View Full Version : Chicken Ideas
Kaileysmum
10-05-2006, 16:18
Howdy
Im getting stuck for dinner ideas. I really need some good chicken recipes. The only meat we eat is chicken (breast). We seem to have the same stuff all the time. So if any of u ladies have any good recipes for chicken that would be great.
(the reason we only eat chicken is Im fussy with meat, I dont like red meat and I only like the breast of the chicken, very weird I know:laughing: )
Mummabear
10-05-2006, 16:21
We eat heaps of chicken breast too because it's lean and healthy (DH is extremely fussy with his meat).
I'll list the ones that we do all the time and then you can let me know which ones you want the recipes for:
Chicken Breast Schnitzel (home made)
Grilled Chicken Breast with herbs
Chicken Curry
Chicken & Sundried tomato rolls
Chicken patties
I'd love to grab some of your regular recpies if you don't mind. It's hard to be creative when you're always using the same ingredients isn't it :laughing:
SassyDiva
10-05-2006, 17:52
We are big Chicken lovers too!
My favs are:
Chicken and Avo creamy pasta... yummo
Chicken and Prawn Red Wine Hot Pot
Butter Chicken - not healthy but I love it.
Grilled Chicken with slices of Avo and Parmesen, served with veggies
Sweet Chilli Chicken salad
umm thats all I can think of right now.. Am making Butter Chicken tonight, quick and easy.
I'll be checking this thread for any other idea's to.:)
RaryGirl
10-05-2006, 18:07
My favourite is a Chicken Curry (not very curry hot, just tasty).
I put chicken and vegies and a bottle of passata(tomato pasta sauce) in a fry pan and let that cook then do polenta with lots of parmesan to go with it. its really easy and taste sooo good!
Sweet and sour chicken with fried rice
I dice up chicken, (cook it) then add thickly diced tomato, onion and capsicum and grated cheese, mix it all up, and add a little thick chicken gravy, then wrap it in puff pastry and cook that.
Or I use the finely diced capsicum, onion and tomato, with the cheese add a little frnech dressing, lighty cook the chicken breast, then pop it in th oven with the mix on and cook on low, and have boiled pototoes and cauliflower back with that. (Or you can stuff the chicken breast with it)
Spaghetti goes well with chicken (well does in this place LOL)
Chicken and vegie pies
Chicken casserole
what sort of chicken meals do you usually cook?
em's mum
11-05-2006, 12:57
We also eat lots of chicken - here's a couple of our favourites:
Chicken risotto - I dice up lots of veges, add diced bacon and chicken and at the very end stir through parmesan cheese. (Hubby loves this one) And it's not the sort of risotto that you have to stand over and continually stir:yelclap:
Roasted chicken and vege salad - chop of potato, pumpkin, capsicum, red onion, carrot and drizzle with oil and herbs (I use garlic and mixed herbs) - roast in oven for 30mins. (I also do my chicken breast in the same herbs and cook it at the same time or you can use a bought cooked chook) Allow to cool for 10mins then combine in a bowl with spinach leaves and chicken. I've had it as is and it's yum, or you can add a salad dressing - we use Paul Newmans Ranch dressing and it's even yummier.
Chicken fajitas.
Hope this helps,
Kaileysmum
11-05-2006, 16:37
The ones I usually have are:
Chicken enchiladas (sp??)
teriaki chicken
sweet and sour chicken
satay chicken
Grilled chicken
Baked chicken
chicken risotto
I usually use packet mixes, or bottled sauces to save time.
Taylors_mum
11-05-2006, 16:43
I make chicken pastry things that are REALLY yummy. (not so good on the waste line though).
I put chicken, bacon, mushrooms, onion, garlic in a pan and cook it. Then add cream and a packet of cheese sauce mix. Simmer until it thickens. Then put a couple of spoon fulls onto a square of puff pastry and fold it over to a triangle. Brush the top with egg wash, sprinkle with seasame seeds and cook it in the oven till it puffs up and goes browm... soooo YUMMY.
I often make a big batch and freeze them as they freeze really well... then all i do is bang them in the oven, make a quick salad and bobs your uncle.
~Emmylou~
24-05-2006, 13:43
The easiest thing we do with chicken (breast or thigh fillets)
Pour 1/2 jar of pasta sauce over the bottom of a casserole/baking dish
Put chicken on top
Put slices of cheese on chicken, can also put a slice of ham
Pour more pasta sauce over the top
Bake at 180 for about 1/2 hour.
We usually have this with baked dinner rolls, potatoes and veges. So easy.
tyler's mum
24-05-2006, 13:51
i only eat chicken as well,, here are some stuff i love to make
chicken taco
grilled chicken then bake with ham and cheese on top
chicken stir fry
honey mustard chicken
honey soy chicken
baked chicken with herbs over it
grilled chicken burgers
i also love to just mix things to together with died chicken or drumsticks i add, bbq suase, tamoto paste, soy sauce, mixed herbs, grated cheese vegs, and whatever else i can find i love it:thumbsup:
Blessed Mum
24-05-2006, 14:14
Mummabear - I am looking for a good chicken curry receipe.
There are some great ideas on here as well.
jennababe
24-05-2006, 14:15
not a once a week meal but for a yummy treat..
i get chicken breasts wrap them with bacon usually get a few tooth picks to help them stay in place.. anyway brown them up nice.. and i usually stick them in the oven for a little while to make sure they cook all the way through.. if your not a bacon fan beacause u dont like red meat leave it off.. its still good!..
anyway now to the sauce to put on top of that yummy golden chicken..!!
i make a creamy mustard sauce..
first i use a clove of garlic cut up nice and thin.. some onion.. and some spring onion.. brown that in the pan for a min or so.. then add your mustard i use a honey grain mustard!!.. then add cream and a little bit of grated cheese!!...
trust me its very yummy!!...
serve up with stir fry vegies.. or mash potato & peas.. anything goes!!
and was my ex's fav dish!!!...
other then that on the more healthier side.. i also like having chicken yiros... and to add more veg to a meal.. i brown the chicken, with onion, red capsicum.. and sometimes even add a bit of broccoli and carrot!!..
for the sauce on your yiros i make my own teziki.. natural yoghurt, garlic.. and grated cucumber (squeeze the cucumber after grating to get rid of the exta juice)
easy as that.. theres ur chicken.. got your sauce.. all u need is some lettuce and cheese... and some sweet chilli sauce!!
mumslilspunks
25-05-2006, 10:53
I love stuffing my chicken breast. I just make a little pocket in the chicken and then add anything from, Rocket, brie, avacado, smoked salmon, leeks cooked with breadcrunmbs and sage, roasted capsicum, olives and whatever takes your fancy!!:thumbsup:
mythreelittlemonkeys
25-05-2006, 13:54
we stuff chook breast pocket too- with say semi dried toms basil and goatscheese or mozarella...we also do rocket and blue cheese...and wrap the breast after in parma ham (if good pay) or bacon (if not pay week!) = then wrap in baking paper and un wrap just 5-10 mins before take out to crisp up...using yummy juices as sauce...great with salad or veggies
my fave chook marinade in Uk was orange and shallots...not seen one here...sure could make with oj and diced shallots and white wine :) thats reallyscrummy too:smiliedance:
Does anyone have any other ideas?
All these sound yummy to me, but either DH wont eat them or I don't have the ingredients...need to go shopping...
Something pretty simple using chicken breast? Can anyone help?
Briannabear
02-06-2006, 19:29
We sometimes make a really easy Chicken lasange or pasta bake.
500g Chicken breasts, diced
Whatever vegies you have (eg. 1 carrot, 1/2 zucchini, bunch of cauliflower florets, peas and corn - all chopped or sliced finely)
1 cup chicken stock
1/2 tablespoon of cornflour (or plain flour) - stirred into the stock
1 can or packet of cream of chiken soup, or creamy chicken and vegies soup. (if you use a packet soup mix - mix it with 3/4 cup of hot water to combine)
Pasta of your choice (I usually use lasange sheets or spiral pasta)
Grated cheese
Preheat your oven to 180 degrees.
Cook the chicken in about a tablespoon of olive oil.
Once chicken is cooked, add vegies and stir to combine.
Add soup and stock to chicken and vegies and stir well. Simmer for 15 mins or until vegies are soft.
(add more water to the pot if it needs more liquid)
While the vegies are cooking, cook the pasta then drain.
Lightly spray a deep casserole dish with cooking spray.
Alternate layers of the chicken mix and pasta, finishing with chicken and vegies.
Sprinkle grated cheese over the top and bake until golden brown.
Enjoy! :chef:
vanillabean
03-06-2006, 21:01
My DS who is a fussy little eater loves my honey mustard chicken!
happychappies
06-06-2006, 03:45
Sweet chilli chicken
*marinade chicken(if you do not have the time just coat the chicken ) in sweet chilli sauce and honey.
*fry the chicken in a pan (use spray olive oil-keeps it light)
*Once the chicken is cooked through add a can of coconut milk(or evapourated milk) let simmer and serve on a bed of rice or with pasta.
chicken stir fry
*cut chicken into strips and let stand in honey
*boil noodles or spagetti
*cut strips of veggies (carrots potatoes zucchini mushrooms...)you can even add frozen peas/beans or corn off the cob(sweet corn)
*In a hot wok or pan add 1 tsp oil(or spray oil) add ginger and garlic (these can be cut into strips too) let fry lightly then add chicken.
*When the chicken is cooked and lightly browning add the veggies (add the harder veggies first.
*Add the noodles/spagetti
Mix together and add a splash of mushroom soy sauce. (normal soy sauce is just as good - mushroom soy is thicker and a bit tastier)
Serve hot.
Enjoy
happychappies
06-06-2006, 04:10
Mummabear - I am looking for a good chicken curry receipe.
Ingredients
Chicken
1 onion (finely chopped)
1tsp crushed garlic
1tsp crushed ginger
1 tsp cummin
1 tsp gara masala
1 tsp ground corriander
1 can diced tomatoes (or 2 tbsp tomato paste)
1 tsp salt
1 tsp oil
3 potatoes diced
optional
corriander leaves (fresh)
peas
Method:
fry onions garlic and ginger in oil, until the onions are lightly browned.
move the onions to one side(leaving the oil in the centre)
add chicken pieces (whole strips or diced) and let fry until lightly golden.
Again move all to the side of the pot, leaving oil in the centre.
add cummin, gara masala, ground corriander and salt. - let fry for 1-2 minutes.
Mix all in pot well.
Mix in canned tomatoes and potatoes(if you are using tomato paste, mix paste into half a glass of water well before adding it to the pot.)
cook until potatoes are soft(you may want to par or pre boil potatoes for faster cooking)
Add peas and let simmer.
When ready to serve add finely chopped corriander leaves.
Serve on a bed of rice.
This is a mild curry. for extra bit add chillies or chilli powder.for extra taste add curry powder.(1tsp) to spices.
You may want a creamier curry just add 1/2-1 can of coconut milk.when you are adding the peas.
Enjoy:chef:
Blessed Mum
06-06-2006, 11:32
Thanks happychappies :thumbsup:
Will give it a go.
BlessedWithBlue
06-06-2006, 20:09
Cheesy Chicken Pasta-
1/4 cup evaporated milk
1/4 cup cream cheese
1 onion chopped
Chicken Breast diced
Chicken Salt to taste
oil
Put pasta on to cook
Saute onion, add chicken breast cook until golden,
add chicken salt. Then add evaporated milk and stir through and once combined add the cream cheese until blended through.
Once pasta is cooked, drain and add to sauce and mix in.
*i always use extra quantities in the sauce or instead of using cream cheese you can just use the whole can of evap milk and a teaspoon of cornflour or plain flour to thicken. you can add mushrooms and bacon also if you like. I like to experiment with things so this is a round about recipe in the ingredients department lol
But very yummy and i made it for dinner tonight too lol ;)
Baby Girl
06-06-2006, 21:14
We have just started doign grilled chicken breast topped with mashed avocado (almost like guacamole) and diced tomato topped with a little grated cheese - the cheese melts and sticks everything to the top and it tastes great and even better it is so easy even I can cook it :thumbsup: