View Full Version : $1000 Government Payment - how will you spend it?

sydneybubhub
08-12-2008, 10:42
The decision of the government to make a payment of (approximately) $1000 per child to families to help boost the economy is a welcome one in the eyes of many families.

What will you be doing with your money when it comes through?

This is a multiple choice poll so vote on whatever options apply. If your answer falls under 'other', share with us what you're going to do.

NibbleCurlynBub
08-12-2008, 10:44
A few needed items and Christmas stuff then save. :yes:

Nowhere
08-12-2008, 10:47
We are useing ours for DDs new feeding pump ( its already payed for so that wil pay of the credit card that we bought it with, and to go towards mikis therapy

Whispers
08-12-2008, 10:47
All on christmas im thinking :noel:

Nellsy
08-12-2008, 10:56
I'm going to spend it on a couple of nights at Hyatt Coolum :cloud9: (which is usually out of our reach but they have a special rate going so it will be cheaper) and then the rest I will put into an investment account for the kids' education.

borntobemummy
08-12-2008, 11:00
Our $2000 will be replacing our $5000 baby bonus which we have to use on our midwife because the government won't give midwives medicare provider numbers:rolleyes: Our rego and car insurance is due right when our baby is due and we will need to use most of it on that as DH is on a casual wage and doesn't get paid over the school holidays, so things will be tight for us. So, no spending and splurging, just reclaiming a little of what the gov. has denied us. I know we don't deserve the baby bonus either, it's just that a bonus, but we could have really used it and it's not fair everyone else gets it but we get penalised because we need to have a homebirth.

CaitlinArai22
08-12-2008, 11:03
lol check out this thread

" What are you doing with your $1000+? Are you going to do your bit for the country? "

has 12 pages of us all saying how we'll spend it:)
I think theres been one or two others as well

Bo0tifuL
08-12-2008, 11:07
Xmas Xmas Xmas for us!

Milktini
08-12-2008, 11:28
Spending on Xmas, Pressied For DS aswell as me and DP and then going to get in front of some bills!

~ElectricPink~
08-12-2008, 11:53
Car rego and any repairs, save some for DS's upcoming specialist appointments, plants for my garden if I have any leftover...

babygizaiah
08-12-2008, 11:56
hubby and I are going to take ds on a road trip up to Noosa for 3 days over christmas. Then we will come home for the night and then do a roadtrip down to Orange. Stopping in at Byron, Sydney, Gulburn and then having new years eve in orange. So our money will probably go on petrol, accommodation and any other expenses that occur while on the road. cant wait. The money has definately come in handy. Good oh ya K.RUDD

QTB
08-12-2008, 11:58
Moving house (so paying movers, cleaners, carpet cleaners and lease exit fees) a trip to victoria to see my mum for xmas and our first mortgage payment

Mahjong
08-12-2008, 11:59
Other - ours will be paying for DS1's tonsil and adnenoid removal and grommets being inserted due to the FOUR yr waiting list in the public system. We had to go private to help him out and make it easier on him.

08-12-2008, 12:10
Ours will be spent on the kids, us, getting the car fixed & hopefully some left for holiday activities like the zoo, museums etc :D

banana
08-12-2008, 12:13
we are going to put some on the credit card, some into the kids bank accounts and then the rest we are going to save for a rainy day.

MyFourCubs
08-12-2008, 12:17
We will get quite a lot from what I can work out:o some will go to buy some furniture for the kids rooms which they need (have to more dd2 in with dd1 and just bought ds a bed so will replace what we spent on that.) Rest will go into our savings. No way am I spending it on **** we don't need- sorry Kev not quite what you intended but at least I won't be spending it on drugs, alchohol or cigarettes I know that much:rolleyes:

Ana Gram
08-12-2008, 12:41
Much of it is going to charity :)

mummeeto2
08-12-2008, 12:49
We're going to pay off the credit card

Myfanwy
08-12-2008, 12:52
We're saving it as I think the country is going to be doing it tougher than at the moment in the next few years. So we are going to keep it saved until the economic climate gets really rough.

pinkgingham
08-12-2008, 15:26
i've decided since i go without even the everyday things to give my kids everything they want and need that i am going on a shopping spree for myself :D

i am going to be selfish for once :p i deserve it :D

Whoops
08-12-2008, 15:34
I will finally have a fenced in backyard!! :smiliedance:

our little treasures
08-12-2008, 15:41
We will be buying a larger household item and getting a few things done to the cars. The rest I will put some in the kids accounts and then whats left into our savings account.

I always have christmas and bills budgeted for so there is no need to run out and just spend. The larger item will be an extra gift for our family as the kids, dh and I will all be delighted with it.

It's better for us to put it away for when it is really needed.

ThomasMum
08-12-2008, 15:41
The decision of the government to make a payment of (approximately) $1000 per child to families to help boost the economy is a welcome one in the eyes of many families.

What will you be doing with your money when it comes through?

This is a multiple choice poll so vote on whatever options apply. If your answer falls under 'other', share with us what you're going to do.

We dont receive any of those but we dont mind :D I hope those who receive will have a nice Christmas for sure...

:xmastree:

forbetoel
08-12-2008, 16:24
Not sure yet, but our money will definitely end up back in the economy in the next few weeks sometime.

08-12-2008, 21:55
We're not 100% sure but we have spoken about getting a front fence put up and maybe getting the aircon installed and if theres any left over getting an outdoor table and chairs.

BrAins
11-12-2008, 19:21
we will be putting insulation in our roof. paying for flights to canberra for a friends wedding in april. the rest will go on the creditcard

we have christmas sorted as the year goes by, so need for me to run out and buy stuff.

neostudded
11-12-2008, 19:37
I will be spending my 1k on fixing my car.:)

~Temet Nosce~
11-12-2008, 19:54
I have spent most of it already :o :p
It was on stuff we needed though not just random cr@p (but the retailers definetly got the 'boost' that rudd wanted to give to the economy from me) I brought a whole lot of new sheets, for the cot and our queen size bed, new doona covers etc. (they are soo expensive I never realised :eek: we only had about 3 different cot sheets and 3 sheets for our bed so they were pretty worn from being used so often) now I get to hop into nice clean freshly changed brand new sheets tonight :cloud9:
lots of clothes in the next size up for dd once she grows out of her current ones, I feel good knowing she has clothes to fit her when she will need them cause I can't always afford them.
About 4 weeks worth of meal replacement shakes for myself, because I want to finally get off my butt and loose some weight. A grobag egg thermometer because I never quite know what to dress dd in for bed, eased my mind alot.

And tomorrow I will be shopping around with the remainder for some much needed clothes for myself. Seems like a rather big splurge but its all needed stuff.

oh.. and I gave $150 to dp and he got himself Rockstar with the guitar, drums and mic for the Wii :rolleyes: lol.

confusd
11-12-2008, 19:56
im spending about $100 of it on rego.
im saving the rest:)

11-12-2008, 20:05
We just bought our first house and DH lost his job a few weeks ago(just started a casual job). So the money will help us greatly with the costs of living and house repayments. :yes:

floodprincess
11-12-2008, 20:08
Whilst I don't think I'm going to be eligible for the bonus.....if I do happen to get it the money will be going towards my midwife costs for homebirthing this next bub.

smootch
11-12-2008, 21:02
I don't know what to think of the $1000,

I mean i think it is a great idea, although i don't know why it is 1000 per child as my DH and i have been trying for a child for 5 years and though IVF which is very costly! I could spend $1000 too - maybe on me for a change instead of FS and DR and blood test and cycles!

My DH was out of work earlier in the year and im off work for 6 weeks due to surgery, we have had to take out a lone to survive! Thats why i dont see this as being fair

Maybe im a minority would like to know how everyone else feels

Beeza8906
12-12-2008, 08:56
Im spending it all one getting my cars CVs joints done and a major service.
its actually gunna cost more then $1000
but knowing i have a realible car thats going to to last is comforting..

mother of six
12-12-2008, 10:34
Well i recently got married and brought a nice new car , which we had saved for, and we are buying a house as im am inheriting money i was left so we are planning on using the moeny to add to our deposit. I did all my xmas shopping thankfully during the year so im all organised for once :) every bit helps :smiliedance:

iMischa
13-12-2008, 11:48
car service, have hit the big 200 thousand K's eek so its a biggy. and if theres any left over *fingers crossed* its going to pay for DS's swimming lessons. *hafto pay upfront for the entire 16 weeks damnit.

wannabemum
13-12-2008, 12:02
Me (the "if you've got it spend it") wants to buy a new dining room setting.
Dp (the "No lets save it)" wants to yes... save it.... :hissy:

Maybe we can meet half way :sunshine:

defa
13-12-2008, 19:28
Would be nice to get some money From Mr Rudd..
But no since I go to work and pay my TAX we get nothing..
I think i should of had 4-6 kids I think i would have more money if i did and not worked...
Baby Payment, and now this payment child care fees cut and now this come on when are some of the people that go out and slog there guts out at work going to get something back

Refresh
13-12-2008, 19:56
Ours will be going on a few different things. We will use some to pay off the remainder of DHs website....some to pay rates.....we are going to send the PIL away to a fancy hotel for New Years eve to say thanks for all they have done for us....and I think we will go to the Sunshine Coast for a couple of nights. It will come in handy to pay off the Christmas laybys next week too.

Thanks Kevin....we are very lucky:yes:

Lil Mamma
13-12-2008, 20:08
Ours will be spent on getting the car fixed, paying some bills, new clothes for the boys and the rest saved for a rainy day.

hayleysmummy
13-12-2008, 20:37
oooh I see things getting heated in here :devil6:

Mine will be saved to go towards emergencies my future tax payers may need :D

RainbowSky
13-12-2008, 20:49
I don't begrudge anyone getting free money but personally I think it should have been $1000 per family, not per child. JMO. That way it could have been given to a lot more people, many of whom could use the $$ too, I know it would have made a difference to me. But I don't have any kids yet so I'm not in the running. :confused: Ah well.

spoon
13-12-2008, 21:42
We have spent it on camping gear for the family since I am studying and we will not be able to afford much in the way of excursions and fancy hotel type holidays for the family for the next few years until I have finished uni.

I bought some bikes for my hubby and I and some baby trialers so that we as a family can enjoy an active lifestyle over the next few years.

Some camping trips over these school holidays

A christmas getaway to the blue mountains for myself and my little kids and hubby

some furniture for my babies. We have moved back to a tiny townhouse with my hubby and 5 kids so that I can better our position and complete a degree. Our 3 babies are crammed into a tiny bedroom to share, I have bought some bunk beds so the kids have some space to swing a cat.

Some drawers for our bedroom so we can put our folded clothes away/

Thanks Kevin, I am mighty proud that I voted for you.:thumbsup:

MyFourCubs
13-12-2008, 22:01
:yelclap:I completely agree.

I don't begrudge anyone getting free money but personally I think it should have been $1000 per family, not per child. JMO. That way it could have been given to a lot more people, many of whom could use the $$ too, I know it would have made a difference to me. But I don't have any kids yet so I'm not in the running. :confused: Ah well.

I agree with you too actually- I know that basically there logic was that if they give it to peopel that are 'struggling" they are more likely to spend it but their blatant admission that they gave the money to young single mothers and peopel on the dole because thye are the ones most likely to throw it straight back into the economy is pretty disgusting and downright irresponsible imo. We got a fair chunk- we have 3 children and my boy gets a carer allowance as he has ASD but we are not the type (sorry Mr rudd) to squander it but I think if you are going to hand out money for nothing you should give it to everybody just to be fair. What sort of mentality are we bringing generations up with- sit on your **** do nothing and we'll just keep throwing money at you to keep you going and if you do start earning and earn too much- we'll stop. great ethics to install in our future generations.:rolleyes:

Refresh
13-12-2008, 22:34
Do people on the Dole get the payment?

What sort of mentality are we bringing generations up with- sit on your **** do nothing and we'll just keep throwing money at you to keep you going and if you do start earning and earn too much- we'll stop. great ethics to install in our future generations.

I didn't think the payment was going to people who sit around doing nothing....I thought it was for parents, carers and old aged pensioners? I am sure most of them dont sit around doing nothing. And, I certainly dont think it is fair to say that young, single mothers will be irresponsible with it either... :(

Nowhere
13-12-2008, 23:15

I didn't think the payment was going to people who sit around doing nothing....I thought it was for parents, carers and old aged pensioners? I am sure most of them dont sit around doing nothing. And, I certainly dont think it is fair to say that young, single mothers will be irresponsible with it either... :(

I thought the same as you FS, I know we are eligable for 2000 one thousand is the child payment and the other is cause we get careers payment for DD, I certainly dont sit around on my @ss, lol I wish i did, well i am now cause DD is in bed for now, but not usually, I sat around more and had more time to my self when i worked full time running a hairdressing salon and working nights in a bar.

14-12-2008, 07:11
I agree with you too actually- I know that basically there logic was that if they give it to peopel that are 'struggling" they are more likely to spend it but their blatant admission that they gave the money to young single mothers and peopel on the dole because thye are the ones most likely to throw it straight back into the economy is pretty disgusting and downright irresponsible imo.
Although people on the dole aren't getting the money, I don't understand how it's disgusting and irresponsible for the government to do it this way? It's pretty much what it NEEDED to allow our economy to keep afloat. That's the reason they gave it 2 weeks before Christmas and to people 'without it all' I agree, it would be fairer to give it to all, but would that have hindered or helped the financial situation of Australia?

What sort of mentality are we bringing generations up with- sit on your **** do nothing and we'll just keep throwing money at you to keep you going and if you do start earning and earn too much- we'll stop. great ethics to install in our future generations.:rolleyes:
We're not really though. This is a one-off. There's been no guarantee that it'll happen again next year (I'm sure if there were still the financial doom and gloom hanging about we will) and there are a lot of people getting this payment who don't "sit in their ****."
I'm one of them, I'm from a family where both parents work, but we don't earn enough to get buy without FTB A. So we get the bonus cash (and I work 4 days a week, husband works 5) it's a bit sad really.
As you've said, you don't sit on your backside either, nor does Miki's mum above...

Maybe we should worry about the ethics that *we* as parents are instilling into our children, I know I do! :)

pinkgingham
14-12-2008, 10:00
sour grapes because some people dont get it me thinks. there is a reason why some of us were entitled to it and others arent. it went to where it was needed most and i am thankful for that and some people just need to let it go.

tiggermamma
14-12-2008, 12:21
We are saving to buy a car so this money will go towards that... :party:

As for whether if you have more kids you should get paid more... well, I guess it's helpful no? More kids = more expense.

Anyway, his money hand out was designed to stimulate spending so as to avoid the economy going deeper into tailspin. Given that, the money would have been better given to already cashed up oldies and young single people who will go out and buy clothes and party further stimulating the economy!!! Sad but true.

Blueberry Crumble
14-12-2008, 12:26
I have already spent most of mine- chrsitmas pressies for DS and bills!

14-12-2008, 12:47
Unfortunately we bought a total lemon for our second car (the one that enables my husband to get to his FULL TIME but fairly LOW PAYING job, the one that I cant take him too because he leaves home at 6 and isnt usually home before 6pm), and over the past few months its cost us so much money we couldnt afford.

Thankfully to Mr Rudd we can now afford to get it fixed.

MyFourCubs
14-12-2008, 12:49

Grrrrrrrrrrrrrrr. Ok. Sorry I obviously didnt' phrase it well- I did not mean to imply that parents, carers and old aged pensioners were sitting around doing nothing. For heavens sake I AM a parent of 3 who as I just wrote, did get the bonus- a LARGE bonus in fact, and I am a carer. What I was REFERRING to and sorry, I should have specified that- was the story on Today Tonight last week that had those young single mothers on who were happily stating that they saw no reason to work whatsoever because the government was happy to pay them to not work and if they did work they would start losing their money so they couldn't be bothered. Then the commentator said that the government specifically stated that they intentionally gave the cash bonus to young mothers such as these and other low income families as they were the ones most likely to throw the money back into he economy." the implication, I thought was that they were capitalising on the SUPPOSED irresponsibilty of these social groups rather than give the money out to those better off who didnt' need it so were less likely to spend it. THAT is what I meant by irresponsible!:rolleyes: I was also by the way quite offended because it was a broad generalisation that as I stated earlier, myself being a non working parent of 3 and a fairly low income family was also directed at ME!

I do NOT think all young parents are irresponsible, for heavens sake I WAS ONE and so was my husband and every time this subject comes up on Bubhub, as it did last time that Today Tonight story was on I very vocally disagreed with it. I said that the GOVERNMENT was irresponsible for this line of thinking.

And I am sorry, no I dont' believe just dole recipients get the bonus, I was referring to non working able bodies parents who CHOOSE not to work (for no other good reason), and this stemmed from a converstion with my friend a cab driver who said yesterday that he was run off his feet driving all these people out to the shops to spend the money, some of whom had several children and neither parent worked so had "raked in a fortune," his words, not mine. He mentioned one single mother with "10 kids, 3 of whom had disabilities so she raked in $13000 and was gloating about it as she headed off to the shops." Extreme example sure- but that was who I WAS referring to, people at the extreme end of the spectrum and I only had this conversation yesterday and it was in my head as I wrote this post. I do not agree with our government rewarding non workers who could but choose not to work. I am certainly not referring to all single mothers here either- my mum was a single mum and 2 of my friends are single mums and I know first hand how hard it is to look after children on your own without taking on work on top of it- most single mums are also not in the situation by choice, they are victims of circumstance and deserve all the assistance they can get. However, 10 kids? Come on- that was no accident and it's rediculous that she is laughing all the way to the bank. Sorry but I am entitled to my opinion.

As for the person who said I had "sour grapes and need to let it go" again- I got the bonus so I have nothing whatsoever to be sour about.:mad:

And I can't believe anybody thought I was implying that everyone who got the bonus "sat around on their ***" especially those of you that know me! I am not going to write anymore, i couldnt' be bothered, but I apologise for anything that I said that has obviously been misconstrued, I just feel for those who do work hard, pay taxes and got nothing. End of story.

pinkgingham
14-12-2008, 13:11
my comment wasnt aimed at anyone in particular here, just a general comment stemming from the posts i have read both in this forum and other parenting forums.

SomewhereOverTheRainbow
14-12-2008, 13:11
Grrrrrrrrrrrrrrr. Ok. Sorry I obviously didnt' phrase it well- I did not mean to imply that parents, carers and old aged pensioners were sitting around doing nothing. For heavens sake I AM a parent of 3 who as I just wrote, did get the bonus- a LARGE bonus in fact, and I am a carer. What I was REFERRING to and sorry, I should have specified that- was the story on Today Tonight last week that had those young single mothers on who were happily stating that they saw no reason to work whatsoever because the government was happy to pay them to not work and if they did work they would start losing their money so they couldn't be bothered. Then the commentator said that the government specifically stated that they intentionally gave the cash bonus to young mothers such as these and other low income families as they were the ones most likely to throw the money back into he economy." the implication, I thought was that they were capitalising on the SUPPOSED irresponsibilty of these social groups rather than give the money out to those better off who didnt' need it so were less likely to spend it. THAT is what I meant by irresponsible! I was also by the way quite offended because it was a broad generalisation that as I stated earlier, myself being a non working parent of 3 and a fairly low income family was also directed at ME!

I do NOT think all young parents are irresponsible, for heavens sake I WAS ONE and so was my husband and every time this subject comes up on Bubhub, as it did last time that Today Tonight story was on I very vocally disagreed with it. I said that the GOVERNMENT was irresponsible for this line of thinking.

And I am sorry, no I dont' believe just dole recipients get the bonus, I was referring to non working able bodies parents who CHOOSDE not to work, and this stemmed from a converstion with my friend a cab driver who said yesterday that he was run off his feet driving all these people out to the shops to spend the money, some of whom had several children and neither parent worked so had "raked in a fortune," his words, not mine. He mentioned one single mother with "10 kids, 3 of whom had disabilities so she raked in $13000 and was gloating about it as she headed off to the shops." Extreme example sure- but I only ahd this conversation yesterday and it was in my head as I wrote this post. I do not agree with our government rewarding non workers who could but choose not to work. I am certainly not referring to all single mothers here either- my mum was a single mum and 2 of my friends are single mums and I know first hand how hard it is to look after children on your own without taking on work on top of it- most single mums are also not in the situation by choice, they are victims of circumstance and deserve all the assistance they can get. However, 10 kids? Come on- that was no accident and it's rediculous that she is laughing all the way to the bank. Sorry but I am entitled to my opinion.

As for the person who said I had "sour grapes and need to let it go" again- I got the bonus so I have nothing whatsoever to be sour about.

And I can't believe anybody thought I was implying that everyone who got the bonus "sat around on their ***" especially those of you that know me! I am not going to write anymore, i couldnt' be bothered, but I apologise for anything that I said that has obviously been misconstrued, I just feel for those who do work hard, pay taxes and got nothing. End of story.

Thank you Sara, I can completely understand what you are saying. :yes: And as one of the people who 'works hard, pays taxes and got nothing' it is nice to hear that some of the people who did receive money recognise that there are many of us who didn't who could have used it as well. :hugs:

We didn't get any money. TBH we make slightly under the FTB- A limit however the way my tax is worked out (as I salary package) makes it appear we earn a little bit over it.
While $100,000 might SEEM like a lot of money for a family to make in a year it isn't. Both DH and I have put ourselves through uni and are paying off HECS fees. This year I paid ordinary taxes which was quite a chunk of our income plus I paid almost $6000 in HECS. And because of my salary packaging (which makes it look like I earn more than I do) I now owe $2700 to the ATO which is largely HECS. I also got a letter from Centrelink saying that at some point in the last financial year they had paid me $280 and they want it back.
I have a child too, I too have been a single parent but chose to go to uni when he was young to make a life for ourselves. Now I cannot claim a CENT of a tax rebate ( eg- family TAX benefit) for my child and pay the same amount of tax as someone who is childless. :confused:
We work very hard for what we earn, and before falling pregnant I often worked 18hr shifts as well as weekends, public holidays etc.

While I do not 'begrudge' anyone else the money they have received, we definitely could have used it to. As could have many childless couples out there. I do think $1000 per child is just silly as those people who choose to have 6 or more children will receive so much money, whereas people like us who choose to go to work don't get a cent, even in tax rebates.
We definitely could have used the money. :yes: We also have just paid rates and car rego, and we also have families to buy Xmas presents for, not to mention mortgage repayments, bills and loans to pay.

We won't be taking a holiday over Xmas as we cannot afford it and I am working the whole time. I'm even working Xmas day. :no:

MyFourCubs
14-12-2008, 14:01
I agree. :yes:

Thank you Sara, I can completely understand what you are saying. :yes: And as one of the people who 'works hard, pays taxes and got nothing' it is nice to hear that some of the people who did receive money recognise that there are many of us who didn't who could have used it as well. :hugs:

Thankyou right back:hugs: I again am SO sorry if I said anything that was easily misconstrued- as happens sometimes when I post very late at night when I should really be in bed!:o I'm relieved somebody understood what I was trying to say.

Are you a nurse, Nic? Do I remeber that right? That sucks about xmas, I guess somebody has to do it but I sure hope you get paid handsomely!:fingerscrossed:

Also, just thinking about your post- not that this is what you were trying to say at ALL but it got me thinkin about other high income earners- maybe the govt has it a bit wrong in that perhaps our so called "rich" people would be MORE likely to spend the money if they dont' need it? Eg, "wow- that's an unexpected bonus, let's take a holiday?" rather than those of us without a lot of money (like me) who think, "wow- that's an unexpected bonus, no way am I spending it, I'll stash that away to help save for our house, for emergancies etc." What I don't like is that the govt has admittedly targeted people who don't have any money, don't care and are likely to go "Woo-hoo free cash lets spend, spend, spend." I get their theory behind it but no- I sure don't think it's responsible to encourage those who don't have money to spend what they've got.

Refresh
14-12-2008, 14:37
I did misconstrue was you said...but no one has ever growled at me before :crying: :p

I just typed out a huge post and lost it, argh.....be back later.

MyFourCubs
14-12-2008, 15:02
:laughing:I'm so sorry, I did not mean to growl at you, it was more of an "utterance," out of frustration:hugs:

Refresh
14-12-2008, 15:35
:goodvibes: :flowerz:Lol, 'tis OK, was just joking around....although it kinda suits your username!!

Veritas
14-12-2008, 15:35
as a single mother her works damn hard both at work and at home, who also contributes my fair share of tax (and yep I have a HECS debt too that I am repaying), the implication you have made that those receiving it are not hard workers is quite appauling.....

I tell you what, low to middle income earners work just as "hard a slog" for their $$$ as do their high income counterparts.....

I am certainly grateful for this one off blessing that will be spent and saved wisely..... and I hope that its desired effect is forthcoming and that it might save at least a few people their jobs over this hard economic period.....

Refresh
14-12-2008, 15:37
as a single mother her works damn hard both at work and at home, who also contributes my fair share of tax (and yep I have a HECS debt too that I am repaying), the implication you have made that those receiving it are not hard workers is quite appauling.....

I tell you what, low to middle income earners work just as "hard a slog" for their $$$ as do their high income counterparts.....

I am certainly grateful for this one off blessing that will be spent and saved wisely..... and I hope that its desired effect is forthcoming and that it might save at least a few people their jobs over this hard economic period.....

I agree with you but was going to bite my tongue this time.....BUT seeing as you brought it up....I also dislike the implication that those on a lower income don't work hard. My Dh works harder than anyone I know...for a pittance.

WarriorMummy
14-12-2008, 15:49
we will be getting the bonus- half on 1 bill half on another, i wonder if Rudd would be annoyed to know i was using it to pay bills instead of spending it on plastic?

MyFourCubs
14-12-2008, 16:03
I agree with you but was going to bite my tongue this time.....BUT seeing as you brought it up....I also dislike the implication that those on a lower income don't work hard. My Dh works harder than anyone I know...for a pittance.

My dh works his paid 40 hours for under $40 000 a year and no paid overtime. So yep- I hears ya!
Frenchstar you don't have to bite your tounge you are more than entitled to your opinion, I was just gulity of making a broad generalised comment before and not explaining myself- I take back any growling and will just "squeak" cutely if neccessary from now on:laughing:

CaitlinArai22
14-12-2008, 16:04
i understand many people have morgages, loans to repay, HECS debt, car rego, etc.... I only wish i could afford all that!

Perhaps $100 000 doesnt seem like a lot of money - but say your hubby was suddenly unable to work and you had to come home to care for him - would a combined annual income of about $25 000 do the job?
No, you would have to give up the dream of owning your own house, your own car, you would cut out all the extra costs the decent food, the 1st class vegies, and settle for the type of life a lot of us dont have a choice in leaving.

Really you could do that now, and hey presto - you'll have more then a few thousand extra to play with!

Up until a year ago i had a job - in fact i was set to be very successful. after helping to manage a childrens entertinment centre, where i worked (and yes paid tax) 50-60 hrs a week, i went to running a womans retil store for SFG, where my hours only got worse. I was only 21, i had a great job by the time i was 30 i would have been well on my way to getting a home and car and all - things i have desperately wanted my whole life, after being homeless and being moved around between houses and refuges.
Instead, i now sit at home with my DP wondering if he'll wake up himself or a wreck, wondering if he'll remember my name today, if he'll wet the bed, timing his showers incase he treis to kill himself. I know i've said this before, i am not after hugs and sympthy, so please dont anyone feel the need to post them, i really want you to stop and think about how you'd feel if all your hopes and chances in life were taken away, and you had to watch the man you love crumbeling.

I wish i was so lucky i had a morgage and car and all. i wish i could go to work! I wish i was so unaware that $100 000 only SEEMED like a lot of money!
Yes, people on higher incomes could have used the money, would have liked the money, whatever, but not as much as someone on a quarter of their yearly income!

WarriorMummy
14-12-2008, 16:25
wow- 40 hrs for $40,000, my dh is 80 hrs for $40,000 and thats labour, out in the sun 9 hrs a day- casual, no overtime pay and no holiday pay- about to be fired due to financial crisis too

ppl earning $50,000- car payment, rent, insurance, health insurance, blah blah blah
ppl earning $100,000- multiple car payments, mortgage repayments, insurance, health, higher taxes

the income is different but so is the outgoing amount- higher standard of living

i spose same would go for those who earn more- the more you earn the more tax you pay

CaitlinArai22
14-12-2008, 16:41
wow- 40 hrs for $40,000, my dh is 80 hrs for $40,000 and thats labour, out in the sun 9 hrs a day- casual, no overtime pay and no holiday pay-

:iagree:
My DP was offered work landscaping with house with no steps for the days he is okay (at the start there were a lot more of those!) and was told he would earn a little under $2 an hour - and this is legal as a scheme to "help" people with disabilities!

I was doing my 50 - 60hrs a week for $40 000 p/a originally - and i classed that as a LOT as most of my friends were on about 30 000!

RainbowSky
14-12-2008, 16:42
It's pretty much what it NEEDED to allow our economy to keep afloat. That's the reason they gave it 2 weeks before Christmas and to people 'without it all' I agree, it would be fairer to give it to all, but would that have hindered or helped the financial situation of Australia?

To the bit I bolded, umm just because some of us don't have children doesn't mean we have it all.. Just as it doesn't mean that all of you with children are 'without it all'.

I can definitely understand the reason the govt did it but I don't understand the logic behind giving $1000 per child. Unless they are giving out vouchers there is no guarantee that the money will be spent and not simply saved. So therefore the reason to give it only to a certain "group" (for want of a better word) doesn't really make sense. I can't understand how sharing it around a bit more could possible have hindered the financial situation of our country.

sour grapes because some people dont get it me thinks. there is a reason why some of us were entitled to it and others arent. it went to where it was needed most and i am thankful for that and some people just need to let it go.

:rolleyes: That's a bit of an assumption (and an inaccurate one at that).

Nope, no sour grapes here. :) Really, as I said earlier I don't begrudge anyone free money. I think it's a good idea (the boosting of the economy) and I love that my pensioner grandparents have received a nice little bonus that will go along way for them. Truly, I am not annoyed at anyone for getting the money at all - just wish the government had done it a little bit fairer.

We are saving to buy a car so this money will go towards that...

As for whether if you have more kids you should get paid more... well, I guess it's helpful no? More kids = more expense.

See, I don't think more kids always does equal more expense. IME that's not the case. It's all relative depending on your income and commitments I suppose. I'm sure it's helpful and that's great :) but it would be just as helpful (in many cases) to the ineligible ones too. That's the thing.

I got your point. And I appreciate you understanding it from the "other side", rather than assuming sour grapes. :goodvibes:

:yelclap: and :yes:

BreithCuidiu
14-12-2008, 18:16
We won't be receiving it and we really need it. My husband makes an average income, not a high one. But enough to put a roof over our heads. I would love to take our kids away on a holiday, pay off the credit card, have my daughter's braces removed or just have a nice Christmas lunch. But we won't be getting those things. We weren't getting them before the announcement either so I'm not complaining.

I am however complaining about the fact that it is hard for my kids to see their friends getting new things that they are not. It sucks that our friends have suddenly come into a bit of cash and can go away for a couple of weeks. My kids don't see the $$$ side of it, or any of the eligibility criteria. They just see themselves missing out, and all because Daddy makes an average income.

We are not well off. We don't have luxuries. We're not even in a situation where we can see a light at the end of the financial tunnel. So $4000 could have made a big difference to us.

SomewhereOverTheRainbow
14-12-2008, 18:35
We won't be receiving it and we really need it. My husband makes an average income, not a high one. But enough to put a roof over our heads. I would love to take our kids away on a holiday, pay off the credit card, have my daughter's braces removed or just have a nice Christmas lunch. But we won't be getting those things. We weren't getting them before the announcement either so I'm not complaining.

I am however complaining about the fact that it is hard for my kids to see their friends getting new things that they are not. It sucks that our friends have suddenly come into a bit of cash and can go away for a couple of weeks. My kids don't see the $$$ side of it, or any of the eligibility criteria. They just see themselves missing out, and all because Daddy makes an average income.

We are not well off. We don't have luxuries. We're not even in a situation where we can see a light at the end of the financial tunnel. So $4000 could have made a big difference to us.

See this is what I am trying to say. DH and I are both average income earners too (but the problem is we BOTH work therefore aren't eligible).
My DH makes $40,000 also, and it's only been this year he has been increased to that. The previous years he was making 25000-30,000 despite having a uni degree. And we were living off that for many years while I was at uni, so I have done that too.
And before that I was a single mother for 3yrs, and my son and I survived on $18,000 a yr....about $11000 I earnt through part time work (while at uni) and $7000 I got in single parent assistance. So I can relate to people who are in those positions as I have been too and I hope noone assumes I was judging them in my previous post.

This year has been very tough on everyone financially, but particularly people with shares or mortgages (for the record, I have no shares but we do have 1 basic mortgage). So why not give some of the money to the people who have been hurt most by rising interest rates etc....?
I think most people out there, with or without children, could benefit from the extra money.

Big :yelclap: to the PP who said she was giving it to charity!

MyFourCubs
14-12-2008, 21:42

:hugs::hugs::hugs: I don't know what else to say except THAT SUCKS:(

mummymummy
14-12-2008, 21:52
I had to spend it on car insurance excess for a little supermarket car park accident I had... $950 out of $1000 :( Lucky though for the government to give us this money cause I don't know where I would have got the money from otherwise...:) Would have been nice to spend it on some nice Christmas presents for my family... Oh well.

MyFourCubs
14-12-2008, 21:58
wow- 40 hrs for $40,000, my dh is 80 hrs for $40,000 and thats labour, out in the sun 9 hrs a day- casual, no overtime pay and no holiday pay- about to be fired due to financial crisis too

Um... what I said was he works his PAID 40 hours a week and the rest is unpaid overtime- which is almost the same again- usually 30 hours. Was not aware that this was a competition or else I would have been more specific.

PaganKitchenWitch
15-12-2008, 00:42
oooooooh, this is a touchy subject this one!!! :yes:
I have budgeted every. last. cent. of the kids bonus. (I don't see it as mine ~ It's a family tax benefit bonus, & that's the kids money....)
We are using our money to get the kids xmas pressies organised, as I missed ALL the toy sales this year, (:() & after having 2 birthdays in December, it's been really hard this year. I'm usually ready in September, but not this year....

We are also getting a new air conditioner, as the one we have now blew up last year, We cannot handle our 45 degree weeks in summer & especially with me being pregnant! And the kids get even more cranky than me! ~ Last year they spent summer in the bath (almost!!!)

Then we are getting our backyard done up for the kids. A bit of grass, some crusher dust gravel around our fire pit & some bark chips under the swings..... Much better than the dirt we have now. LOL!!!

Then with the $ left over, we are doing a massive food shop, our cupboards and freezer will be filled! They haven't been like that for ~ Hell, I can't remember!!! :crying:

Hope you all have a merry christmas, and are surrounded by the ones you love. :goodvibes:

WarriorMummy
15-12-2008, 08:12
i wasnt competing, i was just stating what my dh was on- my impression from your post was that he only worked 40 hrs for $40,000 a yr - to me that was good

i didnt know he worked alot more hours unpaid- how was i to know?

wouldnt it be nice if work conditions and wages were actually fair to the job? we can dream cant we?

MyFourCubs
15-12-2008, 11:55
I agree- 40 000 for 40 paid hours WOULD be good- and I might actually see him before the kids bed times which would be even better!:rolleyes: Is there anybody that actually gets paid what they are worth?

This thread has had me thinking alot actually- especially the pp who said her dh only earned 40 000 but their combined incomes put them over the 100 000 mark so they are not eligible. I know most of think that 100 000 is a HUGE amount and I only thought of those in corporate jobs earning that amount- but I honestly didnt' think about how two low- mod incomes become "high" when combined- and I don't think that's really fair to say that they don't deserve any cash bonuses as they earn "too much." You can have a couple with kids who are slogging their guts out to work, pay high taxes, pay for childcare and at the end of it they sytill don't get rewarded. I know many don't agree with me but I really think it sucks.:(

WarriorMummy
15-12-2008, 12:27
i agree with that-

they may earn twice as much but they are also paying out alot more

flick82
15-12-2008, 12:36
Does anyone know, we recieve half of the FTB for DSD, until last night we just assumed because we recieve half the payment we would get half the $1000. We arent due for our payment till the end of the week, Does anyone know do we recieve the full $1000 or only half??? We cant get thru to centrelink.

MyFourCubs
15-12-2008, 12:41
You don't have to be receiving full tax benefit A- you just have to recieve SOME of it, even the minimum $40 a fortnight I believe, and you will get the $1000, as long as your combined income is not over $100 000. Have you checked the centrelink site??? www.centrelink.gov.au (http://www.centrelink.gov.au)

flick82
15-12-2008, 12:46
Yeah it doesnt say about when the parents recieve half payments each, only says if your recieveng any FTB A. We just assumed, and arent expecting the full amount, as everything we get for her is usually halved between us and the ex.

Freya
15-12-2008, 12:49
Yeah it doesnt say about when the parents recieve half payments each, only says if your recieveng any FTB A. We just assumed, and arent expecting the full amount, as everything we get for her is usually halved between us and the ex.

My Mum and Dad have my brother 70/30 and she got the full $1000 and I don't think he got any.

flick82
15-12-2008, 12:50
We have 50/50.

HunterzMummy
15-12-2008, 12:57

From what i can gather you will recieve a % of FTB. For example say you get 50% of the FTB and your DH X gets the other 50% of the FTB you will get $500 as will she. If she recieves 40% of the FTB and you guys get 60% FTB you would get $600 and she would get $400....it does not go on how much time you spend or have the child but only if you SHARE that childs FTB- so in other words if you get money from CL for that child.....Does that make sense....:D

I love seeing how everyone is spending there money on much needed things and how it is making there lives easier and putting a HUGE smile on there faces :goodvibes: gives me warm fuzzies :flowerz:

flick82
15-12-2008, 13:04
From what i can gather you will recieve a % of FTB. For example say you get 50% of the FTB and your DH X gets the other 50% of the FTB you will get $500 as will she. If she recieves 40% of the FTB and you guys get 60% FTB you would get $600 and she would get $400....it does not go on how much time you spend or have the child but only if you SHARE that childs FTB- so in other words if you get money from CL for that child.....Does that make sense....:D

Thanks, thats exactly what we thought.

MyFourCubs
15-12-2008, 13:08
Sorry Flick, I didn't realise when you said you got half it was between you and your ex... thought you just meant that you get a percentage of it based on your wages. Apologies!:)

flick82
15-12-2008, 13:10
Tis all goo, Im not every good at putting things into words. Sounded right in my head tho haha

xkwzit
15-12-2008, 16:22
This thread has gone WAY off topic. This is about how you will spend the money, not whether you think the payment is a good idea (or any of those other subjects we've been discussing).

What WILL you be spending the payment on?

Cheers :)

tyler's mum
15-12-2008, 16:26
Im getting a new air con getting out in tomorrow morning:smiliedance: The rest will be spent on the last of the xmas stuff and food shopping.

Mathermy
15-12-2008, 16:26
This thread has gone WAY off topic. This is about how you will spend the money, not whether you think the payment is a good idea (or any of those other subjects we've been discussing).

:smiliedance:Amen to that! :goodvibes:

WarriorMummy
15-12-2008, 16:34
if there was a pill you could buy that you could take and it made you feel like you had had 10 hrs sleep and took away all pain and discomfort- id buy that

but seeing as this isnt la la land

half on 1 bill
half on other bill

how interesting am i lol

but because we are getting this bonus to pay these bills we have a bit extra so i bought dh a big lego thing for xmas and we will be doing a big shop- mostly so we dont have to go out with a newborn at xmas time

Mathermy
15-12-2008, 16:44
if there was a pill you could buy that you could take and it made you feel like you had had 10 hrs sleep and took away all pain and discomfort- id buy that

but seeing as this isnt la la land

half on 1 bill
half on other bill

how interesting am i lol

but because we are getting this bonus to pay these bills we have a bit extra so i bought dh a big lego thing for xmas and we will be doing a big shop- mostly so we dont have to go out with a newborn at xmas time
thats so cute:goodvibes: I'm looking for the perfect present to buy Dh too.

MyFourCubs
15-12-2008, 16:53

I can't believe how long we were able to run with it though!:laughing:

tired*mummy
15-12-2008, 16:57
We got a new imac computer & all new tyres for my car & the rest will probably be spent on bits & pieces over the holidays.

SassyDiva
15-12-2008, 17:04
Going on the home loan.. 2009 is going to be the year we make a huge dent in it :yes:
Maybe I should invest it in lotto tickets :p

pinkgingham
15-12-2008, 17:07
i was going to be selfish for once and spend most of it on me(because i always put myself last and need to buy myself some things), but i ended up spending most of it on bills and the kids....oops...LOL.

WarriorMummy
15-12-2008, 17:07
imagine $1000 worth of lotto tickets- id do that if i knew id win lol

LittleButton
15-12-2008, 17:15
not eligiable :(

so sad

LB

ZooKeeper
15-12-2008, 22:51
Paying off 1/3 of the $3,000 second hand station wagon I put on the Visa after I knew it was coming, we SO needed a car that DD could travel in which could get up our driveway after heavy rain, last year she and I were stuck at home for most of the summer because the last car could not manage our track in wet season.

thankyou Mr Rudd, the car's already been a godsend as wet season started about three days after I bought it :smiliedance:

flick82
16-12-2008, 06:30
We are spending it on, christmas presents, a week off work for DF (he doesnt get paid hols), and anything left over will be saved.

Ralli
16-12-2008, 07:11
Unfortunately I am not eligible for the bonus. Which sucks. would have been nice to have the extra cash this xmas.. oh well. :(

zenifa
16-12-2008, 07:44
My bonus arrived in the bank today!!
We are going to spend it on some bills (visa, car insurance), the kids xmas present (trampoline), and some of it is going towards DH's shed. If there is any left over we will get some clothes for DH, myself and the girls in the post-xmas sales! We only buy clothes either once or twice a year, so we need some!!

Zada
16-12-2008, 07:57
mines finally showing on c'link online for thursday yay:yelclap:

tomnabbysmum
16-12-2008, 22:36
well we spent $300 on a little getaway last weekend (no kiddies) .. $700 has been put away to help pay the rent over christmas cos oh doesnt get holiday pay and we have a big new years doo on at a friends so it will help pay for alco (tisk tisk but hey u need to have a drink new years) and $400 payed off my christmas laybys and i did a mega food shop stocking all the esentials for christmas also i put a bit extra on my credit card but that wont last long hehe :xmastree:

cazzamumof3
17-12-2008, 07:00
I got Mine Yesterday, and paid some bills that were due, and done some shopping.. Some of it will be used for our family holiday in January , and i stick some in the kids bank books..

xx cazza

grass is always greener
17-12-2008, 08:26
I will be spending it on the kids, myself and DF, chrissy presents, bills. Any left will be put into savings.

Just want to take some pressure off. It will be great

Freya
17-12-2008, 08:29
Well mine is there today, but going straight towards bills, savings and a bond plus all the costs of moving.

Thanks Kevin.

Kittylou
17-12-2008, 09:11
We used part of ours to buy MCNs for DD and the rest we are using for our family holiday after Christmas.

Susan Mac
17-12-2008, 10:41
i'm not spending it on anything we weren't already spending money on, so technically it is just going on to the mortgage. Which is helpful, because we had already decided to put in a shed, so it will mean we'll technically pay less for the shed.

PaganKitchenWitch
17-12-2008, 21:21
I got mine today, super chuffed about that!!! :yes:
So far haven't really done much with it, got the kids a twin portable cd player for the car (thanks Santa), :xmas: got them all 2 new pairs of shoes, as they really needed some good summer ones, have done a massive food shop, ($60 for a bloody ham...... not happy about THAT!!!:no:) paid a bill I forgot last week, & now I'm knackered!!!
Looks like take away for tea ~ Another treat we never have.... Maybe Barnacle Bills????
Can't wait til Saturday, going to Port Augustas Big W (as we are lame at home & don't have one, Target is as good as we get!! :thumbsdown:) Didn't get a chance to buy the air conditioner today, :fingerscrossed: we get to do it tomorrow,

17-12-2008, 21:25
We are saving for a family car.

sharifiona
17-12-2008, 21:44
Everyone around has the grant, I had been on holiday and wondered why we had not received it. Apparently we earn too much, even though we receive part A of the family benefits. The combined earnt amount tho has changed, as I fell pregnant again and decided not to take any work on the last few months. So I am ringing up tommorrow, I think we will just scrape in, but c'link were very helpful and suggested to back date the change and if we fall under the limit we would still get the grant! I plan to buy my first bubba her toddler bed and furniture for her room and put the rest towards a fridge!

MyFourCubs
17-12-2008, 21:56
:fingerscrossed::fingerscrossed: I hope so Sharifona!:)

3boys1girl
17-12-2008, 21:56
We brought a new lounge!
After having my old one foor 13 years I thought we needed a new one!! :yes:

SomewhereOverTheRainbow
18-12-2008, 07:20
Everyone around has the grant, I had been on holiday and wondered why we had not received it. Apparently we earn too much, even though we receive part A of the family benefits. The combined earnt amount tho has changed, as I fell pregnant again and decided not to take any work on the last few months. So I am ringing up tommorrow, I think we will just scrape in, but c'link were very helpful and suggested to back date the change and if we fall under the limit we would still get the grant! I plan to buy my first bubba her toddler bed and furniture for her room and put the rest towards a fridge!

Good Luck Sharifona, I hope you do scrape through! I worked out that we surpassed the limit by $1000. That is probably a result of the few overtime shifts I did when I was pregnant. :no: Well won't be helping the government out with their nursing shortage anymore thats for sure.
I have also heard that people who don't receive FTB until the end of the financial year will get the payment then? So still wondering if we MAY get it as I'll take maternity leave in June sometime and that will lower our income.
I'm just hoping our interest rates don't go up again because of all the XMas spending?

mitty
18-12-2008, 10:32
I put saving it but it will also be spent in the next six months on a newer car that we plan on paying cash for so no interest on a loan and we have better bargaining power cos we dont have to wait for finance

2and2istrouble
18-12-2008, 10:40
Investing it for the twins. Probably counter intuitive because it is supposed to be spent to "boost" the economy.

Yeah right.

YMo7
18-12-2008, 10:56
we get a fair bit coz we got 6 kids so we are spending it on alot of things...

wii for me :) new bed for dh and i, new bedding for whole family, xmas pressies for whole family, stock up on groceries, go on a holiday for my birthday, tattoo for dh, pay some bills, get my carpet cleaned, buy MCN's for my baby on the way, and still got more but dunno what we will use it for yet... :)

Nan
18-12-2008, 15:01
We're being boring and responsible and putting it straight on the mortgage. So, not very good for the economy, but very good for us!! :yes:

HarvestMoon
18-12-2008, 15:51
I used mine to pay off a cedit card and the rest is going on car rego and to get the car serviced.

fra99le
19-12-2008, 08:36
Some new clothes for the kids, some outstanding bills and Christmas presents.

Think you'll be able to do so much with it, but all the little things soon mount up, it will be gone in no time at all!

CaitlinArai22
19-12-2008, 13:36
we've bought a new buffet hutch, matching entertainment unit and matching dvd stand, a fridge, paid off the bills and paid some of them in advance, got a magic bullet and deepfryer, and varying other kitchen appliences, got christmas stuff, restocked our wardrobes and are sitting on the rest - not bad i reckon!

cassvanm
21-12-2008, 15:20
We are saving most of ours so that it covers lost income whilst I'm home with DD3 for an extra month. It will also help pay for DD1's schooling.

mummyof9kids
21-12-2008, 19:17
i was told i wouldnt get it but to my surprise we got 10,000 dollars which i spent some on xmas and the rest on the credit card.

beezee78
22-12-2008, 06:57
Not eligible ... also not eligible for baby bonus either now.

We feel quite badly about it as DH and I both work extremely long hours - which is definitely a struggle with a growing family. Have never claimed Centrelink benefits but it would have been really nice to receive a few breaks every now and then from the tax system which we provide so much support to.

We've saved very hard for over a year to ensure we had enough money to provide for a third bub so if we had of been eligible it would have just been nice to extend my maternity leave by a few more months.

Some notable exceptions in this thread :thumbsdown: but it's good to see most ppl are putting it to a worthwhile use.

Queen
22-12-2008, 12:30
Bills....if I had have got it :rolleyes:

22-12-2008, 12:47
Straight to the savings and it will go toward our new home.:)

angcaltam
22-12-2008, 16:02
We have been wanting to buy our own home for so long now and everytime we save a bit something pops up, we wanted $6,000 in the bank before going for a pre-approved loan and now thanks to the bonus we are only a couple of hundred off it. :yelclap: :smiliedance: So it has all gone into our savings.

secondtimearound2
22-12-2008, 19:29
Ours went to bills, rent and xmas presents! The left overs will be spent towards our holiday. Thanks Mr K Rudd it certainly has helped us out heaps :)

secondtimearound2
22-12-2008, 19:32
I also heard that there maybe more coming next year? March, April or May.

iamLilysmummy
22-12-2008, 19:34
i didnt get it..
\but mum did...

\we brought a

dishwasher..
mower
lilys cubby house

and hav a tiny bit left

miraclemum
23-12-2008, 21:06
we need to have a homebirth.

Just curious, but why is that? Anyway, I'm shocked that we got it but it has been a real blessing. I have spent the last week away from home with our 12 week old as my husband is in hospital. A weeks worth of accomodation, paying for washing machines, food from the cafe, parking at $50/3days and the cost of nappies for bubs (I use cloth normally). The rest will be spent on our darling boy and we can also hopefully give him a wonderful 1st Christmas (one with his Dad alive that is).

sophiesmommy
12-01-2009, 13:15
we kept it in my account and is using it, for groceries and nappies etc...

mrsd
12-01-2009, 16:37
We received $7000 - not wanting to be ungrateful but we thought that what with homeless people and others likely to lose their jobs with the economic downturn, a govt. initiative about more jobs may have been a better investment !

But DH was keen to buy them some decent Xmas presents (he bought them all - I minded the kids), he took some to watch the cricket in Sydney, and I'd like to invest some in shares while the market is so low. I'll have at least 3 kids at Uni at the same time in about 7 yrs time - ouch - so we'll really need it then!

BeckJase
28-01-2009, 12:43
I put the $1000.00 away in a high interest bank account because I knew I was going to tafe this year and the first year cost about $950.00 so I was able to walk down and hand it over no worries.:sunshine:

Last time I paid for a $500.00 course I was paying it of for most of the term.:no:

That sucked!!!:crying:

TripleTime
30-01-2009, 10:20
If we could of gotten it, would have been split 3 ways & locked away till they are 25

Freya
30-01-2009, 10:35
Just curious, but why is that?

I would say it is because she feels that is the safest way for her and her baby. Not settling for anything less then what she believes to be best for both of them.:)

HeidiLee
01-02-2009, 17:40
I also heard that there maybe more coming next year? March, April or May.

Dont think this will be the case. The stimulus package was a disaster - suprise suprise. The next stimulus package will be tax cuts.

TripleTime
02-02-2009, 07:40
Dont think this will be the case. The stimulus package was a disaster - suprise suprise. The next stimulus package will be tax cuts.

Thats what ive been told & wont help us either :hissy:

kayla
20-02-2009, 22:48
Well it was spent on the kids off course... :laughing:

meeks84
13-03-2009, 15:32
I will use it to suppliment my income, as I don't get maternity leave, i'll add it to our savings and live off that for as long as possible. that means it will filter through to the economy slowly, through grocery shopping and so on.

cluckymrs
13-03-2009, 22:39
I got it! yay' i will buy a new SLR digi camera so i can do the photography course ive wanted to do for yrs :)
the rest goes away to pay for kids expenses :)

RockmelonDreams
14-03-2009, 11:13
The first $1000 payment I bought a gift for my daughter and put the rest on the mortgage. This time around we've received $900 FTB B bonus and we're going to use it to buy a stroller, cot, clothes, feeding items, nappies etc that we still need to get for our new bub in July. We sold most of our baby items when we moved last year, not knowing that we would be expecting again so soon, lol. We also qualify for the low income tax bonus so that one will go straight on the mortgage.

SimplyMum
16-03-2009, 12:55
I spent the $1000 on Christmas, a new camera for myself and daycare.

This $900 I'm particulary excited about. I am buying myself some glasses, (as mine broke last year and I haven't had the money to buy new ones- headaches are getting worse with tafe now), getting myself a haircut- haven't had one of those since August last year when I got it trimmed for my bro's wedding and the rest is going on my credit card. It's going to be exciting to see my credit card under $6000!

SomewhereOverTheRainbow
17-03-2009, 15:03
I'm excited about the taxpayers one due in April as i didn't get any money in Dec....*may* still get it though when I lodge my tax..same with the back to school one.
But we will get money for DH and I both being tax-payers! :smiliedance: I am planning on using my portion of it to buy a pram for our bub due in July, ($500) and the rest for Calmbirth classes ($350). Very excited about it as without this money I have no idea how we would afford them...trying to pay off as many bills as possible before I take maternity leave. :yes:

JLUDCKE86
20-03-2009, 12:38
I put half of the $1000 towards getting my car on the road, That way I have my own transport and don't have to rely on my partner all the time when it comes to something that is needed for my daughter.

Lara777
20-03-2009, 14:58
The April Tax Payer Payment, YAY!!!:yelclap:
I didn't get the one before Xmas so this one is an absolute bonus, considering rego for the car is due at the end of April. The rest will go on bubba things, even though I'm not due til November 2nd!
My partner will get it to, his will go on the car insurance and then bub things, too.:)
Enjoy it everyone, who knows when it will happen again:wave:

defaipe
20-03-2009, 22:11
we put ours to paying off our car. very happy to say we no longer have a car loan :yelclap:
thanks krudd!! :D

Gamberetti
21-03-2009, 11:47
We received our $900 Rudd bonus last week and using it to buy baby items and winter clothes/shoes for our eldest.

A Party of Five
28-04-2009, 10:06
We saved all of it :thumbsup:

belonna
19-06-2009, 13:26
My last lot went into Multiple Sclerosis research. First one went to Camp Quality.

sweetseven
19-06-2009, 13:29
I'm trying to buy a car.

miraclemum
19-06-2009, 13:32
My last lot went into Multiple Sclerosis research. First one went to Camp Quality.

Well done!
I'm a bit wary of some though, I.E CQ. They have done a lot of good for my hubby in the past, but when they go and pay for new tyres on a cancer victim's mum's car that's son has grown up and moved away, because after buying her drugs, she couldn't afford it...that's where I have a problem.

piki
13-07-2009, 19:43
My daughter really wants a room make-over new bed, wardrobes all that stuff and room decor.

And then ill save the rest :)

TNTbub
29-10-2009, 19:54
Wishes we got $1,000 towards our IVF treatment.

Anyone that can concieve naturally thank their lucky stars.

Wishing4kids. :wave:

lala22
30-10-2009, 17:21
is there going to be another payment? when?

FullMoon
30-10-2009, 17:27
No no there wont be.. I got excited seeing this thread too but looked at the OP and realised it is from Last year!

maybe1more
30-10-2009, 17:44
No no there wont be.. I got excited seeing this thread too but looked at the OP and realised it is from Last year!

:laughing: me too!!!

YMo7
30-10-2009, 18:08
ditto.

FullMoon
30-10-2009, 22:12
I honestly nearly peed my pants!! LMAO!

Kevin please just one more!

Little-Pink-Hen
30-10-2009, 22:15
Ohh I was the same thinking yay another one :) I only spent mine on our last rental bond would be nice to get another one and dd would have one now too :)

massysmum
31-10-2009, 22:09
yes lol i thought there was another wen i seen that post it would be handy rite now for my bond on new place lol come on kev i pay my taxs u spent 2 mil on wining and dining last year our turn agian lol:laughing:

Booo
16-12-2009, 16:55
Havent got my tax back yet my tax agent is slack!!!!

reemasams
28-12-2009, 02:38
I would prefer to repay my mortgage as soon as I receive that hefty $1000 amount if given bu Government. Even I would prefer to accept it ,if it is repayable after 10 years without interest.

CatNoonan
28-12-2009, 06:57
Towards a homebirth for my second child... if DH agrees.

micky18
30-12-2009, 08:01
are they giving out a $1000 dollar payment? i cant recall hearing anything about it.

Pippi Longstocking
30-12-2009, 08:03
are they giving out a $1000 dollar payment? i cant recall hearing anything about it.

No. Classic case of thread necromancy. :p

MsMummy
30-12-2009, 08:11
I haven't filled out the Centrelink form yet (it's on my list of things to do today) to claim that and the FTB from 2008/2009.

It'll be spent in NZ in February though. Sorry, Kevin, for being unpatriotic.:D

florence
30-12-2009, 08:19
I haven't filled out the Centrelink form yet (it's on my list of things to do today) to claim that and the FTB from 2008/2009.

It'll be spent in NZ in February though. Sorry, Kevin, for being unpatriotic.:D

I don't think it will matter considering many people that don't live in Australia and aren't Australian citizens got it, too. :laughing:

pegasus
31-12-2009, 01:59
Seeing as this thread was started over a year ago regarding the payments from 2008/2009, and is now causing some confusion, I'll close it.