View Full Version : Grizzling, could it be an allergy?

GoneBatty
16-05-2006, 19:24
Hi mums,
My 11 month old son has been very unusually grizzly over the last few weeks. He started to get eczema around the same time. Im not sure if he could be allergic to something which is making him so irritable or not.
Can anyone help?!?:confused:

16-05-2006, 20:02
Hey there,

Yes eczema can make bubs very irritable, grumpy, unsettled and it can effect their sleep too.

Eczema is a symptom of an allergic reaction and can be related to many different triggers (a few of these are dairy foods, dustmites, soaps or laundry detergent etc)

It tends to be hereditary, I would check it out with your gp and think about getting your child allergy tested.

You may also like to chat to a natropath as they use all natural remedies where as most dr.s will prescribe steroid creams to control the eczema outbreaks (which are very effective BUT are steroids, so not very nice for bubs little body)

I hope your little one is better soon!

Sarah

ps if your still bfing it could also be something your eating (I had to be on an elimination diet while bfing due to ds's allergies and severe eczema)

GoneBatty
17-05-2006, 21:28
Thanks heaps for that info,
My 2 older brothers had allergies 2 dairy products so if hereditry most likely that.
As Oliver is bottle fed i had trouble with him on normal formula, throwing it back up all the time and stuff, pretty much like reflux i guess, i tried him on soy milk and that was no better. Now ive got him on cows milk even though he is only 11 months. he has been alot better with the throwing up but not he has started to get eczema so i reckon i will definately take him to get allergy tested to find out the cause so i can eliminate what ever it is.
Hopefully make my little boy happier which will make me happier.

Anyway thanks again.....sorry i dribbled on a bit there lol:ecomcity:

jessgray
18-05-2006, 05:19
i totally agree with eczema being passed down. i had it as a young kid on my chin and then cody got it when he was really young. i think if you have allergies in your family its worth getting checked out :)
in my family
my mum has hayfever, is allergic to long haired cats
my sister gets hives from mushrooms and is asthmatic
my brother seems to be the onyl one free from allergies lol
my sister is asthmatic and gets hayfever
my brother is asthmatic
i'm allergic to horses, and dog and cat hair and hayfever and im asthmatic lol

so yeah as you can see its all passed down differently
my DS well we only know he is lactose intolerant we have to wait for the rest of list to be confirmed lol

18-05-2006, 07:16
When you speak to your gp be sure to mention that you hva etried cows milk and soy and both milks tend to upset him :barf:
Because if your ds is reacting to both they often give you a script for a special formula which can be great for bubs suffering with allergies.
My son was on one called elecare and coz it was on a script it was heaps cheap $28 for 8 tins of 400g.

My son was also a chucky baby and it turned out to be reflux (very common apparently with bubs with allergies) it went undiagnosed until we got him tested at 7 mths. There can be a long wait list for free allergy testing (we waited 5 mths, but everything was free and we had the best paed. in her field which was great!)
If you dont want to wait ask your gp for private allergy testing in your area.

Good luck and keep us posted!

Jess- I thought I read somewhere that your ds was the only one in your family with an allergy?
It sounds like your family is filled with em :D :eek: as asthma and eczema are related and asthma and allergies are connected too! poor bubba, sounds like my ds (I have heaps of allergies and asthma!)

jessgray
18-05-2006, 08:58
yeah he is the only one the one with a food allergy my bad if i said onyl one with an allergy. em and my preggy brain dotn go well with typing lol
my sister doesnt like mushrooms so her reaction to them has only happened twice about 10 years ago lol. does that make sense ?

18-05-2006, 11:24
Totally:D

Its just that alot of people dont know that asthma is linked with eczema and allergies.

cheers:D