View Full Version : Lactogen formula
jessgray
08-05-2006, 17:46
DP came back with this earlier after spending almsot 2 hours looking for lactose free milk at 3 differeent supermarkets :eek: at the moment DS had 1 bottle of it. the formula seems very thick. did DP get the right formula? Ds is lactose intolerant. and so far he is ok with it but it can take a hour or more for a reaction to kick in.
Isabella'smum
08-05-2006, 17:59
Hi Jessgray,
Im not sure of that brand, but my dd is lactose intolerant and i have her on the
S26 lactose intolerance formula and she loves it, its just like normal formula, isnt thick or anything...
Gud luck
misskittyfantastico
08-05-2006, 19:12
If it is the Nestles Lactogen then it isn't lactose free, it's just normal formula.
mummy sam
08-05-2006, 20:23
yeah no, lactogen is the same as SMA and they are normal formula but a heavier formula, they normally suggest it for hungry bubs.
we have used both
hey have you tried soy formula?
Tam-I-Am
08-05-2006, 22:21
If your bub is over 12 months old, he actually doesn't have to be on formula anymore - he could go straight onto cow's milk (that is, if he is a good eater, and getting adequate additional nutrients from his solid food). And there is a long-life lactose free milk sold at most mainstream (ie woolies/safeway and coles) supermarks, called Liddels. You can usually find it in the tea and coffee aisle. Heaps cheaper than formula - but if you feel unsure about this advice, check with your CHN or GP.
Good luck!
jessgray
09-05-2006, 13:58
my DS is lactose intolerant he cant drink cows milk or soy milk :(
after giving him lactogen last night we figured out it wasnt good for DS lol i spent most the night up with him and i swear he went through so many nappies coz it gave him the runs.
the wierd thing is the lady at the chemist next to the supermarket told DP it was a lactose free formula.:eek:
so now we have a heinz tin and a lactogen tin lol that we wont be using:laughing:
Tam-I-Am
10-05-2006, 23:39
Hey Jess,
Like I said - there's a longlife Lactose Free cows milk in most coles and woolies/safeway supermarkets - the brand is Liddels. Maybe you could give this a try.
jessgray
11-05-2006, 09:05
yeah thats what DP was looking for in the first place. he went looking for it again last night and the supermarket manager said they never stock that much of ti coz there isnt really a demand for it:confused:
so we are trying him on rice milk over the weekend.see how he goes:fingerscrossed:
FourAngelKisses
11-05-2006, 09:18
I'd take the tin back to the chemist and ask them for a refund......they told you it was lactose free so you brought it...their mistake really.
I hope the rice milk gives you a better time than the lactogen did.
Tam-I-Am
11-05-2006, 10:23
yeah thats what DP was looking for in the first place. he went looking for it again last night and the supermarket manager said they never stock that much of ti coz there isnt really a demand for it:confused:
so we are trying him on rice milk over the weekend.see how he goes:fingerscrossed:
Seriously?!? My parents live in South Geelong, I think they do their shopping at the Kmart complex Coles, and they never have any trouble getting it. I also have to drink it and the Safeway up here has it all the time - although I drink the skim one, and sometimes they don't stock that as well.
Maybe call around a bit before you go. But I do know that I've seen it in Geelong, and pretty readily too! Sorry you're having so much trouble finding it. Maybe the rice milk will work out well, and it'll be a moot point.
Also to note, there are some drops that you can buy in the chemist, don't know what they're called, but they have an enzyme in them that breaks down the lactose in milk, so if you add it to normal cows milk lactose intolerant people can then drink it safely - it doesn't help with cheese etc, but your little boy wouldn't be eating cheese anyway if he's lactose intolerant, I would imagine!
Don't know if you're aware, either, but hard cheeses such as parmesan etc have really minimal amounts of lactose so is safe to eat - also youghurt is safe to eat because the acidophilus (?sp) in it eats the lactose (sort of like how yeast eats sugar in bread dough) - so there's really really minimal amounts in it (but only if it is a youghurt that contains acidophilus - Jalna is one that does.
Good luck!
jasminesmum
11-05-2006, 10:34
My dd has been on Karicare lactose- free formula since birth.
I have just weaned her onto goats milk as of yesterday, because I went to the chemist and they said the formula was out of stock at the factory. Luckily she has just turned 1 so she doesnt need the formula anymore.She has been using the goats milk on her cereal etc for a while now.
I'm not sure about putting your bub on rice milk. I think it says on the carton that its not suitable for infants.I don't think it has enough nutrients and calcium in it.
It is hard to know what to do. I find the goats milk fine and make everything with it that I would usually use cows milk for.
All the best with your choice.:)
my friends baby is lactose intolerent and as it has been diagnosed with tests she can get her formula by prescription. instead of 20 dollars a tin she gets 5 tins for twenty dollars.
jessgray
11-05-2006, 11:35
Tami-and-Claire- thanks for the hints. yep thats what the manager told DP. my DS cant handle any yoghurt at all. anymore. and parmesan cheese makes him spew :thumbsdown: but thanks anyway.
jasminesmum-i jsut read the carton and you are right ours says not suitable for under 5. but we havent given it to him yet.
suemp-yeah everyone has been saying that. but coz Ds is 1 his dr is telling us to find a milk alternative for him rather then formula. his peadtrician is booked out till end of the month:(