View Full Version : When I grow up I wanna B......

littleleos
10-12-2008, 17:01
A STAY AT HOME MUM:laughing:

My maternity leave finishes in 1 month :yes:
so we are going to be about $1400 a f/n (whats the opposite to better off???)

I would love to stay at home with my little bubba.... how are u going to do it/ how r u doing it????

money saving things I can come up with.

buying aldi nappies instead of huggies
getting rid of austar (foxtel)
only shopping once a f/n
buying vedgies at vedgie shops not supermarkets
hand washing my clothes .... not!

(sorry its abit limited my bubba has decided he wants my attention NOW!)

we have a pretty good income but I have no idea where it goes:detective: (prob on spoiling my bubba)

please help me live my dream:cloud9:

Misheycat
10-12-2008, 18:37
Currently both DH and I are home with our DD, we've been living off of savings (I put away quite a lot of money before I finished work), baby bonus + very minimal fortnightly FB payments (these barely cover 1 weeks rent).

This is by choice of my DH when he lost his job in August (week b4 Chloe was born - bad timing) and we have decided we will both return to work in 2009.

My work has basically told me (I had to relinquish my position when my contract ended on the 24/08) that they will be advertising a position (its government so this is policy) in Jan/Feb so there is a 99% chance I will win this...it will be full-time. I'm scared of leaving Chloe, however luckily my mum has offered to look after her. Still its not the same :(, I'd prefer to be a SAHM too, ideally until she is at least 1-2 years old.

Money Saving ideas:

Swap disposible wipes (eg. huggies) with cloth wipes
Limit takeaway foods, restaurant visits & buy cheap non-brand foods (we've saved HEAPS of money as we used to buy takeout all the time).
Recycling/2nd hand clothes for bubs (hand-me-downs from friends, ebay, 2nd hand shops - many of these are near or almost new).

I have a mental blank, I'm sure there are other ideas floating around out there...

ellie13
10-12-2008, 20:30
alina.....:hugs:, but it can be done.....I am not sure how we do it, but we live of of my DH's part time income.....but it can be done...we are happy, and I don't feel like anyone is deprived.

-we buy aldi nappies
-i use (whatever brand they have in aldi) chuck cloths cut up as wipes
-dh does the groceries....lol...much cheaper when he shops, he doesn't impulse buy as much as me
-main grocery shopping is aldi
-going out only occasionaly
-I still buy new clothes for Bianca, but usually on special
-Dh gives me spending money and I have to do with that for my coffees with mom groups and DD's little things, activities etc....
-yep no foxtel, not much video eithre....you'd be suprised how much good tv is on normal chanels;)
I don't know much elose, those are just some, but I think it's just a basicly sitting down and budgeting and making sure that you have your priorities straight first.....

Good luck Alina.......I love being SAHM and I would be very resentful if I was pushed back to work......

babynumberone
10-12-2008, 22:08
Hey Alina,
I don't plan to begin full time work until our last child is at school. We survive just fine on DH's income (and a little bit of centrelink).

Some ideas which we do:

Use cloth nappies and cloth wipes at least part time
Write up a clear budget - work how much bills are - put money aside for them each pay week/fortnight
Don't overuse a credit card or do without one
Go food shopping on Saturday afternoons as a lot of foods (such as meat and bread) are discounted
Convert your car to gas
Use public transport whenever practical
Sell any unwanted or unused goods on ebay
Buy pre-loved items from places such as ebay
Buy clothes, toys etc during sales - never pay full price
Gotta go, Zaydn has fallen asleep and we both should go to bed. Will add more ideas later...

Claire x

littleleos
11-12-2008, 12:29
ohhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh some good tips girls:yelclap:

I loved aldi nappies till last night but im not completly pointing my finger at them as mr wee man may have been pointing in the wrong direction... I will def check out their wipes

Oh I was gunna go shopping on sat... will leave it to the arvo... I def agree that when ray goes shopping he gets less (he knows where the nipple pads are I dont:laughing: how bad is that)

I really only watch dr phil and oprah... foxtel sux its all re runs anyway

Ebay... would u believe that my DH has a coubard (sp) of football jumpers worth heaps that he never wears!!! not sure if he will part with them

Pubic transport... my hubby gets it for free which saves heaps.

yep... im gunna go rip up some old flanelette sheets for bumb wipes... gotta be better that those huggies wipes + u can warm the water

yous r the best... thanks for taking time:sunshine:

p.s do u reckon shopping once a f/n saves money

lunawolfspirit
07-01-2009, 22:20
hey i know this is really old but i can tell u what i do.

i use cloth nappys.
i use face washers as bum wipes
i also use a different set of face washes a breast pads, the ones in the store did nothing for me so i just fold a face wash in my bra and i off at night i use a towel lol

i shop once a f/n and i no longer buy many fresh vegies cause they get rotten before they get used so i buy motly frozen stuff ...not healthy i know but it works for us.
i buy fresh milk then and there and i buy long life milk so we dont make trips to the servo to get milk or anything like that. i buy the bread and freez it till we need it...for toast only.

i buy meat once a month and i spend 100 on it.

i dunno if any of that helps but it works for us =)

lunawolfspirit
07-01-2009, 22:27
another thing i do is estimate how much rates might be and make weekly payment, i do that for phone internet elect gas ect, so when the bills come i am often ahead or i only owe a small amount.

i never used to own a dryer but my dad got me one, so i only use as i really need to. to save money o the elect bill.

some people tell me im a real tight bum with my money...i am in a way but i dont think i am i just see the big picture and i can honestly say with all my little savings i do ellie does not miss out and she gets $14 in her bank once a week. i just dont like to waste my money on c-rap so to speak.

i cant go without my softdrink lol