View Full Version : Companion Swap - Christmas Craft - Sign In Here!
SilverStarfish
07-11-2008, 01:28
:goodvibes: Welcome to the 2008 Christmas Craft Swap :goodvibes:
We've created this swap to run along side the MCN one for all the talented sewers and crafty people who are interested in making & receiving items other than nappies, woolies and mama pads.
To keep the swap fair we have the following guidelines:
post date is Monday the 15th of December
your swap should be something that you could reasonably expect to retail at $30
These are the same rules as the MCN swap. They help to keep the swap fair.
Blankets, bibs, taggies, shoes, Christmas outfits, toys... anything that's Christmas & Baby/Child related :) Here's your chance to really be creative and show off your skills. While your planning and creating please keep in mind the age of your swappee's child and what's appropriate for them - esp with regards to toys and decorations on toys.
Due to the nature of the swap please be open as to what you'd like to receive and I'll do my best to match you up :goodvibes: Come back and check out this thread as other people sign up. Have a look at what they can make, and feel free you edit your wish list!
Registrations for this swap will also close next Thursday - the 13th of November. Once you're signed up, can you please also send me a PM with your name and postal address. Shortly after the 13th you will be matched up and a PM send out with the details of your swappee. If there's additional information or measurements that you'll need, PM me and I'll contact your swappee for you.
SilverStarfish
07-11-2008, 01:48
Cut, paste and fill out this form to get started:
User Name:
Name & Age of Children:
Gender/Build/Size:
I can make:
I'd like to receive:
I'd rather not receive:
Particular Likes (colours etc):
Particular Dislikes:
User Name: Becs999
Name & Age of Children: James (18 months at 15 Dec)
Gender/Build/Size: He's massive, he wears size 2 to get around his tummy but regular size 2 is too long in the legs.
I can make: Fleece sleeping bags, fleece shorts, any shorts with elasticated waist band, costumes. Dolls clothes and nappies.
I'd like to receive: Not sure, I will come back when some more people have posted to get an idea of what people can make.
I'd rather not receive: I don't need anything for a little baby (eg blankets etc)
Particular Likes (colours etc): bright colours - not blue! Sooooo sick of blue!
Particular Dislikes: nothing with skulls or creepy stuff.
iamLilysmummy
07-11-2008, 23:10
User Name: iamlilysmummy
Name & Age of Children: Lily 15 months
Gender/Build/Size: girl petite size 0-1, 10kgs
I can make: bibs, blankees, taggies, girls headbands, hair clips and hair ties, fairy tutu body suit (oooo-1)
I'd like to receive: anything for lily, FELT food. :) clothing... or something pretty.. :) not fussed
I'd rather not receive:
Particular Likes (colours etc): pink purple sky blue green, rainbows, spots, carebear, dora, dorothy the dinosaur
Particular Dislikes: boyish stuff..
SilverStarfish
07-11-2008, 23:49
User Name: Faeml
Name & Age of Children: Sarah 2.5yrs & Becky 11.5mths
Gender/Build/Size: Two girls, Sarah's spot on the 50% for everything in a size 2, Becky's on the small side, 00 - 0 clothes.
I can make: Blankies, taggies, bibs and simple girls dresses (still learning, help from Mum!). Some toys too - knitted (again, thanks Mum!) and soft material ones.
I'd like to receive: clothes or dress up things for the girls. Sarah has out grown most of her Christmas holiday things. Age appropriate toys... anything really. I love that sort of surprise :goodvibes:
I'd rather not receive: *sniff* sadly I don't need any little baby type things any more.
Particular Likes (colours etc):
Pinks looks good on Sarah, Becky's more into girly greens and purples. We like frogs.
Particular Dislikes: No skulls or creepy things.
User Name: ikis84 (Pam)
Name & Age of Children: Olivia (25 months) and Elora (9 months)
Gender/Build/Size: Girls, both kind of average! Neither of them are particularly petite though!
I can make: personalised children's books, slings (pouch, ringslings, mei tei's), toy slings for toddlers, soft soled baby shoes, fabric toy cubes, 3D patchwork cubes, softies (stuffed animals like frog and monkey), taggies, bibs. I'd really like to make either soft toys, books or slings!
I'd like to receive: felt food or any type of play food, baby hats, clothes, car seat cover, taggy.
I'd rather not receive: blankets
Particular Likes (colours etc): I love elephants, Olivia likes farm or jungle related things.
Particular Dislikes: fairy princess barbie type things, overly gendered or commercial things, skulls and crossbones.
In the OP I think you mean sign up by 13th November ;)
User Name: KaM
Name & Age of Children: Matilda 2.5yrs
Gender/Build/Size: Female, Tall and skinny, Size 1 waist but needs 2-3 for length . . top can fit 2-4 . .
I can make: Boys & Girl's Clothes - Dresses, Skirts, Pants, Shorts, Sets, Bags, Pencil/Crayon Rolls, Softies, Pram Liners, Covered Wipes Containers, wetbags, change mats, christmas stockings
I'd like to receive: Absolutely anything :D
I'd rather not receive: I dont do mama pads or jewellery .. anything else is great!
Particular Likes (colours etc): Bold colours, retro and punk type colour combos. She also loves elmo, wiggles and night garden, loves dressing up and dancing, playing outside, hats,
Particular Dislikes: Nothing to lacy or paisley really .. she isnt a real girly girl!
09-11-2008, 23:03
User Name: phineas
Name & Age of Children: Jemima will be 14 weeks at time of posting, Evie 2.5 years, Zara 4.5 years.
Gender/Build/Size: Jemima is a chubba, is 7kg now and very chubby. Evie is little and petite, she wears a size 2 in clothing. Zara wears size 5.
I can make: basic clothing like nighties, tshirts, dresses, Christmas stockings, bibs, appliqued singlets, trolley covers.
I love to make girls summer pinafores and appliqued singlets.
I'd like to receive: Anything really, clothes, shoes, sling, bibs, change mat, hats...
I'd rather not receive: baby blankets - we have enough
Particular Likes (colours etc): we love black, and rainbows, bright colours (but black too :p) ummm anything really we just love handmade stuff :smiliedance:
Particular Dislikes: we aren't too fussed on Dora etc... although the girls do like Dorothy.
Please don't feel you need to make something for all the girls, just one of them is fine :thumbsup:
SilverStarfish
09-11-2008, 23:08
In the OP I think you mean sign up by 13th November ;)
:o:o:o
Chunkydunks
09-11-2008, 23:19
User Name: chunkydunks
Name & Age of Children: Kynan aged 4
Gender/Build/Size: male/tall and skinny/fits perfectly into size 4 as long as the pants have adjustable elastic or small waist.
I can make: Any clothes (including headwear), knitted or crocheted stuff, MCNs (have girls chistmas print PUL), nursery assesories etc
I'd like to receive: preferably clothes
I'd rather not receive: baby stuff
Particular Likes (colours etc): not too fussed
Particular Dislikes: preferably no licenced stuff
Do you reckon we should post a thread with a link to this one in the craft section?
RaryGirl
10-11-2008, 16:55
User Name: Nic71
Name & Age of Children: 2 year old boy and 4 month old girl
Gender/Build/Size: DS is slender but average height, size 2 fit him comfortably, DD is a chubber, but shorter - she also wears a cloth nappy, she's moving into a size 00 now.
I can make: simple girls and boys clothing
I'd like to receive: Christmas themed clothing, sleepwear, hats for either of them. My son has a blankie (terry toweling cloth nappy - he loves the corners), so if someone wants to make a special blankie (using the terry toweling theme) he'd love that.
I'd rather not receive: nothing really
Particular Likes (colours etc): love bright colours for both of them.
Particular Dislikes: My husband likes skulls and really boyish stuff for DS ... and I like more feminine things for DD.
SilverStarfish
10-11-2008, 17:54
Do you reckon we should post a thread with a link to this one in the craft section?
I did that a few days ago :)
SilverStarfish
10-11-2008, 17:55
Huh :confused: At least I thought I did. Can't find it now...
Feel free to put up another one! :yes:
there was one there . . thats how I found this thread!
floodprincess
10-11-2008, 19:04
I found this thread through the one pasted in the craft section - thought it sounded like fun!!
User Name: floodprincess
Name & Age of Children: Tiffani (11) Monique (due Feb 09)
Gender/Build/Size: both girls. Tiffani is a tall streak of pump water (i'm 5'4 and she's just under my chin, so around 4'9 maybe)....Monique - well your guess is as good as mine :p
I can make: can make padded coathangers; I make decorated trinket boxes (can be used for jewellery, tissues, tooth keeper, curl keeper - you get the idea). I love decoupage so anything that's like a box or solid surfaces I play with; cut out names for doors is something else I can do.....I can also do hair tyes, embroidery on any cloth item...gee I'll have to think about what I can actually do.
I'd like to receive: let your creativity run free and wild (am just about to move into a brand new house and set up a real nursery for the first time - so anything goes)
I'd rather not receive: NA
Particular Likes (colours etc): anything goes
Particular Dislikes: NA
SilverStarfish
11-11-2008, 00:10
Oo yeay! So I wasn't completely loosing my mind. I DID start a thread in the craft section! :laughing:
julietv8
11-11-2008, 23:53
Oooh me me!
User Name: Julietv8
Name & Age of Children: Oliver 8 months
Gender/Build/Size: Boy, chunky, size 1
I can make: Felt/fabric baby shoes, funky pants for over MCN, jewellery, artwork, hand dyed wool, hand dyed/tie dyed clothing. I'm pretty flexible so throw something at me :)
I'd like to receive: anything! surprise me :p
I'd rather not receive: girly stuff for my son lol
Particular Likes (colours etc): Black, bright colours and prints
Particular Dislikes: pastels
SilverStarfish
14-11-2008, 21:16
I'm a bit behind the 8 ball here at the moment... so I'll endeavour to have your swappees organised this weekend :D
No worries hun! If you need a hand at all .. just ask!
SilverStarfish
15-11-2008, 20:43
Ok... thread is closed for matching!
SilverStarfish
15-11-2008, 22:54
Ok, PMs all sent out.
If I'm made some hideous error, please let me know :)
15-11-2008, 23:05
Thanks Faeml! :smiliedance:
Now to get my thinking cap on...:detective:
Thanks Faeml!!
Now I have to try to pick fabric for my person... I think I know what I am going to make!
I'm all set and ready to start!
SilverStarfish
17-11-2008, 00:56
If you have any questions for your person, or need some more information send me a PM and I'll pass it along :) There's been a couple already, so check your inboxes!
I thought I should put some more info for the person who's doing my crafty thingy. :D :wave:
If the thing is for James he is a very VERY big boy. He is 17 months old and wears size 2-3. It's very difficult to find him pants to fit as size 2-3 pants are way too long. I also only put him in elastic waist as I figure it's more comfy with a big belly. He's tall, just over the 97th percentile. I'm sure he would love any sort of toy or toy accessories too. I read somewhere in this thread that some people can make shoes (how clever you are!!). James has size 7 tooties. We would love dress up costumes too.
If it's for me I'm not very girly, there's nothing delicate about me :rolleyes: but I'm sure I'll love whatever it is. :D
Woo! I posted this arvo. Express post, so my person should get it tomorrow. I think she is in the network.
So excited :D I hope she likes it! If she doesn't I want it back, lol ;)
16-12-2008, 11:51
Mine is posted but I'm not in the express network for interstate, bummer!
I'm in the MCN swap too so eagerly awaiting my postie to see if anything is coming today :D
ETA: Ooops I bet there's another thread now, off to find that one.
16-12-2008, 13:10
My postie just arrived!! :smiliedance::smiliedance:
Now where is the reveal thread?! I can't believe what I've received, it's absolutely awesome! :D
And no, Ikis, you can't have it back :laughing:
I love it I love it I love it :cloud9: - AND it is really needed!
I will leave details till I post pics. I am about to go and take some now, but I might not be able to post them till later this evening.
Ikis you are awesome :hugs:
Yay :D Glad you received it okay!!
I've been refreshing every half hour or so hoping you would get it today! lol. Hopefully it works well for you.
16-12-2008, 13:26
It's already working well! DD2 (2.5 yo) has been in it already, she loves it! Just waiting for DD3 to wake up for a nap to put her in it :D And you know this has been quite timely, as the other day I got my ergo out as I thought DD3 might like it now..... and.... it no longer fits around my waist :o
:o:laughing:
AND it's way more comfy than the ergo too, because those crossover back straps distribute the weight and pressure way more evenly, more like a HAB!..... oh I said I was going to leave the details till I put the pics up didn't I :laughing:
:D Great! I think it is more comfy than the ergo too... now I have to make myself one, lol.
16-12-2008, 22:22
I made a reveal thread, it's here! http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?p=3344206#post3344206