View Full Version : Another newbie :)
Cheryl78
13-11-2008, 18:55
Hi all!! :wave:
I'm Cheryl and brand new to Bubhub! I live on the southside of Canberra with my hubby of 5 and half years and our gorgeous 7 month old boy Alex. I'm loving motherhood so far and loving being a stay-at-home mummy for as long as i can!
Alex has a touch of eczema which i think i have pinpointed to being a cows milk allergy. Anyone else dealt with eczema and allergies??
Would love the opportunity to talk and meet with other mummies in Canberra (all my family and most of my friends are in Brissy :().
Hi Cheryl,
Welcome to bubhub and especially to the ACT thread. Many belated congratulations on the birth of your son, I am glad that you are enjoying being a SAHM.
My name is Jenna, I live on the north side of Canberra with my DH and our little princess Maddison. She is almost 4 months old. We are all English and have been living in Australia for just over 2 years, 8 months of those in Canberra.
The other mums in this group are fantastic, we have regular meets in a variety of places and I hope that you will be able to come along to them. I must try to get to a few more myself. We try to alternate the meets between the north and south side so that every one has chance to get to one. We also have a facebook group where we post details of those meets, as it is not ideal to post locations of meets on this open forum. Do you use facebook?
I don't have any experience with eczema but I know some of the other mums on here do. I am sure when they get round to posting they will respond.
All my family are in England and I know a lot of the other mums have family in Qld and elsewhere in Australia, so we are all able to relate to that. I am sure you will fit in really well.
Look forward to meeting you soon, if you need anything or want more information, feel free to post on here or PM me.
Jenna
mumof4angels
13-11-2008, 19:37
Hi Cheryl,
Welcome to Bub Hub. My name is Jodie and I live on the southside too. The best side of town I reckon :raspberry:
I have four little ones that keep me very busy, three of them have eczema and one has severe allergies and needs an epi pen. For the eczema we just use QV Wash, QV Oil, QV cream and if it is really bad we use quartizone (sp?) the QV costs a small fortune but we find it is the best.
I look forward to hopfully meeting you either at one of the meets or if you want to catch up for a coffee one day :)
Sparklydreamer
13-11-2008, 21:02
Hi Cheryl,
I'm Rosie and I live on the southside of Canberra too and like you all my friends and family are in Brissie. Have you been in Canberra long?
My DD gets excema, though its getting better as she gets older (she's 3 now). We find that DermaVeen excema cream helps a lot. I put it on her affected areas after bath and before bed and it seems to take the itch away.
I'm new to bubhub myself too, but I've looked around the boards a bit and it seems there's a lot of friendly people on here. :)
Rosie welcome also to the ACT thread, hope you can come to a meet some day soon, so you can meet some other mums.
We always enjoy our meets, chance for the littlies to see other children and burn off energy if the are old enough and chance for us to catch up and have adult conversation.
Welcome to Bub Hub.
Im Danielle, 25, 2 boys aged 3 and 18 months. Im on the northside.
Would love to see more new faces at our meets. Its much easier if your part of fb now as we can post times and places etc and its updated all the time.
Im pretty sure my sons eczema flares up from cows milk, but im not strict on it. Which could explain why it never really goes away, but im lucky its not severe and doesnt bother him. My boys prefer drinking So Good anyway, so that made it a lil easier.
cinnamonbear
14-11-2008, 07:54
hi gurls
im kieren my dd is Ella-Rose 13 months
we live on the southside
im a SAHM
as dani mentioned we plan all our meets (which we do regually atleast once a wk).. on FB as we are not allowed to psot dates and times her on BH.. So if you would like to come to a meet pm me or few other gurls and we can give you access to our page.
We are having another meet on monday if you are interested.
Good to see soem brand new faces:yelclap:
mummybunny
14-11-2008, 08:15
:wave: Rosie and Cheryl
Welcome to bubhub, and canberra, i hope your liking it so far..
Im Kim 22 (in dec) and im a south sider also, i have a 22 month old very active little boy and married my hubby of 4 years a few months ago :)
My little R gets excema sometimes also, he has only started getting it the past few months though and it comes and go's on odd occasions so we are quite lucky :)
Love to catch up sometime if your interested..
what area on south side are you both?
hello Rosie and Cheryl, welcome to BH and canberra.
I am Candice and i have a 2yr old DD Alice and a 5month old DS Kobi.
we live on the northside and have been in canberra for almost 3 years (before that we were in brisbane too)
i too am a SAHM.
the girls on here are lovely, and as Kieren said we try and have a meet once a week to get the kids out of the house and us mothers feel sane having an adult conversation.
hope to meet you both soon.
Sparklydreamer
14-11-2008, 21:38
Thanks everyone! I'd love to come to one of the meets sometime. I'm away on holidays at the moment, so won't be able to make the one this Monday, but maybe next time. :)
Cheryl78
15-11-2008, 05:55
:D Thanks everyone for all your welcomes and intros. You all sound so lovely:hugs:
Cant wait to be able to have a coffee with some of you. We are heading away on holidays for a week tomorrow but when i get back it would be great to meet up.
I'm on facebook!! What is the groups name so i can join you?
Cheryl78
15-11-2008, 06:00
Hi Kim,
We are down in Banks!
I've just bought some of the dermaveen cream - its smells a bit funny, like marzipan i reckon!!! We'll see if it helps...:)
When you are both back, we look forward to meeting you. As we have said before, the details will always be on facebook. Let us know and we can add you.
Enjoy your holidays!!
Cheryl, I have sent you a pm (private message) to get your details for facebook. Can then send you a link.
lovingmotheract
15-11-2008, 11:49
welcome lady's i'm rachl and have a 2 year old well not for long she is 3 on the 13th dec. hope to meet up with you ladys soon.