View Full Version : Amniocentesis Test - what i learnt from having one
bilbymum
18-05-2006, 09:23 AM
this is a thread to support women who are going to have an amniocentsis test. I have just had one, and found it hard to find anyone to talk to who had already "been there, done that", so now i have had mine, i would like to share the experience, so that hopefully, subsequent women who go thru it, have something to go on, not go in blindly like i did.
I invite any other woman on this forum who have had the test to share their stories too.
Bilbymum's amnio test as an outpatient in a public hospital
1. Finding out
i got told i needed the test over the phone by a abrupt tactless midwife. The news stunned me so much and there she was, asking me to make decisions on the spot! It was all too much. My advice is, if this happens to you, go speak to a medical person you feel safe with, like your gp, and don't be alone to deal with all the feelings that will come up. It also really helped me to go visit a girlfriend and spend time with someone sympathetic.
2. Test prep:
you don't need to do anything particular, like drink lots of water (as you do for the nuchal scan). I think the most important thing you could do is *** take a support person to drive you there and back, and hold your hand in the room where procedure is done *** re-arrange your schedule so you can rest after the test in case you get all crampy and woozy like i did
3. the actual test
On the day, first of all my partner and I met with a specialist obstretrician who took us into a private office, using diagrams explained exactly what the test involved and what the risk numbers meant.
The test looks at the chromosomes. There should be 46, with a downs baby there are 47, cos there is one too many #21 chromosomes, they are meant to be in pairs, but the downs is indicated by three #21 chromosomes. The test also sees whether your baby is an XX (girl) or XY (boy).
It was explained a regular test takes two weeks for the results to come back. Also there is a FISH test, you pay $200, it comes back in a few days, but is non-conclusive until the two week test comes back.
Next we went into a treatment room, there was the spec.obstrectrician, a nurse, and a sonographer. I got up on a trolley bed thing.
The sonographer started doing an ultrasound. I am exactly 16 weeks apparently.
The obstet. painted my abdomen with a brown red antiseptic (so don't wear a pale top that day).
I didn't look but the obstret took over the ultrasound probe tool and then inserted a needle into my stomach, bit lower down than i expected.
The pain was bearable but not at all pleasant - my partner said it took a few minutes - of course it felt longer to me! The obstret. knows where it is safe to put the needle by being guided by the ultrasound (so they can avoid jabbing the baby).
Immediately after i felt rather woozy to my surprise, and got crampy legs like bad pmt. We sat in the waiting room for a while, then went to nearest cafeteria so i could have a drink and a snack. I felt like if i didn't do that i would keel over.
I had not expected any after effects, but was so glad my partner went off and got the car and brought it to the front of the hospital so i only had a few steps to walk. I was not in a fit state to drive.
The obstretician had rattled off a list of things to watch for, the kind of thngs you should get medical help for straight away, like bleeding or leaking. He advised i take it very easy for rest of day - he was right.
For the rest of the day i did diddly squat. Each time i got bored and would get up to do stuff, the aches and pains made me sit down again.
The amnio test was a bigger deal than i had anticipated. Two weeks will seem like forever, must find things to distract myself.
MamaSage
18-05-2006, 09:39 AM
Wow. Thanks for posting that. :kiss: Do you have your results back yet?
I had an amnio with my first baby and will do with this one as well, I had no qualms about having one being at that time 38 and now 41 there was no question in my mind that I shouldnt. Harsh maybe, but with no family here and being older I didnt think it was fair on the childs future should there be any abnormalities and with this 2nd one again, not fair on our son for his future, anyway that was just my reason its off the point
I didnt feel any pain from the needle, I didnt even know it had gone in till the guy pointed it out on the screen, I felt fine afterwards. My partner did take the day off work and I did lie on the couch all afternoon but I really felt fine, no cramps, no pain nothing - so I just used it as an excuse for a sit down!!!!
Anyway that was my experience of course eveyrone is different, there is the worrying 2 weeks of waiting for your result, I think this time I will get the FISH result as well just for a bit of reassurance
bilbymum
18-05-2006, 10:17 AM
Hi Carlia, i had the test may 17 - results take two weeks - so June 1st would be the earliest i can get the result. :fingerscrossed: We took five years to conceive this baby, really want it.
annb - i am the same age having my first as you were having your first. We already have one disabled child in our family (my stepchild) so i know the reality of living with and caring for a disabled child - it is not easy or cheap and day to day life for our disabled child is pretty harsh. We love this child to bits, but would not wish any other child to go thru this.
fair enough too bilby, some people can cope others cant and at the end of the day you not only have to think of the child its the others in the famiily as well
good luck with your test results, its never easy
CarolineF
18-05-2006, 10:45 AM
I had a amnio in the UK 6 1/2 yrs ago - it was fine. They gave me a local aneasth. injection then inserted the needle. It is uncomfortable but not painful as such. My baby was reaching up for the needle so the OB had to keep moving it around so it took longer. Amazing really bearing in mind they can't see anything. Must have just felt the pressure and gone towards it.
The 3 weeks wait was the worst. We got the results on Dec 23rd - it was a lovely xmas pressie to fnd out I had a healthy baby girl.
I would do it again and probably will with this pregnancy. I am having the nuchal scan next week. On that, I have not been given any special instructions on prep not even drinking lots of water. Should I have been given some instructions?:detective:
mum2four
20-05-2006, 09:34 PM
My first amnio was as a public patient in a public hosptial. I didn't even know until the day, thought I was just going for my special scan :eek: I was 17wks pregnant (last pgcy)and had to decide then and there whether to have it or not. I was an emotional wreck bawling my eyes out. I didn't want to lose my baby! We decided to do it and I had to calm myself down so I didn't move as the needle was inserted. I was not guided through what would happen or anything and then when they did it it hurt like all heck. They gently put the needle in for the first part then just jabbed really hard when it went through the sac, I did jump a bit a that point.
Was told what to look out for and that I was fine to work the next day (physically demanding job which they were aware of)
My second was 110% better. My OB did it with his nurse in his offices at 18wks (this pgcy), they were kind and understanding and made me feel comfortable. They also gave me a local anastetic before the needle was inserted. Wow what a difference! Didn't even feel the needle go in, just a little pressure! Was told again what to look out for and asked to sit for half an hour before leaving. Was also told 3 days of complete rest ( and this time I wasn't even working anyway :eek: ) I knew to take DH as they said I had to have someone to drive me home.
The first one I did get quite a bit of cramping the next day at work (at a Deli on Christmas eve mind you, so no wonder) and the insertion area was tender for allot longer with the first than with the second. Also the second I had proper dressing put on afterwards whereas with the first I didn't.
bilbymum
20-05-2006, 11:29 PM
I had a amnio in the UK 6 1/2 yrs ago - it was fine. They gave me a local aneasth. injection then inserted the needle. It is uncomfortable but not painful as such. My baby was reaching up for the needle so the OB had to keep moving it around so it took longer. Amazing really bearing in mind they can't see anything. Must have just felt the pressure and gone towards it.
The 3 weeks wait was the worst. We got the results on Dec 23rd - it was a lovely xmas pressie to fnd out I had a healthy baby girl.
I would do it again and probably will with this pregnancy. I am having the nuchal scan next week. On that, I have not been given any special instructions on prep not even drinking lots of water. Should I have been given some instructions?:detective:
DON"T DRINK LOTS OF WATER BEFOREHAND I just read on the Baby Centre website tonight, that if you have a full bladder, the amnio hurts more.
Next time i have an amnio i would definately take a support person and ask for a general anaethetic. i would be much more assertive next time. Oh, and i wouldn't wear a white top, the antiseptic stuff is red/brown.
my midwife gave me NO instructions, so i walked in blind.
bilbymum
20-05-2006, 11:38 PM
My first amnio was as a public patient in a public hosptial. I didn't even know until the day, thought I was just going for my special scan :eek: I was 17wks pregnant (last pgcy)and had to decide then and there whether to have it or not. I was an emotional wreck bawling my eyes out. I didn't want to lose my baby! We decided to do it and I had to calm myself down so I didn't move as the needle was inserted. I was not guided through what would happen or anything and then when they did it it hurt like all heck. They gently put the needle in for the first part then just jabbed really hard when it went through the sac, I did jump a bit a that point.
Was told what to look out for and that I was fine to work the next day (physically demanding job which they were aware of)
My second was 110% better. My OB did it with his nurse in his offices at 18wks (this pgcy), they were kind and understanding and made me feel comfortable. They also gave me a local anastetic before the needle was inserted. Wow what a difference! Didn't even feel the needle go in, just a little pressure! Was told again what to look out for and asked to sit for half an hour before leaving. Was also told 3 days of complete rest ( and this time I wasn't even working anyway :eek: ) I knew to take DH as they said I had to have someone to drive me home.
The first one I did get quite a bit of cramping the next day at work (at a Deli on Christmas eve mind you, so no wonder) and the insertion area was tender for allot longer with the first than with the second. Also the second I had proper dressing put on afterwards whereas with the first I didn't.
Thanks for sharing that mumoffour. Interesting you had a dressing (another thing i had no idea of). Now i know that a local anathetic is possible, i will def ask for that if i have another one. I was advised 24 hours of complete rest and am still sore four days later. There seems to be huge variation in the amount of pain women experience and also in the aftereffects.
i couldn't even tell when the needle entered the placenta sac - ALL of it hurt for me - but especially when the obstretician moved the needle HORIZONTALLY - i was unprepared for that:thumbsdown:, i thought it would just be vertical movement.
I am beginning to feel like a guinea pig (cos this is my first). When you don't know what's available, what's normal etc, it's easy to get swept along on the "sure, whatever you recommend" trail. Like a lucky dip really. Having to put your trust in complete strangers who have medical degrees :fingerscrossed:.
Tam-I-Am
21-05-2006, 01:23 AM
Hi Bilby's mum.
Thanks for sharing your experience. What a horrible thing to go through (I'm still gobsmacked that the midwife was so unempathic - she of all people should have understood how stressed you would be. Some people just shouldn't practice the profession they've chosen!)
I really hope that everything works out for you, and that the results are fine.:hugs:
I am having the nuchal scan next week. On that, I have not been given any special instructions on prep not even drinking lots of water. Should I have been given some instructions?:detective:
Caroline, the nuchal translucency scan is actually just an ultrasound - they measure the nuchal fold thickness, which is the thickness of the back of the neck, there is a certain thickness and greater beyond which there is a much increased chance of Down Syndrome. So, as with any obstetric ultrasound, it makes it easier for them to see bubs if you do have a full bladder.
Good luck.
CarolineF
21-05-2006, 01:27 PM
Thanks Tami:D :hugs:
bilbymum
21-05-2006, 09:51 PM
oh carolinef, i just re-read your post - i made a mistook
* you need a full bladder for the nuchal scan - e.g drink one litre water beforehand
* you don't need a full bladder for the amnio test
i got mixed up - my apologies for confusing you
thanks clarabelle for making me realise
Clarabelle - i actually got a call from the head of the hospital unit over the weekend, from the message it sounds like they want to know why i want to change midwives.
I also heard today from a person who had their baby at the same place, that if a midwife gets three negative incident reports, they are moved to another part of the hospital.
Thanks for your sympathetic post. In spite of not knowing results, we went out and bought 2nd hand baby stuff today at really good prices (cot, carseat, portacot, baby carrier etc). We so badly want the test to come back negative. Maybe we were nuts to buy that stuff, i need to cling onto some positivity about our baby.
Tam-I-Am
21-05-2006, 09:56 PM
Oh, Bilby'smum, I'm glad that you're still finding some positivity in this ordeal! Well done for you, I really have my fingers crossed that everything works out for you and your little bilby!
It sounds like the head of the hospital unit will take some action toward ensuring that this midwife is notified that her behaviour was unacceptable! That's good news.
Tam-I-Am
21-05-2006, 09:57 PM
Oh, and no worries Caroline - hope all goes well for the NT scan! :hugs:
Caz1971
27-10-2007, 10:16 PM
I am 36, When I did the blood test and Nuchal test, my blood came back as 1 in 100 of baby having Edward syndrome. The baby would be born with severe abnormalities and heart defects and would probably die in utero or soon after he was born.
I decided to do the CVS, particularly cos it's done a few weeks earlier than an amnio - the doctor at the anenatal clinic thought it was best.
She was really great and supportive during the whole thing. It felt like a popping noise when the needle went in. Something that I wouldn't want to do again! I stayed home from work for 2 days just resting.
Forty-eight hrs later they rang me and said it was 95pct normal, you have to wait two weeks for the 100pct. Also found out Im having another BOY! I was satisfied that at 95pct all was going to be ok, so wasn't that anxious of waiting the two weeks.
Two weeks later, they rang again and said its going to be a normal baby boy!
I am now 20 weeks and my mind is at ease as I know everything will be OK.
Do they always tell you the sex of the baby? I mean, I am sure that you can tell them not to, but is it standard practice?
next baby I will be 40 and I think I want a surprise bundle, but I am also thinking of having an amnio.
vBulletin® v3.7.4, Copyright ©2000-2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.