View Full Version : Attitudes, Choices etc - Vaginal Birth vs Elective Caesarian
PuppysMum
28-12-2008, 21:25
We are now about 20.5 weeks pregnant with our first. I am 32. Bub is due mid-May 09 (about 5 weeks before I turn 33).
This might sound stupid but I've never been a "girly girl" and I hate to say this and hope no one takes it the wrong way, but I'm hating being pregnant and don't like the way it makes me feel "like an animal". Then again, I've never been the type who absolutely wanted to have kids since I was little.
DH and I put off trying for many years because we were young when we got married and just not ready, then we went through phases where we def didn't want kids, then we did, then we tried for 2.5 years before we ended up here. :)
Anyway (that's just a bit of background). So I know women's bodies are made for this, but I seriously don't feel like mine is!
A friend of mine, who has had two kids naturally, recently described giving birth naturally and the pain as somethign to the effect of 'you know it's like when sex is so good it hurts'. Well, what I didn't tell her is that I rarely get to that point because apparently I am very sensitive down there and even too much movement gets me sore (sorry for TMI LOL). I did however tell her I am not good with pain! :(
So, I have started considering an elective c-section. At first my hubby wasn't happy with this (millions of women do it, why can't you?) which just made me feel like a bad person. We have since discussed it further and he is now happy with whatever I want to do.
My gut feeling so far says for me an elective c-section would be better - but after reading everything here and some other stuff I am not liking the possibility of such a long recovery - esp not being able to get out of bed quickly (sorry, here comes TMI again - I have the smallest bladder in the world so even when not pregnant I have to get out of bed a number of times a night, sigh) :)
My GP (am doing shared care - first hospital visit is tomorrow where we'll discuss it I guess)...is open minded and has had two kids - one each way. She said for her she preferred the c-section (her second kid) but warned even in hospital if you elect to have a c-section there would be some midwives who looked down on you or saw you as 'bad' for having done that...
Also, am finding it frustrating - my same friend I mentioned above - as much as I love her and she is a great mate - also made me feel horrible. When I told her I am considering having an elective c-section basically said in so many ways it was a horrible idea and "have you seen the stomachs of the women who have those" etc. etc.
(Another friend of mine has now had 3 c-sections out of necessity and seems to manage ok).
Also, when I told my good friend above (K) of another friend's experience - I'll call her J - J had her first baby naturally about 8 months ago and said she was STILL sore 'down there' 6 months later....K (who does not know J) did not believe it - even went on to say that J "must be a hypochondriac". (sp). I told her NO, I know she is not - I've known her since uni. and would know if she was and why would she even bother to tell someone that!! Grr....
Anyway, help!! :confused:
I've just decided to stop talking to anyone - except DH and the Dr's - about the possible choice. Apparently the bub is sitting quite low anyway so if she doesn't move by the EDD I might HAVE to have a c-section (at least then I won't get all these remarks sigh)....but Dr says there's an 85% chance she will move...so we'll see...
Thanks for listening to my ramble. :) :ecomcity:
lovelymum
29-12-2008, 19:29
Hi I wanted to let you know that I have experience both a vaginal birth & a caeser and am currently TTC no 3. I will definatly be aiming for a vaginal birth, that would be my preference. I found the recovery from a c-section took longer and even after the pain was gone there were other side effects, long term swelling to my lower stomach plus the loss of sensation on my lower stomach which is very commom was really off putting. There are excellent pain relief options during labour and I had read that at your age you are in the prime of your life for childbirth. Don't be scared, look at all the women who have more than one child and take comfort in the fact that its not all that bad, its only 1 day of your life and the reward is huge!!!!
Ultimately the decision was out of my hands as I had an emergency c-section but I thought I would share with you some of the reasons I wish I had been able to have a vaginal birth instead:
1. I didn't get to hold my baby when he was born - words cannot describe the loss I feel as a result of this and still do 11 weeks later - even though I can hold him now.
2. I was stuck flat on my back with my baby crying in his bassinet in the hospital and I had to ring a midwife for help instead of attending to my own child
3. The turtle effect - You get stuck flat on your back for the first few weeks like a turtle and can't roll over or sit up without help - not good if your partner does not have generous paternity leave
4. It is hard to heal. When you are dealing with a newborn it is really difficult to care for and nourish yourself under the best of circumstances, however after major surgery, it is even worse.
5. The scar! Whilst it reminds me of the happiest day of my life, it's pretty gross and you don't feel too sexy when your partner has a big red reminder of watching you get cut open
6. Bubs and I were groggy from morphine for days and this contributed to breastfeeding getting off to a very bad start.
7. Having a pee bag dangling from your bed when you greet visitors
Ultimately the decision is yours, there are probably women who have had great c-section experiences, it is up to you whether you want a pain sprint, or a pain marathon, I just wish I got the chance to bond with my baby immediately and welcome him into the world in my warm arms with lots of kisses instead of an operating theatre.
You said you are not good with pain? I had a CS with my son (not by choice) and I was in agony for days! Yes they give you pain killers but do you want your first few days with your baby to be remembered through a haze of drugs?
LOL I am sorry not trying to tell you off just saying that the pain of recovering from a CS is not the easy option IMHO.
They have to cut through seven layers and then hold the incision open with big metal rectrators while they yank the bub out. then they have to stitch them all back up again.
Not fun!
If you have a 12 hour labour, it will hurt but then you will have your baby and for many women that's it. You can enjoy your baby (admittedly you will still be sore down there).
our little treasures
30-12-2008, 10:10
I guess a lot of people will have strong opinions as it is MAJOR surgery. Recovery isn't always easy and a lot of women feel they didn't bond with the baby etc.
Most women who have a vagina birth will rebound perfectly fine. There is a chance you could tear ( I did) where you will be in pain for a longer but I would rather be able to hold my babies and nurse them without the cut across my belly.
In the end it will be your decision anyway.
A lot of women have researched and found a lot of negatives with CS and thats why there is a lot of strong reactions,.IYKWIM
"have you seen the stomachs of the women who have those"
She'd hate my post c/s 6 pack then. :p
Seriously if you have done the research and this is what feels right for you don't let anyone talk you out of it. My elective (medically necessary) c/s was wonderful. I am going VBAC this time if I can but that's just because I am a wuss, even though everything went so well last time I'm still scared of going under the scalpel if I don't have to!
As for pain I had practically none. Honestly. I held my son after birth no problem, breastfed straight away. I'm awful when it comes to pain and only needed panadol after birth and for the next 24 hours, after that no pain. :thumbsup:
Didn't have any trouble rolling over and picking up my baby once the epi wore off, no different to a VB mum who had an epidural!
Sorry just wanted to add, I have no problem with women having elective CS, I just dont think it's the easy option!
delirium
30-12-2008, 10:51
You have to do what you feel is right. The issue for me is that many ladies who haven't had c/s, (particularly first time mums) think it's an easier option. I've had 2 c/s and let me tell you, it's not easy, and it's painful. JMO but I would rather scream for a day than be sore for months.
The other issue is that once you have one, your options for a vaginal birth can become limited. I've had both my c/s for breech, and now there is no hope, bar home birth, to have a baby naturally.
I don't know if I belong in here because I haven't had a c-section, but I saw the thread in the recent topics list.
I did just want to add though, that while vaginal birth usually is painful, most of the pain happens before the birth (ie during labour) and the pain of a c-section happens after birth. When you are in labour, your body produces endorphins which helps you deal with the pain, which doesn't happen when recovering from a c-section.
Another thing to consider is if you are having a c-section to avoid the pain of labour, not all babies wait for the scheuled date ;) you may go into labour before the date, and if your c-section is scheduled for non-medical reasons, you may find yourself out of luck as emergency cases take priority. With that in mind, your best bet is to educate yourself on the childbirth process as much as possible, so you will be prepared for this eventuality.
There are no perfect pain free options where birth is concerned. There is a lot you can do to minimalise the pain of vaginal birth though and make it a positive experience. I personally found confronting the fear and not fighting against contractions really changed my labour experience. Other helpful tactics were getting in the bath, finding a comfortable position and using focussing techniques to ride out the peaks of each contraction. Good positioning can minimise the pain after birth - lying flat on your back to birth often leads to tearing, but getting on your knees, using a birthing stool or standing bending over the bed can help to get the baby out without doing yourself damage, which means you'll be feeling almost 100% within a few hours of the birth.
If you do want to go down the c-section path, read as much as you can, question the hospital about their policies (holding the baby after birth, having the baby in recovery, getting skin-to-skin contact asap and establishing breastfeeding) so you are prepared for what's to come.
Good luck and hope your pregnancy is smooth sailing :)
i have had 3 natural drug free vaginal births and now two c/sections.
the vag births (if you are able to) are a much better option.
its now 2 weeks since my c/section and i am still passing clots and in pain and on antibiotics.
if i could have gone natural with a guarantee of a healthy bub i would have. just wasnt worth the risk.
sockstealingpoltergeist
30-12-2008, 11:39
Firstly I would like to say Millions of women do have vaginal births every day, however millions of women are not you! Every experience is unique and special to the individual so don't forget that!
With my first I had an emergency c section after a 30 plus hour labour, and it was afwul.
With my second I had an elective C section. I was very happy, really enjoyed the experience and recovery was great. If I ever do have another I will have an elective C section. I got to hold my son straight away (unlike with my daughter) and I felt like it was calm and in controll unlike my first emergency C section.
It is what feels right for me, I think you should do what You want, just make sure you are fully informed of all the risks and make a decision that YOU can live with.
Best of luck.:)
melissa.r
30-12-2008, 12:07
Firstly, I have had two vaginal births my first was a pre-term induction with no other interventions (aside from one internal) and my second was a homebirth. A women's decision to have an elective c/s for no medical reason is a very emotive topic and I think you will find most women have strong views about this. From my perspective, I am a strong advocate of quiet, undisturbed birth and this was very important to me. I am sure I feel as passionate about this, as other women are about their own choice to have a c/s.
So in regard to your decision making, obviously the choice is yours ultimately this is your body and you get to decide how your baby should be born. You clearly need to be informed in this decision, the reality is you will probably be hard pressed to find any evidence-based research or information that will medically support a decision to have an elective c/s for no medical reason. In saying this, I think your task over the coming months will be to address your fears about childbirth. Addressing this issue runs much deeper than the fear of pain, but also delves into how you feel about your own body, about what it means to be a woman etc etc. I believe that if you give yourself the opportunity to address these issues then the decision about how to birth your baby will become clearer.
In the end, you want to be able to look back at your birth experience and be able to feel 'empowered' however you decide to birth. You don't want to be saying to yourself 'oh well, in the end all I wanted was a healthy baby' because in your heart you will know that your birth experience will mean more to you than this.
I wish you luck in your journey.
Miranda1976
30-12-2008, 15:08
You have the right to choose the birth experience YOU want.
I chose an elective c-section and don't regret it for a nanosecond. I recovered easily, felt no pain and have absolutely no regrets for my choice. I LOVED my birthing experience, and I have these amazing photos of my little man emerging from my body - they are incredible. I felt empowered and in control the whole time and could not have asked for a better birthing experience.
I asked to be the first to hold my baby and I was. I wasn't worried that I couldn't take him with me to recovery because he was with his father and grandmother who loved him and bonded with him.
I was able to control my own pain medications, and I needed very little anyway, just panadol. I had a 'pee bag' for 24 hours and was VERY glad I didn't have to get up and down and go to the loo! Yay, for the first time in months I could stay in bed all night! (and the last time in months too - he hehe, so enjoy it while you can!) And I didn't want visitors in the first 24 hours anyway - that time was for me and hubby to bond with our new little baby! Everyone else can bluddy well wait!
I was walking within 24 hours, and much easier than all the vag-birth women in the ward who were walking in pain like cowboys. I was strolling around, holding my bubba, smiling and, frankly, feeling rather pleased with myself. tee hee!
To be honest I didn't mind calling the nurses to give me the baby in the first 24 hours - I'd carried the little dude for 9 months, I deserved a bit of pampering!!
I wasn't stuck on my back for weeks at all. I was out and about in days. Of course I was careful and didn't do anything my body wasn't ready to do.... pretty much the same as a vag birth I'd imagine. Certainly my girlfriends who gave birth at the same time took much longer to recover from tearing and long painful exhausting labours. I know plenty of women who, years later, are still experiencing vaginal pain and discomfort. I don't even notice my scar now (4 months later), even when living heavy things. My husband thinks it's cool - my battle wound!
I breastfed straight away and my milk came in on day 4.
I didn't particularly enjoy my pregnancy either - let's face it girls, pregnancy is invasive, uncomfortable, painful, restrictive, exhausting... All that nausea, tiredness...Yechhh..... Having said that I know I will enjoy it more the second time around because I know now how awesome and amazing a little baby is.
I would not give birth any other way. No way, hozay not on your nelly. I admire and respect women who willingly go through a natural labour and birth, but to me it sounds just horrific. No-one should be asked to go through that much physical trauma and pain.
My mother was horrified when I told her I was having an elective c-section - she had home births with just a midwife in the 1970s. But she had to learn that the decision was mine and mine alone - and even when it was over she was surprised and impressed with how well it was managed and how well I recovered.
My husband supported me in whatever choice I made. Initially he did try on the old "all other women do it, why shouldn't you?" bullcr4p but my answer to that was, "when you have a uterus with a baby in it you can get it out any way you like my dear!"
PM me if you want to talk more!
twinmummee
30-12-2008, 15:36
I think it's definitely a case of it's your body, so it's your choice. If you feel a c/s is the best thing for you then go for it! Unfortunately there are a lot of judgmental people out in the world and you are never going to please everyone.
I had an elective c/s for our girls as they were both breech, got to hold them both straight away and bond in the OR and Recovery. I did feel a little ill in Recovery so they went up to the ward ahead of me with DF, so I was ok with that and it was only for about 15 minutes that we were separated. Had next to no pain and very little pain relief much to the astonishment of the midwives and was up and walking around the next morning. As for the "peebag" it was great and our only visitors the first night were family and to tell you the truth I really didn't care, our girls were finally here and were healthy so I was fine with everything else. Feeding was established fine with both girls, we did do some comp bottles feeds with DD1 as she was jaundiced but both attached well to me.
Luckily the OB's were really supportive of the c/s decision also. I would definitely be asking about the procedures your hospital has in place too. Be prepared is probably the best thing and remember everybody is different and your experience will be exactly that - yours!
I would do the same thing again next time, my only "regret" if there is one is that I don't know what it feels like to be in labour...
Milk_Monkey
30-12-2008, 15:51
This might sound stupid but I've never been a "girly girl" and I hate to say this and hope no one takes it the wrong way, but I'm hating being pregnant and don't like the way it makes me feel "like an animal". Then again, I've never been the type who absolutely wanted to have kids since I was little.
Wow, you just described me when i was pregnant with my first. I had Pre eclamsia and just felt so wrong. I ended up being induced via the drip, and had an epidural. At the time it made me feel like a failure.
With my second, I did a LOT of reading, and found a great book called 'Birthing from Within'. Its a hands on book, so there are exercies where you can get right into the hows and whys of how you feel, your fears around birth and how to combat them. A bit touchy feeling for some, but hey, thats what i needed.
My second birth was 3.5hrs, no drugs at all. It was amazing and i actually wish it had gone for longer.
I did feel empowered by my first experience of becoming a mother, but my second was just ten fold.
I completely agree with women having a choice and ultimately each woman knows their own body best, but i suspect that often we just trust in professionals more than ourselves. i think that woman dont have enough faith in themselves and what they are capable of physically, mentally and emotionally.
Best wishes making your decision
For the pain factor -I really don't understand why you would choose a c section - sorry but you can opt for an epidural in natural labor and it is less evasive then going through major surgery.
I have had 4 VB's all wonderful experiences and no pain at all afterwards - with my third i had to share a room with a c section patient for 1 night - i tell you i counted my blessings that i had a Vb the woman cried of pain through the night - she was constantly attended by nurses to check her wound - she could not walk- i was very happy to leave my shared room the next day as i could not tolerate the constant moaning.
C sections are not the easy way out.
As long you are aware that you may be in pain afterwards and the complications that can arise from a c section, the choice is yours just make it an informed one.
i am one for whatever pleases you and what suits you.
Good luck with your choices
threepigs
30-12-2008, 16:34
The way I see it you need 10cm to get a baby out of your body. You can dilate it or cut it - either way, it doesn't frickin' tickle!!
its now 2 weeks since my c/section and i am still passing clots and in pain and on antibiotics.
:eek: Morrigan, that's awful. I read about these experiences so often and I just feel for you. I've obviously been very lucky.
I've had two c/s (first emergency, second elective) and yes, the first 48 to 72 hours isn't a heap of fun, espeically getting up for the first time.
Having said that, I was on panadol by day three, and no drugs at all, nothing, from day four. I was also home by lunch on day four with my elective, had spotting from day three and while I had days where there was a bit of discomfort I was doing housework, looking after my baby and my toddler after a week with no dramas (although strictly no heavy lifting).
If you're interested :oI posted my experience under a post titled The Good the Bad and the Ugly - an elective c/s (or something like that)
With my elective I was holding DS in recovery and he was b/f within 20 mins - it was great.
Re the scar - i've now had two in the same spot and it looks fine, really low and smooth - although I've had a middie and a GP tell me my OB did a good job :p So he should - we paid him a small fortune :laughing:
Birth is risky anything can happen, but it's the safest way for to birth your baby, and usually you'll be up and ready to go almost straight away.
I have had 2 c/sections my first one was an emergency after I asked to be induced a HUGE mistake my body laboured for 24 hours and then I had the c/section they took my daughter out and I had a massive hemorrhage which almost killed me no joke I had 4 surgeons trying to save my life and they worked on me for 4 hours in recovery they realised I had an embolism on my lungs, I met my baby properly after 5 hours and luckily the complications ended there.
my 2nd c/section was an elective after months of fighting and planning for homebirth, I decided to have a c/section at 42 + weeks I wrote a birth plan and spoke at length with everyone involved and had a maternal assisted c/section. I was in my room 40 minutes later with family and friends and walking the next morning in AGNOY but walking and I went home 2 days later, standing up hurts from sitting and laying down you will need help but after a week I was out and about with my baby and my DD no issues.
C/section runs major risks as you can see from my first experience never take surgery lightly, never assume it will be OK. It often isn't.
If I ever have another I'll probably have another c/section and be worried out of my mind knowing that it is not the easy option.
You never know you might have a 4 hour labour and breath the baby out! :D
Good luck in your choice and only you can make it, don't let anyone push you around read what we all have to offer here and sit on it.
Also keep an open mind you need to. like I said i planned a homebirth for my 2nd and decided to havea c/section I was totally at peace once I had decided and it went well. Had it not of gone well, I might of ended up with PTD or something else awful.
MelissafromSyd
30-12-2008, 21:17
I haven't read the other responses.
Caesarean is certainly an option. that puts responsibility for this birth fairly and squarely with professionals. This is a comfortable option for people who are scared of facing their concerns.
Another approach would be to address your fears and concerns and actively work to reduce them. Calmbirth is great for this, as well as educating yourself really well - from a variety of sources - about pregnancy and birth.
Birth is scarey for most women, and yes, it does hurt. But it is not a pain that will kill you and it is not beyond your coping mechanisms. I believe you have the resources within yourself to birth your baby vaginally.
Melissa.
MyFourCubs
30-12-2008, 21:30
I have had two horrendous vaginal births that left me with major post birth complications. I have had a ceaserean due to my birth history and various other pregnancy complications that made a vb impossible. I loved my ceaserean- had a wonderful doctor, recovered brilliantly, felt great and it was a very positive experience all round.
Having said that, I would not advise a ceaserean unless you need to have one. Who really wants to be surgically cut open unless it's neccessary? If you have the option of having bub, still being in one piece and able to walk around an hour later who wouldnt' choose that? I'll tell you one thing, even though my vb's went to cr@p, at least I was still intact after them and didn't have the big tummy pouch that my ceaser left me with! (Despite a year + of the leg magic, walking every day and the gym!!) You will never be the same after a c-section and while if you have to have one it's something you live with, I wouldn't have done it unneccessarily.
I have no personal issue with women that choose to have a ceaserean- it's a personal choice so I am only stating my opinion- nothing more. Every birth has risks, every birth has the potential for something to go wrong and as pp's have said, every birth involves some degree of pain. (They are a lot more generous with the drugs with a c-section though!:laughing:) At the end of the day, you want to opt for your "best" chance of a problem free, best outcome birth (for you and bub)and that is something only you and your doctor can decide.
Good luck!!!:)
tootiredtosleep
31-12-2008, 01:01
I've had 2 caesars, one emergency and one elective.
I had pain after both, but nothing I couldn't handle.... I wouldn't do it any other way.
Good luck with what ever you decide.
Ultimately the decision was out of my hands as I had an emergency c-section but I thought I would share with you some of the reasons I wish I had been able to have a vaginal birth instead:
1. I didn't get to hold my baby when he was born - words cannot describe the loss I feel as a result of this and still do 11 weeks later - even though I can hold him now.
2. I was stuck flat on my back with my baby crying in his bassinet in the hospital and I had to ring a midwife for help instead of attending to my own child
3. The turtle effect - You get stuck flat on your back for the first few weeks like a turtle and can't roll over or sit up without help - not good if your partner does not have generous paternity leave
4. It is hard to heal. When you are dealing with a newborn it is really difficult to care for and nourish yourself under the best of circumstances, however after major surgery, it is even worse.
5. The scar! Whilst it reminds me of the happiest day of my life, it's pretty gross and you don't feel too sexy when your partner has a big red reminder of watching you get cut open
6. Bubs and I were groggy from morphine for days and this contributed to breastfeeding getting off to a very bad start.
7. Having a pee bag dangling from your bed when you greet visitors
Ultimately the decision is yours, there are probably women who have had great c-section experiences, it is up to you whether you want a pain sprint, or a pain marathon, I just wish I got the chance to bond with my baby immediately and welcome him into the world in my warm arms with lots of kisses instead of an operating theatre.
Hi I just wanted to say that I had a v/b and had almost all the same things as your csection experience. Apart from the major surgery part.
1) My baby was in distress for ages and when he came out he was rushed to neonatal care becuase he was blue and not breathing
2) my bubs was prosterior and my spine was clicking in and out of place in labour. Afterwards I could get out of bed for days let alone pick up my baby on the 1st night. Luckily they then put me in a single room so DH could stay and help
3) I ended up becoming so ill with infections and left in placenta not to mention that my back was completly gone that my DH had to take a month off work to look after me and DS
4) It took me 4 months to recover physically - psychologically much longer, tonnes of therapy etc
5) No scar :) But lots of stiches down there
6) on Endone at hosy, then panadine fort for a few weeks and then 6 weeks on antibiotics. It stresses me when I think how much bub ingested
7) Had a pee bag which was gross
Just pointing out that some people have bad experiences either way. I think I'll be going for an elective c section this time. My back is still wrecked from the first birth. So everyone thinks its best anyways.
I had a pretty horrific experience. Ended up going 9 days over my date (xmas day) 2 days of 'early labour' and about 24 hours of posterior labour. Had an epidural and a pee bag. Ended up with a ventouse delivery. Was so freaking painful, but they couldnt turn up the epi, cos I was so unwell...
Because of complications, bub had to go to NICU and I didnt get to hold him until about 8 hours later.
I also tore in two directions, and have a whole bunch of stitches that will disolve over 2-3months. And I am still getting a fair bit of discomfort from them 3 weeks later.
Bub was on a drip for a few days, antibiotics for 10days because of the complications. Then ended up with oral thrush, which ended up in my nipples (ouch)...
Had heaps of problems with breast feeding because of him being on a drip, so he didnt want to feed properly, then basically screamed for 3 nights straight cos he was so hungry... 5 nights in hospital (and they still didnt want me to leave when I did!)
My blood pressure had also sky rocketed in the last few days of pregnancy, and my partner could have had 4 weeks off work had baby come around his due date, but had to be back at work by the 5th of Jan, so he only got 3 days off work with me at home, before I was left to fend for myself! I would have really benefited from the 'convenience' of knowing when he was arriving... and also not ending up with an xmas day baby!
The whole experience has left me not wanting anymore children at all, and if I were to have more, I dont think I could bare going through that again. I too hated being pregnant (especially the last 3 weeks) and I always thought that I wasnt cut out for a VB... and really I wasn't!
This is just my experience... You need to do what you feel is right for you, don't listen to anyone else! I just wanted to reiterate that not all people can just walk out of hospital a few hours after their birth....
I had my son by a patient requested c-section and it was fantastic. I've sent you a PM and am happy to chat if you want any feedback or have any questions.
It is a great way to birth.
i have had 3 natural drug free vaginal births and now two c/sections.
the vag births (if you are able to) are a much better option.
if i could have gone natural with a guarantee of a healthy bub i would have. just wasnt worth the risk.
well said...:thumbsup::thumbsup:
IMO after 3 C/S and another on the way due to medical reasons.....There is no EASY way out of birthing your child:no:
I went through 28 hours of labour with my first, waters broke ready to go but ended up having emergency C/S.
I can understand being scared of the unknown as much as you read and find out you are never prepared mentally for your first child!
IMO......give VB a go!! they can help you with pain and who knows you might just find it alot more natural then you thought it was going to be and if it does not go to plan, like alot of births you may have to have a C/S anyway due to medical reasons.
Like i said no easy way out....but a overwhelming, amazing little bbundle at the end!
Goodluck!
Can i just ask Jats..who was your OB??? They obviously are very skilled to have enabled you to recover very quickly... I think its all in the skill of the surgeon. maybe it's someone i can use? :)
I had a pretty horrific experience. Ended up going 9 days over my date (xmas day) 2 days of 'early labour' and about 24 hours of posterior labour. Had an epidural and a pee bag. Ended up with a ventouse delivery. Was so freaking painful, but they couldnt turn up the epi, cos I was so unwell...
Because of complications, bub had to go to NICU and I didnt get to hold him until about 8 hours later.
I also tore in two directions, and have a whole bunch of stitches that will disolve over 2-3months. And I am still getting a fair bit of discomfort from them 3 weeks later.
Bub was on a drip for a few days, antibiotics for 10days because of the complications. Then ended up with oral thrush, which ended up in my nipples (ouch)...
Had heaps of problems with breast feeding because of him being on a drip, so he didnt want to feed properly, then basically screamed for 3 nights straight cos he was so hungry... 5 nights in hospital (and they still didnt want me to leave when I did!)
Your story sounds almost exactly like mine. It was horrible and I had surgery 11 weeks later to repair the damage. I still have pain during intercourse 2 years later (TMI sorry!). I didn't want anymore babies but then we fell pregnant accidentally!
However, DS2 was elective and very necessary c/section. It was great, i'm doing it again when I convince DH on #3! I was out of bed the next morning and the dr's were amazed at how well I was doing they kept asking if I really had a c/section and checking my notes to confirm!
Before DS1 i would have said go natural don't even consider a c/section, but now I say listen to your intuition and your body. "Natural" birth isn't for everyone, but a happy healthy baby and a happy healthy mum are.
BTW most newborns sleep for nearly 12 hours straight soon after they are born, this enables you to get some much needed rest. Great after any birth!!