View Full Version : Single Parent Living

SassyMummy
15-05-2006, 22:35
Perhaps this should go in the finances sections...but since I am technically a single mother, I thought it best to put it here and get advice straight from people in a similar situation.

I have a partner but I do not live with him (and never have), and therefore am technically single. He pays child support and I recieve Centrelink benefits for my 9.5 month old DD to be a SAHM. At the moment I live with my mother, but I am looking to move out...either with my partner or on my own.

I've figured out that if I am to recieve rent assistance, I will recieve approximately $850 a fortnight to live off of. I do not smoke, drink or own a car (though my partner is considering buying one for me when his inheritance money comes through)...and therefore, I don't have too many bills to pay. I don't have a mobile phone on a plan or anything like that.

I am wondering how much I should expect to live off of, and just how difficult it will be if I move out with just the money I get from the government (850 per fortnight). Just regular week to week stuff.

I'm just wondering about how other people in a similar situation pay their bills. For example, on average, what is a electricity bill, a phone bill, a water bill (do they exist?)? I just want to plan ahead and see if it will be manageable for me to move out.

EskimoMumma
15-05-2006, 22:47
I am sort of like you but am not single parent(use to be) and finding it hard adjusting as we are earning less atm and i REALLY have no clue how we still pay bvills and put food on the table. Lucky maybe?:confused:

Giselle
16-05-2006, 01:46
Hello....

I am about to leave my dh and have looked into these things carefully, plus I have lived on my own with very little money before....and I have lived just about everywhere, so I will try to help....

Rent depends on where you are, state wise....in NSW it can cost up to $200 for a 2 to 3 bedroom place (depends on suburb) and as little as $120 a week (again depends on suburb)....mind you, I am giving estimates based on what you can easily afford on the pension....

In QLD it is around 10% cheaper.....In Melbourne I am not sure but I think it is similar to NSW costs....In WA it is around 30% cheaper than NSW, so you can pay little rent for a nice place....in ACT it is about 5% more expensive than NSW....Adelaide is similar to QLD....as for the other states I have no idea.....

Groceries wise, with one bub, you could easily live quite well if you shop at Aldi, if there is one nearby, on around $80 a week.....Aldi rocks !!!! I am forever grateful to the person who introduced me to them, they have everything you need (no formula though) and they are soooo cheap !!!!! Other supermarket prices can, again, depend on where you live...the most would be $150 a week, the least will be $60....all of this depends on how and what you like to eat of course....

Electricity also works differently in different states, however, with just you and bub you could easily get away with expecting to pay around $150 a quarter max (unless you are in a very hot place that requires air con, if that is the case add $50) just put aside a bit of money each pay for this or if available in your State, get the Elec Comp to direct debit a bit every mth towards it, then in lowers your bill when it arrives....

You don't have a mob or any debts so you will be more than fine no matter where you go (I have 2 kids, will be SAHM on the same amt of money as you and I have a car, mob, debts, internet etc....

There is no water bill as far as I know unless you use a huge amount of the stuff (you probably won't) and all you have to worry about now is the phone bill, if you call std a lot, optus and aapt and telstra have good deals....if just local calls, go with aapt, they are the cheapest (no I don't wrk for them, never have) lol....
The phone bill can be anything from $20 a mth to $200 + a mth (depends how many calls you make)....if you are a moderate ph user, you would expect to pay $50 a mth with std....less without it....

If you need bond...google your local Housing Authority and they will supply it or help you with it (depends what state you're in)....

You should get a sole parent discount with Electricity connection and phone connection charges...

When you have a car, you should be able to get a sole parent discount on Rego too, that may depend on what state you are in though...

I smoke too.....you will live very comfortably my dear....no worries at all....feel free to pm if you need any other info....hope this helps....I just realised I'm not sure how I will afford to live ! lol...

FourAngelKisses
16-05-2006, 06:47
In regards to bills, ask your mum how much she pays for everything, add it all up and find out what it costs per year, then work it out weekly then leave that amount of money in a bank account. That way you should always have enough when a bill rolls in.

gotta go for now, will post more later.

SassyMummy
16-05-2006, 17:08
Thanks so much for the replies - especially the VERY detailed reply from Giselle: thanks for that!

I guess I'll just have to see...there's a few items of furniture and stuff I need to buy first (Like a couch, fridge, utensils etc) but I'll definately keep my eye out for cheap places.

At present, I think I can look at spending 180-200 minimum...if I want to live near a train, a shopping centre and not live in a dump (in my area anything cheaper is usually a bit scary if it's close to ammenities).

I was also wondering...are agencies nice to single mothers? I've never rented before, have no credit cards, have never had a loan etc...so I don't really have too much of a "history" for them to go on...

MissSparkle
16-05-2006, 21:13
I know someone who is a single parent and they had their bond paid buy the "bond Board". I think they r an organisation who help singles and low income earners. That might be worth looking into.

With furniture, Fantastic furniture have packages where for $1000 u get a lounge, single chair, coffee table, dining table plus chairs, lamp tables, Queen bed plus matress, TV cabinet and sometimes the deal includes a bonus TV. The packages can be paid off or paid in full.

What area do u live in Sassymummy? Im sure someone live close by who can let u know what type of rent u can expect to pay for a decent place in that area.

Giselle
17-05-2006, 14:28
No worries SM ! :)

Real estate Agencies are VERY nice to single mummies, I just found out....lol

As for furniture, if you don't mind second hand, Lifeline and the Trading post will have everything you need in excellent condition and oh sooooo cheap :)

:fingerscrossed: