gets the majority of it in her mouth
That's intriguing. Thanks for the replies. I have heard of them, never seen one.
Good chat with Mum - What's that? Baby leads the weaning? What a good idea!
Ha! :D
J is so keen for grabbing things. He watches food. But usually he is not sure what to do when its in his hand. I was having celery and he grabbed one. Twisted his hand. Bored. He was more interested in having a breastfeed. Glad that its his priority.
cassvanm
12-04-2009, 17:21
Still travelling along here with the BLW. It's funny watching people's reactions, especially since Piper is a very small baby (size of average 4-5 month old)! People are amazed that she's sitting there eating grapes, yoghurt, sausages, etc. She will eat anything put in front of her!
She will happily suck on her sippy cup of water, will take formula when at child care, but is very content to remain on the breast when with me :goodvibes:
I have a "text book" BLW bub, which is nice :D
J tried yogurt the other day. He wasn't impressed! He loves playing with food. But eating it? Not so keen. :p
Wow Piper!
We are doing BLW with Rhylan, been interesting, i get asked alot about what foods he gets.... lol.... um nothing!
I have offered him whole banana peices but he does not seems keen, and i cant give him anything that he could chock on cause he has teeth :)
People assume J is on solids because he is so big. They are surprised when I say he's breastfed and just a few tastes of foods.
We aree just crusing here, he is seriously not worried :)
Cruisy and sweet!
J has sucked on cucumber and apple this week! Its funny cos he so much prefers paper and toys to food.
Its funny cos he so much prefers paper and toys to food.
Yep thats us :)
Paper is a big on, must taste/feel good!
JustinsMum08
05-05-2009, 12:56
hey all..
i am back again with BLW. well sort off like half BLW since I still fed DS pureed food as well. I bought feeding mash so DH has no reason against BLW!! So far DS has tried grapes, mandarins ( after feed to avoid stomachache), honeydew melon, sweet potato, pumpkin. He loves them.
Tried cooked apples & baby youghurt, he hates them. too sour probably.
Now the challenge is to get him eating veggies. Hopefully he likes it. *fingercrossed*
how's everyone going? We've been sharing food a lot more lately. (we started out with just giving him a separate meal of veggies while he got the hang of things).
For lunch we had a chunky vegetable and red lentil dahl. I put it in a suction bowl on his tray and gave him a spoon. Naturally, the spoon was quickly dropped and he just scooped it out with his hands and shovelled it in.
Fun but so messy.:laughing:
justinsmum: what veggies doesn't your son like? I see he's already had sweet potato and pumpkin. Maybe try some steamed zucchini and brocolli. That's popular with my son, who I think is about the same age (bit over 7 months?).
What's feeding mash? Can you just mash some normal veggies and put them on his tray and let the baby scoop them up and feed himself? That might be a good compromise for your husband. I'm suprised he doesn't like it - everybody who sees BLW in action normally loves it.
I gave him quarters of tomato last night. He was so non-plussed. He sucked out the contents and screwed up his face but then kept eating them.
J screws up his face at everything!
He tried tomato last week. And orange the other day. He isn't eating just tasting. Such a contrast to how I expected. I shouldn't worry that he will wean. Boobah is always best and first choice for J.
JustinsMum08
06-05-2009, 08:53
Hey all,
MsMummy sorry wrong spelling in my side. It is feeding mesh. you put the food inside a mesh bag, so the bub can chew the food without the risk of choking.
DH likes to see DS chew his food on his own, but everytime he gag, DH always has a panic attack. He almost performed first aid for choking when DS gags for the first time. I stopped him just in time. :rolleyes: seriuosly.
DS only like sweet veggie like sweet potato or pumpkin. He refused the green one like brocolli. :(. He doesn't like avocado as well unless mix with banana. I will tried steamed zucchini next time. yup, he is 7 months.
Red lentil, that sound yummy. How do you make that ?
Has everyone tried to introduce meat or eggs ?
I tried chicken and sweet potato, but have to mash them though and spooned him.
Will try hard boiled egg ( the yellow part only ) to be put in his mesh bag this weekend.
J isn't ready for meat but hubby will organise that! As well as eggs. I hope he will be vegetarian like me but doubt it if he is like his big sis and bros.
can i join please...ds was born in november o8 but we are having problems/doubts on blw and am seeking support. DS is almost 10 months but still not really interested...i had no support and peer pressure so i have given him food tastes from my fingers...
:wave: traesal.
J is over one now, has a go at everything but prefers boobah.