View Full Version : Co-Sleepers - How big is your bed?
Hello everyone! :wave:
I'm due in March and plan on co-sleeping with bubs. Hubby and I have a king size bed and I was wondering if this is big enough, and what is the general size people have when they co-sleep?
I guess I'm a bit worried cos at the moment I am in the spare bedroom cos I'm a pregnant fidgety lady and we have both gotten used to lots of room! When bubs comes am worried we won't all fit!
I have been looking online for Super King Size but they don't seem to exist in Australia - is that the case? (my grandma passed away so am thinking of using the money she left on a new bed as a treat for us all! We plan on co-sleeping till the baby wants to leave)
Look forward to hearing your thoughts! :)
(ps: We'd rather not do the cot next to the bed thing, at least at first)
PunkyDiva
18-12-2008, 14:06
We co-sleep in a king size with heaps of pillows and occassionally 8yo or 6yo visitor as well, without any probs. We are big people too. Main issue is doona in winter so we have an oversize one.
You could always use a snuggle bed (tea tree) in between you and DH too.
SassyMummy
18-12-2008, 14:08
I managed in a double bed.
I dunno about older kids, but babies really don't require all that much room. :)
Little Gorilla
18-12-2008, 14:22
You could contact Makin Matresses at Nerang....they actually make matresses so might take a special order....although I don't think you will need a super king.
When DD was born, I slept in the king bed with her for about 2 months (she didn't like her cot). DH didn't sleep with us because firstly, he smokes (obviously, not in bed, but I couldn't have all those flumes coming out of him and being inhaled by her), and secondly he snores.
I also found it easier if I was getting up 4 times a night to feed that I wasn't disrupting DH from his sleep considering he was getting up early with DS everymorning and letting me sleep in with DD.
So, my answer is - the king should be fine...but you might find every now and again you might just like to go into your spare room with your bub or maybe kick your DH out into the spare room.....I actually really enjoyed the alone time with just me and DD in the bed together....there is something very special about this that I can't quite put into words.
Just looked up the tea tree snuggle bed - very cute and how clever with the tea tree? Do you know if the Tea tree smells at all? We have some tea tree bark in our flowerbeds and it did have a certain smell about it!
These look good, might have to get one first before the new bed, a bit cheaper I think!
Wow, double bed, thats amazing! Am thinking newborn will be ok but as they get older maybe we can splash out on new bed then!
Hi LittleGorilla - hows things with you?
I'm the same, DH is up at 5 for work so don't want to disturb him too much! We do have a futon thing that cold go next to the king, he can have that and I'll ahve the king!! I hate being in separate rooms, but space it def important for sleep!
PunkyDiva
18-12-2008, 17:14
I never noticed any smell from tea tree mattress but possibly a faint one if face is squished into it. I like that smell so maybe why I never noticed.
Electric Rodeo
18-12-2008, 17:24
WOW, we have a queen size but would love a king to accomodate the middle of the night visitors:p
I think a king would be plenty of room, especially when bub gets older and starts sleeping sideways between you both. A standard letter H.
Oh and we have a snuggle bed and I haven't noticed any smell, LIke PDiva said maybe if you sniff up really close but nothing even close to obvious.
DP and I co-slept with DS until he was about 9 months old and had no worries. We adjusted quite well in terms of not flailing our limbs around and thrashing too much :D Planning on co-sleeping again in a Queen.
18-12-2008, 21:18
We have a King and it works for us but I could do with more room. I would prefer to have at least a double beds worth of room all to myself - selfish I know. :laughing:
18-12-2008, 21:32
With DD1 we co-slept in a double bed.
DD2, we co-slept in a queen sized bed - and had several visits from DD1.
DD3 we co-slept in a king size, when she was born we were still co-sleeping with DD2.:D
DD3 is still with us (now 2.5) and we still get the ocassional visits from 1 and 2! :D
With all 3 girls, they have always been in the middle, if there was another in the bed, they would be on the side, with pillows near the edge!
workin'mumof2
20-12-2008, 09:46
we have only a queens size bed and cosleep with a 2.2year old and a nearly 9month old.. although her cot is beside our bed she will always roll onto our bed. :rolleyes: we seam to cope.. maybe were warmer coz were all snuggled close :laughing:
When we just had one bub it was a queen size, now the whole room is wall to wall mattresses! :)
squiglet
20-12-2008, 13:23
How lucky! A king size bed. I think you will have plenty of room.
Dh and I do it with only a normal double bed and we are all fine.
For baby number 2 though I've gotten a co-sleeper. No way will there be enough room for 4:rolleyes:
Hollywood
20-12-2008, 13:27
I wish we had a king size. We only have a queen size, but plan to upgrade to a king size latex mattress when some more money comes our way. We manage 'ok' with a queen size, but I really would love more room.
aprileviesmum
20-12-2008, 13:57
Me and my DS (6 months) share a queen size bed. My DD (20 months) sleeps in a cot in the same room.
Oh dear oh dear. So I've just read all the new replies and said to Hubby that all of you think we'll be fine and have loads of room in our king size bed and he said "....our bed is queen size!!!! " I did wonder why there should be loads of room for 3 of us and I just couldn't see how that was possible!! :laughing: pregnancy brain has really taken it toll on me, eh?!
So it seems from all your posts we can do it with a queen but we'll see how we get on and adjust or enlarge the bed if we need. We have a futon type sofa thing that just folds into a single type size bed so hubby says if needs be he'll put that next to our bed (although it'll be lower) and he'll sleep on that and bubs and me can have the bed - bless him! :valentine:
stellarella
20-12-2008, 16:42
I'd love a King sized. In my dreams!
We have a Queen and we have 4 in the bed.
Yeah it's a tad squishy. But we survive :goodvibes:
I have a queen but am in the process of trying to get DP to agree to an upgrade.
A queen is fine. Its more about age. Our mattress is old and has completely lost its firmness. Its sinks in the middle which frankly is not safe. I would be happy with a new queen sized but I figure if we are going to fork out for a good one we should atleast make it big enough to fit the next co-sleepin' bundle, whenever that may be ;).
cookiemoster
09-01-2009, 01:49
Double bed for me thoe I only plan to co-sleep for a few months for Im waiting for my new flat to be ready and another bed/cot wont fit.
As for really big bed one of my best friends dads has got the biggest bed possibly in the history of history. Back in the days it used to fit 8 teenagers in it ( but by that time it was a bit tight)
If your looking for somthing that big ( carnt see why you would inless you want to be in another country from your partner) it will set you back 18 grand but let me tell you it was the best sleep I EVER had :sleeping:
:laughing: at getting mixed up with the bed sizes - that's something like i'd do:laughing:
We co-slept successfully with DH, myself & DD. we ended up moving her to the cot when she kept kicking me in the face/chest as she'd lay across the bed :rolleyes:
If she wakes up during the night crying, we usually move her from the cot to a single bed that's in her room & one of us will lay down with her ini that until she's alseep.
If your looking for somthing that big ( carnt see why you would inless you want to be in another country from your partner) it will set you back 18 grand but let me tell you it was the best sleep I EVER had :sleeping:
:eek::eek::eek::eek: 18k!!!!! Goodness me! Must have been indredible but sadly thats a teensy bit out of our price range :laughing:
We have a queen and it suited us while the wee one was wee, and even now when he visits our bed at midnight...
With this bub we're going to side-car the cot so there's a little-person extension and then the 2.5 year old can still visit us if he wishes :D
JessicaCupcake
12-01-2009, 15:16
we have a queen and it is TOOOOO squashy for all three of us .... at the moment I just took down one side of her Boori cot and have it pushed up against our bed with a sheet under neath in case a gap ever happens thru the night and that has been working really well .... otherwise I'd say go for a king (your hubby will HATE co-sleeping in a queen TRUST me) or maybe try 2 king single mattresses pushed together on the floor if that works out cheaper than buying a new king bed. Good luck with it all ..... oh or you could buy one of those great "Arms Reach" Co-Sleeper bassinettes ... I'm going to get one for baby no 2.
Belinda D
13-01-2009, 21:58
We upgraded from a queen to a king sized bed last year while I was pregnant and it's heaps big enough for the 3 of us!
I still co-sleep sometimes with my almost 3yr old in a single bed . .
meredithlinda
26-01-2009, 01:29
We had a Queen size that we all shared (DH, DD and I) and by the time she was 2 it was getting a bit squashy, as she started to sleep horizontally. Not long after DS arrived, and we bought a new single which we butted up against our bed (and used wood etc to make it the right height) and extended the bed quite nicely. Now we have stacks of room - could easily fit another kid (or 2 even...??!!) and we have an extra bed ready for when we need it (and we'll go back to just the queen).
Actually - just on a tangent, we have another bedroom (we have a small house)- called the kids room, where their clothes are, and a guest bed, and where they will probably share a room sometime. DD knows it's the "kids room" and a couple of months ago (she's now 3) she said "hang on - this is the kids room, I'm a kid, shouldn't I be sleeping there?" I said" sure, if you'd like, let's make up the bed for you" and did so. - Then I went and DIDN'T cry- with effort! When DH took her to the toilet before we went to bed (every night, toilet stop when she's half asleep) he asked her if she wanted to go back in the kids room or with us, she said with Mummy and Daddy. I was secretly glad. She's done it a few times since, but never through the whole night. But I still know she'll be ready for her own bed, before I'm ready for her to leave.
pinkgingham
01-02-2009, 18:24
i am not a co sleeper as such but we do on occasion, especially when the kids are sick.
lately we have both kids in our queen size bed and DP is a big boy so him plus 2 wormy kids does make it hard to have a good nights sleep. doesnt help that they are heavy sleepers and i am a light sleeper. so its ok for once in a while but i wouldnt do it everynight in a queen. if i wanted to be a co sleeper all the time, i'd invest in a king size bed.
Myztiks#1Fan
01-02-2009, 18:36
when we first started co sleeping, we slept in a single bed. now are have moved onto a queen size bed but still feels like i sleep in a single bed as i am usually right on the edge, feels like i could just fall off. no matter how much i move him over, he wiggles his way to moving me off the bed
littlemissmoi
10-02-2009, 00:24
Oh dear oh dear. So I've just read all the new replies and said to Hubby that all of you think we'll be fine and have loads of room in our king size bed and he said "....our bed is queen size!!!! "
Nope, it's not pregnancy brain. The UK King bed = Australian Queen bed.
UK Super King = Australian King.
So there you go. If you want to upgrade, you can still get a King bed in Oz, it's the same as a Super King in the UK.