View Full Version : spin-off thread: did Bubhub convert you to mcns?

borntobemummy
20-10-2008, 11:53
going from jag's thread, it just got me thinking how many of us were actually converted from being on bubhub. I know I was!!:D

NibbleCurlynBub
20-10-2008, 11:55
I'm getting there.

They're so expensive though. :(

Chunkydunks
20-10-2008, 11:56
I used mainly cloth with DS but good old terry flats. Never even knew about MCNs until I joined BH.

YMo7
20-10-2008, 11:58
never knew about them until i joined bubhub either - and yes i am being converted! is there gonna be a poll?

borntobemummy
20-10-2008, 12:00
I'm getting there.

yeah, but way cheaper than sposies in the long run. When I worked out which kind I wanted I started getting a couple here and there when I had money, then emailed them and asked for a better price if I bought a few and they gave me a great price! And I bought the rest at that price when DS was born and we got his baby bonus.;)

jag5000
20-10-2008, 12:01
um .. yep! :laughing:

and I LOVE them already and it's only been 4 days :o

Loopy Linda
20-10-2008, 12:01
me too. i remember reading some mcn threads ang laughing so hard " those weirdos are so in love with their cloth nappies!" hubby would come in room and ask what so funny but the seed was planted, now i am a weirdo i love them, they are too damn cute and i love them... and i WANT MORE ... even though i already have plenty!!!

jag5000
20-10-2008, 12:02
would you mind PMing me where that was borntobemummy? :)

YMo7
20-10-2008, 12:03
hehe - i was thinking the same thing jag - can you tell us where you got lots for a cheap price? pleeeeaaaaasssse!?

~Bec~
20-10-2008, 12:05
Indirectly yes. :o

borntobemummy
20-10-2008, 12:06
never knew about them until i joined bubhub either - and yes i am being converted! is there gonna be a poll?

I have no idea how to put a poll on:o if a mod can help that would be great:o

would you mind PMing me where that was borntobemummy? :)

no worries;) although I'm sure most companies would do that too.

NibbleCurlynBub
20-10-2008, 12:07
I have no idea how to put a poll on:o if a mod can help that would be great:o
Click on 'thread options' and pick 'add a poll' :)

Chunkydunks
20-10-2008, 12:07
The tabs at the top of the thread there is one called thread tools. There is an option in there to add a poll.

borntobemummy
20-10-2008, 12:18
ok, there's a poll now:D

jag and ymo6, did you get your pms?

Fuchsia!
20-10-2008, 12:24
yes BH did get me hooked. But i have quit cloth now :)

jag5000
20-10-2008, 12:56
ok, there's a poll now:D

jag and ymo6, did you get your pms?

yep -thanks :) .. and voted on the poll (guess what I chose? :laughing:)

La Que Sabe
20-10-2008, 13:04
I used mainly cloth with DS but good old terry flats. Never even knew about MCNs until I joined BH.

same here! reikaya is fully cloth bummed and has been from birth.
but when i came on here i heard about mcns, and i'm just getting into them.

DALLASMUM
20-10-2008, 13:13
Well i was sort of converted by BH- i had started trying to make them myself and then i found the MAKE YOUR OWN section and i was fully converted, now i have about 40ish and DS is in cloth fulltime. now im converting those around me to MCN and BH!!!!!!!!!

yes BH did get me hooked. But i have quit cloth now :)

why have you quit cloth???? if you have any to get rid of PM me- you can never have enough( thats the addiction talking)

YMo7
20-10-2008, 13:14
yup, got your pm thanks....

lol - dss#1 asked me why on earth we would want to use cloth nappies for the new baby last night... we told him our opinions on them then later when he was pulling hte c.lothes of the clothesline for us he came running inside holding up a nappy asking was it a cloth nappy? he was most impressed coz they look cool and he said he is "glad that we are using cloth nappies coz they are so cool!" hehehe :)

Fuchsia!
20-10-2008, 14:54
Well i was sort of converted by BH- i had started trying to make them myself and then i found the MAKE YOUR OWN section and i was fully converted, now i have about 40ish and DS is in cloth fulltime. now im converting those around me to MCN and BH!!!!!!!!!

why have you quit cloth???? if you have any to get rid of PM me- you can never have enough( thats the addiction talking)

It was working out to be to expensive. I was spending so much on cloth nappies every week (cause i was highly addicted). So i went back to sposies. Plus i was sick of cleaning the nappies cause he was doing some very ripe poo's! :laughing:

I still have a couple left that i just can't seem to part with! lol

Lil Mamma
20-10-2008, 15:01
later when he was pulling hte c.lothes of the clothesline for us he came running inside holding up a nappy asking was it a cloth nappy? he was most impressed coz they look cool and he said he is "glad that we are using cloth nappies coz they are so cool!" hehehe :)

lol that's cute!!

I had no idea MCN's existed til reading the threads on BH. I LOVE my clothies now and feel like I am doing the right thing by the environment. Ive switched to material shopping bags instead of plastic and my next move will be to switch to cloth wipes.

I was shocked to find out that millions of sposies are dumped very day and that they can take up to 400-500 years to break down

Bron
20-10-2008, 15:01
Not initially. I have several friends who use cloth so I saw it on their babies and toddlers before I found bubhub. Then when I found bubhub, I used the cloth nappy sections to help build up my knowledge. By the time DS was born, I'd been a convert for over a year, even though I hadn't used one yet! Now we use them constantly.

DALLASMUM
20-10-2008, 15:23

You cant part with them coz you know you cant fight the addiction for ever lol:laughing:

Kazamataz
20-10-2008, 15:40
I'm starting to realize that my anti-natal classes covered a whole lot more than other peoples.

We had a whole week on nappies and the babybeehinds and eenee reps came and gave a presentation.

Natures child was only one town over from us and everyone in the class got a 10% discount voucher.

I started with Nature's child and eenee's.

But after going to a bubhub meet I started using babybeehinds and green kids.

So I guess bubhub was partly responsible but it was mostly my ECHN who educated me.

Loopy Linda
20-10-2008, 21:19
It was working out to be to expensive. I was spending so much on cloth nappies every week (cause i was highly addicted). So i went back to sposies. Plus i was sick of cleaning the nappies cause he was doing some very ripe poo's! :laughing:

in my laugh at the "clothies days" i used to laugh at how many say they are using cloth to save money, but keep buying them cause they are soo cute.

now being on the dark side myslef i worked out that if i bought x amount of nappies for $y and bub stayed in nappies till a few months before he turned 2 i would break evern, from 22months onwards i would be saving.

i started hoping he would be late to toilet train, to get more value from my cloth, that we could have another baby so then i would be saving even more. then finally the last wish of a true clothie ..that dh wouldn't find the bill or notice the new nappies!

i reached my x amount of nappies for $y about 6 nappies on the wrong side of gdunh! and i am still going back o sites i found...hoping i could maybe slip jsut one or two in!

Fuchsia!
20-10-2008, 21:29
You cant part with them coz you know you cant fight the addiction for ever lol:laughing:
I know. I actually quit, sold them all, then i decided i wanted them back so i brought some more and now i have quit again. So im not sure if i want to part with them again. I have one that was made specially for me. It was that good i didn't even let bubs wear it. I just have it in the drawer and when i see it i rub it on my face.

Or i undo the velcro and do it back up and just stare at it. Im not sure if i will ever be able to sell it

Yes....im weird:laughing:

aardvark
20-10-2008, 21:31

That's why I've stuck with old fashioned flats and decent covers.

bAaM
20-10-2008, 21:35
Yep i had no idea then my_lot and Roopee got me hooked so now i blame them for our empty savings account :laughing:

Angelmist♥
20-10-2008, 23:01
Yep I used to argue for the pro's of sposies on here many moons ago. A few links in a thread I looked at made me want to try them and wallah full convert :laughing:.

:devil6:I even converted the "Queen of sposies"

SpottySocks
21-10-2008, 09:20
I used terry flats for my first 2 bubs, we didn't know about MCN's. I used the flats for the first 10 - 12 weeks of DD3's life and then started looking at some MCN options - but it was getting way to confusing and I was thinking about not bothering and then I found the cloth thread in BH and everyone helped me narrow down my choice and make a selection. :goodvibes:

I would be addicted if I could afford it! But as we can't I will have to make do with my current stash of 19! The good thing is they are mostly all sized so I will need to buy more around the time she turns 1 :yelclap::laughing::yelclap:

My DH was not keen at all, I got a couple of trial packs and he was soon hooked - he would complain when none of the "good nappies" were under the table when he went to change her. Now evey time he changes DD he makes a comment about how nice the nappies are and what a pity we didn't know about them when the other 2 were babies!!

pinkgingham
21-10-2008, 09:26
someone i know from bubhub converted me. but i dont feel it was bubhub that converted me.

Lil Mamma
21-10-2008, 13:20
someone i know from bubhub converted me. but i dont feel it was bubhub that converted me.

Yes this is what I meant too, bubhub itself did not convert me, the forum members did

*babygirl*
21-10-2008, 13:28
:yes: i had NO idea about them till this place came along:bee: and now i make and sell my own:thumbsup:

i am well and truely addicted thanks to the lovely clothy members of BUBHUB!!

workin'mumof2
21-10-2008, 13:28
i found zappies all bymyself at a market in qld. but how ever bubhub did show me many types of different mcn's. my dh wont let me get addicted. once we have enough for day and night thats it for us. the main reason we bought them was so we would save money :laughing:

21-10-2008, 19:08
I was converted by seeing a soaker pattern. So I converted to woolies over flats then to mcn.

21-10-2008, 19:18
I always knew that I would use cloth nappies - but Bubhub introduced me to a world of cloth nappy that I had never anticipated :)