View Full Version : would you elope?

princessmummy
05-10-2008, 13:45
hi i was just after some input on getting eloped,
i have been married before & my partner & i have just bought a house so im not sure if i want to spend alot of money on a big wedding

Hollywood
05-10-2008, 13:48
Yes, and we did. We flew over to New Zealand when I was 18 weeks pregnant and had a registry wedding in New Plymouth where his parents live and considered our 2.5 week holiday there as our honeymoon. Had a lovely time, and the whole thing including airfares only cost us about $600-$1000. :thumbsup:

princessmummy
05-10-2008, 13:54
thats awesome libby i never thought of going there was it hard to organise?

3blue&1pink
05-10-2008, 13:58
Yes we originally were going to, but after telling my mum she insisted on coming so we have arranged to have a few guests.

Its in November.

princessmummy
05-10-2008, 14:14
ive just been looking at a package that says i could have 6 guests, my mum will insist on coming to
good luck with yours.

05-10-2008, 16:35
Yes I would.

I'm not big on huge expensive weddings anyway. I know Grant wants a proper wedding so I would compromise but I'd like it to be as cheap (but not tacky) as possible. I'd rather money go towards our house or a car or something like that.

Yummy_Mummy
05-10-2008, 16:39
I would LOVE to elope..it would be my dream to go to Fiji & elope but it would highly offend the MIL who is italian & expects a nice fancy wedding (but we are trying to keep it on a strict budget)

CaitlinArai22
05-10-2008, 16:55
yeah, i'm planning on eloping this time next year!
Definately a better option for us cost wise, plus it cuts out the drama with family on my side!

this is where we're going.

http://www.breakfreeaanukabeachresort.com.au/

its gorgeous - we're taking this package

The $1899.00* Total Deluxe Elopement Package

For your Deluxe Elopement you will have...

A Civil Celebrant for your ceremony.

All legal documents supplied and lodged for you.
Your choice of an intimate ceremony.
Signing table and music player provided if required.
Two witnesses if needed.
Professional Photography to capture your special moments.
All photos as enlargements (13 x 18 cm)
The negatives are yours to keep.
You get to have full copyright.
Your choice of location within the Coffs Harbour district.
2 nights accommodation in a 4.5 star resort (Extra nights Available upon request)
Dinner voucher for two at the resort restaurant or bar.
A full breakfast for two included both mornings.
Professional Hairstyling for Bride
Complimentary Australian sparkling wine and chocolates on arrival.

Theres heaps of places around, you might want a forest wedding rather then a beach one like me or you might want to go somewhere special to you.

I chose this one because the testimonials mention that the staff were happy to help with children and babies - so bub can be included too!
Congrats and good luck!

princessmummy
05-10-2008, 17:27
I saw that package as well & thought it looked great, are you still going to be wearing a wedding dress?

CaitlinArai22
05-10-2008, 21:27
yeah, definately!

We havent set anything in concrete yet, we're waiting to see how things pan out with baby jimmy (18weeks to go before hes in our arms!), but thats the joy of eloping, i dont have to rush or organise to suit anyone but my Future husband, my baby and me! if we change the date 3 or 4 time, who cares?

So i havent ordered my wedding dress yet, theres a great discount place nearby that i was going to go look at, but i've been looking on ebay to get an idea of what i like.
these are ones i love that would show up well in photos and wouldnt be too over the top (considering i dont think i want a big skirt or train with noone to help me manage it!). Let me know what you think.
(i figure if any of the trains are too long, i'll just go to a seamstress and get them to fix it!)

http://cgi.ebay.com.au/Sexy-wedding-evening-dresses-formal-prom-ball-gowns_W0QQitemZ160289012400QQcmdZViewItem?hash=ite m160289012400&_trkparms=39%3A1|66%3A4|65%3A1|240%3A1318&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14

http://cgi.ebay.com.au/2008-Sexy-Wedding-Dresses-Wedding-Gowns-prom-gown_W0QQitemZ120311019829QQcmdZViewItem?hash=item 120311019829&_trkparms=39%3A1|66%3A4|65%3A1|240%3A1318&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14

http://cgi.ebay.com.au/Custom-made-bridemaid-gown-wedding-dress-size-color_W0QQitemZ280272032725QQcmdZViewItem?hash=ite m280272032725&_trkparms=39%3A1|66%3A4|65%3A1|240%3A1318&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14

princessmummy
05-10-2008, 22:03
i love the 3rd 1 its gorgeous i have been looking on there too its all so exciting,
good luck with with the rest of your pregnancy

bel_aiden
05-10-2008, 22:14
we eloped 2.5yrs ago, got married in tassie at dove lake at cradle mountain.:thumbsup:
took 2 weeks to go round tassie for a holiday(honeymoon)
we did it whole hog: makeup, wedding dress/suit and ds1 in a little suit too (was 3 months old).
cant remember how much it all cost, but was a great day/holiday, totally stress free!!!!

id totally reccomend it!:wave:

Queen
06-10-2008, 12:48
:no: I am not, but geez did it cross my mind. Some of my family (mum and dad mainly) would have been devastated if we did, not to mention my grand-parents.

The option is still there :p

Lollie86
06-10-2008, 13:31

~Candy~
06-10-2008, 13:37
My hubby and I had just bought our 1st house before we got married, we didn't have $ for a fancy wedding and I wasn't too keen on having all "the fuss" ect that comes with it.
We didn't elope, but we got married at the registry office and partied afterwards with family and friends...not a reception, they just joined us for dinner (instead of a present, they paid for their meal and drinks), then dancing and more drinking..lol

Hollywood
06-10-2008, 14:02
thats awesome libby i never thought of going there was it hard to organise?

No, we just arranged the NZ holiday as we had done before, but this time we did research on the internet to find out how many days ahead of getting married we had to register our intent to marry. In Australia it's about a month, but in New Zealand it's 3 days :thumbsup: so we did that the day we got there and tied the knot 3 days later.

We had kept our intentions secret from his parents (we stay with them in New Plymouth when we go there, DH was born in NZ that's why they're there). We broke the news to them in the evening after we had eloped, and then hit them with the news that I was pregnant, so they had two surprises that day.

Luckily I wasn't showing at 18/19 weeks pregnancy, so it was very easy to cover up the fact that I was pregnant for the first 3 days (wanted to announce it at the same time as the marriage bit).

Hollywood
06-10-2008, 14:06
Oh, and this is the beach in New Plymouth where DH gave me the wedding band (a platinum Tiffany one, noice :thumbsup:). The sand is black because of the volcanos there.

http://i158.photobucket.com/albums/t111/Lizzy07_album/NewZealand20060071.jpg

Roxy76
13-10-2008, 12:55
I eloped in June. We went to Fiji for a week and took a friend each as witnesses and my brother and his wife met us there as they live nearby. We got married under an archway covered in flowers and overlooking the ocean.

It was beautiful. I loved every single thing about it. It was sooooooooooo romantic. I had my dress made and wore a veil and got my hair and make up done.

I am not sure what it all cost. We weren't doing it to save money so we didn't cut corners. Probably worked out somewhere between $5-8K? for everything.

I think the Coffs Harbour one looks really good too.

sounds great! where in fiji/which resort did you have it at?

JacquiBee
23-10-2008, 22:39
Hi, My Fiance and I are planning to Wed in Fiji this time next year.

We did the sums for a wedding in Aust, a modest wedding, nothing over the top, and it added up to over 15k! :confused:

With just purchasing our first home a yr ago, 5 months after the birth of our daughter, we have now reconsidered a wedding in aust.

We have a rough estimate on a wedding in Fiji, at a 5 star resort, inc flights (us & bub) accom for 10days, transfers, all meals, minister in chappel, flowers, cake, marriage cert, hair & make up, chior, photographer etc for around 5k!! :laughing:

We are having our parents and sibblings come only, and they are paying for their own tickets (getting them in a package all together about $1,300 each) we have asked for their company as our wedding gift.

Its an awesome idea, you get a holiday, get married, honeymoon (and free child care) all in one!! :yelclap:

Prices for packages to fiji havent come our yet, they will be out late Nov 08, so its just an estimate, & I will be wearing my dream wedding dress, with my daughter as flower girl (she will be 2). Cant wait! & you can pay it off over the year too ;) eloping with close family/friends IS the way to go :thumbsup:

dreamtobeamummy
24-10-2008, 01:01
we have decided to go to Fiji or something of the sort, and to take my parents and DF's father and partner.. we also have decided afterwards to come back and have a celebration with everyone.

We did think of inviting brothers and sisters at their own cost, but decided we would just like to have parents.. It ends up to much of a fuss.. We have looked in Perth to get married and its just too hard!! :p :D