View Full Version : Probably a silly question about formula

Issey
09-05-2006, 20:52
Just wondering why you have to throw out formula if you don't use it in a 4 week period. Does anybody know.:confused:

I am having trouble getting bubs on a bottle so I am only using one scoop at a time so have heaps left in the tin, seems such a waste.

Mum2Lucas
09-05-2006, 20:58
I think it's because it starts to go all hard and gross. But that's just from my experience with it.

cwsmum
09-05-2006, 21:07
I think it's because it starts to go all hard and gross. But that's just from my experience with it.

Thats what happened to mine once too. But it took longer than 4 weeks...probably more like 8-10 weeks.

veve
09-05-2006, 21:09
hon are you aware that most formulas can be bought in sachets??? I know that karicare definately can ... and I have seen others ...

the karicare formula sachet contains 4 scoops- so you could keep the scoop from your tin... and use it to measure from a sachet??? - just make sure the scoop is from the same brand as the formula as they can be different sizes...

its a lot cheaper this way - less wastage- we started with sachets when Jack was just being supplemented ...

I'm not sure why 4 weeks is the expiry for an open tin... ?? its probably a cautious time frame as they need to cover their butts if a kid gets sick :rolleyes:

EskimoMumma
09-05-2006, 21:13
sachest cover s26 as well :)

Chickadee
09-05-2006, 22:28
I am guessing it is because nasties may start to form in the formula, feeding off the sugars & proteins in the formula. The risk of this is lessened by keeping the tin in the fridge and making sure that the scoop you use in the tin is always dry. But even cheese wrapped up and in the fridge starts to grow things. 4 weeks is possibly a conservative rule, but I don't know.

LillynJonson
10-05-2006, 09:28
My son only gets formula one day a week whilst I'm at work, so I use the S26 sachets which you get from Safeway. Some chemists also stock them but only usually a box or two at a time so I'd stock up when you can find it as there's only 6 in a pack and I use 2 per feed. Really handy if you have to take out and about too.! If you have to use a tin I'd be especially careful of the 'gold' formulas. They contain fish oil which starts to really stink after a couple of weeks!:barf:

bpato
10-05-2006, 19:07
Never knew to put it in the fridge.

Thanks Martha

Chickadee
10-05-2006, 20:45
Umm, you're welcome. I think I read it on the side of the tin :D But to be honest, I never kept the formula tin in the fridge, just in a coolish pantry. I always used up the tin in 2 weeks anyways. If I'd been in QLD or living in a house that got very hot in the summer then I'd probably have used the fridge. But it just takes up so much space.

annb
10-05-2006, 23:37
I rang up Nestle or maybe it was Heinz at one time to ask about the 4wk use by date and was told it was because their tests only test it up to the 4wks so they cannot guarantee that after this date it still provided the same level of nutrition and guarantee of quality

Issey
11-05-2006, 20:54
Thanks everyone. I didn't know about the fridge thing either but might do that since it can get humid where I live. I guess it doens't really matter then using it past the four week mark as long as it looks alright.:thumbsup:

jessgray
12-05-2006, 08:10
DS's formula went a bit wierd after 4 weeks from memory and that was the amcal one when he was only taking 60 ml at a time sometimes less. heinz seems to take longer.but i have never had left over formula after 4 weeks with heinz :laughing:

i have a full tin of heinz formula that has had 4 scoops taken out of it if anyone in geelong wants it DS wont be using it. and i also have a lactogen one.

whatwasithinking
12-05-2006, 10:09
As everyone else has said - satchets are the way to go until the feeds increase.

Can't answer about the 4wk rule - didn't even know about that - oopps maybe a should have read the time but hey my formula doesn't last 1 wk!!!!!!!

Briswegian
12-05-2006, 13:49
i know this is a little off topic but did you know that in the UK you can get made up formula in poppers...that way you have a ready feed in a small portion no matter where you are. I used them on holidays over there and they're great...obviously a little more expensive but for the conveniencce if you are a bottle feeder out and about or for those who comp and don't want to buy a whole tin they'd be great. I wonder why we don't get them here?

Zada
12-05-2006, 19:06
in the s26 you can also get 1/2 size tins. i used to get these when i was putting dd on formula

Issey
12-05-2006, 21:38
I have not seen any half size tins, will look out for them.

Zada
13-05-2006, 13:25
i know IGA sells them i think some safeways do too

Natsmummy
11-06-2006, 16:39
hon are you aware that most formulas can be bought in sachets??? I know that karicare definately can ... and I have seen others ...

Not sure if it is thye same across all stores but at my local Woolies the sachets are on special at the moment for 70 cents each so you might want to check them out. :thumbsup: