View Full Version : Liners - are they flushable?
I've got a box of 100 Johnson's Nappy Liners here and I was wondering - are they flushable or not?
If they're not, can anyone give me an example of flushable liners? (Just until I get past the ick factor of pushing poop down the loo from a nappy.. hehe I KNOW it's easy and once i have bub there won't be Ick factor.. but yeah)
sopolicha
26-05-2006, 11:12
The blue J & J ones are not flushable.
The eenee ones are, they make it easy just to pick the poo and liner off the nappy and put it straight in the toilet.
Guess which ones are cheaper? You get half the amount of eennee ones at around the same price.
Ange&Seth
26-05-2006, 12:12
Seekrit - i just wanted to say that I LOVE your threads! You ask the questions that I didn't even consider when I was pregnant! Wish I'd found bubhub sooner, and that you were pregnant at the same time as me! I would have learnt heaps:thumbsup:
littlepickle
26-05-2006, 12:17
I have to say Seekrit - you are a lot more responsible than me.. I have a box of J and J white nappy liners and I hadnt even thought of that!!:eek:
And thank you :) Mine are the white ones. :)
sopolicha
26-05-2006, 12:37
I didn't even know you could get white J & J ones. I bought two more boxes today. Best go have a look.
Girls, we are only talking about nappy liners.
Sopo - Is there a difference between J&J and Johnsons? I don't know myself but if they're 2 different brands that may be the difference between box colours. :)
sopolicha
26-05-2006, 12:47
I was just being lazy (surprise surprise) when I typed in J&J, I do mean Johnsons. I opened the box and the liners are blue. Bought them at Big W.
ooo crazy. Mine are Johnson's, I haven't opened the box (the box itself is white) so I just assumed they were white
sopolicha
26-05-2006, 13:01
Oh you have to go and open it now and see what colour they are. I might be missing out on something here. I do know that Woolies don't stock them anymore.
Wow. I didn't expect to be looking at blue chux cloth looking things LOL :D
sopolicha
26-05-2006, 13:19
That's the ones. I have heard of some people using cut up chux as nappy liners. They would wash better than the Johnson ones.
26-05-2006, 15:41
As mentioned previously yes the Eenee liners are flushable! I recommend using say the non flushable at home and using the flushable when out and about that way you don't have to try and get the liner into a bag etc just chuck it straight into the toilet!;)
26-05-2006, 15:44
Where do you get Eenees ones?
Here are a couple of places off the top of my head
http://www.cleverpants.com.au/shop/
www.cutetooshies.com.au
and some chemists and helath food stres stock them:
http://www.eenee.com.au/en-us/pg_26.html
If you consider washing the liners, have you thought about using microfleece? It's so easy, and much more effective than chux-style liners, totally reusable for many many times, soft on bub's bum, CHEAP, holds moisture away - 'stay dry' effect, poo comes off very very easily... and all you need to do is get some from a fabric shop and cut it up to a size you like, say 15cm x 25cm rectangles to start with. No hemming, no fraying, no sewing machine. Just make sure it's 100% synthetic and thinner is better - is, don't get thick polarfleece.
flushables certainly have their place, but I just like fleece for home, and flushables while out or away. If you are going to wash the nappy, might as well wash the liners and wipes as well! ;)
microfleece is on the cards, don't worry. I've been given lots of stuff for Nugget and the liners were one of those (and I thought they were little white sheets, not blue chux clothes!)
I also have 200 nappy sacks, 3 bottles of johnson's baby bath and a whole packet of 'sposies.
Wow. I didn't expect to be looking at blue chux cloth looking things LOL :D
Now thats funny Seekrit pmsl can't wait to hear some of your stories when nugget comes :p
sopolicha
26-05-2006, 17:11
Where do you get Eenees ones?
I got mine from http://www.mumshappynappies.com.au and they deliver to your door the next day.
26-05-2006, 18:07
I got mine from http://www.mumshappynappies.com.au and they deliver to your door the next day.
Unless you live in the inner city suburbs then you get same day delivery! You don't need a credit card either, you can direct deposit!;)