View Full Version : I dont mean to be rude, but is anyone else OVER it....
subaruforestermum
08-12-2008, 07:31
The big 'bonus' that is....
I'm just tired of seeing it time after time....
(No offence to anyone, been bugging me since all the hoop-lah of the bonus started when they first announced it)...
:cool:
Multiple choice poll
megaminz
08-12-2008, 07:54
am a little over it, we dont get it and I dont care we dont need it but..
a) the various debates on who has gotten it and who hasnt annoy me a little only cause in practical terms the govt couldnt give a bonus to EVERYone cause then we would either get nothing or very little. I would rather struggling old people or those with kids etc get a decent amount than $50 cause we had to share it round. I know some people still need it and wont get it but the cut off had to be somewhere
b) when you are getting it....see above..just wait for it to arrive cause all the talk aint gonna change when it turns up and i can see it does annoy some people from a) who arent getting it cause all they see is people going on and on about when it will turn up and all they see is but i am not getting it!!
I dont really read the threads anymroe unless I am realyl bored and scratching for a thread to read but it would be nice for it to be done and dusted
lol meant to add nearly posted earlier but didnt cause thought someone from a or b would have a tanty about my post, then I thought I really dont care so posted anyway
westerner
08-12-2008, 07:57
Totally over it.. I dont read the threads..
Its none of my business who gets it and who doesnt, its none of my business knowing what people will spend it on...So i pass on the threads.
javalava
08-12-2008, 07:58
You missed an option. 'Im over hearing about it, just bring on the money already' Lol. Thats how i feel anyway. I have it all planned out now i just want the bloody money already!!
Yep I am over it, starting yet another thread is not going to make it come any quicker!
You missed an option. 'Im over hearing about it, just bring on the money already' Lol. Thats how i feel anyway. I have it all planned out now i just want the bloody money already!!
Ditto that:D:yes:
It consumes my every waking moment these days. :D
subaruforestermum
08-12-2008, 08:03
I stopped reading about it to with all the numerous threads around, just over it, yeah we get it, but I probably wont even know when it goes into the account, I havent even worked it out when 'we' should be getting it, cos I dont 'really' care....
Over seeing it....over hearing about it.....
Turning people into 'when, when, when do we get it, I need it now, cant wait'... Well what would happen if it wasnt coming??
Baldie's Mum
08-12-2008, 08:10
I am over it cause i dont believe half the people who are getting it deserve it.
The money should be spent somewhere else where it is needed. hospitals, schools, roads.....ect.....
I think the disabled, carers and elderly should be the only ones to get it. They are the real people that cant do much about their situation.
Is anyone going to invest the money wisly?
~Temet Nosce~
08-12-2008, 08:11
Meh. I agree lol.
I get it tomorrow anyway :smiliedance: going to do some VERY much needed clothes shopping horah!
javalava
08-12-2008, 08:16
Turning people into 'when, when, when do we get it, I need it now, cant wait'... Well what would happen if it wasnt coming??
Well if it wasnt coming we wouldnt be excited about it would we! And this thread and numerous others would have no reason to exist!
I personally havent been on here reading about it that much but as its due anytime from today it is getting exciting for those of us receiving it. And i wont apologise for being excited about receiving a $2000 bonus for nothing!! Especially when we are in financial trouble with my partners job. Especially this close to christmas.
Im happy its taking away part of the stress.
BoyCrazy
08-12-2008, 08:24
Its not meant to be invested...its meant to be "put back into the economy"
As K.rudd said, and it was front page of the paper yesterday, "spend, spend, spend"
I also think that alot of families out there REALLY do need this money..not just pensioners, and carers :yes:
And i wont apologise for being excited about receiving a $2000 bonus for nothing!! Especially when we are in financial trouble with my partners job. Especially this close to christmas.
Im happy its taking away part of the stress.
I agree with this totally! my DP found out this morning that he has 2 weeks off over christmas (thanks for the lovely notice ***) so now this money will come extremely in handy for us to be able to pay our rent, be able to eat over chrissy and maybe even get some last minute stuff for bubs.
Also most parents i know always put themselves last, god i cant remember the last time i had a decent pampering, or spent 30 dollars on a haircut...now i can actually afford to do that.
But to the OP, yeah im over hearing people talk about it...and the numerous threads that keep popping up about it....doesnt mean i wont post in them though! :p
I am over it cause i dont believe half the people who are getting it deserve it.
The money should be spent somewhere else where it is needed. hospitals, schools, roads.....ect.....
I think the disabled, carers and elderly should be the only ones to get it. They are the real people that cant do much about their situation.
I think the government should tax the higher income bracket more for these things. Afterall if you are in that position you should give much more back to society.
westerner
08-12-2008, 08:31
Sure am... ;)
I just dont feel the need to start a thread explaining to everyone how i will use the money..
Wont be spent on Christmas presents or holidays thats for sure..
Baldie's Mum
08-12-2008, 08:35
I think the government should tax the higher income bracket more for these things. Afterall if you are in that position you should give much more back to society.
:yes: totally agree!!!!
I also think that there should be more giving to charities. Dont know how that would work though??? Its impossible to streamline it i think.
Most of our x-mas presents are charity driven. Like last year i chose to have my parents donate $1000 to "giant steps" i like it better this way, cause i dont need anything, but organisations like this do.
I dont mind if people want to talk about it, you cant be that over it or you wouldnt have started this thread not trying to be offensive but if you are OVER something you are over it and dont bother brining it up
I am very very aprieciative of the bunos that we are getting, It wil come in very very handy we are useing it to buy Mikis new feeding pump, and then some toward her wheelchair
~Temet Nosce~
08-12-2008, 08:55
I agree, I am very greatful for the money. I live week by week, and would never have a chance to save up that much money.
And anyway.. as previously mentioned.. there is no need to get worked up over who you think 'deserves' the money.. fact is, the money wasn't handed out to 'help' people in need.. it was given to put money into the economy.. to 'spend spend spend'.
subaruforestermum
08-12-2008, 08:56
I dont mind if people want to talk about it, you cant be that over it or you wouldnt have started this thread not trying to be offensive but if you are OVER something you are over it and dont bother brining it up
I am very very aprieciative of the bunos that we are getting, It wil come in very very handy we are useing it to buy Mikis new feeding pump, and then some toward her wheelchair
I am very over it, I havent said anything for so long, but to see the same threads pop up time and time again within a matter of days of each other, asking when do we get it, did you know there was a cut off, etc etc etc...then it gets a little tiring....
Considering it is obvious as to how many there are started asking when the money comes....
So yeah totally over it and after yet another 2 keep reoccuring on my page, I just think grrr surely I'm not alone with being tired of hearing about this...and the same questions being repeated...
I'm just hoping by this, people will take it easy on the 'money when do I get my money' type threads....
You can only let things go on for so long...
:cool:
WorkingClassMum
08-12-2008, 09:04
I believe that everyone who gets it deserves it - but it's not my place to judge - nor is it the place of any of us to judge or deem who is worthy.
The only way that money will be spent on these items is if the economy is stimulated and if Aust. doesn't go into recession.
Kevy is putting the money into the economy so that it will be spent, save businesses and manufactors etc. The money is going in at the ground roots of society.
Maybe you're a little out of touch with society here. My sis had no choice about becoming a sole parent. She's doing the best she can to imporve her situation - she's studying, and working PT and paying her mortgage. My disabled bro could do way more to improve his position in life - but he wont get off his butt.
Investing the money wisely would be to spend it. Certainly not on rubbish, but necessities like eco-friendly white goods, push bikes etc. In saying that - it's not my moeny - and it's up to the recipients how the spend their very well deserved windfall.
It's not your place to dictate that people should put the money in the bank.
The money has been specifically granted with the intention that it gets spent.
I hope that every penny of it gets spent too.
~Temet Nosce~
08-12-2008, 09:11
Ains, you own your own business right? A family business (unless i am mistaken sorry if I am lol)
You realise that people getting this money to spend, will ultimately help you and other business owners like you?
Love is all you need
08-12-2008, 09:18
I'm over it completely yes it helps us out, we would be able to survive without it (just but hey we could still do it)
It sh!ts me because money changes peoples attitude towards everything, those who get it, don't get it, think they should get it....everyone changes for the worse :rain:
I'm just over everyone's impatience to get the money.
I don;t get it? It's 'free' money, and we only have to wait a few more days to get it, but people are soooo imaptient to get it RIGHT NOW.
That's the only thing that I am over;)
subaruforestermum
08-12-2008, 09:24
I'm over it completely yes it helps us out, we would be able to survive without it (just but hey we could still do it)
It sh!ts me because money changes peoples attitude towards everything, those who get it, don't get it, think they should get it....everyone changes for the worse :rain:
That's another reason that made it impossible for me to keep this annoyance about it to myself anymore...
My sister doesnt want kids, and that's her choice but she is angry at 'US' for being entitled to it, and then the similar views I have read online....
It turns people, and it's not right that it should have the effect that it is having on people...
I know I have already posted but I like to talk so here I am again!
If I am totally honest it was hard for me to accept that everyone would be getting this money and we wouldnt etc and while I was in that stage I would occasionally have negative thoughts towards people who were getting it (in general not anyone specific).
But then I got over it and now I think, a few months ago no one knew about this money, no one thought they were entitled to it, so by not getting it nothing has really changed for us. I do wonder though why there are so many people who are saying they cannot manage without that bonus or they are angry they have to wait longer fot it? If this bonus had never happened would you have managed?
ETA I am truely glad this bonus is making christmas better for many people, I just wonder about those who are cross because its late or say they could not eat without it.
Mathermy
08-12-2008, 09:27
I'm just over the 'us' v 'them' mentality.
I'm over assumptions about each other's lifestyles, snide remarks intended to hurt others because we feel frustrated or angry with our own position, bickering, nastiness, piggy-back threads, accusations....
I'm over that :(
Mathermy
08-12-2008, 09:30
But then I got over it and now I think, a few months ago no one knew about this money, no one thought they were entitled to it, so by not getting it nothing has really changed for us. I do wonder though why there are so many people who are saying they cannot manage without that bonus or they are angry they have to wait longer fot it? If this bonus had never happened would you have managed?
I agree. We weren't expecting anything and it is seen as nothing more than a blessing. I do wonder what people who are relying on it would have done without it, it's a scary thought really.:(
~Temet Nosce~
08-12-2008, 09:30
I agree with almost everyone here, I have many varying opinions on it. Honestly, I definetly could have lived without it!
Its just nice to get it though, for sure. Will really help out, but yes I could have survived without it.
Edited,
That's bubhub, people are not always nice including on here.
But most are so just enjoy the ride I say!
Yeap I am over it.
I am also over hearing people whine about not getting it or thinking it shouldn't go to parents.
You are lucky to be in a situation where you do not need it, not all of us are that lucky so get over it.
I need this money more then ever right now but I don't feel the need to keep worrying about it, writing threads about it. It will come when it comes and I already know I am eligible.
What people would do without it? They would have managed but it takes the stress off. Allows you to be able to have an enjoyable christmas instead of worrying about finances. Means people can actually just focus on good times with the family over the holidays.
PrincessDani
08-12-2008, 09:31
I'm just over the 'us' v 'them' mentality.
I'm over assumptions about each other's lifestyles, snide remarks intended to hurt others because we feel frustrated or angry with our own position, bickering, nastiness, piggy-back threads, accusations....
I'm over that :(
:iagree: Money is the root of all evil :p
WorkingClassMum
08-12-2008, 09:32
I'm just over everyone's impatience to get the money.
I don;t get it? It's 'free' money, and we only have to wait a few more days to get it, but people are soooo imaptient to get it RIGHT NOW.
That's the only thing that I am over;)
:iagree:
Ohhh - and the media saturation. Every news broadcast ever hour on every radio and TV station.
Jeesz - just give the people their money, let 'em spend it and let's get back to the normal over-hype about the jolly season
Mathermy
08-12-2008, 09:32
That's bubhub, if it upsets you so much you may need a lot of these! :chillpill::chillpill::chillpill:
Thanks Naiwen, I will take that on board.
LOL I edited my post because I thought it might come across as a bit harsh.;)
You do seem to come into a few threads and say how sad/disapointed/upest/frustrated you are with everyone.
Is that because you are an optimist who is disapointed or a pesimist who has been proven right?:D
Mathermy
08-12-2008, 09:47
LOL I edited my post because I thought it might come across as a bit harsh.;)
You do seem to come into a few threads and say how sad/disapointed/upest/frustrated you are with everyone.
Is that because you are an optimist who is disapointed or a pesimist who has been proven right?:D
Not upset/frustrated with everyone-posts, not people. Unless people are being intentionally rude to me personally-in which case I will adress them or in cases where it happens repeatedly just accept it and move on.
I would say optimist who seems to have misplaced her rosey coloured glasses somewhere on the hub. I guess bubhub is a unique medium in that you have access to hundreds of different opinions on any given topic all laid out in front of you. I can't think of another area in my life where I have been exposed to quite so many different opinions all at once.
In real life I don't seem to wade into conflict quite so much, being relatively new to the hub i guess I am still learning how to deal with it.
anyways, till next time :)
CaitlinArai22
08-12-2008, 09:58
I believe that everyone who gets it deserves it - but it's not my place to judge - nor is it the place of any of us to judge or deem who is worthy.
Investing the money wisely would be to spend it. Certainly not on rubbish, but necessities like eco-friendly white goods, push bikes etc. In saying that - it's not my moeny - and it's up to the recipients how the spend their very well deserved windfall.
It's not your place to dictate that people should put the money in the bank.
The money has been specifically granted with the intention that it gets spent.
I hope that every penny of it gets spent too.
And it mainly will at our house! I will be putting a bit aside for any emergencies with dp's health (we get dsp and carers), but for the most part, we're spending!
I will be moving house, and getting help because dps not up to it atm, and last time him and mates CARRIED our furniture from one place to another (suburbs away!) took a week.
I will be buying dp a new phone - he needs to be contactable both for his sake and the bubs.
I will be buying a microwave, a 2nd hand fridge and a washing machine.
and you know what? if i blow the rest, GREAT! The past year where i've gone without and hurt myself, and cleaned up **** and sweat and spoonfed hubby and spent countless time in psych appointments etc, and basically watched the man i love die in front of my eyes.
Noone should make me feel guilty about "investing" this money - how about i invest in where it matters, in happiness for me and dp for a little while, because god knows its been a rough year and i say we freakin deserve it!
sockstealingpoltergeist
08-12-2008, 10:00
I feel this way- we won't be getting it and we don't need it. Hence why we won't be getting it.:p
I don't begrudge others who are getting it, I know a lot of single mums who really get Poo'd on all year, I'm glad they are finaly getting a break.
If people want to talk about it they can, it's exciting for many people.
rainbowmummy22
08-12-2008, 10:04
yes yes yes Im over it!!! I feel like I have already spent it in a way ...:s Morning shows are driving me nuts going on about it..to me its not even enough to make a dint in our chrissy :(
Sunnygal
08-12-2008, 10:22
I honestly don't mind that people are going on about it! Alot of the threads people have opened have answered alot of my own questions :)
The only reason people are going on about it is because they are anxious, and won't stop being anxious until the money is safely in their account!! Do we deserve this money - I don't know, but for me and alot of other families out there it is very much needed and appreciated :thumbsup:
For the last week we have been living of bread, milk, tinned spaghetti and whatever else is in our fridge, my hubbie gets paid monthly which makes things really hard... I have checked my bank account 4 times this morning to see if its in there :p Because without it we will have another week of eating scraps and scrounging around for coins...
And we will be able to have a christmas, which we were seriously thinking of by-passing because we simply can't afford!
So no doesn't bother me :o If people want to ease their minds by talking about it or asking questions about it - then go for it!
Deserama
08-12-2008, 10:47
I'd only be over it if I read them all...but since I dont' read them all, then I have no complaints :)
subaruforestermum
08-12-2008, 10:53
I'd only be over it if I read them all...but since I dont' read them all, then I have no complaints :)
I dont read them all, dont even look at half of them, one got me interested to see what others had to say, but that was a very recent one...
And I'm sick of seeing mainly "When do I get my money??"...:)
NibbleCurlynBub
08-12-2008, 10:54
Not over the bonus, I'm looking forward to that.
I AM over those constant threads asking the same questions over and over and over and over again.
Its SOOO frustrating. :hair:
FishFace
08-12-2008, 10:59
Doesnt bother me at all.
People keep askign cause they are excited and they need to pay bills etc.
I really dont care how many threads people start on it. I hover and if I dont like it I dont open it.
We dont get it but we will benefit from it as it spurs on the economy.
how can i complain? interest rates are dropping, petrol is too and I am ok.
So many cant buy a house ..so many cant afford basics.
I am so glad that this christmas they can have a good one..maybe a little less stressy then it could have been.
I am sick of people having to justify themselves on how they will spend it. ITS NOT OUR BUSINESS.
Ava&Jacksons_Mumma
08-12-2008, 11:03
I think everyone is just very excited, hence the thread after thread discussing it.
I'm sure its been a very long time since most people had a stress free xmas- not having to worry about finances.
JMO :)
CaitlinArai22
08-12-2008, 11:06
Not over the bonus, I'm looking forward to that.
I AM over those constant threads asking the same questions over and over and over and over again.
Its SOOO frustrating. :hair:
have to agree here - so tired of seeing "why isnt my family payment showing up on the centerlink site?"
"how are you spending it?"
"what day do i get it?"
ummmm am i the only one that uses search to make sure i'm not doubling up on the threads?
FishFace
08-12-2008, 11:07
ummmm am i the only one that uses search to make sure i'm not doubling up on the threads?
Yeap...I dont use search..lazy I guess.:D
who really cares just dont read it. Its pretty obvious from the title what its about..then you can hover and just ignore.:confused:
NibbleCurlynBub
08-12-2008, 11:08
Hmm yeah that was my point.
I don't mind the 'how will you spend it' ones much.
But the constant when?, who?, how much?, do I get it?, When is the cut-off date? ....
It just gets a bit much. That is all stuff that is answered by the many articles, like on Ninemsn and the like.
subaruforestermum
08-12-2008, 11:14
I think everyone is just very excited, hence the thread after thread discussing it.
I'm sure its been a very long time since most people had a stress free xmas- not having to worry about finances.
JMO :)
We get it, and personally I dont see how $1000 fixes everyone's financial problems, or makes it less stressful... really... after the money is gone, our finance issues are still going to be there, just like most....
Yes it helps, but is not the be all and end all basically....
That's the way I see it...
CaitlinArai22
08-12-2008, 11:16
Yeap...I dont use search..lazy I guess.:D
who really cares just dont read it. Its pretty obvious from the title what its about..then you can hover and just ignore.:confused:
yea you're right, i guess i just think its pointless and confusing to have 6 threads on the same thing lol, or that start off on one thing and all slide into the "why isnt it showing up yet?"
i should just close them , but then i remember how i felt when i didnt know and there was no info up yet, so i feel like i should answer cause i can see ppl like me stressing..... lol
i know the info's out there, i should just let them find it or double up i guess:laughing:
I like to think i'm helpful (oh, ok, pretend)
Ava&Jacksons_Mumma
08-12-2008, 11:21
We get it, and personally I dont see how $1000 fixes everyone's financial problems, or makes it less stressful... really... after the money is gone, our finance issues are still going to be there, just like most....
Yes it helps, but is not the be all and end all basically....
That's the way I see it...
I never said it was going to solve everyones financial problem or make it less stressful for the rest of their lives.
I said it was goind to make XMAS stressfee & help everyone financially over XMAS.
CaitlinArai22
08-12-2008, 11:25
i just realised i ws about to write something ive put in half the other threads about how it WILL be life altering for me.... oooops....*hides her hypocritical head in the sand
FishFace
08-12-2008, 12:26
i just realised i ws about to write something ive put in half the other threads about how it WILL be life altering for me.... oooops....*hides her hypocritical head in the sand
You are such a great person.
Always happy to see others point of view.Its so refreshing.
xoxoxox
WorkingClassMum
08-12-2008, 12:57
I'm actually PMSL, cos Rudd's gunna' get about 1/11th of it back anyhow...
Ashleigh<3
08-12-2008, 13:34
Doesnt bother me at all.
People keep askign cause they are excited and they need to pay bills etc.
I really dont care how many threads people start on it. I hover and if I dont like it I dont open it.
We dont get it but we will benefit from it as it spurs on the economy.
how can i complain? interest rates are dropping, petrol is too and I am ok.
So many cant buy a house ..so many cant afford basics.
I am so glad that this christmas they can have a good one..maybe a little less stressy then it could have been.
I am sick of people having to justify themselves on how they will spend it. ITS NOT OUR BUSINESS.
Good post! :yelclap:
CaitlinArai22
08-12-2008, 14:03
Opinions like these make me very angry. So because some people chose not to go to uni to get better qualifications or get training to gain employment that renumerated them better you think its ok to make the people who do work hard and have done everything possible to have a good income pay more tax to give the people in the lower socioeconomic groups some extra pocket money.
I think this entire bonus thing is a joke. If you need more money do something about it. i am tired of hearing everyone whinge and whine about this and that.
Our family does not recieve ANY money from centrelink because we earn too much in their opinion. I dont care that we get nothing because we WORK to get our income. We dont just sit around waiting for money to come in from the government. And yes we may earn what centrelink classes as a high income but we have expenses too. Its like people think that high income earners have no worries in the world. We have the same worries as everyone else. We have big mortgages, car repayments, health, home and car insurance, school fees, grocery bills. I mean i could go on and on. We wont even get the baby bonus next year now that it has become income tested and what just because we earn a high income does that mean we dont have extra costs that come with a new baby??!! And then you have the nerve to say that we should pay MORE tax!!! i find that infuriating. find a way to make more money yourself instead of expecting high income earners to give back to you.
I think centrelink has its purpouse and i believe that it is neded for the aged and disabled but i am tired of every other man and his dog thinking they deserve to get somethign for nothing.
I know i will get my head bitten off for this but i dont care. I am entitled to my opinion and this is it.
How could you even say that? have you even read this thread thru - have you seen the situation ppl like myself are in? how dare you judge me! how dare you judge anyone that IS in a tough situation - i strongly suggest you go back and read some of the posts including mine and see why some of us are doing it tough!
Sure, i'll do something about it, i'll go back to work and leave my hubby at home to die shall i?
what an awful horrible selfish thing to say!
Just leave me to starve and die or live on the street because i put my loved ones first!
I am so so mad at this post!
sockstealingpoltergeist
08-12-2008, 14:05
Opinions like these make me very angry. So because some people chose not to go to uni to get better qualifications or get training to gain employment that renumerated them better you think its ok to make the people who do work hard and have done everything possible to have a good income pay more tax to give the people in the lower socioeconomic groups some extra pocket money.
I think this entire bonus thing is a joke. If you need more money do something about it. i am tired of hearing everyone whinge and whine about this and that.
Our family does not recieve ANY money from centrelink because we earn too much in their opinion. I dont care that we get nothing because we WORK to get our income. We dont just sit around waiting for money to come in from the government. And yes we may earn what centrelink classes as a high income but we have expenses too. Its like people think that high income earners have no worries in the world. We have the same worries as everyone else. We have big mortgages, car repayments, health, home and car insurance, school fees, grocery bills. I mean i could go on and on. We wont even get the baby bonus next year now that it has become income tested and what just because we earn a high income does that mean we dont have extra costs that come with a new baby??!! And then you have the nerve to say that we should pay MORE tax!!! i find that infuriating. find a way to make more money yourself instead of expecting high income earners to give back to you.
I think centrelink has its purpouse and i believe that it is neded for the aged and disabled but i am tired of every other man and his dog thinking they deserve to get somethign for nothing.
I know i will get my head bitten off for this but i dont care. I am entitled to my opinion and this is it.
Ahh well if we lived in a completely equal society you might be right, but you arn't.
I suppose you didn't take the baby bonus or wouldn't if it was offered?
I really hope you never find your self as a single mum, because then you may have empathy for those who are struggling. I hope you don't lose your highly paid jobs (could happen to anyone).
Many people through no fault of their own find themselves struggling and need bit of a leg up.
Should children be punished because Dad's run off and mum doesn't have any money or a car to get around?? (just one example).
One of your children may be in need of assistance one day, then you may be able to have more empathy.
Oh and just wanted to add many people recieveing this $1000 work very very hard. I find it ignorant when people asume that because they they earn more that they work harder.
It's responses like these that get threads shut down:rolleyes:.
With all the education you say you have received, you would think that somebody would have taught you a little compassion and empathy for those less fortunate:).
How could you even say that? have you even read this thread thru - have you seen the situation ppl like myself are in? how dare you judge me! how dare you judge anyone that IS in a tough situation - i strongly suggest you go back and read some of the posts including mine and see why some of us are doing it tough!
Sure, i'll do something about it, i'll go back to work and leave my hubby at home to die shall i?
what an awful horrible selfish thing to say!
Just leave me to starve and die or live on the street because i put my loved ones first!
I am so so mad at this post!
Dont let it get to you Hun. We all know how tough you have had it. You dont need to justify yourself:hugs::hugs:.
javalava
08-12-2008, 14:08
Some people see it as an entitlement some see it as bludging. Personally i think we are very lucky to have income support for families. 50 years ago there was no such thing. And that wasnt that long ago.
CaitlinArai22
08-12-2008, 14:10
sorry, just very very cranky!
A single mum, or people that arent able to be high income earners cant often better their situation that easily!
some of us werent well educated. some of us are stuck. some of us need help.
and you know what, the majority of us will work at some point - i've worked since i was very young, my last job i was working 50/60hr weeks as a manager, we put into society what we bloody well can.
I can not believe you invision us sitting at home waiting for money to come to us - like we're millionares or something!
no one will rent us a property, even tho this one is damaging to dp's condition - cause we're oor.
people assume we're scum because i cant afford nice clothes.
we cant get credit cards, a lot of things - and you want to say you're doing it tough?
GIve up your bloody morgage or car, all the extras you CHOSE to have, you'd have a lot more money then wouldnt you?
You could chose to shop like i do - yes you have these financial commitments, you chose that i will likely never be lucky enough to have.
imagine, winging because you can afford to buy your own home and there fore you have a loan!
javalava
08-12-2008, 14:12
And some people should be grateful they have a partner with a good job to pay the bills and dont need centerlink. If your not eligible well then you obviously make enough to get by. Not out fault you have a huge mortage... the rest of us dont even get that luxury... we have to live in rentals because centrelink payments certainly dont allow for you to own your own house!!
BJsMummy
08-12-2008, 14:14
I am doing something about it, I go to uni! Sure I am not the only one!
Oh I'd love to have enough hours in a day to go to uni, study, play with my kids, keep a house up to date and get a job so centrelink didnt have to give me extra pocket money just so you didn't have to pay tax.
We wont even get the baby bonus next year now that it has become income tested
I suggest you take this up with Kevin Rudd, we dont get the $1000 bonus for our second child but you dont see me complaining
Ffrenchknickers
08-12-2008, 14:14
ETA: I am happy that this is making life a whole lot easier at xmas for so many families because i know life is hard for so many. It also means a huge boost for the economy which makes me happy as it will also help our business. I was only really referring to the fact that this replay implied that high income earners should pay MORE tax to help everyone else which i dont think is fair. And yes you will all probably think that i am a greedy horrible person or whatever but i do think its important to give to the needy my boys and i bought $400 worth of toys this year and wrapped them to put under the wishing tree at kmart. We give back in ways that make us feel good. I would not feel good if i was told i had to pay more tax just because we earn what people think is too much
Wowsers...We WORK to get our income too....it's just that not all professions are paid equally are they? Gosh, my DH works his butt off in a job that helps needy children every single day but it isn't regarded as being important obviously so he is paid a pittance.....He chooses to do this job because it is so worthwhile....and not many people will do it because of the pay and the socio economic groups he works with. I am glad Centrelink is there otherwise he wouldnt' be able to do this job and I wouldn't be able to raise my children myself.
I have never once whinged or believed I am entitled to anything (we get FTB A and B)...I am so grateful that we live in this country...I think it is awesome and we are very lucky.
You give to the wishing tree to make you feel good??:detective:
CaitlinArai22
08-12-2008, 14:15
You are such a great person.
Always happy to see others point of view.Its so refreshing.
xoxoxox
ooops i think i just blew that.... thanks tho!
Mathermy
08-12-2008, 14:16
Do you believe that everyone entitled to government assistance is uneducated? I was a taxpayer for years until I had DD, I am now entitled to a reduced portion of Tax A because we live as a one income family.
I am thankful that dh earns a good income that allows me to prioritise my daughter and my education. Eventually when my children are of school age and my degree/s are complete then I will be back in the work force.
I can see you feel misunderstood. I know there are many people in your position that share your frustration and feel that the government does not acknowledge their hard work. Can you see though that you appear to misunderstand the situation of the people you are choosing to berate with your post? neither assumption is fair.
ETA: I am happy that this is making life a whole lot easier at xmas for so many families because i know life is hard for so many. It also means a huge boost for the economy which makes me happy as it will also help our business. I was only really referring to the fact that this replay implied that high income earners should pay MORE tax to help everyone else which i dont think is fair. And yes you will all probably think that i am a greedy horrible person or whatever but i do think its important to give to the needy my boys and i bought $400 worth of toys this year and wrapped them to put under the wishing tree at kmart. We give back in ways that make us feel good. I would not feel good if i was told i had to pay more tax just because we earn what people think is too much
I have responded in green :)
subaruforestermum
08-12-2008, 14:23
Alysia, if you ever hit rock bottom or something unfortunate happens to you and yours, I take it you have a good back up plan in case your perfect world crumbles....and will never need government assistance...and that perfect back up plan will never fail...
You have turned this thread into something that is so judgemental and uncalled for and have offended many...
If you are struggling on your high income there are ways to change that..... Rather than have a lot of anger and hate towards those who recieve some form of Centrelink because they OBVIOUSLY need it..
WorkingClassMum
08-12-2008, 14:25
Oh Hun - do you really feel like this? Sheesh - I don't get a whole lot of breaks - but I don't have a dog-in-manger attitude either
I got left home at a young age and have worked hard my whole life. I feel blessed that I am able to provide for my family and that I am able to contribute to society.
I am proud that I live in a country where we can support the less-fortunate, the less-able and those who've hit a rut.
Not everybody is capable of higher education for many reasons - not just inteligence.
People do not chose to be in lower socio-economic situtations. People do not chose to have an illness or a disability or to be challenged.
Not everyone has the ability to see beyond themsleves - just like you seem to have an inability to have compassion for other people
Do what? It's not that easy! Until you've been there and lived that life - you have no idea!
Our family does not recieve ANY money from centrelink because we earn too much in their opinion. I dont care that we get nothing because we WORK to get our income.
But you do care - 'cos unless you cared you wouldn't be upset
So many people on benefits would love that their only worry was a mortgage, a car repayment, home and car insurance etc.
They don't have to worry about these things - 'cos they haven't got a house to pay a mortgage on, they don't have a car to make repayments on, and if they do - they often can't afford the insurance.
They do worry about school fees and grocery bills, 'cos for some if they pay one, they can't pay the other.
[quote=alysia;3320741]
I mean i could go on and on. We wont even get the baby bonus next year now that it has become income tested and what just because we earn a high income does that mean we dont have extra costs that come with a new baby??!!
I didn't get a baby bonus, and I earned far less than the cut off - 'cos they didn't have baby bonuses when I had babies.
I don't begrudge anyone getting a baby bonus, and I don't quibble the cut off either.
Just be grateful that you are in the position with your big mortgage that you are...
So, throw out the single mothers and let them eat cake?
I'm glad you gave to the Wishing Tree. :goodvibes:. But please understand - that $400 is more than many people will have to last the whole of December, not just one gift for the day
I rather not pay more tax either. But once I've been taxed - it's not my money to b!tch about.
I'd pay more tax if it meant that my children have a better future though...
Deserama
08-12-2008, 14:29
Yes we're trying...dear....but some of us like my dh are stuck in a job that not many people can do NOT EVEN YOU!! And who do earn less than those who work at toyworld for crying out loud. He's struggles emotionally every single day...he has dreams about his job every single night and suffers a form of PTSD from his job.....and he doesn't get paid enough for it!
I liked to see you or your dh even so much as TRY to do his job!!!!!
He's looking into another job as we speak...in the hopes that he can earn more so that we don't have to struggle as much.
I myself choose not to work OUTSIDE the home at the moment because I don't wish to put my babies in childcare!
But eventually I will be going to uni! So yes we are trying to do something about it...but MEANWHILE we do rely heavily on centrelink benefits and we make no apologies for it either.
Oh and BTW...you may have expenses too but I bet you don't struggle to put the basics like food on the table and shoes on your children....do you??? NO!!!
BoyCrazy
08-12-2008, 14:34
hmm, i reckon the countdown is on...
til the mods close this thread!!! ;)
Indeed.
Look everyone. We've chased the $1000 payment issue around the backyard several times already today. A discussion like this is only ever going to lead to arguments.
So, I'm closing this thread. Please don't start a new one. I think we've all had our say, several times over.
To those of you who are getting the bonus, I hope it arrives soon and gives some helpful relief at a busy time of year.