View Full Version : 'P' Platers Rules
I think some of the new rules for young drivers are great and hope they come in. If it saves their lives and those they endanger I'm all for it.
What do you think?
Hi Loopi
Just wanted to say that I'm pretty sure the rules you're referring to are WA only, so the majority of the other girls won't know what you're posting about...
Here's what I remember of what they are - anyone else from WA feel free to correct:
No driving between 12am and 5am for the first 4 months
No passengers who are over .05
Period extended from 2 years to 3years
No extra passengers (not sure on the exact details of this one - something to do with hours of driving and number of passengers).
My thoughts are that these will be too hard to police and the people supposed to be on P plates won't actually put them up, so will they make a difference? I don't think so. When I was on my P's there was only 3 extra rules - Under .02, maximum speed of 80km/h and use the plates for 1year.
My question would be has the accident rate (or death rate of people in this group) significantly decreased with the introduction of some of the extra regulations, so can we really expect a further decrease in accident rate with further regulations being introduced? If there has been a decrease in accidents has it been in proportion to the growing number of drivers in this group?
Well i didn't really know the exact rules of what they are wanting to come in so thanks for that Pegasus. :thumbsup:
I agree and also disagree. Firstly i am on my P's and do you think it would be applicable to people that got their P's before they changed the laws? If so, how would they monitor this? Pull everyone over thats on P's basically?, have different coloured P's? I think it would become a bit of a problem if they decided to do it for just the 'new P Platers' if you know what i mean. So therefore i think they would have to bring it in for all P platers, regardless of when they got their licence. When and if they do bring these new laws in i will be off my P's anyway so its not really applicable to me.
Pegasus i think the whole thing with the extra passengers that you pointed out is something like you can only have one passenger under a certain age, and you have to have an adult with you? Something like that. So it kinda prevents peer pressure for them to drive faster and stuff. In a way i think its good because yeah it will help stop other teens from egging the driver on to drive faster, do burnouts or whatever. In another way, think how annoying it would be if you were a P plater and had to take your brother and a couple of mates and drive them home from a party etc etc. But hey, its between 12 and 5 so wouldnt be too bad. There should be exceptions to the rule, eg if the P plater works late at night they should be able to drive straight home from work without an adult - again how would they monitor this though?
The point about no passengers over 0.5 is pretty good, but then may get annoying if you have to give someone a lift who has been drinking etc etc. Would probably be a lot safer though.
The period extended from 2 to 3 years - Well to be honest being on P's is very annoying, every time i want to drive a car other than mine i have to get my P's from my car and put them on the car i want to drive. Also i dont really see a point to them unless they decide to bring all the new rules in as all they are telling other drivers is that they are a P plater, i dont really understand the point sometimes. sorry im blabbing on lol :ecomcity:
I know several people that dont display their P plates up, they've had their licence at least a year and havent been pulled up. I always have mine up lol im too scared i will get a fine and then i will get angry! hehehe. But in the year and a half that ive been on my P's i have never ever been pulled up by the police.
So yeah i guess there are advantages and disadvantages. I would be very interested to know how they go about certain things though...
But overall, probably better to be stricter then not strict enough so i guess i vote for the rules to go ahead. If it saves just one more life because of those rules then its good :thumbsup:
Sorry for going on. I have so much more to say but i will save it as you probably dont wanna hear me keep going on! ;)
I think the rules suck!:mad: It sounds good in theory the rules. But what about the mum of 4 kids who has never got her licence then all of a sudden finds that she has to drive as hubby can't anymore and the rules are in place that she cannot drive with passengers. What is the point of having a licence! She wouldn't have a use for it!
That was just an example story but me for example I have had my Learner's Permit for 8 or so years and have never needed my licence yet will go for it one day. How are those rules going to help me! Their not!:banghead:
23-05-2006, 15:54
im on my green p's, im probablt the safest driver on the road, im so careful, cause im always pg:D
SamanthaJane
23-05-2006, 15:56
I am on my p's and whilst i know i am a very responsible driver, i know many people my age that speed around and hoon like idiots, they seriously must just be waiting for an accident to happen.
I think some rules are unfair. I mean no passengers over 0.5?? I understand why they want this. But seriously, "deso dave" has been around for ages, and is so popular in my town. I think it stops the majority of drink drivers. And my brother and his friends have taken it in turns to be deso dave for years and years.
As to limiting number of passengers- i'd like to see them try and monitor this one. I think its stupid. A lady in my town has just got her first year p's (shes never had a licence before) and she has a big tarago with 5 kids... i mean how can u tell her she cant have all her kids in the car with her at once?? And if they do make excepsions, who gets the excepsion and who doesnt??
What they need to do is force everyone into taking driver's ed courses (FREE OF CHARGE!) before they get their p's. Show everyone what happens in crashes i dont care what it takes- photographs, horror stories anything really.
I think harsher penalities would be better. Heaps of people seem to think "ohwell i only lose my licence for a few months" Give them a whopper of a fine, make them do community service or weekend detention for serious drink driving or hugely going over the speed limit. I know guys in my town that would hate the thought of community service:laughing:
With that said- i think people are too quick to judge p platers. I know i am responsible and i find it so unfair that i am stereotyped and critised when i do nothing wrong.
In Qld they have only just started enforcing that Learner Drivers must display an L plate the P plate is not needed to be displayed at all.
I hated when they introduced the mandatory L plate as I find that alot of idiots target you when driving ie: abusing you out the window, tailgating etc. I personally don't think displaying driving classes is the way to go either.;)
SamanthaJane
23-05-2006, 16:08
In Qld they have only just started enforcing that Learner Drivers must display an L plate the P plate is not needed to be displayed at all.
I hated when they introduced the mandatory L plate as I find that alot of idiots target you when driving ie: abusing you out the window, tailgating etc. I personally don't think displaying driving classes is the way to go either
Well we have to show them in NSW. And i used to get targetted alllll the time and it really Pi$$ed me off!!!!!!!!:banghead: In my actual driving test to go for my p's, i was sitting at a stop sign waiting for the traffic to pass and the guy behind me kept beeping at me. It made me so unerved that i just drove, i didnt cause any accidents, or come close to one, but i guess because i drove only coz he beeped at me, the lady failed me. Stupid a$$ if he didnt beep i would have got them first go:mad:
When my friend was going through a roundabout she stalled the car. The guy behind her yelled "get off the f***ing road dumbass" So her mum opened her door, stuck her finger up at the man and said "shut up w@nker cant you see shes learning" Meanwhile my friend is sitting their balling her eyes out.... some people are so cruel.... you've gotta learn somehow!!!!:banghead:
P.S Sorry for the road rage :laughing:
SassyMummy
23-05-2006, 16:10
I think some rules are a little unfair on P-platers...especially since P-platers over age 25 have different rules than those under 25...
Not all p-platers are hoons who speed and drink drive. Those that I know, most of them care about their cars, their safety and the fact that if they disobey road rules they could be up for a fine and dire consequences (losing their liscences etc). Therefore they stick to the road rules.
As for rules about not driving in certain times of the night, I find that a little unfair. A lot of young people work in bars/clubs etc...how are they expected to get home if they can't drive there? In qld, trains run late on the weekends, but people that work in pubs etc still need to get home on the weeknights. And trains don't run everywhere. And seriously...who has enough money to pay for a taxi every night they work (especially if it's more than 20 mins drive...!).
I actually think that the liscence tests should be more difficult, and that defensive driving courses should be a MUST for every driver on the road. I also sometimes think that kids should only be able to get their liscences once they leave school...because why would they need it before then? However, I know that there are exceptions to everything and therefore I am happy with how the laws currently stand. (without any new changes I mean).
tyhleigha & izaiah's mum
23-05-2006, 16:15
I hated when they introduced the mandatory L plate as I find that alot of idiots target you when driving ie: abusing you out the window, tailgating etc. I personally don't think displaying driving classes is the way to go either.;)
im only on my L's and i really love my L plate lol well just the colour :D
lilmissymoo
23-05-2006, 16:15
:idea: i believe it should be more with what they are driving. Dont get me wrong there are only a few P platers that are making it bad for the other. The majority DO THE RIGHT thing. If they can some how try and stop them driving "go fast cars" such as V8s, V6s, supercharged, high performance cars and also turbos such as WRX's. Only let them drive 4 cylinders with controlled power engine output (kilowatts). That might save a few lives and they wont be able to drag off their mates or show off to them while driving.
Its also has a lot to do with the courts, my Dh is a SA cop and does get some of the hoons off the streets. They send them to court and they only get a slap on the wrists. Another example is a idiot i know has been done for speed that many time and even DUI. Went to court gave a sob story and got his licence back :eek:
Yes i do see your point, L plates can be annoying to put up and also the L platers do seem to get targeted sometimes but can you imagine if you didnt have to put them up? People that target the L platers by tailgating or whatever, it would serve them right if they scared the sh!t outta the L plater, the L plater stops suddenly and the other driver rams into the back and damages their own car. I didnt really get targeted. If anything, when i see L plates i am actually more wary of them in case they dont give way, roll back a lot on hill starts etc. I actually really like the displaying of L plates.
I think the rules suck! It sounds good in theory the rules. But what about the mum of 4 kids who has never got her licence then all of a sudden finds that she has to drive as hubby can't anymore and the rules are in place that she cannot drive with passengers. What is the point of having a licence! She wouldn't have a use for it!
That was just an example story but me for example I have had my Learner's Permit for 8 or so years and have never needed my licence yet will go for it one day. How are those rules going to help me! Their not!
yes i see where you are coming from but it would be ok if they monitored it all, like i think it is only from 12 till 3am so how often are you out at that time? I think its fine if they do it that way.
Not so sure on ALL of the rules, like i said, im not totally sure how they would monitor it all, but i think something needs to be done about it. Too many people are dying on our roads. Although the majority of P Platers are sensible drivers and do the right thing, unfortunately the 'hoons' spoil things for us.
yes i see where you are coming from but it would be ok if they monitored it all, like i think it is only from 12 till 3am so how often are you out at that time? I think its fine if they do it that way.
lol:laughing: I work night fill! So driving after midnight would happen quite often for me!;)
:laughing: Well that put a bullet through my theory then didnt it! ;)
lmao sorry:laughing: :laughing:
:idea: i believe it should be more with what they are driving. Dont get me wrong there are only a few P platers that are making it bad for the other. The majority DO THE RIGHT thing. If they can some how try and stop them driving "go fast cars" such as V8s, V6s, supercharged, high performance cars and also turbos such as WRX's. Only let them drive 4 cylinders with controlled power engine output (kilowatts). That might save a few lives and they wont be able to drag off their mates or show off to them while driving.
Its also has a lot to do with the courts, my Dh is a SA cop and does get some of the hoons off the streets. They send them to court and they only get a slap on the wrists. Another example is a idiot i know has been done for speed that many time and even DUI. Went to court gave a sob story and got his licence back :eek:
I posted this thread this morning and this arvo this particular conversation started up (not by me) and that very same topic of the power of the car was talked about. Yes I think L & P platers should only be allowed to drive a 4 cylinder, if the parents only have 6&8 the child needs to save and buy a 4cyl before driving. May teach these young one how to save as well. If you want to drive save up to buy a 4cyl vehicle. But a car is a car they all can kill if handled incorrectly.
I think with the amount of people in the car refers to people around the same age, if it's a mum with kids I don't think the rule would apply, I doubt if a 2 yr old in the back will be saying mummy drag that guy off mum (but you never know :D )
They were saying about a young couple going on a date, they can't be in the same car late at night. I think if they were spending most of the night in the car they are doing one thing anyway. Okay speculating but everyone remember back to your day. :yelclap: Yeah I thought so heeeheeheehee.
I think this needs to be trialed before it comes into play but I can't see how they will police things like this.
I had a classic P plate incident this arvo when picking up my DS from day care and with the wet roads this guy will not last long, I'm just glad my son wasn't in the car yet, as I said a few choice words. If anything happened to me my son will have no parents. This guy was on his own so they can be just as stupid on their own anyway.
It's a big debate and everyone sees things differently especially the young drivers/mums out there or who are yet to get their licences. I got my P plates 15yrs ago and the amount of young drivers dying or causing accidents were very rare not like now.
All I care about is the lives it could save.