View Full Version : OCT 06 Mum's - NOVEMBER
Thought I'd start a new thread for November...although, we've all been so quiet, we probably only need a new thread every quarter now :laughing:
Whoops, think I was a bit early for Lara - don't worry, I'll come back on Thursday and say it again:laughing:
Good luck anyone with bets on!!
Probably just posting to myself here, but I had one of those "how old are you again" moments with Ella this morning - she told me a Knock Knock joke!!
"knock knock mummy"
me, somewhat startled "who's there"
"a man"
"man who"
"silly man...heheheheheeheee"
It was so cute but so grown up!!
Sare are you still out there - I dreamt last night that you were in labour!!
Wow Bec, that's amazing! Not funny, but genuinely well done.
Happy birthday for tomorrow Lara!
Abbey has a new trick that's not quite so wonderful - she will stick her tounge out and waggle it side to side like a dying Jabba the Hut and look spesh
Yep I'm still here Bec. Only a week until the induction though. :laughing: at Ella's knock knock joke. That is so cute and so grown up. I wonder where she got the concept of knock knock jokes from.
LOL at Abbey's tongue waggling.
Lara's sick just in time for her birthday tomorrow. She's got another cold, but I think that it may be teething related. Either way she's sleeping well. Last night went 6.45pm to 6.45am (had to be up early for my OB appointment anyway) and has been asleep since about 11.45am this morning too.
Hope everyone is well.
I've been packing up the baby stuff. The big pram is gone, down to a cheap stroller for long shops only, for when she wants to 'ride', the booster high chair is gone since she refuses to sit in it, toys for under 3s are mostly gone as its all about tea parties and pretend....my baby, where did my baby go?!
She's decided her bed is just for napping though. She gets tucked in her bed at night, waits the 10 minutes I stay in the room, then once she's sure I'm back in the lounge I hear splat splat splat as she hurries into mummy's bed. Once there she goes straight to sleep. What she doesn't realise is that I only make her stay in her room 10 minutes so she actually remembers she is sleepy, and that I of course know what she's up to - I have Mummy-dar!
Happy Birthday to Lara!happybirthday
I hope she's feeling better Sare. Wow a week to go - are you managing to get any rest or frantically doing last minute stuff (or just frantic looking after the two you already have:laughing:)
Michelle - as long as she's sleeping somewhere at night, (and therefore you are too) that's all that matters I reckon! We were too tight to buy a booster seat for Ella at the table so she sits on two cushions. Felt so weird the first time she sat down with us though! It's funny how we miss our independence but feel sad at every "letting go" we have to do as they grow up. Mothering is a weird gig.
I keep dreaming I'm in labour or breastfeeding. Some mornings I'm surprised to wake up and not be drenched with milk or amniotic fluid (nice!) At least they're nice dreams.
diesal444
06-11-2008, 10:54
Happy Birthday
Lara!
:party::party::party:
Hope you have a terrific day turning
:babydust2: 2 :babydust2:
GeorgiaAnne
06-11-2008, 20:14
happybirthdayhappybirthdayhappybirthday
HAPPY SECOND BIRTHDAY LARA
Grr, Bec - You got me all confused, lol!!
HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO LARA for yesterday!! Hope you had a great day sweetie! :party:
Sare - how's she feeling today? More so, how are you feeling?? I can't wait to hear of the news of your new little arrival...bets are still on it being a BOY!!
Bec - Those dreams must be doing your head in, lol! How funny with Ella and the knock knock joke, lol. She's speaking very well for her age if she's saying all of that at the same time!
I've had heaps going on here, too much too mention really, so I won't go into everything.
Some exciting news though.....We've bought a block of land :smiliedance: We settle on Dec 18th, and it's all very exciting (and stressful) for us! We've been frantically searching around the different builders trying to find something we like, but there really isn't that much that grabs my attention. So, my plan this morning is to try and draw something up, and see where that will take us. Anyone have any builder recommendations?? Anyone with any hints and tips for us?
Jarvis is really starting to use his words now, although he still doesn't have that many. He has starting to say Monet - well, he says nay - and when I call him, I now get a very loud and annoyed WHAT out of him, lol!! If he knows what he wants, he has finally learnt to take me to it, and point at what it is. This makes things sooo much easier! His toiletting has been going ok, but he more often than not doesn't want to sit on the potty much anymore. I think sometimes I could probably be a bit more forceful with it too, but meh, I can't always be bothered, lol!
Monet is still an absolute little darling!! No complaints at all. She's such a delight, and she's so much in love with her big brothers. They always have her laughing and squealing with delight. She's growing so quickly though, and she's already too long for some clothes she has in 00's :eek: She's only 4 months old!! :cloud9:
M and T are the delightful little terrors they always are...emphasis on the words terrors!! DH is home this week, so today has taken T with him to work at his brother's, while M is at Kinder, then he'll take M this arvo while T is at kinder. A nice, almost peaceful day for me!
M has started orientation at school next year :smiliedance: We had one session at the end of Oct, and we have another coming up on Tuesday next week, followed by another 2 in the coming weeks. He's so very much excited about school, so that's a good thing. He's also very ready to go!
Jarv needs me a minute, so I'll go. Hope all is well with everyone,
Sarah
happybirthday:party:happybirthday
Happy 2nd Birthday Darcy!!!!
Hope you have a wonderful day.
:flowerz::sunshine::flowerz:
GeorgiaAnne
07-11-2008, 14:45
HAPPY BIRTHDAY
:smiliedance:DARCY:cloud9::cloud9:
Hey Darcy!! It's your birthday! happybirthday
Happy Birthday to you,
Happy Birthday dear DARCY!!!!
Happy Birthday to you!!
Well I'm about to head off on a work conference for two nights, about 4 hrs away from where I live no less. So keep your fingers crossed for me that no early labour dramas happen!!:yes:
It's at a resort, which is nice, but I demanded DP watch Ella yesterday afternoon so I could lock myself in the bathroom and do some serious deforestation... so I could wear swimmers! It took me over an hour, but I depilated (with cream) my bikini line (very hard when you can't actually see it:laughing:), shaved pits & legs, and then got really carried away & painted my toenails and gave my hair a treatment. Didn't I feel scented, smooth and utterly buggered after that!
Sarah - congratulations on the block purchase!! How exciting. The only thing I know about builders is that it always takes longer than you expect! Ella was also in 00's at 3-4months ( I remember cos the adorable Christmas overall I bought her in a 000 didn't fit her by Christmas when she was 3 months!) Were your boys shorties or have you just forgotten how fast they grow:p Heaps going on hey, hope it is good as well as challenging? Do feel free to come tell all if you want to!
Well better go finish the morning madness to get Ella to daycare before I have to go. Have a good three days everyone :wave:
diesal444
10-11-2008, 15:12
Hi lovely ladies :wave:
Not really anything exciting to report on our front.
We have all been pretty good.
Thanks to all for Darcy's Birthday wishes, she got very spoilt and enjoyed all the attention being on her.
We had her 2 year old MCHN appointment today and all is good.
She is a bit of a shorty which is funny coz I am quite tall for a female but DP is quite short. Made him happy that she may take after him seeing as though she doesnt look like him anymore...lol
So Sare is wednesday the day for induction??
Wow you must be getting excited about meeting you little bundle. :smiliedance:
Well we should be in the houe in approx 10 days, which is kinda exciting!
I really just cant wait to get out of this hellhole and to see all my "things" that have been in storage.
My little angel has really come along now in her talking too. In the last month we have blossomed and the conversations are hilarious :laughing:
Work is same, same. I really am jealous of people who love their job!
On a really great note, I have lost 9 kgs!!!
Its been sooooooo bl00dy hard coz i am such a pig when it comes to food and I really lack motivation when it comes to excercise.
I have approx 5 kgs to go b4 I am not considered overweight!
OKies I have to run coz princess ranga is pulling me off the chair...
Kisses to all bubbas!! :kiss:
Mary-Anne - Great news about your house and the weightloss. I'm glad Darcy enjoyed her birthday. Lara's not booked in for her 2y.o check up until late Nov, a few other things to get through first :p
Bec - I hope the work conference goes ok. At least you get to stay somewhere nice. Good on you for indulging yourself...might be the last time that you get to do that for a while.
Sarah - Congratulations on buying a block of land. Hope you find your dream home soon. The only advice I have is make sure that it has plenty of powerpoints. We added extras when we built and we still don't have enough. I am sure that between Mary-Anne, Beck and Sal (if she ever comes back to us :crying:) will have plenty of tips for you. We built with Prentice (who are owned by Glenville). They were ok, but we were lucky because my dad worked for them (as a salesman) so was able to get on people's backs for us...it made the whole process a tonne easier.
Glad to hear that all is going well with your family, even if the boys are being terror (they are delightful). Eloise can join them in that area...she has been shocking lately.
Hope everyone else is well.
Well a me update...I had my final OB appointment today. It didn't go exactly how I wanted. I was hoping that I would be all ready to have this baby (dialated etc) but no such luck. My cervix is still closed. Plus the hospital was already booked for inductions tomorrow night, so I now have to wait until Wed night to have the gel inserted and then see if labour progresses or if I will need my waters breaking on Thursday morning. On a positive note the baby has moved and is no longer posterior. Hopefully it will stay that way and not turn back to back again. So hopefully by Thursday afternoon there will be an announcement from me (well via Georgia) Or if my induction accupuncture session works tomorrow night, then it may be earlier :fingerscrossed:
Well I better go and organise something forn dinner. I'll try to hop back on here before I head off to have this bub...if not speak to you next week.
GeorgiaAnne
10-11-2008, 20:48
Woo hoo Sare, not long now :yelclap::yelclap: You sound so calm darl!
Hello??? Remember me???? Just wanted to pop on and wish you all the best Sare for the next few days. These last few are the worst!!! Can't wait to hear your news!
All good on this front. Jordan is 2 and Aleisha is now 10 1/2 months. No more regrettably on this front. I have resigned from my full-time job and got a job 5 minutes from home, working nights at the local RSL club. I love it!!! Pays the bills and keeps me out of mischief! The late nights are sometimes a bummer when the kids wake between 6:30 and 7 the next morning, but I don't have many of them.
I still read up on here every so often to check what you guys are up to, but usually by the time I read through the posts I don't have time to write anything!
Anyway I had better be off to bed and Sare I am thinking of you!
Lucy
Woo hoo Sare, not long now :yelclap::yelclap: You sound so calm darl!
Oh don't get me wrong, I am absolutely sh!tting myself. I'm just over it and am desperate to meet this baby now.
Lynette great to hear from you. Wow on Aleisha being 10.5 months already. She's adorable and Jordan's still a little spunk. Congrats on the new job.
GeorgiaAnne
11-11-2008, 20:13
Hey Lucy, great to hear from you :yes:
All is well here, i'm knackered. Started back with a personal trainer to try and turn this tummy jelly into something else!
Had a shocker tonight though, my cleaners had put dishwashing liquid into the dishwasher rather than powder so there was suds EVERYWHERE, it was like a foam party!
Luckily, Charlie is absolutely divine - here's a pic of his cheeky grin. He is laughing and cooing now and is just perfect :cloud9::cloud9:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/48205281@N00/3021133357/
Did you know tow trucks cost an obscene amount of money to go very short distances? I walked the distance in 15 minutes, yet they charged me $120. Its a conspiracy!
However, it will teach me not to have temper tantrums at my clutch to the point where bits start falling from under the console.
Abbey thought it was all very exciting though. She got to ride in a truck, then watch the car hop on for a ride of its own, then she got to ride in a taxi.
Georgia - that sud party sounds like fun! You should have let the monkeys play.
As for personal trainers...wow, that's commitment. I'm going to buy the boot camp wii game from the biggest loser chick, that will be interesting.
Sare - hope you pop soon, I remember those last few days, feeling like a whale.
The kids are here for the day and abbey is chasing them around so I'd best go and referee before someone gets hurt
GeorgiaAnne
13-11-2008, 07:17
:yelclap::yelclap: Just got this txt from Sare "Oliver James arrived at 3:19 am. He's absolutely beautiful and looks just like his big sis Eloise. He weighed in at 3.8kg." Congratlations Sare :smiliedance::smiliedance::goodvibes:
Congratulations Sare!!!:party:
and welcome to new baby Oliver. Can't wait to hear your birth story!!
Michelle, sucks about the car. How long/much to get it fixed? Hope your refereeing wasn't too strenuous! And does anyone else get the giggles referring to the "wee" or is it just me??
Hi Lucy! :wave: Nice to hear from you, and congratulations on finding the right job! Lucky we have been quiet lately so you can keep up:p
Georgia, Charlie looks like he has angel wings in that photo, how cute.
Mary-ann, glad Darcy had fun on her birthday! Just realised I haven't taken Ella for any kind of checkup in God knows how long. Do doctor's appts for daycare diseases count?? Good work with the 9kegs, you must be a whole size smaller now at least (I love that feeling, plus the justification for new clothes)
me again! Congratulations Sare!!! I love the name Oliver! How exciting for you!
Well I had better run Miss nearly 11 months is awake and Jordan is making the smilie actions at the side of the message - morning tea time for us.
Congrats Sare! Hope to see some photos very soon
BigW photos online have keyrings for 99c for 3 days if anyone is interested, a little stocking stuffer for the grandies.
diesal444
13-11-2008, 18:16
:smiliedance: Congratulations Sare and Michael on the birth of Oliver James :smiliedance:
:babydust2:Congratulations Eloise and Lara on becoming big sisters to your new little brother Oliver:babydust2:
:smiliedance: OMG!! HOW EXCITING!! :smiliedance:
Congrats Sare, Michael, Eloise and Lara on the arrival of your LITTLE MAN ~ OLIVER JAMES!!!
Sare, I just knew you were cooking a boy!! ;)
Hope all is going well, and I can't wait to see some pictures! Take care :hugs:
Awww - someone at work has just organised me a little morning tea for a farewell/baby shower (I finish work on Friday!) How nice.:) honey joys...I don't think you ever grow out of them :p
Hey Georgia, congratulations on the ripping review for the new restaurant! I got very excited for you and showed off to DP.
GeorgiaAnne
17-11-2008, 12:50
Thanks hun, we were thrilled! :yelclap: Let's hope there's more of them to come!
Wow on finishing work on Friday, it feels like you just went back :p:D just kidding luv. I love honey joys too, I made some last weekend!
Thanks for all your congratulations girls. Oliver is a little angel and the girls aboslutely love him. Eloise initially smothered him and didn't want to leave the hospital because she "love(d) Oliver", but she is much better now that we are home. Lara wasn't fussed about him at the start, but when I arrived home today she wanted to cuddle Oliver and pointed out all his body parts.
The birth went well...well as well as birthing can go. It was a much better birth experience than Lara's. I was proud of myself for not asking for an epi this time around (haven't had one with the girls either, but I begged for one with both of them).
I'll type up my birth story when I get the chance. Got to go and feed my boy. And can I just have that I haven't missed the engorged ( . ) ( . ). They're bl00dy massive.
GeorgiaAnne
17-11-2008, 21:08
Great to see you back Sare, Oliver is lovely and the girls sound smitten! :bee: Sophia also likes to point out Charlie's body parts but it invariably ends in her poking her finger in his eye and exclaiming wow, eyes! :rolleyes:
My saviour for engorged (.)(.) was disposable nappies soaked in water and then in the freezer so they're still slushy but super cold. Mmmmm, I still remember that feeling of sweet relief.
diesal444
18-11-2008, 06:23
:smiliedance: Yay Sare your back!
Congratualtions again on the birth of your son.
Bec - Yay for you on finishing up work on friday, not long now till your introducing your newest addition to your family. :baby:
So we are having handover of our house on wednesday at 3pm which is pretty exciting for us, but we not really moving till sunday apart from small boxes I can take in my car.
I have a wedding to go to on sunday so will be no help to DP, but thats probably a good thing!:yes:
Still only on 9kgs loss so far, but I have to admit I have been really lazy in the excercise department and a pig in the food department.
Darcy has been so wonderful, she had a absolute blast at my friends farm on Sunday, feeding the cows and he even took her for a ride on the tractor which she thought was terrific!
We have been getting a few temper tantrums over the smallest things lately. Its bizarre to watch them go from angel to devil in a millisecond:devil:
OKies best be off and give my ranga her brekkie
Have a great day all xxx
GeorgiaAnne
18-11-2008, 08:25
Morning ladies
Mary-anne - yay for your move, I hope it goes well. 9kgs is great - how much are you trying to lose?
I've still got 17 or 18 to go and have promised myself to have it one by march as it's dh and my 10 yr anniversary and i'd like to look respectable yk?
Here's my handsome boy
http://www.flickr.com/photos/48205281@N00/3038613517/
and again
http://www.flickr.com/photos/4820528...n/photostream/ (http://www.flickr.com/photos/48205281@N00/3038613509/in/photostream/)
and Sophia
http://www.flickr.com/photos/48205281@N00/3038613495/
MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
18-11-2008, 15:35
happybirthday to me GORGEOUS LITTLE MAN! Hope you have a wonderful day, we love you lots.
Just a quick :wave: celebrating keanus birthday today...
I have my 19 week u.s on thursday....time is flying. will catch up on here soon.
happybirthday:party:happybirthday
Happy 2nd Birthday Keanu.
Hope you had a wonderful day and got spoilt rotten.
diesal444
19-11-2008, 05:44
happybirthdayhappybirthday
Keanu
:party:
Happy 2nd Birthday Little Man
Sorry its late, for some reason I thought it was the 19th. Could I have gotton confused with your due date maybe?
Hope you guys all had a terrific day!
happybirthday Keanu - hope you and your family had a lovely day!!
Hey Georgia - the kids look gorgeous, Sophia looks so full of mischeif! There is some definite family resemblance going on with the two of them. Lol I can't believe you know what honey joys are, let alone make them - I thought they were a country town birthday party thing!!
Mary-anne, good luck witht he handover this afternoon, exciting!! I have managed to be pregnant both times DP & I have moved together, it's a great way to do things I reckon :D And yes, tanties are never over something big - the TV was turned off, her "nappy bag" is stuck on her doll's pram handle, such great tragedies...
Sare, sounds like you had a powerful birth, can't wait to read your story. Bit of inspiration for me!
Well, here I am on my last day at work - feeling a bit spooked actually as well as looking forward to it - at how much my role/identity is going to change for the next 12 months or so!
However, the good feelings are increased by the fact that I'm only staying for two hours, then off with DP to watch the new Bond movie and do our Christmas shopping :D
Hope everyone's been having a good week.
GeorgiaAnne
21-11-2008, 07:56
Yay Bec - enjoy your last day :yelclap::yelclap:
All is well here - Charlie has started to sleep a wee bit more at night which is nice. Sophia is still being quite rough with him and actually stood on his head last night :mad: poor lil man.
Just trying to plan a holiday for all of us late Jan early feb. Def. a beach one but do you think it's better to stay in a hotel therefore no washin up etc or hire a house? Not sure where to go either? any ideas ladies? We have one to Byron Bay most years but the last coupla times it has rained non-stop so I want something different I think.
GeorgiaAnne
21-11-2008, 08:34
How are you going Sare? I hope Oliver's settling into the family nicely :bee:
ETA - Just got onto Facebook and ot your message, musta been at the same time!
How are you Michelle? Hope you're not flooded in or anything?
Lol, not flooded in, or even damaged. My power hasn't even gone out. I get the storms but they've blown their worst before they get me. Its because I live in a bay area I think. My front yard does smell like old fish tank if that helps. Squishes like one too.
Abbey is so used to storms she looks up and checks for rain and that's it. She can sleep through them thundering and flashing overhead for an hour at a time. I watch the news and wonder how on earth 20km down the highway can get that damage. Of course I unplug everything and stay away from windows etc. I worry about the trees next the house falling - they're so big I get door-knocked by tree loppers on a regular basis with warnings and discount offers, but the rental agency aren't into preventative maintenance. Which is too bad, because if they fall and crush the house we will just grab our stuff and leave. Then sue. I don't think we would get hurt, just parts of the house we only use in the day, and storms always come at night.
I've been reading but not posting, it seems each time I sit down something distracts me, usually a noisy dwarf insisting I come "play house". A game in which I'm not actually involved, I just have to sit there and NOT make her people say goodbye and ride off on dinosaurs. It makes her mad. But she makes all our houseguests play too, and they aren't allowed to actually play either!
She constantly refers to herself in the 3rd person. Right now she is in the cutlery drawer, muttering "spoon dabbey, spoon mummy".
Still no progress on tt-ing. She just doesn't care. Refuses to wear a nappy and refuses to use the potty. The world is her toilet. It has got to the point where there is bum smacking involved, not that she actually cares. Oh, I'm going to have fun when she's a teenager. :hair: She knows and understands what I want, she just doesn't agree that it applies to her. After all, I've wiped up all her accidents with no complaints!
Update: We have wee in the potty! She pleaded and complained that she wanted to do it in the shower but mean mummy held out. Hopefully its the start of a dry future.
Georgia - can you get a serviced apartment? That way you get the best of both worlds. Room service, maid service, and the space and freedom to do what you want. Like renting a flat with slaves downstairs.
No idea where to go though! The most beachy holiday I would ever plan would be barrier reef snorkeling.
Bec - last day, how exciting! Everyone knows about honey joys, they're on the cornflakes packet - I have fond memories of them, and chocolate crackles. But as an adult chocolate crackles are gross, I don't know what I was thinking!
Jackie - Happy very late birthday for Ke! Did you have a nice party?
Sorry no more personals, took me all day to get this far!
Sorry I have been missing a bit...I've been reading, just finding it harder to find the time to post.
Bec - Hope you had a lovely day yesterday. Enjoy your maternity leave. Oh and I love honey joys too. Here's (http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?p=3274122#post3274122) a link to Oliver's birth story if you want top have a read.
Michelle - Great start to tting. Not even contemplating it yet.
Mary-Anne - Good luck for the move tomorrow. Hope it all goes smoothly.
Georgia - I agree with Michelle, go the serviced apartment. That's what we have done the last few times that we have been away. As for places to go...so many to choose from. It just depends on what you want to do and how much you want to spend. We went to Cairns (stayed at Trinity Beach) earlier in the year and that was lovely. Then we went to the GC and the girls loved it because of all the theme parks. I personally would love to go to WA and go to all the wineries etc around Margaret River, not really family friendly though.
Hope everyone else is well. I've got to dash. DH and Eloise are on their way back from a birthday party and then picking up Lara and going to the ILs. They are looking after the girls while dh goes to the cycling tonight at Vodafone Arena (it's the World Cup). So it's just me and Ollie at home. Bliss...
GeorgiaAnne
22-11-2008, 20:38
Ooh nice Sare, I hope you're enjoying a nice night with your sweet baby boy :)
We're kinda thinking we might stay fairly local for the hols and just go to Avoca beach which will be easy so we can just load up the car and go rather than mucking around with flights. We're going to NZ for a few days at christmas and I am soooo NOT looking forward to those flights. Not sure what will keep Sophia entertained for all those hours on the plane as it is 3 to NZ then 2 hours at the airport then another 1 and a half to where dh's family live. Maybe phenergan might keep her entertained :laughing: I don't think i'm game to try it though.
Glad you're ok Michelle!
We have had a dry weekend. No rain, and no pee on the floor! :smiliedance::smiliedance::smiliedance:
She's embraced potty-ness completely. I even tried doing a quick grocery run this afternoon without a nappy, but she got chilled by the dairy section and forgot she wasn't wearing a nappy. Ok, I kind of rushed that step. But she obligingly did a wee before we left, and we were only gone 20 minutes!
One thing with the potty though, she has a rash on her bum where the potty inner edge is. I can't think why she would get that, its not from pee, I wash it after each pee...any ideas? Maybe she's just a delicate princess at both ends :o
Georgia - good plan staying local. Holidays shouldn't be effort. The flight to NZ doesn't sound too bad, Sophia will charm the entire cabin and be busy saying inappropriate things.
Sare - I had a read through Ollie's birth story, sounds like you did really well, DH too, even with his loving burn.
Are we doing a secret santa this year or are we over it? (Michelle doesn't feel like volunteering and thinks Abbey has too many toys)
I am finally back online! Hope you are all well. Sare congratulations on the arrival of Oliver - I knew you would have a boy!!
Things going OK here. House is good. Telstra was a complete pain in the a so that is why we took so long to get everything organised.
We have had a few dramas - have to get some shoddy concrete ripped up and the concretor has done a runner on us. Things are moving a bit slower than I hoped but getting there.
I am so over being pregnant - been getting very tired. Stressing over the house and work has not helped!
Oh and we are retrenching people at work which will most lilkely include me so all fun.
Well I have to run but will try to catch up and get on over the next few days.
MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
26-11-2008, 21:02
hi everyone...
every time i attempt to post tonight bubhub freezez...argh!
i have been off line for a bit...so hard to catch up on things, but congrats are on Oliver...gorgeous name!!!
i am well...a little sad :crying: MIL left yest and i am finding it really really hard...was wonderful having her here...having support, seeing keanu with her - he did not forget her and loved having her here...now when i ask where grandma is he says 'sleeps' meaning she is asleep...so adorable...he also says it about his aunty also...as she stayed for a few nights over the weekend as she was working here - and he loved having her here too....
let's hope we move back in jan - there is a possibility of it happening...so fingers crossed big time.
keanu is saying new words every day - coming along in leaps and bounds.
I am coming up to 20 weeks - hasn't that flown!!! scarey!!!
a bit down at the moment, as want to go back to QLD!!!! the pregnancy hormones don't help...as usual we will get thru it - DP is wonderful!!!! i am sooo lucky...he is a huge support.
can't believe keanu is 2...it is so scarey how fast time goes.
anyway enuf :ecomcity: from me...hope everyone is well and safe...and ready for the xmas season!!!
love to all
Only three weeks to go now, and I'm feeling alternatively exhausted, full of energy, apprehensive, excited, sore and unable to settle to anything!!
Nesting is insane. I spent all day Wed stocking the freezer with meals and overdid it, to the point I was actually shaking and feeling chilled in the (hot, muggy) evening! So I spent most of Thurs on the lounge:D
whoops been interrupted by poo (oh bring on toilet training!)
diesal444
02-12-2008, 06:43
Hi ladies :wave:
I dont have any time to do a proper post as I have to pick my mum up from the airport in 20 mins.
We moved into our house on the 23rd and I have been without internet until yesterday. I must be pretty sad coz I really missed it and felt very disconnected from the world...:laughing:
I will do a proper post soon, have got lots of people coming today at differentt times to measure my windowns for blinds, in between all the I am donating blood and doing santa pics....
Have a great day all
Kisses to all new bubs and foot rubs to all pregger ladies!! :hugs:
Hello girls,
Oh my, the hormones are going mad here. In the mornings I feel capable of anything, then Ella refuses to have a daytime nap, so we're both tired and cranky in the afternoon and I spend all afternoon trying to control my anger!:hissy: It's insane!
We had a terrific morning & lunch, playgroup then picnic in the park with some friends - but here we are in the usual afternoon cranks nonetheless. But I can't make her sleep so what's to be done??
Mary-anne, thanks for the foot rub, wish it was more than virtual! Oh well getting my hair cut and coloured on Thursday evening (my doula is coming to take some "family with bump" pics on Sat so all must look nice!) Glad you are in and reconnected - not sad at all, I feel totally isolated from the world without the Net - actually I'm also hating not having a mobile! Big nerd yuppie.
Jackie - hope you have cheered up and not missing the MIL so much now. Good luck with moving back too.. if you find out in Jan, not long to go anyway.
Beck - how are you feeling today? It's getting close for the Dec bubbas!
Michelle - I love SS's but would not trust myself to organise anything beyond a birth ATM. Being silly season there is lots of stuff coming up, and I'm sure I'm going to forget something (or many things) amongst the jumble of play dates, parties and appointments! Glad you didn't get washed out with the storms too. I still love choc crackles BTW. I make them for my brother every Chrissy (not this year though...)
Sare - wow that was a very efficient sounding birth!! Great job! Congrats for getting what you wanted. Going to make honey joys for the daycare chrissy party on Friday... maybe I will make a double batch, wouldn't like anyone to miss out (like me and DP for example:D)
That had better do for now or I'll be blathering vaguely on here all afternoon:laughing:
I fink this group has lost most of its peeples, its very sad. I'll have to start posting under fake names to keep it going.
Mary-anne - do you take Darcy along with you to give blood? I've considered taking Abbey with me but she might be too helpful.
turns out toilet training isn't all that great after all. Sure she does things in the potty and I dont have to wash nappies anymore, but its a lot of effort and grosses to do TT too. Abbey has decided she will only go on the 'big potty', which is all well and good, but she wont get off it! Wants to sit there for ages wasting toilet paper and banging the door and the toilet seat and running her hands over everything. I have to confiscate the tp as soon as i put her on the seat, and ration it for 'giney pat pats' and often distract her off with promises of something more fun.
And of course, since potty is a great game she runs down there and demands it because wow she found another millimeter of pee in her bladder.
She's naked all day in this heat, and hasn't quite worked out that clothes aren't as absorbent as nappies, so I've still been putting a nappy on to go out. She just doesn't think about potty if she's wearing pants, lets it all out.
Bec - 3 weeks to go means lie down and take a nap because its the last one you'll have, not cook a bazillion meals! Make sure hubby doesn't start on those meals before you go!
Beck - poo about the retrenchments. If you get included I hope you get a nice payout to snuggle. Sorry to hear about the dodgy contractor, hopefully very soon you will be able to leave all those worries behind you and make a lovely home.
GeorgiaAnne
03-12-2008, 08:28
turns out toilet training isn't all that great after all. Sure she does things in the potty and I dont have to wash nappies anymore, but its a lot of effort and grosses to do TT too. Abbey has decided she will only go on the 'big potty', which is all well and good, but she wont get off it! Wants to sit there for ages wasting toilet paper and banging the door and the toilet seat and running her hands over everything. I have to confiscate the tp as soon as i put her on the seat, and ration it for 'giney pat pats' and often distract her off with promises of something more fun.
And of course, since potty is a great game she runs down there and demands it because wow she found another millimeter of pee in her bladder.
Oh man, that sounds VERY familiar *sigh*
Yeah, we are a bit slow in here these days. All is well here, Charlie has started to do some 7-8 hour stretches of sleep which is really nice. I just can't believe it's 3 weeks til Christmas - every year I think i'm less prepared than ever. We're going to NZ this year and oin to have a nice beachy holiday end of Jan which I can't wait for - it's been a big year.
Bec - How exciting...only 3 weeks to go, well less than that now. Hope you get some rest time before the big day.
I hear you on the avoidance of day sleeps. In fact Lara despises sleep whether it be day or night. She's driving me crazy at the moment because she's so overtired and is really starting to lash out physically and verbally. Last night she chucked the biggest tantrum because we made her wear a cardigan out to dinner. She screamed, yelled, smacked, pushed, slammed her bedroom door :eek:. It took about 15mins to settle her. Then she's fine. Today she hasn't been much better.
Georgia - You deserve your holiday after your busy year. Have fun Christmas shopping...I'm so glad mine's almost done (3 more pressies to buy)
Michelle - Don't stress about the tt'ing, Abbey will get there eventually. As I have said before, I won't be trying for ages after the hard time I had with Eloise. Plus Lara hasn't shown any real signs that she's ready.
It's probably best to give the SS a miss, seeing that there's only about 3 of us that would be in it.
Mary- Anne - Glad you are finally in your new house. You'll have to post some pictures on Facebook.
Jackie - Wow on hitting 20 weeks already that has gone fast.
Beck - What a PITA about the concrete. Do you want to be retrenched? A big payout would be appealing to me...but I guess I'd eventually have top find another job.
How's Kayley going? Does she understand that you're having anothger baby in a few weeks?
All's ok here. Oliver is divine, such a placid little boy. He's doing well with his sleeping (touch wood) and has already had a few longer stretches of sleep at night. He generally only wakes once at night for a feed, but the only downer is he is such a slow feeder that it takes well over an hour. The girls are well, just Lara driving me mad with her "no mummy" whenever I want her to do anything and then smacking me when I try to get her to do it. Eloise has been quite good, just her usual slow self though...not in a rush to do anything, so much like her daddy.
Hope you are all well...I'm off to have some dinner(finally...I'm starving)
GeorgiaAnne
03-12-2008, 20:25
just Lara driving me mad with her "no mummy" whenever I want her to do anything and then smacking me when I try to get her to do it.
Oh Sare, I think she might be Sophia's lil twin the naughty wee munchkins.
If I didn't love her so much, I don't know what I'd do :hair: As horrible as it is for you to be going through it, I'm glad I'm not the only one who has a jeckyll and hyde child.
diesal444
04-12-2008, 07:03
Morning everyone :wave:
Bec - So only 3 weeks to go, you must be so bl00dy excited. Enjoy getting your hair cut and coloured tonight. Great idea with family and bump pics.
Michelle - Oh No! The is no way known I would take Darcy along to give blood on my own. DP works night shift so I make the appointment to give blood when he will be home. Just imagine all the cords/buttons/people it would all be too much for her and there is no amount of "NO'S" in the world that would stop her.
Georgia - How awesome Charlie sleeping 7-8 hour stretches. Thats terrific! How on earth do you have a new baby, toilet train a 2 year old and work??.... Please tell me your secret:laughing:
Sare - Lara sounds like a cliche little 2 year old. You sure sound like your hands are full. I have such admiration for mum's like you who are so patient and calm. What a good boy Oliver is sleeping so nicely for mummy and daddy.
You are super organised having chrissy presents nearly all done :yelclap:
Well Darcy has been good, she really knows how to push my buttons if she doesnt get her own way. My "favourite" is throwing herself on the floor. Not screaming or crying, but just laying there. Especially when we are out and about, and for no reason.
I cant belive I have to go back to work on Monday, those 3 weeks went so fast.
On a great note, my roster changed and I now have xmas day off!!!!!!!!!!!
I am so pleased coz my dad is coming down to spend chrissy with us.
Last night I bought some great bargains for the house, a Dishwasher and a big T.V.
OKies I have to run, the boss wants her brekkie :yes:
MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
04-12-2008, 07:06
:wave: just a quick hello...i have been awake sine 4.30am!!!!!
am going to jump back into bed til ke wakes up!
all is well here....am feeling a lot better thanks!! still haven't got a yes or no on the brisbane move in January...so fingers are still :fingerscrossed: big time!!
keanu is great.....talking heaps!!! i went on a shopping spreee yesty...got bubs a cot mobile...think we have everything now except 2 chest of drawers and a cot mattress :)
can't wait to start the room.
A query - i am actually going to put keanu into the spare/computer room as it is better sized/shaped for all his toys...i am planning on doing it just before xmas (hoping we find out about the move by then)....that way i can get gim use to his new room....if i leave him in his room, there is no where for his toys due to the shape of his room/window etc....so has anyone done this...and how do you go? andy advice...thanks!
bubs is moving now and DP has felt he/she kick a cupla times!! it was awesum the first time....his face lit up! :)
mary - anne - how exciting that your dad is coming for xmas...we have FIL coming and can't wait!!!!!!!
i got DP a steel egg flip and pizza cutter yestyerday lol...he is also getting a PS3....so i wont be buying much else from keanu...he loves making pizza and HATES the pastic egg flips - always complaining lol!
anyway had better run, sorry for no personals and it being about 'me, me, me'
take care xxx
Abbey doesnt say 'no mummy', but she does often command me to "STOP SINGING!"
She is getting Little People for xmas, a whole horde of them. I've been buying them on ebay for the past couple months, and so has mum. Come xmas morning she will find a whole city set up under the tree (unwrapped) that I have got for absolute bargain prices. I'm going to give the double ups to my nephew who is almost abbeys age but my SIL has something against second hand toys so I can't guarantee he will get to keep them. Crazy if you ask me.
I take Abbey with me most places - she sat on my lap at the beauticians during eyebrow waxes so she doesnt get busy in their drawers, she watches and chats away about lady painting mummy's eyebrows, and she's been to the dentist with me, and the optometrist...the key is usually LOLLYPOPS. A chupa chup is a valuable thing when mummy needs her attention elsewhere. I've been considering taking her along for a pap smear but not sure I want her to see people putting things in that end, lest she get ideas.
Yay chatting on our thread again! So nice to see.
Michelle that is such a great idea for Christmas morning, she will be so excited!! That's weird about the secondhand stuff - Ella would be running round in the nuddy because I buy all her clothes off Ebay or from Vinnies! Also she loves a good garage sale - I park her in front of the inevitable toys to pick one while I look around. I consider it "environmentally friendly" rather than "mummy is very tight with money sometimes" :laughing:
Ella tells me "no singing" sometimes too, always makes me very sad as she used to be my best audience, applauding after every song!
Actually it's me more likely to dig into the freezer, I made stuffed baked potatoes and find myself thinking about them every day for lunch...
Jackie - did Keanu wake up the instant you hit the bed? That's what Ella would do! Re the move - we told Ella it was her new "big" room just for her, she thought it was exciting.
Mary-anne, if Ella knows she is in trouble she'll throw herself on the floor, all curled up - as if we're about to start beating her! Good work getting Chrissy day off. People keep asking what we're doing for Christmas and I say...ummm...no idea! All the pressies are done, so Santa will visit Ella at least (and Mummy and Daddy have something to open too!) If I'm not in hospital, we'll have a turkey breast in the oven at least, and I will take Ella to Christmas Eve mass. DP knows how to make roast vegies and the breasts have cooking instructions on the box!
Sare - I am getting much more rest than usual, it's just interspersed with frantic activity! And after coming on here whinging, Ella has had a good nap the last two days, so maybe it's just getting used to the routine being at home rather than daycare? Wow dinner at 8.26 - I would have fainted by then!
Speaking of dinner - very excited about going out to a lovely restaurant with some of my mum's group tonght, yay! Going to wear my one nice maternity dress (bought it ex rental for $30, it's stretch lace) with my vintage rhinestones. I love frocking up, even when it's like clothing the front end of a taxi ATM:laughing:
Um you know how I said expect a bfp from me by the end of the year? Well I just barely made it :bfp:
Little bugger feels sticky too, due in August
Jackie - no advice here, Abbey has moved back into my bed with all the overnight visitors we've been having. She still calls it her bed and her room, just doesn't do anything in there other than jump on the bed and hide in the cupboard!
mary-Anne - I hear you on the public peaceful protesting. Abbey does it too, usually on the most disgusting floor she can find. I get really annoyed and try and pull her back up but it usually ends up with my picking her up and flinging her over my shoulder until she gets too squirmy and then she's open to distraction or continuing what we were doing. She's just pulling power trips, I can understand why people keep using prams well past age 4!
I might think twice about second hand soft toys but hard plastic that can be washed, well why on earth not? The great thing about little people is that they float when I do the dishes, they swim the paddling pool, splash in the shower...they're very busy, but very clean!
:smiliedance::smiliedance::smiliedance:
Congratulations Michelle.
Hope you have a happy and healty 8 and a bit months.
:sunshine::cloud9::sunshine:
diesal444
05-12-2008, 17:08
:eek::eek::eek:
Congratulations Michelle on your :bfp:
How bl00dy exciting for you! What a great big sister Abbey will make.:smiliedance:
Ok so maybe I should bow gracefully out of this thread.... :o
Yay Michelle! Congratulations!! :smiliedance:
OMFG!!! CONGRATULATIONS MICHELLE!!!! :smiliedance:
I've not been on in soooo long, I know!! I'm going to have to come back as my little princess is having a hard time getting to sleep, but had to respond to the goss, lol!!
GeorgiaAnne
06-12-2008, 16:31
YAY CONGRATULATIONS MICHELLE :smiliedance::smiliedance:
AND YIPEE FOR ABBEY HAVING A LITTLE BROTHER OR SISTER!!:goodvibes::goodvibes:
MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
06-12-2008, 21:00
YAY!!! How exciting Michelle! Time will fly trust me!!!!
I am soe xcited for you :smiliedance:
Lol Michelle, I think we are all hanging round looking for more details - like how are you feeling, does your family know yet etc??
Ah the luxury of being toddlerless for a day! Ella is in daycare today and I am loving it. DP gave me $50 last night and said "for God's sake go spend some money on yourself" which is so nice, I often wonder if he notices how any "spending money" I have ends up going to groceries, stuff for the kids etc! So I have some new mascara and lavender oil, and a big box of Darrel Lea:D
It's a perfect day for lounging here too, warm but with a beautiful cool breeze drifting through the house.
Speaking of washable toys, does anyone have problems with bath toys getting mouldy? How do you clean them?
Anyway - off to continue lounging. Might read for a while now:p
lol, more details? My SIL knows, as does my brother. And people on bubhub, but that doesn't count as spilling the beans. Mum and everyone will be visiting on the 17th so I will tell them then. I'm going to give mum a chance to sniff it out on her own first though.
I've been exhausted of course, sore bbs and alternating between starving and wanting nothing to do with food.
Abbey is happy that mummy rests a lot lately, she likes to sit on me and climb and make mummy say get off my tumtum. I'm going to have to tell her about the baby soon just to keep it safe! Its going to be a long wait for her though!
I haven't told Owen yet as he hasn't visited for a few weeks, but he was supportive during the donor process so he should be fine. We've agreed he will be a father figure (as much as he is for Abbey anyway), so baby won't be missing out.
Abbey is sick, kinda, sorta maybe. She had a really hot fever last night, even though she felt fine, and again today. If she isn't temping normally tomorrow morning we will go see the doc, in the meantime its nakeds, fluids, and paracetamol/nurofen. If she was grumpy or sick I might know what to do, but general hotness is just weird.
Bec - what kind of bath toys? If they're softy ones you could put them through the washing machine with some bleach. Abbey's teddies go for rides when she misses the potty!
Congratualtions Michelle - that is great news. It will go quickly even though it seems so far away.
I am getting a bit nervous with it all now. Finished up work yesterday so now it is just waiting.....
Kayley has been really clingly lately and wont stay in bed unless we stay in the room with her - I have heard this sometimes happens when expecting a new baby. She isn't sleeping much during the day without much difficulty which is a bit painful given the bubs is nearly here.
I think we have agreed on a name which is good.
Well I have to run and do a bit of clenaing. Take care everyone.
MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
11-12-2008, 20:28
michelle - am sooo excited for you!!
so just to clarify do Abbey and the new bub have the same sperm donor - and is he a friend? sorry for the questions - you don't need to answer them and sorry if i have offended you in anyway? i just don't know the story :) am so very excited tho! and i bet you must be!!!!
all good here. ke moved into his new room last night - did fine...im coming up to 22weeks and feeling it...feeling the difference it makes having a belly - trying to lift a toddler having a tanty...fun fun.
ke is doing great tho, talking non top...blooming really!! can't wait for :xmastree: so very exciting!
still hoping on a transfer back to brissy...but all is well and we are trying to stay happy...and positive. lol. hard as it is somedays!
got to run
Jackie - when do you find out whether you will be coming back to Brisbane?
Abbey's daddy is a real daddy, made the old fashioned way during a long term relationship. Mr Donor is an anonymous import. Its okay to ask questions, I don't mind.
Glad Ke didn't mind his new room, did you decorate it nicely?
Abbey still claims ownership of her room and bed but rarely goes in there. Its more a tragically decorated guest room at the moment!
Beck - Kayley may be finishing with day naps, at a very inconvenient time for you of course. Abbey rarely has a day nap now, throws everything out when she does though.
Have you got your bags packed and a baby sitter on speed dial?
Abbey's fever stayed with her for 4 days straight. No idea why, I took her to the doc again yesterday and still no bacterial reason, so just a persistent viral thing. But she didn't get fever last night and we both slept well, such a relief. I finally went and bought an ear thermometer too, since she won't let me do arm temps anymore.
I'm wavering between exhausted and hyper. Dad was here overnight and I didn't say anything, waiting until everyone is here next week, but I'm sure he thought I was chronically sleep deprived and pmsing.
Saw the gp to arrange my shared care, its a new doctor, a good one recommended to me. A good 25 minute drive away, but my SIL lives around the corner and can babysit abbey during appointments. He seems very interested and attentive, so I'm happy with that.
Preggo brain seems to have kicked in nice and early too. I took Abbey out to the shops with her shoes on the wrong feet and didn't notice for ages, not until she was trying to take them off. Mummy is special.
GeorgiaAnne
12-12-2008, 13:26
Hi chicks
Michelle - How exciting to tell all your family! How do you think your mum will know? Strangely, both times my mum has suggested I buy a HPT due to random complaints from me which I didn't quite register IYKWIM? re: the donor, how much do you get to find out about them?
Jac - That's lovely about Ke talking more. Sophia was the same and suddenly the talking just clicked.
Beck - I hope Kayley settles back to day sleeps, you really need it when you've 2 kids. How exciting - not long now luvvy!
Bec - How are you going poppet? Looking forward to hearing your news soon! Enjoy your last few days of quiet!
Sare - How's your gang going? Must be time for a few more pics of Oliver :bee:
Me: Crazy busy atm but loving it all. The christmas rush only really started last week due to all this financial sh!te so we're taking what we can. Still haven't done any Christmas shopping yet? What are you all getting the girls?
Hi again...been reading, but really don't have much to post. Life revolves around feeding, changing nappies and dealing with the ever growing problem of Lara.
Michelle - Good on you for hanging out to tell your family. lol at preggy brain and Abbey's shoes...I am claiming all my moments of stupidity on sleep deprivation.
I'm glad Abbey's feeling better. I've got a feeling that a lot of Lara's issues at the moment stem from the fact that she is getting her 2 yr old molars. They are taking ages to come through...oh and the fact that she's getting no where near enough sleep.
Georgia - Are you and youyr dh working Christmas day? That would be a big bummer about working in hospitality, that the holidays are not for you anymore. My brother is a chef and he has to work Christmas day. This year, with everything that has happened with Grandma and her stroke and dad with his problems too, we have decided to go to the restaurant where he works for the last sitting and his bosses have told him he can join us for lunch. Then all the relos are coming back to our place for pressies and drinks...should be fun.
I've finished my Chrissie shopping. I got Lara lots of little things (too much to be honest). Her big pressie was one of those kids digital cameras. She loves trying to get her hands on my camera, so I think she'll have a blast. She's mad on The Fairies so I got her some Fairies sunglasses and fridge magnets oh and an Upsy Daisy doll from that stupid show that she loves and I hate.
Jackie - Lara did the same with her talking...now we can't shut her up :laughing:
When will you hear about the move back to Brisbane?
Beck - Wow not long now. It's normal to feel nervous about labour/delivery/having a newborn, because you know what to expect, but believe me having been through it 3 times, each one has been so different.
Can't wait to hear what name you have chosen.
Bec - Hope you enjoyed your Darryl Lea :D
re the mouldy bath toys, I soaked them in the milton antibacterial solution. It helped somewhat, but I ended up throwing out a few because they had all that yucky gungey black stuff that squirts out when you squeeze them.
How are you feeling? I'm getting all excited for you. Can't wait to hear all about your new arrival.
Oooh I got a message from Sal the other day, they are in their house. She is having problems with telstra and may not be able to get a ph connection for the house until March, so no internet connection. She did ask if us Melb girls wanted to have a catch up sometime soon.
Well as I said not much going on here apart from the busy-ness of everyday life. Oliver's a dream baby...he still screams, gets impatient and wakes a couple of times a night for a feed, but he is so placid that everything seems so manageable. It's a nice change after all the issues we had with Lara. Speaking of whom...she is driving us mad. She is so defiant. We are having real issues with her lashing out. She kicks, pushes, headbutts, pulls hair and pinches when she can't get her own way. I really am at a loss with what to do with her. Any suggestions??? It might have a bit to do with Oliver's arrival, but she has always been rough. On the other hand Eloise has been great. She's helpful and really wants to the right thing.
As for me...chocolate and I have become far too friendly again and my thighs (and pretty much all other body parts aren't liking it). I am back to where I was pre-sureslim...huge. I am giving myself up to New Years to eat what I want and then go back on the program with the hope of losing it all again. Hopefully as there's no more pregnancies in my future, I'll be able to keep it of. Speaking of no more pregnancies...how does dh go about getting the snip? Just through our gp or to a vasectomy clinic? Hmmm something to think about in the new year (don't worry there's no bd'ing happening here...too exhausted :laughing:)
It will probably be a busy weekend for us. As well the normal things we have on weekends, Dh has his work Christmas function and for the first time since he has been there (5.5yrs), they are doing a family day. They've supposedly got a jumping castle, pony rides, rides, Santa visiting and they are doing a sit down lunch. So the first time ever, I think I will enjoy one of his work functions. I know the girls will have a ball. Plus we are having some professional photos taken of Oliver. I replied to a post on here in the model wanted section for a photographer who wanted to take some photos of a newborn for her website. I replied and she is coming here tom afternoon. It will be great to get some photos of him done at such a young age (we never did with the girls)
Well take care...hope you all have a great weekend. My goodness this looks like it has been a huge post :ecomcity:
GeorgiaAnne
12-12-2008, 22:55
wow, mega post Sare!
Oh, poor you with Lara. We seemed to have turned a small corner with Sophia as she hasn't hit, kicked, slapped or pinched Charlie or I for nearly a week. The only thing that works for us is time out, or the threat of time out. Does she respond to discipline? I was thinking about a camera for her as well as she loves my one. Sometimes I have to delete like 50-60 photos on it :hair:
re: Christmas, both restaurants are closed 25-28 dec so we're off to NZ for DH's family. That's nice that your bro will be able to join you for lunch and also that no-one will have to clean up :thumbsup: Nice choice!
Feeling quite flat today, also some ongoing low level period pain (you know the "grinding/achy" one rather than the "sharp" one?) so I think things are getting warmed up down there. Either that or there are some elbows in weird places! V tired and a bit cross with DP, but it's early on Sat he has plenty of time to redeem himself!
Georgia - going fine generally, just starting to get really tired. Actually had a weird night last night, odd random pains and discomfort. But was that because I was waking up more waiting for DP to get home, and otherwise I would have slept through it?:confused: Yep all the Christmas shopping is done - not the normal state of affairs but thought I might be too busy the week before Christmas this year! Ella's big pressies are a big yellow truck with a hard hat, and a little pool. Also some stocking stuffers and a couple of books. Being as she gets presents from all her uncles & aunts, plus she's getting a wooden toy stove and dolls house from various grandparents... we didn't feel like buying much else!
Sare - oh boy sleeps are a bit of a battle here too. She is still sleeping fine at night (so nothing to complain about really!) but is refusing to nap 2 out of 3 days - which means a total personality change in the afternoons. I seriously worry if I'm that much of a nightmare without enough sleep! (today, I wouldn't be surprised....) I was going to say the same thing as Georgia - how does she respond to time outs? We have a naughty chair that seems to work as an oddly effective threat. I have backed right off on the rousing and smacking as it didn't take her long to do it back to me!
Jackie - re lifting a screaming toddler - I find the rage gives me amazing strength:laughing:
Michelle - good idea giving mum a chance to sniff it out all by herself! My mum said this time she suspected but being as she was expecting us to announce an engagement rather than a baby first time around she had NO idea! Lol at your dad. Isn't it funny how the menfolk always assume PMS rather than pregnancy? So glad Abbey's fever is gone. They're such a worry as there's kind of nothing you can do but watch worriedly, wondering what's wrong and if you're missing something!
Thanks for the tips on toy washing. Will give bleach a go and if that doesn't work, they may have to make a sneak trip to the recycling bin to be followed by some new ones.
Off to eat some carrot and apple cake. Very nutritious. Well at least it's home made (can't seem to stop cooking/shopping like I'm bunkering down for the winter or something)
Kayley is exactly the same as some of your little darlings. She has pretty much given up day sleeps without a real fight and gets very nasty when she is tired in the afternoons (hitting, pulling, pinching etc) - mainly directed at me but a bit worried when the bubs comes. Sometimes we put her in her booster seat as she will not stay in a naughty chair but seems to have no effect to be honest.
She is also very clingy lately and going backwards in her sleeping. She will not stay in bed alone at night so we have been stuck in there until she falls asleep then she has been waking at night screaming out for me. I am not sleeping well anyway but I am a bit worried and thinking about what is the best way to combat this as it appears to be forming a habit - after her being such a good sleeper for so long.
She is also very mummy focused at the moment.....
Well as for me just waiting now - have had enough really and just hope not for a Christmas bub. Only 3 weeks to go.
Bec - you must be looking forward to meeting your new arrival very soon!! Only a week to go until you are due.
Anyway I have to go. Take care everyone.
SalTheGal
16-12-2008, 20:33
Well hello ladies!!! Guess what......I'm back. :smiliedance: :smiliedance: :smiliedance:
Did you miss me?!?
Cause I sure missed all of you! :hugs: (seriously I really really did, DH got tired of the amount of times I said I wished I had my BH girls to vent to!)
I have quickly skimmed the previous posts and as Sare mentioned I have been having a b@st@rd of a time with Telstra, we have a temporary phone line, and I am now on a wireless modem with a boosted aerial to get next g service to connect to internet....it is way more expensive that normal but hopefully we will get compensated for some of it when our proper line comes in.
Firstly I have to say a big congrats to Michelle- so glad you got your BFP, just a pity you didn't get it one month earlier so that we could be sharing due in months!!!
Yep I finally got mine too- due 29 july..funnily enough I fell the month my GP said I would- after one full cycle out of my old job, so the stress could have been playing a part in my troubles.
So far I have been fine, in fact almost too fine and I am constantly worried it isn't real- no more tired than usual (I am always tired!) and no realy sickness to speak of, have lost interest in most food which is nice for keeping the weight off and have developed a massive thirst.
Interestingly enough the only thing that makes me feel slightly pregnant is my total lack of patience with Nedd these days- perhaps a hormonal thing?
So we are in our house- its lovely, BIG, so much bloddy floor to clean when the outside is surrounded by dirt which gets traipsed inside. Still heaps to do expecially outside, but its a work in progress. Nedd loves it- it has become his own personal race track with his indoor trike and I love that I can actually lose him for half an hour and he isn't under my feet all the time.
So Nedd- is still his charming self, though some of the terrible twos is starting to peek through, I know I don't have it nearly as bad as I could though....and I think a lot of it is due to my temper rather than his. He is a chatter box, hoenstly I look forward to DH getting home so I can escape for 5mins of silence. He loves dancing and singing- his fave right now is the hokey pokey, actions and all- it is hilairous! He is a wonderfully caring soul, full of cuddles and kisses and if we are sad he is so distressed, I banged my head the other day and he stood there with me for a good few mintues kissing my head and rubbing it better until he was sure I was ok....bless him!
He is getting very bossy- but he does it so sweetly that we can't help but giggle...the poor dog bears a fair whack of it- its no toby this and no toby that! We also get firm instructions when we are driving- two hands on the wheel, 'be careful mummy', 'drive very fast mummy', watch out for the car/truck etc. He respnds really well to verbal discipline, alas if a smack is threatened and he wants to keep doing the activity he is quite happy to put his hand out for the smack to continue...its like he wieghs up the enjoyment of the crime versus the pain of the punishment...but for the most part we can reason with him really well. Today was a classic- he was scuffing his dirty shoes on the back seat of the car, and I asked him to stop- didn't happen, so I said "would you like it is I made your things dirty?", "no mummy", "then stop making my car dirty", "ok sorry mummy"!!! It was classic- is this child really 2?!? He understands reason way too well!
Eating is a nightmare- any help would be great! He scoffs his meat and then will sometimes eat carrots but that is it...he even gags on other veg if we make him try it. Bribery of dessert or chocolate does nothing- he is quite happy to go without if that means he doesn't have to eat dinner either. And leaving him sitting there- well we have had a 25min stand off once to get him to eat a peice of broccoli- he did it, but I was so over it after 25mins of him whinging to get down! I am finding it so so frustrating!
We have moved him into a big bed- which went well for the first week or so, now it is an hour or more long struggle to try and keep him in, he just keeps getting up- so he is not getting to sleep till after 9pm which is terrible. He has the last few nights actually been asking to go back into his cot, so we have been letting him choose where he wants to sleep, he sleeps much better in his cot so it suits me.
Day sleeps he is still very entrenched in- sleeps for atleast 2hrs most days and happily goes off...possibly due to him not getting to sleep till late thought.
TT we are halfheartedly talking about, he gets heaps of nappy off time, but this just means it goes on the floor, he also has some jocks which he loves to wear, and gets very distressed when he inevitably wees in them, so I think when we bite the bullet he will go into jocks full time so that he learns to avoid peeing his pants.
Um, gosh not sure what else to tell you all... I think this has probably been long enough anyway!
I am so glad to be back, and hope I can help to boost the chatter a bit!! :ecomcity:
Oh and Bec, if you are still around goodluck, can't wait to hear how you go, and I love the name Meg, and my mum is Margeret so I go for that too!
GeorgiaAnne
16-12-2008, 20:43
:smiliedance::smiliedance: Sal, that's such wonderful news. I was just thinking about you today and wondering how you are.
Lots of lovely news about Nedd, he sounds like such an angel, sweet boy, you are very lucky! :hugs:
Great to have you back - and Congratulations again! :goodvibes:
:yelclap: Welcome back Sal...I missed you and all the stories of your gorgeous boy. Glad he's going so well.
A huge congratulations on your BFP :smiliedance: ...that's wonderful news. Hope the next 7 months go smoothly and quickly for you. :goodvibes:
I'll pop back on tomorrow. Ollie's almost finished his feed, so I'm off to bed. Night :sleeping:
diesal444
17-12-2008, 06:30
:yelclap: Congratulations Sal on your :bfp:
You guys must be over the moon, we know how badly you were yearning for a baby. :baby:
Great to hear all about Nedd, he sounds like a smart little treasure.
Hope your pregnancy is an absolute breeze:yes:
GeorgiaAnne
17-12-2008, 07:05
OK Mary-Ane, it's up to you now luvvy!;):laughing:
Congrats on your BFP Sal - that's fantastic!! We are in our new house too and I agree with you about the mess and keeping it all clean - it drives me crazy. And of course vacuuming and mopping kills my back at the moment.
Oh and Telstra - I don't even want to start........we had so many ridiculous problems for a residential house block - took us weeks to get connected then had to wait to get internet. Well the accidentally turned off our Foxtel yesterday and can't turn it back on which means they have to collect the boxes, come out and install again and we are without Foxtel for a week which is very annoying since I am now at home!!
I am feeling well enough - just tired and over it at the moment. Going to get some accupuncture today to hopefully help move things along. I am really hoping to go before xmas but will see - the baby's birthday is going to be very close to Christmas anyway. I just don't want to be in hospital at Christmas and miss out on the day with Kayley.
Kayley is at childcare today so I have a day at home - mmmm it is going to be relaxing (except I will probably not be able to help myself cleaning).
MaryAnne I think you are really the last one left now - no pressure!!
Well I better run or I will keep blabbering for ages. Take care everyone.
Wow Sal, congratulations on the BFP :thumbsup:!!! It's great to see you back anyway, up the duff or not :laughing: With you on the discipline. It doesn't always work, but I always try to reason with Ella first (unless she's just run away from me in the car park or something life threatening) because the more I yell/smack, the naughtier she gets - I think she likes the high drama reaction? Try telling that to DP though. Boy they are pushing each other ATM. Your house sounds amazing! I also liked Meg but we have settled on Rachael (DP's suggestion, I had no objection and wanted it decided!!)
I am not even feeling a bit prelaboury any more, it has all disappeared. Had my lovely doula round last night and she gave me an acupressure massage, so we'll see. Off to Canberra for my work Chrissy party tonight - maybe that will bring something on? Actually I'm hugely looking forward to it, it's at a German brewery, and I have a mad passion for sausage and saurkraut! mmmm. Not to mention the slow roasted pork belly....
Ella and I might go swimming today, just for something to do. I've discovered if she has a mega active morning activity, sleep is much more likely to happen!
hey Beck - the only reason I want to go soon is my doula goes away for three days on Christmas eve... I have a backup but this one is the best! We have nothing planned for Christmas anyway, and Ella will have a blast regardless of what's going on.
Well better hustle Ella inside for a snack before we go hit the pool. She is playing outside, very handy as I can see/hear her from the computer! Have a good one girls.
SalTheGal
18-12-2008, 08:33
Gosh Beck- I didn't realise you were so close too!!
Hope everything goes to plan.
And the other Bec- can't wait to hear your news- I presume it will be any day! (eta- we posted at the same time- your still here!!)
Well Nedd has been back in his cot for the last three nights- and has been asleep within 30mins of going down (as oppossed to the 1hr+ in the bed) and has slept through each night (as oppossed to me being up to him atleast once every night in the bed)..... so what would you do- leave him in his cot for a bit longer or perservere with the bed? I am just giving him the choice every night but he is adamant he wants to be in his cot- even happy to pronounce himself a baby if thats what it takes!
I had been talking lots lately about the cot being for the baby- so maybe its a bit of an ownership thing and wanting to be the baby still...its funny whenever we ask him if he wants a baby brother or sister it is a very difinitive NO! Do you think we will have some jealousy issues?!?!
I don't know if you've already had this convo but whats on the christmas list for all the kids? DH is being a pain about pressies for Nedd- we've got several little things, but I really wanted to get that one WOW factor pressie from santa for under the tree- DH says we have spent enough already (maybe $150 in total), and because I am not working as much he has more power to put his foot down with the money issues grrrrr. :banghead: It has cuased much angst in this house.
We are off to see santa today I think- Nedd LOVES him!! Has no fear which is great- I think largely ue to the fact he gives out lollies every time.
Ok well best be off and actually shower and get some housework done- Thurs is my floor mopping day (it takes half of the day as I have to get fresh water several times due to all the dust, thus I refuse to do it more than once a week), and I have a mountian of washing to do- we have no clothes line so it is all drying on the clothes horse inside which takes forever!!
So off to it, have a good day all (and boy it is quiet in here!!)
Bec - I was only thinking of you this morning wondering if your bubs had arrived. It won't be long before she's here. Ella was a bit early wasn't she?
Sal - As usual we've gone OTT with Christmas pressies. Lara's big pressie is a little tikes digital camera, plus we got her a sleeping bag, an upsy daisy doll and a few other bits and pieces. We got the kids a combined Santa pressie, a sand and water play table (which was only $31 from k-mart).
Lara's still a little possesive of her cot and old room too. We've told her it's for Oliver now, but as he's still in our room, she doesn't get it.
Have fun seeing Santa...my girls love him too. Anytime an ad comes on the tv with him on it, Lara stop what she's doing and screams "look mummy, dandta"
Beck - Bummer about foxtel. Hope the accupuncture works for you. I really think it helped get my body prepared for labour, but it just didn't kick start it. Have a look into accupressure for labour pain management, I swear that and the tens machine got me through Oliver's labour with less pain.
I'm a bit over everything at the moment...sleep deprived, but more my own fault (oliver's been sleeping from his 10.30pm feed until 5-5.30am for the last few days...not counting my chickens yet though). The girls are really irritable, fighting, making mess and just setting me off in general. It probably doesn't help that they've both been unwell with sore throats and high temps.
The photo session went well on Sat. There are some photos already her blog. The photographer was here for almost 3 hrs, so hopefully she got some nice photos for her and for us.
I can't believe that it's Christmas in a week. I've done my shopping, but there still seems like so little time to catch up with people beforehand. I've still got to write Christmas cards. This year I think only people that send us one will be getting one, it's just too much effort. I guess I could be writing them now, but I just can't be bothered...slack aren't I?
Lara's still as defiant as ever. Her latest saying is "don't want to", especially when you tell her to go to bed. She's so loveable though, no matter what mischief she gets up to she just looks at you, grins and batters her eyelashes and she's softened you. Manipulation starting at such a young age. The girls are the best of friends one minute then fighting the next and Lara is such a little liar, she is always dobbing on Eloise for smacking her or pushing her, when in fact it has been Lara being the big bully. Goodness knows what she'll be like as a teenager.
Well I better get myself and the girls organised. Not much planned for today, just a trip to the supermarket and Eloise's swimming lesson, but it's such an effort to get us all ready and out the door...you forget how time consuming a newborn is.
Have a great day
:yelclap: Sal! You sure are a sly one, getting this far without a peep!
I'll leave the floor mopping to you, its one of my dreaded chores. I have a steam mop that does it without much effort, but I have to do it when Abbey is asleep and by then I'm off duty for the day. The dirt and dust being trekked inside must drive you bonkers!
Abbey is the same, NO! when I ask her about a new baby, but then a few minutes later she will open my shirt and ask it to come out and play. I think they'll be fine. She loves her 6mo baby cousin so much she wants to carry him around the house, but he only weighs 1kg less than her so that's not going to happen.
No advice on bed vs cot, sorry. Abbey has moved back into my bed for the next 10 years apparently.
Not sure how a newborn will fit in, I think I'll have to sidecar the cot.
Abbey is very bossy too. She will often put on her bossy voice and say "come play, right now!" Or give banana, right now! Basically anything, right now! I just tell her that's not polite and she should say please instead. Sometimes she listens :rolleyes:
Mum didn't ask if I was pg, but she was giving me weird looks. I tried to get abbey to tell her but she wasn't being cooperative, too many kids and a dog to play with. But they are very happy. She thinks I'm mental for being so sure its a boy before its even grown its bits yet though. I can't explain that there was a little boy waiting to join my family and now he has without sounding like a nutter though. (This is the part where you all call me a nutter now but say 'oooooh spooky' in 8 months time)
Positive vibes to Beck & Bec, let's get those Christmas babies moving!
hi girls, just thought I'd pop on and say NO BABY in case you were wondering. Providing it doesn't all happen too fast (seems unlikely!) you will be among the first to know when labour arrives!
I've never been this many days pregnant before - yep Sare, Ella was 4 days early.
About to go put my runners (with orthotics) on - teamed with a brown dress as I can't cope with waistbands any more - in an effort to make my back feel better! Boy the last days of pregnancy are sexy.
Work Chrissy party was terrific, the food was so very good and the baby is dropped low enough for me to have LOTS of stomach room! lol
GeorgiaAnne
22-12-2008, 08:06
new thread ladies
http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?p=3358367#post3358367