View Full Version : Nicholas or Noah????????

jennababe
20-05-2006, 17:48
my baby is due today!!! the 20th of May... although nothing seems to be happening.. i am sure he is going to keep me waiting a few more days yet!!!!...

i love both the names Noah and Nicholas.. but cant seem to make a decision..

i find Noah to be a lovely strong name and a little different which is great...

but Nicholas is so cute for when hes little.. and Nick is a lovely mans name for when hes older!.. its very hard... would love to hear what everyone else thinks..

even rate them both for me out of ten!!

veve
20-05-2006, 17:53
I 'm not going to vote... but I actually like them both (noah is lovely .. as long as your other children aren't named eve... mary... joseph etc :rolleyes: )

both strong masculine names ..

jkate
20-05-2006, 17:54
I voted Nicholas because I think its not as popular as Noah, I know lots of Noah's. And after having my first son with the very popular name Aden - though we do spell it differently. We now go for names that are not so popular.

Best of luck with the pregnancy, and welcome to bub hub :smiliedance:

Indy
20-05-2006, 18:08
You could have one as a first and the other as a middle. Nicholas Noah or Noah Nicholas. All the best. Let us know how you go.

Noahsmummy
20-05-2006, 19:24
Am slightly biased, but would have to go for Noah!!! You could always use both. We liked Noah and William so used both of them.
Good luck!

Blessed Mum
20-05-2006, 19:25
Hi I picked Noah, this was what I would of had if charlotte was a boy.

Nicholas is a nice strong name too.

Good Luck

mrsbutterflygirl
20-05-2006, 21:16
I love the name Noah.. it's beautiful!! i hope everything goes well with your labour! good luck

jennababe
21-05-2006, 10:46
thanks for all your opinions.........

i still love both names... will wait and see what the little bear looks like!!....

if he decides he ever wants to come out!!....

currently 1 day over cooked!!!...

mummy getting veryyyyyyyyyyyyy impacient!!!! :crying:

Jem
21-05-2006, 11:34
I voted Noah... wishing you all the best for your labour! :)

21-05-2006, 13:30
I voted Noah too. :thumbsup: All the best for the impending arrival of your little boy!

caz
21-05-2006, 16:10
I voted Noah :thumbsup: I've always like that name for some reason :D

jennababe
21-05-2006, 16:21
still have not had my baby yet... still think its going to be a while...................

hehe maybe hes not finished cooking yet!!!

thanks everyone for your opinions.. and wishing me well with my labour...

keep the votes coming!!!..

hey would it be wrong to just flip a coin? lol

caz
21-05-2006, 16:24
hey would it be wrong to just flip a coin? lol

If you can't decide then I can't see why not :laughing:

How about combining the names like what Indy suggested. Or do you already have his middle name worked out?

jennababe
21-05-2006, 16:30
if i decide to call him Nicholas then his middle name would be Patrick..

but i cant find anything i like or want to use for a middle name with Noah... and ive thought about just not having a middle name... not everyone has them..

Patrick has a special meaning to me.. and i wanted to use it for his first name at first.. but then everyone said its a little bit of an older mans name i dont know.. but therefore makes me more leaning towards Nicholas...

also i thought Noah is an uncommon name.. apparently not!!.. its getting more popular... as names go through there stages... lol knowing my luck.. by the time he goes to kindy and school.. there will probably be 4 in the class!!...

ive also looked up the names meanings to

Noah - Rest, Peace
Nicholas - Victorious People (have no idea what that means)
Patrick - Nobleman

caz
21-05-2006, 16:39
My only advice to you is: YOU chose what name YOU like the most and don't listen to other people.

I know how hard it can be though, it can be one of the most stressful things you do in your life, give another human being their name

jennababe
21-05-2006, 16:49
thanks heaps for your honest advice!!!... i know that it shouldnt matter what anyone else thinks.. and i should call him what i want!... within reason obviously.. lol.. but none of my names r out of the ordinary!! yes it is a hard decision though.. maybe it would be easier if they come with a little name tag!!.. like cabbage patch kids!.....

if i do decide to flip a coin.. atleast it will be a funny story to tell him when hes older!!.. my mum got my name of an american soapys! cant see how thats any worse hehe...

i hate playing this waiting game... :crying:
think every day til i have him are going to be the longest days of my life!!...

caz
21-05-2006, 17:08
maybe it would be easier if they come with a little name tag!!.. like cabbage patch kids!.....

That's what I was hoping for :laughing:

ETsMum
21-05-2006, 19:51
I think Nicholas Patrick sounds great!!! :)

but so does Noah Patrick... but Noah is quite popular atm...

jennababe
21-05-2006, 20:06
is anyone out there supersticious?...

i know this all sounds a bit weird... but within the last 24 hours ive become of 3 tragedys...

i read a ladies birth story last night.. she had twins a boy and a girl.. and the boy died 9 days after birth.. and was named Noah..

theres was a story about a little boy on the news.. thats going to be on today tonight tommorow night.. and the little boy died called Noah..

and a friend of a friends had a still born 3 weeks ago and had chosen the name Noah!...

just all seems very sad to me... i dont believe if i called him Noah something bad would happen.. but just now when i think of the name all i think of is sadness :-(

also the meaning of the name Noah.. - Rest, Peace

its all to much for me to get my head around!!!

zenifa
22-05-2006, 11:59
Although I do like the name Noah and I'm not supersticious (?spelling), I do prefer Nicholas Patrick, its a lovely name. Good luck and hoping you are meeting your little boy today!!

Betsabe
22-05-2006, 15:32
I like Noah the best.

I adore Joah though. This is Biblical too. It makes a change as Noah is becoming extremely popular.

limlib
23-05-2006, 01:42
I like both names but Nicholas gets my vote. My son's middle name is Nicolaas (Dutch spelling). The name means Victor of the people -( like a victorious leader of people ) I think Nicholas is a strong name and Nick is a cute version.

jennababe
23-05-2006, 11:18
thanks again to everyone who posted there thoughts and opinions...

being 3 days late ive had a bit of extra time to think about what to call the little bear..

and Nicholas had definately grown on me!! i love it!!...

so i think the new addition is going to be!!

Nicholas Patrick

:smiliedance: :smiliedance: :smiliedance:

danik
23-05-2006, 14:36
I love the name Noah. In fact it is on the top of our list if we have a boy.

becca74
23-05-2006, 18:12
I voted Noah.......Noah is actually the biggest contender in the name we want for our boy - because it means comfort......we want to pick a name with peaceful soothing connotations.

Spooky!! - I just now looked out the window and there is a gigantic rainbow in the sky, and the wiggles song about Noah's ark is playing on the telly at the moment - I think it's a definate sign :eek: (I'm actually not kidding!!)

gonna be a godmother
24-05-2006, 00:58
i love Noah. Nicholas seems to me to be way common.....and i only know maybe 1 or 2 noahs...i voted for noah