View Full Version : terrible pains
TwoBlue
29-06-2005, 12:01 PM
I have been having the most terrible "ligament stretching" pains in my lower abdomen and they also run into my lower back.
They are so bad that at times i am buckled over in tears.
They feel like labour contractions, they are so painful.... :eek:
With my first pregnancy i had them but not at all like this but i was working an office job then and not chasing after a toddler....
I also have Endometriosis and two cysts near my overies, could this cause the pain to be worse?
Has anyone else had this or is having similar?
Can anyone tell me what to do to help the pain?
Should i see the doc? I am having no other symptoms (bleeding etc..)
Help :(
Miss_Vicki
29-06-2005, 12:32 PM
Im not as far as u but i Constante get cramping pains aroudn the overiars an lower back an lots of wet feel down there (no blood ) doc told me all was normal ,
i dont think anything is wrong with u But id go for a cheak up to Just make sure , just to put your mind at east , Allways better to play it safe them sorry ?
hugs hope u get better soon try warm baths?
maybe1more
29-06-2005, 03:14 PM
Sorry to hear that your in soooo much pain, i think maybe you should go to the doctors just to be on the safe side, especially if its painfull enough to make you cry. Hopefully its nothing too serious. As long as your not bleeding it should be ok, but its still doesnt explain the pain. Let me know how you go, in the mean time TRY to relax and sit down as soon as you feel the pain coming on. Thinking of you. :)
osmummy
29-06-2005, 07:42 PM
I too had terrible cramping pains in abdo whilst preg. I was actually admitted to hospital at 32 weeks with concern I was going into early labour. Of course I did not get any cramping whilst in hosp!
The cramping was mainly at night and worsened at about 30 weeks.
Was told by resident OBGYN in hosp that a small percentage of women (aren't we lucky!) get this type of cramping and is usually related to ligaments etc.
I was put on Buscopan by OBGYN and this did help a little but you must see your doc about this pain and get it checked out. I had to have an ultrasound just to check placenta etc. The dosage for Buscopan is diff for pregnant women so you really need to see your doctor. I was also told to finish work early as he believed that being so busy and not resting enough was contributing. Rest did help.
I delivered my DD 3 days prior to her due date and labour was pretty straight forward altho I was shocked at how similar the preg cramping was to labour pain! Our beautiful bub is perfect as I am sure yours will be!
Good Luck. take it easy.
Angelmist♥
30-06-2005, 02:33 PM
Hi samsmum,
I had my first two children 13 months apart and with 2nd pregnancy also had very similiar pains to what your describing. My doctor said that there was nothing wrong (with baby) but because your body is still getting over 1st pregnancy your ligaments and stomach muscles just cannot handle it.He gave me some great advice on how to lift 1st baby and how to massage stomach and back to relieve the pains. I would tell your doctor asap just to rule anything serious out. Have you thought about a stomach/back girdle? I know they sound horrid but are supposed to really help.I hope all is well
Nara
Cody 18/05/00
Dylan 25/06/01
EDD 08/11/05
shellbell
01-07-2005, 12:52 PM
Hi samsmum
i also had those awful, terrible pains in my abdo, from around 30 weeks in my second pregnancy. my pain was running down the side of my belly and i often couldn't stand upright. people at the shops asked if i was in labour because i could barely walk and was nearly crying. i went to the doctor and he checked me out and told me it was ligament pain. the only thing i could do was lay down (on the opposite side to where the pain was) and it would eventually go away - though sometimes not until the next morning.
my advice to mums thinking of becoming pregnant is to tone up those abdominal muscles beforehand, so they are strong enough to carry the weight. my bub ended up being 10lb 4oz so i'm sure that didn't help
good luck with the pain and just think of it as a practice for labour :p
TwoBlue
01-07-2005, 04:18 PM
Thanks for your replies
I saw the doc today and she thinks its my pelvic bones separating... :(
I have to see a physio and possibly wear a brace for the remainder of the pregnancy !! good look hey !?
Anyway all seems ok with the bub with no pressure on my cervix so that is good news
feeling pretty lousy though :(
TwoBlue
21-07-2005, 11:56 AM
Ok this is seriously some kind of joke !!
I have had the brace for a while now and its just not helping at all....
I am in sooooo much pain i just cant stand it anymore and i dont know what to do..... :(
Any advise...?
There must be something i can take or do to help....
someone must know of a good remedy..... i hope.......
Please help
sueliz
21-07-2005, 01:19 PM
Hi Samsmum!
Have you thought about contacting a chiro? I know that might sound strange but I go to one regularly and wasn't sure about continuing when I found out I was pregnant, (I am only about 8 weeks), and he sat me down and explained me the benefits and showed me on one of those model type things the work that chiro does that can make pregnancy and labour easier.
Now - I don't know if it is all true of course as this is my first time pregnant and I am still so early that I have no experience speaking here, but maybe it might be worth looking into if anyone else has used a chiro through pregnancy and if it helped them???
If you are based in Brisbane, I am happy to refer you to the chiro I go to...
TwoBlue
21-07-2005, 01:41 PM
Thanks i will look into that, I am in Melb so i wont be travelling to Brisbane for your Chiro :p
Has anyone else used a Chiro for similar problem??
moomoz
21-07-2005, 03:49 PM
I had some pains with my pregnancy too, they felt like bad period pains. My Dr reckon it was normal and I went on and had a healthy baby boy (although I did have bleeding 4 times during my pregnancy which after birth, my ob said it looked like my placenta had started to separate from the uterus). Also I had aching pains near my overies too but that went too so am not sure what yours could be.
I did however went to a chiro during my pregnancy up until 35 weeks. I reckon it helped me helps - I had heaps of back and neck problems and as I grew, the chiro sessions really helped the pain and it is quiet safe too. Maybe you could go and try it. It normally takes a couple of sessions before you really get the benefit out of it but well worth it! Will help with your posture too.
Hope you get better soon :)
moggs
21-07-2005, 03:59 PM
Hiya,
Of course you have had an ultrasound. When i experienced awful pain, they first thought it was ligaments but it was a fibroid that was degenerating. It sounds similar to your pain but i don't know.
Moggs xx
summerly
27-07-2005, 12:04 PM
Hi, sorry you are in so much pain. It sounds similar to what I had during pregnancy. It's called pelvic displacement or pubis symphysis disfunction (sp?). There are several posts already on this board about it, if you want to have a look and see if that sounds like what you are suffering from? Good luck.
youngmum18
04-08-2005, 03:01 PM
hi ladies,
i was talking to my doctor the other day about my period pain like cramps she mentioned that these are usually just your stomach growing larger but also mentioned that if you are concerned about something that may even sound silly to you its best to have it checked out as it may be serious and in the long run do harm to you or your baby, i had really bad cramps the other night and was rushed to hospital for a cost of $185 just to be told that i was constipated but its best to know that everything is ok and you or your baby are not at risk, its best to know for peice of mind....
GOOD LUCK MUMS HOPE ALL GOES WELL.......
vBulletin® v3.7.4, Copyright ©2000-2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.