View Full Version : Septemberries 12 week weight loss challenge - WEEK 1 CHAT

Pina Colada
03-12-2008, 06:48
Let's go ladies :smiliedance::smiliedance::smiliedance:

cassvanm
03-12-2008, 07:12
OK, I'm up for the challenge!
I'm almost ready to head ou the door to my weigh in, so will come back in a few hours with my stats.
GAME ON - YOU'RE ALL GOIN' DOWN B*ARCHES! :laughing::laughing::laughing:

Pina Colada
03-12-2008, 10:04
:laughing: We need a 'bring it on' emoticon :D

Well, I had my weigh in and had a big fat gain :rolleyes: up 0.4kg from last week.

I know where I am going wrong, I am hardly taking the time to eat during the day, and by dinner time I am starving and over eat, and go to bed on a massively full stomach! :shame: Sooooo not what I am supposed to be doing.

I just had a mango smoothie for breakfast, 250ml lite milk, and a cold mango, and a handful of ice cubes, tastes sooo good, and I am really full. Smoothies are great breakies for me, so I'll try and keep that up.

Lunch is a WW Wrap, 4 points and some fruit and maybe a yoghurt.

I'll be back later to enter my weighin and measurements.

I am so psyched :smiliedance: I'll probably stalk this thread all day annoying you all.....

AmyLou
03-12-2008, 10:43
Hi ladies!!

I'm going to be using my weight from my monday weigh in although on the last week i may need to go and get weighed on the wednesday incase i drop any more kg's! haha

Hey Flick, i think you may have miscalculated your cm's as i was doing mine and we are very similar but my cm's were a lot more than yours!

Hope everyone has a great first day!

cassvanm
03-12-2008, 10:49
I'm also going to be using my weight from last week, as I started a challenge with my friend last week. That being said, I am going to technically finish my weight loss challenge with you guys a week before - 18th Feb, but I'll post the week befores weight -does that make sense :confused:
Anyway, my starting weight is 111kg (what I weighed last week)
I had my first week (which will be next weeks weighin) result today, and I lost 2.5kg! :smiliedance:
I should just stop trying to explain myself, coz I'm just confusing everyone (ie. myself:laughing:)
Also, did we get a formula on how to work out percentage? If not, I'm going to ask hubby, he's pretty good with that stuff.

cassvanm
03-12-2008, 11:33
Ok, Hubby was useless, so I called my dad :laughing:
This is the formula for working out percentages:

SW x LOSS % =

EG:
SW - Starting Weight - 111
Loss - 2.5kg

111 x 2.5 % = 2.775
Therefore I have lost 2.775 % already

Hope that helps
Cass

DeannaMay
03-12-2008, 11:45
is it too late to join in the 12 week challenge?

cassvanm
03-12-2008, 11:48
Don't think so DeannaMay - we only started this morning, so let us know what your starting weight is.
Also, it's $20 entry in, and winner in percentage loss at 25th Feb takes all! :yelclap:
Good Luck!

Pina Colada
03-12-2008, 11:52
is it too late to join in the 12 week challenge?

Hi DeannaMay - nope, not too late - pop over to the weigh in thread and put down your stats.

Good luck ;)

cassvanm
03-12-2008, 12:04
hi Amy

im pretty sure there right, i had mum doing it with me.... but who knows i guess ill know the next time i measure myself... i do have an odd body shape i have a very tiny waist compaired to the rest of me

I'm the same Flick
My tummy above my belly button is 26cm smaller than my tummy below my belly button! I'm about a sz 16 up top, but an 18-22 down below - a very classic pear shape :thumbsdown:

Also, how's everyone doing this? I'm doing the WW points plan, but only doing it at home, not actually going to meetings or paying them my money! :laughing:
I see that Flick is doing TF (which I lost 20kg on before Piper), but I can't do it as I'm still BF. Will be on that as soon as she weans though.

Pina Colada
03-12-2008, 12:10
Ok ladies - A $20 Target gift voucher to be mailed to me by 31st December please.

I will PM my postal address to you all.

I will forward the $160 :yelclap: worth of clothes spending money to the hard working winner.

Not that it matters, because the winner will be me and I'll keep them all to myself mwhahahaha :devil6: ;)

cassvanm
03-12-2008, 12:15
Look, I should just send you my bank account details now should I????
Hahahaha

Pina Colada
03-12-2008, 12:25
:laughing: Gotta love trash talk :devil6:

Ok, I think I've PM'd everybody my address - if I haven't please let me know.

I went to our roadside fruit stalls yesterday, and I've put it all in the fridge so it is nice and cold.

I don't know where to start - Watermelon, lychees, mangos, pineapples and bananas mmmmm...... I love summer fruit.

Gotta love North Queensland :sunshine:

AmyLou
03-12-2008, 13:02
ohh no i mean when you added them all up together, not the individual amounts. i think it should be in the 500's not 400's.. cos our amounts for each part are pretty much the same.

AmyLou
03-12-2008, 13:05
Ohh cool, sorry flick for some reason it only showed me your first post not the second!!

You guys are funny!

DeannaMay
03-12-2008, 14:44
Cool! It's a great idea :) I'll do the stats after I've fed bubba and post on the other thread.

TrulyBlessed
03-12-2008, 14:44
To late to join?

TrulyBlessed
03-12-2008, 15:07
What are we classing as the abdomen measurement too?

Pina Colada
03-12-2008, 16:57
I probably should have called it lower abdomen. About the same distance below your belly button, that your waist is above your belly button IYKWIM.

cassvanm
03-12-2008, 17:19
I think Donna explained it perfectly when she said it was the "mummy tummy!" :laughing:

Welcome to the challenge Amy - you may see a bit of a competitive side to me! I am the only person I know who actually completed years 11 and 12 simply because a teacher bet me in year 10 that he'd give me $10 if I completed and passed VCE :laughing: TRUE STORY!!!

So how has everyone gone today? I have done well. I have 33 points per day to eat, and after dinner (home made burgers), I will have only eaten 28pts. That leaves points for coffee and dessert :yelclap:

Bay had her school orientation today, and I went to a friends house for coffee - so I walked there! It was only 15 mins either way, but for me that is impressive :p

Some fab things I have found in the last week are:

Skinny Cow icecreams, found in Coles - 1.5pt each and really yummy - have tried the choc chip and the english toffee so far
Vege chips - found in coles in the health food isle - 1.5pts per individual pack.
I will keep you updated as I find stuff.
Cass

TrulyBlessed
03-12-2008, 18:50
Opps well i better redo my waist measurement lol. I thought round the belly button was the waist.

GeorgiaAnne
03-12-2008, 20:57
The main thing I need to cut out is bread and too many carbs. I feel like I need to have Charlie with me all the time to explain why I am the size I am :laughing:

Pina Colada
03-12-2008, 21:39
The main thing I need to cut out is bread and too many carbs. I feel like I need to have Charlie with me all the time to explain why I am the size I am :laughing:

:laughing: I love it! Cause that is exactly how I feel! Except I have been feeling lately like she is getting too old to use for that excuse now :o

Shazza
03-12-2008, 21:46
Hey girls:wave:

well I don't have as much to lose as some of you do but as you all know its the last few that are the hardest!!

Nick and I are both trying to lose our "baby" bellies! and this will be a great incentive! Nicks incentive is that when he gets to size 34 we are going on o'seas holiday - thailand or something (he is size 40 at moment)

will go and do all my measurements and post in the other thread!

am going to loosely follow the WW points plan. not too sure where all my books etc are so am going by memory on a lot of points. if anyone has any good WW recipes then feel free to share!

cheers, shaz :D

AmyLou
04-12-2008, 11:38

Well my first day was filled with vomiting and dia! (sorry is TMI) Got a really bad bug and i'm trying my hardest to keep it from bubby... it's sooo hard for me to not cuddle my bubby boy... DH is home today which is a great help!

Ok things i love to eat when on weight watchers!

Roast Chicken Subway ( i get cheese) salad and bbq sauce for 6.5 points!

Diet Chocolate mousse from Nestle for 1 point... i like that for an after dinner treat

Weight Watchers Triple Chocolate Cookies (2 for 1 point) you have to be careful though because sometimes i have four and when you do that and calculate it, it's actually 2.5 points.

Alot of the Weight Watchers Meals are yum. I also convert like healthy choice etc with my points calculator. If anyone is interested in working out the points my hubby worked out the formula for it so if i don't have my calculator it really comes in handy. Sometimes i even ring him at work if out and ask him to convert to points for me! I really should remember the formula!

I wish we started this challenge 8 weeks ago cos then i would have already lost 8.4 kg! Hopefully the next 11.6 comes off just as easy!

Hope everyone is well!

GeorgiaAnne
04-12-2008, 20:13
:laughing: I love it! Cause that is exactly how I feel! Except I have been feeling lately like she is getting too old to use for that excuse now :o

I know!! - now he's 12 weeks it's not so much of an excuse, hence the diet and exercise regimen

Pina Colada
05-12-2008, 09:00
So how are we all going ladies ;)

AmyLou You poor thing with gastro :crying: It is terrible isn't it, especially when you have to look after bubs as well. You just reminded me, last Christmas I had a terrible diahoerra bug, and my sister was vomiting, Christmas Eve, Christmas Day and Boxing Day. Bonus is I lost 3kg, instead of gaining over christmas :laughing:

I've been doing really well, sticking to my points, and running around like a crazy person, so I'm sure I'm burning plenty of calories :p

We even had Dominos Pizza last night, and I could have 3 slices and still have 2 1/2 pts to spare for the day :yelclap:

Had a sneaky weigh in today, and I'm looking at a great first week loss (hopefully, my body has a habit of teasing me, and then not cooperating on weigh in day). So this challenge has really got my motivation happening again! Thanks girls :hugs:

cassvanm
05-12-2008, 09:47
I am also going well with my points. yesterday I had 4 points left over. We also had pizza for tea, but it was home made pizza and was very yummy - only 2.5pts per slice, so I had three slices :o
I'm not doing the sneaky peek thing. Last week I did, and I'd only lost 100gm! Only to actually lose 2500gm 2 days later :thumbsup: It really isn't a good indication I find, coz I vary from day to day so dramatically!
I need to get a wriggle on with my excercise - haven't been as active as I could be. It's raining today, so no pram-walking :no:. I will be cleaning though, so I'll pop the iPod on and do some dancing whilst I'm doing it.
Chat soon lovelies
Cass

Pina Colada
05-12-2008, 12:35
i haven't been able to get out and exercise, i do have a treadmill and exercise bike but finding time to get on is impossible at the moment, the boys are such hard work and so unsettled at the moment, but i am on my feet constantly so hopefully burning lots of calories.

I'm hoping the same Flick. I just can't fit any excercise in at the moment, things have been crazy, but I'm constantly on my feet and running around, in and out of car etc. So I'm hoping that counts for something.

Cass - You are stronger than me, I can't help peeking :laughing:

AmyLou
05-12-2008, 14:09

Well i'm getting there although not 100% Still dont have much appetite. Blake unfortunately got sick and was vomiting, the poor little guy, i felt sooo sorry for him and wanted to take his pain away, i would have rathered me be sick again! It's so horrible seeing your baby sick! Anyway.. On the mend now i think!

Donna - I would really try your hardest not to peek... I found that the worst thing when i was dieting.. now we don't even own scales so i don't have a choice.. I like the suprise after the week is over! BUT if you are going to peek don't do it daily as one day you could be heavier than the day before but then the next day lose. Ofcourse it's up to you though haha

I play indoor netball on Thursday nights which is great exercise for me but unfortunately i couldn't play this week due to the gastro! I do want to start walking more though, DH gets the train to work and the station is just down the road so i'd like to go and "pick him up" each afternoon. Anything's better than nothing i figure! I suppose all the shopping i do can be considered as exercise! haha

Hope we are having a good week ladies!

DeannaMay
06-12-2008, 08:12

Glad you're feeling better AmyLou - gastro is just horrible.
I could think of much nicer ways to lose weight!

I have been doing ok. I think that I'll have a search for my WW books though. I'm so good during the day and then as soon as DP comes home it's 'snack time' and my will power just flies out the window! I need to pay more attention to what I'm eating. DP tries to help by reminding me not to have it, but then I get all defiant and defensive and want it even more.... I have no idea why I do that. He's genuinely trying to help and I turn all ***** monster on him... I think that I'll have to find some low fat alternative chippy type products so I don't feel like I'm missing out.

I have been doing lots of walking though. I have joined the local 'pramwalkers' club, walk to mothers group and try to fit in another walk or two through the week.

I have also just found out that the council puts on an aerobics class once a week for new mummas. You can take bubs in to the class with you and it only costs $5.
How cool is that!?!

I'm a terror for the 'sneaky peek' on the scales too :) I have been good this week though - I haven't jumped on the scales yet. AmyLou is right - they can lie to you and either get your hopes up or get you all depressed!

Everyone sounds like they're doing really well! This is great motivation ladies - thank you so much!

Woo Hoo! Let's go!!

cassvanm
06-12-2008, 08:32
Deanna, I'm hearing you with the whole defiant thing! Poor hubby tries to help, but I get the attitude of "who the hell do you think you are telling me what I can and can't eat - I'm going to eat it now, just to prove I can" :rolleyes:
If I'm not in the headspace to do it, then no one can help me, because that is the attitude I get.

Also re: the chip alternative. Go to the health food section of Coles and get the Ajita brand of VEGE CHIPS. You can get them in a 12pack bag, and per small pack is 1.5 points. They are yummy too. Also, go to the bickie section and get some Vive Light bickies in 10 pack bags. They are 2.5 points per small pack. They come in choc chip or triple choc flavour - good with coffee for arvo tea.

AmyLou
06-12-2008, 09:18
Hey ladies!

I am definately feeling better! yay! Although now hubby is sick.. poor thing!

I'm lucky with my DH as he doesn't say anything cos he knows that when i start weight watchers i mean business so i will only eat within my points. He's very supportive which is great! I always message him after i weigh in to tell him the results!

There are also some chips that weight watchers have brought out, they are in the chip section and are called Potato Bakes.. they have two flavours sour cream and onion and salt and vinegar.. i have only tried the sour cream ones and they are yummy... They are a simillar size to vege chips but thinner and you get HEAPS in a packet for 1 point! I'll open the salt and vinegar ones soon and let you know how they go for themselves!

Deanna where abouts are you?? Just wondering if we have something put on by the council!

Hope everyone has a nice day!

DeannaMay
06-12-2008, 20:11
Hi again Ladies

Thanks for the chippy alternatives :) I'll pop them on my list and give them a go. Sour cream and onion thingys sound yummo!

AmyLou - I live in Reservoir in Victoria and it falls under the Darebin council. It's been great going to the pramwalks. There are quite a few mummys there with older bubbas so they have kinda 'been there, done that' and just know heaps of stuff in general :)

I cooked some low fat muffins last night and we had them for the after work snack tonight. DP doesn't know that they're low fat though ;)

My DP has always been very supportive too. I guess its hard for him because its like I can say that I need to lose the kgs - but if he says it... then he's being mean. Poor thing can't win! He is proud of me when he knows that I've been trying and the rewards come though.

Hope everyone has had a good day. I haven't gone for a walk today - but have been good with the food.

:noel: - just wanted to use this icon cause it's cute :)

cassvanm
07-12-2008, 21:06
Yesterday I went a little overboard with the food (salads were cream based and I had seconds for desert!), however I've gone way under points today to accomodate :yes:
Heres hoping that will work! I cant wait for Wednesday weigh-in!
No real intentional excercise this weekend, however I feel like I haven't stopped all weekend.
How are we all going?
Cass

AmyLou
08-12-2008, 17:00

Well it looks like the gastro worked in my weight loss favour! I lost 2.9kg this week! So that's a total of 11.5kg in 9 weeks so very happy with that! 8.5 to go to my goal! Now i really wish we started this 9 weeks ago! Ohwell I plan to have lost the rest by the time our challenge is over! I can do it!

Update on the Weight Watchers potato Bakes (chips) - I REALLY don't recommend the salt and vinegar ones! I ate two and threw the rest out! Not nice! The sour cream and onion are good though!

Cass - Good work on going under yesterday to account for the points you went over on Saturday! Should work out fine for you! Fingers crossed!

Hope everyone else is doing well! Only one and half days til weigh in!

cassvanm
08-12-2008, 22:23
AmyLou - that is friggin AWESOME! Well done :yelclap: ***scuttling off to find your address to mail you yummy fattening things to sabatage you! :laughing:

Flick - don't give up honey, start again right now, and you'll be fine :yes:

Me - not sure how I'll go, I went to a friends BBQ today and ate a fair bit, however I did go for a 50min walk afterwards, so we'll just have to wait until Wednesday.

cassvanm
09-12-2008, 08:07
FYI: I've lost 2 cms in my waist in 6 days!
WOO HOO! :smiliedance:

** did I psyche you out yet Donna? :laughing:

Pina Colada
09-12-2008, 13:30
FYI: I've lost 2 cms in my waist in 6 days!
WOO HOO! :smiliedance:

** did I psyche you out yet Donna? :laughing:

:laughing: Nope, doing well too here sister :p I have stuck to points all week, and I'm thinking I'll have a great loss this week, as long as the scales behave themselves on Wednesday.

GeorgiaAnne
10-12-2008, 09:16
I'm 1 kg lighter as well.
I finally got some tape to measure - is the chest measurement around boobs or below or under? I did it around:confused:

Pina Colada
10-12-2008, 10:45
Flick - congrats on your loss :yelclap:

Georgia - Chest measurement is around the boobs. And yay for your loss :thumbsup:

Looks like we all had a good week - I had a great one too!

3.3kg loss this week :smiliedance:

And I'm totally focused on another fantastic loss this week. I would love to lose another 3.1kg before Christmas.

GeorgiaAnne
10-12-2008, 10:48
Wow Donna that's amazing WELL DONE :yelclap::yelclap::hugs::hugs:

AmyLou
10-12-2008, 13:46
Good work on the weight loss ladies!!

Hey i was having a chat to my hubby about % weight loss and what you said to do Cass but he said that wasn't right and what you need to do it Divide the weight lost by the weight you were and then multiply by 100. That will give you the % lost whereas the other way you are multiplying your weight by a percent which doesn't actually give you a percent.. if that makes sense..? haha i'm confusing myself! Anyway i looked it up on good old google and this is what it said:

First of all you'll need to remember your initial weight.
Secondly, you'll need your actual weight at this point.
Now, the formula goes like this:
((IW-AW)/IW) * 100= weight loss percentage
In this formula IW is your initial weight and AW is your actual weight at this point.
It's not as complicated as it initially seems: practically all you do is subtract the actual weight from the initial weight and divide the number obtained by your initial weight. Multiply the result with 100 and you'll get the exact percent.

Make sense??

Where is everyone else with their results!

DeannaMay
10-12-2008, 16:06
Whoooaaa! Donna - that's an awesome effort - well done!
Amy, Flick & Georgia - they are great results!

I lost 1.3 this week - which I'm very happy about :yelclap:

I will do my measurements when I get home from rehearsals tonight.
I was hoping to be under 98kgs by my first gig back... which is Friday... so not gonna happen :no:

My new mini goal is to be under 97kgs by Xmas day - and my next mini goal after that is under 94.5kgs (my weight when I got preggers). I will have a manicure or pedicure or something lovely and indulgent when I reach that one :)

Looking forward to hearing everyone else's results.

mummy2jack08
10-12-2008, 16:32
Hey Ladies yay for the weight loss Deanna :)

i updated my details as of today... i lost 2kg :) and quiet a few cm YAY!!!
Donna wow!! well done

Pina Colada
10-12-2008, 16:37
Wow, ladies we are rock stars :p :smiliedance:

Great losses everyone

cassvanm
10-12-2008, 18:20
HAHAHA No, I didn't mean that you put in a percentage, I mean that you press the % button on your calculator! Sorry for the confusion!
I lost .5 this week - bit disappointing, but I'm going by last weeks which was 2.5. So I've lsot 3kg in two weeks, not so shabby :yes:

AmyLou
10-12-2008, 19:39
Hey there!
Cass, what I actually mean is, that formula is backwards, have a look at the examples i have done for you..

EG:
SW - Starting Weight - 111
Loss - 2.5kg

111 x 2.5 % = 2.775
Therefore I have lost 2.775 % already

for example the above is actully saying that 2.775 kilos is 2.5 percent of 111 kilos.

to work the above example out correctly it would be

2.5 (weight loss)/ 111 (original weight) x 100

which in this case is

2.5/111 * 100 = 2.25% weight loss

So when you do the reverse using your original formula it will give you the amount of kilos you lost:
111*2.25% = 2.5kg

Make sense? I just want to make sure we are all doing it the right way so that it's fair..

cassvanm
10-12-2008, 20:24
I believe you Amy! I am completely dim when it comes to maths and stuff.
I'm still not sure how to do it on the calculator, but I'll work it out!
Donna, I will be buying the Target voucher tomorrow (was there today and forgot :rolleyes:) and will pop it in the mail
Cass

AmyLou
10-12-2008, 20:35
ok cool Cass! So what you have to type on the calculator is this

weight lost divide original weight multiply by 100
2.5 divide button 111 x 100 = 2.25%

Donna i popped mine in the mail yesterday so you should have it shortly!

cassvanm
11-12-2008, 13:20
Donna
I popped my $20 voucher in the mail today - you should get it by mid week.
Cass

AmyLou
12-12-2008, 17:14
Hey all!

Where is everybody??? I'm also waiting on everyone else's results!

Hey Donna, was looking at everyones results and i'm not sure how you got your %

It should be 3.3 divide 107.4 X 100 = 3.07%

Sorry to be the Weight Loss percentage natzi! haha

How is everyone going this week? We need more chatting in here, does no one need the motivation?

cassvanm
12-12-2008, 17:18
Amy
you are more than welcome to be the weightloss percentage nazi - whats 3 out of 111?
I'm kind of cruising along, been busy what with all the nit killing going on in my house - been keeping me out of the pantry :laughing:
I agree we need more chatter in here!
Cass

AmyLou
12-12-2008, 17:29
hey cass!

its 2.7, you did it right! haha

yeah i read about the nits! i wouldnt know what to look for either, i've never had them!

Pina Colada
13-12-2008, 10:39
Hey Donna, was looking at everyones results and i'm not sure how you got your %

It should be 3.3 divide 107.4 X 100 = 3.07%

:laughing: I couldn't figure out what you were on about, then I realised I was using my WW start weight and total lost, not the challenge, which is a bit different.

Duh :doh:

AmyLou
13-12-2008, 11:47
ahh i see! haha If I used my weight watchers start weight i would have lost 12.36% !!

DeannaMay
13-12-2008, 13:15
Hi Ladies :wave:
I have been MIA - just had one of those crazy weeks.
I haven't posted my results - but will just wait until next Wed now. I'll also get my voucher out sometime next week. I had the best of intentions of doing it last week... but I don't know where the time went! Goodness.... Imagine if I had to work aswell :)

I think that I'm doing ok this week. Have been for a couple of walks and I think that I'm doing better with the food. Still have the odd naughty treat - but then if I don't do that I feel like I'm depriving myself and end up falling off the wagon. That's my excuse anyway!!

It has been rainy, rainy, rainy here so no walks for the last couple of days. I do have my step mum & step bro coming to stay with me tonight (I thought they were coming tomorrow night!) so I had an absolute clean-a-thon this morning. Hopefully all my panic cleaning got rid of a couple of pounds :)
Does anyone else have inside exercises that they do on rainy days?

Cass - those vege chips are DELICIOUS! I got 'naughty chips' for DP and the vege ones for me and he ended up eating mine... the bugger :)
I still haven't found the WW yet.

Whoever came up with the idea for this challenge is an absolute champion! What great motivation :thumbsup:

I hope everyone else is doing well.

cassvanm
14-12-2008, 14:05
Not going well today - making chocolate christmas pizzas, and have been hooking into the ingredients - naughty me! Also cutting up strawberries and drizzling melted choc on them - mmmmmmm. :o
But geez they're yummy. Here's a pic of the finished product - great for gifts!

http://i193.photobucket.com/albums/z131/cassvanm/Christmas2008002.jpg

AmyLou
14-12-2008, 21:44
Yummmm Cass they look great! What is the base made of? Just chocolate or??

DeannaMay
15-12-2008, 05:52
Ohhh Yummo Cass! They look great!
I'm not sure I could trust myself around all those lollies either :) Strawberry creams are my favourite. I would just end up with the bases.... though that is made of chocolate.... so maybe I would just eat them all!
Don't worry about your blow out day. You have been doing so well - I think that it's ok to slip up occasionally. We are human, after all. Just get back on track tomorrow :)

Two more days til weigh in. How does everyone feel about this week? I think that I may have lost - but probably not too much. I had visitors on the weekend - so had chippys and dessert and just things in general that I wouldn't have when I'm being 'good'. Didn't go for any walks either over the weekend either - but will go today and tomorrow. My last minute attempt to shift some weight :)

Hope everyone's going well.

Pina Colada
15-12-2008, 16:29
:wave: won't be weighing in this week, at Mum's until Thursday and then home for a few days, and there are no meetings where I am on those days :rolleyes:

So I probably won't have an official weigh in now until after Christmas :eek: which means I'm sure I'll be looking at a bit of a gain :o but that's alright, I have confidence in myself to get into it in the New Year. Still got nearly 2 months after Xmas to kick some weight loss challenge butt! :p

Trying to be good, but not being extremely good as my brother and sister have come home, and we have started celebrating early Had a great weekend though :cool:

TrulyBlessed
15-12-2008, 17:09
I've decided that I'm gonna go swimming as of Wednesday. Going with a gf so she'll keep me motivated & we start netball up again on Jan 5th so I'm looking forward to that.

Donna I just realised I haven't sent my voucher yet. I'll have to get you to PM me your addy so I can send it for it to arrive when you are back home again.

Amy

AmyLou
15-12-2008, 17:59
Well ladies! I put on .5! I was good all week so i'm just thinking that because last week i lost 2.9kg and didn't eat for like 3 days, eating normal again was just too much.. i'm not unhappy at all as i really thought it was going to be tough to keep off that weight loss and lose more.. so what my hubby said which is true you are in like week 11 of your weight loss journey and you lost 2.9 so even taking off the .5, losing 2.4 in two weeks is great, 1.2kg per week. So that was good and i didn't really think about it that way so i'm happy! Just trying to have a good week this week!

Got the new plan from weight watchers today.. all it is is points plan but they are encouraging you to eat as many core foods as possible instead of bad foods! I'm not sure if i'm going to give it a go.. i might do the next few weeks as normal and start it in the new year so i can go shopping and have the fridge stocked of good core foods!

Hope everyone is well!

DeannaMay
16-12-2008, 20:54

Donna - I sent my voucher today so it should get there just as you pull out of your drive way to go to your Mums house :) Have a great time with your early celebrations.

MummaDJ - swimming will be great. Good on you - especially going with a friend & staying motivated. I love swimming, I just hate getting wet & being in bathers :confused:

Amylou - sounds like you have your plan of attack ready for the new year! Good on you :thumbsup: You've inspired me to try and get a bit organised too.

I just went out for dinner and was quite naughty. Added on to my weekend naughtiness when my visitors were here.... I'm not too confident that the scale will be kind tomorrow... but we will see :) I've got to drop the car off tomorrow and it'll be a huge walk back - and then I'll have pramwalkers. Hopefully it'll help a little bit :)

GL Ladies!

GeorgiaAnne
17-12-2008, 07:04
Yay, I lost 1.4 this week :smiliedance:
I'm surprised as I had my family Christmas on sunday and I had a big bowl of trifle :shame: but other than that it was an ok week, nothing terrible, nothing fabulous.
FX for everyone else!

cassvanm
17-12-2008, 14:31
Yay Georgia - I lost a kilo! :smiliedance::smiliedance::smiliedance:

DeannaMay
17-12-2008, 15:54
Good on you Cass and Georgia :yelclap:

I am feeling very GRRRRRR... I have GAINED 1.2kg... I'm so peeved.
I guess my naughty moments added up and I didn't do a very good job of keeping track.
As of tomorrow I am going to keep a food diary.
I'm so bummed.

I just went for a big walk. Hopefully the scales will go in the right direction next week.

I'll do my measurements now and post.
:hissy::crying:

DeannaMay
18-12-2008, 09:12
Just want to say sorry for my negative rant on this thread yesterday.
It's a new day and I'm feeling better.
Hope everyone else is going well.

Shazza
18-12-2008, 19:43

Well I didn't do as bad as I though i had - lost 1.5kg so pretty happy cause last week I broke even.

Hopefully next Wed is another good weigh in. And our Chrissy lunch is pretty healthy so I should be fine then.

anywho, chat later, Shaz :D

cassvanm
21-12-2008, 07:44
Good morning girls
How are we all going?
I think I've fallen off the wagon so hard that I've got a bruised bum! :laughing:
Yesterday was a bit of a shambles - I was making the last of the chocolate pizzas for friends, and went a little silly with the ingredients. Plus DH had bought a bag of burger rings and I had about 10 or so of those. I stopped counting after dinner, but have a feeling I went a fair bit over :rolleyes:
Went for an hour walk with the girls on Thursday night, and I hope to maybe mow the laws this arvo, which will give me some exercise.
I hope you are all stuffing your faces with chocolate! :laughing:
Cass

Flick: Definately get your thyroid checked out hon.

Deanna: rant away girl! That's what we are here for! I hope you've readjusted whatever needed readjusting, and you are going great guns again!

DeannaMay
24-12-2008, 12:20
Woo hoo! 98.0 kgs for me today :yelclap: so I lost 2.6 this week. Yay! That makes up for my shocker last week....

I hope everyone else has had a good week (well, as good as we can be through Christmas :party:)

Good luck girls

cassvanm
24-12-2008, 21:08
Well Done Deanna!
i'm not weighing in this week, as my friend is too busy, and I use her scales!
I have a feeling it wouldn't be good though! I'm going all out tomorrow, then back on it boxing day.
Have a good one girls
Cass

cassvanm
28-12-2008, 13:47
Well, I have re-started counting points today! I had a few days off (about 4 or 5) and in those days I reckon I may have gained all my 4 kg back! I had Maccas, KFC, Pizza, chocolate, icecream, chips etc. It may be a bit scary when I get on the scales next Wednesday!
Anyway, I hope you are all doing terribly at the weightloss thing! I want that money! :laughing:
Cass

DeannaMay
28-12-2008, 19:48
Cass - I am definitely on the naughty list this week. Lucky Santa has already been this year!!
I have been soooo bad with the food and haven't walked since last Wednesday. Lots of chippys and chocolate for me too.
I'm starting again tomorrow.... I'm going to have to walk all day and all night and starve myself til Wednesday :laughing:

KatieLou
01-01-2009, 11:12

Being the 1st day of a new year and all the resolutions that go with it, can I join in please?!?

I have 12 kgs to loose!

cassvanm
03-01-2009, 10:54
Of course you can join Kat! The more the merrier, as long as it's not kilos! :laughing: (yep, bad joke, I know!)
Not going so well at the moment. Just struggling to get back into it. Have not been counting points, but will get back into the counting and measuring tomorrow. Can't do it today, as I have all the in-laws, plus 10 nieces and nephews over for christmas present giving day. They should all be arriving any minute, but they are notorious bad-food eaters! So, I'm going to just do the best I can today, and go from there.
Chat soon lovely ladies
Cass

GeorgiaAnne
03-01-2009, 12:41
Yes yes Katie Lou, get into it.
12 kilos sounds quite manageable I hope :) Have you been doing anything in particular to lose weight?
I'm finding it hard as i'm always so damn hungry :mad: trying just to snack on dried fruits and natural almonds

KatieLou
03-01-2009, 15:26
Thanks Cass & Georgia. Now that the festive season is coming to a close I hope it will be easier for all of us to be good. :)

I know what you mean by wanting to eat all the time Georgia. I thought I was doing so well yesterday by just snacking on carrot sticks all afternoon, but then I came to the last two feeds for the day ans Cassidy just screamed at my boob - I don't think there was much milk there! :eek: So now I have to try and work out the right food formula for me to loose weight but to keep up my milk supply. Has any one had this problem? Any advice?

AmyLou
03-01-2009, 15:56
Hi Ladies!!

Well i have had a shocking couple of weeks and am sure i have gained! I am not going to weight watchers on monday but and starting back with it then.. I don't want to go and find out how much i have put back on so i am going to go hard at it next week and then go the following monday and hopefully it's not too bad!

I actually had a great couple of weeks and really think i needed to have a bit of a pig out... Now im ready to get back into losing weight! I'm sorta excited.. that's sad!

cassvanm
03-01-2009, 18:12
Kat - on WW I have about 32 points per day, but not BF I have about 22. Thats the difference of 2 ham, cheese & salad rolls per day! You must keep up your kilojoule intake to accommodate for feeding.

DeannaMay
04-01-2009, 06:45
Hi Ladies :)

Ok... so I'm officially starting again as of .... now!
I have said that every day since Christmas day.... but today I really mean it :laughing:
I have eaten the last of the Christmas chocolate. Luckily we didn't get too much this year. We had a party here on Friday night, so got rid of a fair bit then.

Now I just have to stop my Mum bringing all her goodies around everytime she comes over (yesterday it was creamy soda and muffins). She doesn't want it in her house because it's too tempting for her - so brings it to mine for my DP ... and like all the other BF mummys - I get very hungry and just eat whatever is in front of my face! I have very little will power once the 'hungrys' have taken over and I'll just go for the sugary hit. She means well (and she's not bringing it over for me!) - but I am going to ask her not to bring that stuff anymore... poor DP will just have to miss out on my Mum's yummy treats.... not that there's a lot left by the time he gets home from work anyway :laughing:

I'll take Max for a walk down to the shops today too. I have to get back in to the walking. In the past when I have tried to lose weight I start off really well with the exercising and healthy eating, but as soon as there is a disruption to the routine (Christmas, holiday, etc) I just give up and don't get back into it. Not this time though :)

I hope everyone has a good week - let's get back into it :smiliedance:

cassvanm
04-01-2009, 08:56
I'm back on it today too Deanna! I am counting my points, and have a skim coffee and some cereal for breaky, with a total of 5.5points. Meanwhile, Mick is in the kitchen making himself bacon, eggs & hollandaise sauce. I was jealous until I saw the slabs of butter!!!! I couldn't believe it, it had 150gm of butter in 2 serves of hollandaise sauce!
I will no doubt be lurking here a bit over the next few days and weeks to keep a bit accountable. Looking forward to getting re-motivated with you all.
Chat soon
Cass

Off topic : Deanna, how do you pronounce your name? Dean-ah or De-Anna? It's driving me nuts :rolleyes:

DeannaMay
04-01-2009, 11:40
Woo hoo!! Lets go for it!! I'll be here quite a bit too methinks. I need all the help I can get :)
I've just had cereal, coffee & water today too. We are going to the park for a picnic soon so I'll make up some salad rolls to take with us.

Cass - it's De-Anna. You've got to say it in a real ocker accent ... Deeyaannnah not De-arna :)

cassvanm
04-01-2009, 12:41
Thanks Deanna - I get a little focussed on bizarre things, and not knowing how to pronounce your name was driving me batty! And don't worry about the ocker accent, i've got that covered :laughing:
Well, it's 1.35pm, and so far I've done quite well. Had cereal and coffee for breaky. An apple for snack, an egg&lettuce sandwich for lunch with no marg, and half-bottle of powerade during our family walk.
I have just polished off a packet of Vege Chips - mmmm yummy! Haven't had any for a couple of weeks, thats why we went for a walk - to go to Coles and get stuff for lunch. :yes:
I haven't used my walk bonus points (probably about 1.5 - 2), and plan to not calculate my exercise points into my diet.
So far I've used 14.5 of my 32 points, so I'm happy about that! :D How are you going so far?

DeannaMay
05-01-2009, 06:12
That's great that you had plenty of points left over for your dinner. I have done WW before but can't remember... do you have to eat all your food points for the day?
A family walk sounds lovely :) We went down to the park so DP could try out his new remote control sailboat. I was planning to go for a walk, but ended up holding the fort at base camp while DP chased & rescued his new boat all around the lake :p I'm definitely going to go for a walk today though.
Max is a very happy, relaxed bubba - and he was laughing and squealing his little head off after a few hours outside. It really does get your happy hormones going!

Oh.. and can you please tell me how many points the vege chips are? I ate a whole pack :) they're soooo yummy!
I went wonderfully during the day yesterday. I had two vegie rolls for lunch.... and then spiralled out of control last night. I had my yummy vege chips... then some of DP's naughty chips! I was a gobbledock & just couldn't stop! Had homemade hamburgers and a few potato gems for tea. Probably not great - but hopefully not tooooo bad.
Does anyone else have that prob - can go great guns through the day and then crash and burn at night? I'm not sure what happens... but my will power seems to disappear with the sun....

Anyway enough :ecomcity: from me :p
Hope everyone has a good day.

cassvanm
05-01-2009, 08:49
Hi Deanna
I have the vegechips in snack-sized packs, which is 1.5 per packet for about 20gm I think.
I also spiral out of control come dinner. We had steak and salad which was good, but I then had two slices of bread with marg, two serves of scalloped potatoes (we were given a whole heap of cream and eggs, so DH used the cream!), then I had an icecream for dessert and ate some left over CC's :o
Yes, you could say I lose control after dinner :laughing:
Talk soon throughout the day
Cass

AmyLou
05-01-2009, 09:15
Morning ladies!

I am now in weight loss mode! Not sure how much i put on and i'm not going to ww today to find out! I am just going to try really hard this week and then hopefully next week it's not too bad! Fingers crossed!

Deanna - they do recommend you use all your points for the day.. i think you can save no more than 4(??) points per day and accumulate them for another day but it has to be used before the week is up.

I might have to get me some of those vege chips! I also love them!

Hope everyone has a nice day!

DeannaMay
06-01-2009, 11:28

Well... as usual I haven't been on here because I've been a bit naughty again! I wasn't too bad with food during the day but then went and ruined it by eating naughty white bread and marg for a snack while I was making dinner & then I had cooked too many sausages for my recipe (kanga bangas... supposed to be low fat) and I had 2 of them too... and then I ate my dinner! And then I had a hankering for ice cream after!!! (you'd think that I'd be full, right?!?) so I just went to bed instead :laughing:
To top it all off - it was too hot to go for a walk yesterday. Today I made sure I got my a$$ moving early, before it got too hot again. At least now I have done it and I won't just sit at home and think about it all day, like I did yesterday :)
I have pramwalkers group tomorrow and mothers group (which I always walk to) on Thursday.

AmyLou - thanks for letting me know about the points - I only just started writing down my daily food yesterday... eek! I can see why writing it down works for weight loss! Once I read over what I had actually consumed in a day... :eek: I must have a very short memory :laughing:
How are you going with getting back on track?

Cass - thanks for the info on the vege chips. I have been eating the bigger packs though - and forgot to check how many grams the pack was before I chucked it out.
I imagine that they're not quite as low fat when you've been eating as many as I have!

I really need to dig out my old WW books to get some inspiration on what I can snack on and some low fat recipe ideas.

How's everyone going?

AmyLou
06-01-2009, 15:08
Hi there!

I'm doing really well thanks Deanna! I don't know if you've got them but i absolutely LOVE the simply too good to be true recipe book range! You buy them fron the newsagent for about $15 each and at the bottom of each recipe is the kJ and sat fat that you need to work out weight watchers points. Everything i've made out of it i've loved!

A good snack is carrot/celery/beans sticks with salsa.. that is o points!

Hope everyone is well!

KatieLou
07-01-2009, 12:04
Hi there!

Good to hear that everyone is getting motivated again after the silly season. I think I have lost my Christmas weight (1kg), so now it's just back to the baby weight to loose. Unfortunately we still have a rediculous amount of chips and chocolate around the house after Christmas. DH is motivated too though, so we are just ignoring it.

Thanks Cass for the advice re bfing. I knew I had to eat more, but I didn't realise that it was that much. It's like another 50%!

Is anyone using those meal replacement shakes? Are they any good? DH is thinking of using them for breakfast and I wouldn't mind having some on backup for lunch when I'm hungry but Cassidy is demanding, so I've been grabing bad stuff I can snack on. If I just had to grab a shake or a bar then maybe I wouldn't go for the chips so much. I'm having trouble finding one I can use while bfing, and then I'm suss about the ones that I can have.

smiley80
07-01-2009, 13:44
where do ya get these vegie chips u ladies speak of?

cassvanm
07-01-2009, 17:31
I didn't weigh in today, but will tomorrow - keep your :fingerscrossed: for me, coz I'm dreading it!
Piper's been demand feeding 2-hourly during the day at the moment, so I'm hoping that's going to help with my weight loss. :p

Donna - the Vege Chips are in the "health food" aisle in Coles. :yes:

Kat - you can't go on the meal replacements if you're bf, but as soon as Piper's weaned (another 9 months or so!) I straight back onto tony ferguson. I lost heaps of weight on it prior to my pregnancy -about 20kg in 15 weeks I think???

Amy - I also love the STGTBT books - we have all of them, and have calculated the points for our faves :D

Tonight we're just having steak and vegies. Had a good food day today, but no exercise. So much for the $400 I spent on the Wii Fit :rolleyes:

KatieLou
07-01-2009, 19:49
wow Cass 20kg in 15 weeks! Maybe I'll not bother now and just do that later :laughing:
Interesting that Piper has upped her feeds, Cassidy is dropping them, she's gone from 5/6 to 4 the last two days - she's just sleeping so much! So if an increase in feeds helps your weight, then a decrease certainly won't help me!

Not having a good afternoon/evening food wise. But gee this chocolate tastes good!

DeannaMay
09-01-2009, 11:58
Hiya Ladies :wave:

Flick - glad to hear that you're going well chicky :)
KatieLou - I hope you enjoyed the choccy ... yummo!
Smiley - I can vouch for those vege chippies - bewdiful. They're a bit like prawn crackers... but with actual taste :) I really had to hunt around for them at our supermarket.
Amy - thank you so much for the hints and tips. I'll have a look for the recipe books when I'm next down the street. I'm definitely going to do the vegetables & salsa next time I get a chippy hankering.
Cass - that is a HUGE weightloss on the shakes. I've heard that those Wii fits are great fun too.

Well... I had another little gain this week. Put on .1 so I'm now up to 98.9kgs. I keep losing and finding the same couple of kilos!

I just went for a walk & took Max for his 4 month immunisations ... but then had a tim tam when I got home :confused: so that would have undone any good work that I may have done! Anyway... was feeling a bit bad for it so I thought I'd come on here and confess all my sins and try to get going again.
I haven't made any plans today as I wasn't sure how Max would be after the vax (so far, so good) so I may go for another walk later today.

I hope that everyone else is having a good day.

DeannaMay
09-01-2009, 12:08
Me again...
I have just amended my goal weight. I originally had it at 68kgs... and I have been 68kgs before (for about 5 minutes, 6 or 7 years ago) & it felt WONDERFUL! But I think that is an unrealistic goal right now. So, for now - I have amended it to 75kgs. I reckon I will still be pretty darn proud of myself when I get there :)

KatieLou
09-01-2009, 14:18
Deanna - it must be something to do with vax that makes us eat. Cass had hers yesterday and I hit the choccy again! Oh well, that block is finished now and I won't open another. Was it just us or is the 4 mth vax better than the 2 mth ones?

I think it's good to have an achievable goal and then an 'ideal' goal. I have what I call a 'stretch' goal weight. Granted it's only 2 kgs more than my goal weight, but those have always been the 2 kilos that I have struggled to loose.

Pina Colada
13-01-2009, 11:42
:wave: ladies!

Sorry I have been MIA, but I've been at Mum and Dad's since before Christmas and their puter wouldn't let me post :hair:

I gained over Christmas (as usual :rolleyes:), but I have been following the CSIRO diet for the last 2 weeks and have been losing heaps of weight, can't wait for weigh in tomorrow.

I decided to change from WW to CSIRO for a bit of a change, and I like the plan, I think it is a really healthy way of eating. Plus, my whole family (pretty much) is doing it at the moment, and it is nice to have such a lot of people doing it together IYKWIM.

I have gotten vouchers from Cass, Amy and Flick so far. If you have also sent yours, or if I haven't PM'd you my address, please let me know. For those that joined a bit later, we are all sending me a $20 Target Gift voucher, and then I will forward them all to Septemberrie with the most percentage lost during the challenge :cool:

Just got home a couple of hours ago and don't have any food in the house :rolleyes: I am going to work out the menu for the week and head to the shops this afternoon.

I really need to start doing some intentional excercise soon, I feel I am doing really well with the diet side, but really want to tone up and increase my fitness and flexibility again.

That is my aim for the week...:smiliedance:

DeannaMay
13-01-2009, 16:02
Donna - Firstly - sounds like you're doing really well on the diet! good one!
And I sent my voucher ages ago! I remember that it was just as you were leaving for your parents house. It had one of our Xmas cards with Max on them & is in a DL envelope. Did you have your mail collected while you were away?
What a bugger!!!!

Pina Colada
13-01-2009, 16:14
Deanna - I'm so sorry - yes, I do have your voucher. My DH had a little bundle of mail in his work car :rolleyes: Sorry, stoopid me :o

DeannaMay
13-01-2009, 16:23
Oh yay :yelclap: thanks for checking :)

AmyLou
13-01-2009, 22:04
Hey Ladies!!!

Sounds great Donna! Keep it up!

Well i am happy to say that i lost a 1kg this week although i think it would have been more like 2.5 as i didn't go to weighties last week to see how much i ganied over xmas and new years but i could tell it was a fair bit! So my weightloss tally is up to 12kgs since i joined weight watchers 2 weeks after Blake was born! I have 8 more to go to my goal!

I have to go into the weight lost thread and see how much i've lost since the challenge started! Will go do that now!

Hope everyone is well!

Goodnight!

cassvanm
13-01-2009, 23:24
I am having trouble sleeping, and when that happens, I think too much, then I get down on myself - vicious cycle really.

Wanted to show you these pics.

Me now (at start of challenge - size 20-22):
http://i193.photobucket.com/albums/z131/cassvanm/meatmaddis.jpg

Me before I fell pregnant with Piper (size 14, 82kg):
http://i193.photobucket.com/albums/z131/cassvanm/myaim.jpg

I have 25kg to lose, and am feeling so sh!t about myself that I am contemplating giving up my BF relationship with Piper just to go on the shakes :crying: I really, really, really want to continue feeding her. I am enjoying it, and getting tonnes of satisfaction out of it - not to mention the benefits for her, but I am just disgusted by myself.
I've gone completely off the rails with my weightloss, and am getting very frustrated!
I need a very good stern talking to, and doing it myself just isn't cutting it!
I hate when I get like this, I look in the mirror and I wanna :barf:. My poor DH doesn't get a look in, and I become a cranky mum.
Why can't I be thin like other people? Sorry to bring you all down, just had to let it out.

DeannaMay
14-01-2009, 07:36
Oh Cass :hugs:

I know that we are all hard on ourselves... but don't be so hard on yourself! Our bubbas are only 4 months old - and it's not only the weight adjustment that we have to deal with, it's the sleep deprivation, the new person in our lives, the dynamics in our family and with our DP's and the demands on our body with BFing. That all takes a lot of getting used to! Our weight is only one piece of the bigger picture - and sometimes it has to temporarily take a back seat.

And ... we will all lose weight at different rates - we will all have good weeks and bad... and let's face it - it's only a few weeks after the silly season. I figure as long as the general direction of the weight loss is going down - then that's a pretty good effort. I'm yo-yoing at the moment... and I know that it can be very disheartening. Just try to take it one day at a time. Are you still tracking?

I've read about the challenges that you've had with your big girls and it sounds like you've got a lot on your plate. You've got a lot to deal with and you're doing an amazing job with your girls. Don't be too hard on yourself mate.... it's ok to give yourself a break :hugs:

Re: the shakes - I've lost a lot of weight on them too so I know that they work. But.... as soon as I started eating 'normally' again I put all the weight back on ... and then some. That's not going to be the case for everyone... just be careful with them.

I hope after a bit of sleep (and a little break from one of your girls) you're feeling a bit brighter today.
YOU CAN DO IT :thumbsup:

Pina Colada
14-01-2009, 07:40
AmyLou - Wow, so close to goal, you've done such a great job :yelclap: You must be feeling and looking great :D

Cass - Sorry you are so down at the moment hon :( But you are doing wonderfully well, you have lost almost 5kg!! You will get there, just one week at a time.....it took 9 months to put on, it will take at least that to take off. I know what you mean about feeling awful though, and it really does suck. Big hugs.

Me - I weighed in this morning. I'm not sure what I weighed after Christmas, but I'm down to 102.2kg, which is a loss of 5.2kg in 6 weeks, which is not too bad considering Christmas was in the middle of that, else I would be a little disappointed, as I usually lose a lot in the first month or so (sometimes upwards of 7kg).

I am loving CSIRO, feel really healthy eating lots and lots of lean proteins and vegetables. Just have to kick up the excercise - I'm thinking walking and fitball is about as exciting as I can manage with the 3 kids. I would soooo love to join a gym, and do all the classes and weights again. One day, hey.

NancyBlackett
14-01-2009, 10:37
I actually came in here to tell you girls about some great chips I have discovered - they are called Sultry Sally and are sold in Woolworths and... are 97% fat free, yet you'd never know it! they taste like the real, full fat deal!

But Cass I just read your post and had to send some :hugs: your way. It's horrible when you are feeling like that - you think you look awful in everything, you feel horrid and you become a cranky witch. I just want to say (and I know you probably won't believe me, but it's true) that you do look awesome RIGHT NOW. Especially as you have just had a baby. But even if you hadn't, you have an awesome figure - i know you are bigger than you want to be but please please please know that you have a hot body with great curves.

The weight will go - it really will. And breastfeeding will only help it go quicker!!!:hugs:

cassvanm
14-01-2009, 13:27
Awww, thanks guys. :hugs:
I've given myself a much-needed kick in the pants, and have started counting my points again. I went down to the local newsagency and purchased a hard-covered little notebook which has a strap to keep it closed, and a ribbon to mark my spot. It fits perfectly in my nappy bag side pocket, and will be where I put my points tally. It was exactly what I've been looking for for weeks, and to top it all off - it's purple - yay! LOL
Today I found myself eating chocolate without realising! So I fished out the packet from the bin (ewwww - nah, the recycle bin) and added the points. I was relieved to see it was only 3.5 points worth that I'd scoffed! :o
I'm waiting for Piper to have her next feed, and after that I'm going to do Carmen Electra's Fit To Strip DVD (ugly! :laughing:)
I'm weighing in tomorrow morning, so I will let you know in the other thread tomorrow.
Hope you are all going well, and thanks again for the support. I knew that this would be a safe place for me to vent.

Katherine - gunna be looking for the Sultry Sally chips :yes:

Amy - you are an inspiration. I will keep you in mind when I am next tempted. Way to go :yelclap:

Kisses to you all
Cass

cassvanm
15-01-2009, 20:41
So I weighed in today, to find that I'd gained 800gm last week - was not unexpected at all! I knew I'd gained, and I knew exactly what I'd done wrong, so I'm now back to counting points religiously.

Yesterday I ate only 29.5pts, and worked out to the Carmen Electra DVD for 20 mins, for a bonus of 1.5pts.

Today I've eaten only 23pts (yes I know it's naughty), and went for an hour walk, which earnt me an additional 4 points.

I am not going to be able to do any intentional exercise tomorrow, as my mums coming over and we are doing a scrapbooking night.

How are the rest of you going?

DeannaMay
16-01-2009, 07:32
Sounds like you ladies are doing a wonderful job. Congrats on the losses!
Cass - even though you had a little gain it sounds like you are well and truly back on track. Good for you!

I'm doing quite badly. I didn't post because I'm disappointed with myself and needed to have a little reflection and a wallow. I didn't lose anything last week. I know it's because I'm not organised enough with food & have been very slack with the exercise. I'm finding it hard to get back to what I was doing pre-Christmas with the exercise. I am also too good at talking myself into thinking that I've been doing well, and that I should be able to have a treat. Mind games.....
Basically, I'm very inconsistent and I sabotage myself and undo any good work I may have done for the week.
Ho hum.
It's good to 'verbalise' it though by posting in here - making myself spell out why I haven't been successful.
It forces me to be real.

Sorry for the downer ladies....

cassvanm
17-01-2009, 09:26
:hugs:Deanna. You are just in a bit of a funk, and you'll get out of it. You are so supportive of others, you deserve success too. Just practice what you preach in staying strong and on the right track. You have the opposite problem to me - I psych myself out saying how **** I'm doing then I give up! At least you can look at the positives :o

Me: I went to my scrapbooking night last night, and I knew that I was going to have fish and chips for dinner. Because I had saved so many points over the prior 3 days, I wasn't overly worried, as I had saved 17 (:eek:), and had only used 15 by the time we left for the night. So with my dinner and coffee (20 points), I still have eaten 14 points less this week :yelclap:. Even without all of the saved points I wouldn't have been too bad, as I only went 3 points over for the day, so I'm stoked with that.

How are the rest of us going so far?

Oh, yes, people are starting to notice :smiliedance:
This thread is being such a help, so I hope we all can keep on here and keep going.

GeorgiaAnne
17-01-2009, 11:31
Hi chicks
:hugs: Deanna - You've just gotta get back on the right track and just start again. I also fell off the rails with my eating and have started again, it feels good to try some more.
Cass - Well done to you - I hope the fish and chips were worth saving all those points.
Me - I'm kinda doing stuff from the csiro book, some of the recipes are great. I'm also doing a lot of exercise and am feeling very motivated. I had told dh that I would be back to my pre pg weight by our 10th anniversary on 13th March so i've got to try for 2k loss a week :eek:

DeannaMay
17-01-2009, 17:47
Thanks Ladies :hugs:
Cass - you're doing so well! Good on you for saving those points for a lovely treat. I love fish and chips :)
Georgia - Good on you for having a goal. Sounds like you're doing very well!

I am feeling better :) Have started walking again. The feel good hormones are doing wonders & I went and got a whole heap of fresh fruit so I have lots of healthy options in the house.
Today I have had cereal, an apple, 1 and a half wholemeal rolls with salad & will probably have sausages and salad for tea & maybe another piece of fruit for afters. That's a really good day for me :D
I do need to practise what I preach... it's all up there - I just need to apply it!!! I will get back on that horse!
I haven't lost much - but I have still lost since we started the challenge - that's better than the alternative :)

Pina Colada
19-01-2009, 08:23
:wave: ladies

How did we go on the weekend? I had a blow out :o just so tired and unorganised at the moment, finding it hard to organise meals etc. and it all went to poo and then we ended up eating pizza for dinner last night, which was a fitting ending to a slack weekend.

But, I'm up and feeling motivated again this morning. I've had my Vita Brits and lite milk (while the kids sit on the kitchen bench eating leftover pizza for breakfast :rolleyes:) and I am GOING FOR A WALK this afternoon. I don't care what else is going on, as soon as DH is home from work I am going.

So, doubtful for a loss this week, but I'm back on track which is the main thing!

KatieLou
20-01-2009, 13:47

Georgia - have you tried the paella recipe in the csiro book? It's delicious! Unfortunately for me Cassidy didn't like it and screamed the house down 24hrs after I had it. She was 3 mths old so I thought she would be ok with prawns and calamari, but I gues not. I can't wait to have it again.

Well I was going really well, until yesterday. Little miss demanded 7 feeds in 20 hours (2 up from normal) and by yesterday afternoon I was starving and the fruit and healthy food I had in the pantry just didn't do it for me. So when I went to the supermarket to get stuff for dinner the bakery was calling me. I bought a 6 pk of cinnamon donuts AND some Coles bakery choc chip cookies (which are really good by the way - lol - I'm not helping am i?!?). I even had what I called 'pre dessert'.

So now our feeds seem to be back to normal but I have this yummy bad food in the house!

KatieLou
21-01-2009, 08:31
Flick - does lite n easy fill your dh? We've had a look at them but dh doesn't like the look of them and thinks they won't be filling (he eats a good man sized meal)

AmyLou
26-01-2009, 21:10
Hey everyone! Where are you all??? hehe

Well weight watchers today.. i lost 2kg! Quite impressed!

How is everyone else? How did you all go with Australia day??

I see we have a name change and i can't work out who it is!!??

Hope everyone is well!!

AmyLou
30-01-2009, 09:44
Excuse me ladies.. Where are you all?? Where are the weigh ins for this week??

I've got no one to talk to in here!!

DeannaMay
30-01-2009, 14:42
Well done on your weight loss! You're doing so well! 2kgs in one week is VERY impressive :yelclap:

I'm hiding until I can post a wonderful, substantial loss in here too :laughing:

Pina Colada
30-01-2009, 14:49
Sorry ladies, I've been a little quiet, feeling quiet exhausted dealing with all the illnesses we seem to have been hit with this last week :(

As such I haven't been totally focussed on my weight loss, and can't even remember my last weigh in - I'll make an effort to weigh in this Wednesday and update my measurements :o

On the plus side, my size 18 pants are literally falling off me, so I've lost a dress size :yelclap:

I'm trying to be realistic and have reassessed my Challenge goal and would be ecstatic if I am under 100kg by the end of the challenge, giving me a 8'ish kg loss for the challenge. I'll be more than happy with that!

Amy - you are doing so well! Congrats! :thumbsup:

cassvanm
30-01-2009, 19:01
Been a bit MIA in this section. Went a little off the rails, and last week gained .6kg. This week I lost .7, so now I've had a total loss of 4.9kg :yelclap:
Trying to count points, but not succeeding very well :o
Cass

AmyLou
02-02-2009, 19:20
Hi ladies!!!

Guess what!!! I lost 1.7kg this week!!! I have no idea how!! (Hmm Cass do you like all my exclamation marks!! haha) I mean I have been sticking to my points so i do deserve to loose weight but i didn't think after a 2kg loss last week i'd lose that much this week. Anyway yay me!

So that's a total of 6.6kg since i started this challenge and 15.2kg that i've lost since my baby boy was born! Only 4.8 kg to my goal weight!

Hmm how long have we got til the challenge finishes?? I suppose i could go and look myself! Can everyone please report how they are going this week after your weigh in on Wednesday??

Hey Donna have you received everyone's vouchers?? Is there still 7 of us in it??

Hope everyone is well

cassvanm
02-02-2009, 19:57
OMFG Amy - YAY FOR YOU!!! :yelclap::yelclap::yelclap:
You should be sooooo proud of yourself! Congratulations on your hard work. You MUST post some before/after pics for us.

Me, still not going well. Not quite sure where the motivation went. I've been searching and searching but it seems as though it totally misplaced the Melways! :p

A lot of it has to do with the fact that I am BF so much, that I am not feeling like I've finished eating unless I have something sweet. Does anyone else have that problem?

Talk soon lovely ladies
Cass

Shazza
02-02-2009, 20:40
Hey :wave:

Wow you girls are all doing really really well!:yelclap: I've have been completely slack and have actually gained weight :no: so I know I won't be winning! Was only trying to loosely follow points but now know that I have to be more strict (and DH too who has hit over 100 when he should be in early 80's).

Anyways just wanted to say keep up the good work all you yummy mummys!!

Cheers Shaz :D

PS. Donna I will be going to Target on Thu so will pick up a voucher and post it then.

AmyLou
02-02-2009, 22:06
Thanks Cass - I am very proud of myself! But will be even more proud of myself when i get to where i want to be! Can't wait!

Come on girls you can do it!!

Cass - I found in weight watchers which might cure your sugar craving.. Fruit in Jelly.. There are two fruits in tropical jelly or peaches in mango jelly.. I'm not a big fan of the two fruits but really like the peaches! PLUS they are 0 points!! Not really sure how that works with the fruit but i guess the fruit is less than .5 points as it registers as 0 anything under .5. They are nice and sweet so they might help!

Thanks again ladies!

Pina Colada
03-02-2009, 08:32

I have been going really well too! Been very strict and have even started excercising :eek: I have finallly found my will power and determination and it is paying off, my pants are falling off so I am very very happy.

Weigh in tomorrow, fingers crossed I break the 100kg :fingerscrossed: I'll up date my measurements too, I really want to see how many cm's I've lost......

Well done Amy - you are doing so well! Congrats. Hang in there Cass and Shazza - you are doing the right thing just by being here and doing your best :hugs:

Could everybody please make sure that you update your weigh in details every week for the last 4 weigh ins, so we can all see where we are at! Also, please have your vouchers (still 5 outstanding.....) to me no later by Friday 13th February please. There are 10 participating - Cass, Amy (Lou), Shazza, me, Georgia, Leece, Amy (TB), Flick, Deanna and Kat.

DeannaMay
07-02-2009, 09:37
Hiya Ladies :)
I have been hiding because I haven't been doing great (as usual).
But... after gaining and going over my start weight, I have been trying to be good and it seems to have paid off. I have only lost 1.5kgs and 1.5cms - but I know that I haven't been as strict as I should be so it's not really surprising.
I haven't really been exercising since it got so hot, but I am joining the gym this week (it's only $60 per month... I reckon that's pretty cheap!). I'm going to do BodyJam which is a dance style class. I reckon it will be hilarious :)
The membership also includes swimming - so hoping to do a bit of that too.

You guys have been going SO WELL :yelclap: Congratulations ladies :)
I am well and truly out of the running :laughing:

AmyLou
09-02-2009, 14:35
Ladies i'm so pumped!!

Another KG down only 3.8 to go to my goal! I've now lost 16.2 after having Blake and 7.6 (i think, can't remember what i just put in the other thread!) with the challenge! I'm quite proud of myself ladies!

How is everyone else going???

Pina Colada
09-02-2009, 14:40
Wow, go Amy! You've done so well, you must feel and look great!

I haven't updated my weigh in from last week yet :o but I was 101.9kg, which takes my total loss to 7kg and my challenge loss to 5.5kg. Not great, but not too bad!

I just wish I could buckle down and have ALL good days, instead of SOME good days :rolleyes:

DeannaMay
16-02-2009, 08:29
Hi everyone :)

I think that my weight is the same as when I started! BUT did an aerobics class yesterday (BodyJam) and I LOVED it :yelclap:
I am going to a different aerobics class today where you can take your baby along. I'm sore from yesterday - but I figure that if you are going to be sore from one class - may as well be sore from two classes :)

Methinks I have found a love for aerobics at the wrong end of the challenge :laughing::laughing:

Hope everyone is having a good week.

smiley80
16-02-2009, 12:21
wow amy your doing so well.. how do ya do it? i got out all my ww books cause ive been before and it worked.. ive been following my points exactly.. hubby and i go walking at nite and im soooooooo active during the day running around doing domestic stuff and i havent lost a gram... havent put on but havent lost i dont understand i used to lose weight so easy.... and i used to have a desk job sitting on my butt all day now i rarely sit down

AmyLou
16-02-2009, 14:53
Good work Deanna, better late then never hey!

ohh thanks smiley... I've been doing weight watchers also.. it works really well for me! Very lucky... I only really exercise once a week too, just play indoor netball. Other than that just stuff for bubs... I lost .4 today which is ok... not what i would have liked but hey better than nothing or a gain!

Total of 16.6 since having bub! Yay

Talk soon ladies!

AmyLou
23-02-2009, 15:46
Hi ladies!!!

Ok only lost .2kg today but thats the end of my challenge with you guys as i started on the Monday as that is when my Weight Watchers meeting is!

My total weight loss for the challenge was 8.2kg! Total percentage 9.71%!

Pina Colada
23-02-2009, 15:50
Congrats Amy! You are well on your way to goal, how exciting!

DeannaMay
24-02-2009, 19:22
Amy that is an awesome loss! :yelclap: Well done you :)

AmyLou
25-02-2009, 13:18
Sooo ladies.... the challenge is over!!!! Who won??

cassvanm
25-02-2009, 13:20
:laughing: I'd say you won Amy! Congratulations! :party:

AmyLou
25-02-2009, 15:32
Yahoo!!!

I've tried soo hard ladies and it's finally paid off!! It felt like it was going to take forever to loose 20kg and i've already lost 16.8!

Now it's your turn ladies!! You can do it! You just have to have your mind set to it!

GO LADIES!!

Pina Colada
25-02-2009, 17:53

Amy, I'd saw you've won love :smiliedance: :party:

My final percentage was a measly 4.65%. Very slack.

If only I'd been as motivated as I had been after my last two pregnancies I might have been some competition!!

Never mind, congrats Amy, and this next challenge is MINE! :p

AmyLou
25-02-2009, 18:17
Yay thanks Donna! Any percentage is great ladies!!!

Shall I PM you my details... can't wait to go shopping!!!

Pina Colada
25-02-2009, 18:24
yes please ;)

DeannaMay
26-02-2009, 18:20
Congratulations Amy - your hard work has really paid off :yelclap: You must be so proud of yourself! Well done and happy shopping :)

Although I only lost about 1% :laughing: I have lost about 6.5cms - so that was a nice surprise. And even more importantly I feel stronger and fitter than when I started.

I would just like to thank all you lovely ladies for all your help, tips, motivation and support during this challenge.

I am SO looking forward to the next challenge. I'm PUMPED!!! :yes: