View Full Version : Who knew breastfeeding was such hard work! lol
My bub is 16 days old and I've only started breastfeeding on thursday as she is in SCU and was on tpn for the first 10 or so days and ng tube feeds until thursday. Currently I can only bf 2 -4 times during the day when I'm at the hospital and she gets tube feeds at night. The first two days the LC came and helped with the attachment and she latched on and sucked like there was no tomorrow without any pain! However today I tried everything they said, cross cradle and football hold position, lining her nose up with nipple, keeping her body straight, pushing her shoulders in when she opened her mouth, using twin pillows. It just all felt really awkward. No matter what I did, everytime she latched on it really hurt, like a tight pinching pain. So I know she wasn't latched on correctly. And I took her on and off so many times she (and the midwives) were getting tired and cranky. I've asked about five different midwives and they all give different advice (which is so confusing) and all say that she looks like she's attached fine and getting enough milk. So I just had to put up with the pain and let her feed because I was sick of being told it looked fine and getting no help and bub was getting quite fed up with me disturbing her lunch! I will be rooming in at the hospital with her tomorrow for a few nights as she may be ready to finally come home so I guess we will have plenty of time, without the midwives watching over my shoulder, to learn how it all works. But my question is, did anyone else find the latching on hard to get the hang of.. and how long was it before both you and bub got it right? Is it normal to be this hopeless.. because I feel really frustrated that I haven't worked it out by now. And I don't think my nipples can put up with another day of pinching, just thinking about it makes them hurt!
Tam-I-Am
23-11-2008, 00:28
Yep, totally normal. Not only do YOU have to learn how to attach your bub properly - but your bub has to learn how to attach properly too. So its the blind leading the blind, so to speak!
Please remember that its pretty normal for your nipples to be tender, sore, or even agonisingly painful for the first 30 seconds or so of a feed. If it still feels like its painful after that - then she's not attached properly. Your breasts/nipples have never done what they're doing now before, and its absolutely normal for there to be an adjustment period. If you don't feel like its going well, please please see the lactation consultant again.
:hugs: to you - its always difficult starting the breastfeeding relationship out - remember, it does get better pretty quickly for most people. Persistence, and getting adequate help and SUPPORT are key in continuing.
cecandchels
23-11-2008, 00:31
yes, yes, yes! i had no idea that it took so much getting used to. i had thought she would come out and latch on no probs, but no. like u i had every diff midwife telling me diff things, i tried all positions and ended up with cracked nipples anyway. i used a shield for about a day but dd didnt like it and niether did i. i think my problem was that my breasts were so full and her mouth so small she found it hard to attatch properly. so it def does take a bit of time for both u and the baby to adjust. but dont worry, and persevere because 11 months on i am still breastfeeding her and i wouldnt have stopped for anything. just have confidence in urself!! in terms of conflicting information, just do what u feel best!! good luck.
julietv8
23-11-2008, 00:39
It takes 4-6 weeks to really get the hang of BF, I still felt awkward after a couple of weeks, but I've been going for 8 months now and showing no signs of stopping. Be patient with yourself, it takes time.
Best of luck hun :thumbsup:
23-11-2008, 07:00
you might still be attaching properly, just your nipples getting used to it... i thought i was attaching ds wrong, but after 1 week i havent had any pain since..if you dont count him nipping me;)..
i fed him in football hold for 1 month, then i could get the cradle hold:yes:...
it takes practice, but you'll get it in no time.. hopefully you get it as quick as i did..it makes it easier to keep at it when it doeant hurt:yelclap:
Lastcenturymum
23-11-2008, 07:06
Oh hun, I feel for you. :hugs: It's all so 'strange' at first isn't it? My DD was in ICU in another hospital and I didn't get to feed her for nearly two weeks. I was expressing but not really getting a letdown, so it was hard to keep it all going, but we persevered for 4 months. I don't think I had trouble with her latching on, but it was SO weird feeding her the first time and so amazing and moving. I didn't really have much help from staff as she was in the RCH, with no maternity staff there. I don't recall nipples being too sore, but I didn't feed for long periods of time either. After she was two weeks old I was driving to the hospital three times a day to feed her as they wouldn't re-admit me to be with her and she was in isolation. Keep up the great work:yelclap:
squiglet
23-11-2008, 07:46
It just sounds like your nipples were like mine were. They need to get used to all the sucking. After a few days of discomfort, and probably after all the practice the mum and bub put in, it all feels much better.
We've been at it for nearly six weeks and it still takes some work to get her on properly. I'm using a nipple shield sometimes at night and when out as it's easier to avoid the palaver sometimes!
I've found that sitting up is the easiest way to latch Esme on - she sits on my thigh. The midwives disapproved as it wasn't either cradle or football - but it works well for us.
Hollywood
23-11-2008, 11:45
Make sure you go to the chemist and get yourself some nipple cream too, and breast pads to protect your bras from the cream. Put it on after each feed (no need to rinse it off before the next feed, they're safe for bub), and they really help soothe the nipple in those early weeks when things are getting sorted out.
It took me around 4 to 6 weeks to finally get the hang of things and for the pain to subside. The pain is normal, but once attachment is sorted out and your nipples get used to all that attention, breastfeeding will be painless (I promise!).
Sheer Bliss
23-11-2008, 13:18
:hugs:Sometimes the 'pain' can be the feeling of your nipple stretching, and it will improve, but might get worse as bubs suck gets stronger. If you have correct attachment it WILL get better.
As for taking a long time to get the hang of attaching...oh yes!! Esp premmie bubs can take a bit longer as they are so small. I found footy hold heaps easier for my little bubbas to start with. And with DS (36weeks), it was at least a few weeks before I felt comfortable he would stay attached properly at most feeds. The one thing I do know, is that it is a million times easier in the long run, and once you get through the tough first bit, it will be a breeze.
cassvanm
23-11-2008, 20:05
I've been BF my DD3 for 9 weeks, and only really got the hang of it about 3 weeks ago. Keep in mind that she's my THIRD to feed - I had a world of probs with her that I didn't have with 1&2!
What you are going through is completely normal, and as it was said earlier, it is a learned behaviour for both you and bub. Good luck :thumbsup:
First of all :hugs::hugs::hugs:
Yes it is hard, it took about 6-8 weeks to finally 'get it' with DD1. With DD2 it took 16 weeks of expressing and giving it to her in a bottle before we finally got our act together. Now that she is 10 months, I am so glad we hung in there as our breastfeeding relationship is beautiful.
Maybe the ABA could help you out and give you some support?
I hope it all settles down for you, as I am sure it will. However if it all goes pear shaped, don't beat yourself up about it because you are only human after all!!!