View Full Version : 40+ Parents/parents to be Jan - March 09 Chat
Heres to a great year for all ! :yelclap:
Cat: :hugs: for the result hun.
Amy: Loving the video! so cute and what a clever fella.
Mary; Hope mil gets that rest and feels better soon xx
nothing much here, been very busy and just home from visit for the weekend to il's, was nice, all went to the local pool both yesterday and today..i lathered the cream on but still got burnt shoulders :(
anyhow must go pack
will get back on tomorrow, back to work Tuesday
xx to all
Cathrine
07-01-2009, 20:14
Why do you feel lonely Vicki?:hugs:
I won't be getting chubbier any time soon (unless I keep up with the chocolates). My results were negative.
I love the video of Dane Amy - very cute!
Hi Mary - how is your mil?
Cat
aw cat hun, so sorry to hear that :hugs:
Whats your next move ?
mine would be to get off my butt and get to my gp! this year will be gone before i know it if i dont!
where is everyone???!!!! Hope alls well and just recovering from the xmas period
Anyone have facebook? Im totally addicted to it pm me your name and ill add, hopefully yous do, has live chat too so we could chat there as well
Ive decided to give up ttc..im cd79! and still no sign of AF..Do believe am peri menopause and really cant be bothered going the fertility specialist way again.
DH and I are looking at pools on saturday to keep me occupied lol
anyhow, ya never know it just might still happen when i least expect it?!
quitecontrary
09-01-2009, 18:03
Tabby - thats a big decision, I suppose if you throw caution to the wind you never know what might happen anyway. I think sometimes "it" all works when you stop worrying about it - easier said than done I know. Have fun looking at pools on the weekend, though I don't know where you are going to fit it in Katie's Recreation Centre!!!
Sorry, I didn't realise until today that we had a new thread, thats the sort of dag I am. I did think it was a matter of inaction stations for us.
All is fine here, just over 6 weeks until this tai-chi exhibitionist shows him/herself to the outside world. Or 7 max, as I'm hoping for a VBAC and my Ob will let me go a week over dates - which is pretty good under the circumstances.
MIL is getting better slowly, still in hospital and now making demands to be taken home, but she has buckleys of getting her daughter to come and collect her until she actually gets the all clear from the Doc. She has heart failure (not suprisingly due to the state of her lungs) and really needs the proper rest. She won't get much at home, even with a full time (24hr!) carer for FIL. I can't imagine he would actually leave her alone much. He seems in pretty good spirits, which is a good thing as with the dementia and alzheimers he can be very cantankerous.
Still haven't convinced Dh to get his backside over there, but I'd like him to go once his Mum gets home, provided it isn't too close to the ETA of this baby!
Went to the Ob yesterday, all is great. Baby is measuring a bit ahead for dates, but I put that down to 2nd baby-ness. I definitely look a lot more pregnant this time around, last time I think I just looked big. Even Dh has noticed people looking at me when we are out and about.
Hope all is well with all of you!
We have Genevieve's 2nd birthday this Sunday afternoon and its going to be a moderate sized party, around 25 people I think, which isn't too hard when there are 14 in the immediate family these days! I am so looking forward to it!!
Mary: All the best for a grand bday for little G!
I have mum and dads "surprise bday" next saturday! 2 of her grandchildren ( now 30ish)that she hasnt seen for many years are coming so am sure mum will be blown away to tears hehe, she will love it!
wow 6 weeks! will be here in no time..hope bubba comes when should so you get your vbac hun
also good to hear mil is on the mend..can usually tell when they are because thats when they start demanding to go home lol
Will most likely have to sell the swing set and one castle can go to ils..they might even buy the swings seeing as very new.
There will be half the back left so enough for a lot of play still imo..any more and its too much to care for anyway lol
best get dinner sorted..mmm roast pork and veg :P
quitecontrary
10-01-2009, 19:53
Hi Tabby - how did the pool hunt go today? It seems you have the back yard sorted for it! My sister had one of those pools that is rather shallow but great for kids that you can pack away for the winter months (it came from her neighbours who moved back to Spain). Good for wallowing in really - but they decided to get rid of it during the year as it took up so much of their garden.
Went into the city this morning and bought a whole heap of (non maternity) clothes from my fave shop which is closing down (boo hoo) but will be supplying other boutiques later in the year apparently. Everything was dramatically marked down so it was a lot of fun really. What I got I can actually wear now but I know they'll look fab once this bub has actually come.
Have just made a chocolate and hazelnut cake for tomorrow and a banana pecan cake - then I think I will convince dh to make the macaroons and the baking will be over. Just dips to make either tonight or tomorrow morning, and cakes to ice of course!!
Oh lord, on the subject of in-laws it seems my MIL probably has lung cancer - they found a spot on her lungs yesterday. So I was a blubbering mess this morning when we found out. Dh has at least got in contact with the travel agent, I told him I wont be content until he has been over to England to see her and come back again! So, she is still in hospital and we'll find out midweek what the verdict is re: the spot on her lungs. She had breast cancer a couple of years back - and with her lungs being in the state they're in its not suprising that there are spots there too.
Not fun.
Am glad we are having a party tomorrow though - that will be fun!!!
Hugs to all x
Mary: Pools on order :) we start the fence and digging ( 200mm ) the pad tomorrow! Should be up and swimming by ....2 weeks? hopefully lol
Hope Mil's report comes back all okay! Very scary.
all the best for the party hun, hope it goes well
Cat: how are you hun? ( hugs )
DS2 has gone out so best be getting some alone cuddle time now off DH lol..tmi sorry! xx
quitecontrary
12-01-2009, 14:53
Hello there!
Firstly and most importantly I must say Happy Birthday to my own little two year old!!:party:happybirthday
Yesterday we had Genevieve's birthday party, and it was a hoot. She had a great old time as did the guests! I am so glad I organised it - it was just really nice, lots of kids of various ages running around, good friends, good food - we did well!
Today is her actual birthday and the poor little thing is under the weather - has a temp and we've taken her in to see the GP. Nothing much actually wrong, so we just need to ride this one out and hope she sleeps better tonight!
I had my last big ultrasound this afternoon, the last trimester check up really, and it was fine. Everything looks good and we were all excited to see the baby! Including Genevieve - she was fascinated this time!
Things aren't really looking good for MIL - she is having tests today or tomorrow to see if she has stomach cancer. So yes, Dh will be leaving on that jet plane soon unless he wants to upset his heavily pg wife.
Hope all is well with all of you on this very quiet thread!!
Cathrine
13-01-2009, 22:08
Hello Ladies, hope you're well.
Mary - Firstly, happy birthday to Ms G. What a milestone. Did you take some photos? Very pleased to hear about your latest scan. You and yours are well on your way to your latest adventure. :hugs:
So sorry to hear about your MIL, who is caring for your FIL? Hope things go as well as they can.
Hi Vicki - all I can say is that you'll need a new back yard!!!
Are you feeling a bit chirpier?:)
Cat
quitecontrary
14-01-2009, 11:53
Hi Cat! Thank you for Ms G's birthday wishes, I have passed them along, with the requisite hug and kiss you'll be pleased to note.
She is still a bit under the weather, but she had her best nights sleep in a little while last night, so that meant we did too. Dh did the 6am call out and played with her for quite a while in her room whilst I slept on. I'd done the 4am put back to sleep so it all evens out if you ask me.
It seems that they aren't going to investigate MIL's tum, just her lungs further. Dh spoke to her this morning - she is still in hospital and wont be having further tests til thurs, but she is sounding better every time they speak, which means she must be getting some strength back. They have organised a live-in carer for my FIL, and he seems to be coping. It is very hard for him as he doesn't cope with change well at all.
Dh booked his ticket this morning and is off to England for a week on Saturday. I am both glad and sad - but he really does need to go and see his family and it will be easier in a lot of ways than having us there as well. Plus I couldn't stand it if he didn't go now, before the baby comes. After that it would be a bit hard for him to up and leave!
Gosh, this has gone on and on.
Hope everyone is enjoying their summertime on this quiet little thread!
hey all,
Belated birthday wishes for little Miss g Mary! and hugs too
Good to hear DH is soon to be over there..He will be glad he has am sure.
Cat: How are you ? Thanks for adding me on FB :)
You get regular updates off me there lol
very addicted and a great way to communicate with friends and family that are hard to catch up with personally for me.
Best attend to the little lady, am just home from work! Am pooped...long day today and another tomorrow..that with sorting the pool and yard and this heat :(
ah well...this time next week i can look back and feel very pleased with how the hard work has paid off :smiliedance:
amy: my love. where are you?!! Hope alls well xx thinking of you
Ys_Woman
19-01-2009, 15:58
Hello lovely ladies..finding it hard to pop in over these school hols..the kids are restless and demanding. Can't wait for school to go back..lol.
Dane found his feet a few weeks ago and is cruising up a storm. A few days after he started cruising he worked out crawling *woohoo*. So now I am busy chasing a bub around and making sure all the dangerous things are out of his way.
Mary: Happy belated birthday to Genevieve. Sounds like she enjoyed it as required. Glad she is over whatever ailed her. Is she still getting teeth? I blame teeth for all the world's problems..lol.
Guessing you have already waved off your dh. Wish I could go to..gotta be way cooler over there than here at present. How are you feeling Mary? Coming down to the wire now lovey..how exciting:smiliedance:. Lucky you to get a late u/s..and how beautiful to get one last sneak peek at bub. Not long now and you will see him/her every single day.
Tabby: I know your AF has been all over the place lately..was it always or had you been really regular up til then? I am with the others. If it happens it usually happens when you least expect it.:fingerscrossed: this is the case for you.
How is the weather over your way? It is just horrid over here. Thank goodness for aircon.
Oooh..what's this about a pool? I want one:hissy:. I have been taking the kids to the local pool during this heatwave but gee it would be nice to have one in the backyard. Pity it isn't our house..lol.
Cat: How's life with you these days? Are you back to studies in the next few months? I am actually considering what to do with myself in that area. I need to be doing something challenging but I am not sure what.
Hugs to everyone. Hope you are all well.
Amy:)
Amy! so lovely to hear from you xx
Yes, we are putting in an above ground pool, quite a large one :) Just waiting for the okay homeswest and council but both have said there shouldnt be a problem..just needs go through the correct channels.. should know this week
yay for Dane finding his feet and his crawling! bless him.
AF was regular to a T pre baby.every 28 days to the dot almost..sil is having the same thing..and she had emergency c-sec too..so makes me wonder. anyhow will get to the gp this week n see whats up.
I had given up the ttc but had a huge wake up call friday
they were looking like saying we were too high wage to be here! so i thought we were out to the public rent which would have had me working for eternity and if I got pregnant and had issues like with K with bleeding and no working we would have been in big trouble to make ends meet with private renting/buying..so i cired...I had said I wasnt actively trying but the thought of that choice being made for me woke me up to just how much i really do want one more.
so! Ill get to the gp asap and see what the go is anyhow
anyhow alls good, they said we should be alright with some salary sacrifices for both DH and I..worst comes to worst I can quit and James will be low enough
we are like a rock in a hard place.
we WANT to buy but cant cos no 1st home buyers and rent private can never save for fees. so theyve agreed we just arent quite enough to go it alone and will work it out till we can! phew! I was a mess all weekend.
hope you understood most of that ramble lol
base is we earn okay...close to being too much to be classed as low income to stay here but not enough to go and buy/rent private..
between lower class and middle class.
quitecontrary
19-01-2009, 21:29
Amy - pleased to hear that Dane is on the move!!!
Vicki - sounds like you have far too much happening residence-wise at the moment. That must be the drawback of public housing, it kind-of keeps you at a certain level economically by the sounds of things. Well, sounds like you have to stay at a certain level to qualify/stay there. Errghh.
Oh, and I hope you get some help from your GP. So hard not just falling pg! I don't think an emergency c/s would make a difference to your fertility as such though - they happen too often. Put that husband of yours to work - thats what I say!!! Twice a day!! All the time! Catch that egg!!
G and I have been coping (just) with Dh being away. She wakes up and calls out "Daddy, daddy daddy" , this morning she couldn't believe he wasn't here until she'd checked not only our room but the house by herself as well. She keeps saying "Daddy gone to work. We pick him up?" as its the only place he actually goes without us! At least I've stopped bursting into tears the whole time (pg hormones, I'm glad he's gone to see his mum), 'cause then she says "Mummy bit sad, need a hanky?" which as you can imagine sets me off again. Yay for Skype, thats all I can say, and the 11 hour time difference means we get to see him over breakfast here!
Hope all is well with all of you - looking forward to hearing from some more of you before too long!!
Ys_Woman
20-01-2009, 06:58
This was written last night but it wouldn't let me post:
I am so glad you found a way to stay where you are Vicki:hugs: and I hope your pool plans run smoothly. I thought about one of those kettle style pools for the small backyard here but I don't know if we could get permission to fill it under the current restrictions. Might check it out as the kids are mad for water atm.
Troubles have an odd way of helping us to prioritise don't they just? In terms of wanting another bub, better that you seek help now than live in regret later. I look forward to going on that journey with you hon..*dusting off her pom poms and cheer skirt* hehehe.
Talking of bubs..hubby did a strange thing tonight..screwed with my head royally. We both were very sure once Dane was born that we were totally done. We were so on the same page about that. Then when were were talking earlier this evening about how much we are enjoying Dane knowing he is our last - dh added the word 'probably' :eek:at the end of the sentence. I was gobsmacked. I really do believe Dane is the last.
Maybe it is just dh's way of saying he is flexible in the event that we fell pg again. Men! They are so unpredictable..lol.
As to home ownership..sheesh..hubby earns a good living but we can't save the deposit fast enough and as time marches on the loan term for our age group is getting shorter, consequently the repayments would be higher. Short of inheriting a chunk or having a major lottery win I think we are stuck until Dane hits school..then I can go back to work for a few years and bank all the earnings toward a big deposit.
You are lucky that your dh is young and has many working years ahead of him and can take a longer repayment plan. I just know you will get there Vicki. Hang in there.
I had best away. Dang it is hot and still tonight here.
Hugs to you and your lovely family.
Ys_Woman
20-01-2009, 07:01
G and I have been coping (just) with Dh being away.
Awww hon:hugs: I feel for you..and for G too who doesn't really understand..but thankfully doesn't really understand time either. Hopefully the week rockets past so you can have your dh back. I hope his mum is ok too. Bet she is all the better for his visit.
Hugs,
Mary: Heartfelt hugs to you and G from us also.
Hope the week flys by and hes home in no time with good news too!
Amy: thanks darl for the lovely big post in response, i know your hard for time lately and it means a lot.
lol @ your dh! oh maybe you can join me ttc then? ;)
yes, I realised a bit back that with dh being so much younger we could postpone a bit and still be okay..
If I win lotto at bare minimum I will send a deposit your way ( if not all :) )
Yep those kettle type pools would be awesome for short term!
Mary: Are you currently toilet training G? I just cant get Katie interested much at all the potty or toilet.. any ideas anyone?
she knows what it alls about just not interested potty etc..
best away, ill pop back later for more :)
I actually got a call after dinner from a home buyer company i had looked into, she said not to give up hope and there is always a way and had submitted our details and wages/credit etc to the finance guys there and will ring back with our options...
Maybe i will just put a hold on the pool and see what she calls back with tomorrow. :)
It would be nice,,my dream is to open a home child care and it can bring ina full time wage so given our own home I can! so fingers crossed aye,
would solve all
quitecontrary
20-01-2009, 22:10
Vicki - that sounds positive re: the home loan thing. Put the pool on hold for a while til all is revealed!
Funny you should mention potty training. I was gung ho on the idea a few weeks back but didn't have the energy to get on with it apart from buying pull-ups, knickers and training pants. On saturday morning I put her on the pot before we had our shower and she actually did a wee, to much applause - it was too funny, she stood up and said "I did a wee, its yellow". Nothing since then though, she keeps sitting on the pot, and saying she has done a tiny wee, which hasn't been the case! She also keeps talking about yellow wee. It does make me laugh!
Dh is crook himself over there, hopefully it doesn't last, poor duffer.
Us girls are still missing him far too much!
This is playing up on me a bit tonight, so will leave it here!
Hugs to all
Ys_Woman
21-01-2009, 10:05
I actually got a call after dinner from a home buyer company i had looked into, she said not to give up hope and there is always a way and had submitted our details and wages/credit etc to the finance guys there and will ring back with our options...
Oooh..cool bananas! Let us know how it goes. The big incentive at the moment is the $21K they are giving if you new build.
Have you looked into build/buy schemes in Perth? They have done it in other states and it seems a great idea. Generally there is a housing collective that buys land and offers a bunch of families to share in building each other's homes, agreeing to do at least 20hrs a week. I don't know who you would ask about it (maybe the Dept of Housing might know?). Those schemes are usually for low income families but I am not sure what they consider low income these days. I have the fancy that the work you put into building the houses counts as your deposit and the house ends up really cheap as well. Good luck searching for such a scheme. They have nothing like that in Canberra unfortunately.
As to toilet training..I am sure she will get there in her own good time..but have you tried bribery yet? hahaha.
Mary: Hope dear DH is feeling better soon.
lol at the yellow wee...yes the few times Katie has sat on potty she has also said yes done wee and theres nothing lol
Did ask her to wee 2 days ago and she looked like she was trying to squeeze one out then went " nup!" so shes got the idea of how to go it seems. lol yer like you i got the pullups etc..but with working and family its hard to find the energy to totally get to it..ah well as Amy says..given time am sure :thumbsup:
Amy: We cant get the 1st home owners grant hun :( I got purchased a home some 20+ yrs ago and If you had a home before 2006 you are outted apparently. This is the hurdle we have..the fees and duty = near 13k and thats not counting a deposit.
No idea on the own build but there are a few housing commision things that help. goodstart plan = out as we are too much "debt"..anything over 500 pm wont get looked at.
But the lady did mention keystart loan, where homeswest help and loan..so hopefully. and then we will go ask the il's for deposit/money if needed and hope they will help :rolleyes:
They were discussing buying another investment property for us to live in but were unsure if they could at the moment..but we would be asking for a lot less so ya never know!
and we would pay back..just need time to set up my child care from home and we could.
anyhow best away, not been home long
Hi Cat! Where are you hun?! Are you ready to go for your next ivf soon? :hugs:
Not good news, can only borrow 200,000 :(
Its that loan we took out a bit back holding us down, so she said get as much off that and the car and try for a pay rise for DH and we could get 270,000 and she said they could do something for that for sure..
so I say maybe in a couple of years yes :)
never mind, least its in the near future right
quitecontrary
21-01-2009, 20:17
Vicki - if your ils can help you out/go shares with you would 200 000 get you started? Arrghh - well at least you've got the ball rolling.
We had a busy old day here, a mothers group girlfriend came over with her little boy this morning and the kids had a great old time together - and we chatted and chatted and chatted. I miss her, she went back to work last year so hasn't been at playgroup etc.
G had a great big sleep in the afternoon and my parents called in for a couple of hours earlier this evening. It was great to have their company, and mum even got G's dinner ready and into her - what a relief.
It seems my mil has lung cancer - don't know what else to say. Its not a surprise really. No official results yet but the Dr was pretty sure apparently. Don't know what treatment she will decide on.
Dh is feeling a bit better. Oh yeah, and in the middle of the night (our time) his Dad had a cranky turn - throwing his sticks at the carer and that kind of thing apparently, so Dh had to do the mercy dash out to their place (he's been staying at his sisters). The carer had it sorted by the time Dh arrived but still, not fun. So of course I was awake even later than usual, worried about him/them - and every noise around here, and the electrical storm outside. Errgh.
Enough on all that.
I'm off to the Ob tomorrow - which should be fine!! All seems well with the bub-on-board which is great!
oh dear Mary, sorry to hear of mils results..:hugs:
Sounds like you had a great day! Bless mum getting G to eat it all, amazing what they will do for others but not us isnt it lol.
Yer...umm to go to the ils for a small amount would be okay but wouldnt ask for that much..Thats a 1/3 in our house lol..best left as maybe a small loan if needed yaknow?
anyhow, good comes to those who wait..Im off to the gp soon, I can now think positively about having one more before we head the home buyer way without any worries :)
Ys_Woman
22-01-2009, 07:43
Tabby: You are having our trouble..brick walls at every turn. :hair:So frustrating! We can get the first home buyers but when we tried for a loan back in 2004 they would only offer us $300K because we had a $40K car loan over our heads at the time..and by 2004 you couldn't buy a dog kennel for less than $325K. We haven't approached our families to help out but I know my dad wouldn't be in it..'stand on your own two feet' kinda deal. Oh well..can't complain..life is good still.
I hope you can find something suitable in the near future hon. Houses are starting to come down a bit..you never know.
Mary: How is your husband taking the news about his mum? His dad sounds like he is acting out ..poor lovey.
I hope your OB appt is a great one today. I used to count the days between appts as the end was in sight..just another excuse to hear that all is well.
Hugs to G with her potty training. All mine have been different..Brittany was done with nappies at 20mths, Lachlan toyed with it but didn't set it in concrete til the week of his 3rd bday, and Selia couldn't get it going til she was 4, and is my only bed wetter of the bunch! Kinda hoping Dane is a quick learner..lol.
Cat: Hey chicky..am with Tabby..when are you up for the next round? How is life treating you currently?
Best away. Been muggy and hot and horrible lately but this morning it is overcast *prays for rain*. Had some big storms two days ago but need consistent rain.
Hugs to all,
Cathrine
22-01-2009, 20:55
I just love technology! I'm sitting here in the dark because of a power failure and I found my way to the fridge and poured a glass of wine and now I'm chatting to you! Clever duck.
How are you all?
Hi Mary - so sorry to hear about your mil. It's awful that you're missing dh, but he'll be home soon and it's wonderful for both of them that he's there. How did your appointment go and when's your due date? Ms G does sound in fine form!
Hi Vicki - you are jumping through hoops. It's a real pain and very unfair. With my last floozie, he wasn't entitled to anything because I had owned a place before. He should have been allowed to get half the benefits.
Hi Amy - (and Vicki) this delay could be a blessing in disguise as you say. Prices are dropping everywhere. You may snag a fantastic bargain.
I'm very well thanks. Off to the clinic next week. Study could be an issue at the moment. I received a letter from uni asking me to show cause why they shouldn't suspend me for my leisurely pursuit of higher education - lol. You may remember that I was off to school in September when they had to do the egg collection so it was an automatic failure of the subject which has now tipped me over into murky waters. Turds. And I've bought the texts and software....sigh.
One day things will run smoothly!
Hope you're all well. Take care
Cat
:goodvibes:
Oh dear cat! yes bunch of turds! Hope it sorts out okay. xx
keep us update re: clinic! I love hearing all of it :hugs:
Amy: yer so hard to get ahead isnt it?
They are predicting a rise again soon i hear..thats okay we arent any time soon.
back later, bathe the miss , shes a right grub lol
Loves the out doors like I always did and still do.
Ys_Woman
23-01-2009, 15:38
Cat: *Blow*. Hope you get your studies sorted out. When will you know?
Was it a storm that caused the power failure? We had a wild one here last night..awesome!
Tabby: lol@Katie being a grot. None of mine ever had an aversion to dirt either.
Getting off to head into the aircon'd room. A friend and I took our kids to an indoor play centre today and they had tons of fun. Dane loved the ball pit so it's time I drag out the play tent and balls the kids had when they were little.
Hope everyone is well.
Ys_Woman
23-01-2009, 15:40
Mary: Time is getting close now so I will throw out the first guess of the season. I think you will have a 7lb 3oz boy on the 12th of Feb..:D
Anyone else want to hazzard a guess?
Hugs,
quitecontrary
23-01-2009, 18:44
Amy - its funny most people are guessing a boy - 50/50 chance eh? 12 of Feb would be funny as its my brothers birthday, and the 19th would be too, its my b-i-l's! The 18 is our wedding anniversary - so I'd like the 20th!! Not fussy eh? The Ob has pencilled in the c/s for the 4th of March - whichever way you look at it, its not far off now. It would be so nice to actually push this one out myself before due date without complications, so I'm doing a positive mantra!!
We got a really cheap and tiny blow up paddling pool for G last year to use as her indoor ball pool - she loved it. We had it up for months when she was keen on the whole thing.
Cat - good to see you here again! Sorry to hear that uni is giving you the run around, all that show cause malarky isn't fun.
Vicki so what's the verdict on the pool??
I tell you what there are going to be a couple of happy females in this house when Dh gets home tomorrow morning. We are both hopelessly attached to the man! I'm just so glad he was able to catch his plane, the lad has had a hell of a week.
I have just had cereal for dinner and am thinking that that didn't really cut the mustard, so am about to go on a rummage again.
Have realised I haven't updated for a couple of days! It seems MIL doesnt have lung cancer but her lungs are pretty shot anyway with the emphysema. Last night I had a very boring (not quite the right word) conversation with my dh about my in-laws financial situation. We are under the impression that they still have a pile of shares - but they are not wanting to s.k.i. (spend the kids inheritance) which is bl@#dy stupid. I said to Dh that we will lend them some money in the interim so that they can get their affairs in order and work out how they are going to pay for the care they really need - whether they stay in their own home, downsize or go into care. All very dull. They don't need to be upsetting a heavily pg woman - thats the line I'm using!! My FIL needs 24 hour care, especially as my MIL will be recuperating for quite a while from her bout of illnesses. I know they'll get things organised quick smart if they think we'll be spending our redraw on them! Boring stuff really.
On to other things - G and I had a lovely afternoon at one of my bridesmaids place. She has three girls and it was the youngest (4) who was home and having a great old time playing with Genevieve. They have a big trampoline with a net and G was in heaven out in the garden when it cooled down later in the afternoon. Thank goodness G actually went to sleep on the way home in the car, she was due to go to sleep at her normal time for a change!
Hope you've all got lovely things planned for the long weekend!
Cathrine
26-01-2009, 21:04
Hi Mary,
I think you have buckleys - lol I've discovered parents are more clever than I suspected. I tried a similar stunt with mine a couple of years ago and they cottoned onto my plans.
I hope you and yours work out the best solution. Is dh home?
Amy - I bags a boy too and 8lbs something and born on the 21st (or the 17th my first pick). hehehe.
Ciao
Cat
Cathrine
26-01-2009, 21:06
I'm having trouble finding the latest thread. What do you have saved under your favourites? Just the home page of bh or the latest thread?
Thanks.
quitecontrary
26-01-2009, 21:24
Hi Cat - I assume you're talking about the in-laws and their reluctance to spend/organise things themselves. Well, dh managed to refuse a chq from his Ma til they get something in place for the next few weeks at least. He also got out of her that they have enough (admitted to) money to keep them going for quite a while even if they keep the care at the level they have now. MIL still won't admit to whatever else they have in the off shore account. I can't believe I have in-laws that have just that, and in England its literal with those tax-free Channel Islands. MIL is still in hospital but getting closer to being let out, she must be glad, its been weeks and weeks.
Al arrived home on Saturday morning to a round of applause (almost) from his wife and daughter. He is a bit jet lagged, but very pleased to be home too.
Thank goodness the weather here cooled down dramatically yesterday. Saturday was ridiculous. We managed a swim down at the Bay - then dh and G both had afternoon naps!! Yesterday we had a very ambitious trip in to the city. Went to the Art Gallery to see the Monet exhibition, and even G coped with it! Then we had lunch in the Domain and walked down to the Justice Museum at the quay to see an exhibition that a colleague of dh's had done - more interactive computer generated stuff. Then it was down to eat icecreams and watch the harbour for a while at the quay itself before heading back to the car. When you think about the 3 of us, a 2 year old, a heavily pg woman and a jetlagged man - we did really well to do all that!!
Today we went down to Australia Day celebrations at a park on a bay near here where the neighbourhood cousins were in a Flamenco concert - so that was a bit of fun too. Cousins, aunts and uncles and grandparents - G was onto a good thing!
So, there you go, a catch up from me!!
Funny that you two are bags-ing a boy, and early too! I wouldn't mind if this one came a bit early then at least Dh wouldn't have started teaching yet - of course semester starts the week of the 25th!!
quitecontrary
26-01-2009, 21:27
Cat, click on quick links - next to Log Out on the mauve toolbar below your Welcome box - then go down to subscribed threads - that should get you to where you want to go!
Cathrine
26-01-2009, 23:37
Hi Mary - I'm loving the weather these last couple of days. I have a non painful injury and I was strapped up from the neck to my elbow on Friday and told to keep it on for 3 days. I pulled it off Sunday morning because I just about sweated it off my shoulder. The stuff was waterproof if I showered or went for a swim but a 41 deg beat the gaffer tape!
I spotted the Monet exhibition only a few days ago and thought it would be a nightmare for its last few days, but it certainly didn't thwart you three. I'm off with a couple of girlfriends to see Degas in a few weeks which should be fun. We plan to eat our way around the city!
Today we just stuffed ourselves silly and I'm into my second piece of pavlova. I was chatting earlier with a girlfriend who lives in Kuwait and she was telling me on Indian Republic day everyone in the office bought in samosas. She didn't confess to Australia Day in case she was expected to produce 450 lamingtons - ha.
Better scat and thanks for the tip.
Cat
Ys_Woman
27-01-2009, 06:55
Cat: The best I can offer is 8lb 5oz and born on a 16th..hope that suffices..lol. Glad your arm wasn't a painful injury..but from past experience wearing any type of bandage in the heat is just horrid. Sweaty and itchy. Are you all healed?
Mary: So glad you got your dh back again..bet you will sleep better at night. Sounds like you have been a busy beaver lately. You obviously haven't yet hit the wall. I remember my dad taking me shopping for baby things a week before Brittany was born and halfway through the trip I sat on a seat at the shopping centre and decided I simply didn't have the strength to get up and go on..lol. Although I managed to get up and walk the kids to school right up until Dane's birth.
Have you packed your bags yet?
Tabby: Hope you had a brill weekend. Is the pool in yet?
It was hot over the weekend but we managed to get out and do a fair bit. Took the kids to a dance studio offering free trials so that Selia might pick a genre. After sampling ballet, jazz and funk she chose ballet, and the studio manager talked Lachlan into joining the Boys Only hip hop classes. I felt quite at home watching kids dance as Brittany had 11years of lessons in a variety of dance styles.
Went to the big Australia Day shindig but left in the early afternoon due to the heat. We had waited on for the Mr Men and Little Miss live show but fifteen minutes into it the kids realised they had outgrown that sort of thing. Returned to the park later that evening to watch the fireworks. Just lovely.
Best away to post in the birth groups while the kids are asleep and the house is quiet.
Hugs,
Just quick here as dinner to prep.
just got home from gp
Gp was awesome as expected! Taken bloods with lots of things to check, fsh, thyroid, iron..etc Plus a rubella check to make sure alls well there if we are all okay. Was over due a pap smear so that was done there, with the extra charge for a more indepth check. I go back in 2 weeks for results and then the referal to the FS, with the name of previous FS so can follow along from his, not going back that one as wasnt that keen on him so will take relevant info from old one to new one :)
Kinda hard not to be a little excited that i might be heading down the same road as pre Katie, clomid and i just might get my dream :thumbsup:
I did ask her if she could just help me but she said given my age best to go the expert asap as he/she has all the knowledge to do things quicker, which I thought was good too once explained
back later tonight for personals
Ys_Woman
29-01-2009, 10:34
Tabby: Hope all the results come back perfect Vicki. That Rubella check is a fun one..during Lachie's pgcy they told me I had no immunity but did nothing about it. They said the same when I was pg with Selia so gave me a shot straight after her birth. Come to Dane's pgcy and again I am not immune:confused: so what was the value of having the booster shot?
Anyways..sounds like things are finally moving in the right direction for you hon. Praying along with you that you get your dream.:babydust2:.
Hot hot and more hot again. Staying indoors today with the house all closed up to avoid it but might take the kids to the pool later.
Took them shopping yesterday for new sandshoes and sandals..wow was that an expensive trip! Was shocked to find tiny weeny Clarks sandals for Dane were $79:hair:. He'd only get a few weeks out of them and need the next size up.
Tomorrow I go to the school to pick up the kids book packs. A local educational supply shop puts together everything your child needs for their particular year level including tissues for the classroom. Means I don't have to go out fighting crowds for pencils and exercise books *phew*.
Have been having a little spendup on Ebay lately..bought my two favourite series that I loved as a kid..Catweazle and My Favourite Martian (had a huge crush on Bill Bixby back in the day..lol). Can't wait for them to arrive so I can show the kids.
Hope everyone is keeping cool.
Hugs,
quitecontrary
29-01-2009, 13:30
Just a quick one Amy to say how funny about My Favourite Martian and Catweazle - was your family tele glued to Channel 2 too? You are taking me way back into the memory vault!
lol Amy, memories.
yes i told her i had low rubella with katie and had the jab after to get back up but she said it can still go down and should be checked before all planned pregnancies :thumbsup:
sorry to hear its so hot there, at the moment we have cooled down due to the cyclone up north, was terribly humid yesterday from, but today was nice. am sure we arent far behind...wish my pool was up! Speaking of, delayed again due to need PRE approval from council before the owners will even look into it...grrrrr now they tell me..wasted 2 weeks..just want to know so can hopefully do that or if not can roll on lawn, fence and lovely play area with entertaining area.
Hi Mary: hows the pregnancy going? Not long now hun, dont forget we want pics asap when "hes" here :)
Hi Cat: Hows things with you? We on to the next step soon ?
Would be nice to have a pregnancy buddy right here :hugs:
Cathrine
29-01-2009, 21:19
What on earth is Catweazel? My favourite as a child was Kimba the White Lion. I absolutely loved him. I hired the dvds a year or so ago. Good to revisit, but not quite the same - lol.
Saw the doctor today and I'm back on the wagon in 3 weeks or so. Yet another adventure. We had quite a discussion and he's encouraging his patients to send submissions regarding the proposed legislation regarding IVF and reproductive services. He's generally quite a placid man and today he was so fired up I thought he'd explode. He's disgusted that politicians will have a say in women's personal matters. Now only have to get my hands on another $6K.
Hi Vicki - I hate councils although I hate politicians more. Hope it goes smoothly. How big will the pool be?
Hi Amy -I can't believe you can spend so much on a little shoe that won't last five minutes. I was trussed again yesterday, but at least it isn't so hot. Should be fine by Monday when I have my last (hopefully) treatment.
Hi Mary - how are you - feeling well? Which hospital are you having your boy child, over 8lbs on the 21st - hahaha.
Cat
Ys_Woman
30-01-2009, 16:16
Tabby: I hope you get the permission quick smart. I went for a swim in a friend's new inground salt water pool today and was sooo jealous..(we don't even have a blow up one..lol).Hope you don't get the heatwave there and I hope it leaves us easterners alone soon.
Would be super cool if you and Cat could fall pg around the same time *woohooo*
Cat: Oh I was a big Kimba fan too:smiliedance:. Thank goodness it was on the ABC as that was the only channel we were allowed to watch as kids (us too Mary!). Catweazle was on around '72/'73.. I stole this rundown from another site:
Catweazle was a television comedy series produced by London Weekend Television (http://www.lwt.co.uk/) in the early 1970's. If, like me, you grew up amongst the constant presence of Doctor Who (http://nitro9.earth.uni.edu/doctor/homepage.html) and the Goodies (http://www.barrayar.demon.co.uk/goodies/) it is very likely you will also have fond memories of this well written and charming series.
Catweazle was a magician who lived in the eleventh century, but however hard he tried, his spells hardly ever worked. One day was different. When Norman soldiers tried to capture him, in desperation he used some magic to escape, and it worked! The only trouble was that instead of flying through space to flee his pursuers, he flew though time. Catweazle finds himself nine centuries into the future. Being a magician, everything he experiences in the twentieth century such as motor cars, telephones ("telling bone"), and electric light ("electrickery"), he believes is the result of magic. This basic premise, and Catweazle's quest to return to his own time, drive much of the humour in the series as Catweazle finds himself in situations that often become, well, hilarious.
Do any of you remember a show called Adventure Island? It was a live acted thing with John-Michael Howson as a clown and someone else as a panda..and others, all living in wooden caravans? Used to love that show. Might see if it has come to dvd yet.
Best go..too hot.
Hugs,
Just quick as SUPER excited
MIL and FIL are coming down tomorrow to "talk" about them helping us buy our own home!!!
Either 50/50 or them totally as an investment ( for as long as we want and treat like our own )
We may just get that dream home yet
so pool AGAIN is on hold lol
wish us luck ladies, with both FIL and later his accountant :fingerscrossed:
ill come back tonight to reply posts
back!
lol Amy, now your going over the top hun! adventure island!!! lol yes I do remember the show, not entirely but it twigs memories of sorts about the title
We still love the goodies though!!! Now that didnt need any reminding, still fresh in my mind, same as dr who! have you seen the new ones? ds1 loves them but they just dont have it like the old ones did!
cat: woohoo! hope this wagon has a lovely smooth ride for you with the arrival being the destination of your dreams. Im here cheering you on and by your side no matter what hun! lets go! :hugs:
I cant wait to talk more with fil tomorrow! :smiliedance:
I really didnt think they would be in to even discussing it never mind hes already thinking "yes but depends, he talks to his accountant 1st".. This is before we have even got together..this was just from mil asking
hey Mary; how are you and little miss G, hope yous all have a great weekend
Cathrine
30-01-2009, 22:12
Amy - you have just curled my toes with joy thinking about Dr Who and the Goodies!
We were pretty much restricted to the ABC as well. My parents used to watch Bellbird and we were on holidays in QLD when I spotted Mr Quinny a.k.a. Maurie Fields and I was desperate to get his autograph (I was about 6-8). The only paper Mum had in her purse was an envelope which she produced and I charged up to him and tugged on his shirt. He produced a very glossy photograph with his name and character's name and the ABC logo and signed it with a flourish! I was in ecstacy. I also think I lost it a couple of weeks later.
I don't remember Adventure Island, but I'm certainly going to look up Catweasle. My parents always prefer Tom Baker's Dr Who - I think my mother was a bit intrigued by his scarf.
Vicki - fingers crossed for a stunning conversation tomorrow. It was Amy or Mary that said something wonderful may come from the woes that worried you a few weeks ago.:fingerscrossed:
Hi Mary - what is your news?
A lovely 'read' tonight!
Cat
Mary....where are you? Hope alls well.
Cat: lol goodness me, belbird! Pity about the losing the paper. would have been worth a bit now u think?
I forgot to say kimba was my fav too! my gosh was i addicted to it
anyhow , ils be here soon! how exciting!
Cathrine
31-01-2009, 12:27
Good luck Vicki !!!
I've just found the 1970s Catweazel series on dvd which is winging its way to me now !
quitecontrary
31-01-2009, 13:06
Alls well here, just trying to stay in the shade!!!
Ah - Amy Adventure Island - now that truly was the early 70's as I remember watching it in the first house I remember, which we moved out of when I was 4. Do you remember Fester Fumble, and the beautiful girls name was Liza (I think!). Fester Fumble stuck for me as I used to think I could see him in the bottom of the mug I drank my milk from - as you do!
Dh and I were having the Catweazel discussion the other night, and I'm glad you posted a synopsis as we really couldn't remember what it was all about, though we both remembered the show.
Vicki good luck with the in-laws! I thought that they might come to the party with/for you. Lots of food for thought at least.
Cat - I am going to pm you Naomi's number - go and see her please asap, and get the glue sorted for those eggs - sticky baby dust will be the sheen!!
We have just got in from a swim at the beach with my parents, G is asleep thank goodness and I think I will have to go for a nap soon too. Dh and I went out to dinner by ourselves last night, a friend who has been wanting to mind G for ages pinned me down whilst Dh was away and we organised it! We had a great greek meal down by the bay, sat at the front of the restaurant and had a lovely view of it all. As you can imagine it wasn't a late night, but it was lovely. Our pal wants to mind G again before the baby comes, so I think we might just have to set a date for two weeks time.
So, thats about all for now. All is well with the baby-on-board, which is great.
Hope you're all having a lovely weekend!
fil said......
YES!!!! to him buying an investment home just for us! He said he would have been thinking of another soon anyhow as they have no retirement funds etc and investing in housing was his.
Wont happen until after July when his taxes are done and he can see just how much but either way he said we will do it, but by waiting if work keeps up as good as has he can spend more than expected on something very nice indeed. when he is ready to sell we will have first offer which wont be for a while..unless we decide we want to sooner its there waiting!
So now the plan is while cheaper rent to get as much of the credit down as possible
he said it will be something fairly new ( 2-3 yrs as he prefers established easier cos everything done ) and will be what i want with minimum rent and in by this xmas if not sooner :thumbsup:
so there goes my pool after all that! lol ah well, worth it
Ys_Woman
31-01-2009, 16:55
Vicki: :smiliedance::goodvibes: So hopeful that you can get into your own home this way. Every friend I know who owns a home had their parents either co-signing, allowing them to stay home to save the deposit, or putting up money one way or the other. I hope we are in a position to help our kids when the time comes.
Good luck hon..couldn't happen to a nicer person.
Mary: Are you enjoying these last weeks of the pregnancy? It is the most awesome time as you can feel their legs and arms getting chunkier and hitting/kicking you harder..lol. Miss those beautiful sensations.
So glad your friend gave you and your dh a night out and that Miss G was in such demand.
Cat: Oh you hoot:laughing:! My copy of Catweazle should be here on Monday..hanging to show the kids before they head back to school on Tuesday. Just know you will love it.
Tell your mum I liked Tom Baker too but thought Jon Pertwee was the ideal Dr Who..lol.
Glad we all have a recollection of Adventure Island. I did a search and it came up with a few bits and pieces on YouTube. It was like old home week watching the opening sequences and remembering the woman at the beginning who reads the mail with the mice.
Having moved so frequently in my life, with removal companies losing stuff along the way, I have very little to show for my childhood. It is probably the reason I want these shows on DVD now.
Hot hot and more hot here. Can't stand it but what can you do hey? We have one aircon on in the family room and evaporative coolers going in the bedroom and lounge room. Can't wait to see what it does to the electricity account..lol.
Hugs to all,
Cathrine
31-01-2009, 20:45
Adventure Island !!! I'm beginning to think I was a very naughty child and was often sent to bed early. Can't remember that at all.
Hi Mary - thank you for getting the number, but a quick question, only for curiousity sake. Where does she stick the needles and HOW MANY!!!! aaaaaaaaggggggggghhhhhhh.
Sounds like a lovely date dinner. Grab as many as you can before boy baby, 8lbs on the 21st etc etc (I knew I should have started a book...)
Vicki - that is wonderful news! Well done and bugger the pool. You can always find one close by. You must be incredibly excited.
Hi Amy - I was a bit taken with Jon P as well. Do you watch the new series? I'm going to be in Canberra in a couple of weeks so if you're free for a coffee, perhaps we can catch up.
Nothing much happening here today, just sweating and doing some homework. Off to a high tea tomorrow afternoon so plan to eat myself silly.
I'm just watching McLeod's Daughters for the first time (I'm a bit slow, it's the finale) but I've realised that I went to school with one of the actresses.
Better scat, take care.
Mary: the dinner sounded lovely.
Hope you had a great weekend too
Amy: Im the same as you, moved so much as a child i have absolutely nothing! I have made sure the boys have some memorabilia, their lego and dinky cars, school reports and LOTS of photos.
I even have very little photos..about 6 if lucky! I actually took the remaining from my mum as she was losing them over the years, so now whats left of the old black and whites are firmly safe in an album not in a shoe box! lol
Looks like only the 3 of us here now...sad to see.
forgot to say, fil was a bit 95% it will happen, his 5% was just incase anything happens along the way to stop it so i was a bit unsure of outcome so wasnt overly excited as it wasnt 100% yes, then as mil left she whispered in my ear and said " Dont worry it will happen cos when he says no it means no, when he says maybe it always means yes" lol
I think he doesnt like to see him self as too easy/ a softy maybe..? so by not giving it right way he keeps his "im the boss and i make all the decisions" badge :laughing:
quitecontrary
01-02-2009, 08:56
Crikey Amy I just watched a couple of Youtube adventure island vids - I'm amazed I remember it as in 1970 I was 2 - but remember it I did, and geez looking back its almost nightmare material - but things were different back then, and the element of black and white was normal viewing. I don't think I'd be showing Genevieve for quite some time, but I do want my older sister to have a look!!
Vicki I have to laugh about your fil and mil and the 5% chance thing - my parents are the complete committee of two so Dad never thinks he runs the show!!!
Amy you are right about getting help from parentals when it comes to mortgages. My dad went guarantor for me a long time ago as there was no way I'd have got the loan at the time. I'm really glad they did that for me oh about 20 years ago - it made buying this house a whole lot easier. Luckily for us Dh had even more collateral in his first home too.
Vicki - there are four of us!!
I am sure there are more of "Us Type" around the Hub, they're just too shy to own up to their age!! Come on down if you're reading this and haven't posted here yet!!
oh oops, didnt count my self LOL yes 4
lol yes mary, fil "thinks" he runs it but us women know better...he just one of those that you let think that because it all runs smoother that way hehe. we are evil women really :P
my dad is the same.
Ys_Woman
01-02-2009, 17:08
Vicki: That is brill for you and your dh hon:fingerscrossed:. A great investment for your IL's towards their retirement too. Everybody wins!
Mary: How is the heat over your way? Still rotten hot over here but at least today we had a bit of a breeze.
I probably saw tv around the same time as you. We lived in the bush in Darwin and couldn't get tv. Didn't see it til I was 7 and we moved to Melbourne. Haven't looked back since..I lurve telly. My parents only let us watch channel 2 back then as they felt the commercial channels were for the 'lowest common denominator'. Meant I missed out on the cartoons my friends would talk about at school but I have very fond memories of The Railway Children, Carrie's War, Seven Little Australians, The Beachcombers etc..so I didn't feel too badly done by.
Cat: Wow..must have been a wicked kiddy if your folks are putting you to bed at 4pm when Adventure Island would have been playing:laughing:. Guess you had other shows or other things to do at that time instead.
Spent four hours today putting Selia's joss house bedroom back to rights. Only took a backhoe and a rubbish truck but thankfully everything is tidy now..in readiness for a return to school on Tuesday:smiliedance:. Not that I don't love my darlings just that they have driven me insane for almost 7 weeks now. God help their teachers..lol.
Had a little stress-out this morning wondering if I had January's AF or not. Still unresolved but as I am feeling nothing out-of-the-ordinary I will plod on in the hope that February's one attends. I have faithfully recorded them on fridge calendars for twenty years but for some reason I stopped recording them last September..silly me. Won't happen again.
Best be off.
Hugs,
uhoh Amy! Not a oopsie you think?
have just been looking at display homes hehe
would prefer go it ourselves so will not give up hope of that option just yet...got dh to ring fil and ask if go guarantor said yes thats another option to look at but wouldnt give a answer for now :rolleyes:
Ys_Woman
01-02-2009, 19:09
uhoh Amy! Not a oopsie you think?
have just been looking at display homes hehe
would prefer go it ourselves so will not give up hope of that option just yet...got dh to ring fil and ask if go guarantor said yes thats another option to look at but wouldnt give a answer for now :rolleyes:
Not feeling anything different here Vicki. Thinking I must have had it earlier than anticipated but just simply forgot..lol. If nothing happens in the next week I will likely test though.
Your IL's going guarantor would be even better in a way 'cause you would get to do what you want to the house without feeling like you have to ask permission.
I wish my dad were like your IL's but he isn't. I know I will inherit some money when he passes but that would be a sad way to get into our own home IYKWIM?? I love the old codger:D
Your mind must be filled with all sorts of lovely plans and dreams right now Vicki..awesome!! And you've got all that new furniture that could do with a new home to grace.
Off to feed Dane.
Hugs,
quitecontrary
01-02-2009, 20:02
Vicki what fun to be off looking at display homes! I hope something comes of all this very soon - whichever way you jump!
Amy we were definitely ABC kids! Needless to say when I got a bit older my little sis and I used to get up to watch the saturday morning cartoons when we thought no-one else would know what we were up to. My older sister was the original Square Eyes - but I think G is lining up to take her crown. Dh didn't even have a tele in his family home til way after he'd flown the nest - it didn't work though as he used to spend his hols watching tele at his various auntie's places!!
The weather here hasn't been too bad over the weekend. We went down to Cronulla for a swim with my parents yesterday - win win situation with more hands on deck for G time!! Today we went down to the bay for a swim, and it was lovely too. G got on the boogie board and had a great old time floating and kicking away - to the extent that she even went back in again after a sand castle session with dh!!
Dh has been wonderful all weekend (of course!!) - doing all the cooking, washing up, grocery shopping, G time! I have just been able to sit in the lounge and read the papers, how good is that?
This bub on board is doing a whole lot of moving around, you are right Amy, all elbows, feet and bony bottom!! Quite funny to watch these days too!
Amy: Yes, thats what makes me want to do it for our selves as much as possible...Then I get to say which house without having to compromise too which he will make me do, hes quite the perfectionist so things will get scrutinized immensely! He was already "joking" no dog! Yer didnt go down to well, is no way hes getting left behind..little K loves him to death and vice versa, to hell with a perfect garden.ary: anyway..you get my drift..saying already what can cant do.
yes, walking round the home I was placing my furniture lol even popped DH in a corner with his comp hehe
Mary. It was fun! I said to dh no matter what happens I want to look at heaps more just for the fun aspect what a lovely weekend for you! Sounds very blissful and relaxing..lovely DH!
HI cat. hope your having a awesome weekend,
catch up soon on FB :)
Ys_Woman
04-02-2009, 10:26
Vicki: I envy you having the opportunity to dream knowing that it could come true sometime soon. I still continue to dream of 300 acres of rolling hills, a river running through and a waterfall in the hills of Dorrigo:yes:, but not much hope of that frankly.
AF returned today :smiliedance::smiliedance:. Was never so happy to see her so raced to the calendar to note it. Am about to ring a local surgeon regarding vasectomy. If my doctor is right and I have another 5-10 breeding years ahead of me I would rather not spend them stressing. I am so happy with my family but think it is time to just enjoy watching them grow.
Hope the weather is nice where you are.
Hugs,
quitecontrary
04-02-2009, 12:48
Amy - pleased to hear your period arrived. Are you sure your Dh doesn't want another baby? From what you were saying the other week it sounds like he'd love one more!! It would have to be a joint decision though, and I can understand the desire for a vas - worrying about being pg isn't fun if you're not wanting to be.
All is well here. Have been a bit of a blubbering mess since G and I got home from the gym but am feeling a lot better now that she's been asleep for about an hour or so. She has been driving me to distraction half the time, the other half she is so lovely.
Suppose I should get off this internet malarky and go and have a quick lie down before Little Miss starts her demands again.
Aw hugs Mary, Understand where you are coming from totally! They are at the age now and am not exempt from it here and you have late pregnancy on top of it! Hope she wakes with the lovely side again for you
Ive been calling Katie jekyl and hyde so exact same here by sounds of it.
Amy! Ya never know..you must always keep that dream hun. I always have a dream of some sorts :thumbsup:
YAY for af arrival!!!!! I bet you were relieved lol
I still havnt had mine so thats really not looking good for me re : no4 . coming up to 5 months no af isnt good, ill find out on the the 10th anyway, trying not to think the worst just yet.
but i am prepared for it, so should it be bad news ill come home have a few beers and a damn good cry then get on with accepting it and enjoying my family as is..after all! I have my family day care eventually so i could take on a little one and give him back end of each day lol
Orrrrrr, idea ! Help ds1 meet someone lovely and marry and wait for grand children to dote on hehe
Traci, how are you hun..hope to get you fb later?
Whats happened to Rita ?
Cathrine
05-02-2009, 19:28
Hello Ladies,
Hi Mary - are you feeling chirpier today? Has Ms G put her Dr Jekyll mask back on - I hope so. How are you coping with the heat?
Hi Vicki - it is a very exciting time! I remember when I bought my last place, we spent forever in display homes, half the time just to check out the colour scheme. Then we bought a 100 year old wreck so all bets were off. When are you going to the FS?
Cat Weazel hasn't arrived yet so I have to be content with Nim's Island and some early episodes of the Vicar of Dibley to keep me out of mischief.
I am sick to death of sweating. The weather here is ghastly and the aircon at work isn't working. We can put a man on the moon, but can't cool a building !
I'm with you Amy on the AF stakes thus starting the count down of 22 days before I go back to the clinic. I think you should go another round - then you and Vicki and moi can roll around the place together and get the most up to date advice from Mary - a perfect plan !
Ciao Bellas
Cat
Ys_Woman
05-02-2009, 20:17
Well gals..got something to share..guess what?
?
?
?
?
?
?
?
?
?
?
?
?
?
?
?
:yes:I'M GOING TO BE A NANNA SOMETIME AROUND AUGUST 21!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!:yes:
A miracle for two people each told by specialists they would be likely be infertile.
I am cool with it..another bubba to lavish my affections on..and Dane gets to be an uncle at just 20mths..lol.
LOL Amy!!! I thought that was going to be a " I got BFP!" or similar from you! norti you!
woohoo a Nanna! and what a lucky dane, he can grow up with his niece/nephew so closely.
hehe Cat: i like the trio idea! and with Mary for the up to date advice.
bbs kate wants out of bath! :rolleyes:
quitecontrary
05-02-2009, 22:03
Lord, Amy that came out of nowhere, but then again we haven't been hearing much on the Britt front lately - thats what she's been up to! I personally would never trust a fellow who said he was infertile unless I'd been to the Dr's with him and got the results in triplicate!!! Congratulations to you soon-to-be Nanna!!
Genevieve is still driving me nuts.
Cat I'm with you about the heat, I feel like I should be in that dreadful Lynx ad.
Had my Ob appt today, all is going well, just counting down the days really and hoping nature does actually take its course this time around.
Tis late, another busy day awaits tomorrow.
hugs to all xx
Cathrine
06-02-2009, 21:05
Now Amy - wouldn't it be lovely if you had a playmate for Brittany's baby??? lol. Congratulations!!!
Mary - you've nailed it with the Lynx ad. I'm sitting here in a pair of knickers with my t-shirt around my neck. Hope I don't have a heart attack - I'd hate to be found like this. Not very elegant. Will you have another Ob appointment? Why is Genevieve being naughty and did you get a nap today? How are your in laws?
Better scat and jump in the shower AGAIN!
quitecontrary
06-02-2009, 22:05
Crike - just wrote a great big post answering all your questions Cat, and lost most of it doing something unintentional.
Something similar re: the t-shirt up and knickers scenario goes on here all the time. G joins in so that adds an element of humour to the scenario!!
Yes, another Ob appt next week - I told him yesterday that after next weeks he'll be seeing me in the labour ward for a fantastic, calm vbac!! Power of positive thinking is what I'm all about!!!
G is being naughty because she is two - and needs no other reason!! She was actually really good today. We had our usual gym/creche outing in the morning followed by a trip to the plaza for some groceries and what has quickly become a must-have chocolate milkshake and doughnut to share. We ran into a little girl who knows G from the creche - and her mum told me that all their dolls are called Genevieve at the moment - which I thought was just so lovely. Its funny, cause its just a creche and not a day care centre and she's only in there for 90 minutes max I have no idea of whether she has any little friends there or not - so its great to run into other random mums and hear things like that!
Dh was home today - working away most of the time but I tell you it makes a huge difference to both G and my moods. She was great!
We went down for a swim late this afternoon at one of the bay beaches - Genevieve was on the boogie board and catching tiny waves, which was hilarious to watch. Yes, she is two, and although we have been having swimming lessons for years she can't actually swim! Seems to be getting the hang of surfing though! She went to sleep without any problems this evening!
In-laws still have a lot of health issues, but at least they still have a carer around the clock, it does give the rest of the family some peace of mind knowing that m-i-l has realised she is not capable of doing the caring at the moment, and probably won't be able to do it all again.
I am going to leave this here before I do something stupid again.
hugs to all - hope you're all keeping cool over the weekend!
Mary: Your so close now so best be telling you now!
all the best for your vbac, do hope you get it.
no matter how i hope it goes beautifully :hugs:
We will be here waiting with bated breath for those first pics of course.
cat: Lol at you in your knickers with shirt round neck..hey! a girls got to do what we have to to keep cool!
Do hope that heat settles. We are much cooler today which is perfect for putting in a fence.
we decided keep the pool fence, add it here for now and move to new home for the dog. will need it for my child care anyways
Ys_Woman
08-02-2009, 10:05
Oh boy but it is hot:yes:. They say the cool change will be here on Tuesday and the temps will drop to the low 20's..unfortunately too late for Brittany's long haired bunny who passed away last night of heat exhaustion:crying:. I feel so guilty for not bringing him into the aircon..but I had him under shade in a breezeway and thought he would be ok there. Poor bunny. Hope he is going hippety hoppity through a vegie patch in Heaven with the other bunnies.
Looks like the heat is headed your way Vicki..all I can say is keep cool hon. I'm not going out at all as Dane almost fried in the car the other day and we are doing our darndest to keep them all comfortable. The kids slept in front of the cooler last night with damp towels rather than sheets.
Roll on winter!!
Mary: Yeah, hubby would be fine if we had another bub but I know my limits. I feel that I am juggling everyone's needs quite well atm, with the occasional lapse..lol..so not sure if it would be wise to add another. But if it happens it happens. Just excited at the prospect of having a grandbaby:yelclap:.
So how are these last few weeks treating you? Are you madly cleaning yet? Have you one of our mobile numbers so we can post on your behalf? Happy to give it to you.
Not long to go now lovey.
Is G going into the labour ward with you both?
Vicki: Oooh..only two more days til your appt. I just know they can help you achieve nr 4 but I guess it is to what lengths you are willing to go.:fingerscrossed: it is a good appt and you come out empowered.
Cat: You are such a dag..lol..but you do what you can to keep cool. I even ducked to the shops in my denim shorts and a tshirt..something I usually wouldn't do but I couldn't be fagged getting changed. I have these unsighly blue roadmaps on the back of my pudgy legs, courtesy of my last two pregnancies. Not a good look, glad I can't see them..lol.
Countdown to your next appt. Hope this next attempt is 'the one' hon.
Hey, how did your begging and pleading go with the uni? Everything sorted?
Let me know when you are coming to town. Look forward to a get together..woohooo!
Best off into the day. Dane is asleep with a cooler trained on him. Dang that baby is so mobile now. He is bridging gaps and just loves us to hold his hands and walk him around the house. He loves to climb too..and he loves to touch the telly. I put a coffee table in front of it to stop him touching but he figured out yesterday that he can leverage himself onto the table and stand up against the telly:eek:. I was sick with fear when the others were little that they would pull it down on top of themselves..now I have that fear again *aggh*. Might have to put the telly in a playpen. We are also looking for indoor gates big enough to stretch between the kitchen wall and bench to stop him gaining access, but the widest one we have found so far falls short by about ten centimetres *grrr*.
Keep cool lovely ladies,
ttfn,
Amy: Heat coming this way but not as bad ?
How sad the fire news, very tragic.
sorry to hear of Britts bunny too.
I started over at work mid summer last year and didnt really get too many over 40. have decided though that should be get what yous have had 44 etc im sure as hell not working in a tin shed. As is I had to buy a industrial fan as they had nothing but piddley little indoor ones.
Very nervous for tomorrows outcome
Cathrine
10-02-2009, 19:59
Hello Ladies,
You'll be pleased to know that my knickers are now covered by my jeans and I've swapped the t-shirt for a long sleeved jersey. I may have to remove the jeans shortly though because I'm starting a diet tomorrow and I intend to eat and drink everything that isn't nailed down. I may even become bulimic for the evening. So much food... so little time...
Hi Vicki - how did you go???
Hi Mary - I forgot about the terrible twos. It's hard, but good that your m-i-l realises that she can't continue with the care. I'm sure they will both be happier with the outcome. How are you feeling? 10 days to go and Amy's out for the count! lol
Hi Amy - sorry to hear about the bunny. The weather has been a nightmare for people and animals. I've been in tears watching the news on Victoria. I have a feeling that BH will ban the word I feel about the arsonists.
Anyway, better scoot and find something else to eat!
Hope you all have a lovely week!
Cat
lol Cat, enjoy your last night of binge..Quite ironic that am also doing the same!!! Have the chocky at the ready, soon as Kates in bed hehe. Decided I need everything im my favour to help me ttc and that means some weight loss! NOW
Im perimenopause :(
All hope is not lost but my chances are even less than hoped. Had a fsh count of 27..Suppose be under 10. So its rising. BUT bloods also showed no evidence of decreased ovarian function! So she said chances are less but worth a go if thats what I really want..so FS app made for Wednesday! Suppose will find out the go then.
Hopefully just a kick start for AF so can go clomid asap :fingerscrossed:
Have pre decided that medication is the only attempt we will make..Fails and will let it go
quitecontrary
10-02-2009, 22:14
Oh Vicky good luck with the next appointment! Eat that chocolate tonight, and get on that diet tomorrow.
Same with you Cat!
I'm sure I don't need to tell either of you that even losing 10% of your body weight increases your fertility - apparently.
Well, the news from England isn't good tonight, it seems that m-i-l does have lung cancer although they can't find the evidence. But her lungs are shot with emphysema, so its no small wonder that there is cancer there too somewhere. We sent her (via that world wide dept store Amazon) some acidopholus tablets (however you spell it) as the poor dear has had almost constant diarohea (sp again) since before Christmas. There doesn't seem to be a wholistic approach in her care, but there you go, at least she has a daughter-in-law on the other side of the world who thinks of these things!
To lighten the mood, Genevieve's latest thing is to run into the lounge room and say "I do ballet" as she dances/bounces on her toes and spins around in circles - it is so funny to watch! And yes we have video-ed her in action, and will post it soon I promise.
Yay for the cool change and rain in Sydney town. Just wish the same for Victoria - am too scared to watch the news these days.
No movement on the bub front - will keep you posted!!
hugs xx
Mary: sorry to hear of mil progress is bad. My mum suffers from on and off diarrhea and is due to her medication, was there anything new or an upped dose she had about then? Mum read a banana a day helps and it did!
Yep, hitting the diet with gusto tomorrow.
Huge wake up call to just how close i am to not being able have another so need get my *** in to gear and do everything that will help..even a little!
Ys_Woman
11-02-2009, 20:21
Mary: Well according to my prediction you will be having your 7lb 3oz boy tomorrow:yes:. Any time tomorrow will be just fine by me:D..and please feel free to use sex, hot curry, a hot bath,bumpy roads, castor oil, clary sage and lavender oil to get things going..hehehe.
Sounds like Genevieve would be the perfect candidate for a dance class when she is old enough. Look forward to seeing the video. Have you bought her some of those little pink jiffies and a tutu? That would be really cute.
Sorry to hear about your MIL's health problems. Does that mean a visit to England later this year?
Vicki: That all sounds really hopeful hon:yelclap:. Like Mary, I have heard that even losing a bit of weight can be enough to get things going. Was that FS appt today or next week? What do they do exactly? At least you have started putting things in motion. Hopefully won't be long now.
Cat: Are you watching Catweazle yet, and if so, what do you think of it? I have allowed the kids an episode a day but they conned me into three on Monday..lol.
I really hope it wasn't arson as one can only imagine what the first person to catch them might do. Been shedding some tears down this way too and sorting out what stuff to donate.
We are all well here. Brittany arrives on Saturday arvo and will be here for 5 whole days *woohoo*. I meant to say Mary..her fella is 38 years old..so he has had plenty of time to make a bubba but it just never happened for him until now. He's plum chuffed too which is good.
Best away. There is a book I've been reading since I was pg with Dane and the end is in sight..*woohoo*.got a few more lined up to go on with once this one's done. Life has finally hit a groove that allows me some reading time:goodvibes:.
Hugs to all,
quitecontrary
11-02-2009, 21:32
Amy - just a quick one! I don't think this baby will be going anywhere tomorrow! The little darling knows that its Uncle Nick already has dibs on the date, and wants to be the centre of attention of course. A few dates are clear before the 25th though, so really I'd be pleased to see the little one anytime soon.
We are off to the Ob tomorrow afternoon before the bbq (apparently) for my brother's birthday. I have volunteered our place as a Plan B venue as I think its too cold and damp here in Sydney town to go to a bbq in Centennial Park in the late afternoon. But I don't think my opinion will be the one that counts tomorrow.
I bet you can't wait to see Brittany again! Crike, her new man is truly a man!! Glad to hear they are both chuffed about the baby - and I'm sure you'll have a great time with her. Can't wait to hear more.
Vicki will pass on the banana "prescription" too - I think m-i-l eats bananas, so that shouldn't be a chore for the poor little bird. She's not too keen on eating really, but with the carer there I'm sure she is eating more than she would be if it was up to her entirely.
Keep up with the new lifestyle (much better word than diet) - and that goes for you too Cat.
Have worked out how to crochet again to get the edging done on Baby #2's cot rug. It would be good to get that finished before arrival day! Am getting there slowly! To think with G I had hers done about 3 months before she came.
I should really shake myself and get to bed a bit earlier tonight - so will leave this here.
Ys_Woman
12-02-2009, 17:37
*Imagines Mary crocheting the blanket whilst delivering her 7lb 3oz baby boy tonight* hehehe. Hope you have a great time at the birthday bbq (until you go into labour that is!).
Hugs,
quitecontrary
12-02-2009, 21:12
Hahaha - no crocheting tonight! We had the crew around here for dinner, which suited me to a tee - dh is just finishing the tidying up!
The Ob and I were laughing that Sunday is good for both of us - apparently this bub is in the right place to come on down. Oh well, we will see what nature has in store for us!
Hope all is well with all of you too x
Cathrine
12-02-2009, 21:29
Amy - you have 2 hours left for your prediction!!! Then it's my turn! lol
Hi Mary - starting crocheting now? I hope you have nimble fingers.
Catweazle has arrived, but I won't get to watch it until the weekend. I finally heard from uni and had a rap on the knuckles (which actually suits me) so I'll only be doing one subject this semester and I'll go with the evil one because I already have the text and drop the fun one.
I have heard that losing weight is a good thing for fertility and luckily for me, my bathroom scales only move in increments of 200g so technically I may have lost 201g, but it came up 400g this morning! Mind you, I made sure I went to the loo first - haha.
Hi Vicki - you know how I said last night I just licked the Cherry Ripe.... well a few hours later it was considerably shorter.
Hope everyone is well and Mary, please be agreeable and do the deed on my date!;)
Take care all.
Cat
Part 1 for me
http://picasaweb.google.com/Kaitlyn2006/Other#5302223940754826802
There is a glass vase there too but cant see it
part 2 = picking out a ring tomorrow!!! :yelclap:
finally he gets it! :smiliedance:
back later
Happy Valentines Day ladies
Hope you all get spolied in some way or another :hugs:
cat; lol @ the eaten and not just licked cherry ripe.
my diets a bit hard to get going too !
Mary: How was your labour? as planned i hope! lol
jk, are you still here ???
amy: How was your valentines day?
mine was just wonderful. I think DH has finally got it in almost every way....been very attentive today as well..or is it the anticipation of the prospect of lots of bding after the FS on wednesday?? :rolleyes: :laughing:
oh and i change to a gold charm bracelet :)
Now dh has something he can buy whenever and never be stuck for ideas! charms!
quitecontrary
17-02-2009, 19:42
Hi just lost a big post but there you go!
Still here in one piece - baby can come any day as far as I'm concerned! And whichever way I look at it, the arrival will be soon, even if the vbac doesn't eventuate I'm booked in on the 4th of March for the c/s.
V day was fun, little presents, dh cooked brekky which he usually does on the weekend, and we went out to dinner without Miss G, which was a bonus too.
My parents have just rung, and they will mind G tomorrow night so we can go out again - its our 3rd wedding anniversary!! That is if before mentioned baby isn't making its appearance!!
We all went out to dinner at my fave place in Chinatown tonight, and G was well behaved, which augers well for when we are a family of 4 - babies aren't a prob going out for dinner when they're tiny!! The staff all love her at the restaurant, the cook was looking out at her all the time!
Here is Action Girl All-Rounder - as promised!!
http://weakley.dreamhosters.com/genevieveMovies/surfing1/
http://weakley.dreamhosters.com/genevieveMovies/ballet/
http://weakley.dreamhosters.com/genevieveMovies/swimming_at_sandringham/
quitecontrary
17-02-2009, 21:29
PS this baby can come now, have just finished crocheting the edge of the little darling's cot rug!!
hey Mary,
I cant see the clips....I must need something to watch them, will grab dh tonight to solve!
Hope your away birthing that beautiful little girl 7lb3oz now youve done the blanket :yelclap:
Katie did no2 on the potty!! Was very impressed.
Shes really understanding it so shouldnt take long.
Of to the FS today....
im on Clomid again!
I start tonight as i dont need af to start it
I go back to him in 4 weeks either pregnant or with clomids help I will have/had af. hes given me 2 repeats in case AF arrives before see him to try again! :yelclap:
he has taken bloods today and again in 2 weeks to check FSH levels more closely.
He gave me hope as he said its not impossible he has had women perimenopause get their wish with the help of clomid, if indeed i am PM, He said levels need be checked over time to be correct and not just once as this last one was. he said it may be lower than thought.
So ther you have it, Fingers crossed ladies that i can have clomid do its wonders 1st go like with Kaitlyn.
quitecontrary
18-02-2009, 20:43
Vicki - glad to hear all went well at the FS today, and fingers crossed clomid does the trick before too long.
We have just come in from dinner out for our 3rd anniversary! It was lovely, down on the water, good food, fantastic company!! My parents did the G Patrol, which was kind of them - and she behaved herself from all accounts.
So this baby can come now - I think its about time really!
Amy - trust you're having fun with a pg dd in the home!
Cat - what news from you?
We need a few more of us-aged women on this thread! There must be some more lurking around the Hub wondering where we all are!
Cathrine
19-02-2009, 18:55
Hi Ladies, how are you?
Now Mary, as you may remember I picked the 21st, so sometime tomorrow afternoon (after a nice nap) I'd like you to do whatever you need to get things moving so you can produce a little bundle on Saturday. That would be lovely!
Congratulations on your anniversary !
Go Clomid!! That's very exciting Vicki - well done. Is it a pill?
Hi Amy - are you going to be a nana or a grandma? It's very exciting and the joy of grandchildren is that you can always give them back!
I just made my 1.2kgs per week so celebrated today with a seafood basket and a can of coke. I won't be getting on the scales tomorrow morning...
I'm back to the clinic Tuesday and I think that means injections again so if that's correct and things do well, it would mean a transfer in the middle of March so we'll see what happens.
Off now to eat (again) and Mary, I'll be checking in tomorrow night to see if you're being a good girl - lol.
Take care all
Cat
Hey Cat, sorry missed you FB, i was covered screen with photo uploads!
The clomid is 5 tablets, 1 taken each night for 5 days, then ( boosted ) ovulation should follow within a few days :thumbsup:
ah well done on the loss! ive not even got started :( I did buy for a diet shopping though so hopefully tomorrow
Mary: your 3rd anniversary sounded a treat! How lovely the scene read.
How are you feeling? Anything for signs of labour?
plug loss? cramps? Braxton hicks? The trots? you get the idea...anything to maybe say not far off?
well hot flushes....ah lovely..not lol
AC is still blasting away and more than likely will all night. hehe
Them and a little head ache so far not bad, i didnt get bad affects last time either
Ys_Woman
20-02-2009, 12:10
Hello lovelies. Had Brittany here since Saturday and just loved having her around. Was sad to put her back on the plane yesterday. I wish she lived closer, especially now she is UTD:D. She is well and happy..just have to keep telling her to slow down..that she cannot exercise the way she used to..but I am sure as the bump grows she won't have a choice.
Here are the first pics of Brittany's baby bump (click on next arrow for side view) Of course there is nothing to see at present..lol..but she is glowing I think.http://picasaweb.google.co.uk/Amypendragon/AmySPublicAlbum?authkey=TbxMpDl92t4#53046867614915 54802
And here is a group shot of the four kids, together at last:
http://picasaweb.google.co.uk/Amypendragon/AmySPublicAlbum?authkey=TbxMpDl92t4#53046867695091 35346
Can't see a post about Mary having laboured on my day of choice..lol. Hope you are feeling great hon. Don't forget to let us know when the time comes:smiliedance:.
Oooh..can see a Clomid reference in the signature Vicki:thumbsup:..hope it happens *BANG* in more ways than one..lol. Loads of early nights in your household this next month me thinks *wink*.
So when are you coming my way Cat? Sure gonna need a day's notice as the house looks like cr4p at the moment *sigh*. Did you spend the weekend watching Catweazle? We are only on to the second dvd but the kids are both feeling a bit throaty at present so they can lay about on the weekend watching the rest.
Have you made contact with that naturopath yet?
Dane has been quite feral in the past few days. I think the eye teeth are popping ATM. He is not wanting to sleep much and particularly hard to settle at bedtime *uggh*.
Went and saw the school counsellor about Selia yesterday to enquire how best to help her schooling along. She suggested IQ testing but my stomach knots up when I think about that. What will knowing that number mean? Would I become pushier with regard to her education? Would I be really shattered if the number isn't what I think it should be? Will having the number ensure she completes uni and gets into a fab career? What do you think about IQ testing? Mal suggested if she tests Selia then she should also test Lachlan..that if both of them fare well we should move them to a school with specialised extension programs. I don't even want to consider that just yet frankly.
Otherwise all is well here. Days aren't too hot any more thank goodness.
Best away to get lunch ready. Selia is home with a very sore throat and Dane is down for a nap..hopefully a long one..lol.
Hugs to all.
Cathrine
20-02-2009, 23:50
Jeez!!!!!!!! What is a plug ???
Ys_Woman
21-02-2009, 08:20
Jeez!!!!!!!! What is a plug ???
Haven't you ever had a bath Cat?:laughing: Vicki was referring to the plug of mucous that forms around the cervix to keep bub in and keep infection out during pregnancy. During labour the cervix starts to open and the plug then falls out.
Hugs,
lol
or! Can come out just before, hence giving you a sign labour is close.
Mine came out in globs the day before, and Cat, it looks like snot! lol
Also had a bloody show mid labour, ( blood tinged mucus )
Cat, dont worry, Ill keep you right up there once your pregnant with all the lovely things lol, All worth it though of course :)
Amy: DD looks glowing for sure!!!! Shes beautiful
Hmm hard Q Amy, dont know what i would do either, how are they fairing where they are as things are? Is it that bad?
nothing much here, clomid is being a bit harsh but hey ho all worth every bit and more :thumbsup:
Off to go pick up ds2's first car! A mazda rx7 , needs loads of tlc but hes only just got his Ls this week so will be a good challenge to fix while he learns
quitecontrary
21-02-2009, 21:51
Hello my dears!
Still here, bub-on-the-way is still happy in its own little world, no real sign that its wanting to join us in the outside world.
Sounds like you've all been busy! Bit late here for a proper catch-up - have been having issues logging in to bubhub, which has been irritating. Anyway will leave this here for now!
Mary! Hope bubs comes along soon for you..if not since post? !
Cathrine
23-02-2009, 20:12
I am seriously rethinking this pregnancy thing!
Back in a bit.
C
quitecontrary
23-02-2009, 21:27
Hello! Just a quick one to say that there is no movement at the station here - yet!! All is well though! Had a quick trip to the GP with G this afternoon, she had a bark of a cough and was a bit not-herself today so we thought it best to get her checked out. Luckily there is nothing wrong - just couldn't have coped if there was something and she got progressively worse with the baby coming sometime!
I just would love this baby to come this week, of its own accord, the way nature intended. As I'm hoping for a vbac my body just needs to go into labour, you wouldn't think that was asking too much!
Had a lovely cuddle with G before she went to sleep, and a big chat about the baby - which was very cute. I do wonder what she really thinks about the whole thing. We talked about me going into hospital, which we hadn't talked about before, though she does know where the hospital is, and comes to the Ob with us often enough. Lots of belly kisses, and "Hurry up baby" went on - quite delightful really.
I can't believe that G and I have never had a night apart. I never thought that this would be the case - if that makes sense - I always thought that by the time she was two I'd have left her with my parents. As it is, they're going to come here when the baby comes - rather than take her to their place.
So, all we need is this baby to come!
Cat that was a cryptic post - what's happening? Hope all's well.
Amy bet you're missing your big girl - hope Brittany got back safely to deepest darkest QLD. She looks great, as to be expected really!
Vicky - hope the clomid isn't knocking you around too much, and gets the desired result.
Cat sweety, whats that all about?!!! hope your okay xxx
mary: still fingers crossed things start happening on the labour front soon
aww how cute the convo with miss G .
I look forward to doing the same 9 months from now!
The clomid was kind to me, a few flushes and headaches n nausea day 1-2 but by day 3 was nothing much! Feeling good and can feel the ovaries working! little niggles
Ys_Woman
24-02-2009, 09:23
Mary: Glad all is well. :fingerscrossed: bub decides to make the natural entry you are hoping for. I saw a fascinating documentary the other day about birthing and they said that contractions usually start when the baby's lungs are completely formed. Once they get to that stage the baby breathes out a particular chemical which brings on contractions. My kids must be late bloomers in that dept as they were always past 41wks.
Hope your next post is an announcement :hugs:.
Tabby: Did the Clomid give you a harder time previously? Glad all is cruising along for you hon and :fingerscrossed: one of your coming posts is a big announcement too:yes:.
Cat: :wave:. Loved the jokes you sent..particularly the church board war..so funny.
Tough going here with colds sweeping the family. Poor Dane has been beside himself day and night with teething and being all choked up. We are off to the doctor today.
Nothing much else to report. Brittany got home safely and had her 14wk appt where she got to listen to the hb. Wish she were here so we could go together but she really loves the sunshine.
Hugs to all. Hope you are having a great day.
Amy: sorry to hear the familys feeling poorly, hope all are better soon xx
The clomid was fine last time too, only hot flushes same as this time, i must be one the lucky ones.
odd headache too but nothing too much..
I was having Ovulation pains day2 of tablets, which seems I was ovulating on my own it may have boosted that one and as clomid brings on another ov as should in a few days, maybe twins lol
as is my rate is upped 17% being 45. that plus fertility drugs..
Ys_Woman
25-02-2009, 12:07
Sweeping past in a daze. The doctor ended up sending us on to hospital where oxygen, ventolin and steroids were the order of the day for 12 long hours. Kinda getting sick of the place, but at least Dane is sleeping more peacefully now.
Got the other two at home with me as they also have colds and I developed one while sitting in the hospital airconditioning (does it every time!).
Hopefully we all feel tons better tomorrow.
Nothing much else happening here..just watching kids movies all morning.
Lunch calls and Dane will be up soon.
Hope everyone else stays well.
Sending up a prayer for twins Vicki:D.
Hugs,
aw no Amy, Glad Danes sleeping better now and hope everyone improves quickly! :hugs:
thanks for the twins wish, more i think the more Ide like
Cat: where are you hun?
mary: hope your away and busy cuddling your new one after your vbac :thumbsup:
I just went to medicare to get my rebates, had been holding them all and got $200 back so went and got a new pusher for Kate, hoping it will do with next one if I get preg, as it has a bassinet can buy to add to it, they had them there going out special for $40 but dont want to buy anything yet. there was a HUGE stack so I think there will still be some there late next week after I test and if Im lucky ill head over there to buy then
Cathrine
26-02-2009, 21:25
Hello Ladies,
So sorry to freak you out. It was the "plug" information. I strongly believe ignorance is bliss - mostly.
I'm sniffing my drug and go back on Thursday.
Miss Vicki - how are you going with your drugs?
And Amy - how is your clan?
And of course!!!! Mary - what's happening with you??
Cat
lol Cat sorry for the too much info!
yay for starting again! :yelclap:
we will be in dpo land only days apart....
All done here and ovulating so will be in the tww weekend.!
quitecontrary
27-02-2009, 20:22
Still waiting, trying to be patient, trying every trick in the book to get this baby on the move!
Had acupuncture again this afternoon, with a different practitioner as my usual has gone away for 4 days. It went well though, and of course she was lovely. I was there for an hour and a half, and an hour of that (or thereabouts) I must've been pretty much asleep - I kept waking myself up with little snores - another Joy of Pregnancy for you Cat.
Vicki I hope your dh came through with his side of the bargain this month!
Amy I hope that the sick ward at your place has been replaced by business as usual - not fun for any of you!
G and I had our last gym/creche outing for a few weeks. I think she might miss it in her own funny way - she always seems so happy when I turn up - and not just because she's seen me. The pool certainly has been my saviour this pg.
The weekend seems to be a very quiet one - but thats because this little one is going to make its journey into the outside world tomorrow! Then I can have visitors on the weekend, and come home early in the week!! What fun!
Positive thoughts eh?
hugs to you all
Mary: hope the acupuncture works and bub is on their way shortly :hugs:
Yes DH has been most obliging, he jokingly said I just wanted his body and he felt like a peace of meat but promptly came to bed with a smile on his face every night lol
Amy: hope Dane and family are feeling better :hugs:
Cat: have a lovely weekend sweety
Is it long weekend all over or just Perth?
Cathrine
28-02-2009, 20:04
Hello Ladies,
Hi Mary - hope you're still feeing well and relaxed. And you know if you have the baby tomorrow - Sunday's child is full of grace! Guess what day I was born - lol. Are your parents going to move in for G duty or is she going with them. We're all very excited for you.
Hi Vicki, glad dh is 'arriving' at the party (trying not to be too suggestive). Distant memories for me ...sigh... lol. How are you feeling? We haven't got a long weekend in NSW. What is yours for? How is the cow at work?
Hi Amy - how are you and yours? All better? What did you decide to do about psych testing the kids? And if boybee is looking older after each bath - have you considered that that perhaps you're scrubbing too hard????
All is well here. Just doing some homework and deciding what else I can do to procrasinate and avoid cleaning my brothel of a room. Seriously, it's like I'm a 15 year old boy at the moment.
Take care all
Cat
Ys_Woman
28-02-2009, 20:11
Vicki: oh the 2ww..all good fun..:hugs:. Good idea to save up the medicare rebates. Pity the baby bonus isn't a big chunk now. How do women of lower income afford the bassinet, car seat etc if they don't get at least a grand in the first bulk payment? You will be more than prepared with that stuff when the next one comes along. I am still deciding whether I should jettison some of the baby stuff..the stuff Brittany won't use. Tough thing to do though.
Cat: Lack of information is worse than too much when it comes to pregnancy and birth IMHO. For first timers it is like taking a uni course..lol. Good luck with the sniffing..how long before the next collection?
Mary: If you haven't already had Master 7lb 3oz try walking up and down stairs sideways, or up a hill. Helps settle the head further into the pelvis.
All jokes aside, would be just as happy if you announce you had a Miss 6lb 14oz..lol. Just hope it all goes the way you hope.
Is your dh taking much time off after the birth?
Dane is on the improve. Three doses of steroid have knocked the chest infection on its head thankfully. The kids are slowly improving, and I too am on the mend after dh took yesterday off so I could sleep all day.
Got up in the afternoon to see the school counsellor one more time. She was fantastic..understood my concerns and helped me work through them. Dh and I have decided not to test Selia at this point as there is no real need to know her IQ..but further down the track if she needs any specialist programs we may have to show the dept a number. Am happy to wait til that day comes.
Oooh..read a good email from the ambo service. It suggests that everyone create an In Case of Emergency phone number entry in their mobile phone and save it under the name ICE ..(and any more than one contact ICE 1, ICE 2 etc..). Then the ambo can go through your phone and know exactly who to call:thumbsup:. Off to create one myself.
Hope everyone is well.
Hugs,
Amy: Ah good to hear Dane is on the mend!
I wont be prepared, I sold or gave away most! I wasnt having any more lol
ah well, we both work so ill get things pretty quick while i can work then wont need much when I stop working. Ive kept things like pram, cot, linen, and older clothes like from 1 yr + so really only need baby stuff like , bassinet,bath, clothes and stock up nappies etc :thumbsup: and a high chair later. which this time round will be better as I had since found EBAY! lol
Cat: the cow is better, she had a talk and things are better. I told her i wasnt happy and she apologised and said she would try not to take her moods out on me..so we will see
Im now in DPO land for sure. CP is high and cramps easing. I had originally thought had Ov;ed a few days ago but pretty sure was yesterday now with pains
lol, hope you manged to find the enthusiasm to clean your room
went to the zoo yesterday was great fun!, oh its Labour day here long weekend
A quiet one today, clean and nothing else
The cramps are back, well not cramps more of a tight stretching feeling in uterus..
so confused!
quitecontrary
01-03-2009, 18:31
Vicki the two weeks wait aint nothing on the 40 week one! Or at least the final stages of the 40+ weeks!! Hope you're feeling okay - and that you kept your dh busy past when you thought your were ovulating. We have always used the blanket-cover approach for the whole month when we've been trying, I've never really known when I was ovulating! It works for us, and dh doesn't complain!!
Amy pleased to hear people are getting better at your place. Dh is mainly freelancing these days so works from home a lot - though he does teach on Tuesday afternoons/evenings. Luckily he can do his work around the family, and is incredible at getting into his own headspace and getting on with it.
Still wondering what is going on here, trying to be patient in that regard. Trying different things to get some movement, but am feeling a lot calmer about it all than I was the other day.
We had a lovely day today, went down the (near) south coast and had a great swim in an ocean pool. Genevieve is so confident, in deep water with her "noodle" for bouyancy just floating around having a bit of a kick and a ball for that matter!
So funny to think that this is our last weekend as a family of three!! How different things will be next weekend eh?
Cathrine
01-03-2009, 19:19
Evening, I hope you all had a lovely weekend.
Hi Amy - It might be a good idea to wait on testing Selia and then if you can, do it privately. It can really be a double edged sword. If it's a great result, all good, if it's less so, it can pidgeon hole her with the teachers. Glad to hear you're all much better. How is Brittany feeling?
Hi Mary - sounds like you had a lovely day today. How long will you be in hospital? Are you still getting some sleep? Does Miss Genevieve understand what's happening? Not long now !
Hi Vicki - Glad to know you had a chat with the woman at work. Dummy question again - what's CP? Is the cramping from clomid? Fingers crossed !!!
Night all !
lol Cat not sure if i should tell you after the plug incident but only read this line if feel you must then
Its short for Cervial Position, It changes at different times of the month, af and Ovulation and in pregnancy. Its still high which means Ov or pregnancy, Pre AF and Ov it will drop low and then go back up. Also you feel the texture of your cervix. So some will say " soft and low" soft meaning the cervix, low meaning the height.
every woman is different and takes months to know where and why your Cervial Position and if its soft or hard means. Im high and soft which is very odd!
Its used to help tell impending ovulation for me as my signs were mixed, that couple with CM, (cervical mucus) as that also changes during your whole cycle.
I dont think the cramping is the clomid, i cant find anything net to say other than 2-3dpo they usualy end up preg! so yes fingers crossed its same here
Mary: yes this month same as allways, we have a great sex life so is almost nightly so no change needed :thumbsup:
Your swim day sounds absolutely lovely! what day do you go in if not there on own?
The symptom spotting is going rampant, ive now got lower back ache and peeing heaps..another early sign along with the stretching feeling, trying not to get my hopes up but hard when these things are here, oh and burping heaps and from water?! i know a few ladies who got extra wind both ways in early days lol
okay enough of reading into it lol
Ys_Woman
02-03-2009, 04:14
Just sleepwalking past the puter and wondered if Mary was in labour? hehehe.
Back tomorrow.
quitecontrary
02-03-2009, 07:36
I was wondering what you were doing posting at such an early hour! And as you can probably guess - NO!!
Mary: when are you booked in?
quitecontrary
02-03-2009, 13:10
I'm going to my booking-in appointment with the anaesthetist tomorrow morning, Wednesday is c/s day and I'm expecting to be one of the first cabs off the rank!
Have just come in from acupuncture - so who knows nutured nature might swing into action!
Just about to have some lunch!
More later I'm sure x
Hope the acupuncture does the trick for you so by wednesday youll be nursing your sweet new bundle already Mary!
How's everyone? I haven't got the clomid, had second thoughts....sounds like tabby has handled it well though.
dd2's settling into prep, has trouble with seperation ,so I stay on and volunteer for some of the day.
Just reading quite contrary's post about hoping for a vbac, but booked for c/s.
My dd1 arrived at 42 weeks and sometimes they chose to come late.
Mary if you really want to try for a v/bac you can wait you know.
Labour will come when your baby is ready to arrive. You are able to wait as long as all is well with baby and yourself.
I just wanted to let you know I decided to wait for labour and am glad I did.
It is entirely your decision though of course!:)
EXCITING news that Amy is going to be a Grandma!!!:smiliedance: C O N G R A T U L A T I O N S!
Anyone else any ideas on how to deal with seperation anxiety(severe)...:confused:
She is letting me go for around an hour in arvo so far.
Well, take care.
Tracey.:wave:
Hi Tracy! Long time, yes the clomid was good to me again, hoping its the only round Ill need this time too!
So your not ttc now then or just not getting the clomid?
no ideas on the anxiety for dd2 sorry! never had that problem. Hope shes settling better soon
ive just had bloods drawn to see if made me ovulate, hopefully he can tell i did as i will be pregnant when see FS on the 22nd!
trying really hard not to get my hopes up but hard when have a metalic taste in my mouth BIG time!
and had cramps and pulling since about 2 dpo.
Have a few other things happening too!
cant wait to test, its killing me , ive always been the impatient type lol
Mary! are you still with us lovey? or you awsay holding baby :thumbsup:
Ys_Woman
03-03-2009, 20:45
Vicki: Those symptoms are sounding really really good hon, particularly that metallic taste:fingerscrossed:. Hope you get good test results back from that blood test. What an awesome early Christmas present a bub would be:hugs:.
Tracey: Nice to hear from you again chicky. How goes FNQ? Did you read that Brittany now lives in Rockhampton? Too hot for my liking..lol.
Agree with you on the waiting past 40wks but thinking Mary must have a medical reason for not waiting on so long.
So you are not keen to try the Clomid. Any particular reason?
Don't be a stranger lovey.
Mary: Hope you are in labour as I write this;). Whichever way you go you will have a bub in your arms very soon. What a beautiful moment that will be.
Couch potatoed today to make up for the school canteen duty I did yesterday. All day on my feet really wears me out.
Dane is still not walking:no:. He crawls like a bat out of hell, cruises, climbs onto the lounge and coffee table, can even stand alone, but refuses to take those first few steps. I am sure it will happen in due course. He is such a funny baby though. He had us in fits last night. The kids were fooling around at the dinner table doing the mexican wave and all of a sudden Dane joined in, throwing his arms up and shouting: "Waaaaay". He then waited his turn to go again..over and over for five minutes. I was nearly sick from laughing.
Nothing much else happening here, except for these rotten hairy caterpillars that have converged, en-mass around our back door and up the outside wall. Don't know why and don't know how to get rid of them, just scared Dane will lean out the door (his usual trick) and accidentally touch one. I think they are the itchy type. ewww.
Hugs to everyone. Miss those who have stopped posting: Rita, Maria, Leanne and a couple of others whose names have slipped my mind. Hope if you come in to read you will leave a short post.
Amy, how old is Dane now hun? Both the boys were late walkers, found a lot on my birth forum with boys were later than the girls too
Im pretty sure I am, this taste has gotten worse! another xmas baby!!!!!! Thatd be 3 out of 4 lol
The pepsi tasted foul! n i love my coke and pepsi :(
oh the other knowing one, due to peri menopause and my hormones i was getting hair loss! LOTS of hair every morning coming out for the last 6 months, quite thinned now :(
anyhow! The last 3 days, ive lost 1 strand in my hand! a really good sign for pregnancy as well know it doesnt fall out while preg and thats why suffer mass loss after birth :thumbsup:
I doubt the clomid would affect my hormones enough to rectify that...
okay must go do something to take my mind off it lol
morning! Mary honey, if you off for your cs today all the best sweety! Dont forget those first pics soon as your home lol
Things are looking really good for me
I have the tell tale glass scraping nipples since last night lol
this is what made me test at 8dpo with Kate for a positive! Only ever get them in pregnancy :D
i cant wait to test..only 5dpo or abouts so few days yet! Have ordered some ebay cheapie poas ready for my poas-a-thon :thumbsup:
Ys_Woman
04-03-2009, 15:29
Vicki: Woohoo baby:smiliedance:..so maybe test by this weekend? I think I would be so excited I would rush to the gp for a blood test. Round here you virtually have to book to the birthing centre the moment the egg divides..lol. So how are you coping with the waiting game? Would you have bub at the same place you had Katie?
Nothing much happening in this neck of the woods. AF arrived this morning..exactly 28days after the last..gonna calander it when I get off here so I don't have another mixup on my hands next month.
Hope you're having a great day. Am hanging to hear Mary's news.
Hugs,
lol yep i have those ebay cheapies arriving probably tomorrow and detect 10ml! So nice early ones and if shows anything on them ill be off to get a shop one to confirm :thumbsup:
yes, soon as the fs does his wonders Ill transfer over to the maternity hospital where we had Katie
Cathrine
04-03-2009, 20:53
Hello girls,
Hope you're all well and wondering if you had all this information (You Vicki) before you became pregnant? As I do a lot of research for my job, I am running in the opposite direction with your knowledge!
I agree Amy that information is good, but I'm still recovering from the plug...
How cool is this waiting for Mary news?
Cathrine
Cat,
I think my knowledge base was extended the day i joined bubhub! Since then Ive learnt so much. That and just searching and reading things on the net.
I use to patrol the ttc forums while pregnant ( and bored ) and help with advice Cat :thumbsup:
There are a LOT of scared first timers out there that rely on forums to help ease their minds and I like nothing more than sharing my knowledge in hope of easing thier fears & concerns.
As for my ttc forum (its UK based ), We are there for each other with every two week wait, to hopefully celebrate thier bfp or be their shoulder to lean on when AF arrives for another disapointed month. They also do the same for me.
I would be kinda lost without them
yes it is rather exciting! Cant wait to hear all about it!
You started off cycle round 2 yet? Sorry my heads all empty today! cant remember a damn thing!
Ys_Woman
05-03-2009, 19:34
Keep ducking in here hoping there is news from Mary or her dh. Almost busting..lol.
Cat: I guess I had a lot of knowledge prior to falling pg with Brittany as my lovely father bought me a copy of Everywoman (Derek Lllewelyn-Jones) when I was 17. He reasoned that I had a manual for my car so why not for my body *good point*. It has info about every aspect of a woman's body and there were a few chapters about pregnancy and birth.
Through that book I came to see the development of a bub as a miracle and a wonder.
Of course you don't need to know it all at once..plenty of time for discovery when you are full of the happy hormones of pregnancy ;). God sure knew what he was doing when he added those hormones..lol.
Tabby: How are you feeling today lovely?
I used to belong to the ttc-after-m/c forum in here. They were a fantastic bunch of gals and over time most disappeared to the birth groups as one by one they fell pg. I appreciated the support I received in there, and gave to others too.:hugs:. I am so thankful for the net.
Think I may put some of that govt money toward dh's snip snip. He opened up this morning and said he felt less free to do the 'wild thing' because his head is filled with thoughts of us falling pg again.
I respect his feelings. Oddly just yesterday I was considering going on the pill because I too feared another pregnancy.
Best go and get kids to bed and dinner on the table. Dh and I are having a late tea tonight, how romantic:D. Poor Dane isn't eating much at the moment. I thought his illness last week was due to teething. When he laughed today I noticed two molars almost at the back of his mouth newly peeking through the gums. Dang they must have hurt coming through! He isn't even due to get those yet..he still doesn't have his top incisors.
Hope everyone is well.
Hugs,
wow your game Amy, not on anything???
Wish the tww was over already!
Ys_Woman
06-03-2009, 19:46
Tabby: So are you going to POAS this weekend??Huh, huh..lol. Still think God should have made an easier way to find out..like maybe your toe turns purple the moment conception takes place.
I don't take the combined pill due to being a smoker and I used to forget to take the mini pill when I was on it years ago..just let the cards fall where they will. However, it's not just our age, but more that we are renting and it is a small house. If we had our own place dh and I might have thought differently about just one more. That's life though.
Gotta dash. Medium is on.
Hugs,
quitecontrary
06-03-2009, 20:38
Well ladies, you don't do your bubhub snooping very well!!!
Tobias William James arrived on Wednesday morning via c/section and we are home now!
After having contractions rather steadily on Monday night dh and I went over to the hosp at about 4.30 am where I was monitored, and yes, having steady contractions with a cervix that had begun to dilate, but by 10.30 the contractions - which had ramped up - had died down almost completely and my cervix hadn't changed. So -- I went home, after going over and booking in with the anaethesist for my c/s. Dh and I had a lovely lunch, we all had a good afternoon sleep, my parents continued to stay with us to look after our dd, and we were back at the hospital bright and early on wednesday for my c/s.
I think it was fortunate I had a c/s as there was a true knot in Toby's cord - and that could have been interesting in a natural birth.
My recovery has been great.
Although I didn't have my optimal birth experience, I had a wonderful experience anyway! And at least I know that I can at least have contractions!!
I will put some pics up once dh has put them on the website.
I can't believe how lovely Toby is.
Oh god, and we had some awful news yesterday - my mil does have cancer (not a big surprise there) but she has been given two months to live apparently. Which is all a bit daunting. Yes, I will be investigating very very soon at what age qantas lets babies travel. Dh and I will work it out next week I think.
So, there's a bit of mixed news from us.
Congratulations Mary on the arrival of your BLUE bundle
:flowerz: Tobias. :party:
I dont read any other bubhub other than here or my baby thread for Kaitlyn so had no idea!
wow only 3 days in for cs? They make us stay for 5 here! Yay for experiencing contractions and a good experience.
cant wait to see pics.
Sorry to hear of MIL.:hugs:
I didnt think there was even a min age for going on planes???!
Hope bubs settles in well and hugs for G the big sister! xxx
Amy; yes i will start my poas marathon on the weekend lol Of course yous will one of the first to know if/when 2 lines show up
Did I tell u that if we are lucky enough to conceive and quickly we have planned 2 back to back lol
Depending of course on how it all goes.
Like, if i get a vbac we can.. if its another c/s your not spose get preg too soon after for fear of scar problems..so that might throw it all away
anyhow enough ramble, quiet time with Katie now
quitecontrary
06-03-2009, 21:21
Vicki - its called stalking the Due-In Threads to see the announcements!!
Yes, 48 hours and I was out of there, I'm on the early discharge program with the local midwives, so I'll be visited every day for up to 10 days. All that aqua and weight loss definitely paid off big time, I was walking around the hospital yesterday and even managed my first shower by myself after having the catheter etc removed yesterday morning.
I suppose I should go and check on the lad - I wonder if he's going to do the same thing as his sis ie sleep through from day one at home. I somehow doubt you could have two babies do that!
Have put the link to the website in my signature but here it is as well
http://www.weakley.org.uk/photos/index.php?album=toby
Aww Mary, Lovely pics hun, hes gorgeous! and oh my doesnt Genevieve's face say it all on meeting!
Ys_Woman
07-03-2009, 12:54
Mary: 'bout time you got in and posted..I couldn't wait another day...truly! hehehe.
:cloud9::yelclap:CONGRATULATIONS MARY AND FAMILY ON THE SAFE ARRIVAL OF TOBIAS WILLIAM JAMES.
Welcome to the world Toby.
You did a great job hon. He is just gorgeous. A good size too by the looks of it..just a smidge over my 7lb 3oz prediction..lol..but 8lb is just perfect.
Now rest!
Cathrine
07-03-2009, 18:59
Congratulations Mary - how wonderful. You look so relaxed and beautiful, I can't believe that you've just had a baby. Well done.
CONGRATULATIONS Mary!! Well done, he is soooo beautiful.:hugs:
Welcome Toby.
Tabby; any more promising signs?? You may intice me to use the clomid yet.....
My dh is not one to help out and things have not been ideal around here to bring another child into the world , so that's the main reason why I have not used the clomid , also I am terrified of the side effects. Although for you they were fairly mild?
I will be 45 this month, so it's now or never I suppose.
Stuck home with the flu today:thumbsdown: yuk!
Hope everyone's doing ok.
Tracey.:)
Nothing yet Tracey and yes both times the clomid hasnt been too bad. Long as you take it at night and drink plenty of water, I recon it helps immensely. Had mild hot flushes and some headaches but other than that was good.
Some people seem to react worse than others.
Ys_Woman
10-03-2009, 14:45
:detective:wonders if Vicki tested over the weekend?
Come on gal..out with the goss.
Hugs,
Ys_Woman
10-03-2009, 15:02
Nothing much going on here today. Am hanging to go on a spending spree tomorrow..just because I am concerned about the economy:D. Dh has finally convinced me that we need a bigger telly..not too huge, but at least digital. We folks are moving in the millenium age..lol.
To be honest I feel guilty receiving this govt money..like I am stealing from my mother's purse and will get caught any minute. Does anyone else feel a bit strange about it?
Saw "Confessions of a Shopaholic" last night with a group of gals. It was great just to get out of the house for once..even if we did talk babies all night.. frankly I wouldn't know what else to talk about atm..:yes:.
Took Dane to playgroup this morning. He did a painting. Showed real talent too :laughing:.
So that's about it really.
Hope everyone else is well.
Mary: Please give Toby a big *mwah* from me.
Hugs,
Cathrine
10-03-2009, 20:51
Go Amy!!! So many things are dropping in price but after April, TVs will go sky high. Go forth and shop - don't feel guilty. I've been trying to get an icecream out of the government for years so if this is their idea of an economic rescue - enjoy!
Hi Vicki - how are you feeling?
Hi Tracey - do you have kids? I haven't but I'm older than you so who knows what is around the corner.
Mary! More photos please of the lovely Toby. How is it going?
Ciao all
Cat
quitecontrary
10-03-2009, 21:08
Ah, just a quick one here, really should be heading to bed via I guess feeding Toby. He's not awake, but the lad has great Mummy radar!!
Al is going to England tomorrow for another flying visit. His Mum is in hospital (can't remember what I last posted in here) again with pneumonia. I don't think I said that she was given a "two months left to live" sentence from the the cancer specialist on the day that Toby was born.
Oh yeah, and the other joy is that my Dad had a mini stroke on Sunday. It seems that he is fine - just a whole lot of tests to be done in the next few weeks. No driving though, which makes it a bit harder for Mum.
They are coming to stay here whilst Al is away, as the logistics of us going down there were much harder to contemplate.
The baby calls - as expected!!
Hugs to all of you x
BFN but still early yet, not over till AF shows right? :thumbsup:
Amy; Spend, spend I say! You're doing the country a favour!!:yelclap::yelclap:
Cat; Yes we have two dds 10 and 6 y.o. How old are you Cat, if that's not a rude question?:eek:
Vicki; :fingerscrossed: for you.... here's hoping.
Mary; How's the lovely Toby going? After I had my last dd both of our dad's passed away within 2 days of each other....she was only one y.o. I've heard of a saying,but don't know how true it is. Something about when a new baby comes someone else in the family will shortly pass. Like the baby is replacing them somehow?? strange I know...probably just a crazy saying.
Bye for now,
Tracey.:)
Thanks Tracey. still hoping here too
Will test again in a few days of no AF..Am at least hoping that if im not AF shows as that will say that I did ovulate..no AF will mean No ovulation even on clomid :(
I had my grandfather pass away the day ds1 was born, I was actually in labour when he did but they didnt tell me until the day after.
But would only be a co-incidence if did in my opinion , ds2 there was no losses then dd Nanny passed away when she was 9 months..
I thought it was just as a baby is born another dies...as in could be anyone??
Always thought it a cruel thing that he was taken when he was, as my lovely grandfather never got to meet ds1 and he would have been the light of his eyes the same as I was :thumbsup:
Cathrine
12-03-2009, 19:21
Hello Ladies,
Hi Tracey - I'm 45. I'll have to start lying about my age soon - lol. My mother started at 29.
Vicki - what's your news?
How are you Mary - did you get Al off OK and how are your children - plural! Hope all is well. How is your father?
Cat
No News Cat. Been testing and always bfn so I think this month was a bust.
Just hope the FS tells me on the 22nd that I ovulated going by bloods tests done twice this month..
Cathrine
13-03-2009, 20:26
Hi Vicki,
I can't test myself because the drugs I'm taking would be able to give me a false positive so I have to wait for blood tests. Is it the same with Clomid?
You're not out of the game until you're out Madam! lol.
Cat
The clomid is fine Cat, it doesnt affect HCG readings but it can affect Ovulation sticks! So I found out the hard way , they were all over the place! lol
The meds your on do wear off though dont they?
Ive read women test until it fades and is negative then keep testing and if comes back to 2 lines they know they are preggers lol expensive way to find out though when blood test will do the same
What stage are you at now?
Cathrine
14-03-2009, 18:53
Hi Vicki,
I'm at disaster stage at the moment. One of the meds I'm supposed to use twice a day gave out this morning which is not good. I was due back to the clinic on Tuesday for an ultrasound. Now I'll go back Monday to get some more, but I don't know if that is going to stuff everything. I'll continue with the nightly injections and keep my fingers crossed. Otherwise it's another bloody two month wait.
If I'm not adversely affected I would have the ultrasound on Tuesday and then another a few days later. 36 hours after they are happy with my progress, I will have a trigger injection and then a couple of days after that the egg collection. I had anticipated Monday week, but it's in the lap of the gods now. I'll know one way or the other Monday.
I prefer to wait for the blood tests mostly because of the cost and disappointment of using home tests.
They do wear off but I'm not sure how long it takes to get out of my system. Probably one of the main reasons my clinic absolutely refuses to do treatments back to back. They want you to have a natural cycle before returning.
Now, what is happening with your ovulation? All over the shop sounds good, rather than not at all.
Hope everyone is well.
Cat
Hi Cat,
Oh Do hope the meds still did their job hun and all goes ahead as planned.
Let us know how goes Monday :hugs:
As my fsh is high due to peri menopause it also registers on the opk here and there through out the month and the clomid as well so no idea when/if ovulated, I did have Ovulation pains so hopefully a egg or two was released.
Should know soon, if not i have the FS on Friday so the blood tests will tell us if the clomid even worked and if we will continue. Might even talk to him about clomid and trigger shots or iui..
Cathrine
14-03-2009, 21:08
Hi Vicki,
What they do with me is confirm that I've ovulated then supress my cycle so they have control of it. The injections are meant to get the follicles to a certain size and when they're happy with the size and quantity, I take the trigger which releases the eggs and then they collect them. With me they inject the egg with the sperm rather than just let them have a party in a petrie.
A friend of mine is on ivf and she is doing it through the public hospital system which means it's a lot cheaper than doing it privately. That could be something you could look at.
Cat
ohhhh! I didnt even know the public sector did ivf?
Also isnt the cut off around 45 or you need donor eggs etc?
am off to see what can find! thanks hun! xx
Cathrine
15-03-2009, 11:21
Hi Vicki,
They do it in NSW, but the only issue will be if there is a long wait. She is using her own eggs and donor sperm (she's gay).
Have a snoop.
quitecontrary
15-03-2009, 13:54
Hi - thought I'd better touch base with you all again.
We have had a tumultuous week - though not with the kids so that is a blessing. Dh went to England on Wednesday, and arrived early in the morning on Thursday to find out that his mother had lost consciousness during the night. My mother-in-law died on Friday morning at 3am, so at least he got to see her and talk to her. Such a sad, sad time. I felt so useless waiting here to hear the news as he had rung me when he arrived at Heathrow, and again from his parents home but I didn't hear from him for over 12 hours after that. I really wanted to be with him - but I know that it would never have been a possibility.
Luckily my parents have been staying with us - Genevieve really hasn't missed her Dad til today.
God bless the internet and skype.
Oh, to top it off I have a lump that has come up under my c/s scar, so I am going to the Ob first thing tomorrow to get him to have a look at it. The scar is not infected and I have no other symptoms so who knows? Will find out tomorrow I suppose.
We are all going down the coast on Tuesday afternoon for a few days which should be nice. Dh and I weren't going to head down as he was (meant to be) teaching twice this week - so with all the changes here we decided to go down with my Mum and Dad. All the other little cousins will be there so it will be fun I think. I'm still not driving, so we're heading down in their car - will have to pack light eh?
Must away to my big girl I feel.
hugs to all of you x
Cathrine
15-03-2009, 19:18
Mary, I'm so sorry to hear your news, but so pleased that he was there in time. Good luck with the Ob and try and have a relaxing break. Beginnings and endings are extraordinary. Take care.
Mary, sorry to hear of your families loss hun, glad to read that dh got there just in time.
enjoy your mini holiday xxx
Cat: Thanks for the info..After thinking last night I decided I wont pursue that avenue. If the clomid and any other ideas (IUI, Trigger shots etc) the FS has dont work then we will call it a day. :thumbsup:
just home from the ils so about to unpack and relax
xxx hi to Amy, Tracey aswell
Ys_Woman
15-03-2009, 22:10
Mary: Really sorry to hear about your MIL passing. Perhaps she hung on waiting for your dh to get there so she could say goodbye even though she was unconscious. I imagine this is going to be a rollercoaster of emotions for your dh as he has a high high in the shape of Toby, and a low low with the loss of his mum all at the same time. :hugs: to you both.
Vicki: Still have my :fingerscrossed: for you lovely. While ever the witch stays away there is hope:hugs:.
I don't know what it's like where you are but a friend of mine in Victoria had her last IVF attempt when she was 50. I believe it was done on the public health system with only relatively minor out-of-pocket expenses. Good luck with your search.
Cat: So when you say the meds 'gave out' does that mean you ran out of them? Sorry, clueless. I hope this cycle runs smoothly for you and they have a great collection and fertilisation. Praying for sticky good eggies for you.
I heard those same rumours about electricals going up soon. Glad I got in before the price rise.
Tracey: :wave: chicky. How are the girls going? They still doing dancing and swimming?
Finally got that new tv..holy cr4p but it's huge! and OMG..how clear is that digital pic??lol. I never knew telly could be like that..sooo crisp it's like Oprah is actually sitting in my living room:D.
I only enjoyed it for a few hours before Dane got crook enough to be admitted to hospital. Spent a day and a half in there with the usual Bronchiolitis. He finds it hard to sleep in there.. I guess because every time he shuts his eyes someone comes in and does something nasty to him:(. I had to have him sleep with me on the lounge they provide next to the bed. Got home yesterday arvo and we both crashed the minute we got home. He seems much better today now that the steroids have done their job. The specialist keeps suggesting he will probably grow out of it and that maybe his body overreacts when he is teething and makes too much mucus.
Best quickly duck into my birth group to say hi before heading to bed for some well deserved sleep. Getting an entertainment unit delivered tomorrow..nothing expensive.. found it at the Salvo's..but thought it would suit the new telly better than the one we had. Hope it fits where I want it to..lol.
Hugs to all,
Amy
Hi girls, mind if I join this thread? I'm not quite 40, but give it one more month and I will be.
A little bit about me, I have 4 very busy kids and a husband who works away a lot. I only knew my husband a few months when we accidentally conceived #1 and although the rest were planned, we didn't have to wait long as they were all conceived on the first go. During my last pregnancy I have very bad symphysis pubis dysfunction and was only crutches and strong painkillers from about 22 weeks. My pelvis is still not great, but strengthening all the time.
After the birth of my last bub I swore that was it. At the time I think part of me was saying that because everyone thought I'd be mad to go again after the pregnancy I had. So I sold all the baby clothes and maternity clothes and focused on no more babies.
Except around 2 months ago we slipped up in our new year's eve celebrations and forgot protection and the thrill of maybe being pregnant overrode all desire not to have a baby anymore. Suddenly I was looking longingly at newborns again and even looked through the maternity clothes sections.
So after much pursuasion, I convinced DH to try for just one more baby. I am now about to enter the tww and hope to God I've ovulated in time (DH went o/s on Sat).
I'm more nervous this time than ever before. All the reports keep shouting that once you hit 40 your fertility dwindles down to nothing and that scares me. I've been lucky so far, but is my luck about to run out?
Anyway, enough about me. But if you dont mind having me in this thread I'd love to be a part of it.
HI boygirlboygirl and welcome!!
I conceived dd at 42 and like you thought my time might have run out but after 6 months of trying and a fertility specialist visit for clomid we conceived her first round! 40 is fine! Its when you get to 45+ I think it really becomes harder
Hope to see you here lots and hope you got your BFP already! Good luck
Im again trying at 45 having wished I was ready sooner as not sure of my chances now, After 1 rd of clomid am back to the FS friday for test results to see of I ovulated. I dont think the clomid worked though..still no sign of a period and abot 14+ dpo! ah well the blood tests will hopefully say I did so we have a chance.
Amy:Hows Dane today? Gosh the poor love, hope he starts to "grow" out of it sooner than expected!
Howd the unit go, hope it fitted lol
Cat: looking forward to your saying the meds are not disrupted and alls good to go !! :thumbsup:
Nothing here...NO AF, no bfp :(
ah well, FS is friday so its all good.
told my boss today why i was having friday off and she was great! then she went on to tell about her mate whos just delivered her first at 46 after 7 years trying and through IVF with own eggs and sperm was finally succesful! Not that will go the ivf but nice to know it can be done
love stories like that!
AF arrived this morning but thats okay, after 5 months absence at least I know the clomid did something!
bring on a april BFP :yelclap:
Cathrine
17-03-2009, 20:27
Hi Ladies and welcome BGBG (I'm a lazy typist),
Hi Amy - sorry to hear about Dane's ill health but when he grows out of it, that will be a time of celebration !!! Not actually sure I want Oprah sitting on my lounge though. She's larger than life on just a small television. My meds giving out was a literal running out. I got some more yesterday morning.
Woo Vicki - that's fantastic. Still on your adventure! Lovely news that your boss is supportive.
My adventure is finished at the moment and I can't quite accurately express myself because as you know, I've already been censored by BH - lol. I had the ultrasound this morning and it was all good and the transfer was to be next week, but I received a call when I got back to work saying they've just noticed I had no more sperm left.
I was trying to stay reasonable during the call but when they said my file had been marked in September as nil left, I almost cried. I don't have access to my file and I can't believe that less than a week before the transfer and 6 months after someone put a zero in a particular column, they neglected to mention it to me. So the cycle is cancelled.
Anyway, I'm having a sook and will chat later.
Oh Cat, Am so sorry to read that!!! So I hope that means as it was their mistake you get another go later at their expense?? If not I would be pushing for it, after all that sort of thing should never happen as it would cause mental distress. many many :hugs: hun.
was it donor sperm? Or someone you know helping you out ? sorry if said...rather forgetful and clueless lol
how do you re stock the supplies :P
gawd, I can only imagine how you feel :kiss:
Tabby and Cathrine, thanks for making me feel welcome.
Tabby, it's good to know that your starting a new cycle. Sometimes the hope of knowing what might happen, rather than the dread of knowing when it mightn't (ie: when you know AF is coming) is better.
Cathrine, I dont know much of your story, but big hugs.
I'm home alone with my 4 as hubby is in US for work this week. Wouldn't you know it, the baby has been sick for 3 days and I have had about 10 hours sleep total over that time. I tried charting to work out when I ovulated but my temp fluctuated worse than the baby's over 3 nights! Right now I figure the last thing I want to be is pregnant (which I know is exactly when my body will decide it wants to be).
Bring on Saturday when DH returns and I can get some :sleeping:
Ah always the way when DH away something crops up! Hope the little one is feeling better soon and so are you with some sleep.
Plus youll be able to temp more accurately :yelclap:
bgbg, I find out on Friday how things went for the first round of Clomid with my fertility specialist re: ovulation etc
It looks like im peri menopause, hence the absent AF for 5 months pre clomid. so hopefully the clomid did the trick has kick started me.
Tis why I was happy with AF arrival. At least as wasnt pregnant its the next best thing. lol
First time ever been happy to see AF! TMI but shes a good one too, even had to take a nurofen last night.
Ill pop back Friday soon as I know xx
Ys_Woman
18-03-2009, 19:14
Cat: :hugs:Heads should roll over that debacle! It just plain sucks. So where does it put you for the next try?
Tabby: Blah that the witch has returned:hugs: but I understand it's a good indicator that your girly bits are working well which is the best news. Are you going to stick with the Clomid for the next few months?
Boygirlboygirl: Glad you're in posting with us..even if you are only a young pup:D. Sorry bub is crook for you at this time. They seem to pick the most inconvenient times to get sick don't they?
Mary: Give that gorgeous bubba another huggle and cuggle from me. How are you feeling lovely? Is your hubby back home yet?
I think we have a psychic in here. Vicki wondered if I would have probs with the entertainment unit and oh boy did I ever! It took three guys to carry it to my side door, but then it wouldn't fit through:banghead: so they dumped it and ran. The landlord came out to remove the sliding doors but unfortunately it still didn't give us enough space. So when dh got home we pulled it apart and reassembled it inside. Took roughly 5 hours and we are still sore even today, but guaranteed it's probably the only thing that would be left standing if we had an earthquake..lol.
Dane is much better. Down to six hourly ventolin and back to being his usual cheeky self (damn but that boy has my heart around his little finger). He can climb up a storm and even get back down by himself but is still not showing an interest in walking. But he is developing well in other ways. He has to know the ins and outs of anything electrical *fiddle fiddle fiddle*..open/shut/open/shut. Think we've bred a techo..lol.
Brittany's well. She's 18wks on Friday and counting the days til her next scan. Still not showing very much as happens with first bubs. She might pop down next month to sort out her stuff in the garage and take most of it back to QLD via removal truck. Can't say I wouldn't be thrilled to get the cars in by winter.
Best away. Very tired. Hope everyone is travelling along well tonight.:wave: to any of our spurious posters in the hope they come back in.
Hugs,
Amy: Lol oh no with the tv unit! Looks nice though I hope? Would want to after all that lol
Glad to hear Danes on the up and improving! :yelclap:
AF has been shall we say very inkind..but hopefully a good sign for a good clearout ready for a beany
I have the FS again Friday so not sure the plan..but he did give me enough scripts of clomid for 6 months so hopefully alls well and we will just keep taking it. Since AF arrival am feeling very chuffed, I was worried there for a bit clomid hadnt done anything so Im feeling positive its a good sign
Will let you know Friday :thumbsup:
Well everything is fine! There is still some eggs left in this old chook lol
FSH is down and ovarian reserves are all okay! Which is a awesome sign.
he said he will be surprised to see me back next month without my bfp
so happy to know alls well!
OH and the bloods showed I ovulated this month too which is more good news
Tabby, that is so wonderful! You'll be just like Recebba Gibney's character on Packed to the Rafters.
Life is so cruel to us women. We finally get comfortable in our skins, and then our bodies go and change on us. I panicked the other day when I read that one of the earliest signs of menopause is shortening of your cycle. Mine's shortened by 2 days in the past 10 years. Then I thought, I'm totally overreacting, its only 2 days!, but the possibility is scary.
I'm about 7dpo and have no real signs other than absolute exhaustion. But that could be attributed to DH returning (with a nice Tommy Hilfiger handbag for me:yelclap:) and my baby girl still unwell. I've always fallen pregnant the first month of trying, but for some reason I dont feel as confident this month. I know 40 is only a number, but I am quite afraid that it has already an effect on my fertility.
Cathrine
22-03-2009, 20:33
Hello Ladies, and go those girly bits! You crack me up Amy!
Hi Vicki, that's sensational news. Have to love those ovarian reserves. Tie your husband to the bed for the next few weeks.
I may have to skip this month for a run at it because I can't miss going to uni this time or I'm in serious trouble so I'll make a decision whenever my periods turn up.
Have to scat so will chat later.
Cathrine
bgbg: Maybe give it a couple of months ttc naturally and if you dont want to wait get to see a FS, least he can help you along your way sooner?
Some simple blood test will also let you see how your body is going with it all
I was amazed at ALL he could tell from them!
My dd was conceived 1st round clomid with my FS at 42 :thumbsup:. we had been ttc for 8 months with no luck so was very glad after I made the move. I had a lap and dye and he checked dh's sperm count and we were all clear so only needed a "boost" from the clomid
7dpo is only early for signs so hopefully still got that eggie! Am fingers crossed for you
Sorry cant cross toes for you at the moment tho am bd'ing to get our eggie haha
So hard to finger the "tired" sign when already have a little one which has us that way anyhow isnt it lol
I havnt watched packed to the rafters..Can you enlighten me on her please? :D
Am now cycle day7, day 2 of clomid and already DH has a glimmer in his eye hahha.
dd hasnt been her usual happy self today..hope shes not coming down with something and was just that she needed to poop! She does get a crank when she hasnt gone regular lol
so hopefully now her mood will improve!
Mary! Hows that georgous young man of yours? All settled in I hope
How is little Miss G with him?
Amy and Traci, Hope you both had a great weekend!
quitecontrary
23-03-2009, 08:31
Quick hello here my dears! Dh was meant to be back in the early hours of this morning ie his plane should've been one of the first after curfew at Kingsford Smith (thank god for curfew, can you tell we live close to the flight path?? Not noise affected luckily). But after a delay at heathrow everything is delayed and apparently he's coming in via Melbourne eeek.
We went down the coast for a few days - an interesting experience with the two bubs but fun, and G had a ball with all her Sydney cousins.
I have stopped crying quite so much but its so hard to think that Dh can't phone his Mum for a chat anymore. The funeral was on Saturday, so he has hardly had any time to even think it over, he flew out on Saturday night.
The added element of distress for Al and his siblings was organising to move his Dad into care - very traumatic really. My fil will be going into a dementia care home on Thursday - its all so awful. I feel so useless but I know if I cry it all out now I wont be quite so sad when Al gets home later today.
Toby is supposed to be asleep after yet another feed -but I keep hearing his little voice.
I will get back in the swing of things before too long I'm sure. I am so lucky with my two little ones, such a changing time for them too but they have been great.
Mary: Hope dh arrived home by now
Good to hear the little ones have been so good at this time for you. :hugs:
Amy: Hows Dane now? All 100% I hope.
Youve been rather quiet so hope its just cos youve been busy!
Cat: Sorry to hear your missing this month hun.
Ill be here with everything crossed for you for next month, hopefully I can cross more than fingers as long as I have my BFP lol
Would be lovely to have you get yours right after too so you can join me :kiss:
we could share everything on FB chat at night ! How cool would that be?
I was posting same time as you last post and didnt see yours!!!
Tracey: hows things with you love?
Nothing much here, Ovulation saturday or so, so we are uppping the bd now so little spermies are there and waiting!!! haha
Needless to say DH seems more happy than usual at the moment lol he loves this time of the month..Least he doesnt see it as a chore..
best away and finish my cooking roast beef :P
Ive been on a diet the last week so looking forward to it, with moderation of course as dont want to undo all my good!
Ive just ordered my 2nd week of lite and easy, they are soooo yummy! makes dieting so much easier to stick to.
Hi Vicki,
What they do with me is confirm that I've ovulated then supress my cycle so they have control of it. The injections are meant to get the follicles to a certain size and when they're happy with the size and quantity, I take the trigger which releases the eggs and then they collect them. With me they inject the egg with the sperm rather than just let them have a party in a petrie.
Cat
I forgot to ask..Is the the ICSI I read of with injecting the sperm into the egg? Seems a lot of IVF goes that way now
quitecontrary
24-03-2009, 18:37
Hello again.
I have just managed to put two little ones to bed, I can't say that they're asleep but at least it is quiet at the moment.
Dh is home, though he is back at work this evening. Poor old G couldn't believe it when she woke up from her nap and he wasn't here again.
I'm lucky this semester that the only evening dh is out is Tuesdays. I hope I get into a better routine with Genevieve, poor old Toby just copes with it all. She was being so silly over dinner, I think I'm going to have to give her a really early dinner in future, and have it all set up whilst she is napping.
Toby is such an easy going baby, which is just as well. I just thank my lucky stars that this is the case. I can't believe he's only 3 weeks old, so much has happened since he arrived in the real world.
bgbg Hello!! Sorry I haven't said welcome yet - just a bit busy in my little world. We conceived Toby when I was just over 40, I'd had a m/c about 3 months earlier, and was still b/f-ing Genevieve. I went and had a course of acupuncture - and that combined with dh taking mens multi vitamins, and zinc tablets seemed to do the job. I also had acupuncture over the first trimester, and in the last few weeks as well.
Cathrine
24-03-2009, 20:06
Hello Ladies, a wildly quick post as I have to finish an assignment and submit it, but Mary - how is your scar/infection problem? All better? Back later tonight.
Cat
quitecontrary
24-03-2009, 21:26
Cat - a quick one back - the scar lump thing is fine, and getting smaller. Thank goodness I didn't actually have an infection, its just a weird lump scar thing that is going to go away of its own accord. It was a relief to see my Ob and get his verdict on it.
Must make my 4-6 week post birth appt soon - can't believe Toby will be three weeks old tomorrow.
Now, we need another pg woman or two on this forum! Get to work!!
Mary: Sounds like what I had in my c-sec with the lump. It took ages to settle down and sometimes when I lay down I can still feel it. They said was just hardened scar tissue. Do hope it doesnt interfere with a VBAC for me
Last day of the clomid! Side affects have been pretty much 0! I did have a bit of a mood the first 2 days but that settled luckily lol
quitecontrary
25-03-2009, 17:39
Vicki - hope the clomid does the trick, along with your dh that is!! Fingers crossed for you this month too!
Dh is putting our daughter to bed, and she is crying out for more dinner, which is a common stalling technique that she hasn't realised has never worked. Toby of course is asleep in his cot in our room.
Did I tell you how pleased I am to have dh back home? He is all jet lagged tonight after going in to the office again today. Not sure if he's given himself a day at home tomorrow or not.
I suppose I should go to Little Miss in a few minutes, I think dh has just left her to her own devices.
Thanks Mary.
Yes DH is all geared up and ready to go!! lol
Not that we arent active there enough anyway but FS said to do the deed as much as possible just before and over Ovulation to up our chances as DH's sperm was 100% so no need hold back
Hope G managed to settle,
Its been a very hard few weeks for you both, hopefully things can settle down now and bask in the bliss of your new little man and of course little Miss G and having hubby home :hugs:
feeling good! Katie has slept through for the past 2 weeks which has been bliss.
No side affects from the clomid what so ever this round which is a plus!
Tracey, if your still reading, my side affects were minimal last round and next to none this round :) but its working so says my FS
I should ovulate in a couple of days given past history and OPK was darker than yesterday but still way off being the same or darker than control line, so looks like should be a good weekend lol
Not that am waiting till then, we have started already so there are some waiting there ready! :thumbsup:
Hope everyones well xxx
Cathrine
28-03-2009, 19:05
I'm watching Happy Feet - just gorgeous!
Hi Mary - good to hear about your tummy. Glad it was nothing serious. How is Toby and Miss G? How is dh feeling? I was in DJs this afternoon and they are having a massive sale on babies and children's wear so if you need anything, go and have a look. Mum and I had a great time playng around with all the cute outfits. I had to buy a present for a 3 year old boy which accounted for about 5% of all the stock. If you're buying for a girl, it's a dream.
Hi Vicki, how are you going? Do you know if you've ovulated yet?
Hi Amy - how are you and your clan.
Hope all are well.
Ciao
Cat
Hi Cat, Going by these pains and niggles I would say Ov is imminent. :yelclap:
Cathrine
28-03-2009, 22:27
Well what are you doing talking to me! Off with you - lol.
Cat
hahhaa gosh Cat, Im over it ! Weve been bding every day and some twice ! will again tonight and tomorrow then Im taking a break!
Hi there.
Thought I'd pop in and say Hi.....Thanks for remembering me!
All's well here, busy with work and school etc. etc.
The clomid sounds like great stuff! You are so tempting me Vicki!
I don't really want to do the lap and dye, suppose i could just try the clomid and see...Not sure yet.
Hope everyone's well, must go and feed the troops.
Tracey.:):)
Cathrine
30-03-2009, 21:24
Hi Tracey,
What is a lap and dye?
Cat
Cat, I can answer that one for you.
Tracey mentioned it because I suggested it for her based on what My FS did and recommended for me.
You are put under and they inject dye through your tubes to check for blockages via a camera inserted through your belly button so they can see how your tubes etc are
Mine even told him I was ovulating as there was evidence there. He even said he had lots of women fall pregnant immediately following a lap and dye, most likely as it flushes them out.
I fell pregnant the month after so it may have helped me too and not just the clomid
Hi girls, well I'm not up the duff this month (not that I thought I would be with DH away 3-4 days before ov) but got exhausted nauseous and achy from last Thu so thought, maybe?
No. I have the flu :dizzy:, bronchitis and gastro :barf:(how crap is the timing!) So am bed bound and patiently waiting for AF to show up (spotting started). It might as well come now and enjoy the party that is going on in my poor body.
Any luck with any of you ttc'ing?
On the plus side I get to enjoy my 40th next month without nausea!
quitecontrary
31-03-2009, 09:40
BGBG I felt the same when I turned 40 last year, we'd been trying but I was glad not to be pg as we had a big cocktail party and lots of other celebrations! Hope you get over your illnesses soon, sounds bl@@dy awful, you poor thing.
On the subject of birthdays, I turned 41 on Saturday and we had a lovely weekend of celebrations. We ended up cancelling the big family picnic on sunday afternoon, which was just as well as we were all exhausted - out to dinner at a very swish restaurant on Friday night (with the T-Man in the pram and G at home with her grandparents), dh worked on Saturday, then my big sis and the neighbourhood cousins came over for afternoon tea, then we all went out to a friends for a wine tasting party (T slept the whole time again and G was very well behaved!), Sunday saw brunch at my parents - thank goodness the picnic was canned for sunday afternoon!
It seem my FIL isn't settling in well to his new home (he is in care now). We are all hoping that he does, as the next step would be a pysch unit I think in a public hospital, which would be just awful. Its almost a week since he moved in so its early days, but the director of the place said he is very challenging. My poor sil is bearing the brunt of all this of course as she is the one that is kind-of nearby. Dh was very upset last night with the news, as you might imagine.
So, thats a bit of a catch up from me!
BGBG: Sorry to hear of AF arrival, Least you can enjoy your enjoy your 40th! All the best for the next month for you and hope your feeling better soon xx
Mary: Poor Dh, hes really getting it hard lately isnt he, hope things brighten up soon for you all xx
Happy Birthday for last week!!! :hugs:
Us, Nothing much here, am a few days past Ovulation so now the wait begins!
Hi tracey, Amy and Cat too!
Hi:wave:
Hope you don't mind me crashing/joining your thread. I don't know where I belong in BH land these days...lol
About me, well I am happily married for the 2nd time & told my Darling DH to come to me after we had been together for 10 years & that I would consider another child. He doesn't have any of his own. To save my last marriage I had my Tubes clamped at what I now consider to be a very young age. Anyway, It was me who was pushing for a 3rd child - DH is fully onboard with this decision & surprised that it was me wanting to have another.
So we thought with our GP's advice that IVF was the best option for us. I know that it works for lots of woman, but after a solid year & 4 failed cycles I couldn't take it anymore. I decided to have the Tubal Reversal operation in Dec 08, which according to my surgeon was a complete success. As he was taking me into theatre he tells me - "Oh by the way, you didn't ovulate last month!" But this can be sorted out.
So 3 months down the track from my op, I am now ovulating thanks to Metformin.
Hoping to get a BFP very soon, but trying not to obsess over it at the same time.
My family are very supportive, my friends think "Why" but I don't really care what they think. My DD who will be 20 this year, is my biggest supporter alond with her Step Dad. Actually both my kids don't think of him as the Step Parent...He is Dad and the best Dad to them.
Sorry for rambling, I have been a member & still am of the IVF thread but I really don't belong in there anymore. Have made some wonderful life long friends & hoping to make some more in this thread.
Hope you all have a great Thursday.
Hi Nae and welcome!!
Sorry to hear of the failed IVF's, heres hoping you get your BFP really soon on your own.
Where abouts are you in this cycle?
Ive just hit DPO land after round 2 of Clomid so am now in the TWW! Which is always so painfully slow.....
I conceived dd at 42 1st round clomid so am hoping this one doesnt take long too as am now 45!
Hi Tabby & thanks for the Welcome.
I am currently on day 24. My cycles are always between 28 to 30 days.
If I haven't fallen by next month, then I am back to my Doc's as he will then put me on Clomid along with the metformin. I thought he would of put me on Clomid already, but he likes the slow & steady wins the race. I'm all for that also, but the clock is ticking and patience has long run out..lol
TWW...Yes it is painfully slow. I used to find myself watching the clock somedays, or I would go to bed super early so it would be one day less. It's a stressful time, but hopefully a rewarding outcome for you.
I will be 40 in September & hoping for 2 more babies very close together, but will be very happy if I can have just one more if that's all I can get.
Do you test before AF arrives? I am usually very guilty of this. I normally would of tested a couple of times a day by now, but I am trying to be good. Hope that I can hold out & not test. But I probably will.
quitecontrary
02-04-2009, 12:24
Nae welcome welcome!! Always great to see someone new here! We're a small but friendly thread!! Good luck with your ttc journey! I hated talking about ttc-ing, and found the threads too intense, but I know I'm the odd one out in Bubhub land! You're only a whippersnapper - I'm sure you'll have your wish very soon!
Aarggh, things have gone from bad to worse for my FIL. He is now in the same psych unit he was in when we went over for Christmas in 2007. I'm just hopeful he can get his meds sorted out and back into the home that he had just moved into. Its just all so daunting for dh and his siblings - well mainly his sis, his brother is a useless git most of the time.
Apart from that all is well here. T is sleeping and it seems G is just carrying on in her room which is a popular afternoon past-time these days, followed by being put to bed at 6pm if she doesn't actually remember how to nap.
Mary: Sorry to fil is not faring well, hopefully they can sort things out again for him.
Nae: wow your a stronger woman than I hun! I am what you call a POAS ADDICT..lol
I got my positive with DD from 8dpo so usually Im there with stick in hand at 7dpo onwards, so i would have tested MANY times by now if in your shoes lol
Hope you get your wish soon :hugs:
oops April! Am off to start the April-June thread
See yous there!
http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?t=248060