View Full Version : I feel like a Human Dummy!

FiveInTheBed
17-05-2006, 15:35
I wasn't sure where to post this, kind of a mix between b/fing, sleeping, and attatchment parenting, and no-cry sleep... anyway...

My ds will be 11 months this month and I can't remember the last time I had more than 2hours of sleep in a row( maybe back when I was 7months preg!!)
His sleeping pattern gone thrown out of whack at xmas when we travelled interstate, and he also cut first 2 teeth. He seems to wake every hour or so, ( i've read all about sleep cycles etc) and we've tried music , rocking, sushing, patting , only dad going in, etc etc... but he will either push us away, stand up in cot, or crawl up our arm if it is in reach!! The only way I can sooth him back to sleep is by popping a boob in his mouth (have tried many brands of dummies and they get laughed at and thrown out, even when i try to slip it in as i slip the boob out, he suddenley goes all tight lipped and reached out for a handfull a breast!!)

After night and nights of trudging up the hallway, I have resorted to bringing him in with us, but the winter months scare me as we have no central heating and dp and I love pulling the doona up...am currently sleeping in tracky jacket and constantly waking to check the covers.

My actual question is has anyone else had an issue with their little ones being attatched to their chest pretty much ALL NIGHT to get some sleep!!!??? He only feeds prob once or twice all the other times are just a comfort suck i'm sure!! I used to say it was a lovely natural way to get bubba of to sleep.... now ..as you can tell by the rambling... i am going insane!!!:ecomcity: :ecomcity:

was thinking about setting up single bed next to his cot and going in there, not picking him up, and waiting for him to fall asleep with me there. has any one had success with this technique?

Jem
17-05-2006, 15:52
Well.... i have the same prob! DS2 wont leave my boobs alone ALL night!!
i think i must wake atleast 10 times a night! :shame: ( not that i get out of bed.. i co-sleep ;) )

Im trying to wean him onto the bottle now that he is 1 next week.... during the day he is fine, but at night he wants boob as dummy!!!!!

Sorry im not much help am i? :o

munchkin05
17-05-2006, 16:32
im a human dummy to lol

for many months i slept on a matteress on the floor with ben just so i didnt have to get up and down to him

hes nearly 1 and still b/f its not as bad now but im stil lup at least 3 times a night sometimes i just give him a cuddle and he goes back to sleep other times he wants boob

sorry im no help either ben used to have a dunny untill at 5 weeks old the lactation consultant told me thats why he wasnt feeding properly so i took it away tried to give it to him again but he just thinks its the funniest thing

hope everything works out

the_queen
17-05-2006, 18:33
I've not been in your situation - but I've got a co-sleeping suggestion for you, SIDE-CAR, this is what we're doing with our new little bubba. I've taken one side off the cot, and put a piece of firm foam underneath the mattress so that he is on the same level as our bed, and I've secured the cot next to my side of the bed. He can sleep safely in there, no quilt etc, plus our bed is only a double and it's high off the ground so I don't like the idea of proper co-sleeping. At the moment obviously I'm still picking him up to feed him (but he is only 13 days old ;) ) but the plan is that when he's older, I will be able to just kinda roll over, and feed him (or be his human dummy!). Because I'm taller than the cot is long, I can't roll into the cot. Plus I like sleeping next to him :kiss:.

Having said all that, he is only 13 days old so I'm not sure how or even if this arrangement will work in the future... I'm hoping it will, I've heard from other people that it works very well. Lets mumma get more rest too, because even if you are being woken 10 times a night, you're not actually getting up or out of bed, so your body gets more rest.

Good luck finding a solution that works for you and bubba :)

17-05-2006, 22:34
Another human dummy here! Frustrating isnt it...espeically when DP is beside me snoring away... :sleeping:

18-05-2006, 07:11
Another human dummy here too :laughing:

Goosie22
18-05-2006, 07:58
Congratulations to everyone who is currently a human dummy.

I just wanted to say isnt it nice to have something they find so comforting?

Dont worry, even though its hard it dosnt last forever:hugs: .

Somethings I found useful, was to sleep insomething less accomodating (if you want to cut self service) and try to resettle with comfort rather than boobie (sometimes you have to give in, but other times a cuddle or a song will do) hope you find something to give you a little help.

Just try to remember that something you are not allowed to have is often times more attractive, so limiting access will increase interest.

18-05-2006, 08:07
Congratulations to everyone who is currently a human dummy.

Just try to remember that something you are not allowed to have is often times more attractive, so limiting access will increase interest.

Thanks Goosie. I have also found this to be true. MJ goes nuts if she cant get to "her" boobs :yes: We tried denying access but it just results in screaming, & tears all round :crying:

Callumsmum
18-05-2006, 09:42
Have to say I feel better after reading this thread. Callum used to sleep right through but when he started cutting teeth it all went to hell. I used to just feed him straight off as I figured he was waking because he was hungry. Now he's eating heaps of solids and really shouldn't be hungry and I'm trying to stop feeding during the night. Things are improving but we still seem to have at least one wake up during the night. Usually it's around midnight, 3am then 6am. I hadn't thought of re-introducing the dummy so will give that a go. My prob is that he doesn't really cry but just whinges. Hence he's able to keep it up for ages! Anyway, I'll keep checking back to see if there are any great ideas and will let you know if I have any success.

BTW I have tried:
- rocking
- singing
- music
- turning up the heater
- adding a blanket
- turning down the heater
- bonjella

Good luck to all,
Katrina:sleeping:

zephsmum
18-05-2006, 12:01
Hi fellow "Human Dummies"
I have the same problem with my 5 mth DD, and it has been going on for a month and a half now. She generally sleeps for 2-3 hours from 8.30pm (she won't go down any earlier:banghead: ), then she wakes every hour and a half wanting to get on booby! DH has to get up for work at 3am so I generally bring her into bed to feed (although I think its a comfort thing rather than hunger).
The only time she will sleep for longer than the 2-3 hour stretch is if she misses her day sleep which can be up to 5 hours long. Thats what happened a few nights ago after a trip to town, she slept for nearly 5 hours straight that night and then a couple of days later I ended up with mastitis. Do you think if I let her sleep less during the day she will sleep better at night?

18-05-2006, 12:10
Sometimes baby is so tired they crash for the night.
But if they sleep okay during the day, they will at night.

My six month old loves to be comforted with booby too.
He sleeps well during the day but at night he sometimes wakes
six times just whinging.
Last night I offered him water and though he wasn't impressed
he was tired enough he sucked on the bottle for a little and went
back to sleep.
With my older son, he was the same, though he got better at
sleeping through by 7 months

JATS
18-05-2006, 13:01
Another human dummy mummy here :D

Not every night, but most nights! Some nights he has no problem sleeping through in his cot but alot of the time he wants to be permanantly attatched to the boob, which is fine as far as I'm concerned, will only become a problem once #2 arrives, which won't be for a little while yet ;)

Co-sleeping means either way I get a good nights sleep so there's no dramas here!

Jinx
18-05-2006, 16:44
It's good to know that I am not the only "Human Dummy" out there!! The only problem is - its not only at night any more - he wants me to be his dummy during the day too!! Very hard to get anything done with a baby attached to you 24hrs a day!!

FiveInTheBed
19-05-2006, 15:55
Well it's brought me back down to earth to see that there are plenty other "human dummy mummies" out there. Had thought about putting the cot in our room months ago, just never got around to it... well today I unscrewed shuffled, and rebolted the cot minus one side up against our bed...just a tad squishy but a bedroom is for beds not for ballroom dancing!!
Hopefully the closeness pleases little man and the extra bed space helps for a more comfortable, less worrisome rest for me... and dp... well he snores through everything anyway!

will see how it goes:fingerscrossed: , other than that am contemplating taking a mould of my boobies for him to sleep with.... I know its so lovely and I'll miss it once he doesn't want me anymore-but seriously some nights I wish he'd fall in love with just one of his many teddy bears!!

will be thinking of you all at 1am...2am...3am...4am...etc etc:sleeping:

Miaow
19-05-2006, 19:31
Yep Im one also lol - EJ goes to sleep in her cot thats in my room - wakes i bring her in to bed with me and she lies on top of me feeding where she goes to sleep - if im awake or wake up and shes fast asleep (with nipple in mouth) ill put her back in her cot where shell last another one or 2 hours and then it repeats itself.

19-05-2006, 20:12
I'm a dummy as well :rolleyes: my mum hates it!

I co-sleep but would love for Liam to sleep on his own (and preferably in his cot!) without a boob.

I might try doing a side-car - if I can get his cot out of his room. I have a bad feeling it won't fit through the door!

13-06-2006, 08:54
Need to ressurect this & ask a question of the HUMAN DUMMIES :laughing:

Do any of you find that even for day sleeps bubs wake up & wont go back off unless they get some boob? MJ does this all the time. I've taken to letting her sleep on the lounge for her day sleeps so that if she wakes up, I can let her have a suck & she goes straight back to sleep. Its not bad if i'm home, but it means if we're out that she will never sleep for longer than 40mins :banghead: If i dont make her go back off she is crabby for the rest of the day :(

Can anyone help me.....please?