View Full Version : Parents with Prams parking

bigglet
25-05-2006, 13:34
I love the Parents with Prams parking!! :thumbsup: Especially the ones which are larger than normal carspaces which makes it easier to get the pram out and baby out.

However don't you just HATE it when you see people parking in these spaces when they obviously don't have a child let alone a pram (no child seat in car etc).... :banghead:

If you saw someone without a pram/children park in these spaces would you say something to them?

25-05-2006, 13:38
No I wouldn't say anything. Its just not worth it. It's a pain, but hey I can use that extra 100m walk anyways!! :rolleyes: :laughing:

It does annoy me though.....

EskimoMumma
25-05-2006, 13:41
I love the parents with prams, especially when youve had a long day and so cant be biothered going through a shopping centre let alone wlak the few extra metres

but most days i walk far from the entrance to get that bit more excersise lol

Foxy
25-05-2006, 13:44
I am too much of a wuss to say anything to someone's face, but I have left a note on someone's car! :o It was a young guy in a ute, who arrived at the same time as me, so I thought, well maybe he will be five minutes. When I came back around 2 hours later, he was still there, so I left a polite note!

jemma's dad
25-05-2006, 13:45
Have to agree that I love it, it is one of the best things thought of for parking I think. I also find handy because of my knee, it allows me enough room to get in and out of the car comfortably, have the pram beside the car rather than beside it, much safer, and it nice and close.

I have made rather rude comments to people on seeveral occasions, and just get the reaponse like oh, i didn't realise, or oh, i am just going to be here for a moment. I have had to convince DW not to key a car one day, we were waiting for a family to back out of the car park, and once they were out, a person who i wont describe here, jumped into the carpark with his hotted up car and just walked into the shops. Not happy to say the least.:mad:

IS there any policing on them like disabled car parks, or is just an honesty type system that those without prams don't park there??

Sorry for :ecomcity: , its one of my pet hates

Aaron

25-05-2006, 13:48
IS there any policing on them like disabled car parks, or is just an honesty type system that those without prams don't park there??

Parents with prams parking is not a legal requirement. They are just there as a courtesy to the customers. Unfortunately. :(

Ana Gram
25-05-2006, 13:51
It doesn't really bother me to be honest. The first mark on our car from someone opening their door and hitting it with something like a trolley was while we were in one of these parks. Really put me off parking in them now.

MonkeyMum05
25-05-2006, 13:57
I love the pram parks... I am really bad at parking our huge tank of a fricken car... so the wide spaces make my life much easier!

...and yes, it really ****es me off when they are taken up by childless people...

25-05-2006, 13:58
My FIL went to park in a Parent's park the other day and their was a guy sitting their writing tickets. He said to the guy hey why you writing me a ticket and the guy said so FIL moved his car cause he didn't realise it was a parents park!

PhAnToM
25-05-2006, 14:08
I hate this too.

In all honesty, we get rid of prams BEFORE we get rid of car seats. So really, it is quite obvious that if a car does not have a child seat, then there is no pram. And the pram isn't really the main issue. The purpose is for parents who have to get their little children out and therefore need the extra room to open the doors wider, for safer unloading.

We always had problems with utes and 2-seater sports cars parking in those parking spots at out shopping centre. Now during the busier hours, they actually have secrity staff with those fluoro posts, standing policing the spots. They put a post there when somebody leaves and only removes it for parents with children in the car, to enter and park. Makes like MUCH easier for mothers, i must say.
Very impressed that they decided it was worth the money to spend for 2 people to man the parking spots for parents! :thumbsup:

catalicious
25-05-2006, 14:22
I must admit I always say something to them. And I think that they should all be policed!! Why have them if you arnt going to enforce it

I mean they would be the first to complain if there cars got a scratch or mark on them cause our doors need to be opened wider.

Out here though people normally just get into an arguement with you about it they feel no remorse at all..... Probably half the spots all the time are taken by people that dont need them, and with my 4 yo and the pram I dont want to have to walk longer near the road than I have too.

But thats not the only thing that annoys me about the shopping centres. Out here at Mac Square cause it all new and big and stuff its always busy.

The lift down one end is right next to the escalators but yet there are always young school kids playing in the lift and you normally cant fit in with the pram because of this..... It really annoys me, when they could use the escalators.:mad: :banghead:

bigglet
25-05-2006, 14:46
Oh yeah that's another pet peeve as well - when you need to use the lift and the people in the lift don't move for you and sometimes give you the look as if you're being annoying because you have a pram!! Argh!!!:banghead:

Lut - where is this great shopping centre?! :thumbsup:

k15s
25-05-2006, 14:51
Also to do with parking -
I hate when people park their cars in spots where you aren't supposed to. Like when they think "well there isn't a spot marked here, but my car will fit". :shame: Well, helloooooooo, it's not marked for a reason! I drive a large 4wd and on sooo many occasions have been tempted to use either my bullbar or towbar to show people why there is no car spot where they have their car! Instead I'm a good girl and do a 150 point turn (or reversal) to get out.
And don't even get me started on all the stroller issues...... :mad: :mad: :mad:

PhAnToM
25-05-2006, 14:54
Bigglet- it's Watergardens (Sydenham area for those who don't know this side).
Shame the shoopping centre doesn't have more shops really. But they are extending. Even to do our supermarket shopping, it's great to have a good chance of decent parking.

I don't park in there if i don't have DS with me. If I go with DD (hasn't used a pram or stroller in almost 18 months), I don't park in parents with prams, in case someone who does have a baby and pram needs it.

I have asked someone to move before.
A) she had a teenager, no kids.
B) I was indicating for that parking spot but was cut off (by ard car)
C) most importantly, it was pouring with rain and didn't see why i should risk my little man getting sick.

She was nice though. She apologised and got back in the car and moved for me. :thumbsup:

angelickaren
25-05-2006, 14:54
hi i got abused by another lady who was waiting for my park she only saw me my mum and my nanna( but josh mind you this was like 8 yrs ago) josh was in the back off the car as i had put him in before she came and the car i had back then when i bought it had quite dark tinting and you could not see very well in to the back of the car so this lady was going off at me when i drove past her, Her window was down and i could hear some of the words which was not so nice now i was having a bad day mind you so the last thing i needed was this women abusing me for no reason and i said to my mum i not going to stand for this so i reversed back to her car and i had electric windows josh was on her side for her to see him so i yelled out at her what the hell is this and pointed to josh and you should have seen her face :smiliedance: she looked so nervous and embaressed and i said to her maybe next time you should not be so quick to judge and drove off i felt so good about it because people just go off for no reason and she was very wrong so i dont really know if i would tell someone off for parking their but its more for the bigger parks then anything else

Madi
25-05-2006, 14:59
I rarely use the pwp carparks, there are always plenty of parks where I shop. Sometimes you need to be careful making judgements, writing notes, or abusing people that park in them though.

One of our first outings with bub, we parked in a pwp spot. As we were just about to leave, I had to go to the parents room to change bub, and hubby decided to take the shopping out to the car. When I came out to the car there was a couple with a child yelling obcenities at my husband for parking in a pwp spot. Because we had a capsule at the time, there was no carseat visable in the car. The woman had put a DIRTY NAPPY yucky side down in the middle of our bonnet as a 'punishment'. :mad:

I have a question though, do you think it's ok to park in a elderly parking spot if you are a mum with a kid and visa versa? I think yes, and have done so, but was recently abused by a scary old lady!

Madi.

Ana Gram
25-05-2006, 15:20
One of our first outings with bub, we parked in a pwp spot. As we were just about to leave, I had to go to the parents room to change bub, and hubby decided to take the shopping out to the car. When I came out to the car there was a couple with a child yelling obcenities at my husband for parking in a pwp spot. Because we had a capsule at the time, there was no carseat visable in the car. The woman had put a DIRTY NAPPY yucky side down in the middle of our bonnet as a 'punishment'. :mad:

That is disgusting!

juliek
25-05-2006, 15:21
I have a confession....... before I was pregnant, dh and I use to hate the parents parking, we would B**ch 'why do they get special privledges? there only going here to drink coffee, get the kids happy meals and talk to all the other mum's. We're here to spend money, where are the DINK's car parks, hell, we should get a full concierge service' (we never parked in them tho)
We don't think like that anymore. lol :laughing:
Now if I see someone in one who shouldn't be, I don't hold back. One of my favorite lines is "Hey *insert expletive here* , I realise you must have the inteligence of a two year old to park where your not ment to be, but if you don't move your car, your gonna have fun trying to get a steaming nappy out of your exhaust pipe.' they tend to look at you kinda shocked, take one step away from their car, then turn around and move it. :laughing: :laughing:

Madi
25-05-2006, 15:23
That is disgusting!

Yes, I must say I wasn't impressed. :thumbsdown: We didn't even get an apology.

SammyD
25-05-2006, 15:42
Funny you should post this thread! On the weekend DH & I were out shopping and he was eyeing off a PWP parking spot...I told him that no, despite being pregnant & having ligament pain, we didn't qualify for the spot! Glad we didn't take it now....dirty nappies...eeeewww!!

*Chels*
25-05-2006, 15:44
I went to Westfield to meet friends for lunch one day.It was RAINING and i mean torrential rain!!i parked ages away and sat in car and waited a bit in case it stopped raining,but wondering what to do coz i didnt want DS getting soaked!!
Then I saw a PWP spot come up so I reversed out and raced to the spot.
Some ***** got there first!!I was so angry so I waited,as she got out-no kids there!!!I wound down my window and scream"have you got as pram?"
she goes"ive got a paraplegic lady"
WTF???I yell "thats what disabled parks are for" gave her a dirty look and sped off.
Usually i wouldnt care tooooo much but i had just driven past like 20 EMPTY disabled spots!!I didnt park there so why the hell would she just park in the PWP!!!
:mad: :banghead: :mad: :banghead:

k15s
25-05-2006, 15:44
Yes, I must say I wasn't impressed. :thumbsdown: We didn't even get an apology.

If someone did that to me and didn't apologise AND clean it off you can bet it'd be laying charges through the cops! That's soooo disgusting. Surely it'd be assault or even assault with a deadly weapon! (I know the ones my DS's do are!)

uptheduff
25-05-2006, 16:10
I reckon they should put the parent's with prams parks further away from the shops! I think the biggest factor in people without babies taking them, is that they are the most convenient. And TBH, i'd be happy to walk for an extra couple of minutes to get a wider park, so i can get my boys out easier (and park easier lol)

k15s
25-05-2006, 16:16
I reckon they should put the parent's with prams parks further away from the shops! I think the biggest factor in people without babies taking them, is that they are the most convenient. And TBH, i'd be happy to walk for an extra couple of minutes to get a wider park, so i can get my boys out easier (and park easier lol)

Totally agree. I mean it's great 'cause when it's raining they're close, but they don't have to be THAT close. I too love the wider spaces. Maybe they should make every park that wide...lol! Would stop car doors being opened on each other, and those that just can't park to save themselves! Although then we'd all be complaining that we can never find parks because they don't provide enough! Can't win.

bigglet
25-05-2006, 16:17
oh wow.... saying something to someone is one thing but that dirty nappy thing is just disgusting. :shame:
What kind of behaviour does this send to our kids?

tyhleigha & izaiah's mum
25-05-2006, 16:19
i went shopping the other night and we couldnt get a parenting park so we parked a fair way from the entrance and when we walked past the car park theres a lady sitting in here car no babies no nothing smoking. my mum went over to her and said "excuse me love but you shouldnt be parking here its for parents with prams" the lady turned around and went right off her head man it was funny:laughing: mum just laughed and walked away

LeighC
25-05-2006, 16:36
Do you think it is OK for a very preggie person to use the spots? Just wondering as I didn't use them but I was so huge at the end of the pregnancy that it was a real problem getting in and out of the car in tight spaces and I must admit I thought about using one. There was one day where I had to crawl across from the passenger side because someone had parked too close to the driver's door. Must have looked hilarious and I was stuffed by the time I finally got in.

NZMama
25-05-2006, 20:21
I agree with up the duff, I too would walk a little further to get a wider park. But it depends as in some shopping centres the parents parks are under cover and the others are not, this is a big deal for me when your rushing your child into the car and standing in the rain as you buckle your child in. When they are closer to the shops they tend to have shelter provided.
I believe that they should be policed as the disabled ones, otherwise there is no point in having them.

But please think first before abusing someone. My partner was also abused while outside sitting on the bonnet of our car. There was no carseat in the car as I had our newborn DD in her capsule with me in the mall. I came out of the mall and saw a woman accosting my partner calling him a lier, so I approached her introducing myself and my daughter and asked that she get her facts right next time, it was not a plesant experience.

The dirty nappy thing is borderline assault! How gross!

mum33
25-05-2006, 21:02
Do you think it is OK for a very preggie person to use the spots? Just wondering as I didn't use them but I was so huge at the end of the pregnancy that it was a real problem getting in and out of the car in tight spaces and I must admit I thought about using one. There was one day where I had to crawl across from the passenger side because someone had parked too close to the driver's door. Must have looked hilarious and I was stuffed by the time I finally got in.

i think that pregnant women should use them. i too almost couldnt get into my car when 8 months (and very large) and the car beside me parked too close and i had to climb over from the passenger seat with my enormous belly.

but we dont have any PWP in both of my two most local shopping centres so PWP isnt a priviledge to me. :(

Tam-I-Am
25-05-2006, 21:30
I had never even heard of parents with prams parks before this thread.
You people must be spoiled (or I must live in a hick town. Come to think of it, I do live in a hick town. But still - you guys must be spoiled! :laughing: )

Lunar
25-05-2006, 21:38
I managed (to my shock!) to score a PWP parking the other week. I pulled up and started unloading when a man walked up to the BIG 4WD next to me and got in.... no car seats in the back and no child OR PRAM for that matter! So i just looked at him and shook my head. He then said to me "Don't shake your head at me! I've got triplets coming in like 5 minutes!!!!!"
I said, "well their not here are they?!?!? And I don't park in PWP when I don't have my children with me. And if they are coming in 5 minutes, why are you standing here and not there for their arrival, great Dad you are already!"
He then said "I don't have to justify myself to YOU!!!"
I then replied with "Well, when you go out with you triplets and can't find a PWP park because of ignorant PIGS (I used another not so polite word here) like YOU without children are taking up all the spots DON"T WHINGE!!!!"
He then sat in his car talking on his phone for another 10 minutes!
So much for his triplets arriving in 5 minutes!
And he didn't even have any sign of a single car seat/capsule in the back seat!
You'd think if you were about to have triplets, you'd be prepared!
:mad: :mad: :mad: :mad:

Lunar
25-05-2006, 21:51
I think verbally abusing people is going a bit far if they park in a pwp.
I'm usually too busy with DS to even notice who is parking in those spots anyway.
If I get one - great, if not, no skin off my nose....I'm not going to watch who goes in and out of the spots, I've got better things to do with my time

All I did was shake my head then he starting shouting at me.....
i'm not the kind of person who stands for that! I felt I had to say something to defend myself. It just ticks me when there are only 7 PWP spots at the shopping centre and normally only like 2 cars with car seats in them. I have 2 children to get out and into a pram so I need the extra space on both sides. When I only had 1 child I wouldn't care wher I parked, I'd just park a little more to the right so I had more room on the left.

Lunar
25-05-2006, 22:24
Sorry Emysmum, I was saying this comment in general...not directed at you specifically.

What happened all those years ago when they didn't have PWP spots - our parents seemed to get along ok with out them? Same as parents rooms - yes they do make our life easier, but I don't think they are a necessity.

I often have 2 children with me (DS's cousin) and it would be nice to park in a PWP spot all the time, but, it just doesn't happen

I know they didn't have them years ago but i really do think that parking spots have become smaller over the years so they can fit more spots in. JMO.

SamanthaJane
25-05-2006, 22:24
If they really do not need the parking space i would say something (e.g. perhaps they are disabled and theres no disabled parking left?)

onabreak
25-05-2006, 22:51
It really annoys me when I seen people parking in these car parks. The other day I went to the shops with DH and DD and we were able to get a parents with prams parking and then the guy next to us is loading his work truck up with groceries in the parents with prams car park. Like how rude is that. My DH says to me I wonder where his baby is......... in his tool box. Some people just don't give a sh#t any more. Now I really wish I had said something. I reckon 9 out of 10 times in the last week I have seen people in the car parks that do not have a child. People are just getting lazier and can't be bothered walking an extra 50mtrs to the shop entrance.

MissBrightside
25-05-2006, 22:57
The spots in my shops are too small. I have a few dints in my car doors where other people have opened their doors into my car! I hate this too as I always take care not to hit someone elses car! So I dont park in them anymore, I try and get a spot a bit further away and sometimes take up 2 spots. I know this might be a bit rude but the spots are so tight and its hard getting 2 kids out from each side. Sometimes I get my 3 yo to climb over.
I remember one time I parked in a PWP spot and this woman in the park next to me was changing her little boy in the back of her car, with her trolley resting on the side of my car. I said "are you right" to her and she goes "I made sure it didnt bang into your car". I dont really care, lean it on your own car!

k15s
26-05-2006, 07:57
I remember one time I parked in a PWP spot and this woman in the park next to me was changing her little boy in the back of her car, with her trolley resting on the side of my car. I said "are you right" to her and she goes "I made sure it didnt bang into your car". I dont really care, lean it on your own car!

Now that's rude! I came back to my car one day just weeks after having DS1 and was flat out lift the stroller into the car. Because of this I parked in a spot at the end of the row so I could take my time and have some room getting DS into his seat too. When I got back everyone had decided that the trolley bay was too far away and so that proceeded to put all their empty trolley beside my car! On DS's side of course! And there was sooo many that they went all the way from the boot to the front passenger's door! And I drive a 4wd! Lots! Not only did I have to squeeze my fat self and DS between them to load him, but I also had to lift my 14kg stroller OVER all of them to swing it around the back of my car and into the boot! NOT IMPRESSED! :banghead:

Sarie
26-05-2006, 08:26
I was abused when I parked in a parents with prams car park, though I was 3days over due with DS1 had muscle seperation and could barely walk.
The person who abused me was sitting in a car parked in a disabled car park, no disabled sticker on the car and was quite healthy. This person was still sitting there when I returned to my car after only going to the chemist.
I've also seen a woman park in at parents with prams car park and take her pram into the shops to buy something then come back to the car... no sign of a baby with her! I was gobbsmacked.

catalicious
26-05-2006, 08:40
I went out shopping last night with my dad and family and there where people parking in there.

And because I had only just gotton off here I told them I have just gotton offline talking to people who say there will not shop here.......I made it sound like we are all locals.......if they dont at least try to enforce it.

I mean sometime when I have missed out for some a$$hole, security have watched them do it or even had a big chat with them cause they are mates.

It really gets to me, oh and the whole pregnant people parking in the spot thing I wouldnt mind, just as I wouldnt mind if a disabled person parked there provided there wasnt a million disabled spots next to them.

ButterflyKisses
26-05-2006, 08:52
I haven't read through all the posts so I don't know if anyone has commented about Parramatta Westfield. They have a separate section of about 50 or so Parents with Prams parking in the Campbell St entrance plus others scattered throughout the rest of the parking areas.

I usually try and find a spot in the 50 or so in the Campbell St entrance and people without children are notorious for parking in there and it really gives me the hebbie gebbies - if I see someone doing it I usually just give them *the look*. One of these days I'll pluck up some courage to say something to one of them because it's just not right and they are just too lazy to find parking elsewhere.:mad:

k15s
26-05-2006, 09:30
I've also seen a woman park in at parents with prams car park and take her pram into the shops to buy something then come back to the car... no sign of a baby with her! I was gobbsmacked.

Why would you bother?! It would take more effort to get the stroller out than to walk the little bit further! Weirdos!

Percy
26-05-2006, 10:44
I love the parking when you can get it. I have a pretty bulky pram so the extra room is great.

I do get annoyed when people park there, but i wouldnt say anything, id be worried id come back and find my car had been keyed.

My DH gets so fired up about it though, that i really have to restrain him from saying anything.

Sarie
26-05-2006, 10:46
Why would you bother?! It would take more effort to get the stroller out than to walk the little bit further! Weirdos!
I know! It takes me half an hour to get my pram to fold let alone put it up!

twins+another
28-05-2006, 10:33
As a mother of twins in a huge pram, this is one of my main pet peeves but until shopping centres realise the income streams provided by mums with prams, and do something to enforce the spots, inconsiderate wan*ers will keep doing it.

Will
30-05-2006, 14:42
When i was preg, i thought the parks were the best idea!!!! And it annoyed me when ppl parked there with out kids way before i had one lol. I always thought the less distance a mum has to walk with her stroller with bub and a three year through a carpark with crazy drivers the better. Who wants to walk a young child or children through a car park when so many people fly through them!! But now i live in Bundaberg and havent yet seen a pram park, would love to see them tho!! It also really annoys mewhen ppl park really close to the passanger sideof the carwhen it is obvious there is a baby seat right there!!!! fair enough some ppl wouldnt notice, but it still annoys the c*** out of me lol

30-05-2006, 14:58
You know what really annoys me the ppl that have the carseat in their car but no child with them at that point in time and yet they still park in the parents with prams parking! You would think they would know better!:shame:

RedPanda
30-05-2006, 15:11
I am such a stickler for the rules! I would be tempted to confront someone, but probably wouldn't have the guts when it came down to it! I must confess though, I have parked in a PWP spot. I was with my grandmother, and she can't walk very far, and for some reason, the seniors car parks are much further away from the centre than the PWP spots. She couldn't walk very fast, and it takes her ages to get out of the car, so I couldn't just drop her off at the door and block the traffic so I parked in PWP. She has a disabled sticker, but the disabled parks were taken (there's never many of those - and they ALWAYS get taken by able-bodied people). That's my justification!!!!:o

arthursmum
30-05-2006, 18:05
What if you have your little baby in a baby sling? Is it still kosher to use the family car spaces?
I've been tempted to when there were quite a few 'pram' car spaces available but didn't actually use one of them..(catholic guilt:laughing: )

I hope that i would have the guts to say something to a 'non-entitled' person if they looked like they wouldn't punch me or bubba
You could always let the tyres down but that just means that they'll take up the car space for longer, doh!

30-05-2006, 18:06
What if you have your little baby in a baby sling? Is it still kosher to use the family car spaces?
I've been tempted to when there were quite a few 'pram' car spaces available but didn't actually use one of them..(catholic guilt:laughing: )

If you have a child that still uses a child seat in your car then I think it is totally appropriate to use the parking, pram or not!;)

arthursmum
30-05-2006, 18:12
Cheers Oscar's Mum!

PhAnToM
30-05-2006, 18:32
I agree Oscar's mum!
I don't think it's the point of the pram, so much as if you have a child seat, you need to open the doors wider to get kids in and out without knocking them about.

They probably should be marked "Cars with carseats" instead.

30-05-2006, 18:34
They probably should be marked "Cars with carseats" instead.

That is very true! But definately have to add in that the child seat must contain a child on that paticular shopping visit! As I said previously I have seen too many park their cars in the parents with pram parking that have a child seat in the car but no child!:mad:

Jackson84
30-05-2006, 20:11
i think it should be "parent with children - in utero and born" :)

i mean, i don't need to be close tot he shops - that's why i have a pram. but a heavily pg woman? yup, she needs that close spot more than i do.

arthursmum
31-05-2006, 01:27
i think it should be "parent with children - in utero and born" :)

i mean, i don't need to be close tot he shops - that's why i have a pram. but a heavily pg woman? yup, she needs that close spot more than i do.

Yes to more spaces for fat mammas!!:D
it's sooooooooooooo hard getting in and out with a great big tummy, don't miss that AT ALL!

31-05-2006, 07:58
it's sooooooooooooo hard getting in and out with a great big tummy, don't miss that AT ALL!

Someone said once that NZ has pregnant women parking!

tommylu
08-06-2006, 11:06
I once confronted a woman in a convertable(sp?) parking in a parents with prams spot ! we both got there at the same time so i put my window down and said,excuse me you cant park there you dont even have kids !?! i have a car load of them so can you pls move your car !? she looked at me,my kids,got out of her car and walked away !!!!!:no: :banghead: SOME PEOPLE !!!

In South America they have pregnant women parking! and lots of them ! LOL

08-06-2006, 11:11
I want a sticker on my car that says "PREGGO ON BOARD"

Because the amount of idiots who park soooooooooooo close to my doors, like it's big enough for a normal person to get in, but for someone who has to open the door, sit down, swing the legs in then close the door it's impossible!
the idiot in the Faux-Wheel-Drive who parked next to me at indro the other day *shakes fist* I really felt like opening my door up and smacking the car but I thought "No no... do unto others..."

suemp
08-06-2006, 11:50
i'll prob cop some flack here but i think at some shops theres way to much parking with pram spaces and not enough disabled parking. its so much easier getting a baby out and into a pram then getting a disabled person into a wheelchair:rolleyes:

Smurfette
08-06-2006, 12:00
I haven't read all the posts so far, but if I don't have my pram or I'm not using it, I will still use one of those parks if I can get one ( which isn't often) and YES, both myself and my partner (gotta love it) will make someone aware if they are using one of those spaces without children.

tommylu
08-06-2006, 12:26
i'll prob cop some flack here but i think at some shops theres way to much parking with pram spaces and not enough disabled parking. its so much easier getting a baby out and into a pram then getting a disabled person into a wheelchair:rolleyes:

I must say i agree !

bigglet
18-06-2006, 13:14
I think it's more of a :thumbsdown: if an abled person uses a disabled carpark - it's a bit like stealing from the elderly or the poor... it's just a bit nastier!
Although I think it is actually illegal if you do park in a disabled spot without a permit and can get a fine..... interesting though - I've seen a few people park in a disabled spot with a legit permit on their car and walk out fine!

I was frustrated yesterday though because I was at the local shopping centre and couldn't find a park and all the PWP car parks were mostly taken by people without prams or kids (I saw a few pull into them and they had no kids or babies with them!) and I was a bit cross because I'm still trying to get used to the whole juggling getting out this huge pram out in tiny car spaces! The other thing that annoyed me was seeing some young people take the senior car spaces..... grrrrr :banghead:
Unless of course they were actually seniors with some magical foundation of youth :p

18-06-2006, 13:45
Today I was down at the shops and was parked in the parents parking. Whilst I was getting DS back into his car seat this couple walks up and proceeds to jump into the car next to me that was also parked in the parents parking.

So anyway I said to them do you realise that you are parked in the pram parking! The lady just turned her nose up at me and said 'yeah, so'! I couldn't believe it! Very rude and it made me rather angry!:mad:

bigglet
18-06-2006, 14:22
yeah some people can be so rude especially when they are in the wrong! That so frustrates me!!! :banghead:

babytoo
18-06-2006, 15:06
I'm not being rude or disrespectful but some and I mean some people manage to get disabled passes and I have no idea how?? They park and then just get out walking perfectly normal...

Anyway, I do find it hard getting out with bubs, pram and a 3 year old so the extra width of pram parks is great...I have had several run ins with people though

One day I parked in a pram park and a silly old woman came out yelling at me...saying shame on you, shame on you...she thought I had parked in a disabled. WhenI pointed it out to her she wouldnt listen and just kept saying shame shame shame...I was so angry..

Another time a young man zoomed up into a pram park, my mum hard words with him but again he wouldnt listen, locked his car and continued on his merry way.

I don't think the issue is having to have pram parks close to the shops etc like with the disabled parks...I would be happy if they were in the middle of the parking lot or whatever, a walk is ok for us with prams...but the disabled do deserve the parks closer.

suemp
18-06-2006, 15:38
in re to disabled parking they are not all based on your ability to walk. it could be that you have a heart or breathing condition and that long walks are too much on you and so fourth.

sam's mum
18-06-2006, 18:05
I agree, a friend of mine was having chemo and to look at her you would have thought she was ok. She could walk, but it really took it out of her and she could not walk far at all, which was why she had that parking permit.

bigglet
18-06-2006, 19:19
ahhh ok thanks for clearing that up re disabled spots :thumbsup:

Actually I agree that it's not the distance re PWP spots that I'm concerned about - it's just great that they have extra room to have the pram out and be able to get baby in and out. Sometimes I park very far away where the car parks are empty so as to get the extra room but of course if it is raining then it would be nicer not to have to walk that far away with a pram. :)