View Full Version : Aldi shopping!!! new convert!

diamonds22
14-05-2006, 07:30
I just have to say my hubby and I went on our first Aldi shopping trip this weekend..and I am in total shock!! I feel sooo ripped off from paying Supermarket (ie coles/woolies) prices all those years!!!

EVERYTHING was almost half price and we saved 50% off our normal shopping budget and actually were able to by more!!! The quality of food is fantastic..we brought there generic Cola...and I swear we can not taste the difference from 'normal/popular coke (and were serious cola junkies!)

Despite the initial shock of paying for our trolley (and getting reimbursed after use) and the fact you have to take your own bags..which we found out when we got there:o it is excellent!!

There is one thing though..where are the products made??? all of our stuff says 'made especially for aldi stores' and a product of NSW...but does this actually mean they were made in NSW or outsourced from other countries???

FourAngelKisses
14-05-2006, 08:49
I love Aldi. I have been going there since the week they opened and it saves me about $120 a week or more. I love it how you can get a block of cheese for only $6, the local supermarket here charges $9. And milk, my kids go through 18L a week, so I save $11 there. It is all brand name stuff in generic packaging which is what I like. I know the chocolate they sell is NZ Cadbury's, the frozen veggies are Watties and the bread is from Tip Top.

I don't bother with bags, I just throw it all in the boot and then carry it in by the arm load when I get home.........with 3 little people helping, lol.

jessgray
14-05-2006, 09:34
i love aldi's but DP is brand snob and wil only shop at coles or safeay. bilo is a rare occasion :laughing:

FourAngelKisses
14-05-2006, 09:36
You'll have to sneak to Aldi one day then put everything you buy into the brand name boxes and packets.

jordy&steph'smumma
14-05-2006, 11:21
I love love love aldi and travel the 1/2 hr to get to our closest store because I know I always come out in front (and I can also visit mum and mil while up there)

I have a family of four and with buying most of my stuff at aldi (some things you just have to get somewhere else) I only spend 150 - 200 a fortnight. I just can't go wrong....:thumbsup:
$2.99 for 3 lite milk, $1.99 for huge box of corn flakes, $4.00 for 6 pack yoghurt and $5.69 for olive oil (which I love to use) No way I am buying these things somewhere else and paying double or more.

Go to aldi I say yay!!!!

Rockett
14-05-2006, 11:38
I love Aldi too. We save heaps of money by shopping there.It's a pain though that you can't buy everything there.

babytoo
14-05-2006, 14:18
I too had my first shopping experience...havent tried all the products yet but the milk, bread, english muffins were all great.....the billie bears (chocolates) were the best chocolate ever...dishwashing liquid great, hair conditioner excellent....potatoes, apples. The sausages were a bit yuck and I was over having to go to another supermarket to finish my shopping with a bub in tow it was a pain! I do think I will continue to do it again but just need to be a little more organised, with bags, parking etc...want to get a nappy sample though and can't get hold of anyone via the website!

mythreelittlemonkeys
14-05-2006, 14:48
we had aldi adn Lidl in Uk and they fantastic and yes you do cut shopping bill by tons...but I used to still shop in mainstream supermarket too...but the fresh fruit and veg from Aldi and Lidl was great and the continental foods...wish we had them over here in WA...:fingerscrossed:

FourAngelKisses
14-05-2006, 17:35
I use Aldi nappies for nights (cloth during the day) and they are excellent. Same quality as Huggies, if not better. I use their cloth cover ones, not the plastic ones.

mum33
14-05-2006, 19:11
i love aldis and do my weekly shopping there saving me at least $100 and then go to woolies or franklins for things i cant get from aldis such as baby formula.

the only thing i wouldnt recommend buying from aldis is the LACURA Exfoliating face scrub. it comes in a blue tube. it feels good to use but after about a week of using it, it dries the skin out. i tried it to stop using my usual face scrub that costs $8-9 at woolies, that nivea young stuff. but i think i'll be going back to it as it is better for my skin. i guess cheap beauty products dont agree with my skin.

also the mouthwash they had there, they've changed it as it doesnt taste the same and isnt as strong as i'd like it to be so i dont buy that anymore either.

TwoBlue
14-05-2006, 19:15
Aldi rocks !! :yes:

Despite the initial shock of paying for our trolley (and getting reimbursed after use)

Do you not have to normally pay for a trolley ? Anywhere i go is paid trolleys !!

Iwant to get a nappy sample though and can't get hold of anyone via the website!

Mamia nappies are unreal ! I swear by them !! PM me your address if you like and i'll post you some nappies :)

mum33
14-05-2006, 19:23
Aldi rocks !! :yes:

Do you not have to normally pay for a trolley ? Anywhere i go is paid trolleys !!

Mamia nappies are unreal ! I swear by them !! PM me your address if you like and i'll post you some nappies :)

everyone keeps raving about these mamia nappies. i'll just have to buy some now :D

what about the mamia wipes? are they any good? anyone know of any huggies thicknes wipes but not with the huggies wipes price?

TwoBlue
14-05-2006, 19:26
definantly buy the mamia nappies and see how they go for you...
a few people have said they are no good but a good 90% love them and swear by them !!

I think the wipes are great also, they are not as thick as huggies but i reackon they are great for the price

mum33
14-05-2006, 19:33
definantly buy the mamia nappies and see how they go for you...
a few people have said they are no good but a good 90% love them and swear by them !!

I think the wipes are great also, they are not as thick as huggies but i reackon they are great for the price

going to aldis 2moro then, thanks!:D

TwoBlue
14-05-2006, 19:36
let me know how you go with them

Spewiesmum
14-05-2006, 20:11
I purchased some of the unscented wipes the other day and they are good - prefer them to Huggies. Will buy them again for sure.

I don't recommend the crumbed fish. It looked grey and while it didn't taste bad, it just didn't taste good.

mum33
14-05-2006, 20:20
let me know how you go with them

will do :D

I purchased some of the unscented wipes the other day and they are good - prefer them to Huggies. Will buy them again for sure.

I don't recommend the crumbed fish. It looked grey and while it didn't taste bad, it just didn't taste good.

the other fish is great. they are just skinless fillets i think. i sprinkle a little vegeta (vegetable stock powder) on them, wrap them in foil and cook in the oven that way and they are so good. i serve them with aldis frozen vegies (corn, beans and broccoli) and curly fries.

i LOVE aldis curly fries too. they are seasoned i think and taste yummy. but i oven bake them so they are more healthy but they would probably come out more crunchy if deep fried in oil.

FourAngelKisses
14-05-2006, 20:32
I love their wipes too. So cheap yet so much thicker than some name brands.

Rockett
14-05-2006, 23:29
Has anyone tried the marinated chicken? Mmm so tender and soft and juicy....:chef:
The best products we get from there are the chicken,the nappies and the shampoo and conditioner in the green bottles.
Also you can get 2 kilos of mince for $10.Bargain! :thumbsup:

CJJHRA
14-05-2006, 23:36
wish we had them over here in WA...:fingerscrossed:

well, WA does = Wait Awhile. We've only just got IGA, and I think they have some great specials everyweek.

Hoping we get an Aldi over here! Everyone keeps going on about how great it is.

Ange&Seth
14-05-2006, 23:44
Oh I'm glad I saw the post about the Aldi brand wipes - I've been wanting to try them but didn't want to buy them incase they were cr@p.

I also swear by Mamia Nappies - funnily enough, I first heard about them right here on Bubhub :laughing:

Aldi is fantastic, I'm hoping we get one here in Wagga soon. At the moment, I have to stock up on Nappies and stuff whenever we're in Albury at my mum and dad's. Was there this weekend but didn't get a chance, luckily mum's coming up next week with a car full!! I can't wait !

mum33
15-05-2006, 00:10
Has anyone tried the marinated chicken? Mmm so tender and soft and juicy....:chef:
The best products we get from there are the chicken,the nappies and the shampoo and conditioner in the green bottles.
Also you can get 2 kilos of mince for $10.Bargain! :thumbsup:

yeah i buy the shampoo and conditioner too. good stuff.

Ange&Seth
15-05-2006, 00:20
Oh Shampoo? I'll have to try that one too!

babytoo
15-05-2006, 08:42
The wipes are fine....so far so good...I usually buy Huggies but $2.99 is much cheaper for 80 than the Huggies. I might just buy some nappies and give it a go...nothing to loose I guess.

Has anyone tried the Onion Rings? My son loves HJ's and wondered what these were like. Just had the Allcafe Coffee this morning and its cr@p compared to Moccona...aw well gotta try these things!

mum33
15-05-2006, 08:53
The wipes are fine....so far so good...I usually buy Huggies but $2.99 is much cheaper for 80 than the Huggies. I might just buy some nappies and give it a go...nothing to loose I guess.

Has anyone tried the Onion Rings? My son loves HJ's and wondered what these were like. Just had the Allcafe Coffee this morning and its cr@p compared to Moccona...aw well gotta try these things!

yeah the coffee is **** i've heard.

never tried the onion rings. might go buy some today.

sharvs
15-05-2006, 09:42
I'm so glad this thread is here.

I've never been to Aldi but have been meaning to go for ages.

Can anyone give me the run down on them - i read earlier that they dont give you any bags, anything else I should know?

FourAngelKisses
15-05-2006, 09:45
They sell reusable bags, you load everything back into your trolley as they scan it all (very quickly I might add). They have a bench in front of the checkouts where you can pack youur bags. Trolleys cost $2, which you get back when you return your trolley.

The longest I think I have had to wait at a checkout is 3-4mins, it's all very quick.

~Emmylou~
15-05-2006, 09:51
Love Aldi!

We like the nappies and wipes, chickens, cheezels (better than the brand ones according my DH), dishwashing and laundry powder, ice creams (vanilla with choc coating - they are creamy and rich so YUM!).

Also their par-baked dinner rolls are great - .99c a pack and we can't tell the difference from the Woolies ones which are $1.89.

You can't go past their cheap milk, bread and dairy either - their cheese is good and cheap.

Like everyone else has already said it's just a pain having to go to Woolies for the things they don't have, especially with a bub in tow. If your organised though it's worth the saving.

FourAngelKisses
15-05-2006, 09:56
I have to travel for all my shopping, it is difficult with a little one in tow as it takes me 5hrs. But he gets to see his GF every Wednesday for 1.5hrs, then we head off to Big W/K-Mart to get a few things. He usually has an Italian Roll from Bakers Delight while we are there. Then we head off to Coles/Woolies. He usually gets a bit annoyed by the time we reach the checkout, but if he's been good, he gets a lollipop. Then it's off to get petrol before going to Aldi. After Aldi, he gets a full bottle of milk, before falling asleep in the car on the way home.

It can be done with a baby, you just need to keep them happy, which usually means feeding their faces, lol.

kiwibird27
15-05-2006, 09:59
There front loader laundry powder is brillant!!!! It's better than OMO and half the price, I also always use there body wash, and toothpaste - There sweet chilli stir fry sauce is good too - don't like the tomato one for mince though!!! Also there packets of buscuits and muffins u back yourself are fantastic - $1.99, just add eggs and water and hey prest home made warm cookies!!!! Cheaper than buying the ingredients!!

jessgray
15-05-2006, 10:40
we do our shopping on days DS is at daycare so we can take as long as we want :thumbsup: i think we will be going to aldis this week :laughing: i havent been there for ages. in the same street there is aldi's bilo and coles:laughing:

hayleylea
15-05-2006, 11:21
I love aldi too :thumbsup: I shop there weekly and now they are getting more of a variety of meat aswell, it comes in the stirfry strips and everything. There honey mustard stirfry sauce is DELISH! The curly fries are beautiful!! I love their yoghurt too, i think its better then the name brand stuff! Their potato chips are nice aswell as any of that stuff..chocolate is nice and cost heaps less then coles etc. Their drinks are GREAT value!! I think they are 59cents or 69cents for a bottle where you cant go wrong! I love the wipes i buy them all the time and the nappies are great too....as you can see i LOOOOVEEE aldi!:laughing:

Oh by the way i have tried the onion rings. I didnt go much on them, they are REALLY strong. But if you like them like that they would be great!

Rockett
15-05-2006, 13:12

Sorry,I meant to say the shampoo and conditioner in the orange bottles! It's called Natures Essence and is just like the Garnier Fructus.I think it's $2.99 a bottle.:thumbsup:

FourAngelKisses
15-05-2006, 13:17
Another thing I love is their toilet paper.....12 rolls for $3.99 and it's good quality stuff.

elissas
15-05-2006, 13:23
I'm an Aldi shopper. The nappies are awesome and we haven't really had a bad product yet. Their crackers are better than Savoys.

Instead of bags, I grab empty or near empty boxes from the aisles and line the bottom of the trolley. Easy for packing, and unpacking. No messing with bags, and they just go in the recycling bin at home. I always forget to take my green ones, so I just go the boxes now.

mum33
15-05-2006, 16:50
Sorry,I meant to say the shampoo and conditioner in the orange bottles! It's called Natures Essence and is just like the Garnier Fructus.I think it's $2.99 a bottle.:thumbsup:

they are the same basically, only different for different hair types.

i tried the nappies and wipes. the wipes are not as thick as huggies but they almost as thick and are good for $2.99. the nappies seem to be a little wide in the crotch for my DS but see how they go on leakage and stuff later as he's on had them on for 5 minutes so far.

with toilet paper, i dont buy at aldis but my local petrol station as they sell a bulk pack of toilet paper, 48 rolls for just $9.

Briswegian
15-05-2006, 18:48
I love the nappies!!
The wipes are sort of like the johnson and johnson ones but much cheaper. I prefer they huggies style wipes and so buy the little wishes ones from woolies.

It's great for staples...milk....bread...mince...etc and so cheap.

I love aldi but do find it a pain to have to go to two shops. And sometimes they don't have everything that you'd usually buy from there aswell, so I tend to just go occasionally and buy up on the things that I like and also pick up milk while i'm there.

EskimoMumma
15-05-2006, 19:31
i would love to work at aldi..you can sit down while in the checkout! BONUS!:thumbsup:

kiwibird27
16-05-2006, 23:23
I agree about the fruit and vege!!! There potatos are often off too!!!

TwoBlue
16-05-2006, 23:30
My local Aldi's fruit and veg are GREAT !
Better than my local Safeway..(the fresh food people my bum!)

Harlequin
16-05-2006, 23:58
There is one thing though..where are the products made??? all of our stuff says 'made especially for aldi stores' and a product of NSW...but does this actually mean they were made in NSW or outsourced from other countries???

I think they are just generic aussie products that they buy wholesale and put their own brands on. I'd say that they are australian products for the most part. I remember reading that they are, in some cases, probably the same generic products you buy from other supermarkets. (just with different packaging and names)

Im another Wa person with no Aldi.

MonkeyMum05
17-05-2006, 07:55
After reading this thread, I decided to go an check out my local Adli :D

...I wasn't very impressed though?
Most things seemed to be the same price as I would normally buy from the supermarket... (such as cheese, spreads, canned foods) and I can't really see how I would save by shopping there?
I guess it depends on the items you would normally buy?

mum33
17-05-2006, 13:17
After reading this thread, I decided to go an check out my local Adli :D

...I wasn't very impressed though?
Most things seemed to be the same price as I would normally buy from the supermarket... (such as cheese, spreads, canned foods) and I can't really see how I would save by shopping there?
I guess it depends on the items you would normally buy?

are u kidding? everytime i go there i am shocked at how much cheaper it is than any other store and i always save a least $100 everytime i shop there. i bought $300 worth of groceries there monday but only spent $170.

oh well, i guess its not for everyone.

MonkeyMum05
17-05-2006, 13:19
Nope, definately not kidding. We don't buy very much pre-packaged food... rarely eat meat... don't normally buy softdrink or sweets.

FourAngelKisses
17-05-2006, 14:06
One thing my 8yr old loves from aldi is their rolls of devon. $1.99 for a huge roll. Itty bitty rolls from IGA cost $4 something.

jordy&steph'smumma
17-05-2006, 14:19
My kids love the party pies.....and little packs of chips,twisties etc for $3.99.
I must admit I save a heap otherwise I wouldn't travel the 1/2hr to my nearest store!!!!!
We only have an Iga where I live and it is privately owned and doesn't have all the really good specials that the other ones do in the other towns around us, that are advertised on the tv.

So I love aldi I just save too much to not go there and shop fortnightly.

FourAngelKisses
17-05-2006, 14:28
My kids love the party pies.....and little packs of chips,twisties etc for $3.99.
I must admit I save a heap otherwise I wouldn't travel the 1/2hr to my nearest store!!!!!
We only have an Iga where I live and it is privately owned and doesn't have all the really good specials that the other ones do in the other towns around us, that are advertised on the tv.

So I love aldi I just save too much to not go there and shop fortnightly.

We are in the same boat, crappy and expensive IGA, so we go to Coles/Woolies?Aldi 1/2 an hour away. Works out a lot cheaper, and I save 11 cents a litre on petrol while I'm over there.

mum33
17-05-2006, 15:15
i have to say after a couple of days using and evaluating them, i dont like the nappies. the grips tabs keep coming loose and the nappy almost falls off. the crotch is wide and bunches up between his legs. the nappy itself isnt very flexible in movement as the stuff its made out of is very stiff and hard.

the wipes arent as thick as huggies but for now they'll do. i dont think i'll be buying nappies or wipes from aldi's. i think i'll stick to the snugglers i've been using as ive been having no problems with them in the 4 1/2 months ive been using them.

i may try other generic brands in the future but for now i'll stick with the snugglers.

Ange&Seth
17-05-2006, 15:59
Really Sw33tn3ss?? That's so weird, though it's funny how different brands of nappies, suit different bubs hey? I've never had a problem with Aldi Nappies (did you buy the Mamia ones? They're the ones I use, but apparently there is another brand sold there too) but you say they didn't work for your bub. I know someone who swears by Dymples brand and I've had nothing but trouble with them. Before I had a bub, I just thought everything would be the same for every bub, product wise. It's a pity they didn't work out, but everything's worth a try I reckon :D

mum33
17-05-2006, 16:08
Really Sw33tn3ss?? That's so weird, though it's funny how different brands of nappies, suit different bubs hey? I've never had a problem with Aldi Nappies (did you buy the Mamia ones? They're the ones I use, but apparently there is another brand sold there too) but you say they didn't work for your bub. I know someone who swears by Dymples brand and I've had nothing but trouble with them. Before I had a bub, I just thought everything would be the same for every bub, product wise. It's a pity they didn't work out, but everything's worth a try I reckon :D

yeah mamia brand nappies. i SO regret buying them and wishing i had just bought another pack of snugglers as they have given me no trouble in the time ive been using them. if weak griptabs are "not working for my bub" then yes i guess they arent. they seem cheap to me. now i have a big bag of nappies i dont want to use as i find them to be really bad but have no choice but to use them til i can buy another bag of snugglers. maybe i will have to use them as a daytime nappy, that way i can keep an eye on the grip tabs so the nappies doesnt end up falling down on him. i'm gald they are workin for u, because for me that are just not.

not happy jan! :thumbsdown:

Ange&Seth
17-05-2006, 16:12
not happy jan :laughing:

I've never had any trouble with the grip tabs - have you had a look at the packaging? I'm fairly sure they have a return guarantee thingy where you can take them back if your not happy and get a refund??

Just looked at a packet I've got here and it does say that you can take it back. At least that way you wouldn't have to worry about them coming undone and stuff and you'd have some peace of mind

FourAngelKisses
17-05-2006, 16:18
I love the Mamia nappies,. they last all night on Matthew and even for a couple of hours after he wakes up.

Now Snugglers, I can't use those, lmao. Every time I do, he leaks within half an hour and when I say leak, I mean he is totally drenched.

Take them back, I'm sure they will be more than happy to give a refund.

Ange&Seth
17-05-2006, 16:21
Just thought of another question too sw33tn3ss - what colour packaging did you buy? Green ones? Seth's in the green ones at the moment, but I just wondered if maybe the smaller or bigger ones fit differently - if that's the case I'm gonna be wary of them cos I tend to stock up on them and was planning to start buying some of the next size up so that I've got them in the cupboard....

mum33
17-05-2006, 16:24
I love the Mamia nappies,. they last all night on Matthew and even for a couple of hours after he wakes up.

Now Snugglers, I can't use those, lmao. Every time I do, he leaks within half an hour and when I say leak, I mean he is totally drenched.

Take them back, I'm sure they will be more than happy to give a refund.

its funny, i never had a problem with snugglers and my sons nappies get very wet at times and still havent leaked.

but thanks for tip Ange. :thumbsup: i never thought to check the packet. i;ve used three already. will that matter when i take them back? i just have to find the recipet now....

colour? they are yellow packet... although DS is 5 months he is a big boy for his age and has to use a bigger size nappy. but i dont think the grip taps being weak has anything to do with the size of the nappy. they are the right size for his weight and everything and i dont think another size would make a difference.

its very disappointing though. everyone else raves about them and u think "gee, i'm going to get a bargain and dont have to spend so much on nappies" then you get them home and use them and they fall way short of your expectations. it makes you feel so ripped off.

Ange&Seth
17-05-2006, 16:43
yeah I know what you mean, it is a disappointment when ppl rave about something and it's nothing like what you thought it'd be.

I don't reckon it'd be a problem to take them back if you've used three. We had a simmer sauce last night from there and on the jar it says, if you're not happy with the product then return if for a full refund. All you can do is try chic, the worst that can happen is they say no :thumbsup:

I'm interested to try the wipes now too. My mum's coming up next week and bringing a whole heap of stuff with her from Aldi. I emailed her a shopping list! Although any wipes will be better than the ones we're using now. DP went a bit crazy on ebay when we found out I was pregnant, and bought 3 cartons (72 pkts per carton) of wipes, and they're not very good at all. the first half of the pack is dry as, the bottom half so wet you have to wring them out before you use them and sometimes they make DS smell. :fingerscrossed: the Aldi ones are good. She's also bringing up some of their shampoo and conditioner for me to try. Can't wait, it's gonna be like Christmas!! :laughing:

mum33
17-05-2006, 16:54
yeah I know what you mean, it is a disappointment when ppl rave about something and it's nothing like what you thought it'd be.

I don't reckon it'd be a problem to take them back if you've used three. We had a simmer sauce last night from there and on the jar it says, if you're not happy with the product then return if for a full refund. All you can do is try chic, the worst that can happen is they say no :thumbsup:

I'm interested to try the wipes now too. My mum's coming up next week and bringing a whole heap of stuff with her from Aldi. I emailed her a shopping list! Although any wipes will be better than the ones we're using now. DP went a bit crazy on ebay when we found out I was pregnant, and bought 3 cartons (72 pkts per carton) of wipes, and they're not very good at all. the first half of the pack is dry as, the bottom half so wet you have to wring them out before you use them and sometimes they make DS smell. :fingerscrossed: the Aldi ones are good. She's also bringing up some of their shampoo and conditioner for me to try. Can't wait, it's gonna be like Christmas!! :laughing:

aldi wipe are somewhere half way between j&j quality and huggies quality, as in thickness terms. not as thick as huggies but thicker than j&j. they are good wipes for value wise but if huggies wipes and aldi wipes were the same price, i'd go the huggies. but i'll probably still buy the mamia ones though...

the shampoo and conditioner is good i;ve found. i;ve had no problems with them. they are better than some name brand products that ive tried.

the nappies and the LACURA exfoliating facial scrub (dried my skin out) is the only thing ive had a problem with at aldi's.

babytoo
17-05-2006, 18:56
I had my 2nd trip there today and enjoyed it even more...I spent $67 and got soooo much including nappies....only problem is the nappies I bought were way too big so I guess she will grow into them!!

jessgray
18-05-2006, 06:40
i went down to aldis yeaturday and stocked up on some groceries :smiliedance:
i spent about $50 i think i iwll start going there more often:thumbsup:

FourAngelKisses
18-05-2006, 07:40
i went down to aldis yeaturday and stocked up on some groceries :smiliedance:
i spent about $50 i think i iwll start going there more often:thumbsup:

How much do you think you saved by going there? I think I save at least $100, probably more, by going there.

jessgray
18-05-2006, 07:59
i think i saved $60-$100 DP was shocked at how much i came back home with :laughing: i got 5 of the green bags from there too coz they were cheaper then the ones at coles and safeway lol

Harry&Max's Mummy
18-05-2006, 08:16
I went last night to get 3 things bread milk and breat fillets for dinner (its 2 minutes up the road) However i came hope with a full green bag and $45 later. This week they have some kids clothes on special. They were quite nice and perfect for kindy, oh and their microwave popcorn is tops...

jessgray
18-05-2006, 08:21
i am shocked at how much you can fit in a green bag :laughing: having never used one or owned one i was very surprised at how much these bags can hold:thumbsup:

jordy&steph'smumma
18-05-2006, 08:29
The green bags are great at least they don't break.
The only problem is I forget to take mine half the time, but there is usually a box or 2 you can take from the shelf and stack your stuff in that.
Or I just chuck it all in the boot and get my bags when I get home to fill up and take inside.

jessgray
18-05-2006, 08:44
a good way to not forget them would be to keep them in the car :thumbsup: then they are always with you. i saw people with boxes when i was aldi's :o

diamonds22
18-05-2006, 09:31
Wow!!! I can't believe how many people replied!! YAY I’m not the only one!! :smiliedance:

sw33tn3ss- I brought that Lacura scrub the other week...its been fantastic on my skin (ive been getting heaps of blackheads lately)...but I'll slather on the moisturiser just in case so it doesn’t dry my skin out.

Monkeymum- I can't believe you didn’t notice the difference in prices?? lol me and my hubby were almost dancing down the aisles...heheh i'm sure no one could tell it was our first time..:rolleyes: :D

jessgray-I can't believe how much the green bags fit in them either...we only needed four for a full trolley load...and they are so much easier to carry! (we live in apartments and use to have to go up and down the elevator at least twice..now we can do it all in one go)

We are moving to Caloundra in August...and I'm pretty sure they dont have an Aldi...hubby and I have decided that its worth the f/n trip in to brissy to bulk buy for the savings!!

Oh and i think I can tell some of the big brands that have been packaged differently...they almost look the same:laughing: just not as much effort put into the advertising on them! it seems so silly to me that I use to only shop at coles! and was a brand name snob..totally kicking myself over it now!

FourAngelKisses
18-05-2006, 09:35
lol, it's great isn't it? :thumbsup: :smiliedance: :thumbsup: And don't you just love it how you don't have to wait at the checkout for half an hour like you do elsewhere?

Odessa
18-05-2006, 11:59
it seems so silly to me that I use to only shop at coles! and was a brand name snob..totally kicking myself over it now!

I'm very glad to see you join the ranks of the financially sensible :thumbsup:

There's no point to being snobby about brand names. It's all marketing! It doesn't really reflect the quality of the product, but the slicker the marketing, the more money you'll shell out for it.

BiNdI86
22-05-2006, 14:06
I always shopped at ALDI, from when it first opened in Toowoomba. But have never tried the nappies!!

:yes: I'M CONVERTED!!:yes:

I love there Nappies!! They are so much better than Huggies. I got a cheap brand from Big W and the bum kept going saggy in them, so DD was waddling around like a duck!! Now I have found a 'keeper'!! I tried them for 1 day...then went back the next day and got another packet!!

DD loves the sea creatures on them too and how the nappies have a different animal on them everytime. (she get's excited about which one she wears next :laughing: )

rynosmum
22-05-2006, 16:56
Well, I tried Aldi for the first time today and I agree that the prices were great ! $12 per kg for porterhouse steak ? 79c for soft drinks ? Cocoa pops for $1.99 ?

Pricing looks pretty good to me.

I'm yet to try it though - I have the Mamia nappies and wipes - I hope they're as good as everyone says !:thumbsup:

mum33
22-05-2006, 17:02
i dont usually buy meat from their because after buying the frozen stuff, meat wont fit in the freezer so i buy meat each night. how does aldi's meat compare to butchers? as in price?

rynosmum
22-05-2006, 17:08
Pretty good really. I saw Porterhouse steaks in Woolies recently for $26 per kg and they are nice and thick. Rump was the same price.

Harry&Max's Mummy
22-05-2006, 20:18
We had the lean beef strips for dinner in beef strog and they were so tender Yummo

suemp
23-05-2006, 12:08
yeah all the meat we have bought from there has been tops...better than bi lo anyway.
just wondering do their nappies come in newborn size? ive only seen medium or large.
thanks ;)

Odessa
24-05-2006, 10:44
I'm fussy with meat, and I buy ALDI chicken breasts, round steak, porterhouse steak, and premium mince. It's all fantastic. I even buy their sliced deli ham.

ALDI Cheese slices are great too, as is the low fat grated cheese.

rynosmum
24-05-2006, 11:43
Okay, we've officially been using Mammia nappies for 3 days and the verdict is in.......

They're fantastic !!!! No leaks, no broken tabs, no issues at all ! Thanks ladies, I think we're on a winner.....:yes: :smiliedance:

Odessa
24-05-2006, 11:47
Hurrah! ALDI Converts :yelclap:

Harry&Max's Mummy
24-05-2006, 20:20
I went back to top up my cupboards today and got the choc chip biscuits for the first time (always got the scotch finger and arrowroot and they are to die for) yummo go very well with a cuppa:smiliedance:

Ange&Seth
24-05-2006, 20:30
Mum arrived on Sunday night, and yes it was just like Christmas!!! :laughing:

She bought me 4 packets of the Mamia wipes - 2 scented and 2 unscented. Haven't tried the unscented ones yet, but so far I don't think I like the smell of the scented ones. Though DS hasn't smelt when I've changed his nappy since using them so that's the main thing. I'll definitely be buying more of those wipes!

24-05-2006, 20:33
Im sorry girls im not an aldi fan. I went there once didnt buy anything just didnt like the way it was set out...i just think its cause i dont like change :p

FourAngelKisses
24-05-2006, 21:12
Someone was asking about newborn nappies..........I was there today and they do sell them. they are in a yellow packet. :)

24-05-2006, 21:45
Yer i think i need to be a bit open minded about the whole thing & try again. :yes:

FOURtunate
11-06-2006, 10:21
I have to say, I'm not a fan of Aldi. I save more by shopping at Franklins, and buying No Frills or Specials items. 3lt milk is $2.89, bread is $1.60 though I buy my bread at the bakers for $1.20 as it has no preservatives.

I get annoyed when I have to have a $2 coin to get a trolley. I want my shopping to be easy. Plus, the brands are not Australian. I know the chances that No Frills products are Aussie is pretty low, but at least I save a bit more. You can't get everything you need there, and I end up having to go to the supermarket anyway for some things. And the nappies I buy are cheaper and better quality than the Aldi ones (Treasures).

Aren't I a party pooper.

lukaelmo
11-06-2006, 10:42
DP and I are trying to budget :laughing: , and to do my bit I thought I would try out Aldi... I have to admit, I was pretty excited by the find. We used to spend around $80 a day (we like to spend money :eek: ) at the Coles down the road, when we went to Aldi I think we spent around $150 - for the week.

I admit though I did have a menu plan, something I have never really done before...

I would like to try out a few other supermarkets too, BiLo is next on our list of "budget things to do" :laughing".

babytoo
11-06-2006, 11:27
I have been going there for about a month now and still love it...this is really sad but the night b4 grocery shopping I get all excited!! lol....my mum and her partner have been overseas for over a month and groceries are a lot cheaper over there...they have never been to Aldi b4 so I sent them along and they loved it!! They also came home with a $800 Massage Chair, the ironing press and the great big gigantic LCD TV!! lol its very funny!

Every week, I try to spend as much as I can and I just can't seem to get past the $70 mark!! I LOVE IT!:smiliedance:

Shelly68
11-06-2006, 18:49
Has anybody tried the Honey Wheets from Aldi,

they're pretty good, I've tried the Sanitarium brand and you might as well be eating cardboard.

The Aldi brand has no preservatives or additives, there is sugar but it's not too bad.

If anybody remembers the old Kelloggs Honey Wheats which they stopped making about 10-12 years ago (I think) then this is exactly what they taste like.

Sanitarium 250gram is $4.00 a box,

Aldi version 750grams is $5.00 a box. Great value for money.

My kids get it every so often for a 'treat'. Much healthier than nutri grain which is 48% sugar, OMIGOD, that's scary, no wonder they bounce all day after eating that.

lukaelmo
11-06-2006, 19:09
We went to BiLo today - I was a bit disappointed... the vegies were pretty wrinkly and I am not sure it ws all that much cheaper overall... We didn't buy any meat there, if the veggies were wrinkly then what was the meat :eek: .

So Aldi has been the best so far... We are off to Franklin's next and then Action... ooo and Coco's!

sopolicha
11-06-2006, 19:15
We went to BiLo today - I was a bit disappointed... the vegies were pretty wrinkly and I am not sure it ws all that much cheaper overall... We didn't buy any meat there, if the veggies were wrinkly then what was the meat :eek: .

So Aldi has been the best so far... We are off to Franklin's next and then Action... ooo and Coco's!

I hate to rain on your saving spree, but Coco's seem to sell their fair share of wrinkly F & V as well.

lukaelmo
11-06-2006, 20:13
I hate to rain on your saving spree, but Coco's seem to sell their fair share of wrinkly F & V as well.

Thank you very much O learned one of wrinkled vegetables :D . I am scratching Coco's off the "Supermarkets I must visit" list...

How about Woolies? I have never been to a Woolies... a very sheltered life I have led thus far...

sopolicha
11-06-2006, 20:24
I am really picky when it comes to Fruit and Veg. :o There used to be that lovely Fruit and Veg shop near the Coles down your way. Is it still there?

Never, ever been to a Woolies? Not even for milk?

lukaelmo
11-06-2006, 20:35
I am really picky when it comes to Fruit and Veg. :o There used to be that lovely Fruit and Veg shop near the Coles down your way. Is it still there?

Never, ever been to a Woolies? Not even for milk?

A true Woolies virgin :D .

And you are right about that fruit and veg shop, fabulous range and quality... and lovely staff. But they really are very expensive, I only realised it when I went shopping at another fruit and veg shop when I was visiting my parents. And I have been told that the Coles near me is one of the most expensive in Brisbane... Silly me, I thought all the different Coles would have the same prices :laughing: .

And that is why I am attempting to convert.

Rockett
11-06-2006, 20:49
How about Woolies? I have never been to a Woolies... a very sheltered life I have led thus far...

If your looking to save money,then I'd steer clear of Woolies,I find you don't get much for your money at all.:thumbsdown:

Shelly68
12-06-2006, 10:50
If you want cheaper fruit and veg Ali then definitely give your local fruit/veg shop a go. We have great ones out this way (and one is right outside of a Coles supermarket so they're extra competitive).

You generally find that most of the produce is locally grown too so you're supporting the local person

Odessa
12-06-2006, 12:02
I get annoyed when I have to have a $2 coin to get a trolley. I want my shopping to be easy. Plus, the brands are not Australian. I know the chances that No Frills products are Aussie is pretty low, but at least I save a bit more. You can't get everything you need there, and I end up having to go to the supermarket anyway for some things. And the nappies I buy are cheaper and better quality than the Aldi ones (Treasures).

Aren't I a party pooper.

I don't mind the $2 deposit for the trolley, I've been to other supermarkets (Coles, Woolies) that also use a coin deposit system. The trolleys are usually in really great condition because people don't just abandon them in the carpark or the street, or wheel them home like they do with the free trolleys. Plus you get the $2 back anyway!

As for the brands, yes they are owned by ALDI but the majority of goods are actually made in Australia by Australian manufacturers, purchased in bulk by ALDI and repackaged into their own "brand" packaging. 100% of the fresh meat sold is Australian, 98% of the dairy, etc. You're still contributing to the Aussie economy even though you're shopping at a German supermarket.

I still have to go to Woolies for some items (usually Whiskas for my fussy cat) but most items I buy from ALDI. I like that there's a limited range of groceries, less impulse spending for me! :thumbsup:

FourAngelKisses
12-06-2006, 12:08
We do about 15% of our grocery shopping at Coles/Woolies and the other 85% at Aldi, it is saving me about $100 a week, I love it.

mum33
12-06-2006, 12:22
I don't mind the $2 deposit for the trolley, I've been to other supermarkets (Coles, Woolies) that also use a coin deposit system. The trolleys are usually in really great condition because people don't just abandon them in the carpark or the street, or wheel them home like they do with the free trolleys. Plus you get the $2 back anyway!

As for the brands, yes they are owned by ALDI but the majority of goods are actually made in Australia by Australian manufacturers, purchased in bulk by ALDI and repackaged into their own "brand" packaging. 100% of the fresh meat sold is Australian, 98% of the dairy, etc. You're still contributing to the Aussie economy even though you're shopping at a German supermarket.

I still have to go to Woolies for some items (usually Whiskas for my fussy cat) but most items I buy from ALDI. I like that there's a limited range of groceries, less impulse spending for me! :thumbsup:

what she said^^^^

:thumbsup: :thumbsup:

FOURtunate
12-06-2006, 12:34
With 4 kids, there is never a spare $2 coin for a shopping trolley!

FourAngelKisses
12-06-2006, 12:37
I always have tons of $2 coins, I break notes rather than use change.

Odessa
12-06-2006, 12:44
I try and keep a $2 in my purse at all times, I know I've been caught out before!

FourAngelKisses
12-06-2006, 12:46
If you do get caught out, just ask someone going in/out if they have change, or if someone is returning their trolley, just give them $2 in change in exchange for their trolley.

jordy&steph'smumma
12-06-2006, 13:16
Sometimes you can put 2 5 cent pieces in the trolly and it thinks its a 2 dollar we have done that a couple of times and it has worked although last time it didn't!!!
Just make sure that if someone wants to give you $2 for your trolly when you take it back that it really only has 10 cents in it tho lol

JeSsIkA
12-06-2006, 13:25
Wow after reading all these great things about Aldi i really wanna try it. thing is i live quite a fair way from the a store... about 45mins.. do you thing that it would be worth it??
thats a fair bit of petrol to get there... i guess i could make a day of it, make it my shopping day.. hmm...

FourAngelKisses
12-06-2006, 14:01
I make a 45km one way trip to my Aldi and I think it's definately worth it.

Jenko
12-06-2006, 14:08
We just got back from our first Aldi shopping experience and i am definately a convert! I loved it!! :yelclap: We were in and out within half an hour (it usually takes me 45-60mins) as there isn't as much choice, which is a good thing for me. I couldn't believe how much cheaper things were. I didn't realise that they had fruit&veg and meat. That always turned me off because i thought i would have to shop in 3 different places.

I didn't mind the $2 for the trolley -i mean you get it back...but the trolley was great! I always end up with a dud trolley at coles and end up almost breaking my back trying to turn it. :mad:

I can't wait to go back next week. I love everyones thoughts on different products as i wasn't too sure about a few things (like the pasta sauce -thanks Georgia)....will definately be stocking up next time! :D :smiliedance:

babytoo
14-06-2006, 20:03
I'm an Aldi VIP!! lol...today when I got to the check out the usual lady gave me a 'token' ...gosh how priveledged did I feel....lol....guess what the token does??? It fits into the trolleys so you don't have to use a $2 coin...lol am I special or what????:D

Odessa
14-06-2006, 20:08
babyboo, I feel ripped off! I've asked for a token before and the checkout guy denied knowing what they were! :thumbsdown:

Me
14-06-2006, 21:31
I've been wanting to go to Aldi for so long but have been without a car for a while. I didn't know when I was getting another car so a few weeks ago I did a months worth of groceries and now I wish i had of waited and gone to Aldi:(
Oh well, I'll just be able to go at DH's next pay(he gets paid monthly:thumbsdown: so I try to stock up once a month). Someone mentioned getting a nappy sample - can you organise these or is it just easier to buy some and try them out?

Shelly68
14-06-2006, 21:35
We had the Aldi pasta sauce tonight for dinner,

very nice, and for $1.39 (I think that's what I paid) great value for money.

gracewolds
15-06-2006, 05:55
I am an aldi convert and must mention how goof thier banana bread is - though it often sells out - it is with the fresh bread. Also thier Italian Penne De Casa bread is fantastic - my girls eat it as toast in the morning.

I go to woolies very now and then to stock up on a few things - but no more. I was horrified last week when I went and 4 bags cost me $110.00 - most of my budget for the food for week!! never again

My husband is a aldi snob too - but as he doesn't do the shopping he has no choice and goes to wollies to get his shaving stuff himself

~Emmylou~
15-06-2006, 09:53
We tried Aldi shortbread on the weekend - $1.99 a packet (as opposed to nearly $4 at Woolies) and according to DH who is a shortbread freak they taste just as good.
Now that I have converted my brand snob DH, we have been trying more and more stuff every week and I would guess about 95% of it is as good or better than Woolies and so much cheaper :D

mum33
15-06-2006, 11:43
I am an aldi convert and must mention how goof thier banana bread is - though it often sells out - it is with the fresh bread. Also thier Italian Penne De Casa bread is fantastic - my girls eat it as toast in the morning.

I go to woolies very now and then to stock up on a few things - but no more. I was horrified last week when I went and 4 bags cost me $110.00 - most of my budget for the food for week!! never again

My husband is a aldi snob too - but as he doesn't do the shopping he has no choice and goes to wollies to get his shaving stuff himself

lol... i bought some aldi banana bread the other day and just had a piece right now for a mid morning snack and i was just goin to get on here and brag how good it was but u beat me to it!! lol...

gloria jeans sells it for almost $4 a slice, aldis sells it for about $4 a loaf!!!

and it tastes alot better than gloria jeans anyways so i know what i will be buying from now on!!!! :D

i used to go to woolies to get a few things that i cant get from or dont want to get from aldis like baby stuff or toothpaste and coffee etc....for a few items it would cost me almost half of what i pay to do a full load of grocery shopping at aldis so never again!! but i still need to buy those particular things so i tried franklins and they are much cheaper. i sometimes visit coles when i am at mums as thats the closest coles to me and they are really cheap too!!

diamonds22
15-06-2006, 11:49
and one more thing, their chocolate bars that look like kit kats, can't remember the name, taste just as good as do the cherry ripe bars that aren't really cherry ripe bars

Oh yeah!!! lol the Kit kat look alike bars are delish!!! we usually end up eating them in two days!!:o lol very nice. (The bountys are good too..not called bountys but very very identical wrapping..you can't miss em)

I love the marinated chicken kebabs (sp) so easy to cook and taste really good, i find a lot of the supermarket ones are made up of the yukky bits of chicken ie fatty bits. I prefer the aldi ones for sure.:yes:

Hmm have to find out about this 'Token' business now too!! i keep a $2 coin in a 'secret' :p compartment in my car and just leave it there for aldi shopping only.

Ange&Seth
15-06-2006, 11:51
I've just emailed off my latest shopping list to my mum and dad for Aldi as they are coming up to see us this weekend. I tried their shampoo and it is no different to Garnier Fructis, I actually think I like the Aldi brand better

mum33
15-06-2006, 11:51
whats with people whinging about puttin a $2 coin into a trolley that can be pushed in a straight line and can be controlled properly and is clean and that you get your $2 back anyways.......

to me thats just a very petty thing to be having a whinge over....

FourAngelKisses
15-06-2006, 11:58
whats with people whinging about puttin a $2 coin into a trolley that can be pushed in a straight line and can be controlled properly and is clean and that you get your $2 back anyways.......

I agree, I could understand the complaints if it were a non-refundable $2 for a filthy trolley with broken bars that didn't go in a straight line.

diamonds22
15-06-2006, 12:09
i didnt seem like I was whinging did i??:o lol i'm totally fine with the $2 trolley thing..i just want a 'token' cos others have one!! heheh

Odessa
15-06-2006, 12:14

While I don't agree with the "petty" call, I have to say that I still get caught out without a $2 coin sometimes. I'd love a token :thumbsup:

babytoo
15-06-2006, 15:21
I dont think anyone was really whingeing about the $2 coin thing...I think more to the point sometimes we get caught out without a coin....I know also sometimes its difficult and a little bit of a pain in the bum (can I say that word) also when you have a baby...walk up to Aldi with baby in arm, put baby in seat, do shopping, wheel your trolley back to car, then have to wheel it all the way back to the Aldi bay to get money back, carry baby back to car....thats all that annoyed me at first but I have gotten myself a little more organised now and park right next to a trolley bay that has an Aldi return....one day I didnt have coin and wheeled a woollies trolley into there...I also apologised to them...ok here is my list of delish things....btw I havent seen the banana bread...

* Pasta and sauce box....herb and cheese flavour $1.99 can't remember the brand but its made in italy so its gotta be good!
*Cheese and Bacon Balls...cheesier and baconier than the real deal
*Titan Bars like mars bar but a little hint of peanut flavour I think
*Bacon
*Free range eggs $3.99 compared with $5.99 in woolies
*Smoked oysters
*Shampoo & conditioner in the green bottle
*Toilet Spray Lavender
* Dishwashing Powder...its only $1.99 for 1kg (i used to pay $5.99 woolies)
* Diet Lemon drink...yum 69c
* Gummi Bears & snacks so juicy
* Onion Rings
* Shoestring Fries....taste just like Maccas and just $1.99 for 1 kilo
* all the meat and veggies
* Oh GOD...the Chocolate Chip Cookies!!
* Nappies & Wipes..the Mamia brand...I used to be a Huggies only for my DS but these are great once you get the right size.
* Baked Beans...45cents
* Yummy Garlic Bread too...i can keep going:rolleyes:

Just about everything I have tried has been fantastic...the only thing that I havent personally tried and will not buy again.....is the Cat Food...my cats went on starvation strike and refused to eat it!!! Such a shame as its half price of Whiskas etc...

Love their catalogues too:thumbsup:

Odessa
15-06-2006, 15:30
My cat hated Sylvesters too, Babytoo!

diamonds22
15-06-2006, 15:33
lol...since when did our cats become brand name snobs like our hubbys too:rolleyes: :p

mum33
15-06-2006, 16:15
i didnt seem like I was whinging did i??:o lol i'm totally fine with the $2 trolley thing..i just want a 'token' cos others have one!! heheh

no you arent whinging but others are and i really cant see why.....:confused:

Odessa
15-06-2006, 16:42
lol...since when did our cats become brand name snobs like our hubbys too:rolleyes: :p

Dp is thankfully not a brand snob...I was worried he'd turn his nose up, but he doesn't really look at the packets...He loves their Jersey Caramels! :laughing:

mum33
15-06-2006, 18:17
Oh yeah!!! lol the Kit kat look alike bars are delish!!! we usually end up eating them in two days!!:o lol very nice. (The bountys are good too..not called bountys but very very identical wrapping..you can't miss em)

dont tell me that!! i am already fat enough now with all the chocolate biccies and everything i have been buying from there lately because of the good reviews from others on here.......

lol :laughing: :o

Jenko
23-06-2006, 18:19
We've done 2 shops at Aldi now and this week we saved about $60-$70:smiliedance: I just wanted to add that i made a beef and vege soup this afternoon with the Aldi diced beef and it was sooo tender....melted in my mouth. I LOVE ALDI!!!:thumbsup: :thumbsup: :thumbsup:

23-06-2006, 18:44
Aldi is great I don't shop there often because my fiance and I don't drive and the nearest Aldi isn't exaclty walking distance, but last time we were there we bought a whole heap of stuff (can't remember what) but one thing I bought was a huge bottle of shampoo and conditionair and its lasted 2 years:eek: It was only $1.70.

blessedmummy
03-08-2006, 19:59
man.. wish wa had a aldi store, it sounds so good! especially with all the savings everyone is having! we only got coles and woolworths here and IGA, thats it! bummer! allwell.. maybe one day!!

me25:)
DH 25:)
Emily3:smiliedance:
Clare22months(as of tomorrow!) :smiliedance:

blessedmummy
07-08-2006, 17:48
hmmmmm i have heard so much about mamia aldi nappies... i have no idea how i can get them since i live in wa and we dont have a aldi store here.... if anyone is interested... please help??

Mumma
10-08-2006, 16:44
I love Aldi's too! I got so excited about it when I discovered it (DH thought I was funny).

But just wanted to say though that my fussy cat loves the Aldid's cat food - Silvesters. There was another brand there that she hates! But dedinitely love the fish based Silvesters! Yay - saves me lots of money.

Thanks also for all the great suggestions too (heaps of these things I haven't bought) - pretty my next big shop isn't til the end of the month :laughing:

Little Gorilla
10-08-2006, 21:01
we tried the chicken kebabs yesterday night....yummy:thumbsup: :thumbsup: ...and I'm pretty pickie when it comes to meats.....

rynosmum
10-08-2006, 21:06
Try the honey and almond biccies. I can't remember what they're called but they are imported from Holland and are divine.

Ana Gram
11-08-2006, 01:18
We went and checked out Aldi last weekend and was not all that impressed to be honest. How on earth do you find anything in there?
Plus there were a lot of little bits and pieces from my shopping lists that they didn't have, so I would have to go to 2 different supermarkets.

Jenko
11-08-2006, 08:35
Chelle i still have to go to woolies once a week or so to get 'brand' things that aldi don't have, but i reckon it's worth it as the majority of things i buy from aldi are definately cheaper than woolies or coles.

FourAngelKisses
11-08-2006, 09:54
I go to Woolies first, then I go to Aldi. We don't buy any fridge or freezer stuff from Woolies, so I don't have to worry about it sitting in the car for 20mins while I'm in Aldi. Going to Aldi saves me about $100 a week.

Ana Gram
11-08-2006, 11:09
I could barely find anything that I would buy there. Well actually I could barely find anything. We only spend $100 a week on groceries and to go to 2 places would probably cost us more in pertrol!

Karizma
11-08-2006, 11:11
Thats it, I am going to check it out :laughing: I heard so many different opinion of Aldi, I am just gonna look for myself :)

~Emmylou~
11-08-2006, 11:13
They've changed their wipes!!!! :banghead: :banghead: :banghead:

Has anyone else noticed?
The flip top lid thingy is now glued on really flimsy and so hard to open with one hand....and the wipes are wetter....and just not the same!

NOT HAPPY JAN!! :mad:

Ange&Seth
11-08-2006, 11:15
I hadn't noticed that they'd changed their wipes!!! Are you talking about the Mamia brand ones? We were there 3 weeks ago and bought some and they were the same as usual. I really hope they haven't changed the Mamia ones !

FourAngelKisses
11-08-2006, 11:16
You'll love it. Their bakery products are really cheap, their frozen foods are so cheap, biscuits, nappies etc. Okay, everything is so cheap!!

FourAngelKisses
11-08-2006, 11:17
They've changed their wipes!!!! :banghead: :banghead: :banghead:

Has anyone else noticed?
The flip top lid thingy is now glued on really flimsy and so hard to open with one hand....and the wipes are wetter....and just not the same!

NOT HAPPY JAN!! :mad:

Yeah I noticed that too.....had to almost break into them with a chainsaw, LOL.

~Emmylou~
11-08-2006, 12:00
Yeah the Mamia ones :mad:

They're obviously getting a different manufacturer to make them. Still the same-looking packaging, but the wipes and lid design have changed.

Little Gorilla
11-08-2006, 17:36
Yeah the Mamia ones :mad:

They're obviously getting a different manufacturer to make them. Still the same-looking packaging, but the wipes and lid design have changed.

hhhhmmm I prefer the new mamia wipes....I like that they are a bit weter and I prefer the bigger opening in the top of the pack.:thumbsup:

FourAngelKisses
11-08-2006, 18:06
I don't mind them either, I just hate the fact that you need to be a professional locksmith to open them, lol.

blessedmummy
11-08-2006, 19:36
yeah.. wish wa had a aldi here.. it sounds really great! we only got woolworths, coles, and IGA, i usually shop between the three for the good specials now and then, so, its ok i spose.. but still wish we had aldi.. its a pain! :banghead:

Ange&Seth
11-08-2006, 20:11
I wish we had an aldi here too. The closest one is an hour and a half away, so we go every few weeks and do a big shop (which means we spend about $100) and then just get our perishables from the butcher and green grocer here. We have to make a trip within the next few days actually cos we've only got half a packet of nappies and are on the last packet of wipes.

mazzania
22-02-2008, 09:49
does anyone know where u can find out what companies actually make each of the products at aldi. as i am rather fussy with my food and petrified of buying something that i just wont eat.