View Full Version : hot tips for mums and bubs
littleleos
08-10-2008, 12:41
hey thought id start a thread where we can share our hot tips.... and to ask for some hot tips
I really need some hot tips on holidaying with a 8 week old
we are driving to melb... 9 hr drive
what should I pack
should we drive there in one hit
what should bubs sleep in cot etc???
what is the climate like in melb?
anything else u think might b help full....
we have a 4wd but i feel like its still not enough room for everything.... oh and we are going for about 1 week.... HELP
littleleos
08-10-2008, 12:56
HOT TIP
cracked nipples OUCH
I have an 8 week old baby and mine have finally healed so I though id share my hot tips... u might like to add some off yours
for those who havent popped yet... buzz your nurse every time u need to feed ur baby... they said for me to do this but I didnt want to bother the busy nurses... I only wish I did now
(I had purple hickies allover my nipple before I had even left the birth unit!!!)
when u get a crack
sun bake in the sun topples.... but remember to slip slop slap... I got my boobie burn... thought it was a blocked duct.... oops
only apply very little amounts of cream as a cracked nipple is a fun place for bugs to grow especially thrush and staff.... they both can delay your nipple from healing
if your nipple isnt healing... go to your gp or health nurse for advice.... mine did a swab and cultured my milk to find out what bug I had
my Lactaction consultant suggested I bath my nipples in salt water.... too cold to go to the beach.... so I sprayed them with fess nasal spray... I truly think this helped my nipples finally heal :smiliedance:
quick tips..
attachment attachment attachment +
change your nipple pads heaps
put alittle bit of cream on your crack bit so it doesnt stick to your pad as everytime u remove your pad it will lift off the healing cells
nipple sheilds also helped me....
so what worked for u... what r ur tips
Terrible2+1cutie
08-10-2008, 18:32
The boys and i plan on driving from Gladstone to the Gold Coast in November, Talon will be about 10 weeks old, we are moteling and due to limited room in the car with 3 kids we are hiring a porta cot.
If you are breastfeeding you will need to stop for breaks in that time and its always best to have a rest every few hours for adults too, i know i wouldn't be able to go that long without a loo stop.
[quote=lianas1stbub;3123456]hey thought id start a thread where we can share our hot tips.... and to ask for some hot tips
I really need some hot tips on holidaying with a 8 week old
what is the climate like in melb?
I can help with this...we can have 4 seasons in one day...really! Today it's been about 17 degrees and windy, the forecast for this Sunday is 28 degrees. Generally at this time of the year it's pretty windy, the wind is chilly, and it's pretty chilly at night. Obviously it's starting to warm up though...I would pack for all eventualities, I tend to layer up my 13 week old, eg: singlet, wondersuit and jacket, or singlet, pants, long sleeve top and jacket, definitely socks too! I have been known to put a hat on Bridie to sleep if it's really cold. Wraps are good too.
Hope this has been helpful! Good luck with your trip!
littleleos
09-10-2008, 07:58
thanks for replying....
I was thinking of sleeping aiden in his stroller... its a phill and ted one so it lays right down and I can fit his sids monitor under the lambs thingy.. but wasnt sure if it was recomended... we also have a porta cot and some weird out camping tent thing....
I am breast feeding.... was thinking of expressing and feeding him and then stopping to burp him... but he has turned into a super sucker and empties a boob in 5minutes :yelclap:
melmc... wow... gee so I should get some more wear out of aidens winter clother... I was going to pack away his thinker jump suits but ill def pack them yeah.... some of his out fits he hasnt really even worn yet
bambi... I was thinking our porta cot was to big to cart around and that aiden is not really used to sleeping in such and open environment... Im abit scared of co sleeping ... but i reckon it would work a treat if I could... we have decided to do the trip in 2 days... it will be to much for aiden
thanks for the hot tips
I have the best hot tip on getting rid of cradle cap.... chuck out your olive oil....
yesterday I covered aidens cradle cap in QV cream (could prob use sorbaline) then I put a little cotton bonnet on to keep his head warm and to help the scabs soften. about 1 hr latter I was able to comb it all out... no oil slick hair.... (took me age to get all the olive oil out):smiliedance:
littleleos
09-10-2008, 13:43
:laughing: my LC was a man.... he is the only man i let touch my boosies other than ray and aiden...
If he sleeps in ted i wont have to pack anything else... im sure he will b safe
talons mum... what a big adventure 4 u :laughing:
Charlotte & Georgia's Mummy
10-10-2008, 11:05
Quick question for you liana - when you brushed out Aiden's cradle cap, did it make his little head go red???
I've been using oil, and bathing G inthe mornings, but when i bursh her hair her little head goes a bit red for a few hours.
littleleos
10-10-2008, 17:44
charlottes mum... i used a baby comb and very softly combed it out... it was a bit red but not for long... he look so much better, it must have been so uncomfortable for him:p
Liana i think i had the same lactation consultant as you! Did you give birth in wollongong hospital? I went over there to have my little girl (my mum lives in wollongong, i live in perth). On my third day i went to the breastfeeding class and it was a man.
My tip is for anybody with mastitis, even if its just suspected. Go to a doctor ASAP! I woke up in the middle of the night with sore boobies and a major case of the chills. It was a warm night and i needed two hot water bottles to calm myself down. I rang health direct and they told me to go to the doctor but i ignored it and went back to sleep (the thought of going to an after hours woith a sleepy baby and the chills was not my idea of fun). The next day i felt terrible (fluey symptoms) and rang my doctor who was booked out so i decided i would wait until the next day. No such luck i was really ill by night and i called a doctor that does house calls (and bulk bills :)). DP ended up going half way across the city at 2 am to the all night chemist for my prescription. By the next morning i was onb the mend and by the next day i was completely better. It is NOT worth risking. No matter what time see a doctor. I was lucky to have DP home for thos two days but i was basically incapable of looking after hazel apart from feeding her.
littleleos
13-10-2008, 06:19
hazel....thanks for the tip on mastastitis... one thing I havent got thank gosh... sounds nasty a friend of a friend had it that bad she had to go to hospy to have abs and to have here cysts drained and she still managed to BF
yeah I gave birth at the gong, I had a fantastic time and found the staff really supportive and yeah that guy I let touch my assets... I think he was irish, DH will remember his name:laughing:
there are afew of us around here that had our babies at the gong
what are the abs the docs generally put u on when u have mastastis... im thinking it a broad spectrium ab???? I have a back up supply that I was perscribed the other day but didnt take... (I got better without them, I think my milk fixed it:yelclap:)
Terrible2+1cutie
13-10-2008, 09:58
I got prescribed Cephalexin when i had a blocked milk duct to take if it turned into mastitis, i never had to take them thank goodness but at least i have them here for a back up supply if it happens again too.
We aren't driving all the way to Gold Coast (Tamborine Mountains actually) in one hit now. We are driving from Gladstone - Caloundra (Sunshine Coast) cause Grandparents live there on the Thursday. Caloundra to Tamborine Mountains on the Friday, Tamborine Mountains to Brisbane on the Saturday (to see my brother, SIL and there baby ), Brisbane to Gladstone (home) on the Sunday, so much Car time for 3 kids but good thing my 2 older boys have been good travellers since birth, lets hope Talon is same to.
littleleos
13-10-2008, 13:14
gee how much travel time is that per day?
we also may have to do it in one hit ... so its a 9hr drive and prob 3 stops for boobies
we had a test run on the weekend and aiden was great... each time we left he fell asleep
we are leaving on thu or fri so im starting to pack now.. fun times
anti b... i was perscribed fluclox from the last infection from when they cuktured my milk....
i was prescribed amoxycillin with part clavulanic acid. It was called GA-amclav i think and was covered by pbs. Worked wonder :).
OurLittleBlessing
12-11-2008, 14:20
Ok, I'm after some hot tips from anyone that has been camping with a bub.
We are going camping for two nights in a fortnight.
What did your bub sleep in/on? or did they co-sleep?
Was there anything you wished you had taken? or not taken?
I guess I don't even know what to ask lol. Just after some tips from those that have some experience!
littleleos
12-11-2008, 16:18
when we where on holidays with our 8 week old he slept in his stroller... we stayed in hotels though....
we got a hand me down camping bassanette which is kinda made out off tent material and has a cover on it, but its pretty flimsy and is doesnt have a stand meaning that the baby is to sleep on the ground which would be to cold (ours is still in its wrapper:p)
def take a mozzie net to cover the your baby
hmmm what else... ill get back to u if I can think of anything else
OurLittleBlessing
16-11-2008, 15:19
Thanks for the reply Alina, especially about the mosquito netting. We went shopping yesterday and bought a few things, one of which was a baby carrier which our DD LOVES! Should be good for hiking etc and we can use it until she is 22kgs.
How exciting!
littleleos
16-11-2008, 16:23
thats cool... hope u have a nice holiday
I have been tossing up wether or not to get a sling as my back pack type carrier one gives me a really achie back... what one did u get
OurLittleBlessing
16-11-2008, 16:39
Its a 'deuter' and we bought it from Anaconda (a camping chain in Vic). It's pretty big though, more designed for hiking etc. It comes with a canopy for shade for the bubba and has an inbuilt backpack for water etc.
My DH tried it out yesterday walking around our neighbourhood, and our DD loved it - she spent most of the time licking the front of it(ewww....) haha. He said it was pretty comfortable.
I haven't been able to use a sling, but most people that have one seem to love them!
Someone mentioned about getting rid of cradle cap and whether combing/brushing their hair hurts them or leaves their scalp red.
I was in England not too long ago and I bought some Dentinox shampoo, not sure if they sell it here though :no: I just used that every night when I washed Maddison's hair and within a week or so it had gone. I didn't have to brush it out or anything.
I have to admit, I did only notice a tiny bit developing on her scalp when I started to use the shampoo so maybe that is why. I am not sure how it would go if it is a bad case of it.
Have a look online and see if you can buy it here though.