View Full Version : did u get MorningSickness second time around?

trickylee
23-12-2008, 11:57
hi

my dh wants to have a second bub , im not keen for a variety of reasons. One of them is I had severe morning sickness for 5 months and had to stop work at 3 months.....and felt fairly rubbish for most of my pregnancy.

I know each pregnancy can be different but...

if u had bad MS for the first how was it 2nd or even 3rd time around?
also how do u cope looking after infant with MS???????????????????

Briannabear
23-12-2008, 12:07
Hi!:wave: My answer may not be what you really want to hear but I'll tell you anyway because its good to hear lots of experiences. (everyones is so different).

I had morning sickness with my first too. (lasted only till 14 weeks). It started at 7 weeks.

My second pregnancy the morning sickness was much worse, and lasted for longer. (I had my last spew at 5 months pregnant). It started at 6 weeks.

Im currently pregnant with my third baby and I have morning sickness again - and this time its the worst Ive ever had it. Ive been violently ill since I was only 5 weeks. (Im currently 10.5 weeks and its eased up slightly but Im still vomiting most days).

It is really hard when you have other children to look after... they're not sympathetic!! Lol! But its funny how you just get through, you know?
I look back on the last 6 weeks or so and I have no idea how I did it. Ive been so sick (some days cant even keep water down), yet Ive still managed to look after my 2 children and run my business!!
We're pretty amazing us women! We're much stronger and more adaptable than we give ourselves credit for!

Good luck in making the right decision for your family! :flowerz:

gizmoduckus
23-12-2008, 12:28
I was very sick with my first pregnancy. I also had to give up work early and I was even vomiting while I was in labour.

I am happy to say that my 2nd pregnancy has been a breeze so far compared to that one. I had a few rough days in my first trimester and I still vomit every now an then but it hasn't been anything that I haven't been able to handle while still looking after my toddler.

I am just starting to find it hard now that I am towards the end of this pregnancy but that is only because I feel like a beached whale most of the time which is what everyone has to go through.

Jamaica
23-12-2008, 20:06
DID I !!!!!!!!!!!!! So much worse 2nd time round :crying:. Started earlier too, 6wks last time was 9wks, last time was almost all gone by 16wks but came back in the last couple of months. This time was sick as a dog, all day and night, woke 2-3 times every night to puke aswell and lasted well into week 20 and although its tonnes better I still get random bouts of it.

I dont know what I would have done if DD was younger, I didnt cook for almost 5months, and DH coulnt really cook either cos the smell got to me and made me sick so DH and DD lived off microwave and can food, and I lived off pretty much just bread :(

I dont have any tips other than there are meds you can take to help (I cant use them though)

maybe1more
23-12-2008, 20:31
My m/s with my first pregancy wasnt that bad, i had bouts of nausea but wasnt too sick.
Second time around it was alot worst for me, and started at 7 weeks and ease off alot around 15 weeks and from then on was only sick on and off.
Im wondering what will happen with my next pregancy:rolleyes: but i guess you just get thru it,after all the end result is so worth it:D

WarriorMummy
23-12-2008, 20:38
i had mild ms with 1st pregnancy

2nd pregnancy from 5 weeks i had hypermesis (severe morning sickness)
was in and out of hospital till 15 weeks

3rd- had hypermesis again from 8 weeks to 15 weeks and migranes
but from 20 weeks it has been a breeze- only 1 migrane

everyone is different, you could have the best pregnancy this time or the worst

oh and coping with the kids- i didnt with hypermesis, somedays dh had to stay home but after i was on meds it was fine

sandy119120
24-12-2008, 12:54
hi,

Well i guess this wouldnt be different to the other replays, i have ms with my first one quite strong ones but no much of vomiting. the second one very strong in and out of hospital they all vanish by 13 weeks but started at 4 weeks.
this pregnancy im feeling so bad that for the first time i agree on taking maxolon( but for examplr is useless today:confused:).
Look people told me every pregnancy is different. that is truth but sometime for the worst.
As someone else said at the end you have you little baby and youll forget all:thumbsup:

http://www.bubhub.com.au/tickers/image.php?image=MDIwNTI5MDcyMDA5MDFteSBsaXR0bGUgb2 5l=.png (http://www.bubhub.com.au)

missmum05
24-12-2008, 12:56
I didn't get much ms with dd1 but in this pregnancy with dd2 I have had it soooo bad!
I took maxalon until 23 weeks....which did help a little.

carli
04-01-2009, 00:59
I thought i had bad morning sickness with my first, until this pregnancy. With the first I vomited a couple of times a day, with this one I am vomiting 12-14 times a day. Its just starting to settle now, I was taking ondansatron twice a day just so i could keep water down, have lost 9kg since being pregnant and in the first few weeks of it thought seriously about termination (even though this baby was planned). Looking after our little girl who is now 16 months was a nightmare and she is as close to perfect as you can get. Most days i laid on the couch unable to move as if i did i would vomit, our routine had to change dramatically. I would give bub her bottle in the morning, she would play for an hour or two, go back to bed for am nap, and have breakfast after DH got home from work around 11. It is such a horrible feeling not being able to feed your child, but if she wanted breakfast before her nap it had to be toast or something she could feed herself, and every window in the house needed to be open so i couldnt smell it. DH lost 4kg because he felt guilty cooking because the smell always got me running to the bathroom. I still feel nauseated a lot, but im not vomiting all the time, and manage to usually eat one meal a day now. Baby is starting to kick and I'm enjoying it, even though i feel sick. Glad I stuck through the horrible bits because seeing our new little bundle of joy, all this will be a distant memory!!!

Good luck

tee
04-01-2009, 05:46
Eeek, most if not all of the responses are probably not what you want to hear! I was only going to write more of the same - I was vomiting right up until 28 weeks, and have had an incredibly rough pregnancy. They do say that in general, your 2nd is always the most rough. I have a 3 year old and it's been depressing looking after him while pregnant, I get so sad that most of the time I am not well enough to take him out, or sometimes to even play with him.

I think the thing is though, to be prepared for the worst and be willing to work around it. I walked into this pregnancy thinking it'd just be like my first, particularly since my mum had no illness with any of her 4 pregnancies. I think having some plans for family to take your little one sometimes, even daycare, be willing to use prescription medication, and so on - would make things a bit easier. And then, it really is all so worth it at the end! I'm still really sick, but now I only have 6 weeks to go until full term and to be honest - even though it's been really, really hard - time has also gone very fast.

You never know, you may breeze through a second pregnancy! I think we need more responses from that part of the community!

delirium
04-01-2009, 06:38
I have to be honest and say my 2nd pg was worse for morning sickness. It was hell. That's one of the reasons I don't want anymore kids - I just can't go thru the ms and other symptoms again :no:

I know it's probably not what you wanted to hear but I'm giving you an honest response. :)

Sheer Bliss
04-01-2009, 06:56
First pregnancy I had MS - reduced hours at work for a few months, and it eased off around 17weeks, mostly gone by 25weeks, but would still :barf: ocassionally. Being my first pregnancy I was too concerned about harming the baby to take anything for it.

Second pregnancy - it was diagnosed as hyperemesis, I lost loads of weight and started on maxalon. It did very little other than make me sleepy, so my OB put me on 4-8mg zofran - it was my godsend, and i could act like a normal human again and return to work AND look after 20month old DD. I was puking until the day i had him (I also had PE, which could have contributed to the nasuea and vomitting at the end getting worse)

Third pregnancy - it's twins, and yup, it's back again. Hospitalised twice for rehydration by 9weeks, but it seems to be under control now with 12mg zofran per day. Damn it is $$$, but it's the only thing that gets me through the day. I rarely feel 'normal' the nasuea is always there, but with the zofran it's ok enough that I can go out and look after the kids - sorta. My DH is AMAZING, and makes the kids lunches before he goes to work, then comes home and cooks dinner, cleans up and does the washing etc. It's the only way we get through.

But it is soooooooo sooooooo worth it. Once that first wave of sickness hits you, you want to scream and kick yourself for getting to that place again. I must admit that I even had thoughts of termnation in my head at one stage (before we knew it was twins, and i was STILL :barf: several times a day with 16mg zofran in the drip) It was fleeting, but i honestly didn't know how i could live the next 8months like that. Once i adjusted to it all, i got over it and now i cannot wait for it to be over and meet my babies.

~Candy~
04-01-2009, 07:35
I was very sick all 4 times...none where better or worse. I lived with a bucket under my chin and a cup of ice next to me till I was about 25 weeks...even while driving to pick up the older kids from school/kindy...it was just aweful :(

BlakeNatsMum
04-01-2009, 09:09
I was lucky not to have any morning sickness with my first born son, only just certainly smells would make me feel a little sickly, but apart from that I was fine.

With my DD I was crook for a good 4-5 months, and had a real aversion to red meat, Could not even look at it, otherwise it would make me sick.

With this one, I have waves of nausea here and there, and still not wanting red meat, otherwise it makes me want to :barf:

Electric Rodeo
04-01-2009, 09:24
I threw up at least once (more in the beginning)a day till term with both boys, I am expecting it again with this one.
With DS1 It was OK cause I could sleep and rest whenever I needed (except at work:laughing:). With DS2, DS1 would just come to the toilet with me and pretend vomit with me. It was cute if I hadn't been feeling so :barf:.
This time round I guess I'll just have twice the company round the toilet bowl.

Hmmm may need a bigger toilet.:laughing:

I laugh now but I probably won't think it is so funny once MS kicks in with this one:D

beebs
04-01-2009, 09:33
I'm glad someone asked this question. I was wondering the same thing. I had terrible morning sickness with my DS - not as bad as some of the ladies here though. I just don't know how you do it!

I weighed 3 kilos more at my last weigh in before labour than I did when I had my first weigh in when first pregnant because I lost so much weight at the start. I was in canada at the time and was prescribed Dicletin. Which helped, it didn't completely cure it - but it was a great help. I also didn't have a baby yet and I was on a holiday visa so I wasn't allowed to work - which was great at the time cause I couldn't really get off the couch anyway.

Now its different, I have a 2 and almost half year old and I work part time. I'd hate to get sick again. So looking forward to hearing some great stories about breezing through the 2nd :)

kimous123
15-01-2009, 19:31

Im 9 weeks pregnant with my second baby. However fortunately the morning sickness for me hasnt been as bad as the first.

First time round i stayed in bed for 13 weeks and then it was a breeze at around 14 weeks. I lost weight also and was spewing throughout the day. It was hell on earth. My hat really goes out to all the ladies that have it worse then me even though my felt soo bad.

I dont know if this helps but ive been sticking to heaps of cold fruits and its helping heaps and I heard vitamin B is suppose to help with that nausea feeling so i have been drinking borrocca and its been helping me.

But everyone is different. Maybe the reason why its not as bad for me this time round is because slightly heavier then when i had my first. I can walk around do things this time round but still feel quite fatigued at times. I also have very low blood pressure which makes things worse. Good thing is i am vomiting less frequently then before.

Who knows everyone is different only 4 weeks to go for expected relief for me.

Hang in there ladies I know how tough it is.

teenie
15-01-2009, 20:26
Sorry to say this but my m/s has been much worse 2nd time around. 1st pg I had it from 6-16weeks, with about 3 weeks of that being awful (couldn't do anything). This time I had it from 4-16 weeks, with 10 weeks of that being awful...I was a wreck. Even now (at 22 weeks) my guts feel constantly on the edge. It's not easy with a toddler. Fortunately I have a super-supportive DH and parents in law nearby.

RockmelonDreams
16-01-2009, 12:33
Hi, I can understand how your feeling. I had really severe MS with my first which started at 6 weeks and carried on right through until I gave birth. I even threw up while I was in labour. I was vomitting up to 30 times a day every day and no matter what medication the dr's tried nothing seemed to help me. I lost so much weight and even my closest friends couldn't tell I was pregnant until I was 8 months. It was truly horrible.

My husband was keen for another child within 6 months of having the first but I couldn't bear the thought of going through that again. My first child is now only a month away from turning 3 years old and I am almost 14 weeks pregnant with our 2nd. It was a bit of a shock to find that I was pregnant and I was so scared. With my first I wasn't able to work from 6 weeks and by 4 months I could hardly look after myself.

This time around the MS started again at 6 weeks and was really bad but is starting to ease up now. The first couple of weeks were really bad, I couldn't get out of bed unless I was running for the toilet or a bucket and my husband had to take some time off work to look after our daughter and clean the house as I wasn't able to do it. I'm not able to stand up for more than a minute at a time and feel faint if the temp is more than 20, lol. I've had to borrow a shower chair so that I can shower myself as my midwife has advised against baths and I can't stand up in the shower long enough to wash my hair properly. I still struggle everyday with keeping food down and some weeks I live on ice blocks and ice cream. Whenever I have a good day I eat and eat and eat to make up for all the days I can't eat and am having some relief from fruit tingle lifesavers. I carry air sickness bags in my handbag and a bucket in the car for emergencies. Although it's been bad the 2nd time around it's not been as bad as the first because I'm able to get up and sit in the lounge or drive short distances, attend my ante natal appointments/scans, type on the computer and as long as I have someone with me I can go on short outings. All things I couldn't do with my first pregnancy. I have my fingers crossed that the MS will pass very soon and that I'll be able to enjoy this pregnancy. I found it really hard hearing other mothers say that they "loved" being pregnant and that it was so much "fun" and that it's the "best experience of their life" because for me, it was the absolute worst and it really gave me an understanding of what it must be like for people who are diagnosed with illnesses and feel awful like this for years. It really made me more of a sympathetic person and more understanding of others needs.

Good luck with your decision, I know it's not an easy one to make.

Edited to add with my first pregnancy I lost 10 kilos in the first 3 months and then gained no extra weight until I was 8 months pregnant. This time around I've lost 6 kilos from my pre pregnancy weight.

beebs
17-01-2009, 08:17

I'm pregnant at the moment with twins and people are always saying that m/s is worse with twins. I'm 9 weeks next week and my m/s is really really mild compared to my first pregnancy.

I was on medication the first time and lost so much weight that I was 3 kilos heavier at 42 (overdue) weeks than I was at my first pregnancy weigh in.

This time around its way less, I have an aversion to all meat and I don't like the smell of cooking. I feel ill alot but if I eat something it usually goes away. I've dry retched a few times. But so far no vomiting. I was terrified of going through what I went through last time. But so far its been far better. I know its still early days, but with the last pregnancy I was sick from 5 weeks until I gave birth.

So its going heaps better so far. I'll let you know how it pans out. :)