View Full Version : Small Baby, Low Amnio Fluid
Carmel Jane
11-05-2006, 13:25
I'm looking for positive stories here... my last check up with my Ob found that bubs is about 3 weeks behind in her growth and is going to be a 'small' baby. If she hasn't grown in about 2 weeks time, which is when I'll be 37wks, its more than likely I'll be induced so she can get out and onto my Milk to fatten her up.
My amniotic fluid levels have also decreased alot since my last check up. I've always had plenty there and then in the last 4 weeks have gotten down to low levels, I'm not sure what this means, apart from complicating delivery.
Anyway - I've done all my worrying and wanting to know if anyone has had the same experience and what happened with them? Did bub have a growth spurt and stayed in til 40 wks? or did you end up delivering early?
Thanks,
Carmel
CarolineF
11-05-2006, 17:45
when I had my daughter 6 years ago I was losing amniotic fluid from about 30 weeks. The levels were very low. The docs did not seem too worried. My baby was an ok weight but had to be delivered at 35 weeks due to problems with my health, not hers.
The only time they are likely to get very worried is if they think your waters have broken early, then to prevent infection they would probably deliver early.
You may just have a small baby. Don't worry yourself too much. If the OB thinks there is a problem he will advise accordingly. If your baby has got to 37 weeks then that is still regarded as full term, and although he/she may be small hopefully all their organs etc will be fully developed.
Modern medicine is fantastic these days. My baby was poorly after the birth as she was quite prem but the docs were fab and she is now 6 and a proper little madam with no long term problems.
Good luck with it, I shall keep my :fingerscrossed: for you.:kiss:
Cheeky Little Monkey
11-05-2006, 17:58
I had a small for date baby and low amniotic fluid throughout most of my pregnancy and my OBGYN was talking about inducing me at 37 weeks.
But in the last 4 weeks of my pregnancy she went on a growth spurt and although 12 days early (spontaneous labour - no induction) she was 7 pound 1 oz born! :eek:
Taylahsmum
11-05-2006, 18:07
Gday,
our bub was constantly small for dates as well. We had heaps of ultrasounds, and they also revealed that there wasnt a great deal of fluid either.
Bub arrived 9 days early naturally, perfectly normal and healthy, weighing 5lb 11oz and measuring 46 cm.
In my opinion the midwives and doctors rely too much on statistics, and can never be sure, as it was predicted by a midwife that Taylah would be about 7lb.
When I asked the doc when he thought bub might come, he said she would be late... 40 hours later Taylah was here...
I hope this helps a little...
maddysmama
11-05-2006, 18:14
Now this was 20 yrs ago, and I know technology has improved...but when my close friend was 7 months pregnant with her daughter, she was told her bub was only the size of 4 months gest. She also had low amniotic fluid. They advised her that her bub was probably going to be a dwarf (sorry can't remember correct term- short statured person?) and strongly reccommended a termination. She refused and after a 2 month stay in hospital gave birth to a perfectly healthy 2.5 kg bub!
I have had 3 small for dates bubs - my first two both stopped growing at 35 weeks and I was induced at around 38 weeks because of this, both were born perfectly healthy at 5lb 12oz. My third stopped growing at 33 weeks, I was induced at 37+4, he was 4lb7oz and perfectly healthy.
I have no experience with low fluid levels, sorry.
It seems this happens more often than we realise!
Good luck and I'm sure your beautiful baby will be fine, though maybe small :hugs:
mim xxx
Tam-I-Am
11-05-2006, 23:12
Ultrasounds are notoriously unreliable at predicting size of a bub - one of my dad's best friends' and his wife were pregnant with twins. Ultrasounds showed that one twin was thriving and the other was not. The small twin was so small that it would need neo-natal special care. They made the parents go to the royal women's for the birth (an emergency c-section) so they had all the equipment necessary to save the little twin's life, and flew a neonatal specialist in from sydney.
The twins delivered, and were the same size (within an ounce or so).
Try not to stress too much - just get the appropriate care. Remember that 37 weeks is considered a term baby, not premature anymore, and has the same rate of survival as a full-term baby.
I had low fluid due to a leak:o at 32 wks but then went on to have a very healthy 9lb 2oz girl 10 days over due!
I'm looking for positive stories here... my last check up with my Ob found that bubs is about 3 weeks behind in her growth and is going to be a 'small' baby.
My baby was a few weeks behind in growth too and also had low levels of fluid.I had a fair few ultrasounds to check on her growth,and the fluid levels.
She did catch up,and came out at 40 weeks weighing a healthy 3.27kgs.The fluid can replenish itself also.:)
Carmel Jane
26-05-2006, 15:40
Thanks so much for replying! I forgot that I had posted here and it is wonderful to read your positive stories.
A few weeks on and she has had a growth spurt, still small, but going well enough to leave her in and avoid any intervention. :smiliedance:
Its comforting to know that there are 'small' babies out there, I only ever seem to hear stories about big babies.
Its nice also to hear that the growth thing isn't as uncommon as I'd thought, guess you always feel like your the only one in the world sometimes. I felt like I'd done something wrong.
Thanks again for taking the time to give me good news!
xo
You are most welcome. That's what we are all here for!
I would just like to add that by u/sounds they told me my bub was on the smaller side of average, even after the leak. I really think they ae only guessing sometimes. They tole me she would be 8lb at the MOST! Well they got that wrong hey?!
They also told me my first was going to be around 5lb, she was 7lb.
Hi CJ
Glad to hear bub is doing well! :smiliedance: