View Full Version : 5 Minute Chocolate Mug Cake!
Harlequin
16-11-2008, 08:51 PM
I stole this off another forum. Haven't had a chance to make one yet but thought I would share :D
Try changing the recipe around a bit for variations, oh and I reckon you could make a self-saucing chocolate mug cake too somehow :D
5 MINUTE CHOCOLATE MUG CAKE
4 tablespoons plain flour
4 tablespoons sugar
2 tablespoons cocoa
1 egg
3 tablespoons milk
3 tablespoons oil
3 tablespoons chocolate chips (optional)
A small splash of vanilla extract
1 large coffee mug
Add dry ingredients to mug, and mix well. Add the egg and mix thoroughly.
Pour in the milk and oil and mix well.
Add the chocolate chips (if using) and vanilla extract, and mix again.
Put your mug in the microwave and cook for 3 minutes at 1000 watts.
The cake will rise over the top of the mug, but don't be alarmed!
Allow to cool a little, and tip out onto a plate if desired.
EAT! (this can serve 2 if you want to feel slightly more virtuous).
And why is this the most dangerous cake recipe in the world ?
Because now we are all only 5 minutes away from chocolate cake at any time of the day or night!
HelenHasTwins
16-11-2008, 08:53 PM
OMG I wish I hadn't seen this:laughing:
Harlequin
16-11-2008, 08:56 PM
Hahaha isn't it evil.
studyingECS
16-11-2008, 08:57 PM
Have you tried it? Does it acually 100% trulely taste like cake.?
Sounds delicious but too good to be true :laughing:
16-11-2008, 08:59 PM
Now this is baaaaad !
When I saw this elsewhere I wasnt hungry ....
Im hungry now ....
Now to see if I have all the ingredients :yelclap:
Harlequin
16-11-2008, 08:59 PM
I haven't but heaps of people on the forum I took it from have :D They even posted photos of them hahaha.
You can use plain or self raising flour. If you use sr, make sure it's a big mug.
Don't overcook either or it will go rubbery like cakes do in the microwave.
I'm gonna make one tomorrow with choc chips. I might try pouring cocoa water over the top too and see if I can make it self-saucing haha
studyingECS
16-11-2008, 09:02 PM
Well then I will have to try it LOL
I would make it now but have no choc chips:crying:
Harlequin
16-11-2008, 09:03 PM
I wish I had some mini marshmallows, I wonder how they would go in it...
Hehe doh kate. I have some thank god! Nice dark choc ones!
studyingECS
16-11-2008, 09:05 PM
I wish I had some mini marshmallows, I wonder how they would go in it...
Hehe doh kate. I have some thank god! Nice dark choc ones!
Care to send me some?:p:crying:
can I make it without LOL?? or will it taste gross ?
melly75
16-11-2008, 09:07 PM
I posted this recipe about 2 weeks ago on here and I have tried it.
Some microwaves take a bit longer to cook some not aslong ..i had to cook mine for just over 2 mins otherwise the cake went a bit dry.
My microwave is 1000W though
studyingECS
16-11-2008, 09:23 PM
Got it in the microwave right now !!
Instead of choc chips I used this expecsive drinking chocolate we have that's made out of chocolate shavings LOL so we will see if it works :S
studyingECS - waiting for the reveiw....:D:detective:
16-11-2008, 09:28 PM
Mine is cooling :D
I didnt have choc chips so I used a little extra milk with some crushed cho chip cookies ....
Had a try which nearly burnt my tongue lol & it seems ok :cool:
studyingECS
16-11-2008, 09:31 PM
It's abit chewy, I put it in for 3 mins like it said though. All in all for a cake that takes 2 minutes 2 prepare and only 3 mins too cook it's great:thumbsup:
dillydAlly
16-11-2008, 09:37 PM
In the microwave now!!!!
16-11-2008, 09:42 PM
Yeah thats what I thought too ... A bit chewy !
I also dont think I added enough vanilla but then I am a vanilla girl more than chocolate !
Im pondering trying a vanilla cake with some ingredients I get tomorrow !!!! Hahaha I will be trying this cake out every nite now till I get something I like :laughing:
dillydAlly
16-11-2008, 09:49 PM
Hmmmm nice flavour... A little dry. I think not having the choc chips didn't help... Might try adding some extra milk..... Mine was HUGE!!! I made it in a big tall mug I have, i would hate to have made it in one of my smaller mugs....
studyingECS
16-11-2008, 09:50 PM
I made it in a bowl as it was easier..I didn't eat that much as it get's you full pretty quick and yeah the chewyness made it about of a chore to eat LOL
mine rubbery, hmmm, good try tho...;)
Harlequin
16-11-2008, 10:38 PM
Hahah I think if it goes rubbery it was overcooked :D
Lol i totally missed it when you posted it melly. I must miss so many posts on here.
Harlequin
17-11-2008, 02:29 PM
Here's the one I just made... I used half sr and half plain flower and only cooked it for 2.5 minutes.
It turned out really nice and fluffy!!
http://www.tinysouls.com/temp/mugcake.jpg
Mitake
01-12-2008, 02:13 PM
I love this!
Just made one with DS, we used all SR flour.
Came out more like a pudding, as it was really moist and bouncy??? tasted great, not rubbery and we had it after lunch served warm with custard. YUMMO!
DH was particulary impressed so I told him, see it pays to have me on the computer all the time, lol. I would have missed it otherwise:p
TysonsMummy
01-12-2008, 02:33 PM
Oh dear......just did a calorie analysis in www.calorieking.com.au (http://www.calorieking.com.au) on this and if you don't count the choc chips one serve has 875 calories (3660kj), so add a couple hundred more if you do add the choc chips. Ouch! :o
Sounds yummy though, I'm sure once in a while would be ok, as a yummy treat in a flash :thumbsup:
Renenet
01-12-2008, 02:36 PM
*bugger* I dont have any eggs :crying:
eta. sending DF to shops :laughing:
Harlequin
01-12-2008, 03:26 PM
Lol babymaker. :D
I haven't made one lately cos I got my chrisco baking treats hamper haha
pinkgingham
01-12-2008, 05:57 PM
cooking times depend on your microwave, it might be less than 3 minutes for some or more for others. if its rubbery try cooking it for not as long next time.
Loopy Linda
01-12-2008, 08:39 PM
ok i got a desperate cake fix question to those who have made this cake, and those who have made changes and made it their own!
i want this cake, now.. not sure if i can actually wait 5 mins honestly!
but i got no choc chips and no cocoa. any ideas?
Loopy Linda
01-12-2008, 08:42 PM
Oh dear......just did a calorie analysis in www.calorieking.com.au (http://www.calorieking.com.au) on this and if you don't count the choc chips one serve has 875 calories (3660kj), so add a couple hundred more if you do add the choc chips. Ouch! :o
i am sorry but i actually heard that all the calories are in the crumbs! i mean when was last time you seen skinny chick lick her finger and pick up all cake crumbs? ;)
prideNJoy
01-12-2008, 08:47 PM
Yum, yum, yum, yum, yum. Made one after dinner and shared with the kiddies, now DP wants one! :chef:
Mitake
01-12-2008, 08:50 PM
ok i got a desperate cake fix question to those who have made this cake, and those who have made changes and made it their own!
i want this cake, now.. not sure if i can actually wait 5 mins honestly!
but i got no choc chips and no cocoa. any ideas?
Hey, When I made it today I left out the choc chips (didn't have any) and the vanilla (pantry was a mess and couldn't find it). I thought it worked well as I said hot with custard and cold later sliced up.
Hmmmm thinking what instead of cocoa.
no I've got nothing.:no: Sorry
I'd love a caramelly sort of one, you know like the self saucy butterscotch pudding type thing. Yum:D
Loopy Linda
01-12-2008, 08:56 PM
don't talk caramel...i loooovvvve caramel.
so i raid the cupboards. i have cake mix! so i might jsut make one of them up ... in microwave cause i have never done it before and i am feeling lazy ;P
so it went ok cold? i could send it with kids to school? they eat anything not nailed down so not really seeing a problem no matter how bad it tastes!
Mitake
01-12-2008, 09:06 PM
so i raid the cupboards. i have cake mix! so i might jsut make one of them up ... in microwave cause i have never done it before and i am feeling lazy ;P
so it went ok cold? i could send it with kids to school? they eat anything not nailed down so not really seeing a problem no matter how bad it tastes!
I was going to suggest cakemix, that should work but you never know what others have in their pantry. My mug was filled 3/4 to the top if that helps and it rose about an inch over the top. Sunk back to the brim of the cup when done.
Hot with custard - yummo
Cold - still good, perfect for school. my boys guzzled it both ways. Big one(DH) and the little ones
Harlequins pic in her post looked nice with the icing sugar on the top.
My kids didn't complain there was no icing either and that is usually the first part they eat:laughing:
Mitake
01-12-2008, 09:08 PM
Hopefully someone comes up with a caramel version:yelclap:
butter and sugar does that equal caramel????
Has to be something else:detective:
confusd
01-12-2008, 09:09 PM
whyyyyyyyyyyy now i want one. yummo
Uniquey
01-12-2008, 09:14 PM
I made this a while ago after receiving it via email from a friend, and it looked and tasted more like a steamed chocolate pudding. Not too rich.
Mitake
01-12-2008, 09:14 PM
do it confusd;)
Mitake
01-12-2008, 09:16 PM
I made this a while ago after receiving it via email from a friend, and it looked and tasted more like a steamed chocolate pudding. Not too rich.
That's the exact way I've been meaning to describe it. More like pudding than cake:yes:
Still good though
Uniquey
01-12-2008, 09:20 PM
That's the exact way I've been meaning to describe it. More like pudding than cake:yes:
Still good though
Oh yeah, definitely tastes good!:thumbsup:
KatiesMum
01-12-2008, 09:23 PM
Damn it.
I got this in an email a while ago ... and resisted temptation.
Now I am going to have to go and make one.
:devil:
Harlequin
01-12-2008, 09:24 PM
Be careful, you can't just go from oven to microwave :D
I'm pretty sure microwave cakes need different measurements of liquids than oven ones.
jo101
01-12-2008, 09:38 PM
Thanks for sharing this recipe Harlequin, I can't wait to try it tomorrow :thumbsup: Heres another choclate recipe for all the other chocoholics here on BH :)
CHOCALATE POM POMS
1 PACKET SCALLIWAG CHOC BISCUITS
2 TB SPNS COCOA SIFTED
1 CAN CONDENSED MILK
1/2 PACKET COCONUT
METHOD:
CRUSH BISCUITS USING A ROLLING PIN OR FOOD PROCESSER
ADD SIFTED COCOA
ADD CAN OF CONDENSED MILK MIX WELL
REFRIGERATE FOR AN HOUR TILL MIXTURE IS FIRM
ROLL INTO BALLS AND ROLL POM POMS INTO COCONUT.
MyThreeCubs
01-12-2008, 09:53 PM
My dh has just printed the recipe!:laughing: I said, "see I told you my bubhubbing would eventually have something in it for you!"
Harlequin
01-12-2008, 09:59 PM
Thanks for sharing this recipe Harlequin, I can't wait to try it tomorrow :thumbsup: Heres another choclate recipe for all the other chocoholics here on BH :)
Those are similar to the ones I make but they use arrowroot biscuits :D So yummy. I'll have to try them with scallywags.
ladybugblue84
01-12-2008, 10:09 PM
WOW! Found this thread (what an enticing title), made the cake straight away, made sure I didn't overcook it which appeared to be a common error (only cooked for about 1 min & a half), and voila BEAUTIFUL!!!!
The bottom was a bit undercooked as I was so scared to overcook but it was like a yummy syrup on the bottom. I also substituted the cocoa for Cadbury Drinking Chocolate as that was all I had. Didn't bother with the vanilla. All I needed was custard or chocolate syrup which I didn't have....next time :thumbsup:
So much for the diet :rolleyes:
Jenko
01-12-2008, 10:09 PM
I made it this afternoon. It was delicious! I used self-raising flour and I only let it cook about 2 mins (my microwave is a dodgy dial one, so it was a bit of a guess)
Moist and fluffy and the choc chips were all gooey and warm.
Will definitely make it again :yes:
Jo101 - I make this too, but like Harlequin I use Arrowroot or Marie biscuits. I'm going to make it for DD's kindy do on Friday and will make it with the choc bikkies...they sound extra yum!
Kangaskippy
02-12-2008, 02:16 AM
I found this thread last night around 10.30pm and made it straight away for my DH who is a choc mud cake addict and he loved it!!! and thats saying something as he can be really picky when it comes to cakes....I am soooooooooooooo pleased to now have a recipe like this to whip up fresh and fast for guests straight after dinner....thanks heaps to the OP...:chef::yelclap:
KatiesMum
02-12-2008, 03:22 PM
Mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm
cake (http://i272.photobucket.com/albums/jj187/Katilynsmum/IMGP3974.jpg)
so yummy.
MooMum
02-12-2008, 03:36 PM
I was trying desperately to avoid the temptation that is THIS THREAD!!! But alas, I am off to the supermarket, the final push was the picture from Katiesmum!!! That looked amazing!!!
Wish me luck!!
Mitake
02-12-2008, 03:37 PM
Mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm
cake (http://i272.photobucket.com/albums/jj187/Katilynsmum/IMGP3974.jpg)
so yummy.
Nice pic:thumbsup:
I'm bad we made it again today:p
Ds loves making it and watching it in the microwave when it looks like it is going to overflow.
I claiming we did it for educational purposes;)
Harlequin
02-12-2008, 04:01 PM
Hahah yeah it's fun when it rises :D
Kangaskippy
02-12-2008, 07:21 PM
I made the cake again today!!!!
I split the mix into 2 ramakin containers and put them both in the microwave together for 2mins...perfect!!! this way i wasn't tempted to eat it all:o...and it worked out to around 5points (WW) without the chocchips...yummy...:chef::D:yelclap:
Harlequin
02-12-2008, 08:59 PM
I prefer half the mixture too kanga, the whole thing is WAY too big for me! :D
MooMum
02-12-2008, 11:02 PM
Well, I made it! The top was a little dry, but the chocolate chips sank to the bottom and made a yummy scrummy surprise goo at the bottom!!! Maybe next time, and there will be a next time, I'll halve the mixture.
:chef:
Loopy Linda
07-12-2008, 07:59 PM
hi,
i just made this cake, first time!
how did you fit it in a mug? i used a large bowl and it was a great size! i had half.. dh is too scared to have other half...i might eat the rest later hehe
i thought mine was a little dull. how did everyone find the taste? maybe next time i should add more vanilla and more choc chips?
KatiesMum
07-12-2008, 08:05 PM
I have made it a few times since, and have a couple of extra tips
- do not reduce the amount of sugar. It tastes really bad
- I actually have had better success making it in 2 ramekins as 1 cup is just too big, but no luck in halving mixture
- boil water, mix with a spoonfull of drinking chocolate and pour about 1cm worth on top of hte batter once in the ramekins. Makes it self saucing.
- do NOT overcook. It tastes very dry and rubbery.
Mitake
07-12-2008, 09:06 PM
Love the tip about the self saucing bit :thumbsup:. I was going to try just putting choc melts down the bottom of the cup.
hi,
i just made this cake, first time!
how did you fit it in a mug? i used a large bowl and it was a great size! i had half.. dh is too scared to have other half...i might eat the rest later hehe
i thought mine was a little dull. how did everyone find the taste? maybe next time i should add more vanilla and more choc chips?
I make mine in my morning coffe cup. DH calls it a bucket so I guess it is probably the size of a small bowl:laughing:.
I have it with custard, but I don't think more choc chips could hurt, could they:p
Kangaskippy
08-12-2008, 07:35 AM
I used a slightly larger mug than normal (but not by much) and it was filled about 3/4 before going into the microwave...I did find it easier to mix the ingredients in a bowl first...
I also used cadbury cocoa for one lot and it was a bit average, but found that woolworths homebrand cocoa had the best flavour and looked like a reallly dark mudcake...also it was cheaper and you get more...
declansmum
10-12-2008, 02:57 PM
:chef:MMMMM-I just treated myself, its delish:D
Renenet
07-06-2009, 08:56 PM
*Bump*
vBulletin® v3.8.3, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.