View Full Version : Baby Guard for TV/Entertainment unit...where can I get one?

Lil07
01-01-2009, 11:48
Just wondering if anyone has a Baby Guard for their TV/Entertainment unit to stop bub from getting up to mischief.

We have a standard timber entertainment unit which has our DVD player and our iPod dock in it with the TV ontop. Now that our little lady is crawling, she keeps yanking the iPod out of the dock and playing with the buttons on the DVD player.

Anyone recommend a good baby guard? If so, where can I purchase one?

Thanks in advance :)

missie_mack
01-01-2009, 11:55
We have a plastic shield that covers the bottons and clicks up at the bottom. It still allows us to use our remotes but cannot touch the buttons without lifting the cover.

Dunno if it would be anygood for the ipod dock but works well on the set top box where we rarely touch the buttons. Think we paid $15 for it at babys galore, spotlight also had them but it was more expensive. Toys r us had them for the best price but they were sold out :)

Lil07
01-01-2009, 11:58
Awesome. Thanks heaps! Will have a look and see if it's going to suit the iPod.

Thanks again! :thumbsup:

RaryGirl
01-01-2009, 13:31
We have a plastic shield that covers the bottons and clicks up at the bottom. It still allows us to use our remotes but cannot touch the buttons without lifting the cover.

Dunno if it would be anygood for the ipod dock but works well on the set top box where we rarely touch the buttons. Think we paid $15 for it at babys galore, spotlight also had them but it was more expensive. Toys r us had them for the best price but they were sold out :)

ooh ... can you please tell me the brand ... even post a picture of the actual one you are talking about. We've been searching for months for something to stop DS getting into all the electronic gadgets. :o

missie_mack
01-01-2009, 13:40
I actually tried to download pictures earlier for lil but it would seem I am having some technical difficulties :o But hopefully this will be ok
Dreambaby Shield (http://www.dreambaby.com.au/scripts/prodView.asp?idproduct=53)

It took us a longtime to find one too Nic and we considered cutting some perspex to do the job... which may be better for the ipod?

zenifa
01-01-2009, 13:46
We never heard of nor could find a baby guard when we needed one with DD1 - we just put our coffee table in front of it and it seemed to work, til she learnt not to touch it herself.

RaryGirl
01-01-2009, 13:46
Thank you so much!!!! I'm off to get one tomorrow ... DS drives me insane with ejecting the dvds and then "posting" them around the house :hair: Of course he then chucks a tanti if we can't find Mickey Mouse to put it back on .... *sigh* ... I would have a boy with an obsession with electronic gadgets and posting stuff. :rolleyes:

RaryGirl
01-01-2009, 13:50
We never heard of nor could find a baby guard when we needed one with DD1 - we just put our coffee table in front of it and it seemed to work, til she learnt not to touch it herself.

ROFL I tried that ... DS used that as a great step to get better access to the dvd. :laughing:

He's finally learnt not to touch the all the gadgets in the family room, but the playroom, he seems to think it's fair game :( He broke the eject function on the Wii by shoving dvds in there all the time.

Sorry to hijack your thread Lil.

missie_mack
01-01-2009, 13:54
ROFL I tried that ... DS used that as a great step to get better access to the dvd. :laughing:

Mine too :rolleyes: All kids are different though. My inlaws hang (literally) a gate on a rope over the top of their staircase to prevent DHs nephews from going down stairs and were horrified when DS (who was only just 1 at the time) lifted it and went under it as the nephews never even tried that....

Lil07
01-01-2009, 14:38

He's finally learnt not to touch the all the gadgets in the family room, but the playroom, he seems to think it's fair game :( He broke the eject function on the Wii by shoving dvds in there all the time.

Sorry to hijack your thread Lil.

ha, ha no worries :laughing:

I think I'm going to have to look around for a bigger screen or guard as our iPod dock sits under our entertainment unit so I need something big enough to cover it up without blocking out the sound.

Thanks so much though missie mack! :)