View Full Version : Does anyone have a pram they LOVE?
I have become obsessed with finding the perfect pram/Jogger whatever? anyone absolutely love their pram?
What about those mums with two bubs?
I have had 3 wheeler with toddler seat, tandam and a 4 wheeler and a stroller and honestly not one of them I have been 100% happy with :(
I am considering buying a new pram and a skate board for toddler anyone have this and happy?
I would like to help you but i am still not happy
i have an unstable 3 wheeler with skateboard
i would like something lightweight....
Blessed Mum
18-05-2006, 15:05
I am very unhappy with my pram. I have been begging DH to let me buy a new one but as charlotte is only 4 months old & we bought hers new he says no. But I have had an :idea: his sister is due soon & they can't really afford one so I thought I would give her mine & hence I could get a new one :D . So I'm intrested in what brands/types of prams people can recommend.
bekkyboo
18-05-2006, 15:11
We just bought our Bertini Sports Shuttle... pricey, but so far i love it....
Bertini Sports Shuttle specs (http://www.travelingtikes.com/cgi-local/SoftCart.exe/online-store/scstore/bertinishuttlesport.htm?E+scstore)
Ill update when we use it more :p.. but it seems to be worth the price ($499), it comes with extras like a sleeping bag for bub, and the rain shield...
the 4 wheel steering might take some getting used to, but i think that it will make it better in the long run.
18-05-2006, 15:14
I have a beema Q- Love it:D its a great walking three wheeler pram, very stable and came with a bassinette for when bubs was a newbie
I also have a Quinny Zapp Stroller and am Totally In love with it:cool: it was a great buy!
I have had 2 prams, But have to say nothing beats a Bertini for Me.
We have had the Bertini Bidwell and than I down sized (If you can it that) to the Bertini shuttle. LOVE them, They are wonderful quality prams.
SamanthaJane
18-05-2006, 15:29
:wave: Im interested in this thread too! I still havnt found the right one... I know I want a reversible handle, parent tray and child tray, and suitable for a newborn (obviusly).
Oh and i want 4 wheels!!!
Harry&Max's Mummy
18-05-2006, 15:35
I have a bertini shuttle also and love it my only gripe about it is i can only us the wide asiles in shops only a minor thing but also just bought a valco layback stroller for quick trips to the shops and thats great to.
MonkeyMum05
18-05-2006, 15:35
I have a bertini, and I really regret paying so damn much for it!! It was the most expensive pram in the shop and as far as I am concerned it is a pile of ****!! Aaaargh!!
My has been able to undo the belt and climb out since he was about 9mths. He just pushes on it slightly and it pops open.
Also, the lining on the seat started to come away around the buckles about a month after buying it... (we now have the wadding coming out of the hole!)
It did come with some cool accessories though, like the sleeping bag and inlay for when bub was little. That was great.
Maybe I should take back all my nastiness and say that it was a great pram when he was a little bub, but no good now that he is bigger and clever-er!:D
18-05-2006, 15:36
I love the Phil and Ted E3:D Can be a single or double pram!
www.philandteds.com.au
Definately can't go past a Bertini! They are brilliant, and not a bad price compared to some.
Oh, and i hate 3 wheelers!
I'm currently using a Valco tandem pram. All tandems are pretty much the same though. Not the best pram, but can't really get any better when it comes to doubles.
little mermaid
18-05-2006, 15:57
The best pram I have ever pushed is the Bertini Bidwell and I have pushed a hell of alot of prams. My friend had one for her boy then lent it to me for a while but I had alot of trouble fitting it in my boot. Have had a Peg Perego Venezia liked that too. The Steelcraft Unity stroller is nice to push too.
I have also pushed a heap of really really bad ones and dont like 3 wheelers.
But I have just recently purchased the "Infa Aspen" and I love it. This one is for keeps. It looks basically identical to the Peg Perego P3 Pliko but at half the price. I it for about $199 i think. The one difference is the front bar is the same as The european Plikos with the tray and cup holder instead of the bar. Mmmmm what else can I say about it.... oh it also comes with a bootcover and a baby insert and it is so light. :ecomcity:
My Mum has the Steelcraft Ebony layback stroller.
I have a quinny buzz love it :D
I don't have it yet but I think I'm going to sell a kidney to get a Bugaboo ... probably one of my husband's kidneys, though :D
They handle beautifully (the Bugaboos, that is, not his kidneys), they are stable, they are more compact in frame than some of the other models out there ...
The Quinny came a very, very close second.
Got mine off my DF's sister, its pretty new. Its awesome, has everything! I love it! :D
I am another Bertini lover. The only problem I had with it (it's a Bertini Shuttle) is the amount of boot space it takes up. At the moment I am using a Chicco stroller with is compact and light, not very easy to steer though. I'm going back to the Bertini (plus toddler seat) when #2 is born.
18-05-2006, 16:30
I love my pram. Its good cause its reversable so i can move it around when bubs is in the sun :D
my babyemmy
18-05-2006, 16:47
Another Beema Q fan here.
mum&bub: what pram is it?
Another vote for Beema Q here. Love it!
18-05-2006, 16:53
Yay go the BeemaQ:smiliedance:
I have the black with lime trim, how about your girls?:D
I love my pram. well, its probably more a stroller.... I had a pram for the first 3 months, but it was too big. I now have a McLaren Quest. It isn't suitable for a new born, it doesn't lay totally flat (almost does) it is so light. and you can put it up and down with one hand (good if you are holding bubs with the other....) It is quite small too....which is good cause i drive a mini!!!!! highly recommend it!!!!!:)
I don't have it yet but I think I'm going to sell a kidney to get a Bugaboo ... probably one of my husband's kidneys, though :D
They handle beautifully (the Bugaboos, that is, not his kidneys), they are stable, they are more compact in frame than some of the other models out there ...
The Quinny came a very, very close second.
I needed a laugh. Thanks Beany! :laughing:
I'm thinking of buying the Bugaboo too. I had the Bertini Mio until last Friday. I can't tell you what you should get, but i CAN tell you what you shouldn't touch... Bertini Mio.
Nothing but grief. This time I will look at reviews before spending any money on a pram. We got a dud dud dud... and the problems i've had returning and getting a refund.... :rolleyes:
I had to "prove" that it was a manufacturing fault (oh and threaten legal action and media exposure)
It was only resolved about half an hour ago.
I have the following
Bertini Bidwell - love it - handles like a dream - only problem is it is large when folded
Peg Classic - like the bidwell only a little narrower and much lighter but doesn't have steerable wheels (I prefer the bidwell but still liked this)
Peg Pliko - Umbrella fold very compact great for shops etc. Love it
Peg Tandem - tender twin- ok for a tandem - much better to push than all the other tandems Plus the seats are both full size and roomy. (I liked it )
IGC - layback stroller - hated it the breaks broke.
no -name umbrella stroller from big W - awful ! :) the kids use it for the dollies now.
I also dislike 3 wheelers
I tried out the bugaboo in David Jones and it felt really great to push when empty but once my toddler was it there it was really awkward and hard to manuover (sp?).
I have the same & love it - It is light to pick up, easy to fold down, easy to push & can do a 360 on the spot (close enough, anyway!)
Mamaduke
18-05-2006, 17:53
I also have a Quinny Zapp Stroller and am Totally In love with it:cool: it was a great buy!
:thumbsup: I second that!!!!:thumbsup:
Princess_Alisa
18-05-2006, 17:54
We have a Valco Runabout Deluxe including the Bassinett and apart from the many problems with the front wheel and the flat position where baby's bum is higher than the head it is a good pram but I would NEVER buy it again:no: .
Because I went overseas I had to buy a lightweight stroller and thought that this time I would get it right. I bought the Maclaren Vogue stroller and it is the absolute best thing I have bought:yelclap: .
I barely use the Valco anymore. I can't be bothered to lift this 12 kg thing out of the bood. I already hurt my back pretty badly with doing that on a regular basis. Sure, if you go for long walks, then a big three wheeler is better, but for everything else the Maclaren is my number one!!! It is also suitable from Newborn! The flat position looks a lot more comfortable than in the Valco!!
I would sell my Valco immediately, but I will hang on to the Maclaren forever!!
Good luck with finding the right pram/stroller. That is almost more difficult than giving birth ;)
dont think we can get the Beema q in Perth? Sounds like its a good pram for value.
I would go bugaboo but I dont have the $$$$ :(
For those with the Bertini shuttle how old are they? there is a couple for sale for about $150 that are about 1-2 yrs old I am not sure if they would be worth looking at? I mainly want it for walking. I have a stroller I am happy with for shopping its also a layback, childcare and its pretty good but no where near as easy to steer as the shuttle or 3 wheelers. I also have a tandum lite babylove and thats ok but now I dont have a good walking pram.
OscarTheGrouch
18-05-2006, 18:16
I had a Bertini Shuttle, which I really miss. I loved it. The only downside was it was heavy and hard to fit in to the boot of the car. I do regret selling it though. I now use a Mountain Buggy Urban, which I like. But I do prefer the Bertini.
Beany I know someone who took their bugaboo back as to hard to fold up n down. + they said assembling was a nightmare......so go play with it before you buy ;) I picked the Quinny over it :D
oceanblue
18-05-2006, 19:55
There is a really good web site www.eopinons.com. It is excellent. It is american but has excellent reviews on not only prams but everything.
I have a Baby Love 3 wheeler but i want a more running pram mine is too heavy and i love the look of the running prams from Bob but i cant afford it and i havent seen any in perth yet.
I have a Jeep Liberty Terrain blah blah 3 Wheeler - I DON'T recommend it. It is great when cruising around with DS in it, has a great musical steering wheel attachment, but I nearly break my arms and back everytime I put it in and out of the boot - it is very heavy. At $450+, I really should have thought it through a bit more. :rolleyes:
I have a Steelcraft stroller which is ok, but I think I will check out this Quinny Zapp Stroller.
SuperWoman
18-05-2006, 21:10
We have the Bertini Shuttle and I absolutley love it! So easy to steer around in the shops!!:thumbsup:
yummymummy
18-05-2006, 21:17
I bought my pram on ebay brand new for 100 including delivery!!!!! Itsa great three wheeler ...........it has a compartment up the top for ur phone/purse and is great when ur out shopping I love the drink compartments too............put all mummys needs aside!!!!!!! Bub loves it, she sleeps great in it and seems very happy :smiliedance:
Beany I know someone who took their bugaboo back as to hard to fold up n down. + they said assembling was a nightmare......so go play with it before you buy ;) I picked the Quinny over it :D
Maybe I'll put him on dialysis and get both :D
I have had a good old play with the Bugaboo, though ... can't imagine why anyone would find it hard to fold (it pretty much collapses in on itself when the seat is removed).
I got my bertini shuttle is 4+ years old, and still is wonderful. I think $150 is a great price. Have you looked on ebay, That's where I sold my bidwell.
True what the other girls have said, it is a bulky, heavy pram, but it's a dream to push. Even when my soon to be 4yr old gets in when he is to tired to walk.
dont think we can get the Beema q in Perth? Sounds like its a good pram for value.
I would go bugaboo but I dont have the $$$$ :(
For those with the Bertini shuttle how old are they? there is a couple for sale for about $150 that are about 1-2 yrs old I am not sure if they would be worth looking at? I mainly want it for walking. I have a stroller I am happy with for shopping its also a layback, childcare and its pretty good but no where near as easy to steer as the shuttle or 3 wheelers. I also have a tandum lite babylove and thats ok but now I dont have a good walking pram.
Tam-I-Am
18-05-2006, 21:35
i have a 3-wheeler pram with pump-up wheels. Its really light and quite good - although we had a problem with the swivel mechanism on the front wheel to begin with - DH had to do some fiddling!
It's called a Pedigree Ezilite Jogger - here's a picture of it http://www.mypushchair.co.uk/pedigree-ezilite.php
Apart from that problem, this pram weighs only 10kg, is quite slim (although not slim enough to get through your standard Target check out - only the disabled/pram aisle), is VERY easy to fold up and unfold, and very easy to manouver.
Having said that, one of my very good friends has a mountain buggy - and apart from being quite wide and quite expensive - this seems like and UNREAL pram! I wish I'd bought one - ours was nearly as expensive (ie $550)
Also - people have mentioned the Beema Q - they are brand made by the BabyCo chain of stores - here's a link so you can look at the pram. http://www.babyco.com.au/catalog/product.asp?pID=21&cID=18
claireandbailey
18-05-2006, 23:11
I have a Jeep Liberty Terrain blah blah 3 Wheeler - I DON'T recommend it. It is great when cruising around with DS in it, has a great musical steering wheel attachment, but I nearly break my arms and back everytime I put it in and out of the boot - it is very heavy. At $450+, I really should have thought it through a bit more. :rolleyes:
I have a Steelcraft stroller which is ok, but I think I will check out this Quinny Zapp Stroller.
I love my jeep liberty 3 wheeler. Its great to go shopping and easy to push and manouvre (sp?).
I dont think its heavy at all, its the easiest pram to fold up and put in the car. Although I have quite a small boot i gotta get it in the same way all the time otherwise it wont fit. and i cant fit anything else in the boot.
I havent had any trouble with my pram at all and my DD loves the steering wheel attachment.
I really loved my Graco stretch limo pram (tandem). It was great for my girls that were 15 months apart. It had a great big basket underneath, steered really well, could fit through all the narrow gaps, very stable and even though it was heavy it was the lightest of the limos.
The only bad point was the safety strap latch was very snappy. If you got a finger in the way it really hurt. It wasn't much good over steps either, one was ok but anymore it was difficult.
Beany I am worried for your husband lol
MumsieMel
19-05-2006, 05:40
HAUCK INFINITY!!!!!! :thumbsup: :thumbsup:
Beany I am worried for your husband lol
DITTO!
Although after letting my DH choose the last pram which was a dud, i admit to considering personally removing his kidneys! ;)
candygirl
19-05-2006, 09:36
I have a maclaren mac 3 jogger&i love it.Its so easy to steer.I walk&run everyday with it..........:thumbsup:
ROFL!!! At these poor husbands who should go into hiding :laughing: I think that's why mine decided he wasn't risking it and let me choose everything for DS :p
My dream pram is the Musty but unfortunately it's not available in Oz and I would have to sell both of DH's kidneys too LOL
What we actually have is the Bertini Bidwell and I love it. It is heavy and bulky but they are the only downsides. We have a wagon so fitting it into the car is no prob but I have also seen it fit into a Ford Festiva. The pluses are:
* reversible bassinet - you can face bub so I didn't have to stop every few steps to check on him (neurotic first time mum lol). As he got older, it was good because he was very chatty and we could have a conversation on our trips. Since it isn't the handle that reverses, the steering isn't compromised either.
* pneumatic tyres - fantastic for off roading (we have no footpaths near us) and makes for a very comfy ride in shopping centres too as well as going up and down curbs. It also comes with it's own pump but I normally use the automatic ones at the servo when checking the car tyres.
* 4 wheel steering - an absolute dream! It is stable and won't topple like some 3 wheelers.
* firm, adjustable backrest - one of the few prams on the market where it bassinet is suitable to use for sleeping babies. It can recline to totally flat and easy to adjust so that if they fall asleep while upright, you can gently lower them.
* Suspension - amazing. Super comfy for bub. Some 3 wheelers are not suitable to use while jogging (or even brisk walk) for babies under 6months because they are too jerky and may cause shaken baby syndrome.
* wire basket - it's a good size and very handy for ducking io the shops and don't want to carry everything or hang it over the handle bars.
* accessories - comes with a raincover, sleeping bag/carrycot thingy, boot cover and more that you can purchase separately.
* foot rest - adjustable so that you can have it flat to prevent bub slipping out, or fully down for a toddler who likes to kick his feet
* cleaning - so easy to care for. The cover is removable (has big poppers) and I just machine wash. Comes up like new with very little effort. The frame is aluminuim and I just hose it down if it gets really dirty.
* hood - great because it can fully cover bub to keep the sun off them. It's also handy in shopping centres to help keep the buzz out if they are sleeping.
* adjustable handle bar - great because DH and I are different heights. really simple click that you barely notice doing.
* brakes - proper locking in brakes that doesn't just apply pressure to the tyres. There's no way the brake could accidently loosen and slip (especially important on slopes). Very simple foot lever to lock or undo but difficult for it to accidently come off.
* height - I like that it's higher off the ground than most prams. I could push DS up to a table when we were dining out and he would be at the right height (I hate icky public high chairs). Also good if walking through long grass.
* customer service - icg have been fantastic with their customer service. we have damaged our pram twice (our fault) and they have repaired it on both occassions at no charge! Not even shipping.
Hope you find your perfect pram. It's such a personal decision because everyone's needs are different.
PS. To those thinking about Bugaboos, I have known many people who purchased one and then regretted it. I would recommend the Stokke if you like that style.
I have a Beema Q in tangerine with a bassinett... am yet to try it out though.. I have put it up and down and practiced putting in the car boot- it seems easy enough :thumbsup: and the steering is nice and light too.
I got my Beema Q in Tangerine. Mainly because I saw so many lime ones, and I like to be different! Plus, it's the closest I could find to an Essendon Bombers pram ;)
We didn't need to buy the bassinet, as I'd already picked up a good second hand cocoon for $20 that fit in there perfectly. I figured for the time I was using it I wasn't stressing about having the matching one!
Well, we went off yesterday and bought our new Bugaboo- Chameleon.
Extremely expensive, hence why DH has stated that he WILL be selling both of his kidneys. I love a man who brings home the bacon! :laughing:
It's early days yet but what I can say is it's lovely to look at (as is supported by every passing mother's gaze! ;) ), great to steer, very comfy for my little man (shame about the cost to my Big man's health parting with that amount of money! LOL), however when you read about how people say it is really hard to open and close... they are NOT kidding. I think you need a PhD to operate the thing! :o
I dare say that there would have been an better way of constructing the Bugaboo so that the buyer doesnt stand there with a manual and 2 people trying to figure out how to open it.. while people are stopping to watch them in the carpark! :laughing:
Think of it as intellectual stimulation to help you out of the preggy brain :D
Congratulations on the Bugaboo purchase - tell your husband he chose wisely. After all, it was going to be the kidneys or testicles ...
I have a Mountain Buggy Urban. It is fantastic! :thumbsup:
I also have a valco urban ultralight and it's ok - it's good for shopping and public transport as it is very light but i wouldn't buy it again.
*LOL*
DH just said "don't worry... the testicles went too. No point, i can't afford anymore kids now!" Works GREAT for me! :thumbsup: :laughing:
Thanks Beany!
:fingerscrossed: for your Bugaboo now! (and your DH's anatomy too! :laughing: )
Me too, love mine as well, I highly recommend it!
I love my Bugaboo Cammy - worth every expensive cent!
Mrs Dolphin
21-05-2006, 23:26
Has anyone got any opinions on prams you can get from shops like Target, Big W etc - you know brands like Steelcraft, Love n Care, Childcare etc?
I am just inerested to find out people's opinions on some of these brands.
Hello there! Have looked often on ths forum, but this is my first post. :wave: Hope that someone may be able to give advice or tell of their experience with prams/strollers and walking their dog.
We're in the process of choosing a pram or stroller (I'm due in September) and boy, what a minefield! Someone's post about choosing a pram being more difficult then giving birth just may be right :yes:
One of the big considerations for us is that we have a dog (a border collie, so medium sized dog, and pretty strong) and the plan is to walk him (on lead in one hand or around my arm) and the baby, visit the park, get out and about as much as we can. I wonder whether a 3 wheeler or 4 wheeler would be more suitable for this? He's not always the easiest to control, as will sometimes try and chase things/pull on the lead. I guess a 3 wheeler is more manouvrable...and will be good for going across grassy parks with him, but would a 4 wheeler be more stable and thus easier for me to keep in control if the dog decides to gove me a tug.
Is there some big thing that I am missing here? Or perhaps I'm dreaming that will be able to walk dog and bay at same time... It's all very new... :o
Hope that this makes sense. and really hope that there's people out there who might have experience they can share.
Thanks very much,
Jacki
Mylittleboy
23-05-2006, 23:53
I have two, the lighter one stays in the boot of the car for the shopping centre, it is a steelcraft acclaim (4 wheels, reversible handle, boot cover) excellent for indoors http://www.babyroad.com.au/steelcraftacclaim.html
and I have a three wheeler for outside, no good for the shops, too wide, but great outdoors, a steelcraft swivelwrite deluxe.
SimplyMum
25-05-2006, 07:58
Me too, love mine as well, I highly recommend it!
I too have te Beema Q with lime trim. It's been the best pram. So good for walking.
About a month ago I had to go on an areoplane with just me and bubs. The Beema Q would have been to big to take (getting it off the conveyor belt with a 7month old!), so I went out looking for a smaller inexpensive stroller. I hate with a passion the umbrella strollers so I found the Swallow Way To Go pram. It's the 4 wheel version of the Beema Q, even is the same design with the lime trim. It's smaller, lighter and still has layback postions, basket, hood, parent and chold tray and seatbelt. It has been great for sopping centers but this stroller is definatley NOT a walking stroller. I still use the Beema Q for walking and the Way To Go for shopping centers and the like.
GO THE BEEMA Q!!!!:yelclap:
i've got a bugaboo frog (thanks mum!!)
LOVE IT!!
but have to admit it took a while before the collapsing the handlebar-bit was really easy.
turns on a dime, has all the accessories included, light as anything and fits into my tiny car!:yelclap:
25-05-2006, 08:37
Ive got a Emmaljunga & i loooooooooooooooooove it !
But its not very versatile to get in & out of a car due to its weight & it wouldnt fit in a small car due to its size BUT if your doing a lot of walking etc like we do as we dont have a car then its brilliant !
You can have bubs facing you while they are little & then forward facing when they are older. You dont need to buy the bassinet imo because it lays down flat & has a great bootcover. The other thing i loved about mine ( not using it anymore as i got a hippo at birth lol ! ) is the shopping basket underneath it fits heaps & heaps of stuff lol. DP hated how i could go shopping & buy up with no dramas due to the basket hehehe. Im held back now though with the stroller !
We now have the Steelcraft Profile Stroller which is great, nice & light etc. I got this one because it still lays right back so Boof can sleep while having the bar at the front because he loves holding on & "steering" lol.
If i were to buy another pram i think i would be another Quinny fan as we saw them recently & both loved them !
Have fun in your travels make sure you try as many as possible because you have to feel comfy with it. I have to say what i thought i was going to get ended up being what i hated !
Good luck :D
25-05-2006, 08:37
Sorry jacki I dont have a dog so cant help you out there:wave:
Anybody walk their dog? what pram is best?
25-05-2006, 08:48
Thats why i liked my Emmaljunga. I could easily walk my Lab while steering or it was sturdy enough for my to put her lead onto the handle.
Its also great for trains as the big wheels make it easier getting on & off.
rynosmum
25-05-2006, 08:49
Hope that someone may be able to give advice or tell of their experience with prams/strollers and walking their dog.
Hi Jacki,
I have a border collie as well and sometimes walk her alongside the pram. I use a 3 wheeler Steelcraft Swivelrite which has been great for outdoorsy stuff as Mylittleboy said earliler. We also have a much larger dog who is harder to control and I'd never take him with the 3 wheeler. They do topple and especially now that DS is a toddler, it's easy to do if you get force from one side or you're going up or down a hill. I'd stick to the 4 wheeler or even better, leave the doggy at home or have someone else walk him. Trying to control an excited dog whilst bubs is number one priority can just be too risky sometimes.
I never thought I'd say that by the way, our dogs were like our children before we had DS and we still love them of course but babies have a way of taking most of your effort and energy....
Best of luck !:thumbsup:
I like the childcare pulsa layback stroller.
Any opinions?
Its just new but I really like it
It is the closest to the most perfect pram for me.
alicesmum
25-05-2006, 11:58
we have THREE prams because we have #2 on the way and weren't totally happy with our first one (too bulky).
we now have a Phil 'n' Ted's Pram, which I am currently using on the one-child set-up, but soon to transform it to the two-children set-up!!!
we are really happy with it in terms of manouverability (sp?) and weight and features. it was $650 :eek: which was the only down-side!
benandalsmum
25-05-2006, 14:05
If you're doing a lot of walking I don't think you can go past an Emmaljunga. I started off with the Hauck Infinity ( a cheaper version of the Bugaboo) and while it was fab for shopping centres and quick trips it was just hopeless when I went 'off-road'. I bought a second hand 'new' Emmaljunga and it goes EVERYWHERE... gutters, dirt, bumpy footpaths are no problem. My baby loves the ride , the suspension is brilliant, and she usually falls asleep as soon as we get going. The shopping basket underneath is more generous than most other prams/strollers. Yes, it is heavy and some people don't like the fixed wheel steering system but I wouldn't trade it for anything!!!
Pices_79
28-05-2006, 20:34
I am also looking at the Bugaboo Cam - Is the polarfleece ok??
My bub is due in early Jan - and the polarfleece is putting me off as I am worried it will overheat the bub.....
Pices_79
28-05-2006, 20:35
Are the Valco prams good???
We are thinking about having our bubs close - so thinking of getting a pram with a toddler seat for later on...are they safe???
My bub is due in early Jan - and the polarfleece is putting me off as I am worried it will overheat the bub.....
Pices, to be honest, I'm not sure how DS will do with the polarfleece in summer, because you are right, it does get quite warm. I suppose though if you don't use the footmuff, airflow should cool the baby down. But the weather hasn't been warm, and DS did get quite warm in it (broke a bit of a sweat) a few days ago.
The polarfleece is proving invaluable in the winter - our little guy is kept really warm and like Lut's little guy, ours got a bit sweaty on a walk last week.
In summer, perhaps you could take the zip up fleece off of the bassinette and put a muslin cloth over the top to protect your bub from the sun? I haven't thought about it with having a winter bub and we will be well and truly into the seated version by the summer months.
I can say that the polarfleece does wash really well though!
Pices_79
29-05-2006, 10:25
Thanks so much - still trying to work out what to do. I would LOVE a Bugaboo as I find them very easy to stear and they feel very stable......just not too sure about whether the Gecko or Cameleon will be the way to go.
Has anyone got babies / kids close together??? What pram is best suited to that??? I was thinking of getting a Valco because of the toddler seat option but after reading the reviews and hearing how unstable they are I am a bit concerned....
Thanks for your help!!
MumsieMel
29-05-2006, 10:29
PISCES
I have the Hauck Infinity (cheaper bugaboo) and love it, but also have a Valco Runabout II with Toddler seat, and im selling it
http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?t=21060
Let me know if your interested. :thumbsup:
wonkey22
29-05-2006, 10:41
I currently have a Beema Q from Baby co and love it. I have had it for 7 months now and sadly :( have to change prams to accomodate the arrival of number 2 in December. It is so easy to push and has a huge basket under neath.
I have decided to opt for a Phil and Ted Jogger next because it is still the size and weight of one pram and can be transformed into a double jogger at the flick of a switch.
Prams are so personal, it is like buying handbags or shoes...something that we all haven't done in a while I bet. I suppose you have to look at who's using it the most...stay at home mum or dad in considering weight, size etc..
When I saw the Beema Q I just had to have it. It took me six months to pick a pram....gut feeling!!!
good luck :thumbsup:
Pices_79
29-05-2006, 10:46
Thanks everyone!!!!
I will look into the ones that you have mentioned - I think it is going to take quite a while to work out what to get - soooo confusing :banghead:
thanks everyone for their great comments and advice, i relly appreicate it. it is looking like the bugaboo, as it seems it will be more stable, manouvres in tight spaces and it is so darn flexible - really good... seems to tick almost all of the boxes, while a lot of the other things I've looked at only tick a few boxes.
did i say before that choosing a pram has been harder than buying our last THREE cars... put together :laughing:
Pices_79: from what i've been told in the shops the gecko is a bit smaller then the chameleon - i've seen some reviews and photos stuff on websites, and it does look a little small/squashy with a toddler sitting in it.
the user comments on this website were quite handy - http://strollersandprams.com/strollers - it's good to hear what other think.
thank you all.
Hi.
The gecko is smaller than the cameleon. Choice apparently also had a review of the gecko where they reported some big safety issues on the gecko (including babies getting there fingers caught in the frme or something like that.??) However the cameleon has got rave reviews and I have used mine enough now that I am happy to vouch for it too. :thumbsup:
It does thake a few uses to get used to openng and closing it. In fact at the start I was convinced we'd need the manual and 10 mins of work each time, but we soon got the hang of it.
Missus S
14-06-2006, 21:17
We've got a Quinny Buzz and luuurvvvv it :thumbsup: :thumbsup: :thumbsup: !!
The hydraulic unfolding is just awesome :yelclap:
Our car boot isn't the largest so we were quite restricted with our options, but the Buzz fits in there nicely and its a top pram. And we have a 2 storey house where Gemma's bassinette is kept upstairs so she sleeps during the day downstairs in her Buzz and loves it!
canberracpl
19-06-2006, 19:35
From a guy's perspective :-)
I've been researching prams for a couple of months now and just last week placed an order on a bugaboo. DJ's had a 15% off Pram sale which is exactly what I was waiting for.
Yes, it's expensive but imoo it's by far the superior pram. Baby's not here for a couple of months yet so I'll be burning it around the house for a while : )
19-06-2006, 19:41
I have a childcare stroller and I love it :D
but im looking at getting either a maclaren or a peg perego aria
I am looking at getting a stroller- childcare pulsa or
if i have more money a peg perego
anything other than what i got!
19-06-2006, 20:23
I am looking at getting a stroller- childcare pulsa or
if i have more money a peg perego
anything other than what i got!
the toys r us had a peg perego aria out for 136 dollars the other day and a pilko out for 160!
the pilko has a toddler stand on it, hasn't it, bnd?
that is what I want as long as it is ok for tall ppl like myself
19-06-2006, 20:38
the pilko has a toddler stand on it, hasn't it, bnd?
that is what I want as long as it is ok for tall ppl like myself
yep :D sure does
Awesome thankyou so much!
I am off to toys r us on Thursday
(and they better still be available esp for 160- knowing my luck...)
19-06-2006, 20:42
Awesome thankyou so much!
I am off to toys r us on Thursday
(and they better still be available esp for 160- knowing my luck...)
They only had it at the store I was at because they were the last ones there, im not too sure about other stores tho.
Should give a call, huh? to make sure
and to think I was near there in Highpoint today...
19-06-2006, 20:48
Should give a call, huh? to make sure
and to think I was near there in Highpoint today...
yeah id give them a call
im going to go into my local store to see if I can pick up either of them, if they are both still available
I will be so happy if I can get the Pilko
so thankyou so much for telling me about it:thumbsup:
19-06-2006, 20:54
I will be so happy if I can get the Pilko
so thankyou so much for telling me about it:thumbsup:
no worries :D
gidgeroo
20-06-2006, 15:08
I love my Hauck or Childcare Infinity!:thumbsup: Its probably too late and you've probably bought a pram but maybe someone else is in the market for a one. :wave:
If you like the look of the bugaboo but don't want to sell beloved organs to buy it - then take a look at the Infinity! It handles beautifully, my bub loves it and sleeps in the bassinet every time we go out, it folds up really small (I have an Astra and it fits in the boot beautifully), it's lightweight and the bits clip together very securely. I'm not a fan of three wheelers so love the 4 wheels on this pram and I can hold my 3 yr old's hand and steer really well with one hand. I can't rave loudly enough - this pram rocks!
I got mine at Toys R Us for under $500 - that included the bassinet, toddler seat, sleeping bag and rain cover. It only came in Red at the time but it also comes in Pink and Black under the Childcare label and also Esprit has badged one which is a taupe colour.
Test drive one Today!
gidgeroo :) :)
I've got a babylove four wheeler pram travel system with attachable car seat. It is great. Lightweight, easy to fold/unfold one handed (even a first time mum - aka me - is able to do it), very stable, and the car seat attachment is a godsend. It attaches to the pram so that the baby is facing you which I really liked, while at the same time it also an australian safety standard car capsule. When she falls asleeep in the car or the pram, I simply detach it and take it inside without causing any disturbance :D
I have never owned any other pram, so cannot make any comparisons sorry.
For more details of my pram go here:
without the car capsule attached: http://www.babylove.com.au/Productdetail.asp?RecordTotal=7&RecordID=6&categoryid=1&subcategoryid=2&productid=36
With the car capsule:
http://www.babylove.com.au/Productdetail.asp?RecordTotal=5&RecordID=2&categoryid=1&subcategoryid=1&productid=28
Edit the above link isnt my exact model, but very close. My stroller also has cup/mobile phone holder/tray on the handlebars.
please please please please DONT buy it! it looks great but is not good at all. my two are just under 2yrs apart and we bought this pram and my daughter over balanced it while sitting in the toddler seat! and she wasnt even moving around heaps! also if she grabbed onto to anything while in the seat it would start to topple. its so unsafe. dont even consider it. 3wheelers are not meant for toddler seats. i refuse to buy 3wheelers all together. way too unsafe.
I totally agree! I was forced to buy a new pram when my baby was a newborn, we bought a Valco 3 wheeler and I hated it for just on 7 months...:banghead:
I had a sk8board on it for my 3 yr old, but he had a bad habit of sitting on the front and it easily over balanced.
I now have a Peg Perego Pliko :smiliedance: , that I have wanted for a while. It has a step for a toddler on the back which is handy.
25-06-2006, 17:17
i LOVE my new peg perego aria :thumbsup:
missmum05
26-06-2006, 08:26
I had a mothers choice 3 wheel joggerpram when bub was born and it weighed like 14 kg and it was so hard to get in and out of the car all the time, and then i bought a cheap stroller type one which I didnt like very much.
So I went hunting again for a pram
( 3rd pram...and bub is only 7.5 months old:laughing: )
so then I found the Roger Armstrong Elfin 3 wheel stroller its great only 8 kgs and so comact and easy to get in and out of the car and plenty of room when you lay it back for bub to sleep. You can get them for about $149 they have a picture and info about it on the babies galore website
http://www.babiesgalore.com.au under the prams section and 3 wheel prams. Babies galore sells them for $169.95 but babybizz has them cheaper.:thumbsup:
anna&oli
26-06-2006, 09:05
please please please please DONT buy it! it looks great but is not good at all. my two are just under 2yrs apart and we bought this pram and my daughter over balanced it while sitting in the toddler seat! and she wasnt even moving around heaps! also if she grabbed onto to anything while in the seat it would start to topple. its so unsafe. dont even consider it. 3wheelers are not meant for toddler seats. i refuse to buy 3wheelers all together. way too unsafe.
I refused to buy a three wheeler as well and have seen a valco with a toddler seat fall over, so am against them all together
I bought a bugaboo cameleon and love it to bits!!!! It's the greatest baby product ive bought so far.
Anna
I refused to buy a three wheeler as well and have seen a valco with a toddler seat fall over, so am against them all together
hmmm..... hearing about this happening more and more! :no:
Very dangerous! :thumbsdown:
On Saturday, my friend told me her sister got rid of her jogger for the same reason. :(
hmmm..... hearing about this happening more and more!
Very dangerous! :thumbsdown:
On Saturday, my friend told me her sister got rid of her jogger for the same reason. :(
I have my jogger in my garage - I refuse to sell it but its useless:thumbsdown: - I don't even want to give it away cos I think its just too dangerous:(
I needed a laugh. Thanks Beany! :laughing:
I'm thinking of buying the Bugaboo too. I had the Bertini Mio until last Friday. I can't tell you what you should get, but i CAN tell you what you shouldn't touch... Bertini Mio.
Nothing but grief. This time I will look at reviews before spending any money on a pram. We got a dud dud dud... and the problems i've had returning and getting a refund.... :rolleyes:
I had to "prove" that it was a manufacturing fault (oh and threaten legal action and media exposure)
It was only resolved about half an hour ago.
The MIO Has Awful reviews on here : http://strollersandprams.com/
I was going to get it untill I read them...
I too would of LOVED a Bugaboo but Dh wasn't too impressed on the amount of $$$$ so we got the Childcare Infinity (Hauck) I LOVE IT!!!!
I started out with a steelcraft odessey 3 wheeler with seperate basinette..which was great for new born & is great as HOME PRAM for walking but the Infinity is FANTASTIC for the car & shopping...is almost exact same design as bugaboo ...
LOVE LOVE LOVE IT :smiliedance:
The MIO Has Awful reviews on here : http://strollersandprams.com/
I was going to get it untill I read them...
I too would of LOVED a Bugaboo but Dh wasn't too impressed on the amount of $$$$ so we got the Childcare Infinity (Hauck) I LOVE IT!!!!
I started out with a steelcraft odessey 3 wheeler with seperate basinette..which was great for new born & is great as HOME PRAM for walking but the Infinity is FANTASTIC for the car & shopping...is almost exact same design as bugaboo ...
LOVE LOVE LOVE IT :smiliedance:
Oh.. Charlie, it is my belief (after taking a look at the Childcare Infinity) that IGC has actually rebranded the Bertini Mio as Childcare infinity.
It is the same pram! Stores have refused to sell the Bertini Mio because of all the problems (and ppl like me have returned it to the factory and got their money back) so they have labelled it under a different brand that IGC also make.
Just be really careful when using it. The Bertini Mio was a death trap! :thumbsdown:
Oh.. Charlie, it is my belief (after taking a look at the Childcare Infinity) that IGC has actually rebranded the Bertini Mio as Childcare infinity.
It is the same pram! Stores have refused to sell the Bertini Mio because of all the problems (and ppl like me have returned it to the factory and got their money back) so they have labelled it under a different brand that IGC also make.
Just be really careful when using it. The Bertini Mio was a death trap! :thumbsdown:
It's not the same pram I have seen them side by side and the Hauck came out first :thumbsup:
Also check out this site...Hauck are the MAKERS of all the infinity prams Esprit have some too :yelclap:
http://www.hauck-group.de/de/startseite.asp?PLID=1&LIZID=
It's not the same pram I have seen them side by side and the Hauck came out first :thumbsup:
Good!:smiliedance:
We had already returned the Mio when we saw the infinity at Toys R Us. When we went to Baby Bunting to buy the Bugaboo the lady told us about the Infinity replacing the Mio cos all the stores refuse to stock Mios cos of probs. We just assumed it was the case cos from our quick look, they looked the same at Toys r'us. But like i said, we didn't have the Mio to compare and frankly, i was blacking out at the thought and sound of the Mio.
I wouldn't wish the Bertini Mio on anyone! :no:
I actually reported it to Recall Australia. They were investigating them last I heard.
Good!:smiliedance:
We had already returned the Mio when we saw the infinity at Toys R Us. When we went to Baby Bunting to buy the Bugaboo the lady told us about the Infinity replacing the Mio cos all the stores refuse to stock Mios cos of probs. We just assumed it was the case cos from our quick look, they looked the same at Toys r'us. But like i said, we didn't have the Mio to compare and frankly, i was blacking out at the thought and sound of the Mio.
I wouldn't wish the Bertini Mio on anyone! :no:
I actually reported it to Recall Australia. They were investigating them last I heard.
Yeah the Infinity comes in diff BRANDS like Esprit Jeep Childcare ETc... but is from the hauck Group....
Shame about the Mio...was good looking pram :laughing:
jogger-- I don't even want to give it away cos I think its just too dangerous:(
yep.. i was the same with the Bertini Mio kymmy.
When the store and IGC refused to refund me, they told me to sell it! :eek:
Somebody else had actually told me they bought one off ebay at a "bargain" $400.
Well, no wonder why such a great new, "hardly been used" pram was on ebay?:rolleyes:
I told them a pram that is too dangerous for MY child to ride in was too dangerous for ANYBODIES child to ride in.
I could never do it! :no:
I preferred to fight it out and for a while, i just accepted that I would make a huge loss on the pram venture.
Luckily we made it out with a full refund, and a HUGE stress!
Yeah the Infinity comes in diff BRANDS like Esprit Jeep Childcare ETc... but is from the hauck Group....
Shame about the Mio...was good looking pram :laughing:
yep.. shame is kept choosing to turn itself into a 3 wheeler, WITH babies still in it! :eek:
yep.. i was the same with the Bertini Mio kymmy.
When the store and IGC refused to refund me, they told me to sell it! :eek:
Somebody else had actually told me they bought one off ebay at a "bargain" $400.
Well, no wonder why such a great new, "hardly been used" pram was on ebay?:rolleyes:
I told them a pram that is too dangerous for MY child to ride in was too dangerous for ANYBODIES child to ride in.
I could never do it! :no:
I preferred to fight it out and for a while, i just accepted that I would make a huge loss on the pram venture.
Luckily we made it out with a full refund, and a HUGE stress!
Yeah, I guess I was unlucky. I didn't really want a jogger- it certainly wasn't my first choice. My hubby had wanted one since we had our 2nd child. We bought it on a whim cos we needed a new pram.
So glad I have a much better stroller (and about time!)
Looking into purchasing the new Emmaljunga pram.. What do you think about this pram??
Any input would be appreciated!!