View Full Version : Any suggestions on buying good highchair?

Riles
15-05-2006, 08:55
Just wondering if anyone has any good suggestions on buying new highchair. The main thing we want is one with wheels. I am not overly keen to spend $300-400 but more around up to $150. They all seem quite dear and the cheaper ones look a bit flimsy.

FourAngelKisses
15-05-2006, 08:57
I have a ZuZu one from Mothers Choice and it has been great. They cost around $145. If you have a Target nearby, they usually have great savings on highchairs. I got mine for 50% off.

Riles
15-05-2006, 09:18
Thanks Heaps for that. I was going to look at Target. Baby stores seemed dear. Maybe I will wait for Target to have 30% off or something as we still have a month or two till we need. thanks again

FourAngelKisses
15-05-2006, 09:20
No worries!!!

Mummabear
15-05-2006, 09:38
We got our from Babyco, it's an Angelico highchair and was voted as the best highchair by Choice Magazine (after we bought it anyway). It's on wheels, it is height adjustable and the seat reclines so you can put them in it before they are able to sit up on their own, which is handy when you're in the kitchen cooking dinner. Everything comes off easily and can be wiped down, the whole thing is so easy care. I love our highchair. From memory it was around $180 or perhaps even a little cheaper. It's extremely sturdy too so will last several babies without showing much wear and tear.

Good luck with finding one :thumbsup:

15-05-2006, 09:52
For around $150 I would recommend the Fisher Price Link A Doos highchair!

15-05-2006, 10:55
If you are looking for something portable
how about something foldable?
I hate high chairs
We have a Bumbo
It moves around the house so its great
They retail for about $90
but they are fantastic

twins+another
15-05-2006, 13:27
When I was pregnant, someone told me to buy high chairs that can be taken outside and hosed down. I think it was one of the best pieces of advice I was given. Sometimes food gets stuck in places that only a hosing will fix!:thumbsup:

FourAngelKisses
15-05-2006, 13:33
lol, I always hosed mine down when Matthew was a baby, he seemed to make more mess than my older kids did. Sometimes it was rather tempting to hose it down while he was still in it.............

lil monkey
15-05-2006, 13:40
The best ever highchair you can get only costs $49!!!

It is the Antilop high chair from Ikea and it is recommended by choice magazine!

We paid $300 for a Prima Pappa high chair and DD hated it. Such a pain to clean as well.

Now since getting the Ikea one, it takes 2 seconds to clean and DD loves it. She will sit in there for ages playing and eating her food.

BiNdI86
15-05-2006, 14:06
Fisher-Price, Healthy Care Highchair, we have the aquarium one, the linkadoo's one is the same (just different theme)

I LOVE IT!! it's on wheels, reclines and is hight adjustable and is so easy to look after. :thumbsup:

mysonroger
15-05-2006, 14:21
When I was pregnant, someone told me to buy high chairs that can be taken outside and hosed down. I think it was one of the best pieces of advice I was given. Sometimes food gets stuck in places that only a hosing will fix!:thumbsup:

i take mine outside every week or so and hose it down and use a scrubbing brush in all those hard to reach areas. mine also came with a big padded fabric seat. i took the padded seating out and just use the main plastic seating. that way, it doesn't get stained, looks like **** and when it comes to selling i will put the fabric seating back in and it will look nice and new and i will get a good price. i also regularly soak the straps to get them back ot white again.

LittleBoysRock
15-05-2006, 15:12
I have a Chicco 'Polly' and it is fab!!! It was about $200 and it has paid for itself a millon times over. Highly reccomend it. It comes with everything and is easy to clean!!

15-05-2006, 15:15
Fisher-Price, Healthy Care Highchair, we have the aquarium one, the linkadoo's one is the same (just different theme)

I LOVE IT!! it's on wheels, reclines and is hight adjustable and is so easy to look after. :thumbsup:

lol I have the Aquarium High Chair too but I didn't mention that chair cause it is well above $150 in price range. That's why I mentioned the Link - a - Doos too!;)

2littleprincesses
15-05-2006, 15:37
Here's a hint - make sure a plate fits on the tray. Our tray is too narrow so the plate sits on an angle. We ended up buying a booster seat for the dining chair so Little Miss can sit at the table and eat with us.

Harlequin
15-05-2006, 15:59
Choice tested these brands:

* BABYLOVE Arabella BL50
* CHILDCARE Eleganza Deluxe
* FISHER-PRICE Aquarium G8659-9765
* IKEA Antilop
* INFA 519 Ultima
* LOVE N CARE Techno BP889
* MOTHER'S CHOICE Summer Check 8101-ST
* STOKKE Tripp Trapp 400
* SWALLOW Angelico

The results are:

What to buy

Brand Price
BABYLOVE Arabella BL50 $189
CHILDCARE Eleganza Deluxe $200
IKEA Antilop (1) $49
STOKKE Tripp Trapp 400 (2) $409
SWALLOW Angelico $189

* The IKEA is a very basic model, but it passed all our safety tests and is significantly cheaper than all the others on test.

* The STOKKE costs more than the others on test and is quite different in design. It's intended to last for several years and can be configured as a chair for older children and adults.

* The BABYLOVE, CHILDCARE and SWALLOW are standard high chairs with all the features you'd usually expect, such as a reclining seat and adjustable seat height.

The rest: had problems with one standard test and/or finger traps. Two models also had problems with a standard strength or stability test.
The tray broke on the mothers choice one and the Fisher Price one tipped over backwards in its lowest reclined position. All the ones that didnt pass had finger traps.

I can post more info if you like. I think you need to be a member on choice to see this particular report.

15-05-2006, 16:01
IMO if the chairs were not safe they would not be able to sell them in Australia!;)

little mermaid
16-05-2006, 00:12
I can warn you not to get the Peg Perego Prima Pappa high chair, my sister and 3 of my friends all had/ have them and all of them hate them. Tray is to high for child to use, too hard to clean ( to name a few things)

Miaow
16-05-2006, 00:16
I can warn you not to get the Peg Perego Prima Pappa high chair, my sister and 3 of my friends all had/ have them and all of them hate them. Tray is to high for child to use, too hard to clean ( to name a few things)

My friend has recently lent me one of these and i have to say its a great highchair how it can lay back and height adjustable = though i agree the tray is bit too high when the baby's still small (like ej is 6 months) - It isnt too hard to clean though from what I've found

Harlequin
16-05-2006, 01:17
IMO if the chairs were not safe they would not be able to sell them in Australia!;)

Actually you'd be surprised, Choice does some pretty stringent safety testing on baby products, they test for things that the Aussie Standards don't include.
Some of the stuff I read about strollers was enough to make me think twice.

The high chair ones that they didn't recommend only had minor safety issues though so it wasn't so bad.

Apparently the Australian standards arent followed very well anyway.
Eg:

Castors: although the draft Australian Standard doesn’t allow castors on highchairs, most of the models tested have them. We considered them to be acceptable if at least the front or rear castors have brakes, or if there’s just one set of two. What’s most important is that you always remember to lock them when you put your child into the chair.

When they tested Cots only half met the Australian Standards.

Edit: One good thing is that, when contacted by choice, the manufacturers usually say they will upgrade the product so that the safety issue is fixed. Some of the reviews are from 2005 or 2004, so its possible the products have been upgraded since then. Still it's good information to know at any rate.

16-05-2006, 03:10
I have the Fisher Price Deluxe Plus Healthy Care ( Linkadoos ) one so i too add it to the vote :thumbsup: it has been one of the best things i invested in !
The tray comes off & has a one handed release which is of course very handy ! The tray has 3 interchangeable tray inserts that are very handy for a messy eater like mine LOL.
On the tray it has toys attached which keeps them occupied & are great teethers.
It also has a clip on basket & bottle/cup holders at either side, i use the basket to keep bibs handy & an extra toy.
It is all wipe down & the actual seating can strip off to wash it separate to the chair itself etc also has the 5 point harness & inbetween the legs thing to stop them slipping out. It has 7 different height levels & has 4 locking wheels.
Here is a piccie if you want a look : http://i7.photobucket.com/albums/y27...Highchair2.jpg

If Choice got the highchair to tip i would LOVE to know how because i have a child who throws himself around in it in any position & we have had no problems whatsoever ! We have it reclining if he just wants to sit & have some juice while watching me clean up or the likes again he dances in his chair pretty much with no dramas. He also makes the chair shuffle as we have a sloped floor in our dining room due to our stumps needing to be re-done to which he makes it move across the floor to get somewhere lol the brakes work everywhere else though heh again with no probs. Maybe i got the good one in the batch :laughing:
I paid a small fortune for mine but you can get them cheap at Kmart now which is awesome !
Otherwise i have used the IKEA one & it is great but very basic.
The reason i liked the FP one was its like a little chair bubs can use not just to eat but sit in etc.

Riles
16-05-2006, 07:49
Thanks Guys. I have written them all down so I know which ones to have a good look at. I don't mind spending a little bit more if its going to be worth it.

16-05-2006, 08:10
Maybe i got the good one in the batch :laughing:

lol :laughing: :laughing: Yep me too!

Harlequin - I read your posts and yes I have read the choice articles etc and yet I still have 100% faith in the Australian standards!

3boys1girl
16-05-2006, 08:52
Linkadoos by fisher price is great! :thumbsup: The healthy choice one. Easy to clean, relcines back so u can use it from only a couples of months old easy to move from room to room.
Im very happy with mine!:smiliedance: U can get it from target, just wait for the sales

OscarTheGrouch
16-05-2006, 09:17
I have a Chicco 'Polly' and it is fab!!! It was about $200 and it has paid for itself a millon times over. Highly reccomend it. It comes with everything and is easy to clean!!
I love my Chicco 'Polly' also, it's great. They're about $299 now though, but worth it.:thumbsup:

angel_one
19-05-2006, 12:29
when it comes to a high chair, look for these things - 5point harness(we go to restraunts with onlt the waist one and its usless), removable tray (makes putting child in so much eaiser - especially when they get older), it folds up(what you gonna do with a bulky high chair between kids? Our has been folded up and in the cupboard out of the way for like a year!), easy to clean( the hose outside is a great idea, and dont buy a fabric one! the plastic are so much easier to clean), be like me and get one with dark straps! lol - dont got to worry about staining!, and most importantly - make sure it is sturdy - especially if your gonna have other little kids running round it, or if you end up with a little dare devil ( humm isnt that all kids) and they decide to climb out of the thing- that whenthey discover the shoulder straps can be slid off, that when its time for a booster seat at the dinner table!( which are great too)

and you can get toys that have a suction cap thing on the bottom, that you can stik on there and let bub play while the rest of the family eats - rather than buying one of the big fangdangle dooby ones lol - i think mine is a simple one from steelcraft about $120 2 years ago.