View Full Version : Wet Bub in the morning!
Help! I use Huggies nappies on my little boy who is almost 8 months old. He has "slept" all night since 8 weeks without a feed etc but in the last week or so when he wakes in the morning his nappy is very full and has often started to leak on his clothing.
Any ideas for solutions would be appreciated. I am avoiding changing him at night as this would wake him up too much.
*~Jaz's Mum~*
25-05-2006, 12:07
Hi! Would you consider changing to modern cloth just for nights? I used to use disposables on my DD at night (but cloth during the day) and she used to out wee any disposable I could find. I haven't had a single leak when using modern cloth at night, and it's been around 8 months now. DD is a heavy wetter and she sleeps for 13 hours!
Just something to think about anyway ;)
Briswegian
25-05-2006, 12:21
I found with huggies I needed the next size up so that it would fit my DS. He is a big wetter! I've also used babylove which are a bigger nappy and found them to be good and atm i have woolies black and red home brand nappies on him and no leaks.
25-05-2006, 12:23
I did the same. I use Greenkids on MJ at night & have NEVER had a leak since we worked them out. THey last 13hrs no worries :thumbsup:
cjb/jbvd
25-05-2006, 12:26
going to sound a bit strange, but have you considered putting in an ultrathin ladies panty liner??
alternatively, if first option is bit out there for you, leave bub in just a nappy and put a disposable change mat over a matress protector. this will soak up any leaks in the night.
I went to the next size up at night & I also grabbed a packet of Bebe Nappy Mates (they r like a pad that you put into there nappy) $3.99 for 20(i think)
FourAngelKisses
25-05-2006, 12:31
I was going to suggest the nappy mates too, I used to use them on my oldest and they were great.
25-05-2006, 12:38
Perhaps if you didn't want to completely swap to cloth nappies for night, what about using a cloth nappy 'hemp booster' in the disposable which will pretty much guarantee no leaks too!
25-05-2006, 14:30
I went to the next size up at night & I also grabbed a packet of Bebe Nappy Mates (they r like a pad that you put into there nappy) $3.99 for 20(i think)
Same...no leaks now! :thumbsup: And that'll last you 3 weeks in night nappies! Pretty cheap really....
jessgray
25-05-2006, 17:05
where do you buy these nappy mates? i havent heard of them
25-05-2006, 17:56
I found mine in Woolies...haven't seen them anywhere else as yet....
I find them exactly the same as a maternity pad, except much cheaper.... :rolleyes:
Thanks everyone. I might try the bigger nappies - I have used BabyLove before and liked them so I'll give that a go. I will look for the Nappy Mates next time I go to Woolies as well!
Just curious - by modern cloth nappies - do you mean the fitted ones? I have some of those as well but I did find they got pretty wet too.
Peaceangels
25-05-2006, 21:08
May have come in too late for this one, but I'll still put my 2c worth in!
I personally think it is a boy thing, very wet and full nappy in the morning's as I have been through it with both of mine.
With #1 I tried nearly everything on the market and finally started using Aldi Supermarket's brand "Mamia" and they are the absolute best - without a doubt :thumbsup:
We haven't looked back since and #2 is still using them to this day.
FourAngelKisses
26-05-2006, 07:50
They are great nappies, but on occasions, I have had Matthew wake up drenched while wearing them. I think it was because he ahd a full bottle of milk before going to bed and he had been drinking heaps during the day.
26-05-2006, 07:52
Just curious - by modern cloth nappies - do you mean the fitted ones? I have some of those as well but I did find they got pretty wet too.
Yep fitted nappies, but just like disposable nappies there are many different brands etc and you do get what you pay for with cloth too! If you pay $5 for a nappy you can't expect it to be as good as a $20 nappy!;) What type are you using, and of course you will need covers too (not the PVC type though you buy in supermarkets!
ok - update for everyone. I used a fluffy pilcher over the nappy for a week or two and that seemed to help a lot.
But then....last night he woke up at 4am and was absolutely soaked, we had to change him totally! So today I went out and got the nappy mates to try. I am determined to solve this problem as he sleeps so well - until he is wet!
Thanks for all your help guys!
02-06-2006, 19:53
Good Luck! :fingerscrossed:
Ange&Seth
02-06-2006, 19:57
Hey Tan, if that doesn't work, give the Mamia nappies a try from Aldi - i love them and they are absolutely fantastic for Seth. Seeing as Seth and Will are the same size then maybe they'll be good for Will too?
Let me know how you go............
Yep - well the nappy liner didn't work. What a piddlepot! Those nappies from Aldi might be the go or at least the next size up in the ones he wears now. I cna't get over it. I'm seriously thinking about putting 2 nappies on him at night. This can't go on!
He didn't wake because he was wet though - that was a bonus. He was still very wet after I gave him his first bottle though. I'm trying not to think of all the money I have spent on this little problem....:( :(
hayleylea
03-06-2006, 09:23
:hugs: for you tania!! Geez Will is a little piddlepot isnt her. I suppose you could splurge on them hemp boosters!? Although if this doesnt work that is more money spent!
The Aldi nappies might be the go. What nappies are you using during the night? and what size?
Poor you! hope you find a solution Soon!
Pommy Mummy
03-06-2006, 21:48
I had the same problem so I changed to the next size up for night time (huggies) but I have to make sure they are dine up quite tight otherwise he leaks through those aswell.