View Full Version : Your Christmas Day menu!

Waiting for my Baldies
18-11-2008, 03:55 PM

Well this is the 1st time i am doing christmas! We are so lucky, both sides of the family are coming over for the day.....So.....on my menu is

SNACKS
Seafood???maybe???
Fruit platter
Dips (i love the one made into the bread.....you know???)

MEAT
Spit roast with Pork-->
Leg of glazed ham--> anyone have a good glaze?

(do you think its too much pig??? they have different tastes.....:confused:)

SALADS
fresh garden salad
Prawn and mango salad

DESERT
summer pudding
Christmas cake with custard

DRINKS
pinapple and mint cocktails-->alcoholic made with vodka
Fruit Punch--> non alcoholic
White and Red wine and Beer.

***Does anyone have a good Glaze for the ham???***

Please help me, as its my first ever xmas being the host!!! :reindeer:

Waiting for my Baldies
18-11-2008, 04:17 PM
Come on lets get in the spirit!!!

:xmastree:

:xmas:

:reindeer:

:noel:

:snow:

chunkydunks
18-11-2008, 04:21 PM
I've got no idea whats on the menu. Daddy's doing the cooking:p

I know whats for breakfast on boxing day. Hangover breaky Ledger style:laughing: Bacon, eggs, sausages, fried mushies.....mmmm

onemummmy
18-11-2008, 04:24 PM
I havent tried this but apparently its really yummy!
http://www.nigella.com/recipes/recipe.asp?article=150

I would do ham and chicken as the main meats:yes: oh now Im getting hungry LOL

Waiting for my Baldies
18-11-2008, 04:32 PM
Oh thank you for that recepie! It looks so easy!

Does anyone know what that dip is called....the one where you hollow out the bread and make the dip in there?!?!? :cool:

melly75
18-11-2008, 04:33 PM

Well this is the 1st time i am doing christmas! We are so lucky, both sides of the family are coming over for the day.....So.....on my menu is

SNACKS
Seafood???maybe???
Fruit platter
Dips (i love the one made into the bread.....you know???)

MEAT
Spit roast with Pork-->
Leg of glazed ham--> anyone have a good glaze?

(do you think its too much pig??? they have different tastes.....:confused:)

SALADS
fresh garden salad
Prawn and mango salad

DESERT
summer pudding
Christmas cake with custard

DRINKS
pinapple and mint cocktails-->alcoholic made with vodka
Fruit Punch--> non alcoholic
White and Red wine and Beer.

***Does anyone have a good Glaze for the ham???***

Please help me, as its my first ever xmas being the host!!! :reindeer:

Ohh Sounds yummy...Can I come over for lunch :p

Waiting for my Baldies
18-11-2008, 04:36 PM
No worries!!!!! ;)

melly75
18-11-2008, 04:39 PM
:laughing:I'll start walking now.By the time I get there I'll be super hungry :xmastree:

Larski
18-11-2008, 04:54 PM
Oh thank you for that recepie! It looks so easy!

Does anyone know what that dip is called....the one where you hollow out the bread and make the dip in there?!?!? :cool:

Is that the one with the spinach dip in the cob bread? And then you use the bread bits to dip? I cant remember how to make that dip but it is DELICIOUS! I will ask my friend who is a bit of a whiz in the kitchen as she always makes it for parties.

safarifun
18-11-2008, 05:02 PM
Hi IVFCrazy Lady!

Your menu sounds fantastic! Only thing I would change would be to add a chicken dish as some people don't like too much ham. I love punch so you beat me to that recommendation!

Here are some Cob Loaf Dip recipes I found online just for you...

All the best!

---------------------------------------------

Bacon and corn cob loaf dip

This recipe is very popular with all who have tasted it. Very easy to make.
When I am using it for a party I make the dip the day before and just heat it
in microwave then preparing the loaf and adding dip to it then place in oven
for approx 20/30 mins.

2-3 bacon rashers
1 onions peeled and sliced
few shallots chopped
440grms creamed corn
310 g can corn kernels
250g sour cream
1 round cob (I get mine from Bakers Delight)
1 cup grated tasty cheese
small bunch of chives

Chop bacon and fry in greased pan for few minutes. Add onion (and oil if you
like) and fry gently until soft. Add chopped shallots and cook for a minute
longer. Empty this into a bowl and add creamed corn and drained corn kernels,
sour cream and grated cheese. Mix well then season with fresh cracked black
pepper and a tiny pinch of cayenne pepper (not important).
Carefully slice the top from the bread and reserve it for the 'lid'. Remove
the soft bread in the middle of loaf and cut or tear this into chunks. Warm
the corn filling slightly in microwave then put it into the bread case. Put in
onto one baking tray and put the chunks of bread and the 'lid' onto another
tray. Bake for approx 30mins in moderately hot oven or until the filling is
bubbling hot and the bread is crunchy. Scatter some chopped chives and serve
immediately.

Cheesy Bread Dip

1 Cobb loaf bread
6-8 rashes bacon - cooked and diced
500 g sour light cream
Chopped chives
Pepper and salt
8 spring onions - chopped
1 onion - finely chopped
250 g grated Coon cheese (any tasty cheese will suffice)
250 g grated Mozzarella cheese
Cut off top of cob loaf, remove bread from inside cob loaf, so as cob loaf is
hollow,
being careful not to break outer crust. (Do not discard any bread, as this
will be used to dip into mixture later.)
Mix all ingredients together, then fill hollow cob loaf with mixture.
Place on tray in oven (approx 180*) for 30 - 40 minutes.
Break bread and top which has been cut off the loaf into 2-3 cm pieces.
10 minutes prior to cheese dip being ready to remove from oven place pieces of
bread on oven tray to brown and crisper.
Crispy bread can now be dipped into tasty cheesy mixture and enjoyed by your
guests.
Your guests will love this dip, it is quite different, if you want some
yourself, get in quick,
because it will all be gone in a flash. It can easily be re-heated by placing
back in the oven for just a couple of minutes

Baked Artichoke & Cheese Cob Dip

1 tin artichoke hearts, chopped into small pieces
200ml sour cream
250g cream cheese
125g tasty cheese, grates/shredded
2-8 cloves garlic, chopped
1 bunch spring onions, chopped
125g butter
cob loaf
Preheat oven to 180�C.
Melt butter, add spring onions and garlic. Mix in cheeses and sour cream.
Cut the top off the cob loaf and scoop out bread and reserve for dipping.
Pour mixture into hollow cob loaf. Wrap in foil and bake at 180�C for 1 1/2
hours.
Serve with scooped out bread and extra if needed.

COB LOAF DIP 1

1 tub of philly cream cheese
few tablespoons of sour cream
cup of grated cheese
herbs of your choice
1 cob loaf

then add whatever filling you like - my favourite is ham/bacon and onion..or
you could use creamed corn, or asparagus, or mushrooms...or basically whatever
you like!

Cutt top off and pull out the centre of the cob loaf but keep bread aside.
Mix all ingredients together and put in the loaf. Put lid of loaf on and bake
in a moderate oven for about an hour. In the last 10 minutes, add pieces of
bread that you pulled out on a tray to crisp them up.

Basically you start ripping pieces of the bread off and dipping in it the
mixture - yummo!

COB LOAF DIP 2

250gCream Cheese
250ml Sour Cream
Pepper & salt to taste
Clove Garlic
250g Diced Bacon
1 diced onion
2-3 cups Tasty Cheese

Combine together.Cut out an opening in top of loaf, Pull out innards of cobb
loaf leaving shell, Add ingrediants inside put the lid back on. Wrap in 2
layers of foil pop in oven 160c for min 2 hours.
YUMBO!!!!! I use the left over bread to dip with and also get a couple french
sticks to chop up.

COB LOAF DIP 3

1 tub/packet philly cream cheese
few tablespoons of sour cream
cup of grated cheese
if you want a bit of bite, add sweet chilli sauce or tobasco or something like
that
any herbs

I always put onion and ham in mine but you can basically add
anything....creamed corn, tuna, asparagus...whatever takes your fancy!

mix together, put in cob loaf, bake for an hour or so wrapped in foil.

sockstealingpoltergeist
18-11-2008, 05:35 PM
Yep the menu sounds great.

We have cold chicken, ham and seafood.
We have heaps of salad and icecream, pudding, custard and jelly for desert. Oh and some yummy chocolates.

The cobb loaf i know you buy a cob loaf (lol) and heat and scopp out middle then put 2 tubs of sour cream mixed with a packet of spinach in the middle.

Enjoy your day sounds delish. :chef: :xmastree:

Waiting for my Baldies
18-11-2008, 06:40 PM
thanks so much for the cobb loaf ideas!!! yum yum!!!

Yeah i thought of chicken.......or some fish????

not sure. Its only for 10 adults.....no kids (:crying:)

Waiting for my Baldies
18-11-2008, 06:44 PM
http://www.recipezaar.com/Spinach-Dip-in-a-Cobb-Loaf-133944

:reindeer: :reindeer: :reindeer: :reindeer:

CHRISTMAS IS COMING!!!

missie_mack
18-11-2008, 06:57 PM
We do seafood for entrees (usually prawns) a traditional hot lunch with roast pork and sago plum pudding with custard for desert (the pudding recipe has been in the family for generations!) No sure what we will make as an alternative for DS who is allergic to eggs probably just some plain custard (egg free of course) and ice cream...

However we are having my inlaw family over a week before and I am still yet to decide. I just bought food ideas which has some great great ideas...

MJ410
19-11-2008, 01:35 PM
My cob loaf admittedly rocks (no bias here :p)

I use 1 tub of sour cream, 1 tub of philly, 1/2 pack of grated cheese, 150 - 200g diced bacon and 1/2 onion finely diced. And a pack of frozen spinach! Melt the philly in the microwave, and combine it with the sour cream. Cook the bacon and onion in the microwave. Stir it into the sour cream/philly mix and add the spinach (drain it well first, squeezing out any excess water). Then mix in the cheese and pop it in the middle of the hollowed out cob loaf. Oh, and chuck it in the over till its lightly browned and warm and melty in the middle! (best not to forget that step, though its pretty yummy without it!!) Its my family's new fave.

This year, I'll be making a chickpea, bacon and tomato salad (search it on the taste website... Its amazing - I stole it from one of the mums in my mothers group :laughing:)

I also got conned into doing christmas brekkie for the inlaws and my mum & brothers too... so god knows what we'll be having. Something involving alcohol :D :yes:

DALLASMUM
20-11-2008, 09:45 AM
Ok well we all do a combinded effort and my job is desserts so im doing

1 chocolate pavlova roll with pepermint crisp cream mmmmmmmm

2 idividual baked ricotta cheesecakes, all with differant fillings strawberry,blueberry, mango,cherry. yummy,yummy

3. fruit platter-

4. my mil loves fruitcake and plum pud so im thinking about trying to make them, but im a bit scared i dont eat them so cant taste test to see if they are good enough

i need to make more, but what???? (us girls always go straight to dessert)

Larski
20-11-2008, 09:12 PM
Hiya, I came back to tell you about the spinach cob loaf dip but someone has posted a whole thread on it so have a look at the recipes there, they are all variations on the same thing!