View Full Version : Arrggg Nits!!!!

Femme-Fetale
11-05-2006, 18:51
OK not a great topic but non the less, sharing info about things like this is a necessity isnt it.

OK so tonight i was bathing my son Zeak(1yr old), and i was shampooing his hair. Whilst the shampoo was in, i comed it throu with a fine tooth baby comb. After the 1st comb throu i was confronted with heaps of lice!!! :eek: OMG so many, so i kept combing and got as much out as i could, then showerd him after it.

So as u can see, this is my 1st time with this NITS issue, what is the best way to takle this, as in, house, bedding, clothing, etc. I will get some KP-24, some one just told me that they make one that is safe for bubbies to use, not as strong or something. :confused:

Any advice on how you handled nits?

sopolicha
11-05-2006, 19:10
There was a thread a while ago about using Frontline on your kids to help get rid of nits. I am sure if you typed Frontline in the Search box it will come up.

If nothing else you should get a laugh out of it.

Elfin
11-05-2006, 19:15
I like the wildchild range which you buy at Coles, but you can just coat his hair with white conditioner, for a baby I would use Pears and you smother the blighters and should be able to comb out the nits and eggs with a nit comb.

SilverStarfish
11-05-2006, 19:16
If your little boy's hair isn't too thick or long, probably the safest way to remove them is the good old conditioner and fine tooth comb routine. You have to do it every day though, until you get all the little critters.

I don't know if the special KP-24 etc shampoos are safe (I've never used them), but your chemist would be able to tell you.

Headlice can only live for a few hours off the human body (they won't jump to dogs & cats etc) but to be on the safe side I've usually put the bedding through a hot wash cycle and put the rest out in the sun to air.

Good Luck! Nasty, nasty little things...:mad:

Starlet
11-05-2006, 19:19
Eeeww...I hate nits, I just had to treat my kids for it a few days ago.

You'll need to wash the sheets, blankets, pillows in HOT water.

I know there is a shampoo u can get that is tea tree, or something like that?? It's safe enough to use everyday and keeps those nits away.

Ugh,now my head is all itchy just thinking about them! lol

Femme-Fetale
11-05-2006, 19:24
I KNOW :eek: Now that i know there are nits here i cant stop scratching!!!! GRRRR :mad: And i cant do anything about it tonight! :thumbsdown:

Melo
11-05-2006, 19:28
Oh dear, just reading the word 'Nits' I started scratching! :p

Good luck, I hope you get them all..

Do you know where your DS picked them up from?

Femme-Fetale
11-05-2006, 19:34
I "think" he got them from daycare, but i cant be 100% on that coz 2 weekends ago i met a new girl and she bought her 3yo son with her and he may have been carrying them too, but now i dont talk to this girl so i cant ask her.
Either way ill be calling the daycare centre and letting them know i have foind them on my son so regardless of weather or not he got them there, they should keep a eye out for other kids having them coz he was in daycare yesterday. he only goes once a week but thats all u need hey! :gloomy:

CJJHRA
11-05-2006, 20:26
I found the NADS nit foam to work great!! All natural

mykidzrokk
11-05-2006, 21:00
My daughter has had them damn things since February.....my 2 bys i gave up and just shaved their heads and they've been free ever since.....I just seem to think i am on top of the blighters and home she comes with them again.....I reckon i pulled at least 30 live ones out tonight...smothered her hair in conditioner and then put a whoe heap of mousse in it..apparently they hate hair product......my next step is to actually put a few streaks of hair dye in there...she's almost 9....apparently they dont like that either.....what really ticks me off, is when u do ur darndest to get rid of the buggas and other parents dont give a toss....ggrrrr:banghead:

InSaneOne
11-05-2006, 21:35
oh don't start with me about other parents. i have known my other half for over 5 years and in all that time his kids have continually had headlice. we treat them and treat them every weekend but then come friday there they are heads full of them. we have stopped wasteing our money on expesive treatments we just use plain dishwashing liquid - homebrand concentrate (or whatever was on special that week)
shampoo it in and comb then rinse and condition. now that the girls have gone to high school and aren't spending as much time at the holiday centre we found that they haven't been getting much. hopefully we can get rid of them.

dh's lazy ex thinks that the solution to getting rid of them is to treat only when made to by the school and shave adams head. i wish she would take better care of HER children. is it too much to ask for?

munchkin05
11-05-2006, 22:25
cooking oil is the best thing

we have used that when ever dss get nits it drowns them and its cheap to use and its got no chemicals in it

just put it on leave it for a while i normally leave it on for about 30 min -1hr then use nit comb and get the little buggers out

Femme-Fetale
12-05-2006, 06:49
Thankx for the input girls, i really appreciate it!:thumbsup: I will try a chemical based product first up, but its just in plauge proportions and i dont wanna mess about. You know how it can be, sometimes u think you'd rather try the harshest thing 1st, and maybe next time go more all-natural. I just want it over with. Im thinking about also giving DS a number 1 or 2 hair cut, but hes still only a bubba (1yrs) so it would just look SOOOOO wrong and i would cry at the sight! :thumbsdown: The problem is gonna be doing my hair too, as it is past shoulder length and its blond and ive got no one to help me around here. Dam being so isolated atm! :mad: And there aint NO way i am cutting my hair all off! Not after it tok me this long to grow it! Also i woulda thought that Nits didnt like hair treatments either but it cant be so, coz i had my whole hair streaked on the weekend and well, here they are!! :(

InSaneOne
12-05-2006, 08:18
well good luck with everything

tyhleigha & izaiah's mum
12-05-2006, 08:24
i had my 2 children come home with them from kindy one day and ds was only 10months so we went to the chemist and they gave us a treatment called moov head lice treatment it was excellent and all natural. it can be used on babies heads.

Femme-Fetale
12-05-2006, 08:26
Thanks for that Belinda...
tyhleigha & izaiah's mum ~ i wonder if thats what the chemist here will recommend! All i know is it better work lol

tyhleigha & izaiah's mum
12-05-2006, 08:31
it worked with my kids and us aswell as my sister and her daughter. just ask them for it. i know here its like $13.00 a bottle (maybe different everywhere) but the bottle did 6 people and we still have some left. i have me fingers :fingerscrossed: for you

kiwibird27
12-05-2006, 08:42
Definately use the chemical based ones!! Have dealt with LOTS of cases of nits!!! Do evryone in the family!! Treat again after 3 days - vinegar works well to loosen the last eggs u need to get out!!! Use a Tea TREE shampoo and conditioner (Thurs plantation is good) as an everyday prevention, nits don't like it, and use an oil based everyday spray, I think u said it was your son - Maybe just shave his hair off????

Nits don't live long off the body - but would wash caps (if he wears them) and pillow cases as a precaution!!! Do u have pets??? Sometimes they can come from them!!!

Oh just re-read your post - your hairdresser would of seen the eggs and freaked out if u had them!!!! They always check!!!!

Sarie
12-05-2006, 08:49
Gosh I'm scratching already!!
Nits like clean hair and years ago my boss told me that she put gel in her boys hair before they went to school and she'd never had a problem!
I always put hair spray or mousse in DS1's hair befor he goes to kindy, he hasn't been going long though, no problems so far:fingerscrossed: