View Full Version : how do u do it?

mystical mumma
29-10-2008, 16:57
just wondering how other people manage to live on the single parent payment.

im currently living with my dad as i cant afford rent... over 250 for a **** 2 bedroom unit.

with fuel, daycare, food, elec, and rego and everything i just dont think i could do it.

ive lived out of home for many years, and have managed, but ive never been able to get the net on, or a home phone. i have had to beg and borrow to cover my car rego.
never had enough for treats, my son had everything, but i never got to get anything new for myself.

i only get the very base rate of child support

i really want to get out, but i cant see how i can financially.

the whole situation is just really getting me down at the moment.

meeka2k
29-10-2008, 19:07
aww hugs:hugs:, you sound like you need them :-)

It isn't easy, and it is really hard at times, you will figure it out though, I know that rents are a lot cheaper here as I am paying $225 for a 3brm house, but thats expensive for where I am :) so its all relative I guess.

Not sure what to say as I don't know your situation, but I am guessing you already know about discounts that you get with your pension card? every little bit helps...

anyway not much help I know just wanted to reply so you know you were heard..... :)

sunnyflower
29-10-2008, 19:11
I hear ya.

Before i started permanent work i was on the bones of my bum.

I had to wait until he went to school before i started permanent work.

It IS really hard.:hugs:

NewBeginnings
29-10-2008, 19:15
It is hard and I do struggle! Especially more so because I have to set up for another baby as well...

I don't have a car at the moment so don't have those expenses.... but even then I still struggle week to week!

I budget for the next fortnights pay the day I get paid the fortnights before pay. And most fortnights I'm lucky to have 10 bucks extra to last the fortnight!

All I can say is it is tough! :yes::dizzy:

lachys_mama
29-10-2008, 19:16
DS and I don't manage too badly, I have the net, the home phone etc but atm i'm only paying $190 a week rent
i had to give up smoking to afford the things i wanted to get for us and I also have to stick to a really tight food budget... i guess the thing that gets me by is that i don't have a car to pay rego n fuel otherwise i'd be on the bones of my bum, but i also live between two train stations which is a blessing and a curse really

JustJettAndMum
29-10-2008, 19:36
I live day by day.

I dont have luxuaries.

I pay $190 rent, $36 day care, $110 car payments, $40 fuel, $50 food and ive got $56 of direct debits that come out to hopefully cover bills when they arrive. Like the net and home phone. We dont eat out, which is hard, because were always being asked. I was working up untill about 2 weeks ago when i started getting to pregnant to get there. And that helped me get set up for bubs.

But now, were back to square one. I get $12.72 a fortnight CS.. and that covers ummm. nothing..lol

So yeah. At the end of the week ive got about $6 in my account.

But ive got my son, a roof over our head, furniture and family. So i deal with it. Soon we will be blessed with a baby, and even tho i only get another $75 a week, as long as bubs is BF and a cloth bum.. we should be right :thumbsup:.. Just got to stock up on some cloth nappies!

Im happy tho. Broke, and living on fresh air and toast. But ive got my son, and bubby on the way. I know life wont be like this forever.

mummy_to_my_son
29-10-2008, 19:55
i wont give you my story, but i do struggle, i think most off us if not all off us do! just try and think off the positives and hopefully in the not too far future you will be able too

Ana Gram
29-10-2008, 21:39
I have housemates. That's the only way I am able to live well. Half the rent and half the bills means I have money to eat well and go out occasionally.

spunkysmum
29-10-2008, 22:22
im on a single parent pension i work 4 days a week i get by quite comfy
i dont get alot of child support ( trust me its not very much ) im not in a well paying job but it brings in money i pay daycare rego insurance both car and home petrol bills food etc plus at least once a week me and ds go out for a day some where nice weather it be the zoo or somewhere like that i also pay $330 a week in rent plus my personal loan and after that i still manage to save atleast $100 a fortnight and still have a little something if i want to treat either me or ds

SweetSerenity
30-10-2008, 08:14
I only survive due to working 3 days a week... I survived only 10months last year not working and couldn't do it :no: I had not much money for decent food... it was very hard. That's why I returned to work early this year and put DS is pre-school on the days I work and we don't live a luxurious life but we afford good food, clothes and sometimes a few treats here and there. Have you thought about maybe doing so casual work? Sending you hugs :hugs:

SimplyMum
30-10-2008, 08:18
I don't know how you ladies do it on just the single parent pension.

I work full time, get no child support and only $30 pension.

I would not be able to cope on just the single parent pension. If I stopped working, I would be forced to move out of my current place and into an area where I don't ever want to raise any child/ren of mine.
We wouldn't enjoy the little luxuries we have, swimming lessons, dancing, soccer, day trips, holidays.

For me, working is a definate.

SweetSerenity
30-10-2008, 08:20

Me too :yes:

RmumR
30-10-2008, 09:47
I think its all about budgeting. I pay $250 a week in rent and i don't work so i am getting by on my pension, child support and the FBT's alone.
I don't have a home phone, i am very careful with our electricity usage to keep the bills down. I plan carefully what we are eating that week and try to only shop once a fortnight. DD's clothes are mostly brought by her grandparents on both sides luckily so i don't worry about those.

Anyway i have been living like this with DD since March this year and we are doing quite ok, we go without things but not the necessities.

toni796
30-10-2008, 09:59
I know how tough it is to struggle when you are a single parent. I was one for a few years before I met my now DH. I was only paying $140 a week in rent and was working a couple of days a week before I started a permanent/part time position. I don't think that I could have managed if I did not start that part time job though.

Have any of you thought of putting your names down on the public housing waiting list? I know the places that come up for you may not be in the area you want but you can always decline when it comes around and then get put back on the list till something else comes up.

SimplyMum
30-10-2008, 10:04
I know how tough it is to struggle when you are a single parent. I was one for a few years before I met my now DH. I was only paying $140 a week in rent and was working a couple of days a week before I started a permanent/part time position. I don't think that I could have managed if I did not start that part time job though.

Have any of you thought of putting your names down on the public housing waiting list? I know the places that come up for you may not be in the area you want but you can always decline when it comes around and then get put back on the list till something else comes up.

I'm on the waiting list, although I'm not sure what I would do if I was offered a house. There'd be so many things to consider.

Ana Gram
30-10-2008, 11:08

I'd love to work but i am yet to find a way for it to work yet. Ruby is at preschool for 3 hours 4 days a week. Pick up and drop up travel time takes about an hour all up, which leaves a huge 2 hours. By the time I got to a job, I would have to leave again. Next year, she should be starting on full days, 9am - 3pm for 4 days and a half day on a Friday. Hopefully, I will be able to find something that will fit these hours but I am not holding my breath.

mystical mumma
30-10-2008, 11:27
i want to work, but with cost of daycare and having an insurance case, where i cant sneeze without previous written permission, im finding it hard.

i havent got any experience, was studying at tafe when i was a passenger in a car accident in which i broke my back, so had to leave tafe, which i was doing some chef related things, i have basic skills in the kitchen, but due to my injury i cant use them.

i had my son at 18, so i was still healing from an exploded vertibrae in my back, getting used to having metal rods put in and all that medical stuff.

i cant cant work in the supermarket, as i cant stand for long or lift much weight. i cant sit all day either, so i really need something vesitile, mostly sitting but the ability to get up and move.

reception would be good, but i only have very basic computer knowledge and no filing experience.

i get so down thinking about it all. most days i just want to cry.

we are just managing financially at my dads.

what do i put on my resume? im 22, got my year ten certificate. have one son who is four. all attempts to study are promptly shut down by nrma, i have no experience at anything other than being a mum, i cant bend well, lift much and stand, or sit, or lay infact i cant do much without my firned mr codine... on a good day i get to take endones (morphine)

i just cant see whay anyone would want to hire me when they could hire someone who can actually do something.

SimplyMum
30-10-2008, 11:34
i want to work, but with cost of daycare and having an insurance case, where i cant sneeze without previous written permission, im finding it hard.

i havent got any experience, was studying at tafe when i was a passenger in a car accident in which i broke my back, so had to leave tafe, which i was doing some chef related things, i have basic skills in the kitchen, but due to my injury i cant use them.

i had my son at 18, so i was still healing from an exploded vertibrae in my back, getting used to having metal rods put in and all that medical stuff.

i cant cant work in the supermarket, as i cant stand for long or lift much weight. i cant sit all day either, so i really need something vesitile, mostly sitting but the ability to get up and move.

reception would be good, but i only have very basic computer knowledge and no filing experience.

i get so down thinking about it all. most days i just want to cry.

we are just managing financially at my dads.

what do i put on my resume? im 22, got my year ten certificate. have one son who is four. all attempts to study are promptly shut down by nrma, i have no experience at anything other than being a mum, i cant bend well, lift much and stand, or sit, or lay infact i cant do much without my firned mr codine... on a good day i get to take endones (morphine)

i just cant see whay anyone would want to hire me when they could hire someone who can actually do something.

Thats a tough one. What about admin or data entry. Most places allow you to get up and walk around every now and than. I work for local governement and they are really flexible and LOVE minority groups. Perhaps you could enquire there.

SimplyMum
30-10-2008, 11:43
I'd love to work but i am yet to find a way for it to work yet. Ruby is at preschool for 3 hours 4 days a week. Pick up and drop up travel time takes about an hour all up, which leaves a huge 2 hours. By the time I got to a job, I would have to leave again. Next year, she should be starting on full days, 9am - 3pm for 4 days and a half day on a Friday. Hopefully, I will be able to find something that will fit these hours but I am not holding my breath.

Is increasing the amount of hours Ruby is at daycare/preschool an option? Or is this something you do not want to do?

Me
30-10-2008, 12:25
connorsmummy - have you thought about temp work? although its not permanent, it can often lead to permanent employment. I guess it'd only work if you have someone flexible to look after your DS, but it'd be a good way to update your skills too.

Ana Gram
30-10-2008, 12:43
Is increasing the amount of hours Ruby is at daycare/preschool an option? Or is this something you do not want to do?

She isn't at daycare, it's preschool so they have set hours. And next year she starts school, so I am pretty much bound to school hours. So if I want to work, I have to try and find childcare that can pick her up from school as our school doesn't have after school care. Working seems to be quite a hard task for the single parent with primary school aged children.

SimplyMum
31-10-2008, 07:56
She isn't at daycare, it's preschool so they have set hours. And next year she starts school, so I am pretty much bound to school hours. So if I want to work, I have to try and find childcare that can pick her up from school as our school doesn't have after school care. Working seems to be quite a hard task for the single parent with primary school aged children.

How about before/after school care? I know DS daycare does before/after school care and this is where he'll be going to before school when he starts. They pick drop them off/pick them up. My aim is to put him in before school and start work early so I can finish early and this will mean he wont have to go to after school care. I also know that you do get this subsidised by the government- same kind of thing as CCB I think.

If you want it bad enough, you will find a way.

Ana Gram
31-10-2008, 09:23
I would like to go back to work but for me, my sanity must come into it. I have worked flat out before and it wasn't good for my health. I have had a look for daycare but nothing in my area has either an opening or are willing to take her to and from school. So as much as I would like to get back into the work force, I am going to have to wait it out another year until her father can assist. Ruby should be going to another school and we are working out a plan so we can both work full time and Ruby can be cared for. Unfortunately no matter the scenario at the moment, I am only going to end up seeing her when I get her up and when I put her to bed when I go back to work.

toni796
31-10-2008, 09:26

You will find something sooner or later. You just have to keep looking and finding that job that is suitable for you. Could you maybe put an ad in the paper saying that you are looking for some casual or part time work and what hours you can work etc? Or what if you did night time work like night fill at the supermarket and then you won't have to miss out on seeing Ruby as much.

Ana Gram
31-10-2008, 09:37
But who would look after Ruby if I was working at night :confused:

The last time I was looking for work, I was turned down for lots of jobs like shelf stacking because I am "over-qualified", so after 6 months of hearing that I am not doing that again. It might seem like I am being picky but I have a better chance of getting a job where I have had similar work experience. I don't think I will have any problem getting back into my field once the childcare situation is easier.

daemynsmum
31-10-2008, 10:49
just wondering how other people manage to live on the single parent payment.

im currently living with my dad as i cant afford rent... over 250 for a **** 2 bedroom unit.

with fuel, daycare, food, elec, and rego and everything i just dont think i could do it.

ive lived out of home for many years, and have managed, but ive never been able to get the net on, or a home phone. i have had to beg and borrow to cover my car rego.
never had enough for treats, my son had everything, but i never got to get anything new for myself.

i only get the very base rate of child support

i really want to get out, but i cant see how i can financially.

the whole situation is just really getting me down at the moment.

i survive by having goverment [commision] housing i only pay $150 a fn in rent on a spp i get **** all in cs about $25 a month if he deides to pay it. but my house is furnished [it came that way] and although i had to save for a t.v it wasnt that hard my food shopping is $200 a fornight and thats with a 2yo i dont get rent *** because govnt housing works on a percentage of your income. you can apply through any deptmt of housing and because you have a child you will be bumped up the list particulary if your dads house has less bedrooms then the people living there its called overcrowding. but it makes it easier to have the $$$ for bills and your rent comes straight out of your centrelink payment.
hope that helps you abit darl.
:hugs::hugs::hugs:

Mum2Tyla
31-10-2008, 20:09
i work as a nightfill i am lucky that my parents help me out and my ex also has her a few night a week so i am luckier than alot of single mums out there as i could nto survive on the pension alone, my rent is $290, i have a car also, private health insurance, internet so i dont complain as there are so many people worse off than me, for all you mums struggling with no help I send :hugs::kiss:, you are amazing and one day you willb e rewarded when your amzing children grow into even more amazing adults and all the sacrifices you ahve amde will pay off

JadeyBaby2
01-11-2008, 08:45
Have you thought seriously of getting a part-time job? I did this when DS was 2 and a half (had I known the fruits that come from this I would have done it a lot sooner because the financial strain was immense). I cried when I realised how much extra money per fortnight I would have. Centrelink barely penalises you for a part time earning job and you end up ahead by hundreds per fortnight (and being single parent you will still get 100% Child Care Benefit rate as it doesn't start to be affected until you earn over $40k). I highly recommend it even just two days per week.

Just read what you said: sorry to hear of your injuries and struggle to study. DO NOT give up and get down on yourself. In your situation I would even apply for a 'junior' award wage type role, tell them you are willing to accept the top of award wage as you want experience etc and work your way up from there. After being absent from the work force for 2 and a half years I spent 4mths trying to get a job and had to go for a rather sh*tty carpet office job - stayed there for 8mths or so then got job for financial institution which I started at bottom of and when I return will be one step away from double income wage. You can do it, just need that break, so don't give up - there are companies out there with fair/equal opportunity policies that take on people that need a little extra understanding due to injury etc.

tyler's mum
01-11-2008, 09:12
I live in a dep of housing house so i dont pay much rent. I still find it hard but you just learn to get by on the money you have iykwim

ashleerose
02-11-2008, 09:33
I work a couple of casual jobs (ie merchandising) and that helps me get by.

With the the government giving us a all a grand per a child in december i am going to do a massive big shop (ie $500) i have a chest freezer and lately i have been considering turning it off because i havent been able to do a decent shop in a while.

When i do shop its the basics and even then its become the basics of the basics (i cannot believe how expensive everything has become).

With the rest of the money i am getting i am paying store debts with and doing xmas shopping with.

I wont be able to save any of it (but its going to help a lot as with the debt i have freed up i should be able to breathe a little easier) i am considering getting some of the hamperking pantry freezer fillers.

I have done courses at home via OTEN (tafe online) perhaps you could do this until your compensation case is sorted?

Just try and keep positive and look to the future i have had to do that alot lately.

pinkgingham
02-11-2008, 10:14
i'm lucky that when i was partnered, i was already living in government housing. if i was in private rental when my ex left i'd have no choice to go back to my mums house and live in a pokey little room with 2 kids. mum wouldnt mind, but i would.

so its only that i am in government housing that i can afford to live, the money i could be paying rent with in a private rental is free for me to pay other bills. which is lucky because the ex and i racked up a tiny amount of debt when we were together so i have to pay those. although soon they will be payed off. :)

being here in this house is how i can survive. because rent is really cheap. i dont have the option to work. even if i could afford the daycare, which i wouldnt be able to even just earn enough to cover the cost of daycare, no daycare centres here will take my DD because she isnt yet 2. i have no one else to take care of the kids while i work as every one else works.

i'm lucky the ex is good and does the right thing with child support and such. i would be absolutely lost without him even though he is the reason we are in this position in the first place lol. he pays for the car though, even though i am the only one that uses it atm. because i would be lost without a car for the 2 kids. and i know that my family or his family are always there if i need them financially. recently my fridge died and i didnt have money to replace it, my mum came to the rescue though. my parents are excellent.

i've had to just cut down on buying certain things. watch what i am spending. now i have to buy clothes second hand when i need stuff not just because i like going to second hand shops. if i buy brand new i have to absolutely need it or get it on special. like last week when kmart had 25% off, i was lucky to find a few t-shirts DS needed.

because i sew, i have been able to sew most of the summer clothing they need with the fabric stash here i have already from when i used to make stuff to sell (when i was partnered, now i am single i cant really afford to do it anymore). i was lucky in winter i bought a lot of nice cotton fabrics cheaply like a nice voile to make some beachy long shorts/pj bottoms for DS and i have plenty of girly prints to make dresses and such for DD.

i'm lucky that for at least DD i have her in cloth full time. because it means the money i could have been spending on nappies, i can put towards other things.

i dont have a home phone but i do have a mobile, although its only a pre paid. i make sure i have enough credit in there just to be able to use my optus minutes, because everyone i need to call also has optus so its a free call. i do have internet, its a luxury but it would be the first thing to go if it had to.

but i just have had to cut certain things out and tighten the belt with other things.

because i have so much support from both the ex and his parents and my parents, i guess i live "comfortably". though i dont have a lot but i could have a lot less than what i do have. there are a lot of things i go without so my kids can have everything they need and that all my bills are paid but thats just what you have to do, i dont mind.

tyler's mum
02-11-2008, 10:25
Working is just not something that would be worth doin for us. My rent would go up day care would be to much to pay. Its not worth the money to put tyler into day care 5 days a week for me to go back to work. I would rather things be tight and wait untill she is at school

pinkgingham
02-11-2008, 10:32
Working is just not something that would be worth doin for us. My rent would go up day care would be to much to pay. Its not worth the money to put tyler into day care 5 days a week for me to go back to work. I would rather things be tight and wait untill she is at school

:iagree:

same as us, yep as soon as i start working my government rent goes up and possible be kicked out for earning too much although i doubt i'd be able to earn that much. i am not really qualified to work anything than bar work and that industry would be hard to work in having kids because a lot of working nights is needed. but even if i could get day hours i wouldnt earn enough to even cover child care for 2, i would be in debt for having just one in child care...there is no way i could do it for 2.

the only way i could work is if i wait til they both are at school and go to tafe to get another qualification then get a job. my kids are only nearly 3 and 17 months so thats a long way off.

its easier and cheaper for me to stay at home til they are at school.

but things werent much different from when i was partnered. my ex wasnt here during the week anyways, as he was working away from sunday night to friday night. so essentially i was a single mum then too, the only difference now is that i have just a bit less money. not much difference from then to now really.