View Full Version : Tannum Sands/ Gladstone area

KayDee81
21-10-2008, 12:06

Hubby and i are looking to relocate to Tannum sands next year and i was wondering if i could get some honest opinions of the area. If we should live in Gladstone itself or out at Tannum Sands?

Is there much to do? We are a young family, i have two kids, 5 and 2. I am 27 and hubbby is 31. We are hopeing to meet people with similar interest if we do move up there. We like to Camp, 4X4 driving, have a boat and enjoy having a BBQ and drinks with friends. I will be doing Family Day Care up there also.

It would be great if i could get some info on the area.

Kim

Chunkydunks
21-10-2008, 12:25
We lived in Boyne for 12 months and loved it. If it wasn't for the heat we would have stayed there but I'm a Canberra girl and just couldn't. I prefered being out at Boyne as opposed to being in Gladstone and it is only 15 or 20 mins to Gladstone itself so its not like a huge hassle to get into town. Tannum is beautiful. There is a fantastic park at the beach that has BBQ facitlities. Also just on the Tannum side of Gladstone there is an indoor play centre. I haven't been there myself but I've heard its good. Actually in Gladstone there is the park at the marina which is really nice. There are many different playgrounds around too. In Tannum/Boyne everything is within walking distance and its reasonably flat too. Theres Coles and Woolies out there so you don't have to go into Gladstone to do your shopping.

I hope you like it up there.

jacethisa
21-10-2008, 12:33
I live at Boyne :) Love it and couldn't imagine living anywhere else..

We have very similar interests too :) My Dh and i recently bought a Camper Trailer. got sick of putting up the tent.. We have 4 kids. 3 boys 1 girl thier ages are 9, 5, 3, and 11 months . My oldest goes to Boyne School. i am quite happy with it and my 5 yr old will be going there next year to Prep..

I prefer t live out here rather then Gladstone.. I guess it all depends on what sort of work your DH will be getting and if in Gladstone would the cost if fuel make an impact.. My Dh used to Drive in and out of Gladstone twice a day but not works out here..

there are enough shops out here that you might need to drive into gladstone all that often.. We have Woolworths, coles, pizza shop a few other take aways.. even a couple clothing stores (surf shops) apparently getting a Mcdonalds but not 100% on that..

Anyways if you have any more questions ask away :)

oh and my name is Nic :)

Terrible2+1cutie
24-10-2008, 17:31
We lived in Boyne / Tannum till about 3 years ago when we moved into Gladstone cause price of houses to buy were cheaper but would move back out there in a flash. I went to Boyne Primary and DP went to Tannum Primary and DP still currently works for Boyne Smelters and has done so for 11 years.

I have 3 boys Blaze aged 5, Bailey almost 4 and Talon who is 10 weeks old I love meeting up with friends for BBQ and drinks too although it doesn't happen all that much these days as i have either been pregnant or breastfeeding non stop for 5 years or so. My name is Catherine too by the way.

shell@home
28-10-2008, 12:53
Hi, Boyne Tannum is great. I think it's a great place to raise a family. Bike tracks just about everywhere. Great picnic places, the beach heaps of fishing spots. Just about all you need to get by is here & as the others have said Gladstone is only a short drive away. We usually make a trip to Gladstone about once a week for anything we can't get here. There are alot of places not too far away to go camping 4x4 etc. Lots of Playgroups etc.

welshmammy
01-09-2010, 20:39
Just wondering if you made the move to Tannum Sands/Gladstone?. My husband has just been offered a job in the vicinity so I am interested to know what it's like?...any infomation would be appreciated...we have a 4 year old son so any advise re Schools would also be appreciated. We are presently living in the UK and have never been to Australia so all this is a bit daunting at the moment!.

Chunkydunks
01-09-2010, 22:15
We've just moved back to Gladstone and we're loving it. Things have really gone ahead here and the town is looking so pretty with a few little touches like garden beds in the traffic islands.

There are a number of new housing estates going ahead that look really good too but we haven't had much of a chance to fully explore them all.

With the school's it would depend on if you want a private, religious based school or a public school. There are two catholic primary schools and one Lutheran school. I can't say much for the schools at Tannum/Boyne because we didn't look at them but out of the public schools in Gladstone we chose Clinton or West Gladstone and because West wouldn't take us out of catchment we went with Clinton and Ds is loving it. I'm a little confused with starting ages and what not because Ds started in NSW.

Good luck with it all.

melh1
27-10-2010, 16:04
We are looking at relocating early next year to possibly Tannum Sands. We emigrated from South Africa in 2008 to Melbourne and now my hubby has a possible job offer in Gladstone South but have been told Tannum Sands is the best place to settle. Is there any information anyone could provide us with? You all seems so happy there which is what I want to hear, I have to uproot my 3 kids again (aged 10, 8 and 10 months) so would prefer to settle where they would be happiest and possibly be able to meet people....

starbright77
06-11-2010, 20:50
We are looking at possibly relocating to the Gladstone area soon as well and I'm wondering what public schools are good? I've heard the two private ones are very full/hard to get into.. am also hearing rents are soaring, not good news for us as we will be looking for a rental. Hmmm....

melh1
07-11-2010, 09:24
Hi Starbright. I have been doing a heck of a lot of research, depending on where you stay the rentals are pretty high. We have been advised to stay out of Gladstone and try and get into Tannum Sands, Boyne Island, those areas, this has been on the advice of a number of people that I have been chatting to on forums. I have been in touch with one or two estate agents as well who have advised the same. We too are looking at rentals and unfortunately the rentals are higher than what we are used, especially in tannum sands area. There are schools around, I know one is a Catholic school which we will look at as my kids are currently attending a Catholic school at present not sure about the public schools though. Perhaps get in touch with them via email and see what the availability is like. If I can help in any way, give me a shout and send me an email, I have been researching like crazy and hubby is flying down at the end of November to check it out. :)

sunshinebub
07-11-2010, 14:15
Just wanted to add my opinion....We lived at Tannum for 14 years, before moving to our farm 2 yrs ago. We now live outside of Calliope, which I can highly recommend:)

It's only 20 mins from Gladdy and from Boyne/Tannum but it has that small country town feel....

Tannum is great, lots of bike tracks that go on forever around the water, an excellent park down at the beach, those are the things that take us back to Tannum regularly to meet friends. Boyne and Tannum now to us feel like a big city, we like the country, thus our move to Calliope.
The schools at Boyne, Tannum and Calliope are really good....

Being in the real estate industry, I can guarantee you that rents and housing prices will (and already have) soar. With the announcement of the Liquid Gas Pipeline, things have gone crazy..rents are hitting around $380 - $500 per week, which is crazy but that is the way it is....

Personally I wouldn't live in Gladstone, too much pollution from the industry, but there are alot of schools there to choose from.

This area is developing so fast, we love it here......

melh1
08-11-2010, 08:13
Hi sunshinebub, so nice to chat to someone in the area as well, gives one a better feel for the whole place. Yep through all the people I have chatted to including real estate agents, they have all advised against staying in Gladstone itself and looking on the outskirts, like Tannum, Boyne and Calliope. I might just have a look around there as well as I have heard good things about the area as well and love the idea of a small town feel :)
So good to chat :)

royncrystal
08-04-2011, 08:22
Hi my wife and I are moving to gladstone region from brisbane in the next month. Im already living and working up there but coming home on weekends until i start shift. We have 2 daughters one is 3 and a half and the other is 7days. We would also like to get to know some people up there who are in the same boat. im 28 and my wife is 25. We enjoy boating, socialising, letting the kids play, enjoying the outdoors, and just starting to get into fishing.
Anyway just thought id get on here and put it out there.

melh1
09-04-2011, 18:26
Hi Ron and Crystal :)

Welcome :wave:

We have been in Gladstone for 3 months now and are loving it. We are staying in Calliope but are trying to move into Tannum Sands/Boyne Island as my kids attend St Francis Primary School and the drive is a killer.

We have 3 children, a boy aged 11, a girl aged 9 and a little girl aged 15 months :) We love it here! The people are so friendly and helpful that you will meet friends quickly. If your wife can, join a playgroup, its well worth it and you get to meet lots of other moms. I have joined the playgroup at St Francis school in Tannum Sands and its lovely there. Depending on where you settle, your wife is welcome to join in and come and spend a morning with us :)

I have also recently taken my daughter to Terri's swim school and am enjoying that with her too and also getting to meet some new moms that way :)

Shout if you have any questions.

Im sure you guys will meet many people here, they really are just awesome and Tannum Beach is beautiful and lovely for the kids to have a good swim :)

Good luck with your move

rennaluna
15-04-2011, 16:09
Calling anyone out there.....we are moving from Brisbane to Gladstone at the end of May and likely will settle in the Boyne Tannum area. I have a 4 yr old son who has been at kindy here and would really like to continue him up there but from a bit of research on the net have discovered that there is next to no hope of him getting a place at the Tannum C&K (nor for my 1 yr old daughter in 2013 as the waiting list already miles long!) Does anyone know of other kindergarten or preschool options in that area? I will be keen to find a playgroup as soon as we arrive, have noticed a few people on this thread already go to one, so might meet you soon!

melh1
16-04-2011, 19:08
Hi there rennaluna, Im not 100% sure on the kindy's in Boyne and Tannum, I only know of the ABC in Boyne but I can try and find out some information for you and let you know. I go to the playgroup at St Francis Primary School, they have both Wednesday and Friday sessions. I have 2 children that attend St Francis and a 15 month old who is one of the youngest at the playgroup. There majority are between 2 1/2 and 4 but there is also a playgroup plus for the older little ones. Just pop onto the website www.playgroupaustralia.com.au/qld (http://www.playgroupaustralia.com.au/qld)and you will find information. Please feel free to email me if you need anything else and good luck with your move.

Gold Coasters
08-08-2011, 19:36
Hi Rennaluna,
Just wanted to say "hi" and interested in how you've found the move.....We're about to come up to Gladstone from the Gold Coast, first week of September (I have a soon to be 4 y.o boy and a 1 y.o girl. Did you end up in Tannum/Boyne? We too are wanting to live in the area and am finding the whole kindy / daycare thing a little daunting. Any advice? I had my son booked in to the C&K here on the Coast for next year, only to give up his position and start all over again up there.
Any suggestions on a playgroup?
Sorry for the questions, hope all went well for you, cheers

rennaluna
09-08-2011, 12:12
Our move went well (as well as a move can I suppose!). The Boyne/Tannum area is really lovely and great for families, but kindy is a bit of a hassle. We now live at Boyne Island. You can put your child's name down on the Tannum C&K waiting list for next year by emailing them and they will email a form to you, also there is a new C&K opening at the Tannum school next year which you can put your name on the waiting list for via the C&K website and submit it online. I think they may both already be full but you might be lucky, I've already put my daughters name down for 2013 so have my fingers crossed.

My son was already at a C&K in Brisbane this year and I had my name on 5 waiting lists for C&K's here, but after moving found out about an independent kindy which I was lucky enough to get a place at - St Stephens Community kindy which is on the outskirts of Gladstone the Tannum side. It is not really religious and a wonderful little kindy, very similar to the C&K we were at, with comparable fees. I've heard it has shorter waiting lists than the C&K run kindys, but you may want to put your son's name down everywhere in the event you don't get a place at Tannum for next year :fingerscrossed: (which you probably won't). I highly recommend the St Stephens kindy - the 15 min drive doesn't really worry me after living in Brisbane.

If you don't get into a kindy, there are a few playgroups that cater for 3-4's, but its not really the same.

I can't really comment on the daycare centres as haven't been to any, the word in the playground though is that both the ABC at Tannum and the Boyne childcare centre are excellent, but I don't know about availability of places. I know prices are more than double that of kindy though.

Re playgroups, I checked out Tannum Turtles at the CWA Hall on a Wednesday - very chaotic atmosphere with lots of mums and kids in a small space, but very organised programme with some friendly ladies. Haven't been there again as my son now goes to kindy on Wednesdays. I have settled into the Scallywags playgroup at Boyne on a Tuesday at the community centre behind the library. It is a relaxed atmosphere with great play areas etc, and is very well run with friendly mums.

Hope this helps! :)

Pippy the Hippo
09-08-2011, 12:20
Hi lovely ladies....
I'm not sure how you feel about it, but because of the heavy industry at the moment, there are quiet a few experienced ladies/mums out there who are offering day care from home and are really great.... Its well worth looking into if you cant get into C&K or where ever. :)

Gold Coasters
09-08-2011, 13:14
Hi there, thanks so much for the info. I had also heard good things about St Stephens and am trying to get them to email me a waitlist application form...Have my son also down on the waitilist for the new C&K @ Tannum - so here's hoping for a miracle!
Hope to catch up with you at Scallywags one day :):hyper:

Oli Mac
04-09-2011, 09:29
Hi just reading through your post and am wondering if you ended up doing family daycare at Tannum? My hubby and I are relocating up to Tannum in a few weeks and i'm on the search for a family daycare for my 11 mth old. I know the waiting lists are huge but im interested to know if you yourself have a family daycare, or can recommend anyone you know of? Thanks :)

Oli Mac
04-09-2011, 09:31
Can you recommend anyone thats doing family daycare hun? Ive searched and searched and have only come across the Salvation Army family daycare. Thanks : )

Gold Coasters
06-09-2011, 07:23
Hi Oli Mac,
Unfortunately I havent quite got that far yet. We arrived last weekend and I've just started the "rounds". I have a 4 y.o and a 1 y.o and am looking at options to get them both into the one place.....both the ABC @ Tannum and the Boyne Island day care seem really good but I had to waitlist my 1 yo in both places....I'm sorry I cant be of more help, I would have thought the Salvation Army would have pointed you in the right direction? I'm under the impression they manage/administer all the family care in and around Gladstone? Let me know how you go....cheers

Pippy the Hippo
06-09-2011, 07:35
Ummm I'm pretty sure that anglicare do the daycare stuff here but their waitlist is 16+ pages long...!!!

I do know that for older kids the wait in *some* centers isn't as bad but the wait for bubs is pretty bad. I am 14 weeks preg and have been told to book now and put my name down because at some places in Gladstone the wait is 18 months plus!!!

All these new people to town! If anyone wants to catch up for coffee or anything let me know we can set something up! :)

This message proudly brought to you by Mumma Puffins portable telecommunication device. Beep beep.

Oli Mac
07-09-2011, 22:03
Thanks for your reply hun! Salvation Army were great the only problem is I am now on the end of their 4 page waiting list : ( ah well I think I will have to manage till something comes up. And youve got 2 to try and find spaces for! I hope you find something hun, we got accepted for our house today so we move up in 2 wks from now, very excited : )

Oli Mac
07-09-2011, 22:07
Oh WOW!! Yeh I will be one of the newbies shortly : ) Gosh there is such a high demand isnt there! I put my little guy (11mths) down on the Salvation Army waiting list which was apparently 4 pages long *sigh* something will come up when its meant to be im sure. I would love to catch up for coffee as I know absolutely no one up there. We found out today our house application was accepted so we move up on the 19th to Boyne, very excited! :)

oceanfray
08-09-2011, 09:11

I'm in the Tannum/ boyne area and I was wondering if any of you know if you have to enroll super early for kindergarten? My baby is only one but I've heard that you've got to be really on the ball?? Also, can anyone recommend a really good friendly playgroup for babies??

I'm up for meeting up for coffee if anyone feels like it :)

I'm pretty new here too and I'm due to have baby number two next year :) :) :)

melh1
09-09-2011, 08:11
Hi there ladies,

Welcome to all the "new" ladies to Boyne/Tannum and all those still on their way :wave:

We have been here since January and love it. We initially stayed in calliope but with my older kids are in St Francis the drive was too much and I am much happier in Boyne Island :) Love it here although I feel rents are far too high....

Oceanfray, welcome :) I would recommend that you get your little one on a waiting list asap. I put my little girl (20 months) on their waiting list into C&K on their website and will probably start doing the same at the ABC and Boyne Island Child care just to be safe. There is another child care opening next year either at Tannum State High or Primary school, not sure which one but I can find out if you would like?

As for playgroups. You will note from previous threads that everyone has their own playgroup they like. I went to a few and eventually decided on Tannum Turtles by the police station in Tannum Sands. Some days they are very busy and others not but I go by my little one and she loves it there. At the end of the day the decision really is yours and I would advise you to visit a few playgroups and settle where you feel comfortable.

I went to the health care nurse in Hayes Avenue (Behind the boyne library at the Castletower building) and they gave me a book that lists all the playgroups, schools, kindy's, etc. Its a fantastic resource book with alot of valuable information. Pop in there and ask them for the community directory

Also there is baby bounce every second thursday during the school term at the boyne island library - Mt Larcom room, its fantastic!! The next one is on OCtober 13th at 11am, its really fab!

If you need anything else, just PM me anytime :)

Oli Mac
09-09-2011, 19:12
Hi Melh :wave:

Thanks so much for all the info lovely! VERY excited about the move, ive always wanted to live in a much quieter beach town and now that my hubby's worked dragged him up their we're making the move : D

I will definitely be keen for checking out the play groups, its such a strange feeling that we're packing up and moving to a town where we dont know anyone, we've always had our family and friends close by :)

Packing with an 11 mth old is not so exciting though lol its more like 2 steps forward 1 step back as he 'sorts' through the packed boxes himself :eek:

melh1
10-09-2011, 17:31
Hi Oli Mac :wave:

Your most welcome, its really awesome here, we have just come back from the beach, love it, love it, love it! I am so glad we made the move. We initially emigrated from South Africa to Melbourne and then after 2 1/2 years moved here and I am loving it here, my kinda place and an awesome place for our kids to grow up :)

You will be fine and you already know some of us here :) its a great town with very friendly people :) I know that feeling though as we have been away from our friends and family for 3 years now but I am lucky to have found some lovely people here and in Melbourne who are now practically my family anyway

We moved when baba was 12 months old so I feel your pain and know how hard it is!! Hang in there, it will be so worth it :)

when are you guys arriving here?

rennaluna
11-09-2011, 06:03
Hi Oceanfray and Olimac (and everyone!), I totally agree with Melh, there are lots of playgroups and all have something to offer, just try some of them until you find one that suits you and your kids. I have been here 3 months now and am really loving it so far. I have a 4 yo son going to St Stephens kindy and who will go to Boyne Primary next year, a 2 yr old daughter and one on the way, due December.

I definitely recommend putting your kids names down for kindy as soon as you can, I have already put my daughters name down at both the existing Tannum kindy and the new one opening at the Primary school.

Look forward to possibly meeting people at one of the playgroups, but I'm also happy to meet people for coffee or park playdates :) especially as we only know a handful of people so far too. Its always good to make more friends......and it sounds like none of us have family here, so its good to form a support network for each other.

Good luck with the move Olimac :fingerscrossed:

Oli Mac
12-09-2011, 10:18
Thanks so much for your responses ladies! Its definitely making the move seem less daunting! Its so crazy about the huge wait lists for childcare and schools! I hope the local government does something about it soon. I just enrolled my little man into swimming lessons in Gladstone for the upcoming term and was shocked they actually have spaces left haha

We move up this coming Monday :D

My email address is olimacheels@live.com.au and am definitely keen for a coffee and playdate with you ladies! Shoot me an email and we can try and organise a time once we've made the move :)

melh1
13-09-2011, 08:07

Yep I am always up for a coffee or a playdate at one of the parks, there are so many beautiful parks around here :) Just inbox me too :)

Olimac, best of luck with the move :) Saw a response from you but it is not here anymore.... which swimschool did you enrol your little one in? My little one is in Terry's swim school, love it there. We are actually heading off for our last lesson of the term in about 2 hrs :)

Oli Mac
14-09-2011, 17:44
Thats so bizarre Melh i had the email come through with your last comment but its not showing on here either :confused: ah well thank god for emails haha :)

ive enrolled him in at the gladstone aquatic centre, hes always done lessons with an aquatic centre so i stuck with them. i was so relieved to get him in! its so funny to me that all the lessons run by a term up there, ive only ever had him enrolled in all year round lessons, which are great!
I keep telling myself that the packing and cleaning will NOT get the better of me :freakingout: counting down the days now. will message you when we make it :D

melh1
15-09-2011, 11:02
Its done it again Olimac!!

Aaah well at least I know you will get it in email :)

Good luck with the move and get back in touch when you get here, best wishes. My email address is melholl@hotmail.com :)

nicmic7475
16-09-2011, 05:12
Hi Guys :wave: We are from Brissy and also looking to do the trek up to Gladstone for work. Exciting and scary at the same time! Lots of hurdles to cross yet tho. I am 37 and have a 31/2 and a nearly 2 both boys. Looks like kindy/daycare is going to be an issue. Hope the moves go well and you all settle in fine.. :)

Gold Coasters
19-09-2011, 07:32
Hi all :wave:,
Well it seems like there's a lot of us in the same boat!

Welcome nicmic7475 .... I found this blog very helpful when we were moving up too ...We've been here 2 weeks now and are loving it! We're still in our "transit" house in Gladstone, but were lucky enough to buy in Tannum (a quick decision but we couldn't stand the idea of sky-rocketing rents...and we got such a good feel from the place, reminds us a little of the GC). The house settles at the end of October and I can't wait to move in to the area. I have a soon to be 4 yo boy (and managed to get him a day at Boyne Island child care) and a 1 yo girl (who is on every waitlist possible). Definitely get your kindy/daycare waitlists in!
Would love to catch up when everyone's available. Maybe once Olimac has settled in, cheers

Pippy the Hippo
19-09-2011, 07:45
Hi all :wave:,
Well it seems like there's a lot of us in the same boat!

Welcome nicmic7475 .... I found this blog very helpful when we were moving up too ...We've been here 2 weeks now and are loving it! We're still in our "transit" house in Gladstone, but were lucky enough to buy in Tannum (a quick decision but we couldn't stand the idea of sky-rocketing rents...and we got such a good feel from the place, reminds us a little of the GC). The house settles at the end of October and I can't wait to move in to the area. I have a soon to be 4 yo boy (and managed to get him a day at Boyne Island child care) and a 1 yo girl (who is on every waitlist possible). Definitely get your kindy/daycare waitlists in!
Would love to catch up when everyone's available. Maybe once Olimac has settled in, cheers

Haha I think I'm the only one in this thread who has actually lived in the area for a while now!!! (aaahuuum - since birth haha)

Are you all mostly moving up here for the work..? It's lovely up here :) I think it's relaxing especially when you are out of Gladstone itself.

I have no kiddlywinks but am currently preg. We own a house out in Beecher (on the way to calliope) and it is so peaceful and quiet!
My dp works for his family business doing earthworks and in the trucking field at the moment taking gravel and lime to Curtis island...
I am thinking of resigning at my current job because of chronic morning sickness :(

I would be keen to catch up with anyone who wants to - pending I'm not at home sick as haha...

If anyone wants any local knowledge let me know!! There is lots to do when you love the place and look around!

This message proudly brought to you by Mumma Puffins portable telecommunication device. Beep beep.

Oli Mac
28-09-2011, 11:42

Sorry for the delay in getting back to you all! Ive LOVED reading everyones comments and have really appreciated the input!

WE MADE IT :cheerleader2:

Arrived early last week, all unpacked now and finally things are settling down! OMG I love it here!! It is even more amazing than I thought it would be! And like everyone has been saying, everyones so friendly!
Ive been taking my little guy for a walk after his morning sleep every day on his little bike along the esplanade, its so lovely seeing all the families and mums with the kids out and about, very refreshing!

My hubby 'forgot' to change our interent over soim having to use my iphone internet in the mean time :rolleyes:

Would love to meet up with any of you ladies this week if your free. I usually take Oliver down to the esplanade at 10:30ish till 11:30-12 every morning :)

crazylife
25-10-2011, 16:08
I'll be moving to Boyne Island in about 3-4 weeks time. Reading all the threads have been very useful so a BIG THANKYOU:). I visited there a month ago and loved it. Lucky for the Hubby as he has been working up there for a little while, and he loves it. So we are bring our two girls Maddison (3yrs) & Sophie (15 months) all the way from Warrnambool Vic.:freakingout:

Oli Mac
26-10-2011, 07:19
Hi crazylife!

I can not rave enough about how fantastic these past 4 weeks of living here have been!! So much so we have decided that this will be a permanent home for us, with no plans to move back to the sunshine coast now whatsoever!!

Everyone is so friendly here, and its just so much more cruisey than the hustle and bustle of the coast, whilst still having a gorgeous beach right here!

I still havent had a chance to check out any mums groups as im now in my very final week of uni so the past 4 weeks have been crazy trying to get all my final report done but in the next few weeks I'll finally have a chance to :smiliedance:

Honestly it was such an easy transition! If you plan on using childcare or family daycare pop your name down on lists now before you even move here. We did that and I ended getting a family daycare spot 2 days a week however after 1 day there pulled him out because the carer's idea of family daycare was not 'stay at home and centre the day around educating the children', it was 'drag the kids around with me while i do my grocery shopping, banking etc'! I was appalled!! Even moreso that when I called the family daycare provider to pull himout and tell them why they actually said that they allow that!! :no:

So give yourself some time so you can be picky with who you want as a carer. I only needed it while I finish this past month of uni and now I dont need my little guy in, ive just been hectic but its worth it rather than that.

Good luck with the move! :)

crazylife
26-10-2011, 18:28
Hi Oli Mac,
OMG which day care centre was this? I've already started to put my girls names down for kindy & day care.
I can't wait to get up there the only down side is i have to put alot of our furniture etc into storage, and i haven't even seen the house that we are renting yet! i've been told by the hubby that it is alot smaller than our house at the moment:(. I'm hoping this is the last move for us we have moved from N.S.W to W.A then Vic for my hubby's work.
What have you been studying?

Oli Mac
27-10-2011, 07:28
It was a family day carer in the Salvation Army scheme. Im sure most of the family day carers in that scheme arent like that, hopefully just the 1 lady I had or im in for a long wait haha She was a lovely lady I just dont think that taking the kids while you do your errands and your daily things is the right attitude to have towards being an educator! I could easily do that myself without having to pay someone else to do so!

Ohhh noo! Can you see any pictures on the real estate website? I scoped that out before letting my hubby say 'ues' to a house haha Its sounds like we're much in the same boat, its so annoying having to move to follow the work! However we havent had to move interstate like you, you poor thing! And with 2 kiddies!

Im in my very very last semester of my degree :cheerleader1: Im studying a Bachelor Urban and Regional Town Planning :) Back on the coast I worked part time at a town planning firm and if I can get the little guy in with a good family day carer I'll go back to part time next year for 6 months to have :fingerscrossed: save the rest we need for a house deposit.

Any questions feel free to ask lovely, although im still a newbie lol but its good to get a fresh view on things ; )

amberjasmin
17-01-2012, 13:44

My husband and I are considering a move to Gladstone in the next month or two. We were very excited about the move, however I have read some articles and reports on an increasing incidence of chemical related illnesses, particularly Chronic Lymphoid Leukaemia in the area.

We are hoping to start a family very soon so the articles and reports I've read have really scared us.

I'd love more information from the local community and suggestions on where would be the safest place to live - the least susceptible to pollution.

From everything I've read in this thread it sounds like a great place to live, the pollution and health risks do scare us though.

Many thanks!

Pippy the Hippo
19-01-2012, 06:43

My husband and I are considering a move to Gladstone in the next month or two. We were very excited about the move, however I have read some articles and reports on an increasing incidence of chemical related illnesses, particularly Chronic Lymphoid Leukaemia in the area.

We are hoping to start a family very soon so the articles and reports I've read have really scared us.

I'd love more information from the local community and suggestions on where would be the safest place to live - the least susceptible to pollution.

From everything I've read in this thread it sounds like a great place to live, the pollution and health risks do scare us though.

Many thanks!

Would you be able to link me to some of the articles and reports you have read regarding the pollution and cancer links here...? I would be very curious!!! :)

Nothing has been proven about the "pollution" in Gladstone..... BUT - I have heard we have the highest number of cancer patients per capita in Gladstone. Just something to keep in mind.

You could always live at Beecher, Calliope, Benaraby, Boyne Island, or Tannum Sands.... All beautiful areas that are about 15mins from Gladstone do not in the "pollution zone".....

What do you do for work? It's very industry dominated here... So great for working families :)

We used to live in town but have moved out to Beecher and love it out here. I think Gladstone is great if you're here for the right reasons. :)

Pippy the Hippo
19-01-2012, 06:49
Just thought I would add....

I have lived here for almost 23 years and my whole family is from here.... Although I have HEARD that thing about most people per capita with cancer here.... I have only known one person to have leukemia this whole time I have been here, and no one I know has passed away from the big C.

So maybe that thing I heard is just rumors??!!